User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 375 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 375
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 19, 2015
    10
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love
    shrek is life
    shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love
    Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2015
    9
    this movie is better then the 1st movie. the comedy is better then the 1st movie the charters is better then the 1st movie the story is better then the 1st movie is just so good.
  3. Apr 25, 2015
    8
    A certain amount of credit must be given to the filmmaking team behind Shrek 2 for overcoming a seemingly insurmountable obstacle and producing an entertaining motion picture. That obstacle is the ending of the original Shrek, which neatly wrapped up every conceivable aspect of the story, leaving little room for a sequel. Originally, Shrek had been designed as a one-off movie, but, when itA certain amount of credit must be given to the filmmaking team behind Shrek 2 for overcoming a seemingly insurmountable obstacle and producing an entertaining motion picture. That obstacle is the ending of the original Shrek, which neatly wrapped up every conceivable aspect of the story, leaving little room for a sequel. Originally, Shrek had been designed as a one-off movie, but, when it became a huge hit, Dreamworks decided that a second installment was warranted. However, with Shrek and Princess Fiona married and living happily ever after as ogres, some creative brainstorming had to be done to arrive at a sequel-worthy concept.

    To be fair, Shrek 2 doesn't have much of a storyline. It's basically about the meeting between newlyweds Shrek (voice of Mike Myers) and Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) and the bride's parents, King Harold (John Cleese) and Queen Lillian (Juilie Andrews). To facilitate this encounter, Shrek, Fiona, and Donkey (Eddie Murphy) must travel to the kingdom of Far, Far Away. The grotesque appearance of the happy couple isn't to the liking of the ruling family or to studly Prince Charming (Rupert Everett), who wants Fiona for his wife. With a little help from his mom, the Fairy Godmother (Jennifer Saunders) and a killer cat named Puss 'n Boots (Antonio Banderas), Charming seeks to win Fiona away from Shrek.

    The animation is on the same level as that of Shrek, which was, in its own time, groundbreaking. There haven't been many advances in computer animation since then, but Shrek 2 hasn't done any backsliding. The film looks as bright and imaginative as its predecessor. The non-humans are surprisingly life-like while the humans still retain the slightly awkward look of something designed on a computer. There are a lot of background jokes; I have a feeling that it will take multiple viewings to uncover some of the more subtle ones. As in the first film, it's clear that the Shrek animators had fun putting everything together.

    With its appealing blend of animated comedy, romance, and adventure, Shrek 2 follows the formula of its predecessor while maintaining enough originality not to come across as a direct copy. Fans of the first movie will be pleased. Although Shrek 2 isn't as breezy as Shrek, it's a respectable effort and a solid example of family-friendly entertainment. The enjoyable animated romp lives up to expectations, which is more than can be said for any of its current big-budget multiplex competition.
    Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2015
    10
    This movie was just awesome! Even better than Shrek the first. The storyline was great. The new characters were good especially Puss in Boots. The voice acting was great. The animation is very good. Shrek 2 is the best Shrek film and I'd recommend it to anyone who has seen the first.
  5. Mar 11, 2015
    8
    Shrek 2 is every bit as good as the original, and may even be slightly funnier in terms of the quantity and quality of its jokes. Despite being more rounded than its edgy predecessor, this is still a very intelligent offering, populated by interesting ideas and a host of compelling characters. In hindsight it's a shame that the series couldn't continue to progress in such a positive wayShrek 2 is every bit as good as the original, and may even be slightly funnier in terms of the quantity and quality of its jokes. Despite being more rounded than its edgy predecessor, this is still a very intelligent offering, populated by interesting ideas and a host of compelling characters. In hindsight it's a shame that the series couldn't continue to progress in such a positive way after this installment, but Shrek 2 remains a sterling effort, both in this context and on its own terms. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    The fairy tale continues as everyone's favorite ogre faces his greatest challenge of all, Prince Charming and the Fairy Godmother as they try to take over Far Far Away.
  7. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    A step forward, possibly better than the original with funnier gags, funnier characters, and a wonderful music number towards the end. It has a great villain, a decent premiss and has new obstacles for the characters to go through. Shrek 2 is incredibly funny.
  8. Aug 17, 2014
    7
    "Shrek 2" is actually superior to the first film, even if most tend to underrate sequels to overrated films. Characters seem better developed and the story is more engaging. There is nothing new in terms of visuals or ideas, but the whole thing works better this time. A nice ending, in spite of some cliches and some cheesy musical numbers.
  9. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    While not as charming as its predecessor, "Shrek 2" is a pleasurable, well-written and rightly animated return to the franchise and it's sure to entertain the general audience.
  10. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    Another stale installment of the Shrek series with its plethora of fart jokes and bad Scottish accents. Nothing new. This series could've saved itself, at least a little bit,by not being a series at all and stopping at the first one.
  11. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    This movie more or less fixes everything that was wrong with the first movie and makes what worked even better. This is how a sequel should be.

    As before, fantastic performances by all the cast, including the newcomers. Story this time round feels fresh and finally gives the Shrek universe a sense of its own identity. Overall: There is nothing I can fault with this installment.
    This movie more or less fixes everything that was wrong with the first movie and makes what worked even better. This is how a sequel should be.

    As before, fantastic performances by all the cast, including the newcomers. Story this time round feels fresh and finally gives the Shrek universe a sense of its own identity.

    Overall:
    There is nothing I can fault with this installment. Shrek 2 is by far the best of the series and have set a really high standard that Dreamworks has rarely ever reached again.
    Expand
  12. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    A wonderful movie full of spirit. The plot is great as it continues to use satire on fairtytales. Very funny and the music is what makes it excellent. Action packed and sweet.
  13. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    dis movi is relly good cuz it is Shrek 2 and Shrek is the best cuz Shrek is the best shrek is love shrek is life i hate and are all dead to me is a noun in the English language. The word originated as a neutral term referring to black people, as a variation of the Spanish/Portuguese noun negro, a descendant of the Latin adjective niger.Often used slightingly, by the mid 20th century,dis movi is relly good cuz it is Shrek 2 and Shrek is the best cuz Shrek is the best shrek is love shrek is life i hate and are all dead to me is a noun in the English language. The word originated as a neutral term referring to black people, as a variation of the Spanish/Portuguese noun negro, a descendant of the Latin adjective niger.Often used slightingly, by the mid 20th century, particularly in the United States, it suggested that its target is extremely unsophisticated. Its usage had become unambiguously pejorative, a common ethnic slur usually directed at blacks of Sub-Saharan African descent. Expand
  14. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    dis movi is relly good cuz it is Shrek 2 and Shrek is the best cuz Shrek is the best shrek is love shrek is life i hate and are all dead to me is a noun in the English language. The word originated as a neutral term referring to black people, as a variation of the Spanish/Portuguese noun negro, a descendant of the Latin adjective niger ("color black").[1] Often used slightingly, by thedis movi is relly good cuz it is Shrek 2 and Shrek is the best cuz Shrek is the best shrek is love shrek is life i hate and are all dead to me is a noun in the English language. The word originated as a neutral term referring to black people, as a variation of the Spanish/Portuguese noun negro, a descendant of the Latin adjective niger ("color black").[1] Often used slightingly, by the mid 20th century, particularly in the United States, it suggested that its target is extremely unsophisticated. Its usage had become unambiguously pejorative, a common ethnic slur usually directed at blacks of Sub-Saharan African descent. Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    There's not many more words I can describe the film as being a simply well-meaning, satirical comedy with CGI as a twist to the whole story. The voices still add to the hilarity, and the dialogue is written neat enough for their to be some clever jokes.
  16. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    Shrek 2 is one of those rare sequels that works really well being just as good if not better than its predecessor. It has a great story that feels like a continuation of the first one and has some sharp writing, more geared towards adults than kids. The characters from the first one are back and are as likeable as before along with some new ones that are welcome additions to the cast. OnShrek 2 is one of those rare sequels that works really well being just as good if not better than its predecessor. It has a great story that feels like a continuation of the first one and has some sharp writing, more geared towards adults than kids. The characters from the first one are back and are as likeable as before along with some new ones that are welcome additions to the cast. On top of that you have some pretty funny jokes, moreso than in the previous film, that the adults will get moreso than the kids. Shrek 2 is a great sequel having everything the first one had and more making it an easy recommendation to fans of the first one along with people who were not even that big on the first one (like Doug Walker). Its films like this that make it clear why we all fell in love with Shrek in the first place. Expand
  17. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    In my opinion this movie slightly better than first Shrek. It still has the great humor that appeals to all ages but the fairy godmother makes for a better villain. Also the new characters make for a pretty good animated film.
  18. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    "Shrek 2" is just a hilarious comedy hit, and while it feels somewhat similar to its original, new characters do shine Puss in Boots as an example. It's formula to appeal to adults and children at the same time works, and while it may feel a tad too familiar to the first; it can still appeal to all ages.
  19. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    This is one of the rare occasions where the sequel to a movie surpasses the original. I found Shrek 2 to be even funnier than the original Shrek (which I also loved). If you liked the first Shrek movie you should also like this one. It is entertaining and follows a similar formula to the first one but is done even better.
  20. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Even more snarky than the first one, but with just as much heart and likability.
  21. May 25, 2012
    8
    This is better than the first Shrek because the story in this one is more interesting, the humor is more funnier (which is a little weird in the first), the graphics are better and the characters' voices are better. The first one is just good, but this sequel is great....
  22. May 19, 2012
    10
    How can you improve on a near-perfect animated film? Why, by making the sequel even closer to perfection of course. Andrew Adamson has fleshed out his wonderful comic fantasy universe that parodies both fairytale conventions and the modern world so ingeniously. Shrek (Mike Myers), Donkey (Eddie Murphy) and Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) remain engaging and easy to empathise with, and haveHow can you improve on a near-perfect animated film? Why, by making the sequel even closer to perfection of course. Andrew Adamson has fleshed out his wonderful comic fantasy universe that parodies both fairytale conventions and the modern world so ingeniously. Shrek (Mike Myers), Donkey (Eddie Murphy) and Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) remain engaging and easy to empathise with, and have all grown as characters, and face new life challenges as they travel to Far Far Away to meet Fiona's parents King Harold and Queen Lillian, voiced by the dream paring of John Cleese and Julie Andrews (which results in one of the funniest moments in the film - that fine romantic comedy staple of the awkward dinner with the in-laws). The cast is further fleshed out by Antonio Banderas as Puss in Boots, a suave, swashbuckling sword-for-hire with a deep sense of honour, but who isn't above exploiting his inherent cuteness. Jennifer Saunders makes a great villain as the Fairy Godmother, her performance an inspired mix of Michael Corleone and Oprah Winfrey, who seeks to secure the crowning of her spoilt, empty-headed son Prince Charming (Rupert Everett) and above all to maintain the status quo of traditional fairytales, of which Shrek living happily ever after with Princess Fiona is in complete defiance of. Shrek 2 is smarter, more bitingly satirical, even more visually splendiferous and far, far funnier than the first film. The jokes are wide ranging, from visual gags (my personal favourite being a shop in Far Far Away called Versarchery) to sitcom-style one-liners (Donkey proclaiming to Puss in Boots "I'm sorry but the position of annoying talking animal sidekick has already been taken) to the completely unexpected (after threatening King Harold, in her complete frustration at her schemes unraveling, the Fairy Godmother stops her flying carriage at a drive-thru to buy some comfort food) to the crude (the discovery that Pinocchio wears lady's underwear). At its core, Shrek 2 is the next chapter in a good old-fashioned love story. It adopts timeless themes of love, sacrifice and friendship and emphasises the importance of being true to yourself, no matter how life beats you down. Adamson presents these themes earnestly, and with great wit, and makes them affecting and relevant to a modern audience composed of both children and adults. The use of a tongue-in-cheek take on iconic fairytales, something we have all grown up with, makes the second chapter of Shrek's story recognisable but pleasingly fresh at the same time - everyone, no matter your age can take away something from this heartfelt animation extravaganza, and you'll likely have a smile on your face for hours after the credits, and Karaoke segment, roll. Shrek was a very special animated film. Shre 2, on the other hand, is truly one of the finest animated films of all time, and certainly DreamWorks Animation's most glorious achievement. Expand
  23. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Shrek 2 is fantastic. The movie was animated but has a mature feeling to it. The music is incredible and the ending has perfect editing and music. Much better than the first one and the first one wasn't bad.
  24. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    THIS ONE RIGHT HERE IS GREAT I LOVED THIS MOVIE AS WELL. GREAT PLOT AND LINES. THE action scenes are good. 10 out of 10 my favorite shrek movie. I like it !
  25. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    It's charm and extreme heart and originality make for an improvement on the amazing first film. It has to be one of the funniest animated movies made in a long time. I give this film 94%.
  26. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Shrek 2 is even better than the 1st Shrek. It is especially hilarious and it has a deeper, more open story than the 1st Shrek had. I especially liked the new character Puss in Boots.
  27. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    "Shrek 2" is a decent movie using the same formula from "Shrek". But hey, its still very funny and entertaining to watch.
  28. May 31, 2011
    10
    THIS ONE RIGHT HERE IS GREAT I LOVED THIS MOVIE AS WELL. GREAT PLOT AND LINES. THE action scenes are good. 10 out of 10 my favorite shrek movie.
  29. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    If not better -- Shrek 2 is certainly more innovative than the first film. Pros: Even more hilarious characters and dialog; rich visuals; probably more charming for the kiddies. Cons: A bit too pop culture referential.
  30. Feb 4, 2011
    7
    It's good. Not the best humour but it's worth a watch.
  31. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    like the first movie, this one also kicks a**!
  32. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    Just as good as the first one with gags and the odd emotional moment to keep you,and more importantly, the children interested for a few more than 1 view. The animation is even better and all the childrens (and the adults) favourite characters all return. This movie meant that the expectations were way too high for Shrek The Third, of course,it didn't quite live up to the hype.
  33. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    While I liked the first Shrek movie, I thought the movie was really overrated. This movie however, is the only Shrek movie I believe deserves a 10. Funnier jokes, Antonio Banderas as Puss in Boots, I actually love this movie!
  34. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    Sequel to the highly entertaining erm..Shrek.
    Funny in places but also quite annoying too. Really didn't like the Fairy Godmother character (Yes I know she's the baddie) but came across in parts as a bit smug & some of the gags were just lazy.
    The music tends to be badly recycled covers with the exception of Tom Waits & Nick Cave.
    So ok but not as good as the first.
  35. DaveH
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Although I'm not a fan of Shrek movies anymore, I'm disagreeing on the fact people saying it wasn't as good as the first one. This movie is way better than the first Shrek, more family friendly, had more characters, more beautiful locations and a lot of humor. I'm giving it a 10 because it gave me lots of laughs 5 years ago but not now, after all, the big three Although I'm not a fan of Shrek movies anymore, I'm disagreeing on the fact people saying it wasn't as good as the first one. This movie is way better than the first Shrek, more family friendly, had more characters, more beautiful locations and a lot of humor. I'm giving it a 10 because it gave me lots of laughs 5 years ago but not now, after all, the big three animated comedies (Shrek 2, Simpsons Movie, Ice Age Dawn of the Dinosaurs) dont have that much replayability as other cool films like Curse of the Black Pearl. Expand
  36. ClaudiaP
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    Just as funny, sweet and engaging as the first film starring the big galoot.
  37. JeremyE
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    ok seriously, what are these critics smoking??? this is sooo much funnier than the first one
  38. BryanM
    Oct 5, 2007
    9
    THis was the best Shrek out of the two. but still donkey is just anoying. i really liked the new character puss in boots. don't wast your time watching the third or the first onlice you can watch them for free.
  39. DeannaH
    Aug 4, 2007
    6
    i like this movie it had its funny parts, like when puss in boots came. But it wasn't the best movie ever.
  40. Ben
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    Probably my favourite movie. I liked it better than the first Shrek. Script and images more meaningful to an older audience than the previous film. Still a lot of fun for all the family.
  41. Marissa
    May 20, 2007
    9
    Simply wonderful! A few bad jokes and things like that, but all movies seem to have one or two of them in there.
  42. Sam
    May 18, 2007
    10
    Funny? Yes. Clever? Absolutley. Heartwarming? Could it be any other way? Shrek returns with the original brilliance that highlighted the original.
  43. Riren
    Mar 3, 2007
    6
    Blatantly sentimental where the original was clever, Shrek 2 is the sort of movie the original would have made fun of. The charm wears off quickly. There are some outrageously funny moments, but its more miss than hit, going for easy parody and satirical cliches.
  44. AlexF.
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Great :-D
  45. LilyO.
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    Though this film is not as ood as it's predecessor Shrek 2 is nearly there.
  46. LivesOfGilbertMulroneycakes
    Jan 26, 2006
    8
    Dammit I wanted this to be better. Not that it's bad, in fact it's damn good, but it just doesn't have...I dunno, the charm of the original. That one seemed like an impromptu student revue, this one seems like a calculated sequel. There's a faint but discernable corporate feel about it that just makes my skin crawl. But then I am a communist, so it's probably my Dammit I wanted this to be better. Not that it's bad, in fact it's damn good, but it just doesn't have...I dunno, the charm of the original. That one seemed like an impromptu student revue, this one seems like a calculated sequel. There's a faint but discernable corporate feel about it that just makes my skin crawl. But then I am a communist, so it's probably my own fault. To reiteratie: good movie. Puss in Boots is a wonderful creation, brilliantly played, and the rest of the cast rock bells. It's inferior to the original Shrek, but it's still good times. Expand
  47. [Anonymous]
    Jan 9, 2006
    4
    A bit funny, but the first one it's that good that leaves Shrek 2 in the dust.
  48. GeorgiaG.
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Shrek 2 is my most favourite film of all time. I watch it over and over again. I think that Shrek 2 is better than the first one!
  49. ExeT.
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    It's all GREAT!!!I love SHREK very mush!!!!
  50. VinnyA
    Aug 18, 2005
    1
    I bought this movie the day it came out on DVD having loved the first one and expecting it to at least do the first movie justice, if not surpass it. My wife and I sat in silence as we were treated to an hour and a half total trash. Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey was a far supirior sequal to this tripe. My daughter will never see this movie. Berp and fart jokes. transvestite humor. I bought this movie the day it came out on DVD having loved the first one and expecting it to at least do the first movie justice, if not surpass it. My wife and I sat in silence as we were treated to an hour and a half total trash. Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey was a far supirior sequal to this tripe. My daughter will never see this movie. Berp and fart jokes. transvestite humor. Overtly sexual refferances and foul language to boot. Not to mention down right boring! This awful movie gets a 1 instead of a 0 because of the cat. The cat was funny. The cat had five lines and maybe seven minutes of screen time. I sold this movie the next day. I just hope it doesn't affect how I feel about the first movie. It was that bad. Expand
  51. AnonymousMC
    Jun 12, 2005
    9
    A surprisingly potent sequel. Perfectly throws pies in the faces of LA and hollywood. Some jokes rely too much on other movies, meaning you'd have to watch quite a few films for some jokes to work.
  52. bobr.
    Apr 11, 2005
    9
    It was brilliant for me but it made all seven of my children cry p.s it took hours befor they went back to sleep.
  53. AlexS.
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    It was histaricle!!!
  54. tug
    Mar 13, 2005
    4
    Great animation, to be sure, but lame jokes and a weak story make this movie difficult to watch. o v e r r a t e d.
  55. EdM.
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    One of the best comodeys EVER!!
  56. kibbles&bits
    Jan 25, 2005
    9
    Pros: Each scene is super funny, cast is chosen really well and voices match the character, flawless setting cons: Not as original as the first shrek my thoughts:welcome to far, far away; next stop... funny (sorry, could not think of anything funny).
  57. dziewuliz
    Dec 5, 2004
    5
    Flawless animation, however screenplay was bad (stupid jokes etc.). In spite of this, i loved Puss and Donkey - I liked their appearances best... :)
  58. MartinL.
    Dec 4, 2004
    7
    Ok, not the best, but pretty good movie.
  59. AbbyH.
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    This film kept me laughing through the whole thing. Couldn't stop. I love how they took small parts from other films ans stuck them right in there. That was awesome. I think Shrek 2 is much better and funnier then the first, however, the first was funny too. I saw it when it first came out on DVD and Video. My brother Ryan's friend Feege came over and after they were done he let This film kept me laughing through the whole thing. Couldn't stop. I love how they took small parts from other films ans stuck them right in there. That was awesome. I think Shrek 2 is much better and funnier then the first, however, the first was funny too. I saw it when it first came out on DVD and Video. My brother Ryan's friend Feege came over and after they were done he let me barrow it. And of course my little sister Mazzie got in the way and I had to watch it again because I missed hundreds of parts. Anyways, this movie is on my top 10 list. Expand
  60. IlzeS
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    Wow! Shrek 2 is superrr, great movie! Recommend for kids and for parents too. Especially I liked the song ?I need a hero? and ?Changes?. Really good music and jokes are great! Will be expecting next movie! And? watched it 5 times.
  61. BrandonE.
    Nov 7, 2004
    9
    Really funny movie, not as good as the first, but still very good.
  62. AlejandroD.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    This is one of the funniets and best movies that have come recently. Thos who think the first one was better, didn't understand what the story was trying to say. This is about how things really are after marriage. It's not happily ever after as most of the fairy tales say. I know most people nowadays have more understanding of the family and marriage, but the point is to make This is one of the funniets and best movies that have come recently. Thos who think the first one was better, didn't understand what the story was trying to say. This is about how things really are after marriage. It's not happily ever after as most of the fairy tales say. I know most people nowadays have more understanding of the family and marriage, but the point is to make fun of all those things people sometimes wish for in their lives. Expand
  63. MichaelM.
    Oct 22, 2004
    8
    Even though it's one of the better animated films made, it doesn't match up to it's original. I think the biggest mistake of this is the Puss in Boots character. Most critics and audiences alike found him cute and funny, I just found him annoying and distracting from the story. But maybe that's just because I have kind of a grudge against Antonio Banderas (who voices Even though it's one of the better animated films made, it doesn't match up to it's original. I think the biggest mistake of this is the Puss in Boots character. Most critics and audiences alike found him cute and funny, I just found him annoying and distracting from the story. But maybe that's just because I have kind of a grudge against Antonio Banderas (who voices Puss in Boots) anyway. Mike Myers and Eddie Murphy shine in the film too, and John Cleese is hysterical as Cameron Diaz's father. Expand
  64. DaveC.
    Oct 17, 2004
    6
    The genuine emotion and snappy pacing of the original film is nowhere to be seen here. There are some hilarious gags but they are much morw few and far inbetween than in the first film. A lot of the great one liners and hilarious pop culture and fairytale send ups of the original have been replaced with unfunny sight gags and fart jokes. The only improvement that seems to have been made The genuine emotion and snappy pacing of the original film is nowhere to be seen here. There are some hilarious gags but they are much morw few and far inbetween than in the first film. A lot of the great one liners and hilarious pop culture and fairytale send ups of the original have been replaced with unfunny sight gags and fart jokes. The only improvement that seems to have been made over the original is in the animation which is indeed very pretty, but the story meanders and has no idea where to go with its "don't be ashamed of who you are sentiments" shoddily recycled from the first film with a much heavier dose of formulaic melodrama than before. Expand
  65. ErinG
    Oct 5, 2004
    6
    Not as good as the first one.
  66. SamH.
    Sep 25, 2004
    10
    A good movie, a really good one.
  67. KevinH.
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    It was cool.
  68. EfeB.
    Sep 2, 2004
    6
    Yeah, it was fun. but what different does it make...mrek, shreck,treck,wreck?...hell, make another ugly monster and paint him red instead of green and call him freck. animation should reach the next level allready...sequels to animations reek of money and burger king toys. like always, the first one was better.
  69. Sungus
    Aug 31, 2004
    9
    Very entertaining. A continuation of the first one basically, and with little dropoff in laughter. The jokes again were clever and had multiple facets, which helps to make the money enjoyable by most age groups. Definitely recommend this one.
  70. CharlotteM.
    Aug 29, 2004
    10
    It was wicked.
  71. CaitlinH.
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    I think it was MUCH BETTER than the first one because of Puss in Boots and Donkey being even more laughable. I LOVE SHREK 2.
  72. BradleyC.
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    Shrek 2 was the best ever fairy tale movie that i have ever seen. It was alot better than he first one. The characters where excellent with the voice of Antonio banderas who played the voice of Puss IN Boots which in fact is my favourite character. But all the characters where excellent with the voice of Mike Myer, Eddie Murphy, Cameron Diaz, Antonio Banderas, Julie Andrews, John Cleese Shrek 2 was the best ever fairy tale movie that i have ever seen. It was alot better than he first one. The characters where excellent with the voice of Antonio banderas who played the voice of Puss IN Boots which in fact is my favourite character. But all the characters where excellent with the voice of Mike Myer, Eddie Murphy, Cameron Diaz, Antonio Banderas, Julie Andrews, John Cleese and Jennifer Saunder and Rupert Everett. Expand
  73. HarrisonB.
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    Shrek 2 was the best fairy tale movie I've ever seen! It was absolutely the only fairy tale that has romance, humor, and action. Puss in Boots was the most hilarious in the movie. I loved Mike Myers, John Cleese, Antonio Banderas, Edie Murphy, and even Cameron Diaz. I've seen it 3 times because I loved it. Great. Great. Great. Great. Great.
  74. Churi
    Jul 28, 2004
    10
    A magical movie!!, enchanting and funny, what more do you need!!!
  75. GailD.
    Jul 21, 2004
    9
    I thought this was a very great movie, my kids loved it, and I got a good laugh. Its entertaining, and hilarious at points. I encourange it to anyone. I can't wait till Shrek 3!
  76. DanielleB
    Jul 18, 2004
    9
    I actually found this movie better than the first. Puss & Boots was the cutest!
  77. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Jul 17, 2004
    10
    Only a little better than the first great animation, wonderful humor, small bit of action, great music, and most of all PUSS IN BOOTS! He is basically Zorro gone kitty voiced by the same guy who did Zorro (I think)!
  78. DamianP.
    Jul 9, 2004
    5
    There were about 4 good laughs (mostly from Puss-In-Boots) and the rest was pretty boring. Mike Myers didn't sound like he was trying to be funny. The first Shrek was 10/10, but this fell way short. Advice for the next one - get rid of the songs, put in more jokes (especially from the villans) and try to get the voices to sounds the same as they did in the first movie.
  79. ChadS.
    Jul 8, 2004
    8
    Oh, no! The first few bars of piano, so familiar, it can't be. Memo to myself: Forgive Liz Phair. Selling out is all relative. "That's Nick Cave! Wasn't he in "Wings of Desire"? Am I hearing things?" This is pretty close to verbatim, my interior voice, not understanding how Cave could give permission to use "People Ain't No Good" for an admittedly entertaining, but Oh, no! The first few bars of piano, so familiar, it can't be. Memo to myself: Forgive Liz Phair. Selling out is all relative. "That's Nick Cave! Wasn't he in "Wings of Desire"? Am I hearing things?" This is pretty close to verbatim, my interior voice, not understanding how Cave could give permission to use "People Ain't No Good" for an admittedly entertaining, but shallow enterprise like "Shrek 2". Admittedly, it's used to good effect, but once upon a time, an artist of some stature like Cave, or Bruce Springsteen, would never be so frivolous with their music because there used to be a thing called artistic credibility. Springsteen, famously, in 1985, wouldn't allow Peter Bogdanovich to use his songs for "Mask". Shrek is a computer generated ogre. Ryan White was a boy with AIDS. "The times they are a-changin'." Bob Dylan, for Victoria's Secret? As for the actual movie, there isn't any emanations of cynical laughter from the audience like in "Fahrenheit 9/11", or inexplicable laughter like in "White Chicks". "Shrek 2" is very good-natured and solid entertainment for everybody. At times, it's side-splittingly funny. A more interesting ending, however, would've been if Fiona couldn't be green again, so she'd have to decide if a mixed-marriage could work. After the barrage of Eddie Murphy toss-offs (all funny, some jaw-droppingly obscure, I had to Google one reference) and post-modernity threatening to upstage the story, this sort of emotional pay-off would've given "Shrek 2" some much-needed levity. Expand
  80. JoffyB.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    This is one of my fav alltime movies. Really funny, I loved it.
  81. DaveB.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    I loved this movie! Good to the very last drop!
  82. KelR.
    Jul 4, 2004
    9
    I went and saw this movie without having seen the 1st Shrek, but I didn't have to because this second installment is halarious enough to stand on it's own. Before the movie I thought it would probably be just for children but how wrong I was, the jokes and satire have alot of adult undertone that children won't catch onto. Bottom line, it's good clean fun, and I loved it.
  83. LaurS.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    Absolutely fantastic movie. The best ever kids film! this star studded film has surely got to win an oscar!! It is full of child and adult humor romance and farting!!!
  84. O.W.
    Jul 1, 2004
    9
    It was a great movie. it was full of great humor, and I thought it was one of the best movies of the year.
  85. KekiA.
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    Just as great as the first!
  86. TylerC.
    Jun 26, 2004
    7
    Not as good as the first one but it did have a lot more funny moments than the first movie did. The first one just had a lot more plot development and this one had more laughs.
  87. SamR.
    Jun 25, 2004
    5
    I didn't care for this sequel, even though I loved the original. (And bought it!) After a nice begining montage, Mr. & Mrs. Shriek open their mouths and out comes 15 minutes of exposition that would bore the pants off the Brady Bunch! After all the hoop-la, I think Puss-In-Boots would be funnier without the unintelligible accent of Mr. Baderas, and what kind of movie gives the I didn't care for this sequel, even though I loved the original. (And bought it!) After a nice begining montage, Mr. & Mrs. Shriek open their mouths and out comes 15 minutes of exposition that would bore the pants off the Brady Bunch! After all the hoop-la, I think Puss-In-Boots would be funnier without the unintelligible accent of Mr. Baderas, and what kind of movie gives the villain a better song than the hero! This wasn't a sequel as much as a self-conscious copy of an original. Some funny moments, yes, but not enough to pay retail. Expand
  88. BenN.
    Jun 21, 2004
    10
    I thought it as exelent and i could watch it over and over again.
  89. LeighM.
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    Great Movie
  90. AlexF.
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    Great :-D
  91. AdamR.
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    I think that puss in boots is a cheeky little munky but donkey is now a stallion and is still as funny.
  92. Uter
    Jun 17, 2004
    9
    The overall story wasn't as great as the 1st one, but they packed more laughs in here. So overall it's as great as the 1st one.
  93. C.D.
    Jun 16, 2004
    10
    This film lives up to its name! I love the new characters (especially Puss in Boots) and the animation is brilliant! Entertaining the whole way through. I've seen it 2 times and I know I'm going to get it for DVD.
  94. GordoA.
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    Just as bright, beautiful and funny than the first film. Shrek is going to become a classic.
  95. MarcW.
    Jun 10, 2004
    8
    Great fun. Just entertaining from start to end.
  96. Lil'yoF.
    Jun 9, 2004
    5
    It was ok i did love it though.
  97. Patrick
    Jun 8, 2004
    6
    Not anywhere near as strong as the first one. While the animation has improved the threefold and the jokes are witty as ever, the narrative falls into sequel hell with a villain so ridiculous that it makes the disney movies it satire look brilliant. Still, a lot of fun.
  98. DanC.
    Jun 8, 2004
    5
    This is good if you like simple humor.
  99. LacieS.
    Jun 7, 2004
    9
    IT WAS HILARIOUS! Any one can enjoy this movie from little ones to old men. Come on "it's a thong" scene is unforgettable like the rest of the moive.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Its cleverness and its good heart enable it to overcome a slow start, which is how all good fairy tales end.
  2. 88
    So gorgeously animated and so thoroughly entertaining for all ages that only an ogre would complain it's not quite as fresh as the original.
  3. Some of the buckshot hits its target: Shrek's second sidekick, assassin-turned-comrade Puss in Boots, is voiced by Antonio Banderas as an outrageously mock-dramatic Spaniard with most of the pig-pile screenplay's best toss-offs.