Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 16, 2011
    38
    So moron-friendly they should have called it "Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Checkers." The skill level in the script is elementary school, my dear Watson.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 15, 2011
    38
    As in the first "Sherlock Holmes" movie, there are plenty of pratfalls and bare-knuckle brawls but no sleuthing for us to share.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Dec 15, 2011
    25
    Certainly Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's creations have suffered permanent damage thanks to Ritchie's films.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Dec 14, 2011
    25
    Wither the rollicking verve and whip-crack humor in Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows?
  5. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 15, 2011
    0
    There's nothing here but wreckage. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is so ineptly made that the story is advanced solely through announcements.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 512 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 142
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    really good! i really like that you have to think harder with this part. part 1 told you everything, and was simple, this one makes you think harder, and it was really epic! slow-motion scene in the forest was awesome, fantastic humour to x) Full Review »
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    I liked this as much as the first one. That's saying a lot, it was one of my all time favorites. Great fun . The action flows very well and a cool surprise ending. Awesome movie. Full Review »
  3. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Shut up critics. You don't understand good film. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows has a complex storyline, and it's great acting and gentle humor makes it a hit. Plus, I loved the end.

    THE END ?
    Full Review »