User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 170

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    "Shrek Forever After" has permanently changed a funny, pure franchise into a greedy one craving for money. Nice work, Dreamworks...
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    2
    If your clever enough to make sequels of a film youll now that repeating the same storyline of a film will drastically change the critic and users reviews but not that case with this film it was way overrated. what really pissed me off was that this film was so bad not just because the story line repeated itself but because it itself was not prepared long enough and not thought through enough i wasted my money and was fuming with rage when i left the cinema plesase do not watch Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    The jokes at this point are forced and feel very plastic. The dialogue doesn't flow as it did in the first film.
  4. Dec 7, 2010
    2
    Shrek Forever After is nothing like Happily Ever After for SUCKING! The story is completely mess,it has the same story,same issues,same plot holes,nothing make sense,the only difference is the new plot is about the evil Rumpelstiltskin wants Shrek to took away everything and wants to rule the kingdom and it doesn't reveal anything from the forth one,they shouldn't been done since the last third one. THAT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE,WHY DID THEY SCREW UP EVERYTHING! The Rumpelstiltskin character is completely useless and he doesn't look like that I've just saw. Why does Shrek has to come back that way he is? I just don't het it? The scenes are just nothing like that and screws up everything even more. I just one another Shrek film could be next step or should be over right now,but NO they just want Shrek to screw up the franchise. So that's that,Shrek film is done and they said that they will make another Shrek film and I just thought that I will say that Shrek needs to retire the franchise and I feel that Shrek needs a break. Expand
  5. May 26, 2012
    0
    A horrible ending to a downhill series of Shrek movies. The film is not funny anymore unlike the previous movies. The whole story just pissed me off. I gave a 1, not a 0, because of its graphics. But still, it's definitely a terribly bad movie..............
  6. Jun 21, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here is my question for Dreamworks..Why the hell did you make this movie? I mean seriously they could have just ended this great franchise at Shrek The Third. In my opinion I didn't think this film was necessary at all, it just told a random story. There were very little laughs and I felt like Shrek was the only character in the movie and the other ones didn't matter much. This movie was a complete bore and had little to no exciting parts whatsoever. Although I give Mike Myers a thumbs up on his usual good performance on Shrek, the other characters fell flat. The plot was really cookie cutter and has been used in many movies before. The villain (Rumplestilskin) was not a very good one and he was also featured in Shrek The Third, but looked different so why would they have to remake him instead. Oh yeah and I though in the third Shrek all the villains stopped fighting and chased their own dreams? I guess Dreamworks forgot about that. Overall this movie was pretty horrendous one this movie spit in the face of Shrek and tainted a great franchise.
    Overall: 4.5/10
    Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2013
    4
    I really tried liking this third sequel to the wonderful "Shrek" film, but overall left nothing to enjoy, and little to impress. "Shrek Forever After" deals with its tough issues of trying to challenge itself to bring any new concepts, but failing miserably. The film has of course the issues of large amounts of pop culture references, which are so overly done and feels just like a slight tweak from its past films. The story has little to no depth, and feels as if they tried influencing the elements from its past films into this third sequel, which in no means was successful. By adding similar elements from its past films, "Shrek Forever After" feels too familiar, and loses the charm and wit from the first two films by trying to add them in the fourth. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reveals a definite been-there, done-that feeling.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    50
    The reputed swan song for the series and its first entry in 3D, pic contains a respectable number of laughs, but also borrows its storyline from the oft-recycled "It's a Wonderful Life," and if that's all its creators can do, it's best to put Far Far Away far far away.
  3. Hilarious and heartfelt from start to finish, this is the best Shrek of them all, and that's no fairy tale.