Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 22, 2004
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 461 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
306
Mixed:
69
Negative:
86
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
djniceyNov 13, 2014
I'm baffled as to why this has such high scores. I could have fallen asleep for the whole film and not missed anything apart from a bit of silly pretentious talking about wine.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
sfarcusFeb 12, 2012
This movie was horrible and the fact that it was billed as a comedy is disgusting. It was dark and disturbing. The only reason people like it because the backdrop was about wineries. How anyone can say that this was an honest film andThis movie was horrible and the fact that it was billed as a comedy is disgusting. It was dark and disturbing. The only reason people like it because the backdrop was about wineries. How anyone can say that this was an honest film and real must be leading a very pathetic and sad life. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
awesomenessNov 2, 2010
Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring.Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
3
MikeH.Feb 27, 2007
Not to react to other reviewers but: just because you don't like the movie doesn't make you retarded. Thinking your opinion is somehow superior to others is quite retarded. This movie had some interesting humor and WAS clever. It Not to react to other reviewers but: just because you don't like the movie doesn't make you retarded. Thinking your opinion is somehow superior to others is quite retarded. This movie had some interesting humor and WAS clever. It also had interesting characters. The problem is: I disliked the characters. It was like watching a comedy about annoying people. They may be occasionally funny and deep, but they are STILL ANNOYING. Sorry, but this was a terrible movie to live through for me and the three others that watched it with me. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
3
RichardsOct 8, 2005
Wow, were those outstanding reviews all written by family members or what? Not a bad film, but not a great one, or an "instant classic" either. Just an ordinary slice-of-life pic with a few scenes that raise a smile, but no great laughs, and Wow, were those outstanding reviews all written by family members or what? Not a bad film, but not a great one, or an "instant classic" either. Just an ordinary slice-of-life pic with a few scenes that raise a smile, but no great laughs, and some obvious insights into middle-aged men. Overlong, under-written, too little drama and amazingly over-rated. The emotion also veers all over the place, from maudlin pathos, to pornographic, to sappy sentiment. Along with The Station Agent, one of the most over-rated films for years - perhaps they are only suited to an American audience and American "humour"? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JeffH.Mar 19, 2007
Honestly one of the worst movies i have ever seen, a complete sham that it has the same rating as pulp fiction, and is actually ahead of Schindler's List.....it is a movie that tries to come off as deep but its really about two losers Honestly one of the worst movies i have ever seen, a complete sham that it has the same rating as pulp fiction, and is actually ahead of Schindler's List.....it is a movie that tries to come off as deep but its really about two losers whose lives are terrible and they have no one to blame but themselves. I would like the two hours of my life back that i sat watching this slow, boring, unfunny, atroscity of a movie....do not even waste your time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
TrumanOct 8, 2005
A simple review - how did this beat The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind in so many award ceremonies? Daylight robbery, pure and simple. If you want to see a brilliantly written, directed and acted film about mid-life crisis watch The A simple review - how did this beat The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind in so many award ceremonies? Daylight robbery, pure and simple. If you want to see a brilliantly written, directed and acted film about mid-life crisis watch The Wonderboys. This is a poor second cousin in comparison. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
TimASep 14, 2008
Firstly for a comedy this is not funny. The acting is wooden and somehow makes you feel rather distant from the film. The whole wine tasting theme through the film is so pretentious and psuedo classy. Avoid
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
Giamatti is awesome. The other acting is acceptable. The movie never seems to go anywhere. It does have some humor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
justicenowAug 16, 2008
This is a perfect example of why Critic's reviews are irrelevant to the public. This movie was is pretty much a waste of time. I have found that user reviews and ratings are far more relevant and consistent than those of the Critics. This is a perfect example of why Critic's reviews are irrelevant to the public. This movie was is pretty much a waste of time. I have found that user reviews and ratings are far more relevant and consistent than those of the Critics. Out of 450 votes this movie's rating is 6.1 out of 10. Though I thought the movie was horrible, a 6.1 gives the public a reasonable idea of what the over all value of the movie is. 94 out of 100 is ridiculous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KevinG.Jan 21, 2006
This would have to be the WORST movie I have ever seen in my life. I would only recommend it to those who have trouble sleeping at night, beacuse this is a drug-free sleep enhancer! What a waste of time. I think the credits were the best This would have to be the WORST movie I have ever seen in my life. I would only recommend it to those who have trouble sleeping at night, beacuse this is a drug-free sleep enhancer! What a waste of time. I think the credits were the best part. What a boring ass movie! I kept waiting for it to spark up into something funny... and I'm still waiting for that! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BlaineH.Apr 1, 2006
I found both leading male characters to be sleezy and more over, not funny. Maybe it's the fact that I would never associate with anyone with the slightest similarities in character, EVER. It was a waste and a bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JesusCMar 30, 2007
Such a disappointment! I was so looking forward to this after having worked in the wine business! & liking comedy. Found the charactors so hard to identify with and deserving of so little compassion & I the wine tasting elements handled with Such a disappointment! I was so looking forward to this after having worked in the wine business! & liking comedy. Found the charactors so hard to identify with and deserving of so little compassion & I the wine tasting elements handled with the subtlety of a sledgehammer, awkward and cliche'd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AidanWMar 14, 2008
The worst part is that merlot sales dropped because of this movie. way to go america!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GlendaS.Dec 6, 2005
There is no likeable characters in this movie, I don't understand why professional reviewers like it so much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
dmhAug 29, 2005
I wasted 123 minutes of my time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MollyMOct 18, 2006
I heard all of the hype about this movie and thought, hey, even though the premise sounds really lame, all of these critics can't be wrong, right? Wrong. Sideways is the story about two losers (who you can never quite like or respect) I heard all of the hype about this movie and thought, hey, even though the premise sounds really lame, all of these critics can't be wrong, right? Wrong. Sideways is the story about two losers (who you can never quite like or respect) who go driving around California getting drunk and trying to hook up with sluts they find along the way, all the while trying to deal with their pathetic and self-created issues. Hmm... sounds so interesting doesn't it? Nope, and it wasn't. At first it wasn't so bad, but the more I watched it, the more I felt like my sense of humanity was slowly and methodically being assaulted till, by the end, my friend and I looked at each other and apologized for suggesting we see the movie. Several times throughout the viewing people in the audience would laugh, while my friend and I would look at each other in confusion, wondering if perhaps there was some other reality that we lived in that made it so we didn't think the weasels on screen were funny. The shallowness of this movie seems to be epitomized by the scene when Paul Giamatti and Virginia Madsen's characters are out on the porch talking about their favorite wines and end up having a "deep" conversation. I kept thinking, is this supposed to be some deep, poignant point in the movie? It was nothing big, nothing deep or insightful to anybody who is deep and insightful. Which apparently most of the reviewers are not... I guess deep conversations and "meaningful issues" for a lot of movies are things that I think about and discuss with friends and family on regular basis, so maybe my life is just more complex and deep than I knew, because this movie wasn't impressive to me in the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
kultgirlJan 5, 2006
I waited a long time to see this so I would not be judging it by the hype. I'm thankful I wasn't holding my breath. I am an independent movie fan, and I still detest this movie. The only thing worth value to me was the end. I I waited a long time to see this so I would not be judging it by the hype. I'm thankful I wasn't holding my breath. I am an independent movie fan, and I still detest this movie. The only thing worth value to me was the end. I suppose the scenery was nice too. I kept wondering, "What did I miss!??!?!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KarlB.Jan 6, 2006
Complete crap. what a waste of time. the film was dragging from beginning to end and actually felt tears of joy when it ended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KennethM.Jul 10, 2006
Pretensious drivel.. lol, misspelt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MasakiO.Oct 5, 2007
I thought it was a depressing. This movie gave sooo many people a wrong impression on everything to do with wine & wine tasting... As soon as you start treating FERMENTED GRAPE JUICE as if it were a person ~ Something is wrong with you. I thought it was a depressing. This movie gave sooo many people a wrong impression on everything to do with wine & wine tasting... As soon as you start treating FERMENTED GRAPE JUICE as if it were a person ~ Something is wrong with you. I'm from Napa... You come here and act like that then you shouldn't be on vacation. That guy - as a friend in this movie - sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaveS.Mar 1, 2007
Boring! Smug, middle class nonsense, no laughs at all. you'd be hard pushed to stay awake during this. I can't for the life of me work out why the critics are fawning over it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanR.Mar 2, 2007
Are you kidding me? One of the top of all time? This website just dropped to 0 in my critic review. This movie was horrilbe. The only question is are you getting paid to hipe up a flop or what?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DrewP.Apr 14, 2007
Unwatchable! Like a lot of others here, I can't understand why this was so critically acclaimed. It's not funny, and it's actually a pretty sad and obnoxious movie. I guess if you're a loser facing a midlife crisis and Unwatchable! Like a lot of others here, I can't understand why this was so critically acclaimed. It's not funny, and it's actually a pretty sad and obnoxious movie. I guess if you're a loser facing a midlife crisis and would like to identify with something, this is your movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobE.Apr 8, 2007
This is my first rating, so it gets a 1. Really a pedestrian and trite little flick, but I did laugh a couple of times. Why did it get so many 100's by the critics? They must have been quite drunk at the time. I suggest a good Syrah This is my first rating, so it gets a 1. Really a pedestrian and trite little flick, but I did laugh a couple of times. Why did it get so many 100's by the critics? They must have been quite drunk at the time. I suggest a good Syrah buzz to make this go down a little easier. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
jordanhJul 24, 2008
The only reason for the 1 is because of when the car fell in the ditch. that was the only funny part during the entire movie. other than that it was just annoying. it wasn't funny romantic, or entertaining. dry and excruciatingly boring.The only reason for the 1 is because of when the car fell in the ditch. that was the only funny part during the entire movie. other than that it was just annoying. it wasn't funny romantic, or entertaining. dry and excruciatingly boring. see it if you want to waste your time, but if you'd like to save two hours of your life from being completely wasted, try looking ANYWHERE else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimF.Nov 8, 2005
A few interesting moments, but overall a boring waste of time. I don't understand the so-called "critics" rating this move so high - maybe they just want to impress us with their superiority as "experts". I look at the ratings from the A few interesting moments, but overall a boring waste of time. I don't understand the so-called "critics" rating this move so high - maybe they just want to impress us with their superiority as "experts". I look at the ratings from the "Users" rather than the "Critics" for more honesty and good judgement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KrisV.Dec 14, 2005
Instead of being unbelievable funny. It is just unbelievable and not funny at all. shame that it gets great reviews. Wasted 20 euros in buying it. Cant even use it as as present.Maybe I give it to someone I really hate. Let him waste two Instead of being unbelievable funny. It is just unbelievable and not funny at all. shame that it gets great reviews. Wasted 20 euros in buying it. Cant even use it as as present.Maybe I give it to someone I really hate. Let him waste two hours of his live. that said the acting was reasonable and the storytelling OK but the story bored me and I didn't relate. (allthough I am 35 and single) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichardR.Apr 25, 2005
Bleahhh! This movie made me want to puke even more than if I'd drunk as much cheap wine as those jerks did. EVERY performance was crap (well, maybe the neglected little girl in the apartment did OK, but she just had one line, I think), Bleahhh! This movie made me want to puke even more than if I'd drunk as much cheap wine as those jerks did. EVERY performance was crap (well, maybe the neglected little girl in the apartment did OK, but she just had one line, I think), the story absurd, the dialogue stilted and unnatural. They couldn't even pronounce "Merlot," for crying out loud! What's more, the idea that any woman in the universe might want to hang with either of these two lame lead characters is way beyond belief. This was one of the worst movies I've EVER seen, and certainly the most over-rated. (Whew! I feel better now...) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChuckB.Nov 3, 2006
In short - BORING. The only laugh (more of a titter) was the pathetic attempt to pronounce Cheval Blanc (shevull blonk?) I definitely recommend skipping this one
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ShmittyS.Oct 31, 2006
Yeah, are the critics High? This is the worst movie I have ever seen in the passed year. IT IS SO F.CKING STUPID! It has barely any humor, besides random cussing. All they do is drive around and drink. The critics for once actually gave too Yeah, are the critics High? This is the worst movie I have ever seen in the passed year. IT IS SO F.CKING STUPID! It has barely any humor, besides random cussing. All they do is drive around and drink. The critics for once actually gave too high a rating. This is ridiculous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnH.Feb 20, 2006
thought this would be my kind of film, I was wrong. It seems to me to be an american attempt at a european style 'slower pace' film but 'slow' does not make it good! The friendship of the 2 main characters was just not thought this would be my kind of film, I was wrong. It seems to me to be an american attempt at a european style 'slower pace' film but 'slow' does not make it good! The friendship of the 2 main characters was just not believable, why the actor puts up with the teacher is beyond me, rather him than me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristosC.Apr 23, 2006
Possibly written and filmed exclusively for movie reviewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndreW.Apr 23, 2006
I laughed once during the entire movie. Poor story, ok actors but not funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexF.Jun 1, 2006
Worst Film Ever. I do believe this was made for critics to go "it shows balance and poise and drama in such a simple way" or some other simnilar rubbish that critics tend to spout to be percieved as different. Awful Awful Awful and Awful in Worst Film Ever. I do believe this was made for critics to go "it shows balance and poise and drama in such a simple way" or some other simnilar rubbish that critics tend to spout to be percieved as different. Awful Awful Awful and Awful in case you didn't get the picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MorrisLeCatSep 9, 2006
It always astonishes me that a movie like this can get high review marks. This reminded me of 'Wedding Crashers', in that, once again, we are supposed to find meaning or feeling or poignancy in characters (at least 2 of them) thatIt always astonishes me that a movie like this can get high review marks. This reminded me of 'Wedding Crashers', in that, once again, we are supposed to find meaning or feeling or poignancy in characters (at least 2 of them) that have absolutely zero redeaming value? Take Jack (the one who's getting married), for instance. To watch someone spend the last week before marriage getting laid as often as possible simply doesn't push any comedy 'ha ha' buttons for me.Jack was unbearably tedious within the first 20 minutes of the start. Miles was more a charicature that a character -- his stealing from his mother and his daily drunkeness left no room in my heart to hope for a hapy ending for him. He didn't deserve Maya -- he didn't desrve anything. And his middle school student didn't deserve him.

This movie is basically one in which three out of the four main characters (Miles, Jack, and Maya) get to have a reasonably happy ending when none of them have earned it as human beings. I suppose that would be okay if the movie didn't deliver the story in a way tath seems to condone or celebrate it. Talk about a unredeeming amoral flick, this one's a poster child.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ariBJan 24, 2007
Downright stupid and boring. This movie having a rating of 94 is an insult to all other brillaint films ever made in history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KenCJan 8, 2008
It was irritating to watch and I could not finish the movie. The characters are pathetic and the plot was trite. It was very woody allen (without his touch) - you find yourself not caring about the characters and wondering why you are even It was irritating to watch and I could not finish the movie. The characters are pathetic and the plot was trite. It was very woody allen (without his touch) - you find yourself not caring about the characters and wondering why you are even watching the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JonSJan 8, 2008
Two repulsive men bagging two gorgeous women . . . no wonder so many movie critics loved it. Really - if you can stand the company of these guys, you need to get some new friends . . .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PrinsM.Mar 6, 2008
Awful. Completely unrealistic and not even remotely funny. Did I mention irritating?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NickK.Dec 12, 2005
I really dont know why the critics rated this film so highly, unless they were voting for the most boring film of the year. Its a likeable enough story but I found it extremely dull, the characters are all bland and there isnt any excitement I really dont know why the critics rated this film so highly, unless they were voting for the most boring film of the year. Its a likeable enough story but I found it extremely dull, the characters are all bland and there isnt any excitement or anything challenging throughout the whole film. In my opinion the film could be summed up as Bloke visits vineyards and drinks wine ad nauseum, he must have had the most boring stag do ever! I bought this film on DVD based on its reviews and think it was a waste of money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
I give it 2 stars because cast did a ok job.but movie overall sucked.going to work is more fun then this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BlisterfishCafeSep 14, 2005
Can't say enough bad things about this film. The only reason I gave it a "1" is because I love wine. Paul Giamatti sucks...Thank you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LanceB.Dec 16, 2006
This movie reminded me of a really bad Seinfeld episode, and that's not a rip on Seinfeld but there were some bad Seinfeld episodes and this was like a 2 hr version of one of those.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndrewC.Apr 12, 2006
Quite possibly the most overrated film in hte last 10 years. Crap. THe main character was nothing short of annoyingly depressed and BORING. THe entire movie is him taking pity upon himself and crying over his failures in life. I'm Quite possibly the most overrated film in hte last 10 years. Crap. THe main character was nothing short of annoyingly depressed and BORING. THe entire movie is him taking pity upon himself and crying over his failures in life. I'm giving it a generous 3 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GracePApr 17, 2006
Contrary to all the good reviews being written about this movie,it is utter crap...I had such high expectations,but watching the movie was sheer torture.There is nothing great about this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jasonpottsNov 18, 2004
I could only wish to have had bowel cramps during the scence in which Maya and Miles talk about wine. That would have given me an excuse to escape to the bathroom and not listen to two contrived, altogther obvious, and decidedly uneroticI could only wish to have had bowel cramps during the scence in which Maya and Miles talk about wine. That would have given me an excuse to escape to the bathroom and not listen to two contrived, altogther obvious, and decidedly unerotic rambles in which an extended metaphor is run into exhaustion. For the record, I thought _Election_ was terrific, but none of the sharpness of that movie is apparent here. And I'll spare you what I think of those of you who continue to try to review the reviewers on this site rather than the movie itself Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
baldarovApr 9, 2015
This was a ridiculously boring movie that made me feel like I wasted 2 hours of my life. The supposedly "smart" comedy made me groan out loud as to how stupid it was. Everyone that I've talked to about it didn't care for it either. People sayThis was a ridiculously boring movie that made me feel like I wasted 2 hours of my life. The supposedly "smart" comedy made me groan out loud as to how stupid it was. Everyone that I've talked to about it didn't care for it either. People say its an age thing. I'm almost 40. It was a dreadfully boring movie and many people I know agree on this. To me, it came off as one of those dreadfully boring movies that people say they like so they can say they're smart and they "totally get it". It felt like some made-for-cable-TV artsy flick that came out in the 90's or something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews