Shutter

Shutter Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: For photographer Ben and his new wife Jane, his new assignment--a lucrative fashion shoot in Tokyo--was supposed to be a kind of working honeymoon. With this exotic professional opportunity and the limitless possibilities of a new marriage, Ben and Jane arrive in Japan. But as they makeFor photographer Ben and his new wife Jane, his new assignment--a lucrative fashion shoot in Tokyo--was supposed to be a kind of working honeymoon. With this exotic professional opportunity and the limitless possibilities of a new marriage, Ben and Jane arrive in Japan. But as they make their way on a mountain road leading to Mt. Fuji, their new life together comes to, literally, a crashing halt. Their car smashes into a woman standing in the middle of the road who has materialized out of nowhere. Upon regaining consciousness after the accident, Ben and Jane cannot find any trace of the girl Jane believes she hit. Shaken by the accident and by the girl's disappearance, Ben and Jane arrive in Tokyo, where Ben begins his glamorous assignment. Having worked in Japan before and fluent in the language, Ben is comfortable there, and he eagerly reunites with old friends and colleagues. Jane, a newcomer to the city, feels very much like a stranger in a strange land as she makes tentative, unsettling forays through the city. Meanwhile, Ben has discovered mysterious white blurs--eerily evocative of a human form--that have materialized on an entire day's work from the expensive photo shoot. Jane's concerns escalate as she believes the blurs in Ben's photos are the dead girl from the road, who is now seeking vengeance for them leaving her to die... (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Surprisingly effective supernatural tale in which there's more to fear from the living than the dead.
  2. Shutter has the look and feel of a proper J-horror film. Tokyo is seen as a series of gloomy gun metal skies. And the acting is more subdued than in Hollywood horror movies.
  3. 50
    If Shutter is any indication, the reputation of professional photographers is still on the wane. Not only are photographs creepy, the film suggests, but so are photographers.
  4. The director, Masayuki Ochiai, conjures textbook J-horror miasma: clammy clinical interiors; overcast skies; diffuse cityscapes. He also gives Alfred Hitchcock a nod, with a sequence nakedly stolen from “Psycho,” and draws unease from Jane’s disorientation in a foreign city. Tokyo, in fact, may be the movie’s most fascinating player.
  5. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    40
    A blandly cast and crafted remake of the same-titled 2004 Thai pic that itself emulated J-horror norms, which seemed a lot fresher back then.
  6. Fans of J-horror (for Japan, where the genre was born; its conventions have since spread to South Korea and Thailand) will find Shutter familiar; others may just doze.
  7. 20
    The very Thai-specific charms that made the original Shutter such an unforeseen, unpredictable delight when I first saw it – and when I screened it again, last night – are almost entirely absent here, eclipsed by the annoying blonde highlights of Taylor, ex-Transformer babe and forever, as the Thai say, farang.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 13 out of 20
  1. GenaC.
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    Surprisingly this is a good remake !
  2. JeremyS.
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    I liked it, its not really a horror, like I figured it would be, but its still good.
  3. JmaesL.
    Jul 24, 2008
    8
    Unlike what most american critics say in general they dont have an open mind of asian directors and stories. They have just the typical Unlike what most american critics say in general they dont have an open mind of asian directors and stories. They have just the typical hollywood style filmaking that they are used to. This is an example of a good horror story which these american critics and american movie goers are not used to. Expand
  4. RM
    Mar 23, 2008
    2
    This movie made me and all my friends stand up out of our chairs!!!....and get a refund......not a good movie.
  5. JacobS.
    Aug 10, 2008
    2
    It really is sad the movies that pass for horror these days. Apparently people that give the green light for modern movies like these seem to It really is sad the movies that pass for horror these days. Apparently people that give the green light for modern movies like these seem to think horror movie goers have the IQ of a football. Maybe the Hollywood machine is just assuming that we don't like variety. Whatever the reason, give me a random oldschool Sam Neil flick over this any day. ( I'm of course referring to the In the mouth of madness/Event Horizon days of course ), I've never seen the movie this was based on, so take my feedback as such. As far as American movies go, this movie randomly splices together elements of "The Grudge", "What Lies Beneath" and "The Ring", and it does so pretty badly. It Expand
  6. TN
    Apr 25, 2008
    2
    I saw the original version from Thailand. And I have to say this film disgrace everything the original version owns. It tries to ride on a I saw the original version from Thailand. And I have to say this film disgrace everything the original version owns. It tries to ride on a high of J-horror show which I believe it's now saturated and forgot the real origin of the movie which make the matter worse. When I saw the original one, it scare the shite out of me, but for this version, I dosed off. Can't hollywood respect the original material and stick to it? So far, all those Asian horror (or any other Asian film for that matter) movies that I have seen remade by Hollywood are all crap. I have to say this, just import the original and screen as is would be a much better idea. Expand
  7. RileyG.
    Mar 21, 2008
    0
    Worst film I've seen it a while.

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Verdict on This Weekend's Movies: Scorsese vs. Polanski

    The Verdict on This Weekend's Movies: Scorsese vs. Polanski Image
    Published: February 18, 2010
    What should you see this weekend? We compare this weekend's new releases: "Shutter Island" and "The Ghost Writer."
  2. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  3. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.