DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: May 19, 2004
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 472 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
433
Mixed:
31
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
gm101Oct 4, 2010
While I liked the first Shrek movie, I thought the movie was really overrated. This movie however, is the only Shrek movie I believe deserves a 10. Funnier jokes, Antonio Banderas as Puss in Boots, I actually love this movie!
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
lovemusicMay 31, 2011
THIS ONE RIGHT HERE IS GREAT I LOVED THIS MOVIE AS WELL. GREAT PLOT AND LINES. THE action scenes are good. 10 out of 10 my favorite shrek movie.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
KendylKlownfishApr 18, 2011
If not better -- Shrek 2 is certainly more innovative than the first film. Pros: Even more hilarious characters and dialog; rich visuals; probably more charming for the kiddies. Cons: A bit too pop culture referential.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
This is better than the first Shrek because the story in this one is more interesting, the humor is more funnier (which is a little weird in the first), the graphics are better and the characters' voices are better. The first one is justThis is better than the first Shrek because the story in this one is more interesting, the humor is more funnier (which is a little weird in the first), the graphics are better and the characters' voices are better. The first one is just good, but this sequel is great.... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HalfwelshmanMay 19, 2012
How can you improve on a near-perfect animated film? Why, by making the sequel even closer to perfection of course. Andrew Adamson has fleshed out his wonderful comic fantasy universe that parodies both fairytale conventions and the modernHow can you improve on a near-perfect animated film? Why, by making the sequel even closer to perfection of course. Andrew Adamson has fleshed out his wonderful comic fantasy universe that parodies both fairytale conventions and the modern world so ingeniously. Shrek (Mike Myers), Donkey (Eddie Murphy) and Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) remain engaging and easy to empathise with, and have all grown as characters, and face new life challenges as they travel to Far Far Away to meet Fiona's parents King Harold and Queen Lillian, voiced by the dream paring of John Cleese and Julie Andrews (which results in one of the funniest moments in the film - that fine romantic comedy staple of the awkward dinner with the in-laws). The cast is further fleshed out by Antonio Banderas as Puss in Boots, a suave, swashbuckling sword-for-hire with a deep sense of honour, but who isn't above exploiting his inherent cuteness. Jennifer Saunders makes a great villain as the Fairy Godmother, her performance an inspired mix of Michael Corleone and Oprah Winfrey, who seeks to secure the crowning of her spoilt, empty-headed son Prince Charming (Rupert Everett) and above all to maintain the status quo of traditional fairytales, of which Shrek living happily ever after with Princess Fiona is in complete defiance of. Shrek 2 is smarter, more bitingly satirical, even more visually splendiferous and far, far funnier than the first film. The jokes are wide ranging, from visual gags (my personal favourite being a shop in Far Far Away called Versarchery) to sitcom-style one-liners (Donkey proclaiming to Puss in Boots "I'm sorry but the position of annoying talking animal sidekick has already been taken) to the completely unexpected (after threatening King Harold, in her complete frustration at her schemes unraveling, the Fairy Godmother stops her flying carriage at a drive-thru to buy some comfort food) to the crude (the discovery that Pinocchio wears lady's underwear). At its core, Shrek 2 is the next chapter in a good old-fashioned love story. It adopts timeless themes of love, sacrifice and friendship and emphasises the importance of being true to yourself, no matter how life beats you down. Adamson presents these themes earnestly, and with great wit, and makes them affecting and relevant to a modern audience composed of both children and adults. The use of a tongue-in-cheek take on iconic fairytales, something we have all grown up with, makes the second chapter of Shrek's story recognisable but pleasingly fresh at the same time - everyone, no matter your age can take away something from this heartfelt animation extravaganza, and you'll likely have a smile on your face for hours after the credits, and Karaoke segment, roll. Shrek was a very special animated film. Shre 2, on the other hand, is truly one of the finest animated films of all time, and certainly DreamWorks Animation's most glorious achievement. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 9, 2011
Shrek 2 is even better than the 1st Shrek. It is especially hilarious and it has a deeper, more open story than the 1st Shrek had. I especially liked the new character Puss in Boots.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
PaxsterOct 11, 2010
Just as good as the first one with gags and the odd emotional moment to keep you,and more importantly, the children interested for a few more than 1 view. The animation is even better and all the childrens (and the adults) favouriteJust as good as the first one with gags and the odd emotional moment to keep you,and more importantly, the children interested for a few more than 1 view. The animation is even better and all the childrens (and the adults) favourite characters all return. This movie meant that the expectations were way too high for Shrek The Third, of course,it didn't quite live up to the hype. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 11, 2012
THIS ONE RIGHT HERE IS GREAT I LOVED THIS MOVIE AS WELL. GREAT PLOT AND LINES. THE action scenes are good. 10 out of 10 my favorite shrek movie. I like it !
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Apr 3, 2012
Shrek 2 is fantastic. The movie was animated but has a mature feeling to it. The music is incredible and the ending has perfect editing and music. Much better than the first one and the first one wasn't bad.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Dec 9, 2013
A wonderful movie full of spirit. The plot is great as it continues to use satire on fairtytales. Very funny and the music is what makes it excellent. Action packed and sweet.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusJan 3, 2013
This is one of the rare occasions where the sequel to a movie surpasses the original. I found Shrek 2 to be even funnier than the original Shrek (which I also loved). If you liked the first Shrek movie you should also like this one. It isThis is one of the rare occasions where the sequel to a movie surpasses the original. I found Shrek 2 to be even funnier than the original Shrek (which I also loved). If you liked the first Shrek movie you should also like this one. It is entertaining and follows a similar formula to the first one but is done even better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
dante_finnDec 22, 2012
#1 comedy of all time
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Rox22Dec 17, 2013
This movie more or less fixes everything that was wrong with the first movie and makes what worked even better. This is how a sequel should be.

As before, fantastic performances by all the cast, including the newcomers. Story this time
This movie more or less fixes everything that was wrong with the first movie and makes what worked even better. This is how a sequel should be.

As before, fantastic performances by all the cast, including the newcomers. Story this time round feels fresh and finally gives the Shrek universe a sense of its own identity.

Overall:
There is nothing I can fault with this installment. Shrek 2 is by far the best of the series and have set a really high standard that Dreamworks has rarely ever reached again.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Sesansi123Nov 26, 2013
dis movi is relly good cuz it is Shrek 2 and Shrek is the best cuz Shrek is the best shrek is love shrek is life i hate and are all dead to me is a noun in the English language. The word originated as a neutral term referring to black people,dis movi is relly good cuz it is Shrek 2 and Shrek is the best cuz Shrek is the best shrek is love shrek is life i hate and are all dead to me is a noun in the English language. The word originated as a neutral term referring to black people, as a variation of the Spanish/Portuguese noun negro, a descendant of the Latin adjective niger.Often used slightingly, by the mid 20th century, particularly in the United States, it suggested that its target is extremely unsophisticated. Its usage had become unambiguously pejorative, a common ethnic slur usually directed at blacks of Sub-Saharan African descent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DumbNiqqaNov 26, 2013
dis movi is relly good cuz it is Shrek 2 and Shrek is the best cuz Shrek is the best shrek is love shrek is life i hate and are all dead to me is a noun in the English language. The word originated as a neutral term referring to blackdis movi is relly good cuz it is Shrek 2 and Shrek is the best cuz Shrek is the best shrek is love shrek is life i hate and are all dead to me is a noun in the English language. The word originated as a neutral term referring to black people, as a variation of the Spanish/Portuguese noun negro, a descendant of the Latin adjective niger ("color black").[1] Often used slightingly, by the mid 20th century, particularly in the United States, it suggested that its target is extremely unsophisticated. Its usage had become unambiguously pejorative, a common ethnic slur usually directed at blacks of Sub-Saharan African descent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MariofanMar 29, 2015
This movie was just awesome! Even better than Shrek the first. The storyline was great. The new characters were good especially Puss in Boots. The voice acting was great. The animation is very good. Shrek 2 is the best Shrek film and I'dThis movie was just awesome! Even better than Shrek the first. The storyline was great. The new characters were good especially Puss in Boots. The voice acting was great. The animation is very good. Shrek 2 is the best Shrek film and I'd recommend it to anyone who has seen the first. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
pedronotfoundMay 19, 2015
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
One of the few occasions where the second movie is better than the first one. I just love this film. It has a whole batch of new characters, as well as the ones you loved from the first one. The story is even better, and the jokes are evenOne of the few occasions where the second movie is better than the first one. I just love this film. It has a whole batch of new characters, as well as the ones you loved from the first one. The story is even better, and the jokes are even funnier. Probably Dreamworks' best film yet! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Dec 21, 2011
It's charm and extreme heart and originality make for an improvement on the amazing first film. It has to be one of the funniest animated movies made in a long time. I give this film 94%.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 28, 2010
like the first movie, this one also kicks a**!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
BenJun 8, 2007
Probably my favourite movie. I liked it better than the first Shrek. Script and images more meaningful to an older audience than the previous film. Still a lot of fun for all the family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveHJan 4, 2010
Although I'm not a fan of Shrek movies anymore, I'm disagreeing on the fact people saying it wasn't as good as the first one. This movie is way better than the first Shrek, more family friendly, had more characters, more Although I'm not a fan of Shrek movies anymore, I'm disagreeing on the fact people saying it wasn't as good as the first one. This movie is way better than the first Shrek, more family friendly, had more characters, more beautiful locations and a lot of humor. I'm giving it a 10 because it gave me lots of laughs 5 years ago but not now, after all, the big three animated comedies (Shrek 2, Simpsons Movie, Ice Age Dawn of the Dinosaurs) dont have that much replayability as other cool films like Curse of the Black Pearl. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LivesOfGilbertMulroneycakesJan 26, 2006
Dammit I wanted this to be better. Not that it's bad, in fact it's damn good, but it just doesn't have...I dunno, the charm of the original. That one seemed like an impromptu student revue, this one seems like a calculated Dammit I wanted this to be better. Not that it's bad, in fact it's damn good, but it just doesn't have...I dunno, the charm of the original. That one seemed like an impromptu student revue, this one seems like a calculated sequel. There's a faint but discernable corporate feel about it that just makes my skin crawl. But then I am a communist, so it's probably my own fault. To reiteratie: good movie. Puss in Boots is a wonderful creation, brilliantly played, and the rest of the cast rock bells. It's inferior to the original Shrek, but it's still good times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgiaG.Jan 7, 2006
Shrek 2 is my most favourite film of all time. I watch it over and over again. I think that Shrek 2 is better than the first one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanMOct 5, 2007
THis was the best Shrek out of the two. but still donkey is just anoying. i really liked the new character puss in boots. don't wast your time watching the third or the first onlice you can watch them for free.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LilyO.Jun 13, 2006
Though this film is not as ood as it's predecessor Shrek 2 is nearly there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ExeT.Nov 7, 2005
It's all GREAT!!!I love SHREK very mush!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMay 18, 2007
Funny? Yes. Clever? Absolutley. Heartwarming? Could it be any other way? Shrek returns with the original brilliance that highlighted the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarissaMay 20, 2007
Simply wonderful! A few bad jokes and things like that, but all movies seem to have one or two of them in there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyEFeb 22, 2009
ok seriously, what are these critics smoking??? this is sooo much funnier than the first one
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexF.Aug 28, 2006
Great :-D
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudiaPDec 9, 2009
Just as funny, sweet and engaging as the first film starring the big galoot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
Sequel to the highly entertaining erm..Shrek.
Funny in places but also quite annoying too. Really didn't like the Fairy Godmother character (Yes I know she's the baddie) but came across in parts as a bit smug & some of the gags were just
Sequel to the highly entertaining erm..Shrek.
Funny in places but also quite annoying too. Really didn't like the Fairy Godmother character (Yes I know she's the baddie) but came across in parts as a bit smug & some of the gags were just lazy.
The music tends to be badly recycled covers with the exception of Tom Waits & Nick Cave.
So ok but not as good as the first.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobAug 19, 2013
Shrek 2 is one of those rare sequels that works really well being just as good if not better than its predecessor. It has a great story that feels like a continuation of the first one and has some sharp writing, more geared towards adultsShrek 2 is one of those rare sequels that works really well being just as good if not better than its predecessor. It has a great story that feels like a continuation of the first one and has some sharp writing, more geared towards adults than kids. The characters from the first one are back and are as likeable as before along with some new ones that are welcome additions to the cast. On top of that you have some pretty funny jokes, moreso than in the previous film, that the adults will get moreso than the kids. Shrek 2 is a great sequel having everything the first one had and more making it an easy recommendation to fans of the first one along with people who were not even that big on the first one (like Doug Walker). Its films like this that make it clear why we all fell in love with Shrek in the first place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MichaelDFeb 4, 2011
It's good. Not the best humour but it's worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moonman1994Jul 28, 2013
In my opinion this movie slightly better than first Shrek. It still has the great humor that appeals to all ages but the fairy godmother makes for a better villain. Also the new characters make for a pretty good animated film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Even more snarky than the first one, but with just as much heart and likability.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jeff_reviewsJul 5, 2013
"Shrek 2" is just a hilarious comedy hit, and while it feels somewhat similar to its original, new characters do shine Puss in Boots as an example. It's formula to appeal to adults and children at the same time works, and while it may feel a"Shrek 2" is just a hilarious comedy hit, and while it feels somewhat similar to its original, new characters do shine Puss in Boots as an example. It's formula to appeal to adults and children at the same time works, and while it may feel a tad too familiar to the first; it can still appeal to all ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticNov 12, 2013
There's not many more words I can describe the film as being a simply well-meaning, satirical comedy with CGI as a twist to the whole story. The voices still add to the hilarity, and the dialogue is written neat enough for their to be someThere's not many more words I can describe the film as being a simply well-meaning, satirical comedy with CGI as a twist to the whole story. The voices still add to the hilarity, and the dialogue is written neat enough for their to be some clever jokes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
Not content to simply cash-in on the success of Shrek, DreamWorks decided to actually put time, care and effort into making "Shrek 2." The result? A rare sequel that manages to live up to it's already-fantastic predecessor. "Shrek 2" isNot content to simply cash-in on the success of Shrek, DreamWorks decided to actually put time, care and effort into making "Shrek 2." The result? A rare sequel that manages to live up to it's already-fantastic predecessor. "Shrek 2" is hilarious, beautifully animated, well-written, and not afraid to take on some new ground with the series, introducing us to some great, memorable new characters (Puss in Boots is a particular highlight). To this day, "Shrek 2" is still one of the best films that animation has to offer, and if you've been ignoring the film, stop that now. "Shrek 2" was phenomenal in 2004, and it's still phenomenal to this day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesAug 16, 2014
While not as charming as its predecessor, "Shrek 2" is a pleasurable, well-written and rightly animated return to the franchise and it's sure to entertain the general audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Delaforce828Oct 13, 2014
A step forward, possibly better than the original with funnier gags, funnier characters, and a wonderful music number towards the end. It has a great villain, a decent premiss and has new obstacles for the characters to go through. Shrek 2 isA step forward, possibly better than the original with funnier gags, funnier characters, and a wonderful music number towards the end. It has a great villain, a decent premiss and has new obstacles for the characters to go through. Shrek 2 is incredibly funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SythusRATINGSOct 19, 2014
The fairy tale continues as everyone's favorite ogre faces his greatest challenge of all, Prince Charming and the Fairy Godmother as they try to take over Far Far Away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMasterLJul 20, 2015
Shrek 2 es una excelente secuela, no es tan perfecta como su primera parte, pero la historia es divertida, ofrece mas personajes y mas situaciones que tanto niños como adultos las disfrutaran. No es tan infantil como su primera parte, pero deShrek 2 es una excelente secuela, no es tan perfecta como su primera parte, pero la historia es divertida, ofrece mas personajes y mas situaciones que tanto niños como adultos las disfrutaran. No es tan infantil como su primera parte, pero de todas formas Shrek 2 es una gran secuela y una buena película. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
Shrek 2 is every bit as good as the original, and may even be slightly funnier in terms of the quantity and quality of its jokes. Despite being more rounded than its edgy predecessor, this is still a very intelligent offering, populated byShrek 2 is every bit as good as the original, and may even be slightly funnier in terms of the quantity and quality of its jokes. Despite being more rounded than its edgy predecessor, this is still a very intelligent offering, populated by interesting ideas and a host of compelling characters. In hindsight it's a shame that the series couldn't continue to progress in such a positive way after this installment, but Shrek 2 remains a sterling effort, both in this context and on its own terms. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
teddylukeApr 25, 2015
this movie is better then the 1st movie. the comedy is better then the 1st movie the charters is better then the 1st movie the story is better then the 1st movie is just so good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieManiac83Apr 25, 2015
A certain amount of credit must be given to the filmmaking team behind Shrek 2 for overcoming a seemingly insurmountable obstacle and producing an entertaining motion picture. That obstacle is the ending of the original Shrek, which neatlyA certain amount of credit must be given to the filmmaking team behind Shrek 2 for overcoming a seemingly insurmountable obstacle and producing an entertaining motion picture. That obstacle is the ending of the original Shrek, which neatly wrapped up every conceivable aspect of the story, leaving little room for a sequel. Originally, Shrek had been designed as a one-off movie, but, when it became a huge hit, Dreamworks decided that a second installment was warranted. However, with Shrek and Princess Fiona married and living happily ever after as ogres, some creative brainstorming had to be done to arrive at a sequel-worthy concept.

To be fair, Shrek 2 doesn't have much of a storyline. It's basically about the meeting between newlyweds Shrek (voice of Mike Myers) and Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) and the bride's parents, King Harold (John Cleese) and Queen Lillian (Juilie Andrews). To facilitate this encounter, Shrek, Fiona, and Donkey (Eddie Murphy) must travel to the kingdom of Far, Far Away. The grotesque appearance of the happy couple isn't to the liking of the ruling family or to studly Prince Charming (Rupert Everett), who wants Fiona for his wife. With a little help from his mom, the Fairy Godmother (Jennifer Saunders) and a killer cat named Puss 'n Boots (Antonio Banderas), Charming seeks to win Fiona away from Shrek.

The animation is on the same level as that of Shrek, which was, in its own time, groundbreaking. There haven't been many advances in computer animation since then, but Shrek 2 hasn't done any backsliding. The film looks as bright and imaginative as its predecessor. The non-humans are surprisingly life-like while the humans still retain the slightly awkward look of something designed on a computer. There are a lot of background jokes; I have a feeling that it will take multiple viewings to uncover some of the more subtle ones. As in the first film, it's clear that the Shrek animators had fun putting everything together.

With its appealing blend of animated comedy, romance, and adventure, Shrek 2 follows the formula of its predecessor while maintaining enough originality not to come across as a direct copy. Fans of the first movie will be pleased. Although Shrek 2 isn't as breezy as Shrek, it's a respectable effort and a solid example of family-friendly entertainment. The enjoyable animated romp lives up to expectations, which is more than can be said for any of its current big-budget multiplex competition.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LeDankMemerSep 6, 2015
>I was only 9 years old
>I loved Shrek so much, I had all the merchandise and movies
>I pray to Shrek every night before bed, thanking him for the life I've been given >"Shrek is love" I say; "Shrek is life" >My dad hears me and calls me
>I was only 9 years old
>I loved Shrek so much, I had all the merchandise and movies
>I pray to Shrek every night before bed, thanking him for the life I've been given
>"Shrek is love" I say; "Shrek is life"
>My dad hears me and calls me a ****
>I know he was just jealous of my devotion for Shrek
>I called him a ****
>He slaps me and sends me to go to sleep
>I'm crying now, and my face hurts
>I lay in bed and it's really cold
>Suddenly, a warmth is moving towards me
>It's Shrek
>I am so happy
He whispers into my ear "This is my swamp."
>He grabs me with his powerful ogre hands and puts me down onto my hands and knees
>I'm ready
>I spread my ass-cheeks for Shrek
>He penetrates my butt-hole
>It hurts so much but I do it for Shrek
>I can feel my butt tearing as my eyes start to water
>I push against his force
>I want to please Shrek
>He roars in a mighty roar as he fills my butt with his love
>My dad walks in
>Shrek looks him straight in the eyes and says "It's all ogre now."
>Shrek leaves through my window
>Shrek is love. Shrek is life.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
Comes the second movie Shrek that was very interesting as the first , plus it's really fun , especially the script, the action scenes and comedy that never fails in a table.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DanBurritoSep 12, 2015
This is the best in the franchise. Puss in Boots is my personal favourite character in the series along with Donkey and this movie is a rare sequel that surpasses the original. It sounds clichéd (romantic leads who just got married must meetThis is the best in the franchise. Puss in Boots is my personal favourite character in the series along with Donkey and this movie is a rare sequel that surpasses the original. It sounds clichéd (romantic leads who just got married must meet the wife's parents who are at odds with the husband) but it takes the concept and arguably becomes the best movie with that concept. This isn't just the best Shrek movie, it's the best Dreamworks movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CriticFerSep 23, 2016
Shrek 2 it's another great example for a good sequel. It really feels like a love and comedy story. The story is really funny, the animation is better, the characters are still great and the new ones are even better like the villains and theShrek 2 it's another great example for a good sequel. It really feels like a love and comedy story. The story is really funny, the animation is better, the characters are still great and the new ones are even better like the villains and the strongest and best part of this sequel is the comedy. Like the first one, i recommend this if you watched the first movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jollyjoe1000Dec 19, 2015
This is a good sequel. It was enjoyable.And the introduction of puss and boots awesoommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 3, 2016
Possibly the second animated sequel that's considered the best. (First is Toy Story 2 obviously...) It's just after this movie seems that they overstayed their good home to be ogre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DavidTejadaDec 28, 2016
It wasn't expected to see our favorite ogre on screen again. But it was as excellent as the first one, I would call it a children classic as the first one, the animation improved a hell, the emotions are just almost the same as theIt wasn't expected to see our favorite ogre on screen again. But it was as excellent as the first one, I would call it a children classic as the first one, the animation improved a hell, the emotions are just almost the same as the predecessor, sure I have to admit that it was one of the funniest animated movies I've ever seen. Shrek 2 will earn your feelings, and of course Banderas and Murphy too. What works here is not just the chemistry, also is the passion and the great development of everyone. Congratulations Dreamworks, this is another masterpiece (A-/9.1) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmMasterEdJan 5, 2016
Call me twisted, but it's hard not to feel crazy love for an animated movie that pictures Cinderella's stepsister as an aging gorgon who tends bar in a dump called the Poison Apple, offers tips on where to find a hit man and talks in a voiceCall me twisted, but it's hard not to feel crazy love for an animated movie that pictures Cinderella's stepsister as an aging gorgon who tends bar in a dump called the Poison Apple, offers tips on where to find a hit man and talks in a voice of pure Larry King gravel (King himself did the vocals). In Shrek 2, our hero — a newlywed ogre with a persistent flatulence problem — is in jeopardy from a king who wants him dead, a psycho fairy godmother and a wife who thinks he needs an extreme makeover. Shrek 2 brims with perverse pleasures that show no respect for the rules of kiddie-cartoon form, which is all to the good.

Since Pixar came up with Toy Story in 1995, film animation has regularly kicked the tired ass of live-action in terms of visual ingenuity and wit. Just watch Finding Nemo or Waking Life or The Triplets of Belleville or Hayao Miyazaki's Spirited Away. These groundbreakers have so raised the bar on art and attitude that the Academy devised a new category in 2001 to honor the year's Best Animated Feature. The first Oscar winner was Shrek, a swing-for-the-fences comedy from DreamWorks that managed to stick it to Disney characters dulled by too many years as theme-park attractions. Take the description of Snow White ("She lives with seven men, but she's not easy").

Shrek 2 is double the fun of the original: more magical and more technically assured. Co-director Andrew Adamson developed a story, based on the book by William Steig, that picks up the plot and flies off in new directions. Shrek, again voiced by Mike Myers using a Scottish brogue only slightly less thick than Fat Ba d's, has married Princess Fiona, voiced by Cameron Diaz. Their honeymoon references great moments of movie love, such as the upside-down kiss from Spider-Man. Myers and Diaz earned $10 million each for repeating their roles in the sequel. So did Eddie Murphy, who does the voice of Donkey, an ass in every sense of the word. They're all worth it, considering the laughs they generate.

Shrek and his bride are called to the kingdom of Far Far Away — a sendup of Beverly Hills, with stores such as Farbucks and Old Knavery — to meet Fiona's royal parents, royally voiced by John Cleese and Julie Andrews. Both are shocked that their daughter has married Shrek and turned full-time ogre herself; she was once uglified only at night, when dad would lock her in a tower. Now he conspires with Fairy Godmother, voiced by Ab Fab's Jennifer Saunders, to kill Shrek and move in her son Charming (Rupert Everett), a prince whose true love is his mirror.

The most hilarious new character is Puss in Boots, the feline assassin hired to kill Shrek. As voiced by Antonio Banderas in a parody of his swashbuckling Zorro role, Puss steals the movie. With his Spanish accent and bedroom eyes for man, woman and beast, Puss charms everyone except Donkey, who huffs that "the position of annoying talking animal is already taken. The plot is loaded with surprises too juicy to reveal, including how Donkey and Puss end up duetting to "Livin' La Vida Loca." Shrek 2 may be computer-generated, but its innate heart and glorious sense of mischief make it one of the best and most humane movies of the summer.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorMar 20, 2016
Shrek 2 is one of the too low great sequels ever. The story-telling continues perfectly with its predecessor, with even more fun, color, cool music and literally epic adventure than the original. Fans will love this inventive and romanticShrek 2 is one of the too low great sequels ever. The story-telling continues perfectly with its predecessor, with even more fun, color, cool music and literally epic adventure than the original. Fans will love this inventive and romantic film, with a gorgeous animation an a great plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
superbatJul 9, 2016
Though it loses the magic of its prequel, Shrek 2 is still and enjoyable movie. With the addition of Puss in Boots and the fairy godmother, Shrek once again provides us with funny jokes, but you come away from it feeling short changed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyDec 20, 2016
Shrek 2 I believe is actually even better than the original! It tells a really unique story that takes a somewhat dark and emotional turn for the series. It still accompanies great animation, casting, and voice acting all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ILOVECORY420Dec 21, 2016
EVEN BETTER THAN THE FIRST! There is no way you can dislike this new movie in the franchise. This anime movie has all the things the first one didn't. More characters, better story line, better voice acting, better animation and even theEVEN BETTER THAN THE FIRST! There is no way you can dislike this new movie in the franchise. This anime movie has all the things the first one didn't. More characters, better story line, better voice acting, better animation and even the ending is better. It blew me away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews