Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 456 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This "rom zom com" (romantic zombie comedy) follows the bloody funny adventures of underachiever Shaun (Pegg) and his best mate Ed (Frost) as they cope with a zombie invasion of North London and attempt to rescue Shaun's girlfriend Liz (Ashfield) and his Mum (Wilton). It's going to be oneThis "rom zom com" (romantic zombie comedy) follows the bloody funny adventures of underachiever Shaun (Pegg) and his best mate Ed (Frost) as they cope with a zombie invasion of North London and attempt to rescue Shaun's girlfriend Liz (Ashfield) and his Mum (Wilton). It's going to be one hell of a weekend. (Rogue Pictures) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Remarkably fresh and inventive.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    88
    Whatever you want to label this quick-paced crowd-pleaser, it is definitely one of the year's must-sees.
  3. 80
    Mixing horror and humor is no mean feat, but Shaun Of The Dead tightens throats in fear without making the laughs stick there in the process.
  4. Its social satire is so dead-on.
  5. 75
    Pegg and director/co-writer Edgar Wright mix numerous references to other zombie flicks with hilarious bits of their own. The best has Ed and Shaun deciding which LPs can be used as ammo.
  6. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    70
    A classic example of a clever idea that could easily have run out of steam halfway. However, co-scripters Pegg and Wright structure it as a classic three-acter (set-up, journey, finale) with enough twists, character development and small set pieces to keep the comedy boiling.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    63
    For those who like their spoofs silly and their cartoonish gore vivid, Shaun offers some amusement.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 132
  1. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    This movie is bloody brilliant. Action-packed, hilarious and gory. The writing is funny, the acting is great, and the directing is superb. IThis movie is bloody brilliant. Action-packed, hilarious and gory. The writing is funny, the acting is great, and the directing is superb. I highly recommend it. Expand
  2. TomekZ
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    Great humour, editing, soundtrack and all the subtilties.
  3. cpmanc.
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    One of the best zombie movies ever. The death parts were very funny!
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This has to be one the most original comedies in years. It mixes the genre of horror spectacularly with the comedy. With such a depressing subject which has been explored by people such as George A. Romero, it's not the first zombie comedy, but I do think it is the best. The lines are great, the irony is clever, and each scene leaves you with a smile. Edgar Wright is a brilliant director and I am a fan of his works that I've seen. What works in his movies is the characters are so realistic and you can immediately identify with them. An example would be Ed, he is such a jerk but he's the kind of friend you've known forever. I think everyone has had this type of friend in their life at one point or another. Edgar Wright also has great symmetry with his movies, such displayed early on with two near identical long takes, that are just beautiful to behold. Also nearly every line has a just payoff, making the dialogue also very clever. The comedy is hilarious, the characters are great, and the editing is fast-paced and brilliant which leaves this movie impossible to keep your eyes off. Expand
  5. MichaelC
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    I find Shaun of the Dead to be a wonderful satire of zombie movies, with witty humor and a hilarious plot line, yet it was still able to I find Shaun of the Dead to be a wonderful satire of zombie movies, with witty humor and a hilarious plot line, yet it was still able to retain the traditional survivor-mentality. I think both Pegg and Frost played great idiot-saviors in the film, and Moran's role as the resistor and eventually the next meal was hilariously stunning. He had it coming. Expand
  6. KevinY.
    Nov 14, 2005
    8
    Great movie. Like a mix of Spaced, Monty Python, Night of The Living Dead, and a Staurday with my friends while we LARP a zombie outbreak. Great movie. Like a mix of Spaced, Monty Python, Night of The Living Dead, and a Staurday with my friends while we LARP a zombie outbreak. Very funny. I like Brittish humour. I find it as the "thinking man's" humour. Watch the movie and you'll either love it, or hate it. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    0
    Shaun of the Dead is a tasteless, disgusting piece of work with very little redemption or justification for all its gore. It's plot points areShaun of the Dead is a tasteless, disgusting piece of work with very little redemption or justification for all its gore. It's plot points are stupid and hypocritical, the characters are some of the most annoyingly stupid people I've ever seen on a screen, and the movie feels decidedly incompetent. One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Expand

See all 132 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 28, 2010
    From Sam Raimi's "Drag Me to Hell" to more comedic efforts like "Shaun of the Dead," the past decade has seen a number of solid new entries in the horror canon. We run down the 15 best-reviewed horror movies from the past ten years.