Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 353 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This "rom zom com" (romantic zombie comedy) follows the bloody funny adventures of underachiever Shaun (Pegg) and his best mate Ed (Frost) as they cope with a zombie invasion of North London and attempt to rescue Shaun's girlfriend Liz (Ashfield) and his Mum (Wilton). It's going to be one hell of a weekend. (Rogue Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Remarkably fresh and inventive.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    88
    Whatever you want to label this quick-paced crowd-pleaser, it is definitely one of the year's must-sees.
  3. 80
    In this truly retro horror flick, the heroes and heroines don't just quip over the action (though they do get off some funny lines); they're knee-deep in it, and scared sh------.
  4. 75
    This is an unusual source of entertainment.
  5. Its social satire is so dead-on.
  6. 70
    Both genuinely funny and authentically horrifying, it puts the average horror comedy to shame.
  7. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    63
    For those who like their spoofs silly and their cartoonish gore vivid, Shaun offers some amusement.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 127
  1. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    This movie is bloody brilliant. Action-packed, hilarious and gory. The writing is funny, the acting is great, and the directing is superb. I highly recommend it. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Shaun of the Dead is hands-down one of the best movies of the 21st Century. Brilliantly funny and genuinely scary at points. Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are amazing. Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    Unbelievably funny. I saw this just a year ago and screamed in laughter. These actors were so funny and had great comedic timing. It is bloody even for the TV version so for R, you are probably in for some gruesome scenes. The storyline, even if it is a spoof of the classic "Dawn of the Dead" was original and brilliantly written. Expand
  4. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    Shaun of the Dead is a charming film that is frequently entertaining and combines bloody zombie violence and witty satire in equal measure. This will surely please zombie fans and comedy fans unlike and still proves to be the best zombie comedy film in recent memory. Expand
  5. May 7, 2014
    9
    Cleverly written and cast perfectly, Shaun of the Dead is one of the rare parody movies that actually work. And by work, I mean knock it out of the park. Shaun of the Dead is fun, gory, and witty with a few feels that come along for the ride as well. Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    An incredibly entertaining comedy that manages to keep my interest despite seeing it at least a dozen times. The fact that it still holds up after all these years tells you how good it is. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    0
    Shaun of the Dead is a tasteless, disgusting piece of work with very little redemption or justification for all its gore. It's plot points are stupid and hypocritical, the characters are some of the most annoyingly stupid people I've ever seen on a screen, and the movie feels decidedly incompetent. One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Expand

See all 127 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000

    Ranked: The Best Horror Films Since 2000 Image
    Published: October 28, 2010
    From Sam Raimi's "Drag Me to Hell" to more comedic efforts like "Shaun of the Dead," the past decade has seen a number of solid new entries in the horror canon. We run down the 15 best-reviewed horror movies from the past ten years.