Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 22, 2004
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 703 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
426
Mixed:
118
Negative:
159
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AnthonySFeb 4, 2005
Brilliant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeffMApr 10, 2005
A very realistic movie. In a time of Hollywood acting and Hollywood endings, this movie is a breath of fresh air. It is not a feel good movie, but at times extremely funny and entertaining. Too many people see this movie expecting a laugh A very realistic movie. In a time of Hollywood acting and Hollywood endings, this movie is a breath of fresh air. It is not a feel good movie, but at times extremely funny and entertaining. Too many people see this movie expecting a laugh riot...It's not!!! What it is is a look at real people doing real things and it is very fun to watch. At times it is very depressing, but that's real life. I feel sorry for everybody who doesn't like this movie...I say watch it again, now that you know what to expect, and maybe you'll see how truely great it is. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackOOct 10, 2009
Can't describe how real and awesome this movie is. absolute perfection in every sense of the word.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TroyP.Oct 17, 2008
This movie is excellent! An amazing script with great acting. It touches on so many real life issues and does so in such a sutly humorous way. I feel that many people will not understand the greatness of this movie, but it is a masterpiece!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JimmySep 8, 2005
Outstanding film, an instant classic. How you could give this movie a negative review is beyond me. The acting is superb. This is an honest film and real as a movie can be-- it wasn't made just to make you laugh. If you missed the Outstanding film, an instant classic. How you could give this movie a negative review is beyond me. The acting is superb. This is an honest film and real as a movie can be-- it wasn't made just to make you laugh. If you missed the point, I guess that's your loss. Go watch American Pie or something. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SchmidtFeb 7, 2011
Absolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest characterAbsolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest character performance I've seen from a consistently great character actor, Paul Giamatti. He captures Miles with precision - reading the novel, which is narrated by Miles, you obviously gain great insight into his character, but with every twitch, half-smile, lame comment, heartbreaking expression, he truly becomes Pickett's character, and brings him to life like no other could. Haden Church as Jack is a fantastic antithesis to Miles, and gives the surprise performance of the century, and Madsen offers a strong but scarred woman, who ultimately breathes life into Miles' body. I'm only really talking about performances here, but really, you have to see this movie yourself. For some fantastic camera work look out for the scene in Los Olivos, with a drunken Miles on the phone to his ex-wife, for a beautiful piece of music from Rolfe Kent, listen out for the scene at Mrs Raymond's, where Miles is looked down upon by his family (metaphorically, of course - they are in photographs), and for the best example of just how strong Giamatti is here, watch his stomach turn as Victoria gives him the news after the wedding. He painfully holds onto a smile, and we can see in his hurt, tormented eyes that he just wants to let go. Movie magic until the last second, and after that. Mature filmmaking at its best - as 'Jimmy' says, "an instant classic... an honest film and as real as a movie can be." Couldn't have put it better myself. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
EricL.Jan 10, 2005
A little better than average, but it can be slow at times. I don't understand why the critics loved it so much.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
J-ShapAug 29, 2011
Mastering the tonal shifts of life with a look at the problems one can face, both serious and trivial, Sideways comes around as simply excellent. It can have scenes of high humor, scenes of sad despair, and scenes to marvel at just howMastering the tonal shifts of life with a look at the problems one can face, both serious and trivial, Sideways comes around as simply excellent. It can have scenes of high humor, scenes of sad despair, and scenes to marvel at just how something managed to end up the way it is, and the director and cast can handle the shifts between these in a way that feels so natural it's almost frightening. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ScraperDec 28, 2011
Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it.Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it. What I liked though is that looks at love were highly imperfect but still had real consequences. Jennifer Aniston is not in this film. The actors are believable. I was able to want to believe them, right or wrong, for better or worse. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
HorlanMay 8, 2012
Sideways makes you believe that the story written by Alexander Payne is true. It is fresh, smart and as sophisticated as a good, old wine. All four actors are full of emotions, especially Paul Giamatti gives an unforgettable performance.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
MackeyJan 5, 2013
"Sideways" is a insightful movie about friendship, love, a lot drinking, bad habits and moral weaknesses of man. However it leaves delight after seeing, and chaotic adventure of main characters breathes in us hope that life is much more"Sideways" is a insightful movie about friendship, love, a lot drinking, bad habits and moral weaknesses of man. However it leaves delight after seeing, and chaotic adventure of main characters breathes in us hope that life is much more pleasent that it sounds. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
jcarMay 10, 2011
This movie is phenomenal. It's humor is incredibly consistent and contains a performance from Paul Giamatti that won't be topped for ages. I loved this movie and would recommend it to anyone
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
SImonMJan 11, 2009
Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice some terrible spelling, and inarticulate submissions. I think that says it all. For those who didn't enjoy the movie, perhapsMr Bean is more your style?? Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
Although I enjoyed the movie, I'm not sure why the critics fawned over it as much as they did. It's solid, but not spectacular. The characters and plot were entertaining and unique.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Christopher_G2Jan 16, 2011
This is in my top 20 movies of the last decade. It has an amazing script, and no less than three terrific performances by Paul Giamatti (one of the worst snubs in Oscar history) Thomas Hadden Church, and Virginia Madsen. It's very funny,This is in my top 20 movies of the last decade. It has an amazing script, and no less than three terrific performances by Paul Giamatti (one of the worst snubs in Oscar history) Thomas Hadden Church, and Virginia Madsen. It's very funny, entertaining, and made wine country a fascinating topic for someone like me who had no interest on the subject. It's purely about life and the choices we make. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
pedrostrikNov 28, 2010
Best quotidian movie in the last 20 years, wonderful plot, nice acting Giamatti's performance its sublime.
This movie its not for a general crowd, as wine tour suggest, the movie target's people that loves wine, nature and stereotypes on
Best quotidian movie in the last 20 years, wonderful plot, nice acting Giamatti's performance its sublime.
This movie its not for a general crowd, as wine tour suggest, the movie target's people that loves wine, nature and stereotypes on actual society, for some people to hard to understand the movie's message.
i watch it 2 times already and there's always something new on the plot ...
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
anothercoolguyJun 10, 2012
I really like Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church, I think Thomas should won that oscar this movie is really entertaining, pretty good in my opinion, i specially liked it by the acting but still good
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsJun 10, 2012
I love the acting in this movie, i also like the drama and it has comedy too, that is great, i do not get why people doesnt like it much its of my favorite ones
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
john24Jun 25, 2012
I loved it .
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 18, 2012
Payne directs the film so meticulously that you can't help but be intrigued by what he's showing you. He and Giamatti create and character with vast depth and sneakily subtle idiosyncrasies.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersJun 8, 2013
A special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fullyA special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fully realized, well developed, and perfectly portrayed by an amazing cast. Payne's direction is brilliant, this is easily his best film he's ever done. And the script is fun, charming, interesting, real, and resonant. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
pHrfoFeb 17, 2013
A movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendshipA movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendship and life is fascinating. The direction is outstanding: it allow us to enter the story in so many layers that we feel on a road trip, drinking wine. A real masterpiece. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Halo_InsiderNov 16, 2013
The central quartet is fantastic to behold, and this remains one of Alexander Payne's best films. It's a fantastic piece of work aided by an engaging and bittersweet script.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
niaspeedMar 29, 2014
One of my all time favorite movies, and for some people on here to say it was the worst movie ever, watch Lost in space, or the Black Hole. People are so ridiculous. Sideways is a classic.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
LauraMFeb 3, 2005
The characters were both stereotypes, which is ok for a comedy, less so for a serious movie. The former soap opera star was more over the top, and I have to say that I liked his character better than the writer's, whose story was far The characters were both stereotypes, which is ok for a comedy, less so for a serious movie. The former soap opera star was more over the top, and I have to say that I liked his character better than the writer's, whose story was far too formulaic. Still, a solid comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnL.Jan 30, 2005
Great movie! I did not know what to expect, so the entire movie was a surprise. Very funny, I laughed out so many times. Story is orignal, not your typical movie. I think this is the movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
brianBFeb 1, 2005
Brilliant script. Excellent acting. Simply stated, the best movie I have seen in several years. Don't miss it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerkinsOct 20, 2004
Brilliant, and the best film I have seen all year. Excellent characters, beautiful visuals, and in the screening I saw I have never heard a theater erupt in laughter so loudly and sit in sadness so quietly before.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lizJan 1, 2005
A perfect 10--a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZsoltG.Jan 31, 2005
A simple, moderate, beautiful movie. Paul Giamatti is wonderful, because he succeeds in being always natural and authentic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanS.Jan 30, 2005
Fresh, honest. An inspired and funny look at men's searches for sex and love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RayM.Feb 9, 2005
Those disliking the film have perfect lives or perceive themselves as flawless. The movie is about screwing up. You either relate, because you're human, or you don't because you're George Bush.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndyG.Apr 9, 2005
Skllful acting, clever script, polished direction, yet for some reason it remains flat and uninvolving;- to me, at least. It's Holywood, all the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
OrlandoC.Jun 1, 2005
While this pleasant, sometimes sweet movie is well engineered, it stretches a thin story. Only after 45min does Miles add substance. It goes by like novels written by the new wave of French authors: you can find magic and tragedy in every While this pleasant, sometimes sweet movie is well engineered, it stretches a thin story. Only after 45min does Miles add substance. It goes by like novels written by the new wave of French authors: you can find magic and tragedy in every day, but looking back, there really isn't much material to the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OrlandoCuculizaJun 2, 2005
Ok, the movie is highly enjoyable and entertaining but it ain't as great as all the critics picture it!. Of course you enjoy the plot and all, but there aren't many hilarious movies and the humor is not even ironic or such to laughOk, the movie is highly enjoyable and entertaining but it ain't as great as all the critics picture it!. Of course you enjoy the plot and all, but there aren't many hilarious movies and the humor is not even ironic or such to laugh out loud of the circumstances.
It's just an over-the-average dromedy, which you could watch just to watch when you're bored.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieMOct 22, 2004
This movie was moving and beautiful, but I actually preferred the book, where Miles's character is just as real but a little bit less of a downer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ASOct 30, 2004
So far, this is the best film of 2004. It's just simply one perfect film. Sad, wise and VERY funny. Very highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 12, 2005
The smartest funny movie I have seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronJan 12, 2005
Sideways deserves all of the positive reviews it is receiving. It is such a breath of fresh air in a movie world where beautiful, perfect looking actors with no talent take in $20 million a movie. I loved Sideways for its brutally honest Sideways deserves all of the positive reviews it is receiving. It is such a breath of fresh air in a movie world where beautiful, perfect looking actors with no talent take in $20 million a movie. I loved Sideways for its brutally honest depiction of how life really is if you make bad decisions in life, but I also admire the writer Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NealA.Jan 12, 2005
Pure cinematic magic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodJan 17, 2005
A refreshingly good film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndreasCOct 19, 2005
Fantastic film. Paul Giamatti is amazing and so is everything from story to soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamS.Oct 30, 2005
The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never exciting or wildly dramatic. If you're the kind of person who gets excited about convincing characters and plots then you shouldn't pass this one up. Otherwise, you've been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZachLJan 30, 2005
The beginning dragged on for me (i'm 16 by the way), the middle was freaking hiliarious, adn the ending depressed me a little bit, but i have to say i enjoyed it... let male nudity would have been better, but at least it was funny when The beginning dragged on for me (i'm 16 by the way), the middle was freaking hiliarious, adn the ending depressed me a little bit, but i have to say i enjoyed it... let male nudity would have been better, but at least it was funny when they showed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimF.Jan 7, 2005
The best non-action American movie of this pre-pubescent 21st century.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WinnieS.Jan 9, 2005
I don't think any other movie has portrayed male friendship as boldly or touching a manner. We see the good, the bad, and the ugly -- from their unfailing support and affection for each other, to their codependent enabling of each I don't think any other movie has portrayed male friendship as boldly or touching a manner. We see the good, the bad, and the ugly -- from their unfailing support and affection for each other, to their codependent enabling of each other's destructive habits. The movie also contrasts the slow dance of a new, real -- yet tentative -- love (between Giamatti and Madsen) with the intoxication of overwhelming physical attraction (between Hayden Church and Oh) in an unusually clear -- and very entertaining -- manner. Each of the actors brings incredible truth to the characters. You see yourself in them and many others you have known. This movie belongs in every collection. Each viewing will reveal more layers of the uniquely human experience -- our complicated, messy lives, our desire for that perfect moment (or wine), and the pure bliss we experience when we achieve them, however fleetingly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NikB.Feb 25, 2005
Fantastic movie - some of the deepest, and most real, characters of a film in recent times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChangFeb 2, 2005
Very very very great movie!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EJFeb 28, 2005
The movie was very poignant in its representation of the day to day agonies and painful joys present in contemporary life. By using wine as a conceit, the writers were able to express the complexities of modern day friendships, separation, The movie was very poignant in its representation of the day to day agonies and painful joys present in contemporary life. By using wine as a conceit, the writers were able to express the complexities of modern day friendships, separation, depression and love. Subtle, devoid of hollywood gimik and rich with the flavor of human experience, Sideways could very well be the best film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
danielg.Feb 8, 2005
Boring characters, yes, but this is real life, excelllent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobF.Mar 10, 2005
This isn't the first time that one of my favorite movies of the year was loathed by some people. The same thing happened with "Punch Drunk Love", so I've tried to be more careful before recommending films to friends and family. But This isn't the first time that one of my favorite movies of the year was loathed by some people. The same thing happened with "Punch Drunk Love", so I've tried to be more careful before recommending films to friends and family. But the reaction to this caught me off guard. This movie, like all my favorite movies, inspired my wife and I to talk about the characters later. No, not just comments like "I loved the part when so-and-so...", but actually talk about why we thought the people did the things they did. And I'm not just some film snob; my wife and I like the reality show "Survivior" for the same reason. Some movies just have a great way of revealing the subteties of human nature, both good and bad. I feel sorry for people who feel unsatisfied if the characters are flawed or if there isn't a clear-cut happing ending. It's like being trapped in the mind-set of a high school student who hates a book because "it doesn't have an ending". That's life, people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoryRMar 23, 2005
Hilarious and heartfelt. I would have applauded if this movie won the Oscar. A great human comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnp.Mar 6, 2005
An absolutely incredible film with great characters and amazing acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulW.Mar 6, 2005
I think the reason a few people have given this film very low scores is because once in awhile Hollywood actually make a FILM and not some mindless blockbuster with big stars...and lots of special effects and no story line. This film for I think the reason a few people have given this film very low scores is because once in awhile Hollywood actually make a FILM and not some mindless blockbuster with big stars...and lots of special effects and no story line. This film for once has come from Hollywood and has a great story line...good acting and has no real major stars in it. I have given up on Hollywood for producing new films and usually look to foreign films now but this was a very pleasant surprise. For all the people who gave this a low score go watch the usally rubbish like Con Air or Dude where's my car. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimD.Mar 7, 2005
Very well written and directed, superbly acted across the board (with special mention going to Paul Giamatti for deceptively fine work), and emotionally, not easy. I can see why there are those who hated it, but I don't agree with them. Very well written and directed, superbly acted across the board (with special mention going to Paul Giamatti for deceptively fine work), and emotionally, not easy. I can see why there are those who hated it, but I don't agree with them. I think this film is most definitely a contender for the year's best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrannyGrapesMar 9, 2005
Definitely deserved the best picture nomination and probably should have won. The best movie I've ever seen in my life. Paul Giamatti's performance was amazing, particularly when he had to react in close-up with no lines when his Definitely deserved the best picture nomination and probably should have won. The best movie I've ever seen in my life. Paul Giamatti's performance was amazing, particularly when he had to react in close-up with no lines when his ex tells him that's she's pregnant. That was an inspirational moment in acting history and I would defy anyone to try an pull off that scene in 100 takes or less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GnarlesApr 6, 2005
People seem mystified as how this movie could pull in such great reviews and receive such praise. Actually, folks, it's very simple: Sidways is a really, really good movie all the way through, which is rare. Rarer still is that People seem mystified as how this movie could pull in such great reviews and receive such praise. Actually, folks, it's very simple: Sidways is a really, really good movie all the way through, which is rare. Rarer still is that it's one that rewards patience, intelligence, and humanism. And rarest of all, it's a movie that, in this day and age, doesn't have any "hip" teenagers, mindless violence, or is a remake or a sequel of some kind. Put it together, and it's no wonder critics ate this up. I was suspect of this movie's rave reviews, and it's always fun to go against a critically praised movie (which is clearly what some people are doing here, just for the hell of it) but the fact of the matter is that Sideways delivers, and repeat viewings only reinforce it, not dilute it. Get over it and move on to you next disappointing summer blockbuster, people. The more of those you see, the more movies like Sideways I get, as the descerning audiences lie in wait for something that cleanses the palette like, well, a fine wine. Drink up and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DickB.Apr 8, 2005
Extremely heartfelt and original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertHApr 8, 2005
Great Movie... I loved it... so funny and soo much more entertaining than The Aviator or Million Dollar Baby.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimG.Apr 9, 2005
Good character development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnF.May 21, 2005
Im from the UK. What interests me about the negative comments is their truly conservative nature. Is this a reflection of US attitudes in general - insular and narrow - I hope not. This film is a true american classic - be proud and shout Im from the UK. What interests me about the negative comments is their truly conservative nature. Is this a reflection of US attitudes in general - insular and narrow - I hope not. This film is a true american classic - be proud and shout it! It was reviewed well over here too.The detractors i'm sure would prefer yet more comfortable glossy mass appeal films using routine formulas. So what if you dont fall in love with the lead roles - this is a slice of real life mid life crisis. Outstanding!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinB.May 29, 2005
I'm also from the UK and cannot understand why this film has been dissed by American viewers. It may not be Citizen Kane but it hits the spot so many times that, in its own terms, it is a perfect movie. Perhaps the Critics' Movie I'm also from the UK and cannot understand why this film has been dissed by American viewers. It may not be Citizen Kane but it hits the spot so many times that, in its own terms, it is a perfect movie. Perhaps the Critics' Movie tag is inviting disappointment (Don't Believe the Hype) but you must have a sense of humour bypass if you don't laugh even a few times: remember Paul G. recovering his buddy's wallet from the bedroom, where the waitress is being shagged by her trucker husband, who is then chased by the naked trucker back to the car and jiggle - WHAM!? Just as a sight gag it's a masterpiece. Perhaps jiggling penises don't go down too well in the Mid-West (Ooh-er)? The other thing that makes this film perfect is the warmth and insight into male foibles. It's not a 10 'cos it ain't an ambitious film (eg Kane) but if only Britain could make a film like this now (we can't). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SusanM.May 30, 2005
I thought this movie would be boring and pretentious, but it was neither! It was really funny and good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamL.May 3, 2005
I saw this film with a friend of mine named g-unit... and as he raved for the film my ferver grew. Then out of nowhere Thomas Hayden (cry-baby) Church comes in and forticates with everyone on the screen, then has the audacity to cry to the I saw this film with a friend of mine named g-unit... and as he raved for the film my ferver grew. Then out of nowhere Thomas Hayden (cry-baby) Church comes in and forticates with everyone on the screen, then has the audacity to cry to the audience... i was not convince g-unit.... not at all.... don't come over ever again after that piece of crap of a film... don't try to hold my hand go away ag money just like paul giamatti and get crunked off of pino!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
bubblelMay 3, 2005
Realistic and funny. very witty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisR.May 7, 2005
Sideways: Two men, one the groom (Jack), the other the best man (Miles), embark on a trip through California wine country a week before the wedding; the trip is intended to let the guys "pal around together" and "get away from it all". Jack Sideways: Two men, one the groom (Jack), the other the best man (Miles), embark on a trip through California wine country a week before the wedding; the trip is intended to let the guys "pal around together" and "get away from it all". Jack is an uninhabited "carefree happy-go-lucky" type of guy while Miles is definitely anal retentive. Both are entering middle age and, on this trip, each in his own way reflects on the rather disappointing accomplishments of his life. The movie focus is on Miles, who is having a hard time adjusting to his divorce and who seems to be traveling down the road of life at the wrong angle to the things around him -- sideways, so to speak. Can he get his life back on track? A thoroughly enjoyable movie whose comedy is reality based rather than writer creation --- well, except for maybe the part where Miles grabs the wallet out of the room where the two people are fornicating. I give this one a 9.20. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ronpayneJun 4, 2005
Amazing film--for 40-ish men whose lives haven't turned out the way they planned, this film nails it. Almost a companion piece to "Lost in Translation"--I watched them back to back (and took a Xanax). Superb on every level; painfully Amazing film--for 40-ish men whose lives haven't turned out the way they planned, this film nails it. Almost a companion piece to "Lost in Translation"--I watched them back to back (and took a Xanax). Superb on every level; painfully real. Giamatti was robbed by the Academy (so what's new--they hardly have a stellar track record for rewarding great performances). Didn't think he could top his performance in "American Splendor," yet he did. Almost a perfect 10; an all-time favorite I watch over and over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomC.Jul 12, 2005
Best movie I've seen in a long time. Well written, acted, cast and filmed. Cheers!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatHJul 29, 2005
Excellent movie!!! Many laughs!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeL.Jul 3, 2005
I can only deduce that the majority of low scores given to this awesome film is the result of years of mindless, processed, stupid fake Hollywood crap brainwashing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisSep 11, 2005
One of the best comedies i have seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FRANKJJan 19, 2006
YEARS AGO IN THE 70S THERE MIGHT BE 45 GREAT MOVIES IN A YEAR WELL IN THE 200S THERES ONLY ABOUT 1 A YEAR AND THIS FIM SIDEWAYS WHICH I CAN SEE DAILY TILL I DIE ,HAS EVERYTHING FROM WEDDINGS TO WINE IN IT .......IF U DONT LIKE THIS MOVIEYEARS AGO IN THE 70S THERE MIGHT BE 45 GREAT MOVIES IN A YEAR WELL IN THE 200S THERES ONLY ABOUT 1 A YEAR AND THIS FIM SIDEWAYS WHICH I CAN SEE DAILY TILL I DIE ,HAS EVERYTHING FROM WEDDINGS TO WINE IN IT .......IF U DONT LIKE THIS MOVIE PLEASE DONT GO TO THE MOVIES YOUR NOT A FAN Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NickRJan 4, 2006
Ok. Some intelligent dialogue and emotion, good performances but really not that special. To rate in top 10 alltime is ridiculous, top 10 of year fine. Realistic in some ways, very unrealistic in others is normal in movies but keeps it from Ok. Some intelligent dialogue and emotion, good performances but really not that special. To rate in top 10 alltime is ridiculous, top 10 of year fine. Realistic in some ways, very unrealistic in others is normal in movies but keeps it from rating higher. The sadness is done pretty well, the laughs didnt make me laugh that much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankieA.Feb 9, 2006
Easily one of my favorite movies. It's the only movie nominated for best picture (Oscars 2004) that I would watch again and again. For some, it may seem boring or uninteresting. I'll admit, it's not a movie for everyone, but Easily one of my favorite movies. It's the only movie nominated for best picture (Oscars 2004) that I would watch again and again. For some, it may seem boring or uninteresting. I'll admit, it's not a movie for everyone, but for me, it was great. Acting, storyline, film techniques, all great. Whatever the movie is, it is not a waste of your time. See this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonaldH.Apr 14, 2006
The 94 score on here says it all. If you didn't like it then you didn't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielC.Jul 11, 2006
I think a little life experience is needed to fully appreciate this film. Don't expect any explosions or epiphanies just a beautiful and thoughtful trip through life's ups and downs. Very funny too. People giving this film very low I think a little life experience is needed to fully appreciate this film. Don't expect any explosions or epiphanies just a beautiful and thoughtful trip through life's ups and downs. Very funny too. People giving this film very low scores are Silly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
It was alright. Brilliantly cast, with fleshed out characters and unique settings- but somehow lacking the final shove that would have made it great for me. I think this one, more than others, will come down greatly to taste. For me, It was alright. Brilliantly cast, with fleshed out characters and unique settings- but somehow lacking the final shove that would have made it great for me. I think this one, more than others, will come down greatly to taste. For me, although this is set apart from others in the genre, just doesn't grab the niche and own it. If a movie is going to go for the quirk, then it must do so all-in, no apologies and jump. This felt like someone, somewhere was holding back in the production of this film, be it writer, director, actor or producer. But over-all, better than many, if not most, in it's category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyM.Mar 28, 2008
One of the greatest movies of all time. Alexander Payne is a master of his craft. I don't understand why so many people here didn't find it funny...I thought it was hilarious. Anyway, this film kicks ass. Great script, great One of the greatest movies of all time. Alexander Payne is a master of his craft. I don't understand why so many people here didn't find it funny...I thought it was hilarious. Anyway, this film kicks ass. Great script, great shooting, great acting, great directing...everything is perfection. Only American Beauty and a select other few films rate above Sideways in my book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RagnarJ.Mar 3, 2008
very clever comedy. You see the hopeless lives of two men, succumbing slowly to their own extinction and aspiring to find a new way to lead their lives. May seem sardonic and obnoxious, at times, but they are portraying realistic emotions very clever comedy. You see the hopeless lives of two men, succumbing slowly to their own extinction and aspiring to find a new way to lead their lives. May seem sardonic and obnoxious, at times, but they are portraying realistic emotions and case-studies. Fabulous wit and clever as f*ck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianWApr 3, 2009
this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who didn't get it ought to consider staying home to watch something really stimulating, like American Idol. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveJSep 11, 2009
A good film especially due to the fact that there are not any really big name actors. I wouldn't say that its a comedy though nor should it be in the top 100 films of all time list! Still worth a seeing though!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
hectorNov 12, 2004
My true rating would probably be 9.5, but this was a fantastic film (and the best Payne work to date). Giamatti was perfectly cast, and the only critiques I could offer would be relatively minor. The two hours will seem long to some, but My true rating would probably be 9.5, but this was a fantastic film (and the best Payne work to date). Giamatti was perfectly cast, and the only critiques I could offer would be relatively minor. The two hours will seem long to some, but they flew by for me. I can't wait to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaymondS.Nov 13, 2004
An extraordinary movie that mesmerically blends outrageous comedy with a deep emotionalism. Easily the best film about men and how they interact. I think the dissenters below are young men who haven't experienced enough of life to know An extraordinary movie that mesmerically blends outrageous comedy with a deep emotionalism. Easily the best film about men and how they interact. I think the dissenters below are young men who haven't experienced enough of life to know just how true and honest this film really is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricM.Nov 6, 2004
Paul Giamatti -- how does he get to star in the best movie of the year, two years in a row?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LauraP.Oct 19, 2004
At times crude...but nearly a love story about wine and friendship and love itself. I loved Paul Giamatti in this...he seemed so genuine as a man. The other actors were excellent as well. Every scene was either captivating, funny or At times crude...but nearly a love story about wine and friendship and love itself. I loved Paul Giamatti in this...he seemed so genuine as a man. The other actors were excellent as well. Every scene was either captivating, funny or melancholy. I totally enjoyed this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarolineE.Dec 2, 2004
This movie is very funny at times, but leaves a harsh aftertaste with its unsparing observations about age & disappointment. Interesting that viewers rate it lower than critics -- I can see why some people found it plodding & contrived, but This movie is very funny at times, but leaves a harsh aftertaste with its unsparing observations about age & disappointment. Interesting that viewers rate it lower than critics -- I can see why some people found it plodding & contrived, but the film deserves points for ambition & a very individual point of view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianSOct 22, 2004
Loved it. It's Alexander Payne's best film. Paul Giamatti and Virginia Madsen should win Oscars for their performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieB.Oct 28, 2004
Fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 28, 2004
Marvellous!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdK.Dec 9, 2004
A GREAT SERIOUS COMEDY.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
burtonmJan 12, 2005
Good all the way around. Funny, original, remarkable writing, fantastic acting, great direction and editing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregoryWJan 21, 2005
Simply enjoyable, so much so that I went to Santa Barbara wine country soon after seeing this film. The characters are real (which means not always likeable, and very, very fallible). Yes, it's basically a teen road comedy, but played Simply enjoyable, so much so that I went to Santa Barbara wine country soon after seeing this film. The characters are real (which means not always likeable, and very, very fallible). Yes, it's basically a teen road comedy, but played by middle aged men who should know better, but there are many time I've done things that I know I shouldn't, but still do. Real, quirky, very funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JesseJan 29, 2005
Movie was very well done. All those awards and the one guy that carried it Paul Giamatti got robbed. How can he not be nominated for Best Actor? Leonardo is okay, Clint too, but to overlook this piece of work is just terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonJan 30, 2005
Absolutely loved it....two guys who should know better living life like they were 22.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrishSJan 30, 2005
One of the best movies I have ever seen. Everything from the acting and cinematography to the writnig and directing worked beautifully. Movie is full of human touch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisS.Feb 14, 2005
While in the eyes of the NY Times the most overrated film of the year (not like that's a bad thing...), "Sideways" is a very, very fine film with a strong ensemble cast from a director with a proven track record. Paul Giamatti, While in the eyes of the NY Times the most overrated film of the year (not like that's a bad thing...), "Sideways" is a very, very fine film with a strong ensemble cast from a director with a proven track record. Paul Giamatti, overlooked by the Academy once more, puts in another great performance as yet another underdog with a lot to prove. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Feb 16, 2005
A near perfect Ten. If it had one flaw it was a slow beginning where the characters were settling in. By the end of the move you realize by misfitted Giamatti and Church's characters were a match. They each possesed something the other A near perfect Ten. If it had one flaw it was a slow beginning where the characters were settling in. By the end of the move you realize by misfitted Giamatti and Church's characters were a match. They each possesed something the other didn't. Overall my heart went to Giamatti's character which I was 100 percent convinced of by the end. This like so many moves I like is not crammed full of action but instead is intelligent with sublime emotion undercurrents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeS.Feb 21, 2005
I think that the negative reviews on this wonderful film are ridiculous! This is the kind of movie that comes out very rarely and i'm glad for that. You can sink your teeth into this film and cherish it well after. Paul Giamatti- kudos I think that the negative reviews on this wonderful film are ridiculous! This is the kind of movie that comes out very rarely and i'm glad for that. You can sink your teeth into this film and cherish it well after. Paul Giamatti- kudos for your performance. I thought "American Splendor" was his best work, but this comes close. The so-called "boring wine talk" gave the scenes such depth and meaning. I usually read the comments on films and let them slide but I can't on this one. Any lower score than a 7 and your cheating yourselves and being pessimistic about a movie that WILL kick rear end at the Oscars. Movies for some are all about the thrill- this film is all about life and REALITY. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertFeb 21, 2005
Excellent movie. I'm with Bob B., get over your ultra-conservative values for just a minute and enjoy a great movie. Contrary to what some people here apparently thought, I found the characters extremely believable and sympathetic. I Excellent movie. I'm with Bob B., get over your ultra-conservative values for just a minute and enjoy a great movie. Contrary to what some people here apparently thought, I found the characters extremely believable and sympathetic. I would say there was probably slightly more drama than comedy in this movie, but both parts were done extremely well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyW.Feb 21, 2005
Funny, emotional and genuine. Could only be "offensive" to those who are scared of opening their eyes to the people and relationships of our time. Genius at work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful