Focus Features | Release Date: September 24, 2004
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 662 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
602
Mixed:
44
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Bullet97Aug 15, 2010
This movie is bloody brilliant. Action-packed, hilarious and gory. The writing is funny, the acting is great, and the directing is superb. I highly recommend it.
19 of 24 users found this helpful195
All this user's reviews
10
VikingOct 13, 2010
Shaun of the Dead has to be one of the funniest movies ever made. Simon Pegg and Nick frost make for an awesome comedic duo, as also seen in Hot Fuzz.
The movie manages to give laughs, as well as being somewhat frightening and touching at
Shaun of the Dead has to be one of the funniest movies ever made. Simon Pegg and Nick frost make for an awesome comedic duo, as also seen in Hot Fuzz.
The movie manages to give laughs, as well as being somewhat frightening and touching at points.
9/10, great piece of art!
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerApr 12, 2011
This movie is a match made in Heaven, Zombies and comedy, it will surprise you how funny, but yet just as brutal as any other Zombie movie, I have to admit some of the emotional parts feel awkward amongst the jokes, but this is still a movieThis movie is a match made in Heaven, Zombies and comedy, it will surprise you how funny, but yet just as brutal as any other Zombie movie, I have to admit some of the emotional parts feel awkward amongst the jokes, but this is still a movie I highly recommend to fans of Zombies, and comedies in general, a fantastic movie. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
rotkuJun 30, 2011
Refreshing take on the zombie genre although the zombies are a bit overly stupid. (Although, who's to say that's not realism!) The gags are well done the humour well mixed with the gore, the acting is solid and overall a very enjoyable horror comedy.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
MediaCriticOct 22, 2011
This a great zombie film full of blood, guts and funny moments. It can be hard to pull of a horror and comedy all in one, but this film does it well. The film isn't scary, but the zombies do look freaky. An alright storyline and plot, andThis a great zombie film full of blood, guts and funny moments. It can be hard to pull of a horror and comedy all in one, but this film does it well. The film isn't scary, but the zombies do look freaky. An alright storyline and plot, and played well by the actors. The action scenes are good, mostly filled with comedy. It's violent, horrible and bloody, it's Shaun Of The Dead! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
GnarlesJan 20, 2006
The first hour or so is great fun, but when the characters get barracaded in a bar for the climax, the movie flames out and becomes exactly what it has been making fun of. The actual ending is amusing, though. "Player 2 has joined the game..."
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JTonApr 21, 2007
Best zombie take ever. Extra points for Queen music. Just Ridiculously Funny.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JamesNWANov 5, 2010
A truly amazing film by Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg. The storyline is easy to follow. The characters are very well thought up, and the acting is superb. Shaun of the Dead is both humorous and gory and the balance is well designed. TheA truly amazing film by Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg. The storyline is easy to follow. The characters are very well thought up, and the acting is superb. Shaun of the Dead is both humorous and gory and the balance is well designed. The editing, especially â Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
AodecimJul 30, 2011
A comedy that is best shown with a group of friends on a boring Saturday night because it will soon turn into one with great laughter. An innovative comedy that blends the horrors of a zombie apocalypse and makes it seem like in the event ofA comedy that is best shown with a group of friends on a boring Saturday night because it will soon turn into one with great laughter. An innovative comedy that blends the horrors of a zombie apocalypse and makes it seem like in the event of breakout, life wouldn't be so bad. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobApr 1, 2013
An incredibly entertaining comedy that manages to keep my interest despite seeing it at least a dozen times. The fact that it still holds up after all these years tells you how good it is.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Tara61May 1, 2012
This is a great movie. The jokes are well timed and witty. The pacing is excellent and it seemed to me that the movie lasts shorter than it does. Simon Pegg is excellent and quite believable as a Shaun the hero. The movie is a realThis is a great movie. The jokes are well timed and witty. The pacing is excellent and it seemed to me that the movie lasts shorter than it does. Simon Pegg is excellent and quite believable as a Shaun the hero. The movie is a real refreshment in the Zombie genre. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
BlueBoxSep 24, 2012
Shaun of the Dead is a romantic zombie horror comedy movie about two men, one called Shaun and the other called Ed they are best friends, they like to stay home, lounge about drink coffee and play video games. Shaun wants to get back togetherShaun of the Dead is a romantic zombie horror comedy movie about two men, one called Shaun and the other called Ed they are best friends, they like to stay home, lounge about drink coffee and play video games. Shaun wants to get back together with his ex girlfriend. He soon finds out that a zombie apocalypse is happening and he starts getting worried about his family, friends and of course his ex girlfriend. This movie is very funny you will have a lot of laughs. I like it because it is a more comedic take on a zombie movie which hasn Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Jake_Sep 28, 2013
Shaun of the Dead is hands-down one of the best movies of the 21st Century. Brilliantly funny and genuinely scary at points. Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are amazing.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PolisKaninFeb 10, 2014
An amazing film starting off an amazing film series. This film is perfect, and the best in the trilogy. The humour is great, and the action sequences are also great. The character development is good. There are so many little touches in theAn amazing film starting off an amazing film series. This film is perfect, and the best in the trilogy. The humour is great, and the action sequences are also great. The character development is good. There are so many little touches in the films you may not notice, which make the film completely perfect, and in my opinion, the best film ever made. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
[Anonymous]Mar 24, 2006
A lighthearted zombie take. Wish there was more gun action. I'd like to see a zombie film where survivors fight off the zombies with assault rifles, miniguns, RPGs, etc, a starship troopers with zombie instead of aliens.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
IanReyPOct 19, 2008
It's a dumb comedy. And mixed with horror. Just inventive! No movie like it. I had a good laugh, and a little scare. The music was just great!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MuttD.Feb 27, 2008
Funny, touching, serious, and even at times scary. It hits all the best spots from the romantic comedy and zombie genres.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewGJun 23, 2009
Will go down as the best horror comedy of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RDalviOct 26, 2006
Very good zombie movie. not so scary but there is enough humor and eye-candy for horror lovers too make it a memorable view.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JayF.Feb 25, 2006
This film joins the ranks of other such horror movie parodies/homages the likes of Young Frankenstein. I agree with George Romero when he said "An Absolute Blast!". This movie will forever remain a cult classic like the original Night of the This film joins the ranks of other such horror movie parodies/homages the likes of Young Frankenstein. I agree with George Romero when he said "An Absolute Blast!". This movie will forever remain a cult classic like the original Night of the Living Dead. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobertS.May 15, 2007
This is clearly the best zombie parody I have ever seen, it beats actual zombie movies by a long shot!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeahTApr 13, 2008
Perhaps what is so endearing about this film, aside from the ceaseless humor and the spatterings of fun gore, is the fact that the viewers find themselves sincerely attached to the characters and their plights...the film is able to leap from Perhaps what is so endearing about this film, aside from the ceaseless humor and the spatterings of fun gore, is the fact that the viewers find themselves sincerely attached to the characters and their plights...the film is able to leap from hysteria-humor to seriousness in a second when Pegg and his cohorts will it. A brilliant film that is actually quite a bit better than any other zombie film I've ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelCJun 27, 2009
I find Shaun of the Dead to be a wonderful satire of zombie movies, with witty humor and a hilarious plot line, yet it was still able to retain the traditional survivor-mentality. I think both Pegg and Frost played great idiot-saviors in the I find Shaun of the Dead to be a wonderful satire of zombie movies, with witty humor and a hilarious plot line, yet it was still able to retain the traditional survivor-mentality. I think both Pegg and Frost played great idiot-saviors in the film, and Moran's role as the resistor and eventually the next meal was hilariously stunning. He had it coming. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BradyH.Sep 7, 2009
My favorite zombie movie of all time. Stays respectful to its inspiration through the hilarious parody.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TomekZDec 21, 2005
Great humour, editing, soundtrack and all the subtilties.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredFeb 19, 2006
I'm sorry but you'd have to be retarded not in some way to like this movie. It's witty, gory, all around intelligent portrayal of zombies in a city already populated by living zombies is brilliant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JanApr 19, 2007
This movie made me lough hard and often. Really good comedy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillB.Apr 25, 2007
Ever Since I saw Dawn of the Dead, I knew that horror movies had a spoof coming and Shaun of the Dead was that perfect spoof. And with the Zombie violence not too unbareable to watch, The movie really made you believe that it was really Ever Since I saw Dawn of the Dead, I knew that horror movies had a spoof coming and Shaun of the Dead was that perfect spoof. And with the Zombie violence not too unbareable to watch, The movie really made you believe that it was really happening, and these two slackers were actually saving their little town. Overall this was a hilarious movie, with some good action, and probably one of the best endings in movie history. It's a definite must see and if you want to see some Zombies eatin' some brains and a good laugh, watch this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AverageCriticUKApr 29, 2009
For a British film, Shaun of the Dead hits the spot, particularly as a lot of the horror movies have come from America, zombies in particular. Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright have written the film realistically and added in the homages and For a British film, Shaun of the Dead hits the spot, particularly as a lot of the horror movies have come from America, zombies in particular. Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright have written the film realistically and added in the homages and traits in a way that doesn't make it look too much like mass advertising or copying. Gore is bearable and the ending with the British Army culling the zombies has remained one of my all-time favourite horror movie scenes. While some of the jokes do not always appeal to all ages, the film largely increased my interest in the zombie genre. All in all, it makes a good homage and it's good to see Britain is capable of making good films after all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KevinY.Nov 14, 2005
Great movie. Like a mix of Spaced, Monty Python, Night of The Living Dead, and a Staurday with my friends while we LARP a zombie outbreak. Very funny. I like Brittish humour. I find it as the "thinking man's" humour. Watch the movie and Great movie. Like a mix of Spaced, Monty Python, Night of The Living Dead, and a Staurday with my friends while we LARP a zombie outbreak. Very funny. I like Brittish humour. I find it as the "thinking man's" humour. Watch the movie and you'll either love it, or hate it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful