Paramount Pictures | Release Date: February 19, 2010
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1187 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,040
Mixed:
88
Negative:
59
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JasonHJun 8, 2010
Awful movie. Now it clearly doesn't deserve a 0, but this was the worst POS movie by a good director and a good crew I've ever seen. There was only one twist in the plot, and it was hugely predictable. I came in expecting to be Awful movie. Now it clearly doesn't deserve a 0, but this was the worst POS movie by a good director and a good crew I've ever seen. There was only one twist in the plot, and it was hugely predictable. I came in expecting to be scared, or at least thrilled, none of which happened. This movie sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MiKEJun 9, 2010
Figured out the plot 1/4 into the movie, but I still enjoyed it. The movie was very well directed, kept my intrest. Overall better then I expected it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LoraineHJun 9, 2010
A beautiful projected film with inspiring characters and a plot worth sticking to your mind for the next couple weeks! Great acting by Leonardo DcaPrio, made my night for sure sent chills down my spine and loved it for it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenDJun 9, 2010
Classic mystery flick! 2 thumbs up sweet performances, vicious storytelling! loved it Recommended!! Go see Shutter Island!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurieCFeb 19, 2010
Did not find morbid or bloody...disturbing? yes. A thriller? yes. Good movie very well made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulLFeb 19, 2010
Great psychological thriller. Stuck very close to the book. Great performance by DeCaprio and Kingsley and great job of creating an atmosphere of fear and dread.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GuramG.Feb 19, 2010
Great thirller. Great cast. Great script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamD.Feb 19, 2010
I feel it was a masterpiece. The way they filmed it was in the tradition of Alfred Hitchcock. It was as much a masterpiece as Inglourious Basterds to be honest. The way it was filmed was done to only to demonstrate that nothing was supposed I feel it was a masterpiece. The way they filmed it was in the tradition of Alfred Hitchcock. It was as much a masterpiece as Inglourious Basterds to be honest. The way it was filmed was done to only to demonstrate that nothing was supposed to seem real. Remember, he was halucinating? Scorcese meant for the audience to be confused until the last moment of the film. The last line. That's what I saw, but I will say that this film is the story of a tragedy and it is certainly an acquired taste, but then again so are all of scorcese's movies. Shutter Island is a great movie. If you like Donnie Darko, you'll love Shutter Island, it is a mind bending thriller not a horror. This is the movie to see at this time. Surely a new cult classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GusM.Feb 19, 2010
Great thriller. Unexpected ending. Some people leaving the theater said the movie sucked, but the majority of the people left asking questions. What I took from people asking so many questions, was a great movie. When you leave a movie and Great thriller. Unexpected ending. Some people leaving the theater said the movie sucked, but the majority of the people left asking questions. What I took from people asking so many questions, was a great movie. When you leave a movie and can't stop thinking about what just happened. You must have liked the film. Leo gives another solid performance and the rest of the cast was good acting. Sir Kingsley made you want him to fail so badly, being the bad guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentPFeb 21, 2010
Hands down one of the most amazing films I've ever seen. The story is profound and the ending is tragic. The film is beautiful. Do yourself a favor and go see it before it leaves theaters. Definitely on my top ten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChaseH.Feb 21, 2010
Great film, nice ending that doesn't seem like a twist for the sake of having one. Takes queues from early psychological films. Believable acting as always from DiCaprio.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EvinC.Feb 21, 2010
Awesome. There was nothing trippier than this film ever since fight club. Great acting from the cast, minor and major. I felt crazy by the time i walked out of the theater. It's also very Scorsese. Good Job Marty!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobmFeb 21, 2010
[***SPOILERS***]I really don't see what others are getting from this movie. Yes Leo did do as great job acting in this movie and to its credit all of the characters were acted out well. The problem falls on the movie itself. To all of [***SPOILERS***]I really don't see what others are getting from this movie. Yes Leo did do as great job acting in this movie and to its credit all of the characters were acted out well. The problem falls on the movie itself. To all of you who say that there was a "twist". Are you serious how could you not see whats coming a mile away? The guy even says..point blank...YOU ARE THE 67TH PATIENT. And with all of his visions and flashbacks..did you really think this was a sane individual? See it if you want but i for one wish i could get my money back. Like i said in the opening the acting was great but the story is just awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulDFeb 21, 2010
Slow and predictable. The book is far better than the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoelBoozerFeb 21, 2010
Great story, entertaining film. Dicaprio is AWESOME, and I'm not usually a Dicaprio fan. This may be his first film I have seen where I see the character Dicaprio is playing, rather than the actor. He is amazing throughout. The film is Great story, entertaining film. Dicaprio is AWESOME, and I'm not usually a Dicaprio fan. This may be his first film I have seen where I see the character Dicaprio is playing, rather than the actor. He is amazing throughout. The film is not without flaws (music is at times over the top, ending/twist is somewhat predictable, although still well-executed IMO). Nevertheless, I really can't see how anyone can't at least find this movie entertaining. The performance by Dicaprio alone makes this film worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanshVohraFeb 21, 2010
Amazing! A movie with an amazing storyline. I felt like my was scrambled at the end of movie. They dont make movies like these anymore. Great acting and script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
marksFeb 21, 2010
Good movie, some boring parts though. Great ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidB.Feb 20, 2010
Not much redeeming about this movie, other than perhaps the cinematography. Otherwise, pretty run-of-the-mill story (at least the way it was told), and not nearly the mind-blowing experience it was intended to be. "Meh" is the right word to Not much redeeming about this movie, other than perhaps the cinematography. Otherwise, pretty run-of-the-mill story (at least the way it was told), and not nearly the mind-blowing experience it was intended to be. "Meh" is the right word to describe it. Hard to believe this came from Scorsese. Wait for the DVD, if you really feel the need to see this at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AgnosticConservativeW.Feb 20, 2010
[***SPOILERS***] Pretentious, frequently vacuous nonsense. Usual liberal arty farty bollux. The final "twist" is utterly absurd. And factually grates (being very polite) with the actual plotting. Funny how the sea, during a supposed [***SPOILERS***] Pretentious, frequently vacuous nonsense. Usual liberal arty farty bollux. The final "twist" is utterly absurd. And factually grates (being very polite) with the actual plotting. Funny how the sea, during a supposed hurricane is virtually calm. Funny how someone who has NOT been off the island for TWO YEARS initially appears on a ferry coming from the mainland to the island. The plot is full of holes, with ludicrous contrived waffling that attempts to fill it in. The actual "truth" at the end is as about as mundane as it gets. A man has killed his wife when he discovers she's insanely killed his kids. "The Village" kind of twist at the end and the notion that EVERY SINGLE person, (including unhinged psychotic patients) on the loony bin hospital island was cheerily "in on it" is beyond pathetically stupid. Scorcese needs to stick to his violent mafia films. Liberals will doubtless fawn and slobber all over this crap because of who directed it. Bet if Bruce or Clint or Arnie had been the lead with a different no-name director the plaudits would be rather less forthcoming. Where do I get my refund? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Feb 20, 2010
The last time this legendary filmmaker tried his hand at suspense, it was a cape that the characters feared, in which a defense attorney and his family got wet, thanks to an uninvited guest on their houseboat. This time, it's a bay, and The last time this legendary filmmaker tried his hand at suspense, it was a cape that the characters feared, in which a defense attorney and his family got wet, thanks to an uninvited guest on their houseboat. This time, it's a bay, and the swimmer, Edward Daniels(Leonardo DiCaprio), is alone(thanks to "Pond Fear"), as he wades his way through the ocean water toward the lighthouse. He's no Max Cady, but the essence of the actor who played that psychopath from the 1991 film, situates himself in the body of saltwater with the federal marshal, albeit engaged in a different sort of fight that he had with Nick Nolte in "Cape Fear"(the remake of the 1962 J. Lee Thompson original), although both altercations are intrinsically based on guilt. Juxtaposed against the realism of Edward's tour of duty in Dachau, where the concentration camp scenes are handled in an adequately sober fashion, is the suggestion of B-movie elements you'd find in a Nazi exploitation film, and as Edward swims closer to the lighthouse, the moviegoer gets to guess as to which WWII filmic tradition will be the winner of this dialectic struggle. It's a headlong rush toward the precipice of genre, as Edward climbs the spiral staircase and busts into the room of discovery and truth. Hitchcockian in its approach to suspense as "Cape Fear" was, in "Shutter Island", Edward is a voyeur to the movie in his head(the audience as voyeur), in which he turns his real-life war experiences into the stuff of Nazi exploitation flicks. Now all he needs to do is find the theater where this movie is playing. Is it in the lighthouse? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattM.Feb 22, 2010
No doubt incredible moviemaking! The visuals were tight and vivid, but the pacing was slow and plodding at times...I found myself detaching...internally saying, "Hurry-up, already!" Concluding twist is good to chew on. I also appreciated the No doubt incredible moviemaking! The visuals were tight and vivid, but the pacing was slow and plodding at times...I found myself detaching...internally saying, "Hurry-up, already!" Concluding twist is good to chew on. I also appreciated the Warden sequence in the jeep, where Marty, I believe most honor-rificly rips off Kubrick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeFeb 22, 2010
While I did enjoy the film, I, like many others, was let down by by the "twist" ending. The twist was visible for a while, so I was expecting a second twist [[SPOILER ALERT]]: the lighthouse where "experiments happen" was the setting for the While I did enjoy the film, I, like many others, was let down by by the "twist" ending. The twist was visible for a while, so I was expecting a second twist [[SPOILER ALERT]]: the lighthouse where "experiments happen" was the setting for the revelation that Teddy is not really Teddy. I was over-thinking for the next 15 minutes, expecting the final twist to be, when the 2 doctors are trying to convince Teddy that he's someone else to be the actual experiment, and the horrible experiment to be to convice him that hes someone else. So simply i thought the ending would be: - doc try to tell Teddy he is really Andrew - Teddy believes it but... - It's a lie! that is the experiment... -to convince people they are someone else, when they are not! but sadly no, it was more simple than that, and therefore far more obvious! still, its a good film, but for scorsese, not at his normal standards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeDavisFeb 22, 2010
I had waited in anticipation for this, but was let down by the "twist". The CGI was poor. Scenes didn't quite flow right for me. When a scene was required, it just appeared as when Teddy was wandering and the warden just appeared. I was I had waited in anticipation for this, but was let down by the "twist". The CGI was poor. Scenes didn't quite flow right for me. When a scene was required, it just appeared as when Teddy was wandering and the warden just appeared. I was thinking that something of substance would occur, but no it was just a ride back followed by that eye thing. Made no sense, very pretentious and contrived in my book. I knew the end about 3/4 through, but was hoping for the double negaitive. The acting was very good though, and I'll rent it when it comes out as I'd like to see which clues I missed, similar to "The Sixth Sense". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
OliverH.Feb 24, 2010
As a character development piece, sure, it's a decent film. Nice cinematography. Good directing, as well. Too bad the story is boring hogwash. Remember that movie, The Village? Same kind of stupidity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NicholasWFeb 25, 2010
While I left this movie completely blown away, I understand why many felt let down. They entire movie is spent like Edgar Allan Poe's Tell-Tale Heart. You are going insane alongside the main character. You are as confused as he is, and While I left this movie completely blown away, I understand why many felt let down. They entire movie is spent like Edgar Allan Poe's Tell-Tale Heart. You are going insane alongside the main character. You are as confused as he is, and just as scared for his life as him. By the ending, as any good movie would have it, you want the main character to be so right! I can't say more without ruining it. One thing that is great about this movie is that everything done unconventionally is completely on purpose. The shot length, the way supporting characters act, the "sloppy" editing. It all pays out in the end. Yes, at first I was angry at the ending, but the very end makes it that much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MathewBFeb 25, 2010
Long, dull, often pointless, and yes criminally predictable. Good production values, and some good performances (some bad ones too) cannot make-up for a film that consists of little more than exposition. There must be 20 scenes involving Long, dull, often pointless, and yes criminally predictable. Good production values, and some good performances (some bad ones too) cannot make-up for a film that consists of little more than exposition. There must be 20 scenes involving various characters giving speeches. Yikes... The movie consist of long speech, silly flashback, long speech, silly flashback, over and over again until the not so surprising conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimonFeb 26, 2010
Starts off a little slow but really picks up by the end. The story isn't bad and it is worth seeing for Leonardo DiCaprio's performance alone. What an actor!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasonMFeb 28, 2010
Shutter Island is undoubtedly a flawed movie, but does not fail to entertain by any means. Let's start with the bad stuff. Shutter Island might be Scorcese's worst directing job of all time. The dialogue is often corny and overly Shutter Island is undoubtedly a flawed movie, but does not fail to entertain by any means. Let's start with the bad stuff. Shutter Island might be Scorcese's worst directing job of all time. The dialogue is often corny and overly explanatory, a few key actors were very poor (the Deputy Warden comes to mind), certain scenes progess with video-game-like logic, and the musical score at certain times in the film was downright befuddling. Dare I say, Scorcese didn't need to direct this film, and it might have been BETTER executed by a less highly-touted director. Fear not, there's plenty of good stuff too. Despite the movie's length, I found myself rapt with attention throughout, wondering what secrets of Shutter Island would be unveiled next. Much of the acting is quite good, including the performances of Ben Kingsley and Patricia Clarkson. And while I certainly wouldn't dare reveal the "twist" in Shutter Island, the film definitely leaves you guessing until the end. Again, this was a fine and amusing film, but it might have been much better in the hands of, say, M. Night Shyamalan? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WilliamBMar 1, 2010
For me it was suspenseful from beginning to end. My question is, considering his demeanor and the question DiCaprio's character asks at the end, was he still in denial or trying to engineer another way of escape from his torment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JonW.Mar 16, 2010
Marty, Marty, why did you waste two hours of my life? I'm almost incredulous that a director of his caliber could make something so laughably bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
Qy.Mar 16, 2010
I was very disappointed by the story and the sound/music effect, it became very annoying to watch. There is absolutely no twist what so ever, the story just dread on and on. I give it a 2 for the good acting of DiCaprio and some good visual effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
kyleb.Mar 17, 2010
Everybody who gave this movie a bad rating obviously did not understand it, and the only reason you would not be able to understand it is if they didn't have a brain. i however thought this movie was amazing. Leonardo Dicaprio gives the Everybody who gave this movie a bad rating obviously did not understand it, and the only reason you would not be able to understand it is if they didn't have a brain. i however thought this movie was amazing. Leonardo Dicaprio gives the performance of a lifetime. he is definitely one of the best actors of this generation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DarylSMar 18, 2010
Not what I was expecting and not that memorable a movie. It may make a good rental but not worth the admission price. The music is unbearably inappropriate for most scenes and the ending could have been a lot better. The only bright spot was Not what I was expecting and not that memorable a movie. It may make a good rental but not worth the admission price. The music is unbearably inappropriate for most scenes and the ending could have been a lot better. The only bright spot was DiCaprio, he gave his character the emotional range it needed though the talent of the other actors was mostly under-utilized. Ben Kingsley and Max Von Sydow could have done much more to support the film had they been allowed. I'm being generous giving it a 5 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChuckLMar 18, 2010
SHUTTER ISLAND, which I indeed admire, is nonetheless one of the most emotionally unpleasant films I've ever seen. In retrospect I was struck by how closely its narrative template conforms to Robert Bloch's script for the 1962 SHUTTER ISLAND, which I indeed admire, is nonetheless one of the most emotionally unpleasant films I've ever seen. In retrospect I was struck by how closely its narrative template conforms to Robert Bloch's script for the 1962 remake of THE CABINET OF CALIGARI (directed by Roger Kay). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MovieFanMar 21, 2010
This movie is such a breath of fresh air. A very classy thriller, finally with an ending that delivers! How could you NOT like this movie...?!?!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamSMar 20, 2010
Great film and super ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.S.Mar 27, 2010
If you're looking for a classic anti-hollywood surreal/pshyco/thriller movie, then by all means you must watch this movie. People who dont like this movie were the ones expecting an over-the-top horror-thriller that doesnt require If you're looking for a classic anti-hollywood surreal/pshyco/thriller movie, then by all means you must watch this movie. People who dont like this movie were the ones expecting an over-the-top horror-thriller that doesnt require thinking. This movie does, indeed make you think but the script is not by any means confusing, cheating or misleading, and the plethora of people who say it is just didnt want to think. Also, the ending is probably one of the best I have ever witnessed. Who could have thought that any one-liner could have possibly wrapped up a movie so well? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimLMar 29, 2010
Great movie with a very smart ending. Warning: You need a high IQ to appreciate and actually understand this movie in its entirety. Hence why there is such extreme variance in user ratings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnMar 31, 2010
Martin and Leo best director actor combo in a long time... The only people who didn't like this movie are closed minded people who can't deal with surprises.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaigeCMar 6, 2010
It makes you wonder, and question the ending. Was that his destiny, or was DiCaprio's character always in that situation? It can go either way. Granted, the music was a bit off, and it did take away from how the true feeling of certain It makes you wonder, and question the ending. Was that his destiny, or was DiCaprio's character always in that situation? It can go either way. Granted, the music was a bit off, and it did take away from how the true feeling of certain events should feel like. The acting was great, and it keeps you guessing until the end, and even after. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
danhMar 7, 2010
This is one of the worst movies I have ever had to endure. Totally unbelievable, music is horrible, story is dull and tiring. Leo, should have stayed on any island but this one. Save yourself from this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanW.Mar 8, 2010
While I enjoyed watching this nifty little diversion, it's best if you forget who's in the director's chair. This is (very) minor Scorsese, so set your expectations accordingly! Ignoring that, this is unabashed hardboiled While I enjoyed watching this nifty little diversion, it's best if you forget who's in the director's chair. This is (very) minor Scorsese, so set your expectations accordingly! Ignoring that, this is unabashed hardboiled pulp, lifted above it's rote script by elegant cinematography, excellent acting and a palpable sense of dread. Worth a viewing, just don't expect it to stay with you for long after you've left the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BuckmanB.Mar 9, 2010
Great movie! This is one of those movies you need to watch twice to understand it all, and I'm sure I'll enjoy it more the second time. It's very confusing and then it all comes together at the end. GREAT MOVIE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DevonS.Apr 12, 2010
This movie is great in the fact that it makes you truly question the disturbing reality the character is trapped inside of. You are inside the head of this man. You do not know what to believe. If you're going to call this This movie is great in the fact that it makes you truly question the disturbing reality the character is trapped inside of. You are inside the head of this man. You do not know what to believe. If you're going to call this Scorsese's Hitchcock movie, then it accomplishes it's objective nearly perfectly. It forces the audience to get inside the head of the insane, making it nearly impossible to distinguish truth from reality. You don't want to believe the ending but you are forced to accept it. That's brilliant. I would give this film higher but the groundwork was pretty much laid out for the director by the psycho genius Hitchcock himself. Still, it's execution couldn't get much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
michelelApr 5, 2010
I seriously thought about leaving 20 minutes in but I still had popcorn. I thought, okay.... let me give it a chance. It had bits and pieces that were actually pretty good, but all of those pieces just didn't fit together. I felt like I seriously thought about leaving 20 minutes in but I still had popcorn. I thought, okay.... let me give it a chance. It had bits and pieces that were actually pretty good, but all of those pieces just didn't fit together. I felt like I'd been broken up with at the end and wasn't allowed closure. If the wife was shot, why was she burning up in the apartment scene? Who actually thinks that ANY insane asylum for the CRIMINALLY insane would allow a patient free reign to interview other patients? Really??? My suspension of disbelief was suspended after the children were all bloody. I leaned to my movie partner and said... didn't they drown? Why the blood??? None of it made sense. If this was a close to the book as it gets, I don't want to read the book either. It was horrible! The popcorn was great though! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
stemesMay 20, 2010
A+ direction coupled with B-movie script. This movie was borderline horror done very well. Exceptional shots, music, acting, suspense... but far too many plotholes and a weak, predictable, run of the mill ending. I definitely recommend the A+ direction coupled with B-movie script. This movie was borderline horror done very well. Exceptional shots, music, acting, suspense... but far too many plotholes and a weak, predictable, run of the mill ending. I definitely recommend the film, but for anyone to do so to be forgiving of the plot. Once you do so, the movie is fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmeerMMay 24, 2010
Wow, just wow those are the words that come to my mouth after watching this movie. One of the best movies I have ever watched I really cant understnd ratring from sites like salon.com and newyork times or even meta crtic itself, maybe they Wow, just wow those are the words that come to my mouth after watching this movie. One of the best movies I have ever watched I really cant understnd ratring from sites like salon.com and newyork times or even meta crtic itself, maybe they need some gun shots and big phony fights to rate higher a sure shot oscar award winner Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdenCJun 9, 2010
I loved this movie, it was fast paced and intense the whole way through. I did figure out the twist about half-way through the movie but still loved the ending and there is even a second and third twist if you look hard enough! Everything in I loved this movie, it was fast paced and intense the whole way through. I did figure out the twist about half-way through the movie but still loved the ending and there is even a second and third twist if you look hard enough! Everything in the movie was intentional when you look at it from an intellectual point of view, if you didn't rate this film highly I suggest you watch it again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewLJun 9, 2010
Clever and deep, its dark storyline emits such beauty, "Shutter Island" is a mystery worth remembering for the decade! Grand performances, A-class director aces this one!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanSJun 9, 2010
My sisters loved this movie, I thought it was splendid as well the story behind it is engaging and thrills and chills you to the bone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HollyCJun 9, 2010
A Very twisted movie! Love the romantic sickness of it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerCFeb 19, 2010
Leonardo Dicaprio is the penultimate actor of his generation. Had this movie been released in time for Oscar consideration, Dicaprio would be going home with the Oscar. Leonardo and Martin Scorcese are a dynamic duo and hopefully will Leonardo Dicaprio is the penultimate actor of his generation. Had this movie been released in time for Oscar consideration, Dicaprio would be going home with the Oscar. Leonardo and Martin Scorcese are a dynamic duo and hopefully will continue to entertain us for many years to come. Kudos to the entire cast. A great piece of film making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillLFeb 19, 2010
It had a real "Vertigo" feel. DiCaprio & Scorsese did a beautiful job bringing the emotional torment to life. Even knowing there was a twist didn't prepare you for the climax of this psychological thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AtticusM.Feb 19, 2010
Not Scorsese's best work, but still a truly breathtaking, edge of your seat thriller. Leo gives one of the best performances of the year, truly evoking the spirit Dennis Lehane gave to Teddy Daniels in the novel. One of the vest of the Not Scorsese's best work, but still a truly breathtaking, edge of your seat thriller. Leo gives one of the best performances of the year, truly evoking the spirit Dennis Lehane gave to Teddy Daniels in the novel. One of the vest of the year so far for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MargaretD.Feb 19, 2010
So, disappointed, could not wait till it was over, I wanted to walk out but I fell asleep instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TimothyK.Feb 19, 2010
Pretentious, long, and most of all predictable. The movie has a great set up with plenty foreshadowing. The ambiance of the movie is chilling like some sort of survival horror video game. You feel like you are a part of the investigation. Pretentious, long, and most of all predictable. The movie has a great set up with plenty foreshadowing. The ambiance of the movie is chilling like some sort of survival horror video game. You feel like you are a part of the investigation. More a part of the detective work than just sitting along for the ride, however once DiCaprio starts finding out the truth or what he considers to be the truth, the movie starts unraveling to be nothing but a giant middle finger pointed at your face. You know those cheesy movies/TV shows dramas where you find out the whole thing was nothing more than a dream, well thats not the "twist" for this movie however it's a little close. You want to believe DiCaprio's character, however you realize any suspicion you had early on in the film are true. The acting is great and everyone delivers. However the story isn't fresh and this movie has already been made (figuratively speaking). You realize later that some scenes were completely unnecessary and were only meant to confuse and not offer anything to the plot. The first half of this movie had a nice steady pace like a Harley cruising down a lone highway but then this hog hits rush hour traffic halfway through and has to slug along. Every movie needs conflict and resolution, the conflict is the staff at asylum seem to be up to something (bad, horrible, evil) and the resolution is Nope, everything is good! Again a big giant middle finger at your face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffS.Feb 21, 2010
DiCaprio and Scorsese do it again, taking an heavily expended movie formula and recreated it with outstanding acting by DiCaprio and a terrific screenplay. The most remarkable aspect of this movie is, in contrary to what critics and others DiCaprio and Scorsese do it again, taking an heavily expended movie formula and recreated it with outstanding acting by DiCaprio and a terrific screenplay. The most remarkable aspect of this movie is, in contrary to what critics and others may believe, not its destination, but how it reaches its destination. As previously stated this movie uses an expended movie formula, therefore with little knowledge of the movie one can predict the ending, yet after going through the adventure poised throughout this movie all bets are off. The average viewer feels like he/she belongs in a criminally insane hospital upon viewing this film, which was most likely Scorsese's intent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dcFeb 21, 2010
Wow, this movie was amazing. My heart was racing during the movie and after it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SeanismynameFeb 21, 2010
There was an abundance of weather in this film. I remember lightning and rain. Lots of rain. Also waves smashing against rocks. Numerous matches were lit as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanW.Feb 21, 2010
I found this a masterly directed film with excellent writing, and I'm very critical of most films. Perhaps the film was long, but it didn't seem so in the theater. I don't get the reviewers who call it fatally flawed and then I found this a masterly directed film with excellent writing, and I'm very critical of most films. Perhaps the film was long, but it didn't seem so in the theater. I don't get the reviewers who call it fatally flawed and then cite the gloominess of the film as the principle evidence. Perhaps Scorcese will know next time to make a cheery movie set in a sanitorium. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeA.Feb 21, 2010
Loved this movie great acting and direction with a twist that will keep you and your friends talking about the film for days to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianMonroeFeb 22, 2010
[***SPOILER***] People who don't like this movie don't like it because it requires thinking. It does what every good book does -- demonstrates its value/meaning only by reflecting on it. By identifying with the mysterious dreams and[***SPOILER***] People who don't like this movie don't like it because it requires thinking. It does what every good book does -- demonstrates its value/meaning only by reflecting on it. By identifying with the mysterious dreams and the convincing conspiracy, we easily become imersed in a delusion -- we cheer when cars are blown up -- and then we come to sudden realization (along with the main character) that forces us to empathize with the condition of psychological paranoia and the trauma(s) which induced it; the underlying argument/theme is a view which sees such psychological neurosis as having psychological (not physiological) roots. Thus, the villain (the psychiatrist) becomes the hero, along with his psychological philosophy that people can be treated through their psyche -- not necessarily drugs/surgery. This commendable effort, though, sadly fails to provide a sustainable result and there is no other choice but to resort to psychological death for the main character. So much can be said about this; it is one the most psychologically insightful movies I've ever seen and anyone who says otherwise simply refuses to genuinely give it much thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RayR.Feb 22, 2010
This is a very complex film that keeps the audience trying to figure out what's going on until the end of the movie. It's very Hitchcockian and manipulates the viewer. This film has haunted me for over 2 days now. I hope it's This is a very complex film that keeps the audience trying to figure out what's going on until the end of the movie. It's very Hitchcockian and manipulates the viewer. This film has haunted me for over 2 days now. I hope it's not forgotten when award time comes around at the end of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottMFeb 22, 2010
Not completely successful with a first viewing--but I have a feeling it would be a different (and better) movie with a second viewing. DiCaprio is very, very good though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattF.Feb 22, 2010
Fantastic film. I think the people who didn't like this film went in expecting a typical schlocky, overly gory, horror-flick acted by perfect-looking 20 something's with their abs out. There was nothing predictable about this film, Fantastic film. I think the people who didn't like this film went in expecting a typical schlocky, overly gory, horror-flick acted by perfect-looking 20 something's with their abs out. There was nothing predictable about this film, and having not read the book I was entertained and surprised throughout. One thing that isn't being mentioned enough is how emotional this movie is. There are some truly heart-wrenching scenes in this film! This film deals with DEEP psychological traumas, and Scorsese pulls some outstanding performances out of his cast. An absolute gem of a film, do not miss! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KyleJ.Feb 22, 2010
Enjoyably dark and incredibly tense, but despite the terrific performances and atmosphere, I felt let down by the ending. It's made me think, of course, but I feel like the movie built up to a reveal that wasn't as big as it was Enjoyably dark and incredibly tense, but despite the terrific performances and atmosphere, I felt let down by the ending. It's made me think, of course, but I feel like the movie built up to a reveal that wasn't as big as it was supposed to be. Also, the soundtrack is incredibly annoying and detracts from the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JuliusJFeb 22, 2010
This is clap-trap of the highest order; a thick slab of Gothic nonsense that was hard to watch and even harder to sit through. I did like the photography, and the music was carefully chosen. I'll say it. This is Martin Scorsese's This is clap-trap of the highest order; a thick slab of Gothic nonsense that was hard to watch and even harder to sit through. I did like the photography, and the music was carefully chosen. I'll say it. This is Martin Scorsese's worst movie ever. One person clapped; another booed. The theatre was packed but I saw more people checking their cell phones than I am used to. Don't believe the hype (and don't even bother trying to work through the logic--or lack thereof--of the dramatic action). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SausageFeb 23, 2010
I wasn't expecting much with this film, but I gotta say...it really IS pretty good!! In reflection though it was a very simple story and pretty tame ending, masked by a great director and superb acting. The film does border into I wasn't expecting much with this film, but I gotta say...it really IS pretty good!! In reflection though it was a very simple story and pretty tame ending, masked by a great director and superb acting. The film does border into 50's twilight zone a few times and the ominous music does not help this vibe. Overall, its a weird, but well made psychological thriller!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanielleFeb 24, 2010
This movie was very dark and very depressing. I knew it was going to be dark before i went to see it, but there were so many disturbing images involving dead children and dead jews in nazi death camps that i had trouble keeping my eyes on This movie was very dark and very depressing. I knew it was going to be dark before i went to see it, but there were so many disturbing images involving dead children and dead jews in nazi death camps that i had trouble keeping my eyes on the screen. If you have a weak stomach, do not see this movie. Other than that, it was really good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasFeb 26, 2010
Great movie! The soundtrack was on the bad side and did not really help with the building of suspense. DiCaprio was outstanding as were the supporting cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcKFeb 28, 2010
What happens when you end up figuring out the "twist" about an hour into the movie? That happened to me, and I was bored out of my mind until they "revealed" it later on in the movie. And believe me, I'm not all that smart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimL.Mar 12, 2010
To all you retards claiming that you figured out the "twist" or that it was completely predictable...you have no idea what you're talking about. Focus really hard on the last line of the movie and you'll realize that what you To all you retards claiming that you figured out the "twist" or that it was completely predictable...you have no idea what you're talking about. Focus really hard on the last line of the movie and you'll realize that what you thought was the twist was not it at all. If you think that what the doctor describes at the end is true then you have a very low movie I.Q. and are not deserving of the greatness that Scorcese created here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TeoMar 22, 2010
The movie has its flaws, but still, it is worth watching. The message of the movie is very subtle, but I like it that it isn't one-sided. It has an anti-psychiatric approach. Not many movies dealing with it are like that. I recommend The movie has its flaws, but still, it is worth watching. The message of the movie is very subtle, but I like it that it isn't one-sided. It has an anti-psychiatric approach. Not many movies dealing with it are like that. I recommend it, despite some flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickGMar 31, 2010
Brilliant movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DominicDMar 31, 2010
I enjoyed this film.It was very entertaining, thrilling, captivating.It had flaws but it deserves a 10 from me based in comparison to other users who gave it zero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonAMay 21, 2010
This has to be one of the greatest films I've ever seen. It's smart, it's perfectly paced, and the twist in end kept me thinking for days. WARNING: you may have to have an IQ over three digits to understand this great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AJackson729Feb 19, 2011
Not one of Scorcese's better films, but it will keep you entertained. The acting is solid, and the plot keeps you engaged for most of the film. The film could have used some serious editing since it really tends to drag in that second hour.Not one of Scorcese's better films, but it will keep you entertained. The acting is solid, and the plot keeps you engaged for most of the film. The film could have used some serious editing since it really tends to drag in that second hour. The twist ending is decent, and open for interpretation. It's worth watching at least once, just don't go in with high expectations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
asylumspadezNov 24, 2011
It was ok. You see the twist well before the film is even over with and it is a little dull at times but for the most part it was interesting to watch just to see where it was going. Solid performances by the cast as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheGorillaAug 2, 2011
It's a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DarkKnightVMay 14, 2011
A very well made, suspenseful film that keeps you engaged up to the end. I've seen movies with twist endings similar to the one in "Shutter Island," but the movie is so well made that I still didn't figure it out until the final reveal. AlsoA very well made, suspenseful film that keeps you engaged up to the end. I've seen movies with twist endings similar to the one in "Shutter Island," but the movie is so well made that I still didn't figure it out until the final reveal. Also has an excellent score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuOct 27, 2013
Shutter Island is a mysterious and atmospheric horror-flick with a fantastic central performance from Leonardo DiCaprio. The finale is as emotional as things come and is truly unforgettable. Excellent stuff from Scorsese. Also... This film isShutter Island is a mysterious and atmospheric horror-flick with a fantastic central performance from Leonardo DiCaprio. The finale is as emotional as things come and is truly unforgettable. Excellent stuff from Scorsese. Also... This film is one of the best ever for repeat viewing. If you've only seen it once, I highly recommend going back and watching it again. The entire of flavor of the movie changes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JonnyFendiJan 20, 2011
SHUTTER ISLAND is a great vessel for Leonardo DiCaprio to explore his acting skill. It is quite a performance. Maybe It is not the finest, but I think thiz is one of his best performance so far. DiCaprio collaborates the fourth time withSHUTTER ISLAND is a great vessel for Leonardo DiCaprio to explore his acting skill. It is quite a performance. Maybe It is not the finest, but I think thiz is one of his best performance so far. DiCaprio collaborates the fourth time with Martin Scorsese, the last three are: GANGS OF NEW YORK (2002), THE AVIATOR (2004), and THE DEPARTED (2006). Scorsese himself is a well-grounded drama Director. His previous memorable classics are: TAXI DRIVER (1976), RAGING BULL (1980), and GOODFELLAS (1990). It is about Teddy Daniels (DiCaprio), an US Marshall comes to the island to investigates some mysterious case. The Island is the prison facility for mental illness. Thiz movie supported by high-caliber Casts, such as: Ben Kingsley, Mark Rufallo, Mark Von Sydow, Jackie Earle Haley, plus Michelle Williams. The screenplay on thiz movie is grandeur. Scorsese with his experiences arranged every scene effectively. The exploration is classic, we even could seen **** atmosphere here. The movie scores also help a lot to build such an intensive tension. The great example was on the opening scene, when Daniels and his partner arrived on the island for the first time. When they observe the surroundings preserves by maximum securities, the gates open one by one. It is just a usual scene, but the scores multiply it into ten times thrill. The twist ending is meant to be shocking. But unfortunately, I already see it where the story will go in the middle of the movie. When a conversation between Daniels and Rachel (Patricia Clarkson) on the scene in the cave. Daniels said angrily, I am an US Marshall, No one can stop me! (Spoiler Alert!) That is the time I clearly knew he was the patient. In the end, if we got a movie that every scene put in for a reason. That is the time when you already got an effective and flawless movie. Scorsese scores again!

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE on : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hellennJan 25, 2011
Impressive movie. It's been a while since I've simply sat after watching a movie and just had to think about all the events that occurred throughout. Attention to detail has me pleased but I find there are irrelevant scenes within the movieImpressive movie. It's been a while since I've simply sat after watching a movie and just had to think about all the events that occurred throughout. Attention to detail has me pleased but I find there are irrelevant scenes within the movie that honestly just drags out the movie to become slower and just aren't needed. Probably one of the most non-predictable movies I've seen for a while as well in large thanks to DiCaprio and Ruffalo's performances who had me thoroughly convinced. Perhaps the ending requires just a fraction more closure, but otherwise, a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
royalvikingJan 28, 2011
There's no accounting for taste, of course, but, in my book Shutter Island is one of the best movies of the last decade. DiCaprio is sensational; deserved an Oscar nomination. The rest of the cast, especially Kingsley, Ruffalo and Sydow,There's no accounting for taste, of course, but, in my book Shutter Island is one of the best movies of the last decade. DiCaprio is sensational; deserved an Oscar nomination. The rest of the cast, especially Kingsley, Ruffalo and Sydow, are magnificent. Affects moviegoers, I'd think, in much the same way a Lynch or a **** or a Bunuel movie might. Haunting, shattering, unique. This is bravura moviemaking. Don't believe the H8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nairByduoG15Apr 9, 2011
When all is said and done in M.S. career I believe this will go down as one of his more daring ventures. And isn't that what art is about? New expression to ones self? I'm not saying this is a ground breaking film, just that it pushes theWhen all is said and done in M.S. career I believe this will go down as one of his more daring ventures. And isn't that what art is about? New expression to ones self? I'm not saying this is a ground breaking film, just that it pushes the style of a vision. It just so happens that this vision is through the eyes of m.s.. The story is strong enough to compel you to the end of the journey. And the acting is more than satisfactory in all cases. The weakest portion of the entry is probably the dialogue. Some of the lesser characters just seem to deliver the line and exit stage left. Which don't help the film but don't necessarily hurt it either. In the end though it is the direction and attention to detail of not just the setting, pacing, acting, or genre but style brought to all of the above. Watch it again and again then tell me I'm wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CaestusDec 1, 2013
Shutter Island is a captivating movie, with an great intensity and shocking final twist. The cast and the acting are also superior, first off all Leonardo DiCaprios performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZiggyStardustJun 16, 2011
A very thrilling experience and superb acting makes this movie really worth a watch. The authenticity of this movie is really well done and it's one of the better movie adaptions. Definitely worth a watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pdvskyJul 20, 2011
this movie is a masterpiece, is one of the few movies after "fight club" that made me thing afterwards. its not a movie for everyone, a lot of people search for something Entertaining and simple that they could watch with they`re family andthis movie is a masterpiece, is one of the few movies after "fight club" that made me thing afterwards. its not a movie for everyone, a lot of people search for something Entertaining and simple that they could watch with they`re family and sleep after that. this is a movie for people that like intense thrilling movies. if you just want to see a funny entertaining movie stay far away from this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sinadoomDec 24, 2013
A predictable but nevertheless well-directed delusional thriller. The suspense could've been better and sometimes it was difficult to follow what was real and what was fake; but I guess that's a good thing because it keeps you guessing. It'sA predictable but nevertheless well-directed delusional thriller. The suspense could've been better and sometimes it was difficult to follow what was real and what was fake; but I guess that's a good thing because it keeps you guessing. It's not particularly scary or insanely intense, but is good nevertheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SachiOct 19, 2011
Shutter Island is a great film that will keep you enthralled. Leonardo Di Caprio gives a star-studded performance as always but the plot has so many twists and turns that it keeps you guessing as to what will happen next. The ending I did notShutter Island is a great film that will keep you enthralled. Leonardo Di Caprio gives a star-studded performance as always but the plot has so many twists and turns that it keeps you guessing as to what will happen next. The ending I did not see coming. Shutter Island is a thrill ride that does not fail to impress and I would recommend watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Nov 5, 2011
I personally thought this movie was great. It had great performances and a very interesting, complex, intense and thought-provoking story. It's good that Martin Scorsese is branching out of his typical crime drama films and tapping more intoI personally thought this movie was great. It had great performances and a very interesting, complex, intense and thought-provoking story. It's good that Martin Scorsese is branching out of his typical crime drama films and tapping more into movies of different genres. 4/4 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RediCeDec 12, 2011
This is one of the films which not everyone can understand. If you are one of those who can, then it is perfect for you. Not the ending , but looking after the main character is very interesting - how he evolves or degrades (up to you to decide).....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFApr 8, 2013
It's a nice change but also a concerning knock on the head when a film comes along and truly makes you question your entire beliefs and capabilities of an aspiring filmmaker, whether it be storytelling, editing or simply characterIt's a nice change but also a concerning knock on the head when a film comes along and truly makes you question your entire beliefs and capabilities of an aspiring filmmaker, whether it be storytelling, editing or simply character development, all these factors are of upmost importance.
But when Martin Scorsese comes along and absolutely turns everything on its head with Shutter Island, it always makes you question if you are able to tease, surprise and entertain the audience, something this film does over and over again with merit.
Leonardo DiCaprio stars as Teddy Daniels, a US Marshal who, along with his partner Chuck (Mark Ruffalo) are sent to the island in question, which is the base for a mental institution for the most dangerous criminally insane patients in the US.
They are sent due to the mysterious disappearance of a patient, but upon their arrival everything is not as it seems, the island is very military looking and the leading psychiatrist at the hospital, Dr Cawley (Ben Kingsley) seems very reluctant and shady when the marshals seek help in their investigation.
Teddy, meanwhile, is having visions of when he was a soldier during the Dachau liberation.
But as the film progresses, we realise that Teddy may have other reasons for taking the case, but his mind and his past soon unravel and is noticed by everyone surrounding him, which slowly eats away at his deteriorating confidence within the confines of the island.
Shutter Island puts the viewer firmly in the drivers seat, it has been perfectly filmed and edited with purposeful continuity errors so as the viewer can determine what exactly is going on, because the ending of this remarkable film will leave you shocked and confused, but will also leave you with having a lengthy debate with your friends as to what exactly was happening.
Each character is pivotal to the film and they play their part well, we aren't always sure whose side exactly they are on and we are never quite sure what exactly is going on, but this makes for an excellent thriller and one of the most thought provoking films in a while.
There are plenty of names floating around in this film that may leave you a little seasick, but it is truly magical the work that has been done, and you would be hard-pressed to find a film that truly digs into what you believe to be fact, and who you believe to be truthful.
Fantastic, thrilling and cleverly constructed work, another bright Scorsese moment.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Sevvy88Jun 7, 2013
It's a pretty solid film. Some of the scenes in it are absolutely beautifully shot in terms of color and atmosphere, and the film is tinged with a creepy surrealism that keeps you on your toes as a viewer. The hospital and island are really aIt's a pretty solid film. Some of the scenes in it are absolutely beautifully shot in terms of color and atmosphere, and the film is tinged with a creepy surrealism that keeps you on your toes as a viewer. The hospital and island are really a dreadful place! DiCaprio is one of my favorite actors, Ben Kingsley is his usual awesome self... The plot left some people a little cold because I think they were expecting something else. Watch it for its surrealism if nothing else. Not many "mainstream" movies capture Creepy Wonderland like this one does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hipposeatfreeMar 3, 2014
I Was skeptical going into it, but my skepticism soon fled me as I enjoyed every minute of this movie! It is a thriller for sure. The only thing that keeps it from being a 10/10 from me is that I saw the twist coming. Terrific film. LeonardoI Was skeptical going into it, but my skepticism soon fled me as I enjoyed every minute of this movie! It is a thriller for sure. The only thing that keeps it from being a 10/10 from me is that I saw the twist coming. Terrific film. Leonardo deserved an Oscar for this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
"Is it better to live as a monster or to die as a good man?" That is the last line in this mind bending thriller from Martin Scorsese. It perfectly describes this film, which I can honestly say is one of the smartest and most savvy films I"Is it better to live as a monster or to die as a good man?" That is the last line in this mind bending thriller from Martin Scorsese. It perfectly describes this film, which I can honestly say is one of the smartest and most savvy films I have ever seen. Leonardo DiCaprio gives his best performance to date. I've seen a lot of DiCaprio, since Titanic, we all have, and this is by far the best he's ever been. How he didn't win an Academy Award for this role is beyond me! The story is very strong and very smart. It's evident that they took their time with this one, in order to get every detail right. The ending is of course the best part. It leaves you scratching your head, going over everything you've just seen and keeps you thinking for hours. No matter how many times you see this movie, you'll always pick up on something new, each and every time. It was an amazing movie and I can't recommend it enough! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawMay 11, 2014
Scorsese and DiCaprio’s fourth collaboration, SHUTTER ISLAND is an on-the-edge-of-the-seat nail-biter, a period thriller situates at the titular island near Boston in 1954, a patient mysteriously disappears from the mental hospital on theScorsese and DiCaprio’s fourth collaboration, SHUTTER ISLAND is an on-the-edge-of-the-seat nail-biter, a period thriller situates at the titular island near Boston in 1954, a patient mysteriously disappears from the mental hospital on the island, draws the investigation of US marshal Teddy Daniels (DiCaprio) and his subordinate Chuck Aule (Ruffalo). But on the sly Teddy volunteers the task under a more personal motivation, he is after a pyromania who is responsible for the killing of his wife Dolores (Williams).

read rest of the review on my blog, google cinema omnivore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlvaradoKTAJun 7, 2012
If thrillers are your thing ,watching this is logical. Martin Scorsese directed this so this should be on your watch list anyway. DiCaprio plays U.S. Marshal Edward Daniels, and his performance delivers. The supporting cast also does a greatIf thrillers are your thing ,watching this is logical. Martin Scorsese directed this so this should be on your watch list anyway. DiCaprio plays U.S. Marshal Edward Daniels, and his performance delivers. The supporting cast also does a great job. The script play is amazing.It is a bit boring the first 40 minutes, but it gets really good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KingGeorgeMar 3, 2012
This film offers suspense, mystery and altogether an exasperating experience. DiCaprio's performance is among his greatest and Scorsese certainly delivers. The plot of this film offers an incredible twist that is comparable to that of FightThis film offers suspense, mystery and altogether an exasperating experience. DiCaprio's performance is among his greatest and Scorsese certainly delivers. The plot of this film offers an incredible twist that is comparable to that of Fight Club or Sixth Sense. Definitely worth watching! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
While Shutter Island may be one of Scorsese's weaker efforts, DiCaprio along with Ben Kingsley are able to generate two exciting performances in a moderately thrilling atmosphere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews