Paramount Pictures | Release Date: February 19, 2010
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1163 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,015
Mixed:
89
Negative:
59
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RogerCFeb 19, 2010
Leonardo Dicaprio is the penultimate actor of his generation. Had this movie been released in time for Oscar consideration, Dicaprio would be going home with the Oscar. Leonardo and Martin Scorcese are a dynamic duo and hopefully will Leonardo Dicaprio is the penultimate actor of his generation. Had this movie been released in time for Oscar consideration, Dicaprio would be going home with the Oscar. Leonardo and Martin Scorcese are a dynamic duo and hopefully will continue to entertain us for many years to come. Kudos to the entire cast. A great piece of film making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillLFeb 19, 2010
It had a real "Vertigo" feel. DiCaprio & Scorsese did a beautiful job bringing the emotional torment to life. Even knowing there was a twist didn't prepare you for the climax of this psychological thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AtticusM.Feb 19, 2010
Not Scorsese's best work, but still a truly breathtaking, edge of your seat thriller. Leo gives one of the best performances of the year, truly evoking the spirit Dennis Lehane gave to Teddy Daniels in the novel. One of the vest of the Not Scorsese's best work, but still a truly breathtaking, edge of your seat thriller. Leo gives one of the best performances of the year, truly evoking the spirit Dennis Lehane gave to Teddy Daniels in the novel. One of the vest of the year so far for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MargaretD.Feb 19, 2010
So, disappointed, could not wait till it was over, I wanted to walk out but I fell asleep instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TimothyK.Feb 19, 2010
Pretentious, long, and most of all predictable. The movie has a great set up with plenty foreshadowing. The ambiance of the movie is chilling like some sort of survival horror video game. You feel like you are a part of the investigation. Pretentious, long, and most of all predictable. The movie has a great set up with plenty foreshadowing. The ambiance of the movie is chilling like some sort of survival horror video game. You feel like you are a part of the investigation. More a part of the detective work than just sitting along for the ride, however once DiCaprio starts finding out the truth or what he considers to be the truth, the movie starts unraveling to be nothing but a giant middle finger pointed at your face. You know those cheesy movies/TV shows dramas where you find out the whole thing was nothing more than a dream, well thats not the "twist" for this movie however it's a little close. You want to believe DiCaprio's character, however you realize any suspicion you had early on in the film are true. The acting is great and everyone delivers. However the story isn't fresh and this movie has already been made (figuratively speaking). You realize later that some scenes were completely unnecessary and were only meant to confuse and not offer anything to the plot. The first half of this movie had a nice steady pace like a Harley cruising down a lone highway but then this hog hits rush hour traffic halfway through and has to slug along. Every movie needs conflict and resolution, the conflict is the staff at asylum seem to be up to something (bad, horrible, evil) and the resolution is Nope, everything is good! Again a big giant middle finger at your face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffS.Feb 21, 2010
DiCaprio and Scorsese do it again, taking an heavily expended movie formula and recreated it with outstanding acting by DiCaprio and a terrific screenplay. The most remarkable aspect of this movie is, in contrary to what critics and others DiCaprio and Scorsese do it again, taking an heavily expended movie formula and recreated it with outstanding acting by DiCaprio and a terrific screenplay. The most remarkable aspect of this movie is, in contrary to what critics and others may believe, not its destination, but how it reaches its destination. As previously stated this movie uses an expended movie formula, therefore with little knowledge of the movie one can predict the ending, yet after going through the adventure poised throughout this movie all bets are off. The average viewer feels like he/she belongs in a criminally insane hospital upon viewing this film, which was most likely Scorsese's intent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dcFeb 21, 2010
Wow, this movie was amazing. My heart was racing during the movie and after it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SeanismynameFeb 21, 2010
There was an abundance of weather in this film. I remember lightning and rain. Lots of rain. Also waves smashing against rocks. Numerous matches were lit as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanW.Feb 21, 2010
I found this a masterly directed film with excellent writing, and I'm very critical of most films. Perhaps the film was long, but it didn't seem so in the theater. I don't get the reviewers who call it fatally flawed and then I found this a masterly directed film with excellent writing, and I'm very critical of most films. Perhaps the film was long, but it didn't seem so in the theater. I don't get the reviewers who call it fatally flawed and then cite the gloominess of the film as the principle evidence. Perhaps Scorcese will know next time to make a cheery movie set in a sanitorium. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeA.Feb 21, 2010
Loved this movie great acting and direction with a twist that will keep you and your friends talking about the film for days to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianMonroeFeb 22, 2010
[***SPOILER***] People who don't like this movie don't like it because it requires thinking. It does what every good book does -- demonstrates its value/meaning only by reflecting on it. By identifying with the mysterious dreams and[***SPOILER***] People who don't like this movie don't like it because it requires thinking. It does what every good book does -- demonstrates its value/meaning only by reflecting on it. By identifying with the mysterious dreams and the convincing conspiracy, we easily become imersed in a delusion -- we cheer when cars are blown up -- and then we come to sudden realization (along with the main character) that forces us to empathize with the condition of psychological paranoia and the trauma(s) which induced it; the underlying argument/theme is a view which sees such psychological neurosis as having psychological (not physiological) roots. Thus, the villain (the psychiatrist) becomes the hero, along with his psychological philosophy that people can be treated through their psyche -- not necessarily drugs/surgery. This commendable effort, though, sadly fails to provide a sustainable result and there is no other choice but to resort to psychological death for the main character. So much can be said about this; it is one the most psychologically insightful movies I've ever seen and anyone who says otherwise simply refuses to genuinely give it much thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RayR.Feb 22, 2010
This is a very complex film that keeps the audience trying to figure out what's going on until the end of the movie. It's very Hitchcockian and manipulates the viewer. This film has haunted me for over 2 days now. I hope it's This is a very complex film that keeps the audience trying to figure out what's going on until the end of the movie. It's very Hitchcockian and manipulates the viewer. This film has haunted me for over 2 days now. I hope it's not forgotten when award time comes around at the end of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottMFeb 22, 2010
Not completely successful with a first viewing--but I have a feeling it would be a different (and better) movie with a second viewing. DiCaprio is very, very good though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattF.Feb 22, 2010
Fantastic film. I think the people who didn't like this film went in expecting a typical schlocky, overly gory, horror-flick acted by perfect-looking 20 something's with their abs out. There was nothing predictable about this film, Fantastic film. I think the people who didn't like this film went in expecting a typical schlocky, overly gory, horror-flick acted by perfect-looking 20 something's with their abs out. There was nothing predictable about this film, and having not read the book I was entertained and surprised throughout. One thing that isn't being mentioned enough is how emotional this movie is. There are some truly heart-wrenching scenes in this film! This film deals with DEEP psychological traumas, and Scorsese pulls some outstanding performances out of his cast. An absolute gem of a film, do not miss! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KyleJ.Feb 22, 2010
Enjoyably dark and incredibly tense, but despite the terrific performances and atmosphere, I felt let down by the ending. It's made me think, of course, but I feel like the movie built up to a reveal that wasn't as big as it was Enjoyably dark and incredibly tense, but despite the terrific performances and atmosphere, I felt let down by the ending. It's made me think, of course, but I feel like the movie built up to a reveal that wasn't as big as it was supposed to be. Also, the soundtrack is incredibly annoying and detracts from the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JuliusJFeb 22, 2010
This is clap-trap of the highest order; a thick slab of Gothic nonsense that was hard to watch and even harder to sit through. I did like the photography, and the music was carefully chosen. I'll say it. This is Martin Scorsese's This is clap-trap of the highest order; a thick slab of Gothic nonsense that was hard to watch and even harder to sit through. I did like the photography, and the music was carefully chosen. I'll say it. This is Martin Scorsese's worst movie ever. One person clapped; another booed. The theatre was packed but I saw more people checking their cell phones than I am used to. Don't believe the hype (and don't even bother trying to work through the logic--or lack thereof--of the dramatic action). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SausageFeb 23, 2010
I wasn't expecting much with this film, but I gotta say...it really IS pretty good!! In reflection though it was a very simple story and pretty tame ending, masked by a great director and superb acting. The film does border into I wasn't expecting much with this film, but I gotta say...it really IS pretty good!! In reflection though it was a very simple story and pretty tame ending, masked by a great director and superb acting. The film does border into 50's twilight zone a few times and the ominous music does not help this vibe. Overall, its a weird, but well made psychological thriller!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanielleFeb 24, 2010
This movie was very dark and very depressing. I knew it was going to be dark before i went to see it, but there were so many disturbing images involving dead children and dead jews in nazi death camps that i had trouble keeping my eyes on This movie was very dark and very depressing. I knew it was going to be dark before i went to see it, but there were so many disturbing images involving dead children and dead jews in nazi death camps that i had trouble keeping my eyes on the screen. If you have a weak stomach, do not see this movie. Other than that, it was really good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasFeb 26, 2010
Great movie! The soundtrack was on the bad side and did not really help with the building of suspense. DiCaprio was outstanding as were the supporting cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcKFeb 28, 2010
What happens when you end up figuring out the "twist" about an hour into the movie? That happened to me, and I was bored out of my mind until they "revealed" it later on in the movie. And believe me, I'm not all that smart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimL.Mar 12, 2010
To all you retards claiming that you figured out the "twist" or that it was completely predictable...you have no idea what you're talking about. Focus really hard on the last line of the movie and you'll realize that what you To all you retards claiming that you figured out the "twist" or that it was completely predictable...you have no idea what you're talking about. Focus really hard on the last line of the movie and you'll realize that what you thought was the twist was not it at all. If you think that what the doctor describes at the end is true then you have a very low movie I.Q. and are not deserving of the greatness that Scorcese created here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TeoMar 22, 2010
The movie has its flaws, but still, it is worth watching. The message of the movie is very subtle, but I like it that it isn't one-sided. It has an anti-psychiatric approach. Not many movies dealing with it are like that. I recommend The movie has its flaws, but still, it is worth watching. The message of the movie is very subtle, but I like it that it isn't one-sided. It has an anti-psychiatric approach. Not many movies dealing with it are like that. I recommend it, despite some flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickGMar 31, 2010
Brilliant movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DominicDMar 31, 2010
I enjoyed this film.It was very entertaining, thrilling, captivating.It had flaws but it deserves a 10 from me based in comparison to other users who gave it zero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonAMay 21, 2010
This has to be one of the greatest films I've ever seen. It's smart, it's perfectly paced, and the twist in end kept me thinking for days. WARNING: you may have to have an IQ over three digits to understand this great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerD.Jun 12, 2010
Amazing movie. I was literally sitting on the edge of my seat the entire time. Just incredible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NathanL.Jun 12, 2010
Shutter Island Review My Letter to To Tony Scott and Michael Phillips, My comment here is in response to your review of Shutter Island. I must start by saying that I strongly respect your (A.O. and Michael) opinions. I have respected you as Shutter Island Review My Letter to To Tony Scott and Michael Phillips, My comment here is in response to your review of Shutter Island. I must start by saying that I strongly respect your (A.O. and Michael) opinions. I have respected you as journalists and film critics for a very long time and still hold your opinions in high regard (as I always will). I strongly agreed with your strong feelings for Where the Wild Things Are (my 2nd favorite of last year) and will consistently watch your show as I believe there could not be a better team to take up the mantle for the great Gene Siskel and Roger Ebert (who loved Shutter Island). However, I have such an immense respect for Shutter Island that I cannot let this pass. I actually would argue that this is one of Scorsese's Ten Best (more towards the bottom of that ten to be fair). I also think that it holds a better performance by Leonardo DiCaprio than any other performance last year aside from maybe Waltz and Mo'nique (definately better than the five nominated for best picture). A film, as you know, is a some of it's parts. And this film is, in every part, damn near perfect. It looks phenomenal! The color and lighting in this film help differentiate mood and tone with a clear eloquence while evoking some of the great noir films of old. The musical selections here are dark and over the top when needed but, also subtle and quite beautiful when necessary. The slow repetition of the single piano note with the constant knock is more creepy than any foreboding I've heard in other films of this genre. The production design is of the highest order. It is very important that the island become a character in this film. It is important that it create, with it's sheer look, a belief in the creepy possibilities that lay beneath the heart of Teddy's investigation. It does this and then some. Every rock, every cliff, every building, and every wall feels like it is a living, breathing entity. However, it must also remain distant and dream like. An unbelievble location where things exist that only exist in nightmares. The editing in this movie is so perfect that I was actually offended the second time I watched it and the projectionist botched the reel change. This is a very common thing but, given the perfection of that scene it was kind of infuriating to see it ruined. I am an editor and a filmmaker. I watch 100's of movies a year that feel rushed in the editing process. I can almost picture the guy running through his clips by the numbers. Most films, even good ones, feel either rushed or lazy. Thelma Schoonmaker, on the other hand, creates a pace that determines to be viewed. She knows when to let it simmer and when to move. This is why watching a Scorsese film is always a priviledge. Now, I could go deeply into the perfection of the costume design, sound mixing, or the brilliant foley work that goes on here but, you would be reading all day. I come from a line of broadway actors, music producers, and sound engineers so we live and breath the technical side of things. And I must tell you guys that it is seldom ever done as perfectly as it is here (certainly better than The Hurt Locker which every one is head over heels for right now). However, I understand that this does not work unless the plot and the actors work. And this gentlemen is where Shutter Island shines brightest. Only once every couple of years it seems that there is a film that demands to be seen twice. A film that can actually evoke a whole different set of emotions the second time around. A film that rewards its audience for multiple viewings. This is that film. It plays like a twisting spiral of events where Teddy meets a series of intriguing characters that seem to be pointing him in the direction of a big conspiracy. These scenes are allowed to breath and play out organically through dialogue and then are analyzed by Teddy's nightmares. These scenes are fantastic. They don't feel like never ending expositions. They feel like a game of chess that that in the intial viewing is viewed by the opposing team and the second time around by the home team. And it is a very different feeling each time. The first time I watched this movie, after reading many reviews, I found myself so wrapped up in the investigation that when Teddy discovers the truth I was as unwilling to accept it as he was. I tried to pick apart every piece of logic and throw it to the side. I held this hope all the way to the last frame and I left the theater in love with a film that left me unsatisfied. It made me think about it long after it was over and it haunted my dreams with the thoughts of one of the most horrific events imaginable. What you found to be going a bit to far I found to be exactly what a horror film is meant to do. Now, horror seems to me how violent and disgusting can you be. This movie is neither one of things. It is truly horrific! I am a father (as I know you two are) of two little girls and a boy. So, the events in this film left me very bruised and caused my wife to squirm in her seat for the last half hour. This is what it meant to do. This is what true horror is suppose to do. I applaude its willingness to be horrific without being disgusting. True horror is much harder to find. Anyways, after a day of thinking about this film I had to go back to see it again. And boy am I glad I did. It was like watching a completely different film. I could see how the game was laid out. I understood when little bits of dialogue were used to jar Teddy's memory. I understood what every reference was. Many times in tricky films like this the dialogue appears vague or like they cheated to get you to look the other way. It can sometimes be very insulting to an audience member. This film rewards your attentiveness and your intelligence. When re-viewing it you can feel the punch to the head that various things characters say really are and why he is trying so hard to repress his emotions. And the final revelation on second viewing brought me to tears. That scene by the lake is truly one of the best constructed scenes (in all departments) that I have seen in my life. Also, I realized more clearly that this movie does not answer all of it's secrets until the final words. After DiCaprio calls Ruffalo "Chuck" (revealing to Dr. Sheehan that his patient has regressed and he has failed) he delivers the most important line of the film. He says, "You know. I wonder if it is better to live as a monster or die a good man." In this scene Dr. Sheehan and the audience realize that Teddy is bluffing. He wants to die. His horrors are to much to live with and if he cannot have his alternate reality than he would rather be labotimized. This is pretty powerful stuff for a genre style film noir. Well, that is because this is better than a traditional film noir. It has all of the perfect ingredients to be a classic B "noir" movie but, it's directed by a man who understands how many layers can be put on a cake and still have it taste perfect. I am very impressed with this film. And I am very disappointed in the passive review that it seemed to receive from the two of you. I think that this film deserved a little more respect. So, that is my two cents (for what it's worth) and I hope that I have not offended you at all. I do respect the both of you very much. I just believe that you missed the ball on this "Outstanding" film and I had to call you out. Very Respectfully, Nathan Ligon. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NickG.Jun 19, 2010
One of the best plot twists I've ever seen in a movie, completely caught me off guard. Plus it has a great story. However, the movie does have a few slow moments that prevent me from giving it a 10.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
BlackFalconSep 23, 2010
(Ignore the review I had with a 10. Not sure why the page reverted back to that score)

"Meh" about sums it up. The acting was good, with a decent idea for a story, but the ending was hugely predictable, even from the previews. The length was
(Ignore the review I had with a 10. Not sure why the page reverted back to that score)

"Meh" about sums it up. The acting was good, with a decent idea for a story, but the ending was hugely predictable, even from the previews. The length was expected of Scorsese, which actually hurt the movie. It would've been much more bearable if the ending we knew was coming would have arrived 20-30 minutes earlier. Add in a couple of blatantly unrealistic moments such as the scene where the storm's rolling in and tree branches are whipping by at 80 mph, but the people are able to practically jog with no hindrance from the gale blowing around them. Really, Scorsese? You've been in the business that long and didn't even see that flaw?
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
2
AttmfkSep 24, 2010
This movie had to be one of the worst films of the year. The most disappointing of all is that it was put together by one of the greatest film directors and an A-list actor. Please make sure you don't waste your time checking this film out!
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
DirtypoatoesSep 27, 2010
I worked it out after 20 minutes and fell asleep 10 minutes to the end and had to rewind to find out it I was right. Scorsese got carried away with the wind machine and an over blown score. Can't believe most of the critics loved it.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
royalvikingJan 28, 2011
There's no accounting for taste, of course, but, in my book Shutter Island is one of the best movies of the last decade. DiCaprio is sensational; deserved an Oscar nomination. The rest of the cast, especially Kingsley, Ruffalo and Sydow,There's no accounting for taste, of course, but, in my book Shutter Island is one of the best movies of the last decade. DiCaprio is sensational; deserved an Oscar nomination. The rest of the cast, especially Kingsley, Ruffalo and Sydow, are magnificent. Affects moviegoers, I'd think, in much the same way a Lynch or a **** or a Bunuel movie might. Haunting, shattering, unique. This is bravura moviemaking. Don't believe the H8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nairByduoG15Apr 9, 2011
When all is said and done in M.S. career I believe this will go down as one of his more daring ventures. And isn't that what art is about? New expression to ones self? I'm not saying this is a ground breaking film, just that it pushes theWhen all is said and done in M.S. career I believe this will go down as one of his more daring ventures. And isn't that what art is about? New expression to ones self? I'm not saying this is a ground breaking film, just that it pushes the style of a vision. It just so happens that this vision is through the eyes of m.s.. The story is strong enough to compel you to the end of the journey. And the acting is more than satisfactory in all cases. The weakest portion of the entry is probably the dialogue. Some of the lesser characters just seem to deliver the line and exit stage left. Which don't help the film but don't necessarily hurt it either. In the end though it is the direction and attention to detail of not just the setting, pacing, acting, or genre but style brought to all of the above. Watch it again and again then tell me I'm wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pdvskyJul 20, 2011
this movie is a masterpiece, is one of the few movies after "fight club" that made me thing afterwards. its not a movie for everyone, a lot of people search for something Entertaining and simple that they could watch with they`re family andthis movie is a masterpiece, is one of the few movies after "fight club" that made me thing afterwards. its not a movie for everyone, a lot of people search for something Entertaining and simple that they could watch with they`re family and sleep after that. this is a movie for people that like intense thrilling movies. if you just want to see a funny entertaining movie stay far away from this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RediCeDec 12, 2011
This is one of the films which not everyone can understand. If you are one of those who can, then it is perfect for you. Not the ending , but looking after the main character is very interesting - how he evolves or degrades (up to you to decide).....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
GREW50MEJul 15, 2012
With extremely loud non-sensical music, a very predictable plot, and some extremely seroous over-acting, this is the worst suspense fulm I have ever seen. Everybody involed with this disaster needs to go back to film school.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndJustice4UApr 28, 2013
i love this film. its one of those films you can watch over and over and you'll not get bored of it, you will also find new things every time as well. there are a few continuity errors, but whatever. its a shame this film fell under thei love this film. its one of those films you can watch over and over and you'll not get bored of it, you will also find new things every time as well. there are a few continuity errors, but whatever. its a shame this film fell under the success of inception in its genre, because its a modern classic. everyone fulfills their role perfectly and contribute to the atmosphere that scorsese aimed to create. the end leaves you questioning what happened next, and whether you understood i properly, like TDKR. This film keeps you interested all the way through, the ending is hinted at, but its not obvious. splendid film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews