New Line Cinema | Release Date: September 7, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 362 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
303
Mixed:
18
Negative:
41
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SharonB.Sep 10, 2007
I took my son to see this on his 18th birthday. What a cheesy delight! Suspend your disbelief at the door. Great stunts, wry humor. Goofy fun. Paul Giamatti is a terrific villain.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JamesBomanNov 8, 2007
This movie flawlessly executes everything it tries to be. And it tries to be ridiculous.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RobStokoeNov 12, 2007
For a start its most certainly a total guys movie, not at all surprising that the lady critics gave it no credit. Its not overly gory or overly violent; the violence it driven through moderate humor and the action is coreographed through For a start its most certainly a total guys movie, not at all surprising that the lady critics gave it no credit. Its not overly gory or overly violent; the violence it driven through moderate humor and the action is coreographed through believable, yet still imaginitively and smooth, marksmanship. The perfect role for Clive Owen, not too much in the way of words, or acting at all. His role was basically one-liners. The soundtrack that does along with action scenes is one of the best ive seen in modern movies for a while. Count the shells, count the bodies, count on an adrenaline pack ride. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisGDec 27, 2007
Movie was great, what half of you morons dont realize that the acting, script, everything about this movie was supposed to be over the top that was the whole point. People these days take everything so serious the movie was supposed to be Movie was great, what half of you morons dont realize that the acting, script, everything about this movie was supposed to be over the top that was the whole point. People these days take everything so serious the movie was supposed to be over the top video game action/acting Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristianGarciaDec 27, 2007
What you people fail to realize is that in no point in this movie are you to take this movie seruously. the over the top action,acting, and script was done on purpose. This movie was a great movie every one should see this. This movie was What you people fail to realize is that in no point in this movie are you to take this movie seruously. the over the top action,acting, and script was done on purpose. This movie was a great movie every one should see this. This movie was like a video game Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
michaelpJan 2, 2008
i think some are missing the point of the film. its story line is suppose to be stupid its a ACTION FILM. the thing is it doesnt take it self seriously becouse its a action movie . its hot fuzz but only the action and it forgets any story build up
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TomDJan 5, 2008
Sit down and buckle up, cause you're goin' for a ride! Thinking is not allowed--not that you'll have any time anyway. Wa-hoo!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinSJan 13, 2008
Total guy movie! And thus is, by definition, fuckin' awesome! Great use of music. Hilarious and action packed. Real men will love this movie. And some women too. Very John Woo Harde Boiled esc.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DavidWJan 14, 2008
Unless you think every movie should challenge your IQ, the only reason you could possible not enjoy this film is if you were a in dreary mood before you hit play. Two thumbs up for me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BrettP.Feb 11, 2008
All right, lets get one thing straight here. This is not a thought-provoking drama, where, there's a plotline, and character development, and all that stuff that usually makes movies great. This is a B-movie, Grindhouse-esque, where All right, lets get one thing straight here. This is not a thought-provoking drama, where, there's a plotline, and character development, and all that stuff that usually makes movies great. This is a B-movie, Grindhouse-esque, where people get shot. A lot. Sometimes with food. However, if you realize this, you will have a great time. I simply had to turn my left brain off (which, for me, wasn't that hard.) Clive Owen is a great actor, one of my favorite ones, and so is Paul Giamatti. But, you could go in never having seen these guys before, and you'd leave feeling just the same as everyone else. For a cheap thrill, it's perfect. To put it bluntly, "stuff gets shot." And, be honest, on a Saturday night with your buddies, what more do you want? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Feb 18, 2008
Smith(Clive Owen) is Bugs Bunny's translator. Thanks to "Shoot 'Em Up", the next time you see that "wascally wabbit" torment Elmer Fudd, you'll remember the carrot to the eye, or the carrot to the throat. When Bugs bites into Smith(Clive Owen) is Bugs Bunny's translator. Thanks to "Shoot 'Em Up", the next time you see that "wascally wabbit" torment Elmer Fudd, you'll remember the carrot to the eye, or the carrot to the throat. When Bugs bites into his taproot, it's the closest he'll get to firing a live round. "What's up doc?" probably means something along the lines of, "Why you hatin', Elmer?" To defend the violence in "Shoot 'Em Up", the advocate for this whimsically sick film would have to utilize the "it's only a cartoon defense". Gamers, to paraphrase Carly Simon, will "probably think this [film] is about [them]", but they'd be wrong. You can die in a video game; a cartoon character, on the other hand, is impervious to death; that's why Smith chomps on a carrot in the opening minutes of "Shoot 'Em Up". Thankfully, the filmmaker isn't hypocritical about the blood, semen, and yes, breast milk; to the very end, the movie is unapologetic about its body count, and other crimes effectuated in the name of bad taste. Gun lobbyists like to defend their right to bear arms by saying that guns don't kill people, people kill people. "Shoot 'Em Up" illustrates this mentality when Smith kills another man with heated bullets discharging from the palm of his hand. Stupid, right? So why does this geek show work? Its participants, chiefly, Clive Owen, never cracks a smile, never lets on that he know how entirely ridiculous this whole enterprise really is. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TupacS.Mar 28, 2008
this movie was tight, you can't expect to go into every movie thinking its going to be a mind boggler, sometimes you just have to sit back and enjoy the movie without thinking much. def a guy movie and some girls if open minded enough this movie was tight, you can't expect to go into every movie thinking its going to be a mind boggler, sometimes you just have to sit back and enjoy the movie without thinking much. def a guy movie and some girls if open minded enough will enjoy this "movie" Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdamHApr 21, 2008
I loved this movie. If Die Hard or a Bond movie is magic, then this is a Bond movie directed by Penn & Teller. It's not serious and there in lies the beauty.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisF.May 11, 2008
People take this movie too seriously. It's not meant to be an A movie. This movie was made with the intent of being a B class movie. Like how Grindhouse was intentionally made to be like an old B movie in an exploitation theater. Yeah, People take this movie too seriously. It's not meant to be an A movie. This movie was made with the intent of being a B class movie. Like how Grindhouse was intentionally made to be like an old B movie in an exploitation theater. Yeah, the one liners are campy and certain parts are just ridiculous but frankly that's what makes the movie so great. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TauS.Jul 5, 2008
The rating of this movie is truly insanity! Just because some whining nannys at the New York Times gets a turn on by watching "Sex and the City" doesn't give them the right to crush a perfectly balanced action movie. Any movie starting The rating of this movie is truly insanity! Just because some whining nannys at the New York Times gets a turn on by watching "Sex and the City" doesn't give them the right to crush a perfectly balanced action movie. Any movie starting with a screaming woman, a villain and a random street bums who just happens to be a former ELITE soldier saying: "Oh, fuck it!" and just so happens to interfere in the largest manhunt in the history of men. At the bottom line: if you like action (and yeah baby, i mean real action!) this movie will give you truly satisfaction. And yeah it's right, your girlfriend might not understand why the hell you think this movie is any good - but that fact alone just better the action-packed blasting sequences you are about to watch! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BenjaminK.Aug 31, 2008
You can't really go wrong with a movie that has a sex scene involving a gunfight and an infant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TillH.Dec 7, 2008
A mixture of Wanted and Crank, havent seen such a hilarious move for some time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TitaniumDragonDec 27, 2008
This movie is underrated by the critics, simple as that. Its quite good, but not in the "good good" sort of way. This movie is exactly what its title says, and it really is basically what would happen if you took an action movie, removed a This movie is underrated by the critics, simple as that. Its quite good, but not in the "good good" sort of way. This movie is exactly what its title says, and it really is basically what would happen if you took an action movie, removed a lot of the "people talking", and then released it into the wild. It sounds stupid, and ultimately, is stupid, but it is stupid in an incredibly wonderful way. If you enjoy action movies, you'll enjoy this because this is why you enjoy action movies. If you don't enjoy action movies, you'll hate this movie because there is nothing else to it - it is nothing but an action movie. The protagonist's carrot eating, his ridiculous means of killing people, the wonderfully coreographed but completely insane gunfights... its amazing. Dumb, but amazing. Its worth watching. Not the best movie ever, but possibly one of the purest. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesS.Jan 6, 2009
its so bad its good! its like street fighter with guns! its a gd no brainer film tht if u have an hour n a half to kill is totally elite
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mattwFeb 17, 2009
Wow some people just don't know how to have a f*cken good time. I was amazingly entertained by this movie. Nothing was realistic, and i dont care. It was fun, exciting, complete action. If its not your genre, don't rate it a 0, Wow some people just don't know how to have a f*cken good time. I was amazingly entertained by this movie. Nothing was realistic, and i dont care. It was fun, exciting, complete action. If its not your genre, don't rate it a 0, base it on how it appeals to people who do like it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
alexrMay 31, 2009
It's a comedy. Pure and simple. Black hearted, stupid but very funny and one of those films that's likely to get funnier every time you watch it. Not a classic by any means, but still very entertaining.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
WilliamTJun 5, 2009
Turn your brain off and you'll be thoroughly entertained for 83 minutes with violence, sex, corny lines and various methods of using carrots as an everyday tool.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidSDec 5, 2009
Funny, Stylish and Entertaining.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FlashB.Sep 7, 2007
Fantastic, over-the-top fun. Yes, it's ridiculous. It's also one of the best times an action fan will have at a movie all year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ScottR.Sep 7, 2007
It's ridiculous. It's silly. It's over the top. And I was the first in line to watch it! This was a definite go see from the first preview I saw at Comic-Con.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickMSep 7, 2007
The plot? negligible. The dialogue? awful. But I'll be darned if that wasn't the most fun I've had watching a movie in a theater. Cars, carrots, and creative ways of dying are all accounted for. Don't listen to the The plot? negligible. The dialogue? awful. But I'll be darned if that wasn't the most fun I've had watching a movie in a theater. Cars, carrots, and creative ways of dying are all accounted for. Don't listen to the critics, they don't know how to have fun at a movie anymore. This movie is a roller coaster ride meant to be seen by action fans. You'll laugh, you'll yell, and you may even cry a little bit. I want a carrot... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChuckC.Sep 8, 2007
The name says it all and the gun fire never stops ... and this fact is what makes the film pure genius and pure fun. RUN, don't walk, to see the smartest action film going.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeterK.Sep 9, 2007
A crazy comic/game stylized satire of action flicks that is full of grotesque yet hilarious scenes that keep the audience laughing and gasping. Adult film that will be over the head of many folks, and obviously All of the critics.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarvinB.Sep 9, 2007
This was not nearly as stupid as the MI series, and the recent James Bond films, except for the Craig one. A great sense of humor, makes this a total success. I hope there's a sequel.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KatherineSep 9, 2007
I have never laughed so hard during a movie. Yes, there is not much of a plot, but that is part of the point. It is combination of the action genre and Bugs Bunny cartoons. Clive Owen and Paul Giamatti shine in this highly unusual film. I I have never laughed so hard during a movie. Yes, there is not much of a plot, but that is part of the point. It is combination of the action genre and Bugs Bunny cartoons. Clive Owen and Paul Giamatti shine in this highly unusual film. I can't wait to see it again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Sep 9, 2007
One of the funniest action flicks I have seen in a long time. It's a fun time at the movies filled with dumb gags that keep you entertained throughout the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoeyK.Sep 10, 2007
The plot: Pretty good, considering it is only doled out in the same amounts, at the same frequency, and for the same reason as a palette cleanser. The Action: Very creative. As absurd as you could ever expect at times, but always fun, funny, The plot: Pretty good, considering it is only doled out in the same amounts, at the same frequency, and for the same reason as a palette cleanser. The Action: Very creative. As absurd as you could ever expect at times, but always fun, funny, and surprising. The Characters: There was only enough time between gunfights to get the perfect taste of the intriging protagonist and antagonist. They are both admirable in their own way, and mirror each other. They're great, perfectly acted centerpieces to this show. The One-liners: It's an action movie. It doesn't disappoint. Overall: Very creative and very entertaining, and lives up to it's title in every way. Word of Warning: If you don't think Gunfights are cool, then you're a moron for even being interested in a movie called Shoot 'em Up. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MSSep 10, 2007
This is the "Stick Figure Death Theater" of action films. If you enjoy SFDT, you will have a hoot at this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnB.Sep 10, 2007
Thoroughly silly, over-the-top bullet-feast that's as offensive as it is ridiculous. And that ladies and gentleman, should be what you were expecting from it in the first place. Does it's job just fine, avoid if you're looking Thoroughly silly, over-the-top bullet-feast that's as offensive as it is ridiculous. And that ladies and gentleman, should be what you were expecting from it in the first place. Does it's job just fine, avoid if you're looking for anything remotely deep. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MajellaK.Sep 13, 2007
Hilarious + ridiculous = AWESOME. Action movies call for too much suspension of disbelief for me - but after the first major scene when you decide to roll with it, this movie is great. The dialogue is trite - I almost wished it was a silent Hilarious + ridiculous = AWESOME. Action movies call for too much suspension of disbelief for me - but after the first major scene when you decide to roll with it, this movie is great. The dialogue is trite - I almost wished it was a silent movie.... and it would still be probably the funniest thing you've seen all year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisR.Sep 13, 2007
This may have been the cheesiest, corniest movie I've ever seen.. but it was hilarious! It was supposed to be like that.. I'm sure the actors laughed their asses off when they read the script. The story was terrible, the lines were This may have been the cheesiest, corniest movie I've ever seen.. but it was hilarious! It was supposed to be like that.. I'm sure the actors laughed their asses off when they read the script. The story was terrible, the lines were terrible, the CG was ok, and the scenes were sometimes shockingly bad.. but that's what it was intended to be like! People just don't get that. All in all, I was entertained. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DanS.Sep 13, 2007
This film was great, it is very funny and not supposed to be taken seriously at all, this was a great way to end the big summer action movies. There is non stop action and comedy through out the entire movie. I went into the theater This film was great, it is very funny and not supposed to be taken seriously at all, this was a great way to end the big summer action movies. There is non stop action and comedy through out the entire movie. I went into the theater expecting a Sin City like experience out of Clive Owen but was pleasantly surprised by the More Grind House, ridicules action packed funny style. If you like to see one man kill another with a Carrot this movie is for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KekiB.Sep 16, 2007
Hong Kong brought to Times Square of old for a satire of gangsters, samuraii, gun politics, that is beyond the fantastic and puts the ridicule back in ridiculous. Hilarioius.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ArkonBladeSep 15, 2010
best way to sum up this film is bang , bang , bang alot of people die and clive owens pops out alot of puns and one liners . now if you wana see some thing thats over the top and on the rediculas side with a kick ass sound track and yet bebest way to sum up this film is bang , bang , bang alot of people die and clive owens pops out alot of puns and one liners . now if you wana see some thing thats over the top and on the rediculas side with a kick ass sound track and yet be entertaining then this is a good movie to see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RJSmooveMar 20, 2011
This is pure over the top action and dark comedy blended into a concoction of comic book/video game-like fun. I popped the blu-ray in really expecting it to be mediocre and stupid, but I was pleasantly surprised. It also happens that CliveThis is pure over the top action and dark comedy blended into a concoction of comic book/video game-like fun. I popped the blu-ray in really expecting it to be mediocre and stupid, but I was pleasantly surprised. It also happens that Clive Owen and Paul Giamati are a couple of my favorite actors. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
corrodedDec 8, 2011
It took me a few minutes to truly 'get' Shoot 'Em Up... I think the point that I realised was when he killed a guy by jamming a carrot into the blokes skull. Utter ridiculous and utterly brilliant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
duffeknolMar 28, 2011
The single greatest over the top action movie ever made.
Seriously, this leaves even Crank and Crank 2 behind it. Every single scene is over the top and hilarious. At no point does the movie take itself seriously, which is the way it's
The single greatest over the top action movie ever made.
Seriously, this leaves even Crank and Crank 2 behind it. Every single scene is over the top and hilarious. At no point does the movie take itself seriously, which is the way it's supposed to be. Giamatti is absolutely amazing as a bad guy, Owen is stoic as hell and Belluci is, well, really hot. Next to that, the little baby isn't even annoying. Hell, it likes Strapping Young Lad.
Seriously, the critics can suck it. This movie is more of a grindhouse movie than Grindhouse, since this movie is old school fun without having to yell 'look at me, I'm a **** grindhouse movie!'.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
tearsoftimeDec 1, 2011
Letâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobOct 20, 2012
Think of this movie like Taken. When it comes down to it, It's a rather generic action movie with a pointlessly confusing plot and over the top, yet still good, action scenes but for some reason you can't help but enjoy it. Clive Owens killsThink of this movie like Taken. When it comes down to it, It's a rather generic action movie with a pointlessly confusing plot and over the top, yet still good, action scenes but for some reason you can't help but enjoy it. Clive Owens kills this movie, in a good way. Definently worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews