Shine a Light

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MayaB
    Feb 26, 2009
    2
    Shine a Light. Boring and totally overrated, just because of the pedigree involved. Scorsese filming a Rolling Stone´s concert, sounds ass kicking, right? Some dope forgot to tell us the show was a benefit hosted by the Clintons, and the Stones have to greet them and please them and their guests, including Hillary´s mom. Instead of a mosh pit you get yuppies and middleages. Shine a Light. Boring and totally overrated, just because of the pedigree involved. Scorsese filming a Rolling Stone´s concert, sounds ass kicking, right? Some dope forgot to tell us the show was a benefit hosted by the Clintons, and the Stones have to greet them and please them and their guests, including Hillary´s mom. Instead of a mosh pit you get yuppies and middleages. The raunchiest member of the audience is holding up a vanity plate, and Scorsese shows him repeatedly like he is a sight to behold. The movie is so boring he probably is. Meanwhile, Jagger, Richards, Watts and Wood do their thing with all the enthusiasm they can muster in their emasculated situation, politely giving out handshakes and guitar picks to the people in the first row. Keith even apologizes when he runs out of picks. All the songs sound somehow watered down to fit all tastes, and the movie, visually, can´t be described as visually stunning. It´s not like I want every Rolling Stone´s movie to be like Give me Shelter, or think a gang member should die every once in a while in a concert. It´s not that I believe every show should be a blow your head experience like it is in NIN´s case, or that every member of the audience should be crowd surfing and smoking pot, but watching the Stones and Scorsese acting their age is does nothing for no one. Expand
  2. CharlieS
    Sep 5, 2008
    3
    Interesting begining and snapshots of early Stones life in the 60s, but really the the songs they played were awful.
  3. BJH
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    From a guitarist point of view, I loved this documentary. Keith has a very unique style, especially when he plays in open tuning and goes back and forth between rhythm and filling in with licks and leads. Ronnie Wood is no longer as sloppy as he was, probably because is not as strung out as he used to be when he played live. Same goes for Keith. Artiscally this band gave up a long time From a guitarist point of view, I loved this documentary. Keith has a very unique style, especially when he plays in open tuning and goes back and forth between rhythm and filling in with licks and leads. Ronnie Wood is no longer as sloppy as he was, probably because is not as strung out as he used to be when he played live. Same goes for Keith. Artiscally this band gave up a long time ago. But as far as a live band, they have never been better than they have the last 10-15 years. Much more sober which makes them a much tighter band. The cinematography is excellent. They cut to Keith's riffs at exactly the right time for example. They know where to focus the camera depending on where the band is at during the song. It really makes you understand the arrangements of the songs, and what made the Stones such terrific songwriters and arrangers back in the day and what makes them such great live performers today. Expand
  4. BrianD.
    Aug 11, 2008
    4
    What a boring and sterile concert! Clean cut millionaires masquerading as rebel renegades. The sound was crystal clear and the photography's brilliant, but far too polished. Best part was "Champagne and Reefer".
  5. JayH.
    Jul 25, 2008
    6
    Scorsese does a good job piecing the film together, and the older clips are excellent and give a great insite into who the Rolling Stones are. The concert footage is well done. My main gripe is it's too long.
  6. Jp
    Jun 3, 2008
    0
    Boring beyond belief. The Stones are about as much of a Rock N' Roll band as George Bush is presidential. In other words: They're a fraud. Too bad when a once great artist lose their creativity and just regurgitate a few once great songs. An utter disappointment.
  7. BillP.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    Superb! My 1st IMAX experience--well worth the extra cost; better than I expected.
  8. Jon
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    Best rock movie I've ever seen. No, not the best concert - the Stones aren't the best rock band in spite of the hype. Martin Scorsese has captured the people who make up the Rolling Stones, focusing of course, on Jagger and Richards. We saw it in IMAX, and that made it even better. Seat shaking sound, perfectly crisp. I felt like I was in the first row, but without the smoke Best rock movie I've ever seen. No, not the best concert - the Stones aren't the best rock band in spite of the hype. Martin Scorsese has captured the people who make up the Rolling Stones, focusing of course, on Jagger and Richards. We saw it in IMAX, and that made it even better. Seat shaking sound, perfectly crisp. I felt like I was in the first row, but without the smoke infused clothes and hangover. Go and enjoy! Expand
  9. PhilT.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    Forget the doubters who say this is just a concert film. Many years from now this will be seen as the masterpiece it is - a brilliant celebration of the world's greatest rock n roll band in action! A joyous and magnificent experience!
  10. CharlesC.n
    Apr 11, 2008
    0
    Brilliant Director Martin Scorsese shines a light on the Rolling Stones. This backstage production on the Rolling stones touring concerts starrs Mart Scorsese in this music/documentary. My first question is this: How much effort do the rolling stones have to get to pull off of the best that they can be on stage. Its like they're possessed and obsessed. There is only one good song the Brilliant Director Martin Scorsese shines a light on the Rolling Stones. This backstage production on the Rolling stones touring concerts starrs Mart Scorsese in this music/documentary. My first question is this: How much effort do the rolling stones have to get to pull off of the best that they can be on stage. Its like they're possessed and obsessed. There is only one good song the Rolling Stone's have. Yet the screenplay-work is used like a shaky motion of missed art. This huge disappointment is absolute shit, it is Martin Scorsese's worst movie he has ever associated with and officially produced, written and directed. This creation is nowhere being influential. It sticks with blank refusion in giving up. Its so annoying. It runs on nothing, no motivation at all. Its a complete bore. Absolutely terrible. I think Martin Scorsese is getting way too full of himself in showing off the Rolling Stones. But to tell the truth, this huge touring concert for the rolling stones brings Keith Richards and gang to their worst performance ever. They don't belong on the big screen. Expand
  11. CliffS.
    Apr 8, 2008
    9
    Think of this as a concert movie like no other. Filmed in an intimate setting, the band hasnt sounded this tight in years. Song selection is excellent. My only real complaint was the 'fake' audience around the stage.
  12. Andio
    Apr 6, 2008
    7
    I saw the Rolling Stones live last year for the first time and I was blown away. I've been a Stones fan for decades but have never had any interest in stadium rock concerts with their huge crowds and tiny stars on stage. The few stadium shows I've attended were always mediocre experiences. But the Stones' Bigger Bang tour changed my mind. For one, the enormous video screens I saw the Rolling Stones live last year for the first time and I was blown away. I've been a Stones fan for decades but have never had any interest in stadium rock concerts with their huge crowds and tiny stars on stage. The few stadium shows I've attended were always mediocre experiences. But the Stones' Bigger Bang tour changed my mind. For one, the enormous video screens make every seat great. Beyond that, it was the Rolling Stones that won me over. Rocking songs, incredible performances, unbelievable energy, and every one in the crowd dancing and singing the whole show. And these guys are in their sixties! Watching 'Shine a Light' on IMAX at times made me feel like I was actually at a live Stones concert, but then I kept feeling that something key was missing. And it was. Martin Scorsese covered the two explosive shows at the Beacon Theater in New York with 18 cameras but he somehow missed getting the band. As expected, lead singer and ringmaster, Mick Jagger, gets the most screen time, with guitarist, Keith Richards, coming in a not too distant second. And then there's Ron Wood, the second guitarist, and some might argue, the better soloist, He has juicy moments on screen, but is shockingly absent time and again when soloing, the camera instead lingering on a prancing Jagger or posing Richards. And where is drummer Charlie Watts? Watching 'Shine a Light' one might think the Stones had backing tracks instead of a live drummer. Watts is the quiet one (who doesn't dye his hair) but he's the backbone of their sound, keeping time, holding it down while the boys jump around. I kept wanting to see shots of Watts, not only for the variety of imagery and the visual reinforcement that there really is a live drummer hitting the cowbell on 'Honky Tonk Women,' but also because he's an original Rolling Stone. Sadly, there are only a handful of very brief clips featuring Watts, and just as few wide shots of the whole band on stage. And Watts is not the only one nearly absent from the movie. Although the original members are Jagger, Richards, Watts and Wood (Wood joined in 1974 so he's not actually an original Stone), they tour with a number of key support musicians, including bass player, Daryl Jones (who's worked with them since 1994), a keyboardist, a horn section and three back-up singers. However, except for some brief interplay between Jagger and the back-up singers, the other musicians are absent from the film. It's not so unusual to relegate non-member, support players to minor roles in concert movies, but to avoid them altogether is baffling and frustrating. The support musicians may not be Rolling Stones but they are a part of the band. They are playing the music and adding to the sights and sounds on stage. But 'Shine a Light' mostly kept them in the dark. This isn't how a real concert is experienced. In concert the other players are seen and often featured in the spotlight as soloists. But time and again in 'Shine a Light', we hear a piano riff, a sax solo, a horn section blast, a bass run, but we never actually see who's playing. We neither get full nor medium shots, nor even close-ups of hands playing. We don't even get quick cuts of the support players, as one might see interspersed regularly throughout most filmed live concerts today. Instead, we see lingering shots of Jagger and Richards, sometimes so close you can see the brown behind Jagger's teeth, while a saxophone or some other player wails somewhere off-camera. The Stones sound is some much more than guitar, bass, drums and vocals. A concert is so much more than the starring players, but you don't get that from this film. It's as if the film makers had tin ears. This is baffling because they had 18-camera shooting the action. So the film makers either didn't get the coverage, or they decided in the editing room not to include the other players. Bad decision. This gives the movie, the Stones concert experience, a frustrating myopic feel. I kept wanting to see what I was hearing, but couldn't. I kept wanting to get a visual of the focal point in the song and on stage, but it was not delivered. Even one of the few times Jaggar plays harmonica is off-camera. This left me feeling short-changed. Ultimately, 'Shine a Light' is slightly claustrophobic, with all its medium and close shots. It rarely opens up to show the entire band on stage. The film suffers as a result, as wide shots would have provided much needed breathing room, offering a more open perspective, and also providing the myriad tight shots with context. We do see the interplay between Jagger and Richards, or between Richards and Wood, but we don't see the whole band working together as a unit. And ultimately that's what a live Stones show, or any live rock show is all about--a group of individuals performing together as a band. Even if Scorsese decided that the film was all about the four Stones, he could have easily divided the enormous screen into quads, now and again, so we could see the four Stones working their magic simultaneously in a multi-screen format. This is common place today and highly effective. It's baffling that with all the resources at hand and experience behind him, Scorsese didn't quite deliver the goods. It's as if his infatuation with the visages of Jagger and Richards blinded him from showing us the Rolling Stones. 'Shine a Light' is enjoyable for sure, but suffers from a limited vision. Expand
  13. KevinH.
    Apr 6, 2008
    6
    The editing is too frenetic and too cute, and kow-tows to Mick and Keith at the expense of the audience, robbing us of a master's portrait of the full breadth of the musical construction going on with this fantastic band. Real fans want to see a lot of Charlie and Ronnie, see a taste of Darryl Jones on key bass lines, see Chuck Lavell's super sturdy keyboard work and see the The editing is too frenetic and too cute, and kow-tows to Mick and Keith at the expense of the audience, robbing us of a master's portrait of the full breadth of the musical construction going on with this fantastic band. Real fans want to see a lot of Charlie and Ronnie, see a taste of Darryl Jones on key bass lines, see Chuck Lavell's super sturdy keyboard work and see the singers and the horn section here and there. The movie was edited like it was for Inside Hollywood - stars only. A sadly wasted opportunity. With The Last Waltz as the bar, this movie fell way short. Instead, it earns the title of the best Stones movie ever, but nowhere close to being a great movie. Expand
  14. WilliamB.
    Apr 5, 2008
    7
    A solid concert film, but must be seen on an IMAX screen.
  15. Robbie
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    What on Earth is the portentous Salon.com critic talking about? The experience is sentimental, intimate and perennial. It's equivalent to front-row tickets to a Stones concert. The DP captures the breadth of the Stones' performance perfectly. It's an especially enhanced experience if one sees it at the IMAX. To the music lover: don't miss it.
  16. ChadS.
    Apr 4, 2008
    8
    During "Sympathy for the Devil", the filmmaker diverts our attention away from the stage and towards the audience for the first time. The camera cranes over the sweaty humanity, looking for Hell's Angels with knives, perhaps. The camera acts as faux-surveilance; the sea of New York concertgoers become an unintentional reference point to the hippie revelers who attended Altamont in During "Sympathy for the Devil", the filmmaker diverts our attention away from the stage and towards the audience for the first time. The camera cranes over the sweaty humanity, looking for Hell's Angels with knives, perhaps. The camera acts as faux-surveilance; the sea of New York concertgoers become an unintentional reference point to the hippie revelers who attended Altamont in '69. Or maybe, just maybe, this was the filmmaker's intention, after all. The connotation of the red lighting might be blood, rather than the flames of hell, or the devil's skin, which you'd initially gauge as the proper interpretation for a song called "Sympathy for the Devil". If the murders at Altamont are indeed sublimated throughout this song, the filmmaker has found a clever way to indulge in his obsession with graphic violence. When Keith Richards wields that opening lick to "Jumpin' Jack Flash"(used memorably in 1973's "Mean Streets"), "Shine a Light" instantly becomes a New York movie. With that crucifix hanging around Ron Wood's neck, the Stones' axeman bears a similarity to Johnny Boy(Robert DeNiro). Even though they're both devout Catholics, both men are into drugs("Champagne and Reefer) and skirts(Christina Aguilera). Pelle Almqvist might've nicked Mick Jagger's moves, but the Glimmer Twin must be a vampire in Brussels, because he seems to have stolen The Hives' frontman's youth. Even though the whit floodlights look like the Stones are bracing themselves for the rapture. "Shine a Light" sounds like an ELO concert film. They should've called it "Trollin' for Nubiles After All These Years". Expand
  17. MickH.
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    Fantastic! Incredible camera work capturing a great performance by an amazing band.
  18. Larry
    Apr 3, 2008
    8
    Great concert film. However, I don't understand how this can be considered as a documentary. There's maybe 10 mins. of Scorsese and the Stones prepping for the show, and then the rest is concert footage.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. The film does not stand up to the current crop of music/concert films like "U2 3D," which brilliantly uses 3-D to show the Irish band in concert so as to encapsulate its relationship to its fans, each other and their own music, and "CSNY: Deja Vu," which hones in on the political connection Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young have to their music.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Martin Scorsese’s energetic account of a Stones concert at Gotham’s Beacon Theater in fall 2006 takes full advantage of heavy camera coverage and top-notch sound to create an invigorating musical trip down memory lane, as well as to provoke gentle musings on the wages of aging and the passage of time.
  3. My favorite rock-concert movies, Jonathan Demme’s "Stop Making Sense" and "Neil Young: Heart of Gold," are organic: They chart a miraculous path from sound to soul. Scorsese stays on the outside, as befits his temperament and his subject. Yet there is, amid the whirligig spectacle, a spark of connection.