Shrek 2

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 442 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 442
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    "Shrek 2" is a decent movie using the same formula from "Shrek". But hey, its still very funny and entertaining to watch.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jan 9, 2006
    4
    A bit funny, but the first one it's that good that leaves Shrek 2 in the dust.
  3. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    Another stale installment of the Shrek series with its plethora of fart jokes and bad Scottish accents. Nothing new. This series could've saved itself, at least a little bit,by not being a series at all and stopping at the first one.
  4. LiamS.
    Jun 2, 2004
    4
    Shrek 2 is totally vacuous and without substance. Its characters are contrived, and the storyline is strained at best. The first Shrek movie was clever. This movie has none of the first movie's charm. I realize that this movie is for children, but the innumerable farting jokes must be pleasing only to 11 and 12 year old boys. Also, very interesting that in a "land far, far away" Shrek 2 is totally vacuous and without substance. Its characters are contrived, and the storyline is strained at best. The first Shrek movie was clever. This movie has none of the first movie's charm. I realize that this movie is for children, but the innumerable farting jokes must be pleasing only to 11 and 12 year old boys. Also, very interesting that in a "land far, far away" there would be a Starbucks. Go figure! And here I thought that I only had to walk to the corner of my street to get a Starbucks coffee. Very lame indeed. Expand
  5. DamianP.
    Jul 9, 2004
    5
    There were about 4 good laughs (mostly from Puss-In-Boots) and the rest was pretty boring. Mike Myers didn't sound like he was trying to be funny. The first Shrek was 10/10, but this fell way short. Advice for the next one - get rid of the songs, put in more jokes (especially from the villans) and try to get the voices to sounds the same as they did in the first movie.
  6. DaveC.
    Oct 17, 2004
    6
    The genuine emotion and snappy pacing of the original film is nowhere to be seen here. There are some hilarious gags but they are much morw few and far inbetween than in the first film. A lot of the great one liners and hilarious pop culture and fairytale send ups of the original have been replaced with unfunny sight gags and fart jokes. The only improvement that seems to have been made The genuine emotion and snappy pacing of the original film is nowhere to be seen here. There are some hilarious gags but they are much morw few and far inbetween than in the first film. A lot of the great one liners and hilarious pop culture and fairytale send ups of the original have been replaced with unfunny sight gags and fart jokes. The only improvement that seems to have been made over the original is in the animation which is indeed very pretty, but the story meanders and has no idea where to go with its "don't be ashamed of who you are sentiments" shoddily recycled from the first film with a much heavier dose of formulaic melodrama than before. Expand
  7. ErinG
    Oct 5, 2004
    6
    Not as good as the first one.
  8. PatC.
    Jun 1, 2004
    5
    An erratic construction haunted by the success of its predecessor while bearing the burden of excessive commercial expectations. Threatens to turn into a Broadway musical early on as it flounders around to re-establish format. A journey to a land far far away ensues, but not far enough to escape a Starbucks product placement. Things did suddenly rip right along the instant Puss-n-Boots An erratic construction haunted by the success of its predecessor while bearing the burden of excessive commercial expectations. Threatens to turn into a Broadway musical early on as it flounders around to re-establish format. A journey to a land far far away ensues, but not far enough to escape a Starbucks product placement. Things did suddenly rip right along the instant Puss-n-Boots appeared. So as in the first Shrek, the real star of the show was enabled when the creators didn't try too hard. Overall an OK show, but doesn't rise above the stench of contrivance. Expand
  9. DanC.
    Jun 8, 2004
    5
    This is good if you like simple humor.
  10. Lil'yoF.
    Jun 9, 2004
    5
    It was ok i did love it though.
  11. DeannaH
    Aug 4, 2007
    6
    i like this movie it had its funny parts, like when puss in boots came. But it wasn't the best movie ever.
  12. dziewuliz
    Dec 5, 2004
    5
    Flawless animation, however screenplay was bad (stupid jokes etc.). In spite of this, i loved Puss and Donkey - I liked their appearances best... :)
  13. AndrewK.
    May 20, 2004
    6
    This movie was just good enough to not be bad. A terrible disapointment. Obviously created only to capitalize on the success of the first film. No creativity whatsoever. If you want to be reminded of moments from other movies that have absolutely no relevance to the plot of this movie, by all means, go see it. Otherwise, its a waste of your time and money.
  14. BrockR.
    May 20, 2004
    5
    Shrek 2 is exactly that Shrek 1 done all over again, except this time the jokes aren't as fresh the music even more annoying than "Allstar". However, Eddie Murphy was exceptional as Donkey, the only character to carry on his likability to the second movie, and Antonio Banderas brought a great new character into the mix of Puss n Boots. I didn't even care for the 2 main Shrek 2 is exactly that Shrek 1 done all over again, except this time the jokes aren't as fresh the music even more annoying than "Allstar". However, Eddie Murphy was exceptional as Donkey, the only character to carry on his likability to the second movie, and Antonio Banderas brought a great new character into the mix of Puss n Boots. I didn't even care for the 2 main characters, I just wanted to see Puss n Boots and Donkey the whole time, as childish as that seems, the other characters just failed to follow through. Expand
  15. TonyL.
    May 26, 2004
    5
    A disappointment! Nowhere close to being as funny as the first one. I give it a 5 only because of the improved animation. Rental only!
  16. SamR.
    Jun 25, 2004
    5
    I didn't care for this sequel, even though I loved the original. (And bought it!) After a nice begining montage, Mr. & Mrs. Shriek open their mouths and out comes 15 minutes of exposition that would bore the pants off the Brady Bunch! After all the hoop-la, I think Puss-In-Boots would be funnier without the unintelligible accent of Mr. Baderas, and what kind of movie gives the I didn't care for this sequel, even though I loved the original. (And bought it!) After a nice begining montage, Mr. & Mrs. Shriek open their mouths and out comes 15 minutes of exposition that would bore the pants off the Brady Bunch! After all the hoop-la, I think Puss-In-Boots would be funnier without the unintelligible accent of Mr. Baderas, and what kind of movie gives the villain a better song than the hero! This wasn't a sequel as much as a self-conscious copy of an original. Some funny moments, yes, but not enough to pay retail. Expand
  17. Patrick
    Jun 8, 2004
    6
    Not anywhere near as strong as the first one. While the animation has improved the threefold and the jokes are witty as ever, the narrative falls into sequel hell with a villain so ridiculous that it makes the disney movies it satire look brilliant. Still, a lot of fun.
  18. EfeB.
    Sep 2, 2004
    6
    Yeah, it was fun. but what different does it make...mrek, shreck,treck,wreck?...hell, make another ugly monster and paint him red instead of green and call him freck. animation should reach the next level allready...sequels to animations reek of money and burger king toys. like always, the first one was better.
  19. tug
    Mar 13, 2005
    4
    Great animation, to be sure, but lame jokes and a weak story make this movie difficult to watch. o v e r r a t e d.
  20. Riren
    Mar 3, 2007
    6
    Blatantly sentimental where the original was clever, Shrek 2 is the sort of movie the original would have made fun of. The charm wears off quickly. There are some outrageously funny moments, but its more miss than hit, going for easy parody and satirical cliches.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Its cleverness and its good heart enable it to overcome a slow start, which is how all good fairy tales end.
  2. 88
    So gorgeously animated and so thoroughly entertaining for all ages that only an ogre would complain it's not quite as fresh as the original.
  3. Some of the buckshot hits its target: Shrek's second sidekick, assassin-turned-comrade Puss in Boots, is voiced by Antonio Banderas as an outrageously mock-dramatic Spaniard with most of the pig-pile screenplay's best toss-offs.