Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Shrek is feeling over-domesticated in the fourth installment. He has lost his roar. It used to send villagers running away in terror. Now they run to him and ask him to sign their pitchforks and torches. To regain his ogre mojo, he strikes a deal with Rumpelstiltskin. The pact goes awry and Shrek must confront what life would be like in Far Far Away if he had never existed. That translates into Donkey being forced into cart-pulling duty, fat and lazy Puss in Boots trading his sword for a pink bow and the underhanded Rumpelstiltskin ruling the kingdom. (Dreamworks Animation) Expand
  • Director: Mike Mitchell
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Fantasy, Comedy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 93 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Hilarious and heartfelt from start to finish, this is the best Shrek of them all, and that's no fairy tale.
  2. This is - allegedly - the final chapter in the series, and everyone involved appears invigorated.
  3. Believe it or not, there's life in the old boy yet. After a disappointing third outing, this "Shrek" brings the cycle of fairy-tale-themed films to a fine finish.
  4. Reveals a definite been-there, done-that feeling.
  5. 50
    Forever After still goes down like warmed-over porridge. You don’t have to be Goldilocks to think that this time they’ve cooked their Golden Goose.
  6. 25
    Tired? This series is as exhausted as Shrek after a day of baby wrangling and diaper changing.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    While not good as Shrek 2, I really enjoyed this Shrek, even more than the first one. I really am glad they got rid of the Arthur character, since he was the weak point of Shrek 3. Expand
  2. DanC
    May 22, 2010
    9
    Thought the movie was hilarious, me and my family all went and saw it tonight and laughed so hard a bunch of times! I recommend this to any Shrek fan or family movie fan. Expand
  3. ManuelAvila
    May 21, 2010
    7
    Nice way to say goodbye. Beside Donkey and Puss' jokes, the story line was simple and straight. Don't waste money watching the movie in 3-D... it's not worth it! Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2013
    7
    Esta pelicula me gusto, aunque no la haya visto con el humor de sus predecesoras igual me gusto.Lo bueno de la pelicula es su comedia, lo malo de la pelicula es que la comedia es tibia. Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2010
    6
    "In my opinion this latest and hopefully FINAL! chapter it gets boring , and unfunny , its hardly worth anyone's time , the character we all know and love , has well lost its charm , but i love seeing all the characters back , and for that i say Rent It" .. C+ Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2011
    5
    What reason do you go to see Shrek? For me, I expect cheerful atmospheres all around, That simple. In thiz fourth installment of Shrek, everything becomes darker and gloomy. I think the key that made Shrek franchise succesfull all the time is Andrew Adamson. Adamson is The Director of two early ones, SHREK (2001) and SHREK 2 (2004). And he also contributes writing credit in SHREK THE THIRD (2007). Thiz time to continue thiz three years occasion without his involvement, Shrek was into nightmare. The directing was handed to Mike Mitchell. Mitchell known as Director of DEUCE BIGALOW: MALE GIGOLO (1999) and SKY HIGH (2005), which are not animation. The story tries to reset everything from the beginning. It tells Shrek (Mike Myers) travels to the past and faces the new alternate universe, which Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) is a warrior, Puss in Boots (Antonio Banderas) now is a fat lazy cat, and Donkey (Eddie Murphy) does not even know Shrek. All happened bcoz of Bad intentions from new villain named Rumpelstiltskin (Walt Dohrn) who wanted to rule Far Far Away Kingdom. Thiz character has not developed well. The funny scene was only when he eventually changed his silly wig. It was not comparable to Lord Farquaad character in the first one. I think all of movie critics will hardly appraise thiz sequel as a good one. If we see Shrek series in overall, it was already downhill since the first. The first Shrek was amazingly great, the second one was still impressive, and we thought SHREK THE THIRD was a real forever after. Thiz one, I described it as no-need extension. However, Shrek movies always fill with joyful soundtracks. If only they have fresh ideas for thiz franchise to continue, but if do not, just left behind thiz franchise for a while. They did not realize, they might have been killing thiz franchise forever after. One thing for sure, thiz one is really a Cat-tastrophe and ri-Donkey-lous.


    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE on : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  7. May 26, 2012
    0
    A horrible ending to a downhill series of Shrek movies. The film is not funny anymore unlike the previous movies. The whole story just pissed me off. I gave a 1, not a 0, because of its graphics. But still, it's definitely a terribly bad movie.............. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?