Side Effects

Side Effects Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 394 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Feb 26, 2013
    91
    He’s taken what, on paper, boils down to an extra ridiculous episode of “Law and Order: Criminal Intent” and passes it off as high cinematic art.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Feb 7, 2013
    90
    In another sense, though, everything is exactly what it seems, expertly crafted and cleverly compounded for high-dose entertainment.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Feb 6, 2013
    88
    Imagine music for a sorcery-related plot and then dial it down to ominous forebodings. Without Thomas Newman's score, Side Effects would be a lesser film, even another film.
  4. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Feb 3, 2013
    75
    The picture's conspiratorial late-night tone and fleshy after hours luridness was practically built for watching at night, when our parents think we've gone off to bed (think '80s films directed by folks like Adrian Lyne).
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Feb 8, 2013
    75
    A sleekly clever murder mystery, the film plays as many games with the audience as it does with its characters, and for the majority of the running time — the challenge comes from matching wits with what you’re seeing.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 7, 2013
    75
    It's a gripping, maddening and thoroughly satisfying thriller, made with artfulness and integrity. Soderbergh sees things in his actors and gets things from them that other directors don't.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 6, 2013
    25
    What it turns out to be is a preposterous puzzle that fails every test under scrutiny, leaving the spectator with a “Huh?” that is meant to be uttered only while chewing gum.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 76
  2. Negative: 5 out of 76
  1. May 11, 2013
    10
    What a great way to go out with the best movie of 2013 I've seen so far. I loved the slowly unraveling serpentine plot that had us thinking itWhat a great way to go out with the best movie of 2013 I've seen so far. I loved the slowly unraveling serpentine plot that had us thinking it was an expose on Big Pharma and then it twisted in a totally different direction. Great acting too. A modern thriller classic. Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    A story with many twists and turns that hooked me from the start. I really thought that Jude Law gave one of his best performances in yearsA story with many twists and turns that hooked me from the start. I really thought that Jude Law gave one of his best performances in years and along with Rooney Mara this film is well put together. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    An engrossing thriller that takes quite a few twists and turns that keeps you guessing throughout most of the film. I had heard that thisAn engrossing thriller that takes quite a few twists and turns that keeps you guessing throughout most of the film. I had heard that this movie was inspired and I could definitely see that. Law and Mara lead the way for a cast that overall did a very good job in the acting department. Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2013
    7
    Although some of its "twists" and character relationships could be developed more clearly, "Side Effects" still comes through as aAlthough some of its "twists" and character relationships could be developed more clearly, "Side Effects" still comes through as a surprisingly engrossing thriller with fantastic turns from Rooney Mara and Jude Law. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderfully mature and adult thriller in which the puzzle is somewhat more satisfying than the resolution as it leaves a few uncertain conclusions. Jude Law is very good as the psychiatrist treating Rooney Mara's depressed patient and there are twists and turns in abundance; a shocking murder and a lot of debating the use of prescription drugs are just a few of the plot points that propel the story intriguingly forward. However, I must admit to some uncertainty about the conclusion which is lazily written. One gets the gist, but it is definitely not totally satisfactory. Good acting and a mood enhancing score from Thomas Newman add to the stylish effect. Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    5
    Boring, predictable and a very weak ending. I don't understand the critic's love for Steven Soderbergh. Only positive are the performances byBoring, predictable and a very weak ending. I don't understand the critic's love for Steven Soderbergh. Only positive are the performances by the actors. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    0
    Character development was completely neglected in light of an actually great narrative. Good choice of actors to portray all elements of theCharacter development was completely neglected in light of an actually great narrative. Good choice of actors to portray all elements of the story, but ultimately weak in creating anything substantial. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Most Notable Upcoming Movies of 2013

    The Most Notable Upcoming Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 17, 2013
    Inside, look at over 70 key films expected to arrive over the next 12 months, from big-budget event films like Star Trek Into Darkness and Man of Steel to the latest features from Terrence Malick, the Coen Brothers, Spike Jonze, Alexander Payne, Lars von Trier, Sofia Coppola, George Clooney, and much more.
  2. DVD Release Calendar: May 2013

    DVD Release Calendar: May 2013 Image
    Published: April 29, 2013
    Find dates for upcoming movie and TV releases on home video, including Upstream Color, Jack Reacher, Cloud Atlas, Side Effects, and more.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 1, 2013
    Catch up on the latest news about Star Wars, a Warcraft movie, and other upcoming film projects, and watch all of this week's new trailers and clips, including new looks at Side Effects and A Good Day to Die Hard as well as The Rock's latest film.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: November 9, 2012
    Watch new trailers for Steven Soderbergh's next (and last?) feature "Side Effects," Schwarzenegger's return in "The Last Stand," plus "World War Z," "The Grandmasters," and more, and catch up on the week's movie news, including the latest "Star Wars" rumors.