Focus Features | Release Date: September 24, 2004
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 655 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
595
Mixed:
44
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
lukechristianscMar 11, 2014
shaun of the dead is not as bit as funny as i thought but the fact that its zom com it is funny watching simon pegg and nick frost killing zombies . but it is a okay film
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Everybody's gone wild about this zom-com, and I'm not loving it. Nick Frost and Simon Pegg have been in a few movies together, and I haven't liked any of them. Maybe there's something wrong with me, but like I said, I'm not loving it.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
AlienSpaceBatsAug 15, 2011
Overrated clap-trap that has amazingly found its way into the consciousness of self-proclaimed geeks, nerds and other cretins and subsequently opened the floodgates for the current spate of zombie-obsessed pop culture rubbish. Film isOverrated clap-trap that has amazingly found its way into the consciousness of self-proclaimed geeks, nerds and other cretins and subsequently opened the floodgates for the current spate of zombie-obsessed pop culture rubbish. Film is entertaining enough upon first viewing but after the first half hour you don't exactly need powers of clairvoyance to guess what's going to happen next. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
seiferJan 12, 2011
This is a fairly entertaining movie... but i personally see no purpose so for me this is a pointless story, waste of money and a waste of our time rating this over the well-deserved rating of... 5
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
6
MacM.Oct 22, 2004
WARNING TO THE INCREDIBLY SQUEAMISH : If, like me, you are completely weak in tolerance for gore, best give this piece of comic genius the flick. The writing was superb, the cast as a whole are spot on but the gore - regardless of comedy WARNING TO THE INCREDIBLY SQUEAMISH : If, like me, you are completely weak in tolerance for gore, best give this piece of comic genius the flick. The writing was superb, the cast as a whole are spot on but the gore - regardless of comedy context - was too much for my over-sensitive brain. I squirmed in discomfort tonnes. But the debate of which record to throw at the zombies is priceless!!! "The Stone Roses?" ""Nah." "But it's The Second Coming!" "*I* LIKE it!" Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
TomE.Sep 29, 2004
Started off well with a few proper laugh out loud moments, but like most british films made after a successful series (eg parole officer) no way as funny as them. Some bits were truly cringworthy-it felt like the filmakers were desperate to Started off well with a few proper laugh out loud moments, but like most british films made after a successful series (eg parole officer) no way as funny as them. Some bits were truly cringworthy-it felt like the filmakers were desperate to make a proper film with love stories..etc but it felt mashed together. I can see why some people gave it high marks but i won't be watching this again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
PaulJ.Feb 13, 2005
More of a horror movie with humour in it rather than a comdey with horror.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChrisSMar 11, 2005
This may appeal more to horror film fans who enjoy a good laugh, but a majority of this movie centers around boring violence (hitting zombies with blunt objects is only entertaining the first 10000 times) and a pointless plot that goes This may appeal more to horror film fans who enjoy a good laugh, but a majority of this movie centers around boring violence (hitting zombies with blunt objects is only entertaining the first 10000 times) and a pointless plot that goes nowhere. I would ignore these flaws if the movie focuses more on the humor, but I found myself grimacing more than laughing at this one... I didn't even crack a smile in the last 30 minutes of this film. If you want a pure-comedy look elsewhere, if you want violence get Kill Bill, if you want to try to mix both go ahead and watch this... but expect it to leave a bad taste in your mouth. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DeanS.Feb 13, 2006
Not anywhere as funny as I thought it should be. From all the reviews, I thought it would be clever, but it was on the level with dumb sex comedies with the addition of zombies. Couldn't stand the characters and it was rushed and lame Not anywhere as funny as I thought it should be. From all the reviews, I thought it would be clever, but it was on the level with dumb sex comedies with the addition of zombies. Couldn't stand the characters and it was rushed and lame that they all die within ten minutes. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
6
StephenKApr 28, 2008
I think I laughed 3 times during this movie. The only thing that kept me watching was hoping it would get funnier. I thought it must get funnier because everyone had raved about this film; it never did. The best I can say was that it was OK. I think I laughed 3 times during this movie. The only thing that kept me watching was hoping it would get funnier. I thought it must get funnier because everyone had raved about this film; it never did. The best I can say was that it was OK. Hot Fuzz was much better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful