Paramount Pictures | Release Date: February 19, 2010
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1192 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,043
Mixed:
90
Negative:
59
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
AtticusM.Feb 19, 2010
Not Scorsese's best work, but still a truly breathtaking, edge of your seat thriller. Leo gives one of the best performances of the year, truly evoking the spirit Dennis Lehane gave to Teddy Daniels in the novel. One of the vest of the Not Scorsese's best work, but still a truly breathtaking, edge of your seat thriller. Leo gives one of the best performances of the year, truly evoking the spirit Dennis Lehane gave to Teddy Daniels in the novel. One of the vest of the year so far for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffS.Feb 21, 2010
DiCaprio and Scorsese do it again, taking an heavily expended movie formula and recreated it with outstanding acting by DiCaprio and a terrific screenplay. The most remarkable aspect of this movie is, in contrary to what critics and others DiCaprio and Scorsese do it again, taking an heavily expended movie formula and recreated it with outstanding acting by DiCaprio and a terrific screenplay. The most remarkable aspect of this movie is, in contrary to what critics and others may believe, not its destination, but how it reaches its destination. As previously stated this movie uses an expended movie formula, therefore with little knowledge of the movie one can predict the ending, yet after going through the adventure poised throughout this movie all bets are off. The average viewer feels like he/she belongs in a criminally insane hospital upon viewing this film, which was most likely Scorsese's intent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dcFeb 21, 2010
Wow, this movie was amazing. My heart was racing during the movie and after it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanW.Feb 21, 2010
I found this a masterly directed film with excellent writing, and I'm very critical of most films. Perhaps the film was long, but it didn't seem so in the theater. I don't get the reviewers who call it fatally flawed and then I found this a masterly directed film with excellent writing, and I'm very critical of most films. Perhaps the film was long, but it didn't seem so in the theater. I don't get the reviewers who call it fatally flawed and then cite the gloominess of the film as the principle evidence. Perhaps Scorcese will know next time to make a cheery movie set in a sanitorium. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeA.Feb 21, 2010
Loved this movie great acting and direction with a twist that will keep you and your friends talking about the film for days to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianMonroeFeb 22, 2010
[***SPOILER***] People who don't like this movie don't like it because it requires thinking. It does what every good book does -- demonstrates its value/meaning only by reflecting on it. By identifying with the mysterious dreams and[***SPOILER***] People who don't like this movie don't like it because it requires thinking. It does what every good book does -- demonstrates its value/meaning only by reflecting on it. By identifying with the mysterious dreams and the convincing conspiracy, we easily become imersed in a delusion -- we cheer when cars are blown up -- and then we come to sudden realization (along with the main character) that forces us to empathize with the condition of psychological paranoia and the trauma(s) which induced it; the underlying argument/theme is a view which sees such psychological neurosis as having psychological (not physiological) roots. Thus, the villain (the psychiatrist) becomes the hero, along with his psychological philosophy that people can be treated through their psyche -- not necessarily drugs/surgery. This commendable effort, though, sadly fails to provide a sustainable result and there is no other choice but to resort to psychological death for the main character. So much can be said about this; it is one the most psychologically insightful movies I've ever seen and anyone who says otherwise simply refuses to genuinely give it much thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RayR.Feb 22, 2010
This is a very complex film that keeps the audience trying to figure out what's going on until the end of the movie. It's very Hitchcockian and manipulates the viewer. This film has haunted me for over 2 days now. I hope it's This is a very complex film that keeps the audience trying to figure out what's going on until the end of the movie. It's very Hitchcockian and manipulates the viewer. This film has haunted me for over 2 days now. I hope it's not forgotten when award time comes around at the end of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottMFeb 22, 2010
Not completely successful with a first viewing--but I have a feeling it would be a different (and better) movie with a second viewing. DiCaprio is very, very good though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattF.Feb 22, 2010
Fantastic film. I think the people who didn't like this film went in expecting a typical schlocky, overly gory, horror-flick acted by perfect-looking 20 something's with their abs out. There was nothing predictable about this film, Fantastic film. I think the people who didn't like this film went in expecting a typical schlocky, overly gory, horror-flick acted by perfect-looking 20 something's with their abs out. There was nothing predictable about this film, and having not read the book I was entertained and surprised throughout. One thing that isn't being mentioned enough is how emotional this movie is. There are some truly heart-wrenching scenes in this film! This film deals with DEEP psychological traumas, and Scorsese pulls some outstanding performances out of his cast. An absolute gem of a film, do not miss! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KyleJ.Feb 22, 2010
Enjoyably dark and incredibly tense, but despite the terrific performances and atmosphere, I felt let down by the ending. It's made me think, of course, but I feel like the movie built up to a reveal that wasn't as big as it was Enjoyably dark and incredibly tense, but despite the terrific performances and atmosphere, I felt let down by the ending. It's made me think, of course, but I feel like the movie built up to a reveal that wasn't as big as it was supposed to be. Also, the soundtrack is incredibly annoying and detracts from the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanielleFeb 24, 2010
This movie was very dark and very depressing. I knew it was going to be dark before i went to see it, but there were so many disturbing images involving dead children and dead jews in nazi death camps that i had trouble keeping my eyes on This movie was very dark and very depressing. I knew it was going to be dark before i went to see it, but there were so many disturbing images involving dead children and dead jews in nazi death camps that i had trouble keeping my eyes on the screen. If you have a weak stomach, do not see this movie. Other than that, it was really good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasFeb 26, 2010
Great movie! The soundtrack was on the bad side and did not really help with the building of suspense. DiCaprio was outstanding as were the supporting cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimL.Mar 12, 2010
To all you retards claiming that you figured out the "twist" or that it was completely predictable...you have no idea what you're talking about. Focus really hard on the last line of the movie and you'll realize that what you To all you retards claiming that you figured out the "twist" or that it was completely predictable...you have no idea what you're talking about. Focus really hard on the last line of the movie and you'll realize that what you thought was the twist was not it at all. If you think that what the doctor describes at the end is true then you have a very low movie I.Q. and are not deserving of the greatness that Scorcese created here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TeoMar 22, 2010
The movie has its flaws, but still, it is worth watching. The message of the movie is very subtle, but I like it that it isn't one-sided. It has an anti-psychiatric approach. Not many movies dealing with it are like that. I recommend The movie has its flaws, but still, it is worth watching. The message of the movie is very subtle, but I like it that it isn't one-sided. It has an anti-psychiatric approach. Not many movies dealing with it are like that. I recommend it, despite some flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickGMar 31, 2010
Brilliant movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DominicDMar 31, 2010
I enjoyed this film.It was very entertaining, thrilling, captivating.It had flaws but it deserves a 10 from me based in comparison to other users who gave it zero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonAMay 21, 2010
This has to be one of the greatest films I've ever seen. It's smart, it's perfectly paced, and the twist in end kept me thinking for days. WARNING: you may have to have an IQ over three digits to understand this great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
asylumspadezNov 24, 2011
It was ok. You see the twist well before the film is even over with and it is a little dull at times but for the most part it was interesting to watch just to see where it was going. Solid performances by the cast as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheGorillaAug 2, 2011
It's a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DarkKnightVMay 14, 2011
A very well made, suspenseful film that keeps you engaged up to the end. I've seen movies with twist endings similar to the one in "Shutter Island," but the movie is so well made that I still didn't figure it out until the final reveal. AlsoA very well made, suspenseful film that keeps you engaged up to the end. I've seen movies with twist endings similar to the one in "Shutter Island," but the movie is so well made that I still didn't figure it out until the final reveal. Also has an excellent score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuOct 27, 2013
Shutter Island is a mysterious and atmospheric horror-flick with a fantastic central performance from Leonardo DiCaprio. The finale is as emotional as things come and is truly unforgettable. Excellent stuff from Scorsese. Also... This film isShutter Island is a mysterious and atmospheric horror-flick with a fantastic central performance from Leonardo DiCaprio. The finale is as emotional as things come and is truly unforgettable. Excellent stuff from Scorsese. Also... This film is one of the best ever for repeat viewing. If you've only seen it once, I highly recommend going back and watching it again. The entire of flavor of the movie changes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JonnyFendiJan 20, 2011
SHUTTER ISLAND is a great vessel for Leonardo DiCaprio to explore his acting skill. It is quite a performance. Maybe It is not the finest, but I think thiz is one of his best performance so far. DiCaprio collaborates the fourth time withSHUTTER ISLAND is a great vessel for Leonardo DiCaprio to explore his acting skill. It is quite a performance. Maybe It is not the finest, but I think thiz is one of his best performance so far. DiCaprio collaborates the fourth time with Martin Scorsese, the last three are: GANGS OF NEW YORK (2002), THE AVIATOR (2004), and THE DEPARTED (2006). Scorsese himself is a well-grounded drama Director. His previous memorable classics are: TAXI DRIVER (1976), RAGING BULL (1980), and GOODFELLAS (1990). It is about Teddy Daniels (DiCaprio), an US Marshall comes to the island to investigates some mysterious case. The Island is the prison facility for mental illness. Thiz movie supported by high-caliber Casts, such as: Ben Kingsley, Mark Rufallo, Mark Von Sydow, Jackie Earle Haley, plus Michelle Williams. The screenplay on thiz movie is grandeur. Scorsese with his experiences arranged every scene effectively. The exploration is classic, we even could seen **** atmosphere here. The movie scores also help a lot to build such an intensive tension. The great example was on the opening scene, when Daniels and his partner arrived on the island for the first time. When they observe the surroundings preserves by maximum securities, the gates open one by one. It is just a usual scene, but the scores multiply it into ten times thrill. The twist ending is meant to be shocking. But unfortunately, I already see it where the story will go in the middle of the movie. When a conversation between Daniels and Rachel (Patricia Clarkson) on the scene in the cave. Daniels said angrily, I am an US Marshall, No one can stop me! (Spoiler Alert!) That is the time I clearly knew he was the patient. In the end, if we got a movie that every scene put in for a reason. That is the time when you already got an effective and flawless movie. Scorsese scores again!

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE on : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hellennJan 25, 2011
Impressive movie. It's been a while since I've simply sat after watching a movie and just had to think about all the events that occurred throughout. Attention to detail has me pleased but I find there are irrelevant scenes within the movieImpressive movie. It's been a while since I've simply sat after watching a movie and just had to think about all the events that occurred throughout. Attention to detail has me pleased but I find there are irrelevant scenes within the movie that honestly just drags out the movie to become slower and just aren't needed. Probably one of the most non-predictable movies I've seen for a while as well in large thanks to DiCaprio and Ruffalo's performances who had me thoroughly convinced. Perhaps the ending requires just a fraction more closure, but otherwise, a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
royalvikingJan 28, 2011
There's no accounting for taste, of course, but, in my book Shutter Island is one of the best movies of the last decade. DiCaprio is sensational; deserved an Oscar nomination. The rest of the cast, especially Kingsley, Ruffalo and Sydow,There's no accounting for taste, of course, but, in my book Shutter Island is one of the best movies of the last decade. DiCaprio is sensational; deserved an Oscar nomination. The rest of the cast, especially Kingsley, Ruffalo and Sydow, are magnificent. Affects moviegoers, I'd think, in much the same way a Lynch or a **** or a Bunuel movie might. Haunting, shattering, unique. This is bravura moviemaking. Don't believe the H8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nairByduoG15Apr 9, 2011
When all is said and done in M.S. career I believe this will go down as one of his more daring ventures. And isn't that what art is about? New expression to ones self? I'm not saying this is a ground breaking film, just that it pushes theWhen all is said and done in M.S. career I believe this will go down as one of his more daring ventures. And isn't that what art is about? New expression to ones self? I'm not saying this is a ground breaking film, just that it pushes the style of a vision. It just so happens that this vision is through the eyes of m.s.. The story is strong enough to compel you to the end of the journey. And the acting is more than satisfactory in all cases. The weakest portion of the entry is probably the dialogue. Some of the lesser characters just seem to deliver the line and exit stage left. Which don't help the film but don't necessarily hurt it either. In the end though it is the direction and attention to detail of not just the setting, pacing, acting, or genre but style brought to all of the above. Watch it again and again then tell me I'm wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CaestusDec 1, 2013
Shutter Island is a captivating movie, with an great intensity and shocking final twist. The cast and the acting are also superior, first off all Leonardo DiCaprios performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZiggyStardustJun 16, 2011
A very thrilling experience and superb acting makes this movie really worth a watch. The authenticity of this movie is really well done and it's one of the better movie adaptions. Definitely worth a watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pdvskyJul 20, 2011
this movie is a masterpiece, is one of the few movies after "fight club" that made me thing afterwards. its not a movie for everyone, a lot of people search for something Entertaining and simple that they could watch with they`re family andthis movie is a masterpiece, is one of the few movies after "fight club" that made me thing afterwards. its not a movie for everyone, a lot of people search for something Entertaining and simple that they could watch with they`re family and sleep after that. this is a movie for people that like intense thrilling movies. if you just want to see a funny entertaining movie stay far away from this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SachiOct 19, 2011
Shutter Island is a great film that will keep you enthralled. Leonardo Di Caprio gives a star-studded performance as always but the plot has so many twists and turns that it keeps you guessing as to what will happen next. The ending I did notShutter Island is a great film that will keep you enthralled. Leonardo Di Caprio gives a star-studded performance as always but the plot has so many twists and turns that it keeps you guessing as to what will happen next. The ending I did not see coming. Shutter Island is a thrill ride that does not fail to impress and I would recommend watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Nov 5, 2011
I personally thought this movie was great. It had great performances and a very interesting, complex, intense and thought-provoking story. It's good that Martin Scorsese is branching out of his typical crime drama films and tapping more intoI personally thought this movie was great. It had great performances and a very interesting, complex, intense and thought-provoking story. It's good that Martin Scorsese is branching out of his typical crime drama films and tapping more into movies of different genres. 4/4 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RediCeDec 12, 2011
This is one of the films which not everyone can understand. If you are one of those who can, then it is perfect for you. Not the ending , but looking after the main character is very interesting - how he evolves or degrades (up to you to decide).....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFApr 8, 2013
It's a nice change but also a concerning knock on the head when a film comes along and truly makes you question your entire beliefs and capabilities of an aspiring filmmaker, whether it be storytelling, editing or simply characterIt's a nice change but also a concerning knock on the head when a film comes along and truly makes you question your entire beliefs and capabilities of an aspiring filmmaker, whether it be storytelling, editing or simply character development, all these factors are of upmost importance.
But when Martin Scorsese comes along and absolutely turns everything on its head with Shutter Island, it always makes you question if you are able to tease, surprise and entertain the audience, something this film does over and over again with merit.
Leonardo DiCaprio stars as Teddy Daniels, a US Marshal who, along with his partner Chuck (Mark Ruffalo) are sent to the island in question, which is the base for a mental institution for the most dangerous criminally insane patients in the US.
They are sent due to the mysterious disappearance of a patient, but upon their arrival everything is not as it seems, the island is very military looking and the leading psychiatrist at the hospital, Dr Cawley (Ben Kingsley) seems very reluctant and shady when the marshals seek help in their investigation.
Teddy, meanwhile, is having visions of when he was a soldier during the Dachau liberation.
But as the film progresses, we realise that Teddy may have other reasons for taking the case, but his mind and his past soon unravel and is noticed by everyone surrounding him, which slowly eats away at his deteriorating confidence within the confines of the island.
Shutter Island puts the viewer firmly in the drivers seat, it has been perfectly filmed and edited with purposeful continuity errors so as the viewer can determine what exactly is going on, because the ending of this remarkable film will leave you shocked and confused, but will also leave you with having a lengthy debate with your friends as to what exactly was happening.
Each character is pivotal to the film and they play their part well, we aren't always sure whose side exactly they are on and we are never quite sure what exactly is going on, but this makes for an excellent thriller and one of the most thought provoking films in a while.
There are plenty of names floating around in this film that may leave you a little seasick, but it is truly magical the work that has been done, and you would be hard-pressed to find a film that truly digs into what you believe to be fact, and who you believe to be truthful.
Fantastic, thrilling and cleverly constructed work, another bright Scorsese moment.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Sevvy88Jun 7, 2013
It's a pretty solid film. Some of the scenes in it are absolutely beautifully shot in terms of color and atmosphere, and the film is tinged with a creepy surrealism that keeps you on your toes as a viewer. The hospital and island are really aIt's a pretty solid film. Some of the scenes in it are absolutely beautifully shot in terms of color and atmosphere, and the film is tinged with a creepy surrealism that keeps you on your toes as a viewer. The hospital and island are really a dreadful place! DiCaprio is one of my favorite actors, Ben Kingsley is his usual awesome self... The plot left some people a little cold because I think they were expecting something else. Watch it for its surrealism if nothing else. Not many "mainstream" movies capture Creepy Wonderland like this one does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hipposeatfreeMar 3, 2014
I Was skeptical going into it, but my skepticism soon fled me as I enjoyed every minute of this movie! It is a thriller for sure. The only thing that keeps it from being a 10/10 from me is that I saw the twist coming. Terrific film. LeonardoI Was skeptical going into it, but my skepticism soon fled me as I enjoyed every minute of this movie! It is a thriller for sure. The only thing that keeps it from being a 10/10 from me is that I saw the twist coming. Terrific film. Leonardo deserved an Oscar for this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
"Is it better to live as a monster or to die as a good man?" That is the last line in this mind bending thriller from Martin Scorsese. It perfectly describes this film, which I can honestly say is one of the smartest and most savvy films I"Is it better to live as a monster or to die as a good man?" That is the last line in this mind bending thriller from Martin Scorsese. It perfectly describes this film, which I can honestly say is one of the smartest and most savvy films I have ever seen. Leonardo DiCaprio gives his best performance to date. I've seen a lot of DiCaprio, since Titanic, we all have, and this is by far the best he's ever been. How he didn't win an Academy Award for this role is beyond me! The story is very strong and very smart. It's evident that they took their time with this one, in order to get every detail right. The ending is of course the best part. It leaves you scratching your head, going over everything you've just seen and keeps you thinking for hours. No matter how many times you see this movie, you'll always pick up on something new, each and every time. It was an amazing movie and I can't recommend it enough! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawMay 11, 2014
Scorsese and DiCaprio’s fourth collaboration, SHUTTER ISLAND is an on-the-edge-of-the-seat nail-biter, a period thriller situates at the titular island near Boston in 1954, a patient mysteriously disappears from the mental hospital on theScorsese and DiCaprio’s fourth collaboration, SHUTTER ISLAND is an on-the-edge-of-the-seat nail-biter, a period thriller situates at the titular island near Boston in 1954, a patient mysteriously disappears from the mental hospital on the island, draws the investigation of US marshal Teddy Daniels (DiCaprio) and his subordinate Chuck Aule (Ruffalo). But on the sly Teddy volunteers the task under a more personal motivation, he is after a pyromania who is responsible for the killing of his wife Dolores (Williams).

read rest of the review on my blog, google cinema omnivore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlvaradoKTAJun 7, 2012
If thrillers are your thing ,watching this is logical. Martin Scorsese directed this so this should be on your watch list anyway. DiCaprio plays U.S. Marshal Edward Daniels, and his performance delivers. The supporting cast also does a greatIf thrillers are your thing ,watching this is logical. Martin Scorsese directed this so this should be on your watch list anyway. DiCaprio plays U.S. Marshal Edward Daniels, and his performance delivers. The supporting cast also does a great job. The script play is amazing.It is a bit boring the first 40 minutes, but it gets really good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KingGeorgeMar 3, 2012
This film offers suspense, mystery and altogether an exasperating experience. DiCaprio's performance is among his greatest and Scorsese certainly delivers. The plot of this film offers an incredible twist that is comparable to that of FightThis film offers suspense, mystery and altogether an exasperating experience. DiCaprio's performance is among his greatest and Scorsese certainly delivers. The plot of this film offers an incredible twist that is comparable to that of Fight Club or Sixth Sense. Definitely worth watching! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Shutter Island is a complex movie. It has you thinking one way one minute and then other a second later. The second half was better than the first. It was intense and thrilling all at the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
anshimanDec 23, 2012
Shutter Island is an emotional juggernaut that is a long, winding and twisted road that leads to the aftertaste that tickles all the areas of your tongue. Martin Scorcese exhibits his directing mastery as he delivers a shockingly powerfulShutter Island is an emotional juggernaut that is a long, winding and twisted road that leads to the aftertaste that tickles all the areas of your tongue. Martin Scorcese exhibits his directing mastery as he delivers a shockingly powerful film that is so thought-provoking, it will leave you dazed after hearing the last sentence that changes it all. DiCaprio delivers an incredulously electrifying performance - and coupled with the clashing chords of the score and the raw power of the conceptions portrayed, this film is an utter jaw-dropper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleApr 21, 2013
Weird movie that absolutely takes you through twists and turns throughout. Overall, it's an extremely thought provoking film and lives up to the billing of being a "psychological thriller".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Rhcploverxx833Jul 21, 2012
This movie is wonderful and outstanding! The plot is overall great and intresting. I was glued to the screen most of the movie. It was so intense and thrilling... The tension and mystery that I think the movie created made me want to keep onThis movie is wonderful and outstanding! The plot is overall great and intresting. I was glued to the screen most of the movie. It was so intense and thrilling... The tension and mystery that I think the movie created made me want to keep on watching. It's one of those mystery stories that you know from the beggining that there's going to be a twist at the end but you don't know what it is yet. I love it because it keeps you on the edge through the movie. As the movie near the end you already have a clue of what is going to happen but it still shocks you when you find out. The amazing performances from Di caprio and Kingsley also made this movie great. I loved how my feelings changed according to the main character feelings. The plot is through his prespective and what he was feeling created what I felt during the movie. When he was close to un cover the truth I was anxious and scared just like him. I highly recommand this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I rather enjoyed this psychological thriller by none other than Martin Scorsese. Leonardo Di Caprio, Mark Ruffalo and Ben Kingsly are fantastic throughout and upon repeat viewings, the audience will notice that the perspective of the filmI rather enjoyed this psychological thriller by none other than Martin Scorsese. Leonardo Di Caprio, Mark Ruffalo and Ben Kingsly are fantastic throughout and upon repeat viewings, the audience will notice that the perspective of the film changes. It is a highly intelligent, well prepared film that deserves the highest of accolades. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
axelkochOct 6, 2012
It fails as a thriller, but is an excellent psycho drama. Every single actor is awesome and Scorsese's director work is also outstanding. Some dialogues were a bit too misleading and in the end not every detail gets elucitated. But still,It fails as a thriller, but is an excellent psycho drama. Every single actor is awesome and Scorsese's director work is also outstanding. Some dialogues were a bit too misleading and in the end not every detail gets elucitated. But still, 'Shutter Island' is a very interesting motion picture that doesn't get boring anywhere. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
barnet42Oct 15, 2012
Scorsese and DiCaprio, in their fourth film together, again create an intense, provocative film-going experience, where the ride, accommodations, and destination are all first class.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ReaIistiCOct 30, 2012
This film is awesome! I love Leonardo Di Caprio! and this is deffo his best movie! One of my favorite movies of all time and great twist at the end. !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Scorsese evokes black magic in the mind-rattling and unforgettable Shutter Island, a film filled to the brim with dark wonder and secrets buried many layers deep. You will want to see it again immediately after your first viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Oct 7, 2015
Scorsese churns out a very uncharacteristic film with "Shutter Island," a fantastically designed and performed film that drips with dread and demonstrates supreme editing prowess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MeritCobaJan 5, 2016
That Shutter island is carried by Leonardo DiCaprio took me a bit by surprise for I never took him as an strong actor. Not because I think him bad, mind you, just that I wouldn't have named him as one of the great actors of our time. I wasThat Shutter island is carried by Leonardo DiCaprio took me a bit by surprise for I never took him as an strong actor. Not because I think him bad, mind you, just that I wouldn't have named him as one of the great actors of our time. I was wrong to think that.

Shutter island is DiCaprio's movie for he is at the center of it. He is supported by a fine cast made up out of people like Ben Kingsley and Mark Ruffalo. Yet this movie, with the script it has, is his movie for it is kind of isolation movie.
It starts out quite innocently with DiCaprio and Ruffalo as two us marshals send to an island that is a mental asylum for insane criminals to investigate the disappearance of one of the prisoners.. The isolation sets in when a spell of bad weather is announced that will cut of the island of from the mainland.

As the investigation gets underway the weather worsens and the plot thickens as the disappearance of the prisoner is linked to happenings in DiCaprio's past. The foul weather, eventually turning into a hurricane, denotes the progress into madness of the story. As DiCaprio digs deeper, dark happenings are uprooted and soon enough it isn't just the island that is isolated, but DiCaprio from the rest island's inhabitants. Who is to be trusted, what is true and is he being tricked? It is time for paranoia to set in.

How can you determine what is wrong when you can not trust anyone to be truthful, not even your partner. When you cannot ask: do you see what I see, when you can not trust the other. The only way for DiCaprio is to find evidence for his suspicions. But DiCaprio even starts to question his own senses. How that eventually works out would reveal the plot. Go and see the movie.

Admittedly, the movie's story is a bit too far fetched to be believable and might harbor some big plot holes on close scrutiny, but it is a good movie nevertheless. It is nice to see things come together as script, acting, directing and cinematography join hands to make this movie happen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sanyrubJan 21, 2013
Fantastic movie. No, it´s not very original and yes, by the middle of the film you expect what´s coming more or less. But the gorgeous use of visuals, that atmosphere and the captivating performances compensate it. LeonardoFantastic movie. No, it´s not very original and yes, by the middle of the film you expect what´s coming more or less. But the gorgeous use of visuals, that atmosphere and the captivating performances compensate it. Leonardo Dicaprio gives us what I think is one of his two best performances in a film along with Clint Eastwood´s "J. Edgar". He is truly phenomenal in all the last part. My very favorite scene is the one in which Leo talks with a man in a cell. You guys will know when you watch. That was so intense. All the cast is great. 7 seems low to me but I can´t rate 7.5 on here so I´ll give it an 8 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MaricaAug 27, 2014
"Which would be worse - to live as a monster? Or to die as a good man?" Teddy Daniels.

This is a nice movie.This is a one of the best films i ever seen.Great actors, and a mindfu*k story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DusksparkMay 10, 2013
"Shutter Island" combines an interresting story with mindbending moments, but its regular dull acting, failed moments of horror and overly dramatic soundtrack keep it from becoming the masterpiece it should have been.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJMar 2, 2015
Literally, mind blowing masterpiece! Everybody who gave this movie a bad score, should watch it again, because i bet they didn't get it. Incredible story, superb acting and unpredictable ending leads me to the final 10/10 score!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndJustice4UApr 28, 2013
i love this film. its one of those films you can watch over and over and you'll not get bored of it, you will also find new things every time as well. there are a few continuity errors, but whatever. its a shame this film fell under thei love this film. its one of those films you can watch over and over and you'll not get bored of it, you will also find new things every time as well. there are a few continuity errors, but whatever. its a shame this film fell under the success of inception in its genre, because its a modern classic. everyone fulfills their role perfectly and contribute to the atmosphere that scorsese aimed to create. the end leaves you questioning what happened next, and whether you understood i properly, like TDKR. This film keeps you interested all the way through, the ending is hinted at, but its not obvious. splendid film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrThehammer171Jun 5, 2013
if you dont score this movie more than a 9 either you dont get it or you dont know good movies this movie has the best twist ever and the ending you better 2nd think that when you watch the movie that means to watch the movie right nowif you dont score this movie more than a 9 either you dont get it or you dont know good movies this movie has the best twist ever and the ending you better 2nd think that when you watch the movie that means to watch the movie right now because you will be like wow i need to watch that again like i was and now i have watched it like 7 times and im still thinking about the ending you get it when you watch it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SamSkJul 1, 2013
This film sees a different side of Martin Scorsese with this suspenseful and eerie thriller. The way in which DiCaprio's character's emotions change throughout this film is totally unexpected. It may not be Scorsese's best film and the endingThis film sees a different side of Martin Scorsese with this suspenseful and eerie thriller. The way in which DiCaprio's character's emotions change throughout this film is totally unexpected. It may not be Scorsese's best film and the ending could disappoint, but an all-round great! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bradyboy12Aug 11, 2013
A well done creepy thriller of 2 U.S. Marshals investigating an escaped patient on a mental aslyum island, full of twists and turns and suspense, well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
Shutter Island grows creepier and creepier as the movie progresses and by the end, when the entire movie's purpose is revealed, your left to wonder how all these events unfolded, and now you're just as dumbfounded and in denial as DiCaprio'sShutter Island grows creepier and creepier as the movie progresses and by the end, when the entire movie's purpose is revealed, your left to wonder how all these events unfolded, and now you're just as dumbfounded and in denial as DiCaprio's character is. Scorcese is just a pure genius of filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingDec 22, 2013
The acting is brilliant and the mystery is brilliantly constructed and shrouded in a plot so full of secrecy and red herrings despite some scenes being choppily edited. Multiple viewings are required for this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
S2G047Dec 8, 2013
What was all the fuss about? The story was perfectly understandable. And yes movie was really good, a very well crafted mystery. I hope they make more movies like this
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueFeb 14, 2014
Scorsese creates a great mystery in cinema based on the novel that will not only keep you watching, but thinking as well. Thinking a lot. Enough that you must watch it until the end to understand it all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeApr 10, 2014
Shutter island is definitely not one of the best Scorses's movies.There is an interesting story and good actors but the result is not as good as i wanted.The acting was excellent but sometimes we lose ourself in the story.Shutter island is aShutter island is definitely not one of the best Scorses's movies.There is an interesting story and good actors but the result is not as good as i wanted.The acting was excellent but sometimes we lose ourself in the story.Shutter island is a weird movie starring a good cast and good story but Scorsese
doesn't control the result.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
The acting is brilliant and the mystery is brilliantly constructed and shrouded in a plot so full of secrecy and red herrings despite some scenes being choppily edited. Multiple viewings are required for this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarickJul 5, 2015
One of the best performances, story and movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ShedeggDec 4, 2014
Shutter island is a Martin Scorsese film, so ambiguously it is enjoyable. This movie is filled with interesting plot twists and strong characters. It is clever, but can be confusing at times. The casting is good, it stars people such asShutter island is a Martin Scorsese film, so ambiguously it is enjoyable. This movie is filled with interesting plot twists and strong characters. It is clever, but can be confusing at times. The casting is good, it stars people such as Leonardo di caprio and Ben Kingsley. I would not recommend this for younger ages as it can be rude, with adult themes; also children might not understand it because as I said it can be confusing. Overall it is a good watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jacobshoffDec 18, 2014
What a great and extraordinary and thrilling film from a director at the top of his game. I absolutely was on the edge of my seat with this movie. Captivating performance from Leonardo DiCaprio and also Ben Kingsley. I highly recommend thisWhat a great and extraordinary and thrilling film from a director at the top of his game. I absolutely was on the edge of my seat with this movie. Captivating performance from Leonardo DiCaprio and also Ben Kingsley. I highly recommend this movie. Watch it!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DANIELW45Jun 7, 2015
Scary and nail bitingly tense, shutter island provides the audience with all this. Leonardo de Caprio plays the US Marshall with past troubles and a shattered psyche perfectly. The perfect film for any horror and thriller fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BitashApr 6, 2017
Great great movie. I saw it 7 yrs ago and just rewatched it, fantastic performance by Leo, super entertaining. His acting is so so good. Best performance, a must see. I will rewatch this again , just for his acting
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyAug 1, 2017
Shutter Island starts as an eerie investigation movie of a criminal insane facility. The beginning of the movie is interesting enough, but it becomes very riveting once the ultimate revelations of the plot are unraveled. It will completelyShutter Island starts as an eerie investigation movie of a criminal insane facility. The beginning of the movie is interesting enough, but it becomes very riveting once the ultimate revelations of the plot are unraveled. It will completely shock you and startle you. After figuring out the actual premise of the movie you will want to rewatch it, as you will be able to pick up on things you missed the first time. Anyone that likes psychological thrillers or films with complicated plots will love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shiftworkerAug 22, 2016
A complex plot presented in dark, brooding style. It holds your attention, draws you in and then leaves you thinking about it. It's like plain chocoalte and chili: richly textured and surprisingly good. I will return to Shutter Island beforeA complex plot presented in dark, brooding style. It holds your attention, draws you in and then leaves you thinking about it. It's like plain chocoalte and chili: richly textured and surprisingly good. I will return to Shutter Island before too long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FrenziedPandaH2Jul 9, 2017
One of the best movies i've ever seen...Thrilling, amazing,a brilliant drama with an unespected twist and a great ending


DiCaprio, Always the best.................m.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews