Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Shrek is feeling over-domesticated in the fourth installment. He has lost his roar. It used to send villagers running away in terror. Now they run to him and ask him to sign their pitchforks and torches. To regain his ogre mojo, he strikes a deal with Rumpelstiltskin. The pact goes awry andShrek is feeling over-domesticated in the fourth installment. He has lost his roar. It used to send villagers running away in terror. Now they run to him and ask him to sign their pitchforks and torches. To regain his ogre mojo, he strikes a deal with Rumpelstiltskin. The pact goes awry and Shrek must confront what life would be like in Far Far Away if he had never existed. That translates into Donkey being forced into cart-pulling duty, fat and lazy Puss in Boots trading his sword for a pink bow and the underhanded Rumpelstiltskin ruling the kingdom. (Dreamworks Animation) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Hilarious and heartfelt from start to finish, this is the best Shrek of them all, and that's no fairy tale.
  2. 80
    More redux than sequel, the final Shrek is more parent- (and specifically dad-) oriented than ever; it may also produce the first twinge of nostalgia in the kids who thrilled to the original at a formative age.
  3. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    75
    The visual jokes -- one standout is an army of ogres condemned by the Pied Piper to perpetual line-dancing -- are pretty irresistible.
  4. Reveals a definite been-there, done-that feeling.
  5. 50
    Forever After still goes down like warmed-over porridge. You don’t have to be Goldilocks to think that this time they’ve cooked their Golden Goose.
  6. 25
    Tired? This series is as exhausted as Shrek after a day of baby wrangling and diaper changing.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 46
  2. Negative: 4 out of 46
  1. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    So underrated. Maybe its only me, but I liked this one more than any other in the series, and i cant see any better way to end the seriesSo underrated. Maybe its only me, but I liked this one more than any other in the series, and i cant see any better way to end the series than this one. Expand
  2. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    This installment, the best after Shrek 2, is everything, especially the Shrek-Donkey relationship is exceptional.
    A worthy and delirious
    This installment, the best after Shrek 2, is everything, especially the Shrek-Donkey relationship is exceptional.
    A worthy and delirious final chapter to this animation franchise.Wish there would be more in future- will be truely missed!
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    After the "by the numbers" Shrek 2 and abysmal Shrek 3 I was really surprised by how good this film was. The writers were much braver with theAfter the "by the numbers" Shrek 2 and abysmal Shrek 3 I was really surprised by how good this film was. The writers were much braver with the plot and it really pays off with a strong villain and great cast. The "alternative Fiona" in particular is a much more interesting character than her boring dowdy counterpart. Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    6
    I have never really found any of these movies funny. At least laugh out loud funny, I may have given a stilted â
  5. Feb 9, 2015
    6
    Shrek Forever After has nothing on the first three installments of the series. I only have a few problems with this movie. I don't like theShrek Forever After has nothing on the first three installments of the series. I only have a few problems with this movie. I don't like the updated CGI. The original Shrek animation was so much better in the first few films and I don't like the idea to go with something different. It wasn't broke so they didn't need to fix it. I also thought that this franchise deserved a better ending than it got. Shrek isn't going to a get like Toy Story 3 but they could have still done a little better seeing as this is going to be the final film. Other than that I found the film fairly funny but after 4 movies you can't expect it to be as funny as the first 3. I'm glad I saw the conclusion of this franchise but if I want to watch a Shrek movie I'll stick with the first 2. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    Tasteless, devoid of any of Dreamwork's charm. The final film to what was once an entertaining and perfectly satirical franchise shows of howTasteless, devoid of any of Dreamwork's charm. The final film to what was once an entertaining and perfectly satirical franchise shows of how unoriginal and lackadaisical the writers are and how apathetic the producers are at entertaining the people, their job. This ended my taste for 'Shrek'. It should have been a trilogy. The third was already boring. Expand
  7. May 26, 2012
    0
    A horrible ending to a downhill series of Shrek movies. The film is not funny anymore unlike the previous movies. The whole story just pissedA horrible ending to a downhill series of Shrek movies. The film is not funny anymore unlike the previous movies. The whole story just pissed me off. I gave a 1, not a 0, because of its graphics. But still, it's definitely a terribly bad movie.............. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?