Shoot 'Em Up

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 341 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 341

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. AlexL
    Aug 22, 2009
    1
    The only reason that I'm not giving this utter piece of detritus a 0 is that I don't believe any film can be of literally no merit.
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    3
    Whoa, I can buy a lot of things, aliens coming to earth and blowing up the white house? You betcha. 300 guys standing against thousands all while wearing nothing more than a loin cloth? sure! Hundreds of troops hiding in a giant wooden horse and then defeating the Trojans? okay. Eddy Murphy being able to talk to animals? why not. Sarah Jessica Parker being sexy? That's a bit of a stretch.Whoa, I can buy a lot of things, aliens coming to earth and blowing up the white house? You betcha. 300 guys standing against thousands all while wearing nothing more than a loin cloth? sure! Hundreds of troops hiding in a giant wooden horse and then defeating the Trojans? okay. Eddy Murphy being able to talk to animals? why not. Sarah Jessica Parker being sexy? That's a bit of a stretch. But I can not for one second believe you can kill people with a carrot, that's just something I can not buy. I also can not but that they make baby sized bullet proof vests, in camo no less and I can't get behind shooting an umbilical cord off. And most off all you can not be shot at by hundreds of people and only get winged once in the shoulder. There was just too much suspension of disbelief for me in this film. There were some positive aspects to the movie, the acting was good, the action scenes were great and the plot was kinda fun. But the crazy deaths and outlandish scenarios were just too much to overcome. And seriously what the hell was up with the carrots, like a crazy fetish or something. He had more carrots just stashed on his body then should be aloud by law, it's just weird Expand
  3. bb
    Jan 3, 2008
    3
    horrible and lame. wasn't even entertaining.
  4. BDub
    Jan 14, 2008
    2
    Wow, this was bad. One of the worst movies i've seen in a while. I'm all about the spoof. But even the spoof was just bad. I'm not sure if this movie was more insulting to the action genre or the spoof genre. I'm also a fan of the two main actors who hopefully won't get hurt by this pile. Basically the movie is trying to be a Desperado/Once upon a time in Mexico, Wow, this was bad. One of the worst movies i've seen in a while. I'm all about the spoof. But even the spoof was just bad. I'm not sure if this movie was more insulting to the action genre or the spoof genre. I'm also a fan of the two main actors who hopefully won't get hurt by this pile. Basically the movie is trying to be a Desperado/Once upon a time in Mexico, set in NYC, i think. Only where those movies were good, Shoot "em failed. Please leave the spopfs to Sam Raimi and Robert Rodriguez. Thanks. Expand
  5. KL
    Jan 14, 2008
    0
    Lame, boring, predictable. Not even very funny. Unmenacing overmatched villains make the action scenes pretty boring, once you see one brainless villain meet his demise you more or less see them all Predictable loud and no character engagement. Shootem up is a real Turkey. Why some gave this 10 totally baffles me!
  6. BH
    Feb 3, 2008
    0
    One of the worst movies I have seen - totally lacking in every way - absolutely stupid!
  7. AndyB.
    Feb 7, 2008
    0
    One of the worst movies I've seen in a while!!! I like Clive Owen and Paul Giamatti, but they picked the wrong movie to act in!!!! Why people would enjoy this is beyond me. Unless you like action flicks that are, terribly acted, have terrible one liners, no character development, no story line, terrible action scenes etc....Than this is definitely for you. Why people enjoy these One of the worst movies I've seen in a while!!! I like Clive Owen and Paul Giamatti, but they picked the wrong movie to act in!!!! Why people would enjoy this is beyond me. Unless you like action flicks that are, terribly acted, have terrible one liners, no character development, no story line, terrible action scenes etc....Than this is definitely for you. Why people enjoy these campy movies, I'll never understand. I don't go to see an action movie to laugh. If I wanted to laugh at an "action" movie, I'd turn on the USA network and watch "Toxic Avenger"!!!! Expand
  8. JohnQ.
    Feb 10, 2008
    0
    Not only one of the worst action flicks ever made, but possibly one of the worst movies ever made. Odiously bad. The thought that anyone thought this could be compared to the fight-scene virtuosity of Hard Boiled, or the quirky wit of Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang is just ridiculous, and makes me wonder if they actually saw those movies. Avoid at all costs any copies of Shoot 'Em Up, unless Not only one of the worst action flicks ever made, but possibly one of the worst movies ever made. Odiously bad. The thought that anyone thought this could be compared to the fight-scene virtuosity of Hard Boiled, or the quirky wit of Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang is just ridiculous, and makes me wonder if they actually saw those movies. Avoid at all costs any copies of Shoot 'Em Up, unless your intention is to do us all a favour and set them on fire. Expand
  9. TomD.
    Feb 10, 2008
    0
    Horrible movie, I watch probablly 100 movies a year and this is clearly at the bottom. I thought Sin City was great this was just odd and pointless. Why do people like this? I'm not opposed to violent movies but mindless ones...
  10. Telimaktar
    Apr 26, 2008
    2
    Watched it and had to warn anyone interested in hiring this. A load of shite. Totally pointless rubbish. It is really one of the worst movies I've ever seen.
  11. DavidG.
    May 29, 2008
    0
    It's hard to describe just how bad this movie is. Because if I say that it was bad, you might think that it's so bad that it's good. You might think that it was a parody of the genre by being so bad. That's what I thought and why I ended up renting it. However, this movie isn't a parody and isn't even close to being self-aware on that level. But, even if it It's hard to describe just how bad this movie is. Because if I say that it was bad, you might think that it's so bad that it's good. You might think that it was a parody of the genre by being so bad. That's what I thought and why I ended up renting it. However, this movie isn't a parody and isn't even close to being self-aware on that level. But, even if it were, it wouldn't be a clever parody. The action scenes are mechanical. There's no suspense in the scenes themselves. It's a matter of fact, foregone conclusion that every scene will play out perfectly for Clive Owen. I was hoping this would lend itself to an aspect of parody but sadly, it didn't. The entire movie seems to have been formulated around the scene out of Hard Boiled where Chow Yun Fat is involved in a shootout with a baby. That's it. Don't expect more. Do yourself a favor and rent Hard Boiled instead. The most unfortunate part of this movie is that I kept watching it hoping that it would become bad enough to be good. Expand
  12. ScottQ
    Jul 23, 2008
    2
    I am all for action, blood and violence, don't get me wrong, but this is really a horrible movie, seriously, this is really bad.
  13. JamesF.
    Sep 7, 2007
    3
    Pretty lame really. Totally unbelievable action punctuated by dumb jokes. The Bourne Ultimatum, Live Free or Die Hard, and Death Sentence all have better action scenes. I say wait and rent it , if you must. A waste of money as far as I'm concerned.
  14. BlamBlam
    Sep 7, 2007
    3
    If only it wasn't so boooring!
  15. DaveB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    0
    what the hell movie did you people see ? this movie was f**kin' horrible. Don't get me wrong....I'm a fan of action movies even when there is no plot (Transformers, Assault on Precinct 13) and i can suspend my disbelief when I'm at the movies. This was a waste of time. I have seen thousands of movies but never have i been so tempted to walk out of one as i was here. what the hell movie did you people see ? this movie was f**kin' horrible. Don't get me wrong....I'm a fan of action movies even when there is no plot (Transformers, Assault on Precinct 13) and i can suspend my disbelief when I'm at the movies. This was a waste of time. I have seen thousands of movies but never have i been so tempted to walk out of one as i was here. The acting was horrible, the CGI was lame, the action scenes were BORING, don't even get me going on the feeling up a dead girl or the lactating prostitute scenes. "Suspend your disbelief at the door"...that i can do but this movie was insulting to action fans everywhere. Expand
  16. MiloZ
    Sep 14, 2007
    0
    AO Scott was right.
  17. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Just one boring gunfight after another, cheap effects and ridiculous dialogue. Even if it's meant as a satirical portrayal of the genre, it's just the same again and again. You could with no doubts nominate it under the category "Worst movie ever".
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29
  1. Anyone looking for subtlety, character development or layered plotting will be disappointed, but action fans will find plenty to amuse them with this film that makes "Hard-Boiled" look restrained.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    40
    Good taste is the first fatality in this gonzo thrill-seeker, sure to offend mainstream dispositions, yet too stylistically audacious to dismiss outright.
  3. 80
    Extremely violent guilty pleasure of a thriller.