Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 21, 2010
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 267 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
141
Mixed:
93
Negative:
33
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
YellowKirbyNov 30, 2015
One of the reasons this was so good was because it was so much better than the disastrous Shrek 3. Obviously, it's not as good as the series' first two entries, but, unlike it's predecessor, Shrek Forever After manages to retain the fun andOne of the reasons this was so good was because it was so much better than the disastrous Shrek 3. Obviously, it's not as good as the series' first two entries, but, unlike it's predecessor, Shrek Forever After manages to retain the fun and wit of 1 and 2. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
batsAug 12, 2010
This installment, the best after Shrek 2, is everything, especially the Shrek-Donkey relationship is exceptional.
A worthy and delirious final chapter to this animation franchise.Wish there would be more in future- will be truely missed!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Feb 12, 2011
While not good as Shrek 2, I really enjoyed this Shrek, even more than the first one. I really am glad they got rid of the Arthur character, since he was the weak point of Shrek 3.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelDAug 6, 2011
I watched this with my family and we all thought this movie was great. The funniest of all the Shrek movies and I genuinely enjoyed this movie. Good way to end a memorable series.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 21, 2011
It wasn't as good of a finale as I hoped from Shrek, but it definitely showed us again why we loved Shrek so much by bringing back the heart and most of the charm and some great 3D and animation. I give this movie 80%.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 11, 2012
While not good as Shrek 2, I really enjoyed this Shrek, even more than the first one. I really am glad they got rid of the Arthur character, since he was the weak point of Shrek 3.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
pedronotfoundMay 19, 2015
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
AlanH.May 23, 2010
This is a real breath of fresh air. Gone are the oh-so-hip jokes, the pointless pop culture references and double-meanings aimed at adults. In their place is a pleasing fable of love, family and the compromises we all make. The second act This is a real breath of fresh air. Gone are the oh-so-hip jokes, the pointless pop culture references and double-meanings aimed at adults. In their place is a pleasing fable of love, family and the compromises we all make. The second act sags slightly, but overall this movie is a worthy sequel to the first one and almost makes me forget the wretched #2 and #3. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BikerjamesFeb 23, 2011
Although I love animation, I've never been a fan of the Shrek franchise. This movie took me by surprise. The first Shrek movie was good (not great) thanks to Eddie Murphy, but Shrek 2 was awful. I never saw the 3rd installment. I've neverAlthough I love animation, I've never been a fan of the Shrek franchise. This movie took me by surprise. The first Shrek movie was good (not great) thanks to Eddie Murphy, but Shrek 2 was awful. I never saw the 3rd installment. I've never liked the weird Irish accent for Shrek that Mike Myers provides. It doesn't fit for me and I find it distracting. Why is he Irish when nobody else is? My friend talked me into going to see this one and it turned out to be a good animated movie - maybe even the best of the Shrek movies. The script is WAY better than Shrek 2 and had some good laughs and good animation and it held my attention the entire way. The 3D was good, not great, and probably not worth the extra cost, as 3D mutes the colors due to the dark glasses. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMar 8, 2011
While it's not the best in this series it's a great way to say goodbye, some fans may be disappointed with the more serious story and the lack of humor (don't worry it's still got jokes just not as many) but I was surprisingly impressed, aWhile it's not the best in this series it's a great way to say goodbye, some fans may be disappointed with the more serious story and the lack of humor (don't worry it's still got jokes just not as many) but I was surprisingly impressed, a good farewell to this series. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ManuelAvilaMay 21, 2010
Nice way to say goodbye. Beside Donkey and Puss' jokes, the story line was simple and straight. Don't waste money watching the movie in 3-D... it's not worth it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanCMay 22, 2010
Thought the movie was hilarious, me and my family all went and saw it tonight and laughed so hard a bunch of times! I recommend this to any Shrek fan or family movie fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
aabender002Aug 11, 2010
It's not as clever as the first two installments in the franchise, but this newest Shrek doesn't feel like is was cranked out as fast as possible for a quick buck. It's witty and well-written.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JudddyOct 4, 2010
A lot of the pop culture references are gone, and much of the charm in the world of Far Far Away. However you do not always need charm to make a good film. There is much more emotion (crying and yelling) in this film, and less comedy, but theA lot of the pop culture references are gone, and much of the charm in the world of Far Far Away. However you do not always need charm to make a good film. There is much more emotion (crying and yelling) in this film, and less comedy, but the strong moral message that is the heart of this film glows warmly, and so even if it can't produce the thrills of both 'Shrek' and 'Shrek 2', it is still a huge improvement on 'Shrek 3', and provides an emotionally satisfying and enjoyable conclusion to what is a classic animated series. I am glad that it finished on a good note, despite my low expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AaronMOct 11, 2010
Shrek 4 was awesome! Definitely one of the most satisfying movies of the summer so far. Enjoyed it from beginning to end. And if it is the last Shrek movie, it serves the series proud. I'd proudly own Shrek and Shrek 4.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Oct 28, 2010
wasn't as good as the previous three movies, but its a perfect way to end one of the greatest animated trilogys of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
La2n1cEDec 5, 2010
One of the best animation movie !!! A little bit complicated to understand for kids,but it's a great entertainment ! I had a very great time to watch it with my kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aryanruleFeb 18, 2011
Hm, nice movie, great animation and stunning sound. A bit slow for the moments but overall experience is pretty cool. So it was pleasure watching it though i hope this is the last part. Enough is enough:)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DukeJonAug 27, 2013
After the "by the numbers" Shrek 2 and abysmal Shrek 3 I was really surprised by how good this film was. The writers were much braver with the plot and it really pays off with a strong villain and great cast. The "alternative Fiona" inAfter the "by the numbers" Shrek 2 and abysmal Shrek 3 I was really surprised by how good this film was. The writers were much braver with the plot and it really pays off with a strong villain and great cast. The "alternative Fiona" in particular is a much more interesting character than her boring dowdy counterpart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HonestOmi08Apr 13, 2012
I think making four shrek films was too much, they should have left it at 3 at the most. After 3 films of meeting, falling in love, giving birth, baby troubles and parties, all viewers don't need another movie of more baby troubles andI think making four shrek films was too much, they should have left it at 3 at the most. After 3 films of meeting, falling in love, giving birth, baby troubles and parties, all viewers don't need another movie of more baby troubles and falling in love. What was the point of this movie? oh, I know! MONEY!! The makers were being greedy, thinking after two great movies and one o.k movie they could still drag another money making film out into cinemas. Bad decision, not a bad movie, but not a good one either! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NecromusJan 3, 2013
Shrek, Shrek 2 and Shrek 3 were great. However, Shrek Forever after is starting to show franchise burnout. I don't blame them for making more movies after the first three highly successful ones, but this latest one was just not as funny asShrek, Shrek 2 and Shrek 3 were great. However, Shrek Forever after is starting to show franchise burnout. I don't blame them for making more movies after the first three highly successful ones, but this latest one was just not as funny as the others. Its hard to make multiple movies over a single good idea I think. Shrek Forever After was not a bad movie at all, but it just wasn't as funny as the first two, it was just mediocre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FreedomFightersNov 24, 2016
Let's face it: the "Shrek" franchise has jumped the shark. After two fantastic entries, the third film was less-than-stellar, losing the charm that made its predecessors so amazing. Now, the fourth one trots along (to the chagrin of someLet's face it: the "Shrek" franchise has jumped the shark. After two fantastic entries, the third film was less-than-stellar, losing the charm that made its predecessors so amazing. Now, the fourth one trots along (to the chagrin of some filmgoers) and touts itself as the "final" film in the series (though, of course, the recent announcement from DreamWorks that "Shrek 5" is being developed and planned for release in 2019/2020 renders that point essentially moot). How does the series end off? Well, pretty well, all things considered. Let's get it out of the way now: "Shrek Forever After" definitely feels like a retread. It's not the most original story in the world, and that might contribute to the notion that the franchise has lost its way. That said, it's still wonderfully animated, considerably charming and humorous, and it features some great, entertaining characters, ranging from great returning characters to exciting new characters (such as Rumpelstiltskin). Sure, the "Shrek" franchise may have lost its way, and it's no longer the animated juggernaut that it was in the early 2000's, but overall, "Shrek Forever After" is a considerably entertaining romp that the whole family can enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
f3l1p3Oct 4, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. E se encerra a franquia Shrek,que deixa saudades. Termina muito bem,com um bom desfecho,mas não tem tanto gás,e isso atrapalha um pouquinho. Shrek aprende a lição de sempre amar as pessoas ao seu redor,e assim termina dignamente. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Alan_britooMar 2, 2015
So underrated. Maybe its only me, but I liked this one more than any other in the series, and i cant see any better way to end the series than this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoSep 19, 2015
After the brilliant first instalment, the even better second instalment and the good but disappointing third instalment, Shrek is back for a good movie that's better than the third one but not as good as the first two. This time, Shrek has toAfter the brilliant first instalment, the even better second instalment and the good but disappointing third instalment, Shrek is back for a good movie that's better than the third one but not as good as the first two. This time, Shrek has to get his life back when Rumpelstiltskin (the best villain in the series) tricks him into giving up the day he was born. The only way to do this is by sharing true love's kiss with Fiona but since she no longer recognises him, he has to make her fall in love with him again. I enjoyed the movie very much. It was funny to see how fat Puss has become without Shrek. He's still the best character! I enjoyed the movie very much, not as good as 1 and 2 but pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CriticFerSep 23, 2016
Shrek Forever After may not being great as the first two Shrek movies, but i better that Shrek the Third. The characters are funny, the story is okay, the animation is nice, the comedy is good but what i really like the most is the drama andShrek Forever After may not being great as the first two Shrek movies, but i better that Shrek the Third. The characters are funny, the story is okay, the animation is nice, the comedy is good but what i really like the most is the drama and the emotional scenes. In this movie, you really feels bad for Shrek for lost all his friends and family that he has. Even that the message is too simple, it doesn't change the fact that it still being a good movie. Is not perfect but it doesn't need to be. I'm glad that the writers really follow the continuity of the first movie, and this defiantly is a check this out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DavidTejadaNov 8, 2016
Shrek Forever After showed me one thing that I taught extincted in movies. To appreciate the little things in life, for once I take a look at them and say they were big things. After a terrible predecessor, Shrek and his friends delighted oneShrek Forever After showed me one thing that I taught extincted in movies. To appreciate the little things in life, for once I take a look at them and say they were big things. After a terrible predecessor, Shrek and his friends delighted one last time in theaters. And I think this movie was such a memorable work from Dreamworks. If Toy Story 3 and How to Train Your Dragon hadn't released in 2010. This would have been the best animated movie of 2010. Nowadays movies should be like this, as touching, clever, hilarious and with heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FuturedirectorMar 12, 2016
Shrek forever after is maybe the worst film of the Shrek saga, because of it's not-much-color, unremarkable characters and some kind of dull story-telling. But it's a bit funny, sweet plot and unpredictable story. Shrek's back anyway.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MasterRileyDec 20, 2016
Shrek Forever After improved upon the third, but still doesn't reach the same level of quality as the first two. The story this time around is more intriguing, taking on a very dark tone that is cool to see but doesn't live up to iconic valueShrek Forever After improved upon the third, but still doesn't reach the same level of quality as the first two. The story this time around is more intriguing, taking on a very dark tone that is cool to see but doesn't live up to iconic value of the first two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews