User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 519 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 519

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    really good! i really like that you have to think harder with this part. part 1 told you everything, and was simple, this one makes you think harder, and it was really epic! slow-motion scene in the forest was awesome, fantastic humour to x)
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    I liked this as much as the first one. That's saying a lot, it was one of my all time favorites. Great fun . The action flows very well and a cool surprise ending. Awesome movie.
  3. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Shut up critics. You don't understand good film. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows has a complex storyline, and it's great acting and gentle humor makes it a hit. Plus, I loved the end.

    THE END ?
  4. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    This movie was very thought provoking. I loved it, but I can see how other people would classify this as boring. It was a long movie. Don't go in expecting it to be like the first one, it's not in more ways than a few. Most of the battles in this are mental. Didn't really care for the fire fights, but even with the gun battles, there was always an underlined theme.
  5. Dec 17, 2011
    4
    Guy Ritchie has managed to take anything that could be found fun in the first installment and use it to death to the point of monotony. Game of Shadows is really the same movie as the first: an extremely Hollywoodized, action-oriented take on the classic detective. While the first was fairly enjoyable, with a great performance by Downey Jr., this one has scrapped any mystery whatsoever inGuy Ritchie has managed to take anything that could be found fun in the first installment and use it to death to the point of monotony. Game of Shadows is really the same movie as the first: an extremely Hollywoodized, action-oriented take on the classic detective. While the first was fairly enjoyable, with a great performance by Downey Jr., this one has scrapped any mystery whatsoever in favor of a Victorian era, Steam Punk actioner. There is a bit of redemption however, with the last twenty-five minutes to half an hour being intense and fairly clever, as well as some decent action sequences. It doesn't exactly outweigh the awful performance by Stephen Fry or the fact that Robert Downey has now worked all originality or quirkiness in his character to death. And of course, the upsetting fact that they set it up for a third movie. Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2011
    3
    the first one was great, and this one was horrible. It had like three cool actions scenes and dry comedy throughout. But the movie stretched way too far. People were falling asleep in the theater and booing the movie. I really didn't like it.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    5
    It's witty and clever, but far from cohesive. Apparently Sherlock is not only a great detective, but he can see the future as well? The scenes where he knows what is going to take place are absurd. The ending is also beyond ridiculous. I hate it when directors act as though we, as the audience, are morons. It was fun to watch, but silly. Downey Jr. is a genius of an actor, and the savingIt's witty and clever, but far from cohesive. Apparently Sherlock is not only a great detective, but he can see the future as well? The scenes where he knows what is going to take place are absurd. The ending is also beyond ridiculous. I hate it when directors act as though we, as the audience, are morons. It was fun to watch, but silly. Downey Jr. is a genius of an actor, and the saving grace of this movie. He manages to salvage something positive from this messy film. Expand
  8. Dec 25, 2011
    4
    God, if I could put this in simplest terms this was an extremley boring movie and I honestly couldn't wait till it ended. The movie does take extreme intellectual ability to understand which is what makes this a boring movie also a silly premises and plot, though action at times also clever scripting and acting which saved the movie from total demise, other than that the movie was to long,God, if I could put this in simplest terms this was an extremley boring movie and I honestly couldn't wait till it ended. The movie does take extreme intellectual ability to understand which is what makes this a boring movie also a silly premises and plot, though action at times also clever scripting and acting which saved the movie from total demise, other than that the movie was to long, too boring, and to hard to understand. Expand
  9. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    The movie was brilliant and the actors were even more brilliant! I really enjoyed this movie: in my opinion the people who don't like it actually don't understand it.
  10. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    This film was amazing.I enjoyed every part of it.It was very humorous at times and sometimes shocking. I would strongly recommend this film.I actually prefer this film rather than the first one!
  11. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    Some movies you watch in order to see beauty; some movies you watch in order to think and contemplate; some movies you watch so that you can be entertained. "Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows" is certainly in the third category, and it knows it. This movie is about entertainment and not much more. Robert Downey, Jr. and Jude Law perform their parts very well as Sherlock and Watson. ISome movies you watch in order to see beauty; some movies you watch in order to think and contemplate; some movies you watch so that you can be entertained. "Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows" is certainly in the third category, and it knows it. This movie is about entertainment and not much more. Robert Downey, Jr. and Jude Law perform their parts very well as Sherlock and Watson. I would rate the movie more highly but I think that it could use some tightening in its plot. Nonetheless, the bedlam of the action sequences married to the erudition of the movie's wit make for good cinema. Expand
  12. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    A superb film, even better than the first. I found it hilariously funny, very gripping and despite what some might say about Holmes being too much of an action man - it is faithful to the original character. He was never supposed to be a sleuth, sitting at home solving mysteries. He only lounged at home in between cases - never by choice. Holmes always was a man of action. In Conan-doylesA superb film, even better than the first. I found it hilariously funny, very gripping and despite what some might say about Holmes being too much of an action man - it is faithful to the original character. He was never supposed to be a sleuth, sitting at home solving mysteries. He only lounged at home in between cases - never by choice. Holmes always was a man of action. In Conan-doyles books he took part in high speed chases, firefights and all sorts. Ok so he never pumelled the hell out of anyone with his bare hands - but I always felt that he should - seeing as he was an accomplished boxer. Anyway - the user reviews are much more in line with how the film actually plays. Most of the critics who say the film isn't faithful to the original text have never even read holmes. Expand
  13. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Still doing a great job at incorporating elements from Doyle's books, and Moriarity was played perfectly. It amazes me that critics liked MI:6 better than this
  14. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I like reading the critics reviews because they further help me understand that movies are primarily about entertainment and that the majority of America cares about just that fact. Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows was simply very entertaining. Kudos to Guy Ritchie and the cast taking it up a few notches. From start to finish the intrigue of how this one will end never disappoints, theI like reading the critics reviews because they further help me understand that movies are primarily about entertainment and that the majority of America cares about just that fact. Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows was simply very entertaining. Kudos to Guy Ritchie and the cast taking it up a few notches. From start to finish the intrigue of how this one will end never disappoints, the action is first rate and Robert continues to embody the Sherlock Holmes character. See the movie, its entertaining! Expand
  15. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    these critics know nothing about good movies, this film better get a higher score or there will be mess, anyway a range of action, mystery and suspense make sherlock holmes a great night out
  16. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    If I listened to critics, I wouldn't go see anything. SH: A game of Shadows has a complex storyline, average acting, gentle humor, and a surprise twist ending. THE END ? Oscar or Not? No.
  17. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Robert Downey, Jr. and Jude Law return once again as Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson in â
  18. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    An awesome movie - Sherlock Holmes has the ability to keep you at the edge of its seat with its extreme unpredictability. Not so much that you lose control of the plot and you just sit there looking puzzled and confused, but to keep you intrigued of what might happen next. It's one of those movies that actually makes you think - you yourself may have turned into a Sherlock HolmesAn awesome movie - Sherlock Holmes has the ability to keep you at the edge of its seat with its extreme unpredictability. Not so much that you lose control of the plot and you just sit there looking puzzled and confused, but to keep you intrigued of what might happen next. It's one of those movies that actually makes you think - you yourself may have turned into a Sherlock Holmes unravelling the mystery of what both Sherlock and Dr. Watson are solving. So much darker and creepier tale - but is still enjoyable for the imminent teens because it does not make them feel stupid, but neither is it too much for them. This movie also goes deeper into Sherlock's and Watson's relationship, I think they make such a good team, so funny, so brilliant, like there's an unbreakable bond between them. It still manages to pull off an excellent line of gags - I laughed and laughed so much I wished I could laugh at it all over again when it finished because it was so hilarious. One unmissable moment involves a man and some drag, and don't forget to look out for the surprise ending, which fascinated and entertained for what might come next. It achieves both sides - its technical side is perfection, and the literary and artistic skills don't come amiss, unlike some movies nowadays. And this is what I call a real movie, and a really good sequel to what came before. A thrill ride of a movie taking you from one place to another - miss this and you miss the biggest and best rollercoaster of your life. The critics certainly don't know what they're missing - don't even believe one word of what they're saying - see this and be overjoyed that you did listen to common sense. Expand
  19. Dec 17, 2011
    8
    The beginning of the movie is kind of boring and just plain action with less content but the 2nd half pays up for it with more chess moving.. the climax scene with Sherlock and Moriarty is just pure awesome.
  20. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    I just saw this movie last night and was blown away. It was way better than the first one. The storyline was incredible, and the actors were amazing, not to mention the amazing action sequences. Guy Ritchie has made yet another amazing movie. Alot of people don't like the Sherlock homes movies because they are not true to the book. I think that it is a great adaptation, and it was veryI just saw this movie last night and was blown away. It was way better than the first one. The storyline was incredible, and the actors were amazing, not to mention the amazing action sequences. Guy Ritchie has made yet another amazing movie. Alot of people don't like the Sherlock homes movies because they are not true to the book. I think that it is a great adaptation, and it was very well done. The only problem I had was that Sherlock Holmes' characterization was not the same as it was in the first film, and I thought they could have found a better actor to play Moriarity. Other than those things the movie was amazing. Expand
  21. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    The second chapter is better than the first for quality fiction and for entertainment. The actors are really good, and Moriarty is a real villain. Excellent slow-motion effects, set design, costumes ... amazing film! Recommended.
  22. Dec 19, 2011
    1
    I am not sure I saw the same movie as others reviewing this trash. I am an avid movie goer who enjoys a variety of movies. I did enjoy the first Sherlock Holmes movie. I thought it was fresh and fast moving. This movie was extremely difficult to follow. Additionally, the characters were not well developed. The end of the movie tried to tie everything together. However, by thenI am not sure I saw the same movie as others reviewing this trash. I am an avid movie goer who enjoys a variety of movies. I did enjoy the first Sherlock Holmes movie. I thought it was fresh and fast moving. This movie was extremely difficult to follow. Additionally, the characters were not well developed. The end of the movie tried to tie everything together. However, by then nobody cared! I had a difficult time staying awake. From the comments heard from the other members in the audience, I was not the only one. Don't waste your money. If you must see this, wait until it hits TV. Expand
  23. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    While I think they could have toned down the action bit a little bit, I thought the movie flowed really well. Jude Law and Robert Downey Jr both had excellent performances, as usual. The end had the whole theater laughing, myself included.
  24. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    It was clear that the critics no nothing about movies. One is to wonder how they even got a job. This movie is mixed with mystery, suspense, humor, and all around fun. Robert Downey Jr. wastes no time in making this action packed film full excitement. Well worth the $10+ at a movie theater.
  25. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    Complex story line. Decent acting. An amazing adventure, full of thrills at every corner. What more could you want?
  26. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    I probably laughed out loud a good 30 times during the film, which is many more times than I expected to, but it just felt bloated around the middle. I still love the action sequences, and Downey Jr. is made for this role, but it could be tightened up in the 3rd iteration.
  27. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    SH2 offers a great blend of action and mystery, and it's worth a few laughs. RDJ, Jared Harris and Stephen Fry are all phenomenal. The ending left a few things open to question, but I'm sure that will all get cleared up in SH3. Overall, I think most people who enjoyed the first one will enjoy this one as well.
  28. Dec 17, 2011
    4
    Not awful, just not worth watching. Admittedly, I wasn't a fan of the first, but I wanted to see where they went with a sequel. Unfortunately, they retain the same problems that made the first movie uninteresting. The plot is so convoluted that most audience members will stop trying to figure out what's going on to try and just try to focus on the film's over-saturated action sequences.
  29. Dec 18, 2011
    5
    I enjoyed it as a thrill ride and fun action flick. My wife really liked it and would give it a 9 out of 10. I was too distracted by one of my biggest pet peeves to rank it above a 5. As a "gun guy" I can't abide seriously flawed firearms details. If as a filmmaker you choose to make a big deal about the firearms the characters are using perhaps you should pick one that is contemporaryI enjoyed it as a thrill ride and fun action flick. My wife really liked it and would give it a 9 out of 10. I was too distracted by one of my biggest pet peeves to rank it above a 5. As a "gun guy" I can't abide seriously flawed firearms details. If as a filmmaker you choose to make a big deal about the firearms the characters are using perhaps you should pick one that is contemporary to the period not a Luger P08 that won't be invented for nearly two decades, not to mention the sub-machine gun that's at least a quarter century out of time. Give Taran Butler a call or better yet call me and I'll consult for free! Expand
  30. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My expectations werent necessarily low, but I was very pleasantly surprised by how brilliantly written, meticulously directed and fantastically edited this better-than-the-original sequel was. Critic response hasnt been very positive, so I expected some level of disappointment, but I left disappointed in the lack of praise this movie has received. The cast is downright perfect, as it was the last time, but what improved this version over the extremely wonderful predecessor was the extensive insight into Sherlock's detective mind, something I considered lacking in the original. The relationship between Holmes and Watson was more deeply built, as was Holmes' relationship with his adversary. Moriarty was a perfect counterpart and a joy to finally see on screen. Other than the length, I have very, very little criticism of this intellectually stimulating, action-packed feast for the senses. The getaway scene from the armory was enough to praise Ritchie, and this is coming from a not-so-interested-in-action-movies kind of guy. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is a masterpiece in a genere not often represented or respected. Expand
  31. Dec 23, 2011
    5
    The potential for this series is great but no one seems wiling to take advantage of it. Here we have two great actors in Robert Downey, JR and Jude Law and the result is a TV miniseries. This film is no improvement on the first which may be my fault for not knowing the Holmes/Moriarty story better. Ritchie would have done himself some good if he had laid the foundation for that rivalry. InThe potential for this series is great but no one seems wiling to take advantage of it. Here we have two great actors in Robert Downey, JR and Jude Law and the result is a TV miniseries. This film is no improvement on the first which may be my fault for not knowing the Holmes/Moriarty story better. Ritchie would have done himself some good if he had laid the foundation for that rivalry. In addition, Law is not that good at being the straight man to Holmes. Law could have been left out of the film and I would not have noticed. Lastly, is Ritchie turning Moriarty into the a Bond super villain? Let's hope not as that is what destroyed that series. Expand
  32. Dec 22, 2011
    4
    This sequel has very little of what made the original so much fun. Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.) and Dr. Watson (Jude Law) talk way too much and most of it's not witty. Worse yet, the plot is confusing and convoluted. The action sequences are edited so fast and blurry that's it's impossible to tell what's going on. Director Ritchie has thrown around plenty of his stylistic flourishes, butThis sequel has very little of what made the original so much fun. Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.) and Dr. Watson (Jude Law) talk way too much and most of it's not witty. Worse yet, the plot is confusing and convoluted. The action sequences are edited so fast and blurry that's it's impossible to tell what's going on. Director Ritchie has thrown around plenty of his stylistic flourishes, but they just add flash and noise. There's nothing about this film to recommend it. Expand
  33. Dec 19, 2011
    6
    I'm giving it a pass - barely - because it was never boring. I'm still not convinced Guy Ritchie is the right director for Sherlock Holmes. I admire his visual style, but there was too much distracting slow motion and super fast word play between all the characters. I still have the same problem as I had in the first film about turning Holmes into a kung fu fighting super hero, butI'm giving it a pass - barely - because it was never boring. I'm still not convinced Guy Ritchie is the right director for Sherlock Holmes. I admire his visual style, but there was too much distracting slow motion and super fast word play between all the characters. I still have the same problem as I had in the first film about turning Holmes into a kung fu fighting super hero, but Hollywood has decided the average movie-goer in America has the attention span of a mosquito so the more action the better. They also threw a woman in the film for no reason, she is absolutely wasted. Still, Robert Downing Jr. and Jude Law do have a chemistry, there are some laughs, and a lot of action. Just don't expect much if you are a fan of the Arthur Conan Doyle books. Expand
  34. Jan 1, 2012
    0
    This has to be the worst Sherlock Holmes movie I ever saw. The story is uninspiring (to say the least) and advances in fits and turns. Dialogue is poorly written and astonishingly boring for the most part. The plot is so transparent, that you could watch another - far better - movie looking right through it. There was literally one scene, that managed to interest me and it's far towardsThis has to be the worst Sherlock Holmes movie I ever saw. The story is uninspiring (to say the least) and advances in fits and turns. Dialogue is poorly written and astonishingly boring for the most part. The plot is so transparent, that you could watch another - far better - movie looking right through it. There was literally one scene, that managed to interest me and it's far towards the end of the movie. And about 5 minutes long. Expand
  35. Dec 26, 2011
    6
    An improvement over the original. My audience actually clapped, I think because the ending was clever, more so than the rest of the film. It's good they killed off Holmes' love interest early so they could concentrate on the real romantic relationship between Watson and Holmes. Not sure why they tried to make Downey look like the Joker in Batman in one scene.
  36. Dec 28, 2011
    5
    Guy Ritchie delivers his lurid best. I don't think that Moriarty is the worth enemy for Holmes. I got dizzy, lousy acts. Don't enjoy the talk, "the game," enjoy the slow-motion action scene, the forest scene is my favorite.
  37. Dec 28, 2011
    6
    Even though there are now two films in Guy Ritchieâ
  38. Jan 7, 2012
    1
    Such a dull and boring movie. The only thing that is possibly interesting at all are the fists fights due to the obscure filming. I would rather watch Bridesmaids than this garbage, and Bridesmaids was one horrid piece of crap. From about 10 minutes in I was ready to walk away, and that feeling didn't change. The story was boring, Rachel Mcadams was in it for about 5 minutes. The jokesSuch a dull and boring movie. The only thing that is possibly interesting at all are the fists fights due to the obscure filming. I would rather watch Bridesmaids than this garbage, and Bridesmaids was one horrid piece of crap. From about 10 minutes in I was ready to walk away, and that feeling didn't change. The story was boring, Rachel Mcadams was in it for about 5 minutes. The jokes weren't funny and the action was barely enjoyable and fancy. Worst movie of 2011 and 2012 at present. Expand
  39. Jan 1, 2012
    5
    The second installment in Guy Ritchie's Sherlock Holmes franchise is more action-packed than the first, and is just as funny. It's also on a far grander scale, as the great detective launches into a game of wits with his arch-nemesis Professor Moriarty (Jared Harris in a piece of perfect casting). Whilst the stakes have been increased, and there are a good deal more explosions this timeThe second installment in Guy Ritchie's Sherlock Holmes franchise is more action-packed than the first, and is just as funny. It's also on a far grander scale, as the great detective launches into a game of wits with his arch-nemesis Professor Moriarty (Jared Harris in a piece of perfect casting). Whilst the stakes have been increased, and there are a good deal more explosions this time round, A Game of Shadows has lost a lot of the charm the first film had. Robert Downey, Jr. has well and truly grown into his role - in the first film it felt like he was finding his feet, discovering who the character of Holmes really was, but this time round he is completely certain of himself, and his incarnation of the iconic literary character is mesmerising. As previously mentioned, Jared Harris makes the perfect Moriarty, both believable as an academic and as a criminal mastermind, and always menacing, and the scenes of "intellectual fistycuffs" between Holmes and Moriarty are without doubt the highlight of the film. Unfortunately Jude Law's Dr. Watson is now a little dull. In the first film he was essential to Holmes' investigations, serving as a combination of best friend, carer and bodyguard, but this time round he seems to have been brought along for the ride as an afterthought. He serves little purpose other than running around and firing the odd shot while Holmes works everything out. He's now just a big moving target with a moustache for evil henchmen to shoot at. And Jude Law forgets his character's limp on an alarmingly frequent basis. The relationship between Holmes and Watson has also devolved from an amusing "bromance" into full-blown homo-eroticism. Other characters from the first film aren't given the screen-time they deserve - Rachel McAdams' Irene Adler gets a couple of short scenes, and if you blink you'll miss Eddie Marsan's Inspector Lestrade. The performances of series newcomers Noomi Rapace and Stephen Fry are both competent but uninspiring. The main problem with the story of A Game of Shadows is not that it's uninventive and predictable (which it is), but that the pace is inconsistent - alternating between complex action scenes and quieter moments where Holmes tries to figure out exactly what is going on results in the story having a rather jarring stop-start feel. In addition, because of the excessive use of innuendo, sometimes the film resembles a Carry On! a little too closely. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is still entertaining for the most part, and has great performances from Robert Downey, Jr. and Jared Harris, but a combination of reduced roles for some central characters, uneven pacing and some laughable double entendre makes the film far less than it might be. Here's hoping these problems will be addressed in the sequel that will undoubtedly appear at some point in the near future. Expand
  40. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    First off, i do not agree with the critics whatsoever. This movie was veryy good. Robert Downey Jr. is back and better than ever as the always funny and incredbily intelligent Sherlock Holmes and a very well made sequel to the first sherlock holmes. The story kept me entertained from start to finish, the action was mindblowing, and the acting by the 2 lead stars Downey Jr. and Mr. Law wasFirst off, i do not agree with the critics whatsoever. This movie was veryy good. Robert Downey Jr. is back and better than ever as the always funny and incredbily intelligent Sherlock Holmes and a very well made sequel to the first sherlock holmes. The story kept me entertained from start to finish, the action was mindblowing, and the acting by the 2 lead stars Downey Jr. and Mr. Law was on par, same with the supporting cast. Loved this film from the very start to the very end. Must see film, 9/10 Expand
  41. Dec 17, 2011
    8
    If you liked the first one then you will love this one! Downey and Law team up once again to unravel a mystery and combat evil in Victorian Europe. The supporting actors are once again excellent except for Noomi Rapace, who is lifeless and can't act a lick. Her performance was almost as bad as Rachel McAdams' in the first movie. Rachel comes back (but only briefly) as Irene Adler leavingIf you liked the first one then you will love this one! Downey and Law team up once again to unravel a mystery and combat evil in Victorian Europe. The supporting actors are once again excellent except for Noomi Rapace, who is lifeless and can't act a lick. Her performance was almost as bad as Rachel McAdams' in the first movie. Rachel comes back (but only briefly) as Irene Adler leaving Noomi to stink up the main female role. The saving grace for the girls is Kelly Reilly, who once again shines as Watson's fiance/wife. The action is almost non-stop and the "face to face" confrontations between Holmes and Professor Moriarity (played to perfection by Jared Harris) are superb.
    I'd ignore the negative reviews and consider just who didn't like this movie. They are probably the same critics who swoon over the crap that winds up being nominated but never winning during awards season.
    Expand
  42. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    I thought the movie was great fun. As long as you do not expect to see the classic Sherlock Holmes in the books I think you will be pleasantly surprised. The whole theatre was laughing and enjoying the movie and I was too.
  43. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is .......(Ow WTH) I Love It ! I Love It ! I Love It ! I Love It ! . Its SUPERB . The whole film is so awesome and exactly what i wanted,more wider then the first one .It had some same things like the first one,most of the time it goes bad for sequels but it was does so well. None Stop action and (You Know!) Just brilliant .I am a big big fan of theSherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is .......(Ow WTH) I Love It ! I Love It ! I Love It ! I Love It ! . Its SUPERB . The whole film is so awesome and exactly what i wanted,more wider then the first one .It had some same things like the first one,most of the time it goes bad for sequels but it was does so well. None Stop action and (You Know!) Just brilliant .I am a big big fan of the first film , so i wan a bit of worried but Ritchie did it again . He once again proved that he is really good . Nothing to say about Robert Downey Jr. , He is AWESOME . Jude Law was great . He did really amazing work , he actually succeed to stole screen beside Downey . Two beautiful lady Noomi Rapace & Kelly Reilly did amazing work as well as Rachel McAdams .Stephen Fry was hilarious . Jared Harris did great jod playing Pro.J.M. but Paul Anderson was perfect (The).Slow motion was great , and it was a good story . Really looking forward to the second sequel (hope it will be in 2013). Expand
  44. Dec 21, 2011
    5
    Rarely do we see a sequel outstrip the original, and "Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows" is no exception. There appears to be a desire to reproduce some of the ambience of a Harry Potter film, which I noticed in the first Holmes project as well. In the original film, there was a pronounced and very dark occult theme; in the sequel the occult theme is lessened but vaguely represented by aRarely do we see a sequel outstrip the original, and "Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows" is no exception. There appears to be a desire to reproduce some of the ambience of a Harry Potter film, which I noticed in the first Holmes project as well. In the original film, there was a pronounced and very dark occult theme; in the sequel the occult theme is lessened but vaguely represented by a gypsy character played by Noomi Rapace (from "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo," original Swedish production). She reads Tarot cards and hangs out with a gypsy band of wild, unbathed, petty thieves. She adds a colorful touch to the plot, although we see only a fraction of the intensity she generated in the Dragon Tattoo film. Jude Law's Watson seems to be as prevalent as Robert Downey's Holmes. Moriarty, played by Jared Harris, and Holmes are engaged in a violent physical and mental conflict to outwit each other. Moriarty is the incarnation of evil; Holmes is the hero and the good guy, a mantle he accepts with humor and a modest sense of grace. As a period piece set in 1891, there is much attention to detail--dress styles, ballrooms, weaponry, automobiles, etc. But the action-packed film is greatly dependent on shootouts and physical violence--dialogue and subtle intrigue cannot carry the plot. No matter how many times Holmes gets pummeled, he always bounces back in the next scene with only one or two scratches on his face, even after a giant tower practically falls on his head. His genius is characterized by a strange ability to note every detail with lightning speed, portrayed by fast-paced camera cuts. Action scenes are often frozen in slow motion, like a silent dream, then sound and normal speed are suddenly resumed. These camera tricks may be necessary to distract the viewer from the dullness of the plot. Despite the authenticity, Holmes says something about Watson getting a "nosh," which is a little startling. True, the Yiddish word, "nashn", which means "to snack," is derived from Middle High and Old High German; nevertheless, as a slang word that slipped into the English language, it can only be traced back to the 1950's. Too late for the very Protestant Sherlock Holmes, unless the Jewish community in London gave the Brits a head start on Yiddish expressions. Rachel McAdams reappears in this sequel, only to have her character killed off in the first fifteen minutes of the film. Surprising, since A-list actors never get killed off right away. Did McAdams have a busy schedule, or did she get fired by producer Susan Downey after sharing a rare, onscreen kiss with the producer's husband Robert Downey, Jr.? (It is a bit of a running joke among Downey fans that his wife, also his producer and boss, does not like to see him do love scenes.) The ending is an unembarrassed attempt to prepare us for Sherlock Holmes 3. And jealous and insecure wives aside, in the end the best reason to see this film is to have another opportunity to lose yourself in the large, soul-filled, liquid brown eyes of Robert Downey, Jr. Expand
  45. Dec 26, 2011
    7
    Much better than the previous film: I could understand everything RDJr said this time, and the action sequences were more easy to follow (just!). The central relationship between Holmes and Watson was beautifully done and it looked great. In all, a perfectly entertaining night out.
  46. Dec 17, 2011
    7
    It kept me more entertained than the first one. There is certainly a lot more action. Not only is it bigger, but it is also even better than the first.
  47. Dec 18, 2011
    8
    A game of shadows starts fairly slowly and is slightly confusing at first as it doesn't continue the cliffhanger from the first one- which seems strange. Its slow start is however made up by what follows- the antagonist in the form of professor James Moriarty is a brilliant match against Sherlock and the banter and a clever game of cat and mouse is outstanding between them. The action setA game of shadows starts fairly slowly and is slightly confusing at first as it doesn't continue the cliffhanger from the first one- which seems strange. Its slow start is however made up by what follows- the antagonist in the form of professor James Moriarty is a brilliant match against Sherlock and the banter and a clever game of cat and mouse is outstanding between them. The action set pieces are amazing including a train and a breathtaking slow motion escape through a forest that is that good you can hardly breathe. The films ending however is clearly the best aspect of the film in which an outstanding showdown between the professor and Sherlock takes place over a physical and somewhat metaphorical game of chess. While the film starts not its does find its steam and from then on never fails impress and amaze. Expand
  48. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Although i enjoyed the first one I didnt really think it was that great, and seeing the trailer for this one I was not terribly excited. But Downey Jr. as ever carried the show with solid support from Jude Law, Jared Harris and Stephen Fry. Good humor, good action, a fun if somewhat shallow holiday movie.
  49. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    I just went and saw this last night at a premier. I'd read a lot of the reviews so I wasn't expecting much and was really pleasantly surprised. The movie was a lot of fun. I think Law and Downy Jr. have a great rapport and do a tremendous job. Is it the English Patient? No, and it was never intended to be some critics need to understand some films are just meant to be fun.
  50. Dec 26, 2011
    6
    Like the previous Sherlock Holmes movie I had no idea what was going on until the ending when everything came together, however overall this movie has good action scenes and is entertaining.
  51. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    A Game of Shadows didn't have quite the same appeal as the first as there's a bit too much unnecessary talking, and started to drag a little towards the end (numb ass and a bit of shuffling in my seat...), but was still enjoyable to watch. The fight scene breakdowns are back and are really good, especially the last! Best section by far though is the forest run (seen in the trailer), theA Game of Shadows didn't have quite the same appeal as the first as there's a bit too much unnecessary talking, and started to drag a little towards the end (numb ass and a bit of shuffling in my seat...), but was still enjoyable to watch. The fight scene breakdowns are back and are really good, especially the last! Best section by far though is the forest run (seen in the trailer), the slow motion, fast spins and explosions were great!

    If you liked the first, you'll probably like this too, but prepare to be a little let down I think.
    Expand
  52. Dec 18, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A truly poor sequel. Ritchie takes the device of Holmes being able to triumph physically through rapid intellectual analysis pod the situation, which worked in the first installment, and beats it to death here. The charm of Conan Doyle's books is that the reclusive cerebral Holmes can observe minute details which illuminate the truth of crime scenes, interrogations, and the rest of criminal investigation. In order to pander to a broad (and presumably dull-witted) audience, Ritchie has turned Downey's performance into that of a whirling martial arts sensei. Moriarty is no hatcher of labyrinthine schemes here but merely a run of the mill (by today's standards) defense contractor. The ham-handed finale was the final insult and, for me, His Last Bow. Expand
  53. Dec 21, 2011
    5
    Sadly the sequel failed to live up to the first installment of the franchise though it is not without merit. In this new film on the mystery solving detective, Shelock Holmes must uncover a plot most foul devised by the evil Professor Moriarty and foil it before Europe is thrown into the grips of a World War. The strongest part of the film is its cast lead by Robert Downey Jr as HolmesSadly the sequel failed to live up to the first installment of the franchise though it is not without merit. In this new film on the mystery solving detective, Shelock Holmes must uncover a plot most foul devised by the evil Professor Moriarty and foil it before Europe is thrown into the grips of a World War. The strongest part of the film is its cast lead by Robert Downey Jr as Holmes and Jude Law as Dr. Watson who give respectable performances and work very well together. Jared Harris proved to be almost perfect for the role as the evil professor and Stephen Fry provides some excellent comic relief. The film also has top notch production design and effects and another good score by the awe inspiring Hans Zimmer. However the movie tries to be too complicated and intricate and at times the plot gets muddled. Worse still are some of the jarring action scenes, which constantly alternate between slow and fast motion leaving the viewer exhausted. Then there are the confusing scenes when Holmes seems to visualize every fight he gets into before the actual fight takes place which seems very redundant to me. Furthermore the film makes Holmes seem unrealistically intelligent. For example, in one scene Holmes notices a wine and a cement spill on the floor of a cellar and this somehow leads him to the correct conclusion that there is a secret exit in the cellar if one pushes a certain lever on a coat hanger. Still it's worth seeing if you are a fan of the first film even if it falls a little short. Expand
  54. Dec 25, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed this movie much better than the first. I do think Game of Shadows is an appropriate title, however, I felt there should have been more of that going on in the film. The plot was transparent at each step. Downey and Law's acting compliment each other so well you'd think this is who they are in real life. Very well paced movie.
  55. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    This was the most pleasant movie experience I have had in 2 years, after having seen the previews I feared this would be Sherlock Holmes on speed. Instead the movie augmented what was good from the first movie, and generally just surprised the hell out of me with a great plot, great acting, and the perfect balance between action and real acting.
  56. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    I have got to say, the critics AND users were a little harsh on this VERY SLIGHTLY flawed diamond. this movie was entertaining and very action packed. harsh critics rate it bad and only say they fell asleep, giving no backing to why is was terrible. I see no justification in that. Now the reasons why I said the movie was slightly flawed are't even worth mentioning. if you get a chance toI have got to say, the critics AND users were a little harsh on this VERY SLIGHTLY flawed diamond. this movie was entertaining and very action packed. harsh critics rate it bad and only say they fell asleep, giving no backing to why is was terrible. I see no justification in that. Now the reasons why I said the movie was slightly flawed are't even worth mentioning. if you get a chance to watch it, please, watch it. Expand
  57. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Phenomenal movie! Intense action, amazing filmography, good plot, great acting. A must see. Witty and filled with clever British humor. Keeps you on your toes.
  58. Jan 1, 2012
    0
    The actors are great as usual. But the director needs his head examined. This movie was horrible! What a waste of time, not to mention money. The first RD Jr. Holmes was great, but this one should be avoided. It will make the 99 cent box of cheap DVD's at the Supermarket rather quickly.
  59. Feb 14, 2013
    2
    The first one was an amusing little action flick, even if it had nothing to do with Sherlock Holmes. This one doesn't even try to be a good movie, and they've stopped pretending to be Sherlock and Watson altogether. Terrible movie.
  60. Feb 12, 2012
    5
    The movie was good but the ending kinda killed it. The pity I had was quickly vanished when Sherlock was still alive. This movie had potential but thanks to the anti-climatic ending, potential no more.
  61. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    Had to write a comment seeing a ridiculous zero score by the SF Chronicle. I have seen so many bad movies lately (including some Oscar noms.) but this ain't one of them. What do critics expect Bergman? It started off a little shaky but soon had soon had me hooked. Robert Downey and Jude Law are great as usual, and loved the convoluted plot. And what a pleasure to see Noomi Rapace waltzHad to write a comment seeing a ridiculous zero score by the SF Chronicle. I have seen so many bad movies lately (including some Oscar noms.) but this ain't one of them. What do critics expect Bergman? It started off a little shaky but soon had soon had me hooked. Robert Downey and Jude Law are great as usual, and loved the convoluted plot. And what a pleasure to see Noomi Rapace waltz through a marvelous role as a gypsy. All in all super fun all the way to the end. Hats off to Guy Ritchie for another winner. Expand
  62. Dec 30, 2012
    8
    Lots of action, a fair smattering of comedy and a thrilling plot go together to make up this film. Most of it works pretty well, however there is a bit of a weak link and that is the part of the story involving the character played by the, woefully underused, Noomi Rapace. I thought it was a little weak and didn
  63. Apr 16, 2012
    6
    Reviewing this in real time;
    It begins 'elementary' enough, by minute 22 I've 'deduced' that this ride is going to be 99.9% visual, so I'm now removing my thinking cap and settling in for 2 hours of style over substance. It's very pretty. Every shot would make a decent screensaver. Very little of the dialogue seems to matter. OMG it's see-Say, they keep saying exactly what we're
    Reviewing this in real time;
    It begins 'elementary' enough, by minute 22 I've 'deduced' that this ride is going to be 99.9% visual, so I'm now removing my thinking cap and settling in for 2 hours of style over substance. It's very pretty. Every shot would make a decent screensaver. Very little of the dialogue seems to matter. OMG it's see-Say, they keep saying exactly what we're already seeing. You could watch this with the sound off. Minute 51 and I'm still not letting myself think about what I'm seeing, that would ruin it. It's still very pretty to look at, though. I think this is what you would call a "visual feast". BTW, the acting is fine, everyone is squeezing as much tonal modulation as possible from every line. Emote, baby, emote.
    Just to underline the most glaring error so far, Sherlock Holmes is and always has been the 'Thinking Man's hero'. He's wasn't Indiana Jones, he's wasn't Bond, he's wasn't Batman. But now he's all three. Okay, now back to the film.
    It got really really pretty for a while and now it's just back to regular pretty.We're at the point where the audience is supposed to think, "Uh oh, s#!+ just got real." Bombs, canons, Gatling guns, GERMANS! A ballet of explosions! Death...sadness, loss...resurrection? Aww, BFFF's. That was fun to watch. Okay, let's regroup and begin building the third act.
    Surprisingly I now care (mildly) about the principle characters. Still no use for dialogue, you know everything because you can see it. Ha! Ritchie just tried to make a political statement about war profiteers. Cute. Hm, final conflict was also fun to watch. Final punchline aaand that's a wrap.
    Okay to summarize, it's all about style, there's no mystery or very much story for you to get absorbed in, you just follow the action to the end. Guy Ritchie is not deep but he does have an eye for visual detail and when he gets to stop worrying about storyline and just lay out cool visuals he nails it. Early in to this real-time review I started thinking of this film as a high priced escort, pretty to look at but no fun to talk to. Well this one was pretty enough so you didn't need to talk to her for 2hours, 3 minutes and 27 seconds. And now that she's gone you can't hate on her. She is what she is.
    6 out of 10 because I didn't feel frustrated when it was over. AND it was really pretty.
    Expand
  64. Aug 31, 2012
    8
    A very enjoyable movie just like the first, so if you liked that one you will like this one as well. Great action, the acting is once again fantastic, and it was funny. I recommend this, and hope there will be sequels to it.
  65. Jul 16, 2012
    6
    Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is a solid sequel that walks the fine line between improving upon the ideas of it's predecessor or simply retreading them. Although not perfect, the movie does more than enough to entertain throughout it's duration. Is it superior to the original? To be honest, I think it's too close to call... But is it worth watching? Well, that's elementary my dear reader.
  66. Dec 29, 2011
    6
    The rush for this movie comes from the success of the previous one. Nice photography, excellent scenery, same music, as well as the two main characters Sherlock Holmes (Robert Downey) and his friend Dr. Watson (Jude Law), his lady friend, Irene Adler (Rachel McAdams) , died poisoned at the very early scenes. A first success does not imply a second one, that what typically happened. In thisThe rush for this movie comes from the success of the previous one. Nice photography, excellent scenery, same music, as well as the two main characters Sherlock Holmes (Robert Downey) and his friend Dr. Watson (Jude Law), his lady friend, Irene Adler (Rachel McAdams) , died poisoned at the very early scenes. A first success does not imply a second one, that what typically happened. In this second version it is more of a satiric Sherlock Holmes who makes fun at the first place, he overestimates his brightness of mind against adversaries and events. Life is not a one person brain capable of solving all mysteries that easily and fore-sightly. Two hours are spent in this movie following beautiful shootings and scenery in a non convincing acting or scenario. I went out with a main feeling, something is missing. Expand
  67. Feb 12, 2012
    6
    Sherlock Holmes was a marvelous movie. It had action, humor, style and wit amongst things but it also had substance in it's story. And that's were SH2 comes up short for me. The story isn't as absorbing as the original however it terms of action and entertainment in trumps it by some manner. A Game of Shadows picks up from it's predecessor with Sherlock hot on the heels of ProfessorSherlock Holmes was a marvelous movie. It had action, humor, style and wit amongst things but it also had substance in it's story. And that's were SH2 comes up short for me. The story isn't as absorbing as the original however it terms of action and entertainment in trumps it by some manner. A Game of Shadows picks up from it's predecessor with Sherlock hot on the heels of Professor Moriarty (Jared Harris). The beginning is frantic and sets up the tone for the film and also includes a brief cameo from Rachel McAdams,playing Irene Adler. Holmes suspects Moriarty to be behind some seemingly unrelated business acquisitions, murders and terrorist attacks and in doing so takes on Moriarty in a "Game of Shadows." The plot is difficult follow at times and you will often be left wondering what is going on although the final third of the film comes together very well leading to an awesome ending that I didn't see coming. What SH2 has in abundance is sheer entertainment and amazing action. The explosive set-pieces are outstanding and really capture your attention drawing you into the film, it's almost as if the story is secondary infact that's largely the point, Guy Ritchie succeeds in the action department but the story is lacking. Robert Downey Jr. is once more in fantastic form as Holmes bringing that charm and personality to the role, Jude Law also impresses as Watson delivering another fine performance. Noomi Rapace, best known for The Girl With... trilogy, comes on board and there's even an appearance from a certain Stephen Fry! A Game of Shadows excels in it's set-pieces extravaganza providing some of the best explosive sequences your likely to see however the story loses its focus and as a result is hard to follow until the closing stages which ultimately pays off with a fabulous finale Sherlock Holmes style. Expand
  68. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    This movie is awesome, mind blowing, amazing, i don't know how else to describe it. The execution, sound effects, the atmosphere of the nineteenth century have been done most efficiently. The story has been conveyed very well to the audience throughout the film. I don't understand why the critics have insulted this beautiful piece of art by giving it a 48.
    I think, the only thing that kept
    This movie is awesome, mind blowing, amazing, i don't know how else to describe it. The execution, sound effects, the atmosphere of the nineteenth century have been done most efficiently. The story has been conveyed very well to the audience throughout the film. I don't understand why the critics have insulted this beautiful piece of art by giving it a 48.
    I think, the only thing that kept me from giving this movie a 10, is that the conventional Sherlock Holmes approach was not there, and the story could have been a little more complicated for Sherlock Holmes.
    This movie can be watched how many ever times a person desires to.
    Expand
  69. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    Like the first Sherlock movie, Sherlock 2 looks great with good editing and a visual style but does not have a compelling plot or characters you care that much for. There are some charming moments but for the most part Sherlock 2 was underwhelming. I recommend Sherlock 2 if you liked the first movie but don't expect too much as its only ok and is not too memorable.
  70. May 15, 2012
    10
    I give this movie a solid, easy 10. It was fast- paced and had a more compelling plot than the previous movie. I particularly like how this movie gave you all the clues in such a way that in the end, you had a fantastic moment of blissful realization when you saw how the whole puzzle fit together and saw Holmes' plan. I would definitely recommend it.
  71. Jan 5, 2012
    3
    I'm no fan of the first Sherlock Holmes flick, and now the second installment only reduced my liking of the film series. This is definitely a Guy Ritchie film, it has boisterous action, choppy editing and what not, which does nothing to advance its already mediocre plot. The "humor" is quite corny and lacks comedic timing, and the script itself was a miss. Polished production designs andI'm no fan of the first Sherlock Holmes flick, and now the second installment only reduced my liking of the film series. This is definitely a Guy Ritchie film, it has boisterous action, choppy editing and what not, which does nothing to advance its already mediocre plot. The "humor" is quite corny and lacks comedic timing, and the script itself was a miss. Polished production designs and efforts from the cast are not enough to save this one, as it was one big mess. Expand
  72. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this movie, it was thrilling and comical, moved along at a fair pace and had enough of a plot to maintain interest. the effects were well done, but the sound was a bit loud, at some times it was scary, i would have rated it M15+
  73. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    This was a great followup to the 1st Sherlock movie. Costumes and locations shot are awesome. I don't understand how people can't be entertained by this movie. Every time there's a Sherlock vs Moriarty moment, the ambiance is over-saturated with snobbishness and the "I'm better than you" syndrome, which is so typical of a good Sherlock story.
  74. Jun 15, 2013
    4
    Once and for all pushing a beloved literary character into territory even James Bond is lately too embarrassed to occupy. A Game of Shadows is as unengaging as it is seemingly unending.
  75. Jan 2, 2012
    8
    If you enjoyed the first one, then this one is worth the time to see. I would not say better than the first, but very close. Downey and Law deliver solid performances.
  76. May 14, 2012
    7
    Quite disappointed. Liked the first film but this was a let down. The film was like a world tour with not enough time spent in London (a big draw of the novels is Victorian London), too much rushing around, too many explosions, too many set pieces that weren't important to the plot (the whole train sequence), not enough detective work going on other than Sherlock being almost supernaturalQuite disappointed. Liked the first film but this was a let down. The film was like a world tour with not enough time spent in London (a big draw of the novels is Victorian London), too much rushing around, too many explosions, too many set pieces that weren't important to the plot (the whole train sequence), not enough detective work going on other than Sherlock being almost supernatural in being able to figure things out straight away. Not sure what the point of the gypsy woman was other than a bit of eye candy. The villain was disappointing - see the recent BBC TV version of Moriarty for a far more dangerous and chilling villain. Best part was the interplay between Holmes and Watson but there wasn't nearly enough of this. Just lots of travelling between exotic CGI locations and random battles. Collapse
  77. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    Rien de bien neuf à l'horizon pour cette suite, à part un scénario plus conventionnel et un ensemble bien plus spectaculaire. Sinon, ce Sherlock Holmes 2 est comme son prédécesseur, c'est-à-dire un blockbuster qui a son public tout comme les gens qui sont réticents au résultat fourni.Rien de bien neuf à l'horizon pour cette suite, à part un scénario plus conventionnel et un ensemble bien plus spectaculaire. Sinon, ce Sherlock Holmes 2 est comme son prédécesseur, c'est-à-dire un blockbuster qui a son public tout comme les gens qui sont réticents au résultat fourni. Faisant parti de ces derniers, j'ai eu droit à un film d'action rondement mené et superbement interprété, mais qui devrait s'intituler autrement, n'accrochant pas du tout à cette version moderne du personnage et à ce côté action et mise en scène (ralentis, ambiance...) qui nous semblent incompatibles au Sherlock des vieux films que l'on préfère. Quant aux adorateurs du premier film de Guy Ritchie, il trouveront sans peine ce qu'ils sont venus voir dans cette suite et ne seront pas déçus. Expand
  78. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    The first few scenes of the movie confirmed my fears that it was a bit of a departure from the atmosphere of the first. The action is consistently high instead of masterfully ebb and flow, the setting is a bit unrealistically global (though with good reason) instead of meaningfully localized, and lengthy gunfights have replaced most of the proper beat-downs. What surprised me is that everyThe first few scenes of the movie confirmed my fears that it was a bit of a departure from the atmosphere of the first. The action is consistently high instead of masterfully ebb and flow, the setting is a bit unrealistically global (though with good reason) instead of meaningfully localized, and lengthy gunfights have replaced most of the proper beat-downs. What surprised me is that every scene thereafter completely justifies it. Sherlock is already deep into this mystery by the time the movie begins and by the time you catch up to what he's figured out about Moriarty's intention's, it'd have been ridiculous for him not to have brought along as many bullets as possible. All in all, I dare say that I'm more pleased than I probably would have been with a "more of the same" sequel. Like it's predecessor, the scenery is beautiful, the acting is great, the soundtrack's superb, the special effects well exceeded my expectations and the sets, costumes, and casting make it all work perfectly. Unfortunately, my high praise likely hinges on the condition that they don't make a third movie. As much as I'd love to see more, I'm afraid there's nowhere left to go but down. Expand
  79. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really enjoyed viewing this second installment in the Sherlock Holmes franchise. The performances by Downey and Law were as fluid and enjoyable to watch, if not more, than their performances in the first film. The plot is as clever as ever and there is a nice blend of comedy, action, and drama that appeals to a wide audience. My only gripe is that I would have liked to seen some more of McAdam's character, Irene Adler, as her absent personality was evident, but one could argue that it helped separate the second from the first film. It definitely left Holmes with a motive and allowed him to concentrate more on ruining Moriarty. Expand
  80. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Great movie. Very entertaining new Sherlock Holmes interpretation by Guy Richie, one of my favorite film directors. Why not? The critics, again, are very wrong.
  81. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    This movie was extremely funny and creative, the thought into RD Jr. thought proccess into how he operates is just histarical you never expect anything to come out the way it does in these movies, pretty damn good movie!
  82. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    I really liked the second installment of Sherlock Homes. I really enjoy Robert DJ as Sherlock, as well Jude makes a marvelous Watson. I really hope there will be another
  83. Jan 6, 2012
    6
    Fairly decent film. I liked Jude Law and Robert Downey's performances and the screen "bromance" they had. It had its moments of humor, and I also liked the action and the slow motion added to the action scenes. However, I felt they had no reason to include Noomi Rapce, because she barely had importance to the movie.
  84. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    There is clever sleight of hand and easy on the eye set pieces which make the second outing of the stylised Sherlcok Holmes equally as enjoyable but more rich in bells and whistles to please fans of Guy Ritchie's interpretation, its best to forget what you know about Arthur Conan Doyle creation, this is very much a build on the person Robert Downey Jr brought to life in the first outing,There is clever sleight of hand and easy on the eye set pieces which make the second outing of the stylised Sherlcok Holmes equally as enjoyable but more rich in bells and whistles to please fans of Guy Ritchie's interpretation, its best to forget what you know about Arthur Conan Doyle creation, this is very much a build on the person Robert Downey Jr brought to life in the first outing, not a bad thing at all.
    The elements of the book have been maintained, as Downey Jr takes the coveted role of the brilliant but erratic detective, joined again by soon to be married John Watson (Jude Law), and they are now faced with the most infamous of villains, Moriarty, played with elegance and encapsulating style by Jared Harris. Holmes and Watson embark on quite the round trip as they attempt to put a halt to a range of atrocities, all pointing to Moriarty, who remains in low profile and is able to cover his tracks without anyone ever suspecting him, until Sherlock Holmes comes along.
    Accompanying the film are the beautiful and groundbreaking slow-motion effects of the first, where we see various scenes up close and all that can be done is to sit back and admire. The set pieces are magnificent and satisfying to watch unfold, especially a spectacular train scene that oozes excitement and comedy in every way imaginable. In terms of the story, while there is plenty of explosive action, enough time is spared and used wisely to create some very memorable scenes between Holmes and Moriarty, with Downey Jr and Harris doing stellar jobs of showing the equal wit and intellectual prowess of the two characters, but also giving them their own personality separate from the countless other interpretations.
    While it may be brimming with these intelligent lines and excellent writing, its the cast who make it look good, with Stephen Fry taking on the role of Mycroft, the rich and comedic brother of Sherlock, while Noomi Rapace plays Madame Simza, a fortune teller who gets tangled in the complex web of Holmes and his enemies.
    A rapturous second outing for this updated take on the classic detective series, with a powerful cast who each give brilliant performances, combine that with a witty, unpredictable and edgy script that is careful to remain true to its roots, but also leave director Guy Ritchie with plenty of room to breathe, its along show but certainly worth each minute that always feels important.
    Expand
  85. Jan 6, 2012
    0
    I would have really enjoyed this film, had it not been shot digitally, and not post-processed to the point of being so dark, it was a strain to make out exactly what was on the screen. Not that post-processing is a bad thing -- it was put to good use in Se7en by Brad Fincher, but when the screen is S-O-O-O dark, and the action is so jerky (due to digital photography), that you findI would have really enjoyed this film, had it not been shot digitally, and not post-processed to the point of being so dark, it was a strain to make out exactly what was on the screen. Not that post-processing is a bad thing -- it was put to good use in Se7en by Brad Fincher, but when the screen is S-O-O-O dark, and the action is so jerky (due to digital photography), that you find yourself asking yourself exactly what you made out of the last scene (multiplied by the amount of scenes in the film). There is one scene set in full daylight about 3/4 of the way through -- and to give you an idea, set your monitor brightness to 5% -- now you have an idea of how dark this film is.

    There is no twist or turn in the screenplay. It is so predictable as to be laughable. Stephen Fry was a pleasant addition, but his part is woefully under-utilised.

    I found the original film to be a surprisingly refreshing film, albeit with too much CG, but action packed and humorous, with plenty of wit.

    This film does not rate in comparison, or on its own. You could convert this film into 37-D, and it would still be one dimensional
    Expand
  86. Dec 19, 2011
    6
    Fails to capture the magic of the original, long and drawn out, too many fight scenes, not as good as it could have been.

    Robert Downey plays a great part, some parts of the story where too drawn out.
  87. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    What's up with the hate from metacritic? A 48 from reviewers...yet they love Prometheus...that shows you that people love pretty effects over a really good...entertaining & cohesive story! While Prometheus leaves the audience wondering why the character's constantly do unscientific yet incredibly stupid things James martyarty seems to not only challenge homles wit but the viewers as wellWhat's up with the hate from metacritic? A 48 from reviewers...yet they love Prometheus...that shows you that people love pretty effects over a really good...entertaining & cohesive story! While Prometheus leaves the audience wondering why the character's constantly do unscientific yet incredibly stupid things James martyarty seems to not only challenge homles wit but the viewers as well because he's always ahead by two steps! He extremely smart..devious & fun to watch! Holmes is just as great as he was in the first movie as is Watson(r.i.p blackwood you were awesome) I like how they focus a little more on Holmes preemptive strikes(sorry haters but if you watched the 1st one you know that he doesn't believe in magic) as he out thinks his attackers which is brilliant! The story is much improved over the first Holmes movies so I wont give it away but I have to say that I hated they killed off Irene saddler(Rachel Adams) character....so early then replaced her with a gypsy(noomi rapace) who really just stands out like a black sheep! Her character doesn't bond well with Holmes or Watson & I assume shes just there for the presents of a female character! That aside...the action is great & feels like your watching pirates of the Caribbean sometimes(the assassin) but not the last pirates movie though! And now for the ending..I guess people hate good endings? Although they didn't PHYSICALLY fight...the ending was a representation of the MENTAL battle between them throughout the entire movie which is genius since Holmes & martyarty are both....well...geniuses so some people might dislike that well implemented scene!! Hopefully guy Richie will make a third movie because it deserves it for being good at keeping people interested in the story without over use of special effects....wink Prometheus wink...my verdict:9/10 Expand
  88. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    I gets better than the first one. I really enjoy it. It is more funny, smarter and it has more action, which must say that it was some amazing, you can´t breathe int hose scenes, a very good film.
  89. Nov 29, 2012
    5
    Unfortunately this movie was nowhere near as good as the first one. The acting and the witty humor was still there as well as the way certain layers of the plot unfold. However, there were certain aspects of the story that felt like lazy writing. More than anything though, the action sequences, while outstanding in the first film, were overdone and cheesy in many scenes. This movie isUnfortunately this movie was nowhere near as good as the first one. The acting and the witty humor was still there as well as the way certain layers of the plot unfold. However, there were certain aspects of the story that felt like lazy writing. More than anything though, the action sequences, while outstanding in the first film, were overdone and cheesy in many scenes. This movie is another perfect example of why 3D is potentially hurting film making. There were many instances where you could tell than the director threw in gimmicky "pop-outs" that felt forced. The biggest flaw of all, in my opinion, was the ending. Unrealistic just doesn't begin to describe how ridiculous the ending was. These things took away from the experience and left you waiting for it to end rather than enjoying the experience. Expand
  90. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    Robert Downey Jr is best as always. The slow motion scenes are just Awesome.I will say it is better than the previous one. Amazing film everyone should watch it once.
  91. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    The ones who give this movie a low score are nuts and they are morons. This is perfect movie for who is not familiar with Sherlock Holmes. When the movie starts you feel a intense feeling in yourself when yet another bomb attack is produced. I come from Holland and in he cinemas here there are much good reviews and reactions. So if you found it a worst movie from Sherlock Holmes, i thinkThe ones who give this movie a low score are nuts and they are morons. This is perfect movie for who is not familiar with Sherlock Holmes. When the movie starts you feel a intense feeling in yourself when yet another bomb attack is produced. I come from Holland and in he cinemas here there are much good reviews and reactions. So if you found it a worst movie from Sherlock Holmes, i think you should go to the glasses salesman ore the optician. Expand
  92. May 1, 2012
    3
    I wonder how this got such a high score. I didn't find it funny, or engaging or compelling. It didn't interest me at all. Enough said. When I find a movie THIS boring, I can't help but give it a low rating.
  93. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    This movie is good,not great good the first movie was fresh fast funny and the best thing that IT WAS SMART,this movie deffer,as the lead RDJ is great as ever he just own Holmes i really want to see him in more movie's but back to the movie it's slow it's spread like butter on too much bread all the fun thing's in the first movie are stretched so far it's killing it, but the cast save itThis movie is good,not great good the first movie was fresh fast funny and the best thing that IT WAS SMART,this movie deffer,as the lead RDJ is great as ever he just own Holmes i really want to see him in more movie's but back to the movie it's slow it's spread like butter on too much bread all the fun thing's in the first movie are stretched so far it's killing it, but the cast save it by some funny moments, and the movie has very few smart moment's in it the whole movie is more action oriented than mystery ,of course the first movie had some action but it was smart action this movie goes like "Call Of Duty" action sequence in.....i'm gonna be honest i happens quite a lot so yeah if there were more : There were never any..........You put............and then...........and that's all and less : sniper............mortar's.........bam bam bang bang...so yeah if you liked the 1st Sherlock Holmes you owe it to yourself to watch the 2nd it's not that great but it's worth...but i recommend as a movie of this season : Mission Impossible : Ghost Protocol Expand
  94. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Quite a ride this movie was; much like the first "Sherlock Holmes", so if you enjoyed that, you'll certainly love this.

    The plot was a bit more straightforward, with less plotting, hunting ghosts and barking shadows; Mr. Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.) knows who he is up against, although convincing Watson (Jude Law) is not that easy - especially when the man is preparing for a honeymoon
    Quite a ride this movie was; much like the first "Sherlock Holmes", so if you enjoyed that, you'll certainly love this.

    The plot was a bit more straightforward, with less plotting, hunting ghosts and barking shadows; Mr. Holmes (Robert Downey Jr.) knows who he is up against, although convincing Watson (Jude Law) is not that easy - especially when the man is preparing for a honeymoon with his wife Mary (Kelly Reilly), to whom he finally got married to, regardless of his partner's objections.

    Some new characters are introduced, mainly Holmes' brother Mycroft (Stephen Fry) and a gypsy Simza (Noomi Rapace), who will aid them in solving the case, although her role was not as huge as could be expected, looking at the promos and trailers. Moriarty (Jared Harris) rises from the shadows, and we see a quick one from Ms. Adler (Rachel McAdams) as well.

    There's plenty more action, and it seems there is not that much guess work needed to solve this case. The familiar slow-motion is used, but I felt it was misplaced, used in a chasing scene where it was well showed off, sure, but it felt too long and got the characters nowhere, really.

    All in all the movie sounded and looked good, as before, and the chemistry between Holmes and Watson is still there, remaining one of the driving forces of the movie; without those two, I fear the movie would lose most of its appeal.
    Expand
  95. Jan 1, 2012
    7
    First things first..... I loved the movie.

    For all the fans of the detective from Arthur Canon Doyle's book, this version of Holmes is blasphemous. For all those who got the first taste of the great detective after watching the first installment, this movie is one hell of a joyride... Take your pick. For the original Sherlock Holmes fans.... Sherlock Holmes, the great detective, does
    First things first..... I loved the movie.

    For all the fans of the detective from Arthur Canon Doyle's book, this version of Holmes is blasphemous.
    For all those who got the first taste of the great detective after watching the first installment, this movie is one hell of a joyride...
    Take your pick.



    For the original Sherlock Holmes fans....
    Sherlock Holmes, the great detective, does not deduce anything in the movie. There is no mystery to solve here,no clues, no surprise elements.While the first part had not one but many puzzles to solve, this time around, the story is plain vanilla.
    Here, Holmes is on a mission to stop Prof. James Moriarty from committing a dastardly act (no spoilers this time).

    In the movie, Holmes is more of a brawler, master of disguise, cross-dresser & thief than a detective. There is precious little to "deduce". The script requires him to speak wittily, fire guns, run on rooftops,trains & woods and dress weirdly. He does what Ethan Hunt and James bond do (but for the dressing weirdly bit). What he does not do in the movie is not anything like what he does in the novels / stories ( 4 long & 56 short stories).

    To read further, please check into - http://filtercoffeechronicles.blogspot.com/2012/01/sherlock-holmes-end.html
    Expand
  96. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    This movie was very thought provoking. I loved it, but I can see how other people would classify this as boring. It was a long movie. Don't go in expecting it to be like the first one, it's not in more ways than a few. Most of the battles in this are mental. Didn't really care for the fire fights, but even with the gun battles, there was always an underlined theme.
  97. Jan 4, 2012
    7
    While perhaps not as taught as the first movie, and sad to see some major characters being killed off, I thought this movie was a fun romp. There were definitely uneven points in the plot, but on the whole I laughed pretty hard at the interactions between Holmes and Watson and enjoyed the stylized Guy Ritchie action scenes. I've heard some complaints about the choice of actor for ProfessorWhile perhaps not as taught as the first movie, and sad to see some major characters being killed off, I thought this movie was a fun romp. There were definitely uneven points in the plot, but on the whole I laughed pretty hard at the interactions between Holmes and Watson and enjoyed the stylized Guy Ritchie action scenes. I've heard some complaints about the choice of actor for Professor Moriarty, but he was definitely creepy and intelligent enough to pull it off. I just wish Noomi Rapace hadn't been so underutilized. Expand
  98. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Terrific adventure with fine acting from the stars, and plot twists that will have you leaning half out of your chair. One of the best characters is Moriarty; the actor does a perfect job of communicating both the man's intelligence and his coldness as a sociopath. The movie is also very funny, with Mycroft and the butler providing good supporting roles. There's a lot of comedy in theTerrific adventure with fine acting from the stars, and plot twists that will have you leaning half out of your chair. One of the best characters is Moriarty; the actor does a perfect job of communicating both the man's intelligence and his coldness as a sociopath. The movie is also very funny, with Mycroft and the butler providing good supporting roles. There's a lot of comedy in the film, only a few confusing points but very tense plot twists. Fans of mystery will have a lot to enjoy in this film. Expand
  99. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    I liked the first of these movies and loved this one. I really enjoyed the dialogue, the humor and the pacing. Gorgeous detail in the costuming and machinery enhanced the feel of the film. I enjoy the rougher feel to the Victorian age that these films capture as I believe it is closer to the reality of London in this era. You do need to pay attention if you want to solve the mystery withI liked the first of these movies and loved this one. I really enjoyed the dialogue, the humor and the pacing. Gorgeous detail in the costuming and machinery enhanced the feel of the film. I enjoy the rougher feel to the Victorian age that these films capture as I believe it is closer to the reality of London in this era. You do need to pay attention if you want to solve the mystery with Sherlock Holmes as the film progresses but that is part of the attraction for me. Definitely recommend this film, a great combination of plot twists, humour and action. Expand
  100. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    More witty, humorous and action packed than the first one,it also had one of THE BEST endings you ever likely to see in any movie of any genre....!!!
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. 40
    The only reason to put yourself through Guy Ritchie's overblown, inelegant Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows is to see Jared Harris, who plays Professor Moriarty, in a chilling low key.
  2. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Dec 19, 2011
    50
    Something of an overlong, overblown, disorganized mess, despite being slightly better than its predecessor.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 16, 2011
    42
    What this film really celebrates is crunch-and-thud video-game-style action, not especially well choreographed by director Guy Ritchie.