User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 231
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisD.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    I was very surprised at this movie, it is a very effective documentary of the various health care systems of the world. Many will say that Moore is at it again, but I think he has shown (again) what a remarkable filmmaker he really is. I wept during one scene, and I never weep (maybe get teary every once in a awhile...), it was devastating to see and hear these horrible incidences I was very surprised at this movie, it is a very effective documentary of the various health care systems of the world. Many will say that Moore is at it again, but I think he has shown (again) what a remarkable filmmaker he really is. I wept during one scene, and I never weep (maybe get teary every once in a awhile...), it was devastating to see and hear these horrible incidences happening to regular, hardworking people. You can say what you will about Michael Moore (I don't agree with some of his positions personally), but his movie has done an excellent job of exposing our country's completely broken and corrupt system of health care, and hopefully the dialog surrounding this movie will move politicians to rethink their position on universal health care. Expand
  2. ShannonP.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Moore does an excellent job in presenting a "big picture" of managed care: the basic problems and their origins. He also succeeds in making the viewer believe there may be alternatives that can work much better, as reflected in the Canadian, British, and French systems. He is covering so much territory, however, that the individual stories of patients affected by managed care are not Moore does an excellent job in presenting a "big picture" of managed care: the basic problems and their origins. He also succeeds in making the viewer believe there may be alternatives that can work much better, as reflected in the Canadian, British, and French systems. He is covering so much territory, however, that the individual stories of patients affected by managed care are not fully developed to the point that the human cost can be fully felt or appreciated. The last part of the movie, connecting 911 with health care in Cuba, seems almost like a separate movie--but is nonetheless entertaining. Overall, although not a complete "artistic" triumph, and hardly "objective," this movie will likely have a much bigger long-term affect on public opinion and policy than Moore's prior efforts. Expand
  3. MollyMagdalain
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    See this movie today! In any advanced, progressive society it seems that certain fundamental things things should be taken care of. One of them is definitely basic health care and Michael Moore shows - through the lives of random people - that this is just not happening here in the U.S. When one compares that fact to the fact that health care and insurance companies are making billions of See this movie today! In any advanced, progressive society it seems that certain fundamental things things should be taken care of. One of them is definitely basic health care and Michael Moore shows - through the lives of random people - that this is just not happening here in the U.S. When one compares that fact to the fact that health care and insurance companies are making billions of dollars of profit each year - it seems that maybe the system is a little screwed up. It will make you sad and it will make you mad . . . go see it today! Expand
  4. ChrisG.
    Nov 30, 2007
    9
    Moore's style may infuriate critics, but if you ignore that for a moment and concentrate on the subject matter & content, it's hard not to be moved to tears at the plight of average Americans. I'm from Canada, and although we have some problems with our system, they pale in comparison to the US model. How long will people tolerate corporations and their tactics for making Moore's style may infuriate critics, but if you ignore that for a moment and concentrate on the subject matter & content, it's hard not to be moved to tears at the plight of average Americans. I'm from Canada, and although we have some problems with our system, they pale in comparison to the US model. How long will people tolerate corporations and their tactics for making money? Some day America is going to crumble under the weight of all the social injustice like this. At least Moore wants to do something about it, and I commend him for that. Expand
  5. LianaL.
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    No citizen in America will be able to carry out a normal day after viewing this movie. The over-whelming feeling of disgust and betrayal I feel towards the government is going to haunt me until something drastic is done about it.
  6. May 28, 2011
    8
    Sicko is a rather difficult film to critically analyse and rate. On the one hand it is simply amazing and utterly necessary for American (and world) society. Moore beautifully portrays the problems and issues behind the situation in the U.S. health care system. The U.S. is fundamentally inhumane when it comes to health care, and whether most Americans are willing to admit that, MooreSicko is a rather difficult film to critically analyse and rate. On the one hand it is simply amazing and utterly necessary for American (and world) society. Moore beautifully portrays the problems and issues behind the situation in the U.S. health care system. The U.S. is fundamentally inhumane when it comes to health care, and whether most Americans are willing to admit that, Moore plows that point across with fierce dedication.
    On the other hand, to prove his point, he glosses over the problems that people in his case study countries - Cuba, Canada, UK, France - actually experience. With an obvious bias, Moore does not even try to show us the negative sides of the health care in the other countries. His "typical middle class French family" is not quite as typical as he might want us to believe. Or that British doctor is not necessarily a 100% representative of all British or European doctors, who most certainly do not live in $1 million houses & apartments. However, Moore does manage to bring a human aspect to the film, and give it a soul that many documentaries fail at. For that reason, and for the fact that he is addressing an issue that is in urgent need of addressing, this film does deserve quite a high rating. And, when it comes to his bias - well, documentaries are always biased. They never claim to represent the "truth" for they are always made with an intent, that cannot be fully objective. And Moore quite certainly recognises that, and just as he did with "Bowling for Columbine" and "Fahrenheit 9/11," he unrelentingly pursues his point across. Excellent documentary!
    Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Just so you know, everyone that ranked this movie 0 points never watched the movie, they're just brainwashed Republicans that hate America. That being said, this move is eye-opening and was the reason people started talking about Healthcare, something American needs badly. Watch it and learn. Buy it and support M. Moore because that man has done so much for so many.
  8. ChristopherW.
    Jul 20, 2007
    9
    Once again, Michael Moore demonstrates just how entertaining documentaries can be. Kudos for taking on a bloated and corrupt health care system and making a film that is provocative, insightful, heart breaking and hilarious. Whether you believe Moore doctors facts with a fictional glaze or manipulates the truth through deceptive editing, you can't deny the power of his argument and Once again, Michael Moore demonstrates just how entertaining documentaries can be. Kudos for taking on a bloated and corrupt health care system and making a film that is provocative, insightful, heart breaking and hilarious. Whether you believe Moore doctors facts with a fictional glaze or manipulates the truth through deceptive editing, you can't deny the power of his argument and the pointed discussion it will likely provoke. Excellent! Expand
  9. JosephM.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Right now I have a horrible headache from chronic jaw-pain, so excuse any errors I miss. Saw 'Sicko' tonight and honestly I think it's a brilliant film. And as someone who the movie is not about, a twenty-three year old guy who hasn't had health care in quite some time, the story of those who do have healthcare was quite astounding. To see that regardless of how Right now I have a horrible headache from chronic jaw-pain, so excuse any errors I miss. Saw 'Sicko' tonight and honestly I think it's a brilliant film. And as someone who the movie is not about, a twenty-three year old guy who hasn't had health care in quite some time, the story of those who do have healthcare was quite astounding. To see that regardless of how successful I might be the system will still tank and there will never be a time it simply works. To close, the notion of what the US could be like if none of us spent our days worrying or in fear about our health and money in that regards is frankly a revolutionary concept that should be on all our minds. That and the overall affecting quality of this film is why I've rated it a 10. Expand
  10. KathleenC.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Michael Moore has given Americans a tremendous gift, he has shown them, in a funny, tender and fascinating film, that there are more humane ways to treat its citizens. Keeping people frightened, broke, uneducated, and jingoistic has created a passive public who knows nothing of the ways of the rest of the world.
  11. ConsueloR.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Moore's best and most profound film! The humor and occasional antics are a refreshing break from what's basically a very sad and obscene story that no intelligent, objective American can deny. Hopefully, this will inspire a national cry for a health care system worthy of this great rich country, as well as some soul searching as to exactly what kind of people we Americans are to Moore's best and most profound film! The humor and occasional antics are a refreshing break from what's basically a very sad and obscene story that no intelligent, objective American can deny. Hopefully, this will inspire a national cry for a health care system worthy of this great rich country, as well as some soul searching as to exactly what kind of people we Americans are to have allowed such corporate greed-based healthcare to persist. Must viewing for everyone who considers themselves a patriot, and that includes all those guys and gal running for President! Expand
  12. GregA.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    8 points for the good movie and 2 points for making anti-Moore losers upset ;)
  13. Todd
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    I can't wait until these fat a**, religious nutjobs, who call themselves patriots and Christians, get denied health care by their insurance companies. That's OK, they don't need it, Jesus Saves!
  14. WilliamD.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    Ignore the naysayers: Socialized medicine works because the "base pool" of group members is the WHOLE COUNTRY.
  15. Dan
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    I find it disappointing that so many American residents are so quick to write off Moore. Most who write him off are Bush loyalists who are smitten with their chosen ignorance and even more smitten with their judgment over others. Moore has proven himself to be right about all of the issues he addressed in past movies and time has vindicated him, though the Moore haters continue to hate. I find it disappointing that so many American residents are so quick to write off Moore. Most who write him off are Bush loyalists who are smitten with their chosen ignorance and even more smitten with their judgment over others. Moore has proven himself to be right about all of the issues he addressed in past movies and time has vindicated him, though the Moore haters continue to hate. These are also ironically the good Christians of the land as well. "Don't question, it shows a lack of faith." What a shame. I feel sad for America, as many of these willing ignorant folks are losing ground to these very issues Moore champions. Guns, War, Terrorism, Health care... We ALL use health care and we all are at risk of losing it all with a serious illness. There is much to be gained by creating a system of health care where we are all covered and cared for. This is universal. The right hates Michael Moore why? I just don't understand. Unless they are protecting their vital interests. And these folks claim a moral high ground. Expand
  16. TylerD
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Josh, What is so negative about what he is saying in the movie....Even if he exaggerates things and distorts some truths, there is a positive message. Why can't people just watch a movie and become aware of a problem. This movie does not in anyway deserve a zero. The facts of josh are distorted as well. So who do you want to side with Moore- A guy that wants to fix a major problem in Josh, What is so negative about what he is saying in the movie....Even if he exaggerates things and distorts some truths, there is a positive message. Why can't people just watch a movie and become aware of a problem. This movie does not in anyway deserve a zero. The facts of josh are distorted as well. So who do you want to side with Moore- A guy that wants to fix a major problem in the U.S. or Josh- Someone who gets angry with someone who tries to make us aware of a problem. When you burn for this one I won't feel bad... Expand
  17. Stu
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    How can you not appreciate this movie?! Oh yeah, If you are part of the problem.
  18. Spongeee
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    Not Moore's best or my favorite of his movies, but it is for sure entertaining and educating. Say what you want about facts/figures/data...the movie reveals more corporate thuggery and power playing that avg. citizens never know about until those power decisions impact our lives.
  19. RyanS.
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    It was a good movie. Much better than Fahrenheit 911. But honestly should Metacritic have included New York Post's review?
  20. Paul
    Jul 7, 2007
    7
    Some good points re: the polical power of HMO and the denials that people suffer yet he does cherr pick cases so much that he loses credibility and does not offer a plan.
  21. RaniS
    Jul 8, 2007
    8
    This movie pissed me off and made me want to cry at the same time. Michael Moore was able to assemble all of the scattered pieces of a health care horror tale that have been out there for a long time. It is about time that someone did it. While I do not believe that all sides of the arguments he was making were represented to the fullest extent, I am not sure if it is because that is what This movie pissed me off and made me want to cry at the same time. Michael Moore was able to assemble all of the scattered pieces of a health care horror tale that have been out there for a long time. It is about time that someone did it. While I do not believe that all sides of the arguments he was making were represented to the fullest extent, I am not sure if it is because that is what is true or if it is just what I want to believe. It is hard to come to terms with the idea that you are being duped in such a gross and disgusting way. It made me want to move out of this country. Expand
  22. OshiA.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    An engaging documentary with a legitimate point. Moore's films have become less political and more humanitarian in recent years.
  23. AmberM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Extremely informative.. i was glued to the television. it didn't need to necessarily entertain you over-thinkers with your BIG words.. for me- your average everyday bi-ethnic female working student- it was interesting, informative, and absolutely frightening. Criticize all you want- tis your job to do so- but bottom line... it has changed my view of my little world... and thus has Extremely informative.. i was glued to the television. it didn't need to necessarily entertain you over-thinkers with your BIG words.. for me- your average everyday bi-ethnic female working student- it was interesting, informative, and absolutely frightening. Criticize all you want- tis your job to do so- but bottom line... it has changed my view of my little world... and thus has made a difference. Expand
  24. VintonE.H.
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    Judged strictly as an entertainment Moore's film is not very edifying; judged as a vehicle for this country's most critcal domestic crisis it is extremely effective. He doesn't shy away from the problems of single payer health care and yet it takes no stretch to see that other countries are much better off with it than without it.
  25. JohnH.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Moore brings up many valid points in Sicko, such as: why can't the richest country in the world (the US) manage to provide universal healthcare, when much poorer counties are able to provide better healthcare than we have? Also, why should we be denying people their basic right to healthcare just because they don
  26. GreggT
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    It seems TIME's review score doesn't match up. I read TIME's review of Sicko, and it doesn't seem like a "50" as Metacritic is reporting. It's a generally positive review, more like a 70 or 80 at least. I love Metacritic, but it seems way off on this score. And I know that affects the overall score, because TIME is weighted heavily, I'd imagine.
  27. BradB.
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    While it might have its flaws (the glamorization of the Canadian heath care system for starters), it's a decent look at a serious problem.
  28. SaulR
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    I enjoyed this movie quite a bit because it speaks the truth. I didn't like Fahrenheit 9/11 at all, and after that movie I didn't like michael moore at all either, but after watching this it really redeems him. I find it funny that all the zero's given on this site do not address the film but rather are personal insults on the man himself!
  29. WW
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    So many reviewers seem to have such disdain for Moore that he could have made Citizen Kane and they'd still try to tear down every aspect of the film. They seem to make the review so personal, instead of looking at the film and casting Moore aside. Sicko may not be perfect, it may slant to the left and simplify a VERY complex issue,, but it does magnify a very real problem facing So many reviewers seem to have such disdain for Moore that he could have made Citizen Kane and they'd still try to tear down every aspect of the film. They seem to make the review so personal, instead of looking at the film and casting Moore aside. Sicko may not be perfect, it may slant to the left and simplify a VERY complex issue,, but it does magnify a very real problem facing America. And, sadly, most Americans need a simplified explanation of the healthcare issue if they are to begin to understand and care about the issue beyond a passive once-over. Regardless of whether you swing from the left, right, or middle, SICKO does force its viewers to look at America's failures in providing adequate health care. Clearly, our system is flawed, it serves the rich and pisses on the poor, and puts profit before ethics time after time. This film offers few solutions, but it does attempt to spark a fire that will hopefully spread to real debate and lead to real change. And, maybe most importantly, it forces viewers to ask themselves one critical question: "How can the richest country in the world treat its ailing citizens so damn poorly?" Expand
  30. Justin
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    His best film yet. I really hope a lot of people see this movie and demand change.
  31. DB.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    A fire engine pulls up to your burning house and inquires about your various "qualifications" to receive 'fire eradication services' since "profits" need to be highly regarded (over people) in a 'well-intentioned' service that DOES need to pay great attention to the 'bottom line' so they can survive and provide such "service." Hmmmmm, what's that A fire engine pulls up to your burning house and inquires about your various "qualifications" to receive 'fire eradication services' since "profits" need to be highly regarded (over people) in a 'well-intentioned' service that DOES need to pay great attention to the 'bottom line' so they can survive and provide such "service." Hmmmmm, what's that definition of "insanity" again? My own family members (with and without insurance) ALL are making decisions skewed by a HUGELY broken and inhumane system!!!!! One w/ the "best" coverage is planning to have all assets eventually absorbed by long term care. Another has no motivation to buy major medical because the most likely need for it will be for conditions that would be deemed "pre-existing." A man I know that runs a fire station near me has put off treatment for a hip for a long time in order to better "play" the system full of caveats and loopholes. It will allow his wife and kids to have more the benefit of the policy. We DO like our sports here in the good old U.S. of A. and I've heard over and over of those forced to "play" one's insurance company in order to favor what's deemed as more needed care (putting off even 'preventative' care) also to avoid higher premiums. The system is DRUNK on money and situated squarely on the nose of "denial." The American "democracy" needs to rise up and do a MAJOR "intervention." Perhaps then (when GM doesn't have to have $1500 of every new car earmarked for health costs) the displaced insura-pharma industrial complex workers can help to build automobiles that can compete on an international "level" playing field. How's THAT for sports! Expand
  32. elleno.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    A terrific movie. I sure hope it helps in bringing us universal health care. If we took the defense budget and used it for health care we probably wouldn't even have to pay more taxes. And who cares if we do pay more taxes, it probably evens out when you don't have to pay health insurance or health costs. And even better, sick people could get treatment.
  33. Adam
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    I think it's hilarious that this film didn't get perfect scores across. It highlights the Health Lobby's broad financial power. Anyone who says this film is bad, has an agenda.
  34. PaddyD
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    An excellent expose of how corporate greed triumphs over health care for all. I noticed that the negative reviews focus on Michael Moore's manipulation of facts. Well, there's still the cold reality that over 40 million Americans (over 15% of our country) does not have health insurance and access to the health care that the rest of us have. And that includes 8 million children, An excellent expose of how corporate greed triumphs over health care for all. I noticed that the negative reviews focus on Michael Moore's manipulation of facts. Well, there's still the cold reality that over 40 million Americans (over 15% of our country) does not have health insurance and access to the health care that the rest of us have. And that includes 8 million children, who are disadvantaged through no fault of their own. For those waving the flag of capitalism - let's not forget that pure capitalism puts profit ahead of people, because poor and sick people are a bad investment. Look at how the pharmaceutical industry (the most powerful lobby in the country) manipulates government legislation -- open your eyes, American public! Expand
  35. roberti
    Jul 21, 2007
    7
    He's right, of course. And he makes his point quickly. Along the way we chuckle at past obsessions and recoil at the present. As worthwhile as the subject matter, nevertheless Sicko goes lame-o by sentimentalizing every encounter into a sob-fest and romanticizing our global neighbors, who share a ration of trouble themselves. if only he had dressed the wound ed system more astringently.
  36. sue
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    I cried, I laughed, and I saw my own experiences in this film. it gave me hope as well that things can change here - if we just realize there is a better way, we can get there. I rarely want to see films again, but I want to see this again.
  37. KevinA
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    An incredibly engaging, touching movie. A bit heavy handed at times, but whoever believes documentaries are simply statements for facts are being a little naive. This movie inspires one to change this nation, which is an awesome accomplishment. Or at least it inspires one to look deeper into our national psyche, and wonder who the government truly serves.
  38. MattR.
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    What the heck do film critics know about the complexities and vagaries of the multitude of health care proposals currently being discussed in the US? How can they say Moore is simplifying things when they don't even know what they are talking about. I guess the nature of a critic really is to find something to criticize. Those who can do. Those who cannot become critics. Diss Moore What the heck do film critics know about the complexities and vagaries of the multitude of health care proposals currently being discussed in the US? How can they say Moore is simplifying things when they don't even know what they are talking about. I guess the nature of a critic really is to find something to criticize. Those who can do. Those who cannot become critics. Diss Moore if you must, but don't claim that he is simple, or that your position qualifies you as expert on all topics. A doctor would not claim to know whether Moore's directorial style was intentionally simple, uninformed, or genius. Nor should movie folk criticize the somewhat sophisticated content of this documentary. Expand
  39. IamheA.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    Starting from the U.S. healthcare debacle, Moore artfully expands his focus to reveal other issues that raise profound questions about who we are as a people. These include the domination of our democratic institutions by totalitarian corporations, our resulting sense of powerlessness, and the use of indebtedness and economic insecurity to dampen political activism in the interests of Starting from the U.S. healthcare debacle, Moore artfully expands his focus to reveal other issues that raise profound questions about who we are as a people. These include the domination of our democratic institutions by totalitarian corporations, our resulting sense of powerlessness, and the use of indebtedness and economic insecurity to dampen political activism in the interests of social control. After showing positive examples of other governments that take good care of their people, he asks us to consider whether our focus on individual rather than collective well-being is really as positive as we seem to believe. I left the theater asking myself, as I will now ask you, "what can we do to take back our country from these plutocrats who think that killing tens of thousands of people abroad is more important than meeting the urgent needs of our people?" Expand
  40. JohnW.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    A definite wake up call for the health industry. That it will not be business as usual for this profit driven industry. Where it puts profits in front of care. We are the greatest nation in the world, but yet we cannot provide even the basic of care to someone who needs it. Hard hitting fantastic. Loved it.
  41. JayB.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    Sure it's borderline propaganda. But it is my type of propaganda. Americas medical system is a joke for more reasons that Moore points to. My HMO selected doctor knows nothing about nutrition. All she can do is prescribe overpriced, toxic and dependence inducing drugs. My last prescription was antibiotics at 60 dollars a pill for a sinus infection. Don't worry about it she says, Sure it's borderline propaganda. But it is my type of propaganda. Americas medical system is a joke for more reasons that Moore points to. My HMO selected doctor knows nothing about nutrition. All she can do is prescribe overpriced, toxic and dependence inducing drugs. My last prescription was antibiotics at 60 dollars a pill for a sinus infection. Don't worry about it she says, the copay is the same. Her advice on safe sex was don't have sex with anyone who's not from America! WTF? My HMO costs my employer 7000 dollars a year!!!! Biggest scam ever! Expand
  42. EthelV.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Wake up America and smell the money going to the wrong guys. I refuse to vote for anyone who does not believe in universal healthcare. Why as a country are we having so much trouble with healing our people. After all this country is suppose to be about the people not who can get richer. When profits are put in front of care than we need to stand up and holler untill our government hears Wake up America and smell the money going to the wrong guys. I refuse to vote for anyone who does not believe in universal healthcare. Why as a country are we having so much trouble with healing our people. After all this country is suppose to be about the people not who can get richer. When profits are put in front of care than we need to stand up and holler untill our government hears us. All those people who say I got mine I am not going to worry about the next guy is not a good American. For those that speak up and holler untill they are heard is a good American and that is what I see M. Moore doing. He is hollering for all of us. How long are we going to watch Americans treated like this. I am paying close attention to who I vote for and it won't be a Clinton again all they did was push the Welfare people around instead of coming across with thier promises and now we got mothers leaving thier children to go to work and the healthcare is still not reachable to many of our fellow Americans. What a mess we have going on here. Lets open our minds and hearts to those less lucky Americans that have to worry about thier childrens care while they work then thier education and healthcare and then sending them to war. Not all of our people are getting basic needs in this country when so many are getting rich. Expand
  43. SamuelS.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    What a load of Socialist propaganda! Oh, pinko commie Michael Moore thinks he can change America. Not from my dead hands I say. I love our health care system. I love dealing with the administrators from my HMO. They are awesome! Why don't you leave America Moore? Us idiots can give our paychecks to big business happily rather than having yet another tax!
  44. BeccaO.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Its abouttime someone gave this problem the attention it deserves,the movie was awesome.
  45. SamK.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    The most important and eye opening movie I have seen in years. No, actually the most important and eye opening movie I have seen, ever. It is so easy to paint a picture of Michael Moore as a storyteller and manipulator of facts, but his message cannot be ignored; the American health system is seriously flawed, and many countries the world over with less wealth are managing to keep their The most important and eye opening movie I have seen in years. No, actually the most important and eye opening movie I have seen, ever. It is so easy to paint a picture of Michael Moore as a storyteller and manipulator of facts, but his message cannot be ignored; the American health system is seriously flawed, and many countries the world over with less wealth are managing to keep their sick as healthy as is humanly possible, their only reward being that their patients live on. It's funny how so many critics will try and discredit his facts and his documentaries and yet are unwiling to accept that their corrupt and lying political leaders are benefiting from their misery, and their inability to do anything about it. So many right-wingers have reigned supreme for so many years that any true liberal worth his salt is immediatly mocked and ridiculed. How about a bit of balance here folks. You've had right wing neo-cons brainwash you for years, and now we have an advocate for the people. You can talk about agendas and alterior motives all you want. Michael Moore has balls of steel. Period. And that is a fact. Expand
  46. JessiC.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Working in the healthcare profession, I see lots of people who are faced with the challenges of recovering. However I often see patients discussing how their bill is going to get paid, rather than them focusing on getting better. I think this was a wonderful documentary, and a wake up call to everyone.
  47. JaredC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    7
    It was all right, wasn't the best documentary I've seen.
  48. EvanSadler
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    Who looks stupid now Kyle Smith? You're a conservative hack. I call you 25.
  49. PedroS
    Jun 25, 2007
    9
    Sicko is a really moving film. The one thing that is really wrong with the US for people living there is the health care system. Moore dramatically points out just how bad it is. The film is also coming at a good time, it should help push the US to a saner, better form of health care and make the place a much better place for US citizens.
  50. NathanL.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Michael Moore is the greatest documentary filmaker in the business today and although i do not believe this is his very best film, I do believe it is the first one to truely have a chance to inflict change. There are many people who downplay Moore's films because they quite obviously have an agenda and a film with an agenda, that is filled with opinions must have no presedence when Michael Moore is the greatest documentary filmaker in the business today and although i do not believe this is his very best film, I do believe it is the first one to truely have a chance to inflict change. There are many people who downplay Moore's films because they quite obviously have an agenda and a film with an agenda, that is filled with opinions must have no presedence when it comed to the search for truth. Sounds like a viable arguement, however it is highly inaccurate. Moore's supposed half truths, are backed up by tons of medical and financial evidence that can be researched to what will feel like no end. If Moore was to sit and go over this endless stream of facts, than he would be an informative individual and probably work well as a journalist on Frontline, but not much of a filmmaker. What makes Moore such an exceptional filmmaker is his ability to entertain as well as educate. I laughed, I cried, and I clapped more than at any movie I've been to this year. This gives you facts and opinions from not only journalists, but people. In fact the majority of the evidence in this film is provided by people. Whether it is French telling you how wonderful there system is or Americans telling you there horror stories or a former British Parliament speaker explaining why socialized medicine works in our nation but not in theres, we are given an overwhelming amount people telling you the truth about there personal experience in healthcare. This is what seperates this film from any previous film and makes it the vehicle that it is. It is Moore's ability to connect us with each individual personally and give a face to the stories we have heard. This makes it much harder to just ignore it and go along with your day. And on top of all this Moore, as usual, has his end sequence where he appears as the leader of a movement. Much like he did in Columbine and 911 ( taking the shot children of Columbine to K-Mart to get rid of bullets and asking Senators and Congressman in Washington to sign up there kids for the war effort with Cpl Henderson) Moore gets a large group together to make a point. This time it is to get 9/11 rescue workers the care there country is not giving them. This turns out to be the most effective effort Moore has ever shot on Camera. Moore is a documentary filmmamker unlike any other. A man who makes highly informative work that can be enjoyed as entertainment and not just watched as education. I have come to look forward to Moore's movies as much as I look forward to a summer blockbuster. It is sad that Mr. Moore is someone to look forward to, but as long as there are problems with this country there is a call for someone to push change. I can't think of a better person. Expand
  51. PeterS.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    This easily Moore's most accessible and effective film yet. For three reasons. One, it's funny and sad and true. Two,it goes beyond politics and touches people of every persuasion. And three, the country is ready for a change. It's just the "powers that be" are not ready to make that change - just look how congress is hogtied in trying to deal with immigration - another This easily Moore's most accessible and effective film yet. For three reasons. One, it's funny and sad and true. Two,it goes beyond politics and touches people of every persuasion. And three, the country is ready for a change. It's just the "powers that be" are not ready to make that change - just look how congress is hogtied in trying to deal with immigration - another issue that everyone agrees needs fixing. A question for Metacritic on the Richard Corliss, Time magazine rating. Why only a "50" when it reads like a rave? "Socko" as defined by my dictionary is "stunningly effective or successful". I know that's just a blurb but in reading the whole review it still sounds live a total winner. Too bad because it brings the overall rating down. Expand
  52. MarkA.
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    Gut-wrenching look at our failed health care system.
  53. RayeS
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Wake up America, or actually get sick and find out for yourself the hard way. Thankfully Micheal Moore has the guts to point out flaws in our country, we should all be thankful we live in a country we can point the finger at ourselves- at least for now we can. Keep fighting the good fight Mr. Moore. Thank you.
  54. JC
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Blind patriotism and mindless allegiance is funny.
  55. AndyM
    Jun 28, 2007
    7
    Who, oh who could predict that the NY Post would give it a bad review? And that the '0's of the user reviews don't seem to be commenting on the bloody movie, but on the gall of a film maker to question that maybe things behind the scenes are messed up.
  56. DimitriA
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    One of the richest countries in the world (America)has one of the WORST health care systems and Moore gives the American people the truth, and a moral wake up call for humanity. Everyone should see SiCKo. People that gave this a bad review just don't like Moore period, and are extreme right wing crap of society. Moore asks a question should people be loosing there lives (or normal One of the richest countries in the world (America)has one of the WORST health care systems and Moore gives the American people the truth, and a moral wake up call for humanity. Everyone should see SiCKo. People that gave this a bad review just don't like Moore period, and are extreme right wing crap of society. Moore asks a question should people be loosing there lives (or normal functions in life) because they can't afford health care? or better yet HAVE health care but not cover the diagnoses and treatment (because of someones color and/or past diseases). Every country should take care of their people! No Questions! SiCKo as well compares and contrasts America to other countries. In turn to question: What really is normal healthcare practices in other countries really would be a luxury for us Americans to have Health insurance is like a casino the house HAS TO WIN to make money, and thats by denying hundreds of thousands of people treatment, even if the outcome is death just to profit. Outrageous take on America, and the money hungry companies. Money truly is the root of all evil. American is not run BY and FOR the People its run by the government and companies that their only goal is to make money. Wake up! It's all just wrong! Expand
  57. VaughanR.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    I am an American citizen and I have lived in Canada, the UK and the US. There is no doubt that the US health care system is in a state of moral crisis, or that Americans are being lied to about the care that citizens of other countries receive. Late in the film Moore asks the question "who are we." It is a good question to ask after the horrors that this film shows. The footage of a woman I am an American citizen and I have lived in Canada, the UK and the US. There is no doubt that the US health care system is in a state of moral crisis, or that Americans are being lied to about the care that citizens of other countries receive. Late in the film Moore asks the question "who are we." It is a good question to ask after the horrors that this film shows. The footage of a woman dumped by a hospital onto skid row, and seen wandering the street after she was pushed out of a cab, would move anyone. Reviews say this movie is funny and at times it is, but there were a lot of tears being shed by people all around me when I saw it. You really must see this movie. Expand
  58. SylviaE.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    After seeing this film and then reading through some of the mean spirited "user reviews" I am disgusted. Do these people have a conscience? My favorite was 'E.B.' with "I will not support someone who does not respect our president". What's to respect? I agree with E.B. on "God bless America" beacuse we need all the blessings we can right now. I pray that this film is seen After seeing this film and then reading through some of the mean spirited "user reviews" I am disgusted. Do these people have a conscience? My favorite was 'E.B.' with "I will not support someone who does not respect our president". What's to respect? I agree with E.B. on "God bless America" beacuse we need all the blessings we can right now. I pray that this film is seen far and wide and that some of the ignorant can look beyond their myopic views and initiate positive change instead of venting hatred. Expand
  59. JackB.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    These reviewers make my skin crawl, but I'm just so freakin' thankful I'm not one of them. I listened to reviews of people who have actually seen the film. Ignore the angry folks who only manage to tear themselves away from Fox News long enough to write a review on metacritic, but not quite long enough to open their eyes about...well...apparently anything. However, I AM These reviewers make my skin crawl, but I'm just so freakin' thankful I'm not one of them. I listened to reviews of people who have actually seen the film. Ignore the angry folks who only manage to tear themselves away from Fox News long enough to write a review on metacritic, but not quite long enough to open their eyes about...well...apparently anything. However, I AM surprised they can all operate a computer. Good for you! :-) This is my personal favorite: Michael Moore's work is complete trash. I will not support someone who does not respect our country's president. God bless America! Expand
  60. Nadir
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Ha, this film shows the pathetic America in its true light. What a filthy, dirty country. They should all be shot. Stupid Americans. You and your fox news crap. Such propaganda. DEATH TO AMERICA AND AMERICANS. All infidels will be slaughtered unless they submit to allah.
  61. Ryan
    Jun 30, 2007
    8
    Finally a film that serves as a good moral, wake up call to society. Not only is the health care crap in this country but so are the doctors and all the other members of the "health" business that make sure they get rich off our sicknesses.
  62. LollyM.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    An excellent movie done with humor and a great dose of irony.
  63. ConnieB.
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    I think this was documentary film at it's finest coupled with just plain good entertainment. I was ready to move to France (or Canada) by the time the film was over!
  64. ChadS.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    Why did Morgan Spurlock have to make "Super-Size Me"? The well-received doc about the fast food industry was entertaining, but hardly authoritative. Michael Moore should've been the one to body slam McDonalds and other franchises of its ilk. Just look at him. In "Sicko", during the closing credits, he reminds his viewers to eat their fruits and vegetables. That's very sound Why did Morgan Spurlock have to make "Super-Size Me"? The well-received doc about the fast food industry was entertaining, but hardly authoritative. Michael Moore should've been the one to body slam McDonalds and other franchises of its ilk. Just look at him. In "Sicko", during the closing credits, he reminds his viewers to eat their fruits and vegetables. That's very sound advice. I, and probably you, had no idea how good other countries have it, in pertaining to health care. In typical Moore fashion, tells us what the government is doing to its people while we were all asleep. Yes, he's a shameless self-promoter, but I've learned to deal with it(his display of philanthropy towards an enemy should not be in the damn film). And he relies too heavily on music to manipulate our emotions, as if we need to be cued that we should be empathetic towards the forgotten 9/11 rescue workers. But that's okay. "Sicko" is essential viewing. Expand
  65. WiltQ
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie and hated its villains even more than I already did. What a racket. These HMO's may rot in hell for all I care. Let them go without like so many among us have. Oh, that's impossible. They now hold OUR money as 'profit' on the backs of the people. Just like this idiotic war the US got suckered into. Don't be a chump, fellow Americans. Listen to I loved this movie and hated its villains even more than I already did. What a racket. These HMO's may rot in hell for all I care. Let them go without like so many among us have. Oh, that's impossible. They now hold OUR money as 'profit' on the backs of the people. Just like this idiotic war the US got suckered into. Don't be a chump, fellow Americans. Listen to the candidates very closely and DEMAND SPECIFICS regarding health reform. Hilary Clinton USED to be clean with health reform. She now counts big Healthcare as of her largest contributors!! Obama as well. The ONLY candidate who is not bought out is Kucinich, and we all know how the press regards him and the people believe that crap. Maybe Mr. Gore will throw in. He should have been in there years ago. What a different world we would be in. It's a f*cking shame! See this movie! Expand
  66. JoshB
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time, and one of the most affecting documentaries I've ever seen. It's one of those movies that I think every voter in the country should be strapped into chair and forced to watch -- then maybe we'd actually get some real health care reform. Please know that the comments who rant against Michael Moore are written by This is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time, and one of the most affecting documentaries I've ever seen. It's one of those movies that I think every voter in the country should be strapped into chair and forced to watch -- then maybe we'd actually get some real health care reform. Please know that the comments who rant against Michael Moore are written by people who have a less-than-firm grasp on reality. See the movie and judge for yourself, and if you're really interested in comparing our health care system to others around the world, check out the new book "Sick" by Jonathan Cohn. Expand
  67. AP
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    Great look at different cultures solutions to medicine. Fails to note the cost involved in the other cultures (ie. taxes, increased poverty in the population, etc). You don't see any of the countries in the movie as a power to be contended with in international politics. Unfortunately insurance companies have a lot to lose if America goes to a federal plan. Where there is lots of Great look at different cultures solutions to medicine. Fails to note the cost involved in the other cultures (ie. taxes, increased poverty in the population, etc). You don't see any of the countries in the movie as a power to be contended with in international politics. Unfortunately insurance companies have a lot to lose if America goes to a federal plan. Where there is lots of money there will be a knock down drag out fight. Despite it's flaws, it is definitely a movie worth seeing once or more. Expand
  68. BarbO.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    I cried, I laughed, and like some others here- I am almost ready to move to France or Canada. It is one of the few movies I've been to where the audience applauded at the end. "The ugly American" comes to mind. Who is sicker, the HMOs and drug companies, or we citizens who buy into this heartless system? Is there a cure for the endless greed and insidious apathy that infects our I cried, I laughed, and like some others here- I am almost ready to move to France or Canada. It is one of the few movies I've been to where the audience applauded at the end. "The ugly American" comes to mind. Who is sicker, the HMOs and drug companies, or we citizens who buy into this heartless system? Is there a cure for the endless greed and insidious apathy that infects our collective soul? Expand
  69. jeanp
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Can you one day just open your eyes ? For foreign occidental people (like me), your health care is a shame, and we knew that before the movie Sicko. You should thank Moore for making us think that all American people are not completely dumb.
  70. BobS
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Michael Moore is a genius, our health care system is deeply flawed, and anyone who disagrees with these statements is a Communist. Oh, and not one of the nice Cuban ones who gives you free health care, but one of those Soviet Russian ones. You know, the vodka-drinking wife-beaters (likes Stalin, for example).
  71. richardj
    Jul 22, 2007
    8
    Now though this has not been released in Britian yet, i managed to gain a copy, and this is Michael Moores best film since Bowling For Columbine...Whereas before Moore has picked holes and widend them with mockery and has become self righteous. This film tries to explore a system with many different sides (but doesn't represent all)..Alot of the time Moore plays dumb so that people Now though this has not been released in Britian yet, i managed to gain a copy, and this is Michael Moores best film since Bowling For Columbine...Whereas before Moore has picked holes and widend them with mockery and has become self righteous. This film tries to explore a system with many different sides (but doesn't represent all)..Alot of the time Moore plays dumb so that people can see the significance of what he is trying to get at. In the UK the NHS is free, but Moore didn't go into other issues which is present in england also, like if you are not insured when hit by a car you have to pay for the ambulance now (i didn't know this until a friend told me as he is not a car driver and work sin the medical profession), he also doesn't explain about how much tax(s) we pay in Britain, France (also )...There is also how long ambulances come to help people in the UK is F*cking slow....Plus in the UK we have waiting lists for operations (some people can be on them for months maybe years) So yes the US HMO service is piss poor-greedy but in the UK it will end up the same and only one set of people can be healthy and they are the rich (it is always the same.....), did you notice how many poor people were represented in this (not many...who inturn are the most sick and unhealthy)....It is a disturbing film but be wary of all it shows and represents as not all of it rings true..... Expand
  72. RienyeN.
    Jul 24, 2007
    8
    Awesome documentary! I believe Moore covered his bases and argued his points very well. Critics who bashed this movie seemed to be biased! If there is better way of comparing health care systems between two different countries OTHER than COMPARING them I'd love to hear about it!!!
  73. GeraldF.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    It's amazing that some people have voted without seeing the movie because they don't believe in free speech or the constitution. I've lived in both Canada and the United States, and the health care system is infinitely superior in Canada. The TERRIFYING survival of the fittest attitude by a lot of people comes from such an arrogant place. The perversion of both the It's amazing that some people have voted without seeing the movie because they don't believe in free speech or the constitution. I've lived in both Canada and the United States, and the health care system is infinitely superior in Canada. The TERRIFYING survival of the fittest attitude by a lot of people comes from such an arrogant place. The perversion of both the Insurance industry and the Government is blatantly evident to anyone with enough courage and education to open their eyes. I hope God does bless America, when America stops acting like a drunken Father that stumbles around the planet abusing any of it's children that gets in it's way...and ignoring the children right here it his feet. Expand
  74. RebeccaD.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    Surprise #1: Sicko isn't about Michael Moore's ego-on-parade. He gets out of his own way Surprise #2: By far, by far, by far - his best film. In every respect. Surprise #3: We leave the theater talking about the healthcare crisis & medical insurance dramas. Has same conversation-cultural zeitgeist impact as Inconvenient Truth.
  75. johnm.
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    His best and most seditious to date.
  76. joseU.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Compelling, smart, daring, funny, and entertaining. This film has everything that I expect from good filmaking. It is not often that a film has a serious message, and it is entertaining. This film is very entertaining, and has a sobering view of one aspect of this country's underbelly that is seldom discussed in this level of detail.
  77. MarkO.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    This film is not only the first to address the problem of health care in the U.S., but goes further, by proposing what must be considered the only possible solution: universal, single-payer, publicly-funded health care.
  78. MartinS.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    Unfortunately people who watch this movie will probably prejudge it based on political affiliation. I can see where Mr. Moore could come off as a preachy gas bag to some but I have yet to find a major inaccuracy in any of his movies. It's really a shame that an issue as important as universal health care should be spun until it's vilified as another communist plot by terror Unfortunately people who watch this movie will probably prejudge it based on political affiliation. I can see where Mr. Moore could come off as a preachy gas bag to some but I have yet to find a major inaccuracy in any of his movies. It's really a shame that an issue as important as universal health care should be spun until it's vilified as another communist plot by terror loving liberals. I pray that one day the American people will stop drinking the kool aid. Expand
  79. BrandonS.
    Aug 13, 2007
    9
    Quite an incredible movie. Note: Moore does not claim that countries like Canada, Britain, France, and Cuba are perfect in every way, only that even the worst of these (Cuba's no paradise, for sure) seems to place a value on the average person's health. I highly recommend this film and hope it can spark a movement the way Gore's Inconvenient Truth has done for the environment.
  80. TomH
    Aug 15, 2007
    8
    For once, I think Mister Moore has created something that is much more the art than the artist. He is nowhere near as grating or abrasive in Sicko as he was in his other films.
  81. BitBurn
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    Disturbing, heartfelt, artistic, chocking, sad, funny, I have never seen such an entertaining documentary with so much importance...exceptionally scary.
  82. AlessioP.
    Aug 5, 2007
    8
    I'm from Italy and my first thought, after this film, is that i'm VERY happy not to live in Usa... and that i'll do better to never go there on holiday, since i cant afford 600k in case i got hurt. Like all Moore's film, this is not completely neutral... universal healthcare it is surely not heaven. There are waiting lists, cant deny it... altough they are very I'm from Italy and my first thought, after this film, is that i'm VERY happy not to live in Usa... and that i'll do better to never go there on holiday, since i cant afford 600k in case i got hurt. Like all Moore's film, this is not completely neutral... universal healthcare it is surely not heaven. There are waiting lists, cant deny it... altough they are very dependent on the kind of treatment you need. I never heard of someone who had to wait way too much (and for me, more than a couple of months is too much) and about the poor guys with serious illness (generally, the one that need a surgery operation), they got heal almost the same day they got to the hospital. Altough we have our share of problems, i think our system is way better than placing ourselves at the hands of some private company, that like all the company only wants money. Nothing wrong with that.... the point is that when im sick i NEED to get healed, and fuck the shareholders and the free market. Better waiting some days, or even two-three weeks, more but be sure that i'll always get healed, than live with the fear that a single case of illness in my family could financially destroy my live forever. Expand
  83. SusanS.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 not because it's the best movie out there, but because I have not had such an intense lingering reaction to a film a long time. Despite what you might think about the health care system in America, and despite the fact that the film is obviously skewed to make a point (it is a documentary, people, they're supposed to make an argument), I walked out of I'm giving this a 10 not because it's the best movie out there, but because I have not had such an intense lingering reaction to a film a long time. Despite what you might think about the health care system in America, and despite the fact that the film is obviously skewed to make a point (it is a documentary, people, they're supposed to make an argument), I walked out of the theater incensed and ready for action. And so did most of the other viewers. There was more talk of the movie in the lobby than one usually hears, and I think that's the sign of an effective film--one that leaves you wanting to know more, wanting to talk more, and wanting to do something. Despite your political or corporate views, you should see this film. Everyone in America should see this film. It's a propaganda movie and it does it's job very well. No, our health system is not all bad, but it's definitely got to change, and if everyone watched this film, they might be angry enough to start something. I know I am. Expand
  84. Eric
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    Why cant we wake up.
  85. Berend
    Jan 31, 2008
    8
    It is a good documentary. But I'm not going to react further on it, I'm going toe react on the people who gave it a 0 and on the people who think that the American health care system is very good for everyone. The American system is good for everyone who has enough money if you don't have enough money then it's you're problem, and I think that EVERYONE has the It is a good documentary. But I'm not going to react further on it, I'm going toe react on the people who gave it a 0 and on the people who think that the American health care system is very good for everyone. The American system is good for everyone who has enough money if you don't have enough money then it's you're problem, and I think that EVERYONE has the right on health care no matter how much money you earn. I live in the Netherlands (for stupid people Holland) and we have public health care and it is very good the Nethelands is number 17 on the list and America? America is number 37 on the list (http://www.photius.com/rankings/healthranks.html). So I think Moore is right something has to be done at you're health care system thingie. Expand
  86. HarryH.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Best film of the year, maybe this will bring change to the health care system
  87. Sam
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Message for E.B. Typical flag waving ignoramus. Never question the system and take in whatever hogwash is presented to you like they're the words of Jesus. It's people like you who make Americans like me sick. Sick to my stomach.
  88. Dr.MichaelE.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    If Moore had gone into details, opponents would yell that he got too distracted by minutiae, that it's going to be unworkable, too expensive, etc. I was so moved by this movie that I've set about to find reasons not to change my opposition to universal health care. Michael Moore is clearly a hero here, and he has class: Look at his $12,000 anonymous donation for health care for If Moore had gone into details, opponents would yell that he got too distracted by minutiae, that it's going to be unworkable, too expensive, etc. I was so moved by this movie that I've set about to find reasons not to change my opposition to universal health care. Michael Moore is clearly a hero here, and he has class: Look at his $12,000 anonymous donation for health care for an anti-Moore webmaster whose wife needed an operation. I know that I would not have had that kind of class (and yes, I realize that by putting this in the film the donation was no longer anonymous, but it was at the time). Expand
  89. JordanA.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    BRILLIANT!!!! Everyone in America should see this!!
  90. zouzoun.
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Even if we hear that Mr.Moore is getting rich by making films like this, it;s really worth paying him, and everybody else who does an efford to tell it like it is!!!! Excellent Mr. Moore!
  91. CiaranG.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Not just a movie, a message to the world.
  92. JK.
    Jun 25, 2007
    9
    Thought provoking!
  93. MikeMurphy
    Jun 27, 2007
    8
    To those few who've given zeros to this film, it's obvious they haven't even seen Sicko. Still holding grudges on Moore's Fahrenheit 9/11 film? Sweet, continue to be the embarrassing ignorant Americans we all know you can be. The film doesn
  94. DanielS.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    Yeah, what's up with Metacritic's TIME score of 50? I quesiton that too. Great tackling of this important topic that affects all of us. At least someone has the courage to tackle the details and stories concerning this issue.
  95. [Anonymous]
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    When a movie that criticizes a corrupt system that, instead of helping sick people, attempts to maximize profits and rejects dying people because of the cost, I tend to think that progress might be made if enough people start to focus in on this terribly neglected issue. The light humor that pervades SiCKO adds the greatest tool Moore has ever used: People dying because of corrupt When a movie that criticizes a corrupt system that, instead of helping sick people, attempts to maximize profits and rejects dying people because of the cost, I tend to think that progress might be made if enough people start to focus in on this terribly neglected issue. The light humor that pervades SiCKO adds the greatest tool Moore has ever used: People dying because of corrupt insurance companies is not funny and something must be done. Expand
  96. SergioP.
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    So why did Metacritic just change TIME's review from a "50" to a "80" on this webpage--and the score didn't change--it's still a 71? I thought TIME had more oomph that that. Grrrrrrrreat film. Eye-opening. Tackles a subject which seems difficult but at the bottom of it all, is just really about being human and how to treat humans the right way. Thank you for this film.
  97. DustinB.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Outstanding job of showing how backwards USA can be. Our country is being held hostage by big business, pharm companies are messing with our kids. Hopefully this will ignite a change, its powerful enough to do so.
  98. SarahB
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    I am so thankful to live in a country with public health care, especially after seeing how little the American for-profit model does to care for its citizens. This is an important film that will hopefully provoke a long overdue dialogue on how America is failing its citizens where health is concerned.
  99. TonyS.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    I'm not surprised that most of the negative reviews failed to mention anything that takes place in the film. For once in a longtime Moore has made a Non-Partisan film. Even Fox News gave this film a rave review (Though maybe to proud to post it here). I new our (America's) health care system was so poor...I didn't know it was that poor. I didn't know Cuba had free I'm not surprised that most of the negative reviews failed to mention anything that takes place in the film. For once in a longtime Moore has made a Non-Partisan film. Even Fox News gave this film a rave review (Though maybe to proud to post it here). I new our (America's) health care system was so poor...I didn't know it was that poor. I didn't know Cuba had free Heath Care. I didn't know that France had a free heath care system. The only problem I had with this film is that Moore sometimes tries to sneak in rehashed ideas from Fahrenheit 9/11. While Moore suffered a defeat after that film, I doubt it will be the case this time around. Expand
  100. WillH.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Moore's best film by far! I have personally had a taste of health care in Canada (skiing accident), France (fractured ankle), England (major food poisoning) and the majority in the U.S. Surprisingly I'm a pretty healthy guy with a lot of air miles. I can tell you from first hand experience that Moore nails it! Although I have 'good' insurance here, the great treatment Moore's best film by far! I have personally had a taste of health care in Canada (skiing accident), France (fractured ankle), England (major food poisoning) and the majority in the U.S. Surprisingly I'm a pretty healthy guy with a lot of air miles. I can tell you from first hand experience that Moore nails it! Although I have 'good' insurance here, the great treatment I received in these other countries was incredible. The actual thrill of having a kind doctor come to you was mind numbing for an American expecting to wait to get in for an appointment or worse spending hours in an emergency room waiting to be seen (appendectomy). Trust me, it doesn't matter how good your insurance is here....in the E.R. it's "back of the line!" Although saddened by the despair of the victims of our corrupt bureaucracy, I left the theater optimistic that we as Americans have the democratic ability to change the system! Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Moore's most assured, least antagonistic and potentially most important film.
  2. 25
    The silliness of Moore's oeuvre is so self-evident that being able to spot it is not liberal or conservative, either; it's a basic intelligence test, like the ability to match square peg with square hole. His documentaries are political slapstick that could have been made by a third Farrelly brother or a fourth Stooge.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    75
    This is a movie, not a position paper, and Moore aims to entertain as he informs.