Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2009
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 625 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
487
Mixed:
91
Negative:
47
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AngelsdawnSep 6, 2010
I'm loving the reviews here, the stupidity within the statements: "It was too rational" and "It was too complicated and boring" are reminding me once again that most movie-goers prefer to have their hand held throughout an entire movie ratherI'm loving the reviews here, the stupidity within the statements: "It was too rational" and "It was too complicated and boring" are reminding me once again that most movie-goers prefer to have their hand held throughout an entire movie rather than use their deductive skills. Too rational? are you kidding? you actually need 'magic' to enjoy something? Sherlock Holmes is ALL about the mystery being solved, everything being presented and known. If you don't like that then why did you even bother to go watch? @the Sherlock Holmes purists, every other hero of some of the oldest stories in time have transitioned into numerous changes like this one(batman, being a man without powers, being a sort of detective on his own, was changed a lot over the years). The picture of however you imagined Sherlock to be might not be the same as the next person beside you. Its open to interpretation, unless you seek to extinguish everyone's creativity due to your close mindedness. The characters weren't empty, their relationship was fully realized (Sherlock and Watson, two detectives fighting over small, inconsequential things, Watson being tired of Sherlock's antics, and yet what unifies them is the mystery for the time being. Sherlock feeling stuck in his life, feeling as though he is being abandoned, trying to pull his old friend back into the game so he wont be the only one who's trapped and alone, his character develops from there but I wont spoil it) and it was very much apparent that they cared deeply about each other, but most would rather that their emotions surface in a much more obvious way. Its ridiculous to give this movie a bad review just because you didn't bother paying attention.

As for the science and the technology in this movie, it wasn't a copout. All of this was at their disposal back then. Sherlock Holmes, whatever version you prefer of him, was above all else a man of science. Also it goes without saying that in the books and in the cartoon or live action series on tv, things did go slower and there was less action. However in movie format things have to be sped up a bit in order to fit everything in, otherwise the movie would wind up being 3-4 hours and coming wayyy over their estimated budget. Its impractical, and to say otherwise means most of you don't have a clear grasp on what making a movie entails, including the reviewers of these magazines. Besides it all works out in the end, and I found the pacing to be especially stimulating, kept me at attention the entire time.

I understand that you have to pump out these reviews almost everyday, but it doesn't mean you have to rush them like this. Hating a movie like this one while its successful doesn't make you a good critic, it just makes an idiot, especially when you assume this was made for a younger generation or for the "ADD crowd". Branding them the ADD crowd while skipping over the fountain of medical terms used in the proper way(for once in a mainstream movie, no pseudo-science, no **** spells or rituals), the witty jokes and all of the deductions and experiments Holmes made all tied together in one neat conspiracy(Which given a little thought, wasn't all that complicated to those who said it was) just makes you look like your the one who deserves the label.

Also what was mentioned was the exaggerated scenarios. They were pretty lucky to survive I will admit, but one thing I found realistic was the part when they lost a whole night's sleep after the fight. This is something I rarely see in movies, usually the fight is over, hero carries on like a good soldier. This humanized them, and it wasn't the only occasion in the movie where they did this.

One last comment before I leave this review to those whom aren't as gullible as the rest, the hand to hand combat wasn't as uninspired as some claim it to be. While being as intelligent as Holmes with the reflexes he possessed, its not hard to observe the fact that every hit he made was calculated beforehand, as displayed in the very beginning of the movie. When he didn't have time to calculate his every movement he used things like the electricity conductor or chains or guns etc to gain an advantage. I honestly don't get how all of this could have been missed by so many reviewers, but that's fine. I hope that if you've read this you've decided to rent or buy this movie. Whatever you decide, its definitely worth the look.
Expand
11 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
8
PeterSJan 16, 2010
I liked it a lot! But I had to forget everything I read as a kid. As an action movie it's great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielTApr 6, 2010
What the hell are the critics complaining about? They are basically saying that the movie is nothing like thew books. Have you even read them? It is a brilliant adaptation of the stories that Doyle wrote!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeRDec 27, 2009
A perfect movie. The critics should stop acting like elitist bastards. Some say it was too much action for Holmes, some say it was boring. We either have snooty elitists or gun-obsessed action-heads. It was a the best movie of 09
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
LandFApr 19, 2012
Hmmmm. There are action sequences, plenty of one liners, and Robert Downey Jr. I can only deduce that this is another Hollywood box office smash. And silly old me, I just saw the film. My friends pestered me about this for the longest time.Hmmmm. There are action sequences, plenty of one liners, and Robert Downey Jr. I can only deduce that this is another Hollywood box office smash. And silly old me, I just saw the film. My friends pestered me about this for the longest time. They loved the film, and were positive I would too. I told them I'd get around to it, until finally one of my friends lent me the movie to watch. My feelings about this unique film are a little mixed. The film wants to be clever, but very little smarts at all are needed to view this film. Naturally, this film is geared towards teenage boys, who for the most part, are not interested in an intellectually stimulating film. They just want to see Downey deliver witty lines, and watch him beat up thugs. So, if that's what you came to see, you will not be disappointed. However those wanting a more intelligent film, should not look here. Even when the Sherlock Holmes is explaining how he figured out the case at the end, it's through many clues that the viewer didn't have a chance of deciphering themselves, which is quite contradictory to what Sherlock Holmes is all about. I know the target audience, so I expected as much, but my mother who viewed the film with me, was quite irritated at the obscure clues. A good mystery should be tailored so that the audience can try to solve the mystery too (and make it hard enough, so that they can't figure it out). This film does nothing of the sort, instead, we merely learn at the end, that Sherlock had seen things that the camera never shows us, making it impossible to solve the mystery ourselves. But like I said, the target audience doesn't care about such things, so therefore, the film is oddly "smartless." But I digress. On the other hand, the cast does a fantastic job at portraying each of their characters, even if some lines were delivered a little hammy. Also, the musical score, composed by Hanz Zimmer, is very good, and absolutely hilarious. Music doesn't commonly make me smile (out of humor anyway), but this score did. Though many of the action sequences were rather ordinary, there were definitely a handful that kept me on the edge of my seat, and I'm sure the target audience will eat it up. The film is quite amusing, as one can expect with from the leading actor, but for some reason, the film wasn't quite as humorous as I was expecting. It was funny enough, anyway. Lastly, and this may be a major problem for some, but this film just doesn't feel like Sherlock Holmes. It feels like Robert Downey Jr. makes another million dollars. I suppose this is to be expected, but somehow, I was hoping that there might be some sort of Sherlock spirit to this, but alas, there was not. I was not wowed, but I most definitely enjoyed myself. I do wish, though, that the film was a bit more intelligent, and this film doesn't feel like Sherlock Holmes at all. Regardless, this is an enjoyable romp, and I'll probably catch the sequel on DVD. Consider me entertained, but not impressed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
FuturedirectorMar 13, 2016
Thanks to Robert Dwoney Jr. and Jude Law's surprisingly effective chemistry and an impressively entertaining storytelling, Sherlock Holmes isn't only one of the smartest works added to Ritchie's filmography; it also offers a great spectacleThanks to Robert Dwoney Jr. and Jude Law's surprisingly effective chemistry and an impressively entertaining storytelling, Sherlock Holmes isn't only one of the smartest works added to Ritchie's filmography; it also offers a great spectacle to the audience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
Guy Richie's "Sherlock Holmes" is a stupid interpretation where Sherlock Holmes is a muscle brute solving murders and mysteries with bullet time and sheer luck. Surprisingly, the movie actually works great with its modern interpretation of Holmes.
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
9
GarthNJan 9, 2010
I have not seen a class movie since Slumdog, this was a very good movie. Guy Ritchie is back now that he is over Madona, maybe now he will continue to make some good movies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
oscarrDec 17, 2011
Sherlock Holmes was greatly acted, suspenseful picture with a great impersonation of Holmes. Robert Downey Jr. deserved best actor nomination.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
BillyS.Feb 6, 2010
If you go in to a movie with low expectations, you'll more than likely be surpized. As was the case for Sherlock Holmes. Don't get me wrong, Guy Ritchie taking on a literary masterpiece is no way the same as Kubrick and The If you go in to a movie with low expectations, you'll more than likely be surpized. As was the case for Sherlock Holmes. Don't get me wrong, Guy Ritchie taking on a literary masterpiece is no way the same as Kubrick and The Shining, but Ritchie has incorporated Holmes' intelligence with his usual over the top action pieces and made a much better-than-expected entertaining film. Downey and Law play Holmes and Watson with humor and a little gay innuendo, but the way Ritchie has Holmes analyse his fights in slow motion first is a great advantage to all the commotion that follows. All in all, well worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Lambo442Dec 3, 2010
I thought this film was great. Great performances all around, very atmospheric. It also manages to be authentically Holmes, although the action's on a slightly larger scale. But how could anyone not enjoying watching Holmes work out how toI thought this film was great. Great performances all around, very atmospheric. It also manages to be authentically Holmes, although the action's on a slightly larger scale. But how could anyone not enjoying watching Holmes work out how to take down his opponents in more unique ways. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 11, 2012
This is probably as good as a Shaerlock Holmes movie is going to get. Robert Downey continues to do great in this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Critic2012May 4, 2012
Sherlock Holmes is known as the brilliant detective of 221B Baker Street, who can spot minute details in the blink of an eye and observe even the smallest and insignificant things and regard them as important. Here in this film we get a moreSherlock Holmes is known as the brilliant detective of 221B Baker Street, who can spot minute details in the blink of an eye and observe even the smallest and insignificant things and regard them as important. Here in this film we get a more rambunctious, drugged and physical man with the same intellect and persona we'd expect. An excellent film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiFeb 7, 2013
The scenes between Holmes and Watson were witty and fun to watch. I've not read a lot of Sherlock Holmes, but I can tell the movie presented him to be a little too eccentric. Holmes and Watson excel in hand to hand combat, which I thoughtThe scenes between Holmes and Watson were witty and fun to watch. I've not read a lot of Sherlock Holmes, but I can tell the movie presented him to be a little too eccentric. Holmes and Watson excel in hand to hand combat, which I thought unlikely. Ironically, I can believe Watson to be great in fighting, given he's a seasoned soldier. The antagonist was brilliant, so was the plot and the mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AnnLJan 1, 2010
What more do you need in a movie? Great actors leading you on a exciting adventure and keeping you entertained the whole ride. Good work Mr. Richie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
mlJan 10, 2010
Very hard to rate, but I'll bump it because the average is too low. The plot is stupid, the hand-to-hand combat is dubious, it's no more a Sherlock Holmes movie than it is a mystery (closer to a spy movie) and the use of drugs and Very hard to rate, but I'll bump it because the average is too low. The plot is stupid, the hand-to-hand combat is dubious, it's no more a Sherlock Holmes movie than it is a mystery (closer to a spy movie) and the use of drugs and technology is a massive copout destroying all sense of crime-solving deduction. Yet Holmes and Watson are just so *funny.* They carry the movie away from total oblivion and make in entertaining for at least another viewing. Meanwhile their domestic, awkward relationship sets off the homoeroticism alarms of reviewers everywhere. Arthur Conan Doyle's work was always somewhat pulpy. Perhaps this is really a fitting (if entirely faithless) modern reboot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EvinC.Jan 2, 2010
Cool flick. Downey Jr. and Law make a great duo. Love Them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillLJan 3, 2010
If this film wasn't marketed as 'Sherlock Holmes" and the characters were unrelated to the Holmes universe, then this film would have far better ratings. The reviews are simply written by people who are dismayed at the re-writing If this film wasn't marketed as 'Sherlock Holmes" and the characters were unrelated to the Holmes universe, then this film would have far better ratings. The reviews are simply written by people who are dismayed at the re-writing of Holmes' personality and adaptation by Downy Jr. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonlunDFeb 7, 2010
Very good but felt a little long by 3/4 of the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WesApr 3, 2010
I'm not sure why the critics disliked this movie so much. As a person who has never read a Sherlock Holmes novel, I found the movie quite enjoyable. Well shot, well acted, and very entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JanelleM.Jan 10, 2010
Very funny and tense which we all love and quite a thinking movie but brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DonaldC.Jan 18, 2010
Excellent movie, entertaining and fun. Great action. Holmes and Watson compliment each other nicely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JG.Jan 2, 2010
I am not a Guy RItche movie fan but he did a wonderful spin on the Sherlock Holmes story. I enjoyed every moment and cannot wait for a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RitchieP.Jan 2, 2010
This movie was awesome. The story was fast paced and intriguing. The acting was phenomenal, and the effects were decent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XavierE.Jan 3, 2010
One of the wittiest movies I've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
OstafJan 3, 2010
It wasn't amazing but I did like how he was a drug addict thug rather then the mystery solving uptight guy people usually think of. He was the original Holmes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
A.C.Jan 3, 2010
It's nice to read the User coments, honestly, I hate everybody hwo makes a critic, there are so many different comments, from "This sh*t sucked" to "Masterpiece". The Users here aren't giving a critic, they are just saying if the It's nice to read the User coments, honestly, I hate everybody hwo makes a critic, there are so many different comments, from "This sh*t sucked" to "Masterpiece". The Users here aren't giving a critic, they are just saying if the movie liked them or not. A lot of people think they can give a mature coment but no, like this guy John W., what a dumbass, what does he know about writing or acting? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveJan 3, 2010
This is one of the best movies i have seen so far this year(2009) and maybe one of the best films i have ever seen. The script was very good and the story was extremly enjoying. One of the best things in Sherlock Holmes was the actors; This is one of the best movies i have seen so far this year(2009) and maybe one of the best films i have ever seen. The script was very good and the story was extremly enjoying. One of the best things in Sherlock Holmes was the actors; Robert Downey, Jr. And Jude Law. They are perfect and makes the movie great. Everybody has to see this movie. Honestly i cant really see how Sherlock Holmes can bee called a bad movie. It`s a great moie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimA.Jan 4, 2010
Brilliant film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
kenGJan 4, 2010
Not Basil Rathbone's Sherlock Holmes. But still a Sherlock Holmes that is an awful lot of fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidP.Jan 5, 2010
Extremely entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColinJan 7, 2010
Damn good movie. Damn good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesH.Feb 6, 2010
Sherlock Holmes brings more than a few quick street fighting scenes that brings some critiques to give an automatic hate to the movie. The use of not your fathers Holmes is an excuse for those who can not get past their own childish nature. Sherlock Holmes brings more than a few quick street fighting scenes that brings some critiques to give an automatic hate to the movie. The use of not your fathers Holmes is an excuse for those who can not get past their own childish nature. The movie itself brings us an interesting take on not just Holmes, but the times he lived in. To chuck it aside because its not him sitting there for 30 minutes smoking his pipe then coming up with the answer is to insult Doyle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RodneyM.Mar 29, 2010
I enjoyed this movie very much, the relationship between Watson and Holmes, feels very similar to that of Dr.House and hes college Wilson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnBMar 30, 2010
I'm having a difficult time understanding why the lower end of the critics believe this to movie to be so deficient. Is this the best crime drama since the dawn of time? No. Is this an exact replica of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's I'm having a difficult time understanding why the lower end of the critics believe this to movie to be so deficient. Is this the best crime drama since the dawn of time? No. Is this an exact replica of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's famously brilliant short stories and novels? Of course not. But if it where either of the two it would probably be not nearly as entertaining. For those of you who remember, I'd like you to imagine making an exact replica of the "Encyclopedia Brown" series on screen. It would be the same with Sherlock Holmes. Both accomplish their tasks of solving the crime by sheer powers of deduction. I imagine it would be quite tiresome after awhile, just watching someone analyze the facts to reach a conclusion. For that, you could take a Logic course at your local community college and achieve the same effect. Guy Ritchie brings to the series a fun and engaging aspect to Holmes that allows the viewers to be simultaneously entertained and intrigued by Holmes tendency towards the criminal (readers will remember things such as his opium addiction) and his genius as the detective. The film was ultimately an entertaining portrayal of a classic character intended to amuse, bedazzle and intrigue us. I believe Guy Ritchie accomplished just that. That isn't to say that the movie is without fault. Some moments seem a little far-fetched than others and the tension between Adler and Holmes could have been played up a bit. This, however, does not diminish the overall quality that I believe the movie to have. To those expecting a movie portraying a brooding mastermind in the dark solving the crime in a quiet and matter-of-fact brilliance then you clearly have come to the wrong place for entertaining cinema. If you expect a well-balanced mix of action, humor, and, of course, mystery, then I believe "Sherlock Holmes" is well worth the viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BatjinApr 18, 2010
First of all Downey and Jude were both very good. The story was not as good as the acting. As a whole it was a decent movie. To the crics who gave 50 or below: we are living in the 21st century, where the real stories that Conan Doyle wrote First of all Downey and Jude were both very good. The story was not as good as the acting. As a whole it was a decent movie. To the crics who gave 50 or below: we are living in the 21st century, where the real stories that Conan Doyle wrote wouldn't satisfy as a blockbuster movie, it needs to be embellished with fast paced action scenes (or a bit of comedy). Although I am a big fan of the books I found the slight change in the story entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamKApr 5, 2010
With all these low scores and sad reviews claiming the film to be "one of the worst films ever" seriously? Heres a few worse films... Changing Lanes, Snakes on a Plane, and Spiderman 3 (oh how I hate Spiderman 3).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KatieBDec 30, 2009
I generally like Guy Ritchie movies. I generally love all the lead actors, especially RDJ. Chemistry between all the actors was palpable and believable. I agree with other reviewers who said the story line was just not good enough. The I generally like Guy Ritchie movies. I generally love all the lead actors, especially RDJ. Chemistry between all the actors was palpable and believable. I agree with other reviewers who said the story line was just not good enough. The acting, bantering dialogue, well-created relationships, scenery, costuming, music - all merit high scores. Story and plot, not so much. Unfortunately. I would see it again, however. Just for RDJ boxing, sans shirt. Seriously, it was very enjoyable. Hope the sequel has a better story line! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RodneyW.Jan 1, 2010
Robert Downey Jr is amazing... one of his best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
rayb.Jan 1, 2010
This is a solid tongue-in-cheek movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IsabelleK.Jan 12, 2010
Brilliant film with good directing and an excellent, complicated storyline. It's obvious that Downey Jr and Law enjoyed making this film. The only problem was that it was a little bit long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JDustJan 15, 2010
the movie was overall quite intruguing and enjoyable. the cinematography was quite unique in some parts, such as at the beginning and in the chase scene leading up to the shipyard. the plot was believable and quite intriguing, and when not the movie was overall quite intruguing and enjoyable. the cinematography was quite unique in some parts, such as at the beginning and in the chase scene leading up to the shipyard. the plot was believable and quite intriguing, and when not compared to the books was an exceptional movie. the psychology was thrilling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SusanSJan 18, 2010
Really, like a 6.7; a silly, light-headed prologue to what could be a more intriguing sequel once Prof. Moriarty reveals himself. One thing the film has going for it, though--the much discussed chemistry between Holmes and Watson, which all Really, like a 6.7; a silly, light-headed prologue to what could be a more intriguing sequel once Prof. Moriarty reveals himself. One thing the film has going for it, though--the much discussed chemistry between Holmes and Watson, which all involved, including Rachel McAdams, seem to be reveling in. McAdams plays a sporting beard, understanding that Irene Adler is to be witty, cunning, pretty (but not too pretty), and not to get in the way of her two pretty male costars, whose seem to be barely containing their laughter at their characters' suppressed Victorian passion for each other. There is a ambiguously evil plot; Mark Strong does well at an ambiguously evil Lord Blackwell, and Hans Matheson (from The Tudors) actually manages to put some enthusiasm into the whole scheme. Overall, a fun two-plus hours, with some great verbal banter and random action sequences. A fun diversion; let's see if Ritchie can come up with an actual mystery next time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieYJan 2, 2010
Sherlock Holmes was a great movie. Holmes was full of action and definitely kept me to the edge of my seat. Robert Downey Jr. was spectacular in Sherlock Holmes, gee its no surprise that he was nominated for a Golden Globe for this movie. I Sherlock Holmes was a great movie. Holmes was full of action and definitely kept me to the edge of my seat. Robert Downey Jr. was spectacular in Sherlock Holmes, gee its no surprise that he was nominated for a Golden Globe for this movie. I will most likely plan on seeing more of Guy Ritchie's films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeSJan 25, 2010
I liked the pics for Sherlock Holmes and Watson I thought Jude Law and Robert Downy JR were great and not bad action stars it also has a nice plot to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisKJan 5, 2010
I thought it was fun, fast, and a blast to watch. Seems like critics wanted it to be boring, staunch, and unexciting. Too bad for them. See it. Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law killed it. A beautiful period piece with loads of laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Richb.Jan 5, 2010
Fun enough to be intelligent, and yet confident enough to wink while pulling you into the inside jokes. Near brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PDFeb 13, 2010
Excellent movie. i just simply loved the story narration and the thrill. awaiting the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HunterLApr 11, 2010
An interesting mystery, yet surprisingly predictable due to Sherlock's logical world, worth a rent but not recommended to buy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HyperSApr 17, 2010
The visuals (action sequences and scenery) were superb. The acting was great. And the story, while briefly making you think "oh great some unrealistic supernatural trash", comes together nicely in the end. Yes the "old" Holmes is no more in The visuals (action sequences and scenery) were superb. The acting was great. And the story, while briefly making you think "oh great some unrealistic supernatural trash", comes together nicely in the end. Yes the "old" Holmes is no more in this movie.. but honestly... a more badass "I'm going to not only kick your ass with my mind, but with my fists as well" opens the door to far more interesting encounters and simply...a far more entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LenVMay 15, 2010
This picture currently has the same grade as Downey's other recent blockbuster, "Iron Man 2." Both average out to a 57. That's difficult to comprehend, since the Iron Man sequel is a piece of garbage, while this movie is full of This picture currently has the same grade as Downey's other recent blockbuster, "Iron Man 2." Both average out to a 57. That's difficult to comprehend, since the Iron Man sequel is a piece of garbage, while this movie is full of all of the suspense that the Iron Man sequel failed to capture. Applying Sherlock Holmes-like deduction to this case, I can only guess that the critics have used different standards in evaluating "Sherlock Holmes," treating it as a literary adaptation. Well, it's not Arthur Conan Doyle; it's based on a comic book version. And the result is actually better than yet another stuffy Doyle adaptation would have been: it's stylish, funny, exciting. I'm disappointed to see critics sniff at "Sherlock Holmes" just because there's a book somewhere behind it. The only misstep is Rachel McAdams, who plays her role seductively but makes it hard to imagine that she was ever a master criminal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LauraR.Dec 25, 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Definitely more action oriented than the old movies but I still found it to be clever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SeanC.Dec 26, 2009
Typically I agree with the critics. For the most part, they seem to get it right, avoiding Hollywood cliche and giving plaudits to films who try to be above the fray. However, this December I am completely confused. No this was not the best Typically I agree with the critics. For the most part, they seem to get it right, avoiding Hollywood cliche and giving plaudits to films who try to be above the fray. However, this December I am completely confused. No this was not the best film of the year, and at times reverted to traditional action film archetypes, but it was certainly worth watching. Terrific acting, clever writing, and a macabre take (and perhaps more accurate to the written stories) on what has otherwise become a cartoonish and comical Sherlock Holmes franchise. I would compare this to the "Batman Begins" of an otherwise irrelevant and outdated character. Two thumbs up, especially in light of movies like Avatar which are completely overproduced and over praised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryJDec 26, 2009
Intense, breath-taking, and a overall great performan by Robert Downey, Jr...this movie will please all action goers. Cheers!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewM.Dec 28, 2009
Great action movie balanced well with detective work. It seems like most people think they're Sherlock Holmes experts and complain that the wrote his character bad in this film. Look it up! the original Sherlock Holmes was a eccentric, Great action movie balanced well with detective work. It seems like most people think they're Sherlock Holmes experts and complain that the wrote his character bad in this film. Look it up! the original Sherlock Holmes was a eccentric, dirty cock addict. They wrote him exactly as they should have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicolaM.Dec 28, 2009
Awesome movie Brilliant acting (Rob and Jude are pretty damn good together) and finally something similar to the original Holmes, not to mention the beautiful Old London reconstruction
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IvanT.Dec 29, 2009
As anyone could tell from the previews, Doyle's Holmes is only a distant ancestor of this portrayal of the London detective. A fun film that is intended to mesmerize the audience with a steady stream of witty dialogue, clever mystery, As anyone could tell from the previews, Doyle's Holmes is only a distant ancestor of this portrayal of the London detective. A fun film that is intended to mesmerize the audience with a steady stream of witty dialogue, clever mystery, and thrilling action. Small wonder the critics don't approve. As blockbusters go, this one's worth its weight. Best viewed in the cinema, once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CiaranH.Dec 29, 2009
Over the years there have been countless adaptations of Sir Arthut Conan Doyle's series of books revolving aroudn the man with the most brilliant mind in the world, Sherlock Holmes. In fact, there have been so many adaptations from so Over the years there have been countless adaptations of Sir Arthut Conan Doyle's series of books revolving aroudn the man with the most brilliant mind in the world, Sherlock Holmes. In fact, there have been so many adaptations from so many different medias that it takes a very good film to stick out from the Sherlock Holmes crowd. Robert Downey Jr. (Holmes) brings his own unique style to the character. He shows previously unseen side of Holmes, he makes the character his own, much like Daniel Craig did in the recent James Bond films. Although the plot is developed very slowly throughout the course of the film (which is definitely overlong), Guy Ritchie manages to keep us hooked through dramatic fights and a clever, witty script. In conclusion, if you want to see another boring and repetitive adaption of Sherlock Holmes do not go and see this film, if however if you want to see a unique and brilliant take on the story do come and see this thrilling film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FionaB.Dec 31, 2009
Great cast, intelligent and witty script. Guy Ritchie at his very best!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulADec 31, 2009
I knew critics were useless at what they do... but seriously lol, don't quit your day job guys! Best movie of 2009 without a doubt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnnK.Jan 12, 2010
Refreshing. Great fun. Didn't come to this conclusion until about 24 hours after watching; this Sherlock and Watson and crew stays with you and ripens somehow. Excellent character development of all the major plays and also of many of Refreshing. Great fun. Didn't come to this conclusion until about 24 hours after watching; this Sherlock and Watson and crew stays with you and ripens somehow. Excellent character development of all the major plays and also of many of the peripherals. All in all a rollicking, fun ride. Am going to see again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RuthK.Jan 13, 2010
I have read all the Sherlock Holmes stories several times over AND I am a mature person of 60ish. I thought the plot was a clever interpretation of the stories for today's cinema - the biffo and the World Domination seem essential for I have read all the Sherlock Holmes stories several times over AND I am a mature person of 60ish. I thought the plot was a clever interpretation of the stories for today's cinema - the biffo and the World Domination seem essential for an action/adventure movie to hold its own. Interesting Holmes only plucked at his violin, I thought this verged on looking odd, but perhaps it was necessary. A violin sounds better in a book! I thought the characterisations were very true to the stories, interpreted for the biffo and also to lighten the tone a bit. I really liked the sense of fun of the actors and in the plot, that helped the movie a lot. RDJ and Jude law were excellent, each challenging the other to lift their game. The set and scenes were pretty good too, I like the grey and dull tones for the atmosphere. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PiaV.Jan 14, 2010
Excellent movie. Very entertaining...Loved Downey, Law and Adams performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickGJan 17, 2010
Very fast pace and fun movie, some violence but not extreme. Excellent new take on showing Holmes thought pattern (slow-mo fight scenes). Added +1 as I like Guy Ritchie's other movies and this is in a similar vein. 9/10 if your not a Very fast pace and fun movie, some violence but not extreme. Excellent new take on showing Holmes thought pattern (slow-mo fight scenes). Added +1 as I like Guy Ritchie's other movies and this is in a similar vein. 9/10 if your not a Ritchie fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonW.Jan 18, 2010
Loved it. One of Ritchie's best movies, and Downey was hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohanFMar 29, 2010
I don't know what all the critics are so mad about. Of course, this movie is nothing like the old books, but hey, did they want it to be like that? I think teh crowd would be bored to tears if they would have to watch an hour and a half I don't know what all the critics are so mad about. Of course, this movie is nothing like the old books, but hey, did they want it to be like that? I think teh crowd would be bored to tears if they would have to watch an hour and a half of Holmes questioning some random person and in the last 10 minutes solving the case. This movie took some liberties (read: a lot) if you want to compare it to the books, but the fantastic plot and entertaining action scenes, this movie should've been rated way higher. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinBMar 29, 2010
Great action/thinking movie... Not sure why so many bad reviews... I enjoyed it all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeBApr 28, 2010
Cleverly done and entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveFMay 16, 2010
Critics are totally wrong on this movie..I thought it was really great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BarryS.Dec 25, 2009
This was a well paced and cleverly conceived movie. Doyle would have approved. I think too many people are used to Basil Rathbone and perhaps they could not "let go" and enjoy this updated Sherlock Holmes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
unclepaulDec 26, 2009
Entertaining at it's worst, Sherlock Holmes shows a restained Guy Ritchie touch, with appropriate levels of fun from all concerned characters. I liked the dirtier Holmes, with his well-travelled knowledge of the martial arts and French. Entertaining at it's worst, Sherlock Holmes shows a restained Guy Ritchie touch, with appropriate levels of fun from all concerned characters. I liked the dirtier Holmes, with his well-travelled knowledge of the martial arts and French. I expect a better sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyKDec 26, 2009
Yes, it's a different kind of Sherlock Holmes, but it's still a good one. It's a Hollywood treatment of the character, but it works.The first thing the movie does is show Holmes using his quick wit and amazing observational Yes, it's a different kind of Sherlock Holmes, but it's still a good one. It's a Hollywood treatment of the character, but it works.The first thing the movie does is show Holmes using his quick wit and amazing observational skills to beat up a guy. The movie is simultaneously clever and explodey. It works. Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
daneDec 26, 2009
Very good, some great acting, boring at times however.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarthaR.Dec 27, 2009
Very entertaining movie. We all know going in this is NOT your mother's Sherlock Holmes, so no one should be critical of the outlandish scenes. It's witty, great action, wonderful sets and visually intriguing aura of dirty London. Very entertaining movie. We all know going in this is NOT your mother's Sherlock Holmes, so no one should be critical of the outlandish scenes. It's witty, great action, wonderful sets and visually intriguing aura of dirty London. Downey is mesmerizing! I was in awe of the stunning action scenes and actually cringed waiting for the moment of danger to pass. Lots of fun surprises in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianJ.Dec 27, 2009
Not a movie for Holmes fans who cant look past the interpretation of the character they grew up with. That said, The writers have done something compelling. They took everything that "Is" Sherlock Holmes and without adding anything of their Not a movie for Holmes fans who cant look past the interpretation of the character they grew up with. That said, The writers have done something compelling. They took everything that "Is" Sherlock Holmes and without adding anything of their own, created a completely different representation of the character. What comes out IS an enjoyable character, even if it is diluted slightly by Robert Downey Jr. (when did he magically become a one-trick pony?) and Jude Law makes for a perfect counterpoint and Ally as Watson. The Plot, barring sensationalism, IS a Doyle-esque mystery, and the Technique used by Richie and his Cinematographer(s?) to show Holmes' thoughts and deductions is a great, if slightly over used feature of the narrative. I admit, I grew up as a huge fan of the Character (and the Jeremy Brett rendition), so it took 15 minutes or more of screen time for me to finally shut off that voice in my head saying "That's not Holmes!" Once I got passed that, I found a fun, enjoyable, decidedly "Sherlock Holmes-like" Flick. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who isn't a die-hard fan of the source, and to any true fan who can get passed the differences in this version, and enjoy the movie beneath. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamJ.Dec 28, 2009
This movie seems to have more of the original books in mind than the old Holmes movies, to which I believe is an optimal decision. If Doyle was alive today, he would've made a Holmes movie similar to this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FabioDec 29, 2009
Great movie, we finally have a Sherlock and a Watson as close as possible to Doyle's books. also we find in the movie all the most important elements from the original books. movie's ending is open to sequel. I'm only a tiny Great movie, we finally have a Sherlock and a Watson as close as possible to Doyle's books. also we find in the movie all the most important elements from the original books. movie's ending is open to sequel. I'm only a tiny bit disappointed to some exaggerations (you ask yourself how they came out alive from certain situations), but that really doesn't matter so much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
adrianj.Dec 29, 2009
When i saw 57 i had to make a comment cause the movie was very good. he looks and acts nothing like the Sherlock Holmes we grew up with but the movie was very funny and action packed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanCDec 31, 2009
Starts off very slow, but the action scenes are great and its a pretty clever story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShadoeD.Dec 30, 2009
Not the classic Holmes by any means but still very, VERY worth watching!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertLDec 30, 2009
Awesome job Guy. Jude was never more entertaining and Robert looked like he was having a great time with the part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlieD.Dec 30, 2009
Really enjoyed the movie, I found it to be a very different take of an action movie and included everything that I love about Sherlock Holmes in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BryanKDec 30, 2009
Ever since Arthur Doyle wrote the original novel adventures of Sherlock Holmes, their have been a variety of film versions of the stories. Now at the end of this year, a new film version arrives to bring this character into twenty-first Ever since Arthur Doyle wrote the original novel adventures of Sherlock Holmes, their have been a variety of film versions of the stories. Now at the end of this year, a new film version arrives to bring this character into twenty-first century. The film adaptation has a mixed result in its execution and concept. Without revealing the plot, it is implied as a supernatural Sherlock Holmes story, which feels more it should be titled, "Sherlock Holmes meets the Devil rides out". At first, the plot moves at a rapid pace, but slows down by the thirty minute mark. In the title character is Robert Downey Jr who leads the film very well. His take on the character is a more sarcastic and tongue in cheek version with only a decent amount of seriousness. Jude Law is pretty good as Watson and is the serious man between the two appearing a complete commanding actor. As for Rachel McAdams, she has her moments and then she does not. While she does well in her role as Holmes' "female companion", her American voice sounds somewhat out of place in Victorian England. The film's colouring is another aspect which needs to be discussed. The film is shot in a monotone colour scheme in which browns and dark greys appear with the only truly vibrant color being the red in McAdams' dress. However their are problems with the film's structure. At the conclusion, in what could be an open and darker ending, the film seems to go on a little too long and leaves open the idea of a followup. Overall a pretty well done film, but not without its faults. Anyway, Happy New Year to everyone at Metacritic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichM.Dec 31, 2009
Sherlock Holmes is not a character I've ever had any real interest in and Guy Ritchie seemed to be getting worse by the film, so this wasn't exactly a film I had great expectations for. But much to my suprise its a hoot from start Sherlock Holmes is not a character I've ever had any real interest in and Guy Ritchie seemed to be getting worse by the film, so this wasn't exactly a film I had great expectations for. But much to my suprise its a hoot from start to finish. The writers have crafted the Holmes and Watson characters into something both interesting and easy to buy in to. Their relationship gives weight to film that could easilly have lost itself in its slightly bizzare plot and Ritchie's trademark direction. Go see Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenDec 25, 2009
Very enjoyable, different kind of Sherlock.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickN.Dec 25, 2009
Great escape with two great actors. Yes you are going to a Holmes movie but you are also going to see a Guy Ritchie affair. If you like Ritchie movies you will like this. If you want pure Holmes, as so many critics pretend, watch PBS. Great escape with two great actors. Yes you are going to a Holmes movie but you are also going to see a Guy Ritchie affair. If you like Ritchie movies you will like this. If you want pure Holmes, as so many critics pretend, watch PBS. Can't wait for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeborahS.Dec 25, 2009
A perfect movie. Robert Downey, Jr. and Jude Law are terrific.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SuzieQDec 25, 2009
Really good, this is another kind of Holmes. Downey and Law are done their job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LindaCDec 25, 2009
Thanks to Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce, there is an extraordinary benchmark of character texture and tenor which the classic novel protagonist Holmes and Watson should possess. Downey is superb at finding and sustaining a tone and rhythm Thanks to Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce, there is an extraordinary benchmark of character texture and tenor which the classic novel protagonist Holmes and Watson should possess. Downey is superb at finding and sustaining a tone and rhythm that is new yet as captivating as that portrayed for years by Rathbone. Jude Law does not bring a fresh appeal to Watson; however, he adequately provides the character and personality contrast to Rathbone needed to complete the dynamic duo. About 16 family and friends went to see it. We all concluded we cannot wait to see the sequels which we hope will be plenty! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TArkoBDec 26, 2009
Would've been a nine if Downey woudn't have mumbled his way through the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigW.Dec 27, 2009
The writing was excellent -- "Holmes" is in some ways truer to the character in the book here than past Holmes movies have been. This is not a "re-imagining" of the character. It's a very engaging, authentic-feeling ride for anyone who sees it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WilliamC.Dec 27, 2009
Sherlock Holmes: A Mystery to Solved As the Christmas festivities come to a close, other opportunities open up in the world of theatrical entertainment, with the release of Sherlock Homes starring Robert Downy Jr., Jude Law, and Rachel Sherlock Holmes: A Mystery to Solved As the Christmas festivities come to a close, other opportunities open up in the world of theatrical entertainment, with the release of Sherlock Homes starring Robert Downy Jr., Jude Law, and Rachel McAdams. Yet with this installment of Holmes, after so many before have been a delightful and true emersion into the pages of creator Arthur Conan Doyle, has become like so many movies of this generation; an action thriller full of explosions and special effects. The plot takes us out of the original stories, and into a time where Holmes (Downy) has become despondent from a lack of cases, after solving his latest one in the opening of the movie. Watson (Law) is preparing to move out of 221B Baker Street to consider marriage. Although this is obviously putting strain on the dynamic duo Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidH.Dec 27, 2009
Rodney was simply great in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnR.Dec 27, 2009
This is not your grandfather's Sherlock Holmes, but Law and Downey are expertly directed, the story is complex and very chock full of Holmes' style discovery. Add to that two lovely ladies and gorgeous CGI of 19th Century London This is not your grandfather's Sherlock Holmes, but Law and Downey are expertly directed, the story is complex and very chock full of Holmes' style discovery. Add to that two lovely ladies and gorgeous CGI of 19th Century London and you very much get your monies' worth. This is the beginning of a long franchise, I am certain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MelF.Dec 29, 2009
Guy Ritchie has done a great job turning the stereotypical Holmes persona on its head. Drawing more on Conan Doyle's books than his moviemaking predecessors, Ritchie has cast RDJ and Jude Law as the cocky, dirty, and delightful Holmes Guy Ritchie has done a great job turning the stereotypical Holmes persona on its head. Drawing more on Conan Doyle's books than his moviemaking predecessors, Ritchie has cast RDJ and Jude Law as the cocky, dirty, and delightful Holmes and Watson. This movie leaves little room to dissappoint. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaC.Dec 29, 2009
One of the best movies i have ever seen. Robert Downey Jr. at his best and Jude Law was magnificent. This movie earns two thumbs from me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CTDec 29, 2009
Downey's acting is excellent. I liked the movie, its funny and witty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JudyTDec 29, 2009
Every original remake. Humorous and interesting. Very good pairing of Downey and Law.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertP.Dec 31, 2009
This movie absolutely deserves better than a 6.7 or a 57 as a score! I just saw it yesterday and it was just superb! A mystery, an action, and a comedy in one astounding movie to perfectly top all others for the better part of the decade!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouiseH.Dec 31, 2009
I can't fault this movie. It's was so smart and sassy, delightfully witty and gritty. Downey pulled off a perfect intellectual master of observation that is wonderfully messed up and hopeless. The Holmes and Watson dynamic was I can't fault this movie. It's was so smart and sassy, delightfully witty and gritty. Downey pulled off a perfect intellectual master of observation that is wonderfully messed up and hopeless. The Holmes and Watson dynamic was fantastic. I also loved the puncy soundtrack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful