Shark Night 3D

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 68
  2. Negative: 29 out of 68

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 4, 2011
    6
    Alright first off, all of you people who expected to see an academy award nominated film or a top notch horror film when going to see this, well you are dumb. This movie was meant to be stupid fun. It was meant to make you laugh and it was meant for you to jump back in your seat and go "ohhhh snap!" and nothing else. Its a cheesy B-movie. Thats what it was meant to be and ive always lovedAlright first off, all of you people who expected to see an academy award nominated film or a top notch horror film when going to see this, well you are dumb. This movie was meant to be stupid fun. It was meant to make you laugh and it was meant for you to jump back in your seat and go "ohhhh snap!" and nothing else. Its a cheesy B-movie. Thats what it was meant to be and ive always loved watching the cheesy scifi channel movies so ive grown to enjoy these movies and they are just pure fun, especially in 3D. This movie was just plain dumb fun and if you don't enjoy movies like that then don't see it because you will hate it, but me on the other hand, i loved it, not as fun as last years Piranha in 3D but still fun, 6/10 Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    6
    I am shocked at all the bad reviews from users. I mean if you go into the theater and expect to see and academy winning horror flick then you have lost your mind most people do that with every horror movie. The Cabin in the Woods, Sinister, maybe about 5 more, would be the only horror film to actually win almost every horror film is either to shock you or make you laugh or scared. II am shocked at all the bad reviews from users. I mean if you go into the theater and expect to see and academy winning horror flick then you have lost your mind most people do that with every horror movie. The Cabin in the Woods, Sinister, maybe about 5 more, would be the only horror film to actually win almost every horror film is either to shock you or make you laugh or scared. I watched it and enjoyed it. Its a teen shark horror flick just watch with no real expectations. My advice is watch it for the ride it's not really a deep ploted film. Just something for the teens to watch. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    5
    As i watched this movie I liked it until i got to the end and Spoilers!!!!!!!!!! got to the end it ended just like Piranha 3D,but this movie had a lot of good qualities it didn't have over large sharks that was completely fake it didn't have horrible actors, it had a great story line and producer.
  4. Feb 3, 2012
    5
    This movie was just ok. It should have had more death in it But we can't always have what we want. Jaws will always be the best shark movie. The only thing that could be better than Jaws. Is if the shark grows arms and legs. Gets a chainsaw, and starts killing everybody on land and in the water. Hellyeah that would be great.
  5. Feb 4, 2012
    5
    Typical shark eats teen movie with a modern twist. If you are going to watch this movie, then you already know that the bar is set low. If you have no expectations, then it will be a fun ride. We all know how it will end!
  6. Dec 23, 2012
    5
    A bad movie .. but the idea and encourages you entertainment.
  7. Dec 8, 2014
    5
    This movie works better as a thriller movie than a horror movie. The storyline is interesting as it is filled with suspense. However, this movie offers too little scares and doesn't make you feel disturbed at all. Like most horror movies, it has a bad ending which I hate to see.
  8. Sep 6, 2011
    4
    Yeah, okay, so there are an unbelievable number of different species of shark in this film, most of the popular ones and a few of the less popular, but I could still find some enjoyment in this film. As expected, the acting is fair to weak, the story is ridiculous, and the effects could be better. The 3D was okay, though this film in HD is impressive. The film tries too hard to beYeah, okay, so there are an unbelievable number of different species of shark in this film, most of the popular ones and a few of the less popular, but I could still find some enjoyment in this film. As expected, the acting is fair to weak, the story is ridiculous, and the effects could be better. The 3D was okay, though this film in HD is impressive. The film tries too hard to be something that it is not. At least Piranha 3D went all out with the gore, nudity, and an all-star cast. Yet, I still found this one slightly enjoyable for a nice 90 minute distraction. Expand
  9. Feb 1, 2013
    4
    A weekend escape turns deadly for a group of college students when they encounter a group of man-eating sharks in the waters surrounding their remote island getaway! Make no mistake about it, the PG-13 rating for SHARK NIGHT clearly designates both the intended audience and the level of intelligence behind the script. Every attempt to make this movie "hip" for the younger generationsA weekend escape turns deadly for a group of college students when they encounter a group of man-eating sharks in the waters surrounding their remote island getaway! Make no mistake about it, the PG-13 rating for SHARK NIGHT clearly designates both the intended audience and the level of intelligence behind the script. Every attempt to make this movie "hip" for the younger generations instead comes off as being trite and cliche, and every move the characters make is utterly predictable... That is, up until the ridiculous final act. Technology has apparently devolved once again, considering that the computerized sharks in SHARK NIGHT look worse than those created 13 years ago in DEEP BLUE SEA. It is also sad to think that a film like this could ever have made it in to theaters, when the quality of the overall production falls behind many of the awful made-for-TV movies that drown the SyFy channel yearly. At least with the 2010 PIRANHA remake, Alexandre Aja knew enough to play up the high camp in the picture, and delivered an abusive amount of gore. There is no fun to be had anywhere in SHARK NIGHT, and it is nearly bloodless. Do not waste your time on this pathetic film. -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Expand
  10. Oct 16, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Coloquei “play” neste filme já sabendo que não ia ser grande coisa. Geralmente, os filmes com esse tema, de uns anos pra cá são praticamente a mesma coisa. Não sei o que as pessoas esperam, aliás, de produtos assim...

    Pra começar: o roteiro é MUITO fraco, muito raso e repleto de furos, incoerências e situações absurdas. Começando pela perda do braço do Malik. Ao menos pela montagem do filme, em momento nenhum tem como o espectador afirmar que ele foi cortado pela hélice da lancha. Aliás, nem se a montagem fosse diferente: eles estavam à frente do cara quando ele foi atacado pelo tubarão. Meu ponto é: como é que o braço estava INTEIRINHO embaixo d’água? Sem falar, é claro, na bizarrice do Nick de ir até lá buscar, né – nem vou comentar sobre o “quase” ataque que ele sofreu, porque... Enfim.

    Em segundo, tem essa “trama” por trás dos tubarões: como é que essas pessoas conseguiram trazer TANTOS tubarões para um lago? E nossa, achei TÃO fraca a justificativa pra fazerem o que fazem com os visitantes. Gravar vídeos caseiros com pessoas reais morrendo e ficar RICOS com isso? Meu Deus... Mas né, se for parar pra analisar, não tem nenhum outro motivo que poderia ser considerado “coerente” pra esses doentes fazerem o que fazem.

    Gostei da cena da jaula, no clímax do filme. Devemos todos parabenizar a Sara por seu fôlego ninja, porque ela devia ter desmaiado muitos minutos antes de desmaiar mesmo. E gente, o que foi o Nick PERDENDO TEMPO dando aquele beijo nela, quando a menina já estava sem ar? AI MEU DEUS.

    Geralmente as pessoas possuem uma ideia errada quanto ao gênero “terror”, mas esse aqui erra espetacularmente em tudo. Não assusta, não te deixa tenso – e sim extremamente frustrado, como quando Sara consegue pegar a arma do Dennis e coloca as mãos pro lado de fora da jaula, permitindo que ele conseguisse tomá-la sem nenhum esforço.

    A direção até que é boa. Os efeitos são fracos, tubarões não convencem. Mas até curti o Chris Carmack. Achei o Dustin Milligan muito bonitinho. Katharine McPhee lindíssima.

    Enfim, “Terror na Água” funciona apenas como um passatempo, só.
    Expand
Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 10 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 8, 2011
    11
    About as humorless – and joyless – as they come.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Sep 3, 2011
    40
    Aspires to nothing more or less than carrying along an audience through a string of unremarkable kills, often involving high-jumping fish.
  3. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Sep 3, 2011
    25
    Heartlessness, stupidity, cynicism, and greed are a demoralizing combination for movie-going. We pay to see a movie that doesn't respect us for being there at all.