Shutter Island

Shutter Island Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Shutter Island is the story of two U.S. marshals, Teddy Daniels and Chuck Aule, who are summoned to a remote and barren island off the cost of Massachusetts to investigate the mysterious disappearance of a murderess from the island's fortress-like hospital for the criminally insane.Shutter Island is the story of two U.S. marshals, Teddy Daniels and Chuck Aule, who are summoned to a remote and barren island off the cost of Massachusetts to investigate the mysterious disappearance of a murderess from the island's fortress-like hospital for the criminally insane. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. When was the last time you had to wait until the final sentence of a film to understand all the details? When was the last time you went to a genre movie – or what looked like one in spooky trailers – and realized the director had fulfilled that promise and meditated on his favorite topic? Shutter Island does just that.
  2. 88
    DiCaprio, in his most haunting and emotionally complex performance yet, is the vessel Scorsese uses to lead us through the film’s laby­rinth.
  3. It's not a great movie so much as it is great moviemaking. It's basically a potboiler genre film, a B-movie with big talent attached.
  4. 70
    What Scorsese brings to the table, having created more than his share of rascally villains, is a renewed sense of horror and despair at the power of evil.
  5. This quasi-horror film has the great director's usual craftsmanship and a stellar cast, but ultimately it's an infuriating trick that makes its most provocative ideas disappear.
  6. Shutter Island is slumming: minor but enjoyably nuts.
  7. 20
    Something TERRIBLE is afoot. Sadly, that something turns out to be the movie itself.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 237
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    I'll keep it short. This film is one of the best films I have seen recently. So intense, thrilling and it keeps you to the edge of your seat.I'll keep it short. This film is one of the best films I have seen recently. So intense, thrilling and it keeps you to the edge of your seat. From prologue to the epilogue it's so perfect. What can you expect more from a director of his caliber.!!!!! Expand
  2. JoeM
    Apr 2, 2010
    10
    If avatar is the best action movie, this one is the best thriller movie !!! Leo is awesome in this movie!
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    This film is awesome! I love Leonardo Di Caprio! and this is deffo his best movie! One of my favorite movies of all time and great twist atThis film is awesome! I love Leonardo Di Caprio! and this is deffo his best movie! One of my favorite movies of all time and great twist at the end. !!! Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    A very thrilling experience and superb acting makes this movie really worth a watch. The authenticity of this movie is really well done andA very thrilling experience and superb acting makes this movie really worth a watch. The authenticity of this movie is really well done and it's one of the better movie adaptions. Definitely worth a watch! Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    It's a pretty solid film. Some of the scenes in it are absolutely beautifully shot in terms of color and atmosphere, and the film is tingedIt's a pretty solid film. Some of the scenes in it are absolutely beautifully shot in terms of color and atmosphere, and the film is tinged with a creepy surrealism that keeps you on your toes as a viewer. The hospital and island are really a dreadful place! DiCaprio is one of my favorite actors, Ben Kingsley is his usual awesome self... The plot left some people a little cold because I think they were expecting something else. Watch it for its surrealism if nothing else. Not many "mainstream" movies capture Creepy Wonderland like this one does. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2010
    6
    A fine film with Leo showing what a great actor he's become. I think the central plot in the story has been a bit overused and I won't go intoA fine film with Leo showing what a great actor he's become. I think the central plot in the story has been a bit overused and I won't go into detail because it would spoil the film but nonetheless it's well done and makes for a very enjoyable movie. Expand
  7. KimmyV
    Mar 6, 2010
    0
    Don't even waste your precious time on this movie. Boring at best. What was Scorsese thinking? Too bad, since you can usually count on a Don't even waste your precious time on this movie. Boring at best. What was Scorsese thinking? Too bad, since you can usually count on a great film with the featured actors and director. Expand

See all 237 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Verdict on This Weekend's Movies: Scorsese vs. Polanski

    The Verdict on This Weekend's Movies: Scorsese vs. Polanski Image
    Published: February 18, 2010
    What should you see this weekend? We compare this weekend's new releases: "Shutter Island" and "The Ghost Writer."
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.