Shutter Island

Shutter Island Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1085 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Shutter Island is the story of two U.S. marshals, Teddy Daniels and Chuck Aule, who are summoned to a remote and barren island off the cost of Massachusetts to investigate the mysterious disappearance of a murderess from the island's fortress-like hospital for the criminally insane.Shutter Island is the story of two U.S. marshals, Teddy Daniels and Chuck Aule, who are summoned to a remote and barren island off the cost of Massachusetts to investigate the mysterious disappearance of a murderess from the island's fortress-like hospital for the criminally insane. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. When was the last time you had to wait until the final sentence of a film to understand all the details? When was the last time you went to a genre movie – or what looked like one in spooky trailers – and realized the director had fulfilled that promise and meditated on his favorite topic? Shutter Island does just that.
  2. 88
    DiCaprio, in his most haunting and emotionally complex performance yet, is the vessel Scorsese uses to lead us through the film’s laby­rinth.
  3. It's not a great movie so much as it is great moviemaking. It's basically a potboiler genre film, a B-movie with big talent attached.
  4. 70
    What Scorsese brings to the table, having created more than his share of rascally villains, is a renewed sense of horror and despair at the power of evil.
  5. This quasi-horror film has the great director's usual craftsmanship and a stellar cast, but ultimately it's an infuriating trick that makes its most provocative ideas disappear.
  6. Shutter Island is slumming: minor but enjoyably nuts.
  7. 20
    Something TERRIBLE is afoot. Sadly, that something turns out to be the movie itself.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 236
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    I'll keep it short. This film is one of the best films I have seen recently. So intense, thrilling and it keeps you to the edge of your seat.I'll keep it short. This film is one of the best films I have seen recently. So intense, thrilling and it keeps you to the edge of your seat. From prologue to the epilogue it's so perfect. What can you expect more from a director of his caliber.!!!!! Expand
  2. JoeM
    Apr 2, 2010
    10
    If avatar is the best action movie, this one is the best thriller movie !!! Leo is awesome in this movie!
  3. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    I rather enjoyed this psychological thriller by none other than Martin Scorsese. Leonardo Di Caprio, Mark Ruffalo and Ben Kingsly areI rather enjoyed this psychological thriller by none other than Martin Scorsese. Leonardo Di Caprio, Mark Ruffalo and Ben Kingsly are fantastic throughout and upon repeat viewings, the audience will notice that the perspective of the film changes. It is a highly intelligent, well prepared film that deserves the highest of accolades. Expand
  4. May 14, 2011
    8
    A very well made, suspenseful film that keeps you engaged up to the end. I've seen movies with twist endings similar to the one in "ShutterA very well made, suspenseful film that keeps you engaged up to the end. I've seen movies with twist endings similar to the one in "Shutter Island," but the movie is so well made that I still didn't figure it out until the final reveal. Also has an excellent score. Expand
  5. May 10, 2013
    7
    "Shutter Island" combines an interresting story with mindbending moments, but its regular dull acting, failed moments of horror and overly"Shutter Island" combines an interresting story with mindbending moments, but its regular dull acting, failed moments of horror and overly dramatic soundtrack keep it from becoming the masterpiece it should have been. Expand
  6. JamesH
    Jun 10, 2010
    6
    The cinematography is very impressive and the supporting cast is exceptionally good. Patricia Clarkson and Mark Ruffalo stand out. Ben Kingsley
  7. KimmyV
    Mar 6, 2010
    0
    Don't even waste your precious time on this movie. Boring at best. What was Scorsese thinking? Too bad, since you can usually count on a Don't even waste your precious time on this movie. Boring at best. What was Scorsese thinking? Too bad, since you can usually count on a great film with the featured actors and director. Expand

See all 236 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Verdict on This Weekend's Movies: Scorsese vs. Polanski

    The Verdict on This Weekend's Movies: Scorsese vs. Polanski Image
    Published: February 18, 2010
    What should you see this weekend? We compare this weekend's new releases: "Shutter Island" and "The Ghost Writer."
  2. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.