User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 663 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    One of my all time favorite movies, and for some people on here to say it was the worst movie ever, watch Lost in space, or the Black Hole. People are so ridiculous. Sideways is a classic.
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    The central quartet is fantastic to behold, and this remains one of Alexander Payne's best films. It's a fantastic piece of work aided by an engaging and bittersweet script.
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    A special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fully realized, well developed, and perfectly portrayed by an amazing cast. Payne's direction is brilliant, this is easily his best film he's ever done. And theA special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fully realized, well developed, and perfectly portrayed by an amazing cast. Payne's direction is brilliant, this is easily his best film he's ever done. And the script is fun, charming, interesting, real, and resonant. Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    A movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendship and life is fascinating. The direction is outstanding: it allow us to enter the story in so many layers that we feel on a road trip, drinking wine. AA movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendship and life is fascinating. The direction is outstanding: it allow us to enter the story in so many layers that we feel on a road trip, drinking wine. A real masterpiece. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    "Sideways" is a insightful movie about friendship, love, a lot drinking, bad habits and moral weaknesses of man. However it leaves delight after seeing, and chaotic adventure of main characters breathes in us hope that life is much more pleasent that it sounds.
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Payne directs the film so meticulously that you can't help but be intrigued by what he's showing you. He and Giamatti create and character with vast depth and sneakily subtle idiosyncrasies.
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    I love the acting in this movie, i also like the drama and it has comedy too, that is great, i do not get why people doesnt like it much its of my favorite ones
  8. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    I really like Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church, I think Thomas should won that oscar this movie is really entertaining, pretty good in my opinion, i specially liked it by the acting but still good
  9. May 8, 2012
    9
    Sideways makes you believe that the story written by Alexander Payne is true. It is fresh, smart and as sophisticated as a good, old wine. All four actors are full of emotions, especially Paul Giamatti gives an unforgettable performance.
  10. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it. What I liked though is that looks at love were highly imperfect but still had real consequences. Jennifer Aniston is not in this film. The actorsGiamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it. What I liked though is that looks at love were highly imperfect but still had real consequences. Jennifer Aniston is not in this film. The actors are believable. I was able to want to believe them, right or wrong, for better or worse. Expand
  11. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    Mastering the tonal shifts of life with a look at the problems one can face, both serious and trivial, Sideways comes around as simply excellent. It can have scenes of high humor, scenes of sad despair, and scenes to marvel at just how something managed to end up the way it is, and the director and cast can handle the shifts between these in a way that feels so natural it's almost frightening.
  12. May 10, 2011
    10
    This movie is phenomenal. It's humor is incredibly consistent and contains a performance from Paul Giamatti that won't be topped for ages. I loved this movie and would recommend it to anyone
  13. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    Absolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest character performance I've seen from a consistently great character actor, Paul Giamatti. He captures Miles with precision - reading the novel, which is narratedAbsolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest character performance I've seen from a consistently great character actor, Paul Giamatti. He captures Miles with precision - reading the novel, which is narrated by Miles, you obviously gain great insight into his character, but with every twitch, half-smile, lame comment, heartbreaking expression, he truly becomes Pickett's character, and brings him to life like no other could. Haden Church as Jack is a fantastic antithesis to Miles, and gives the surprise performance of the century, and Madsen offers a strong but scarred woman, who ultimately breathes life into Miles' body. I'm only really talking about performances here, but really, you have to see this movie yourself. For some fantastic camera work look out for the scene in Los Olivos, with a drunken Miles on the phone to his ex-wife, for a beautiful piece of music from Rolfe Kent, listen out for the scene at Mrs Raymond's, where Miles is looked down upon by his family (metaphorically, of course - they are in photographs), and for the best example of just how strong Giamatti is here, watch his stomach turn as Victoria gives him the news after the wedding. He painfully holds onto a smile, and we can see in his hurt, tormented eyes that he just wants to let go. Movie magic until the last second, and after that. Mature filmmaking at its best - as 'Jimmy' says, "an instant classic... an honest film and as real as a movie can be." Couldn't have put it better myself. Expand
  14. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    This is in my top 20 movies of the last decade. It has an amazing script, and no less than three terrific performances by Paul Giamatti (one of the worst snubs in Oscar history) Thomas Hadden Church, and Virginia Madsen. It's very funny, entertaining, and made wine country a fascinating topic for someone like me who had no interest on the subject. It's purely about life and the choices we make.
  15. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Best quotidian movie in the last 20 years, wonderful plot, nice acting Giamatti's performance its sublime.
    This movie its not for a general crowd, as wine tour suggest, the movie target's people that loves wine, nature and stereotypes on actual society, for some people to hard to understand the movie's message.
    i watch it 2 times already and there's always something new on the plot ...
  16. NeilF
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Life-affirming. Anyone who doesn't get it has a black hole where their heart should be.
  17. JackO
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Can't describe how real and awesome this movie is. absolute perfection in every sense of the word.
  18. BrianW
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who didn't get it ought to consider staying home to watch something really stimulating, like American Idol.
  19. TroyP.
    Oct 17, 2008
    10
    This movie is excellent! An amazing script with great acting. It touches on so many real life issues and does so in such a sutly humorous way. I feel that many people will not understand the greatness of this movie, but it is a masterpiece!!!
  20. KennyM.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    One of the greatest movies of all time. Alexander Payne is a master of his craft. I don't understand why so many people here didn't find it funny...I thought it was hilarious. Anyway, this film kicks ass. Great script, great shooting, great acting, great directing...everything is perfection. Only American Beauty and a select other few films rate above Sideways in my book.
  21. RagnarJ.
    Mar 3, 2008
    9
    very clever comedy. You see the hopeless lives of two men, succumbing slowly to their own extinction and aspiring to find a new way to lead their lives. May seem sardonic and obnoxious, at times, but they are portraying realistic emotions and case-studies. Fabulous wit and clever as f*ck.
  22. FreddieL.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    To begin, this was a delightfully written and acted film. How anyone could not connect and feel for Paul Giametti's character astounds me. It saddens me how egotistical twerps attack this film, rating it badly simply on the grounds that it was rated highly by critics, though a films quality must always be percieved without the presence of a review, in my opinion. Therefore, I am To begin, this was a delightfully written and acted film. How anyone could not connect and feel for Paul Giametti's character astounds me. It saddens me how egotistical twerps attack this film, rating it badly simply on the grounds that it was rated highly by critics, though a films quality must always be percieved without the presence of a review, in my opinion. Therefore, I am slightly surpirsed by those who didnt enjoy the film for what it was; an intimate, warming tale of a man, whose life it seems can only genuinely be related to and understood by those with a conscious, and those who don't take life for granted. In conclusion, Sideways is a truly uplifting film which i recommend highly, regardless of the critics' reviews. Expand
  23. BenW.
    May 23, 2007
    10
    Its totally unfair to complain about this movie. I loved it!!!!! it was just so great all the way through. Im only 16 so i dont know if that has anything tgo do with it but its really fantastic
  24. SvenS.
    May 16, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen...it's so fucking good!!! I don't understand why people dislike this movie... It made me feel very good!! And the humor isn't big like Naked Gun, but it's funny!!!
  25. CraigP.
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    Extremely funny movie about wine tasting!! Actually it's about alot more than that....wonderful performances as well.
  26. AngusS.
    Apr 11, 2007
    9
    Superb comedy. Excellent characters. So much more to offer than the average 21st Century comedy.
  27. AlexM.
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    One of the cleverest and funniest films that I have had a pleasure watching. A real delight, how all comedy should be - clever and edgy. All those who did not like this film are obviously lacking in intelligence and sense of humour!
  28. EC
    Nov 5, 2006
    10
    Possibly one of the smartest comedies thus far in this millenium. Anyone who doesn't like this movie is obviously too retarded to understand it.
  29. JamesE.
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    Fantastic. Alexander Payne is one of the best filmmakers alive.
  30. EricG.
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    This movie brings out the emotion of the everyman. The ups and the downs of life crashing and rising one day to the next.To understand this movie would take nothing more than knowing the compassion of mankind.
  31. NathanT.
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    "Sideways" is inarguably the best film of our decade; a classic that can stand up to any great film from any era in cinema. [***SPOILERS***] This is film at its most intoxicating, its most poignant, and funniest. Paul Giamatti was screwed out of even being nominated for Best Actor, while Thomas Hayden Church and Virginia Madsen were justly nominated for their parts, even if they "Sideways" is inarguably the best film of our decade; a classic that can stand up to any great film from any era in cinema. [***SPOILERS***] This is film at its most intoxicating, its most poignant, and funniest. Paul Giamatti was screwed out of even being nominated for Best Actor, while Thomas Hayden Church and Virginia Madsen were justly nominated for their parts, even if they didn't win. The real genius of "Sideways" is that director Alexander Payne creates empathy for two guys that when you think about it, aren't really that sympathetic. Miles (Giamatti) is a grump, and usually drunk on wine from the night before. Jack is an aging sex addict. Not a lot of wiggle room to like these characters. But Payne makes us care and by the end of it they've both been through so many experiences that we can only hope they've learned. And the knock that ends the movie is pure bliss. Raise your glasses and treat yourself to a classic that is guaranteed to age better than "Memento" ever will. This is one that you savor. Expand
  32. MW
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    I really enjoyed this film. I found my sympathies switching between all the characters sometimes loathing, laughing at or even finding them slightly lovable. The whole film felt so realistic and it was nice to see relationships that aren't sugar coated between beautiful people in the normal hollywood style. I didn't know that films this good and subtle were made outside of the I really enjoyed this film. I found my sympathies switching between all the characters sometimes loathing, laughing at or even finding them slightly lovable. The whole film felt so realistic and it was nice to see relationships that aren't sugar coated between beautiful people in the normal hollywood style. I didn't know that films this good and subtle were made outside of the EU and when I watched it got a buzz to know that not all films from the US have to be big budget, plotless romps. I plan now to see other Payne films and hope that I see more like this coming to the cinema soon. Expand
  33. DanielC.
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    I think a little life experience is needed to fully appreciate this film. Don't expect any explosions or epiphanies just a beautiful and thoughtful trip through life's ups and downs. Very funny too. People giving this film very low scores are Silly.
  34. TonyB.
    May 30, 2006
    10
    i loved this movie i didnt see one thing wrong with it. I dont understand why people cant except realizm in movies this has excellent dialouge it was had some very funny moments i am glad i didnt listen to anybody when they told me this movie was bad, i enjoyed it greatly, deffinatly recommend for a viewing.
  35. RonaldH.
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    The 94 score on here says it all. If you didn't like it then you didn't get it.
  36. FrankieA.
    Feb 9, 2006
    9
    Easily one of my favorite movies. It's the only movie nominated for best picture (Oscars 2004) that I would watch again and again. For some, it may seem boring or uninteresting. I'll admit, it's not a movie for everyone, but for me, it was great. Acting, storyline, film techniques, all great. Whatever the movie is, it is not a waste of your time. See this movie.
  37. FRANKJ
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    YEARS AGO IN THE 70S THERE MIGHT BE 45 GREAT MOVIES IN A YEAR WELL IN THE 200S THERES ONLY ABOUT 1 A YEAR AND THIS FIM SIDEWAYS WHICH I CAN SEE DAILY TILL I DIE ,HAS EVERYTHING FROM WEDDINGS TO WINE IN IT .......IF U DONT LIKE THIS MOVIE PLEASE DONT GO TO THE MOVIES YOUR NOT A FAN
  38. JoeB
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    This is what movies should be: well-acted, well-directed, and with great pacing. Though not laugh-out-loud funny, it had subtle humor for the real thinker. Not the 'every man's movie,' but the best movies never are. Certainly worthy of its reviews. An excellent character study.
  39. PhilipJ.
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Original and entertaining, i can't see why people give this film below 6.
  40. JamesM
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    It's hard to believe that films such as Sideways exist: films that make the viewer laugh and cry, be shocked and be out of breath, and make them horrified and simultaneously unable to control their laughter. It's a film that takes the viewer in for two hours and drains them of energy as the events that befall the characters become increasingly unpredictable, severe, and often It's hard to believe that films such as Sideways exist: films that make the viewer laugh and cry, be shocked and be out of breath, and make them horrified and simultaneously unable to control their laughter. It's a film that takes the viewer in for two hours and drains them of energy as the events that befall the characters become increasingly unpredictable, severe, and often hilarious. Sideways is a film that should be seen by everyone. Regardless of the fact that it was made merely a year ago, it is one of the greatest films ever made. Expand
  41. AdamS.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never exciting or wildly dramatic. If you're the kind of person who gets excited about convincing characters and plots then you shouldn't pass this The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never exciting or wildly dramatic. If you're the kind of person who gets excited about convincing characters and plots then you shouldn't pass this one up. Otherwise, you've been warned. Expand
  42. RileyB.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    The problem with 'Sideways' is not the acting, story, direction, or production. But it's all the positive reviews that it's getting. Traditionally, when a movie gets a great review - regardless of the topic - John Q runs out to see it. Then John Q hates it because it (the film), even though it was great, was not his sort of movie. Feeling let down by the critics - and The problem with 'Sideways' is not the acting, story, direction, or production. But it's all the positive reviews that it's getting. Traditionally, when a movie gets a great review - regardless of the topic - John Q runs out to see it. Then John Q hates it because it (the film), even though it was great, was not his sort of movie. Feeling let down by the critics - and having wasting so much money - John Q rips the movie to shreds in his own mind, badmouthing it whenever he gets the chance. This happened to 'Sideways'. I have many friends who went out saw, rented, or bought this movie - based on Metacritic and other review sites. They aren't exactly ones to sit through a movie like this, and I told them that. But no, they didn't want to read up on the plot or anything else about the movie. They went and watched it, and hated it. Now they rant about how "ghey" it was. I saw this film and loved it. Why? Because I like movies like this. This was a grade 'A' film with a great story. What I'm trying to say is read up on a movie before you see it, if you've never sat through a movie like this before - just because it gets good reviews doesn't mean you can sit through this one. It a matter of education, that's the only reason this movie has a 6:9 (+/-) ratio with critics to readers. A matter of education. Oh, and Richards - hate to bother you and all but I'm not a natural borne "American" nor do I follow "American" humor (I despise films like 'Eurotrip', childish s...). But, I loved this film. So go ahead and ostracize me from your chic-Euro-click. Expand
  43. AndreasC
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    Fantastic film. Paul Giamatti is amazing and so is everything from story to soundtrack.
  44. Chris
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    One of the best comedies i have seen in a long time.
  45. Jimmy
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Outstanding film, an instant classic. How you could give this movie a negative review is beyond me. The acting is superb. This is an honest film and real as a movie can be-- it wasn't made just to make you laugh. If you missed the point, I guess that's your loss. Go watch American Pie or something.
  46. FrankH
    Aug 22, 2005
    9
    Americans should not be allowed to comment on movies, but after this film I'm almost convinced they should still be allowed to produce them. Also, it would be really nice if you could see people's age here, as I'm sure alot of the harsher critics of the film on here are too young to actually know what a midlife crisis is. I rate this only 9/10 because the whole wine thing Americans should not be allowed to comment on movies, but after this film I'm almost convinced they should still be allowed to produce them. Also, it would be really nice if you could see people's age here, as I'm sure alot of the harsher critics of the film on here are too young to actually know what a midlife crisis is. I rate this only 9/10 because the whole wine thing was too emphasized for my tastes. Otherwise a truly brilliant and funny movie. Expand
  47. PatH
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    Excellent movie!!! Many laughs!!!
  48. Harry
    Jul 14, 2005
    9
    A touching, humorous, and fair film. It is a believable portrayl of four interesting characters and how they interact. Good flick!
  49. TomC.
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Best movie I've seen in a long time. Well written, acted, cast and filmed. Cheers!
  50. GeorgeL.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    I can only deduce that the majority of low scores given to this awesome film is the result of years of mindless, processed, stupid fake Hollywood crap brainwashing.
  51. AnthonyS
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Brilliant.
  52. BrookM.
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    How can anyone not warm to this film!
  53. ronpayne
    Jun 4, 2005
    9
    Amazing film--for 40-ish men whose lives haven't turned out the way they planned, this film nails it. Almost a companion piece to "Lost in Translation"--I watched them back to back (and took a Xanax). Superb on every level; painfully real. Giamatti was robbed by the Academy (so what's new--they hardly have a stellar track record for rewarding great performances). Didn't Amazing film--for 40-ish men whose lives haven't turned out the way they planned, this film nails it. Almost a companion piece to "Lost in Translation"--I watched them back to back (and took a Xanax). Superb on every level; painfully real. Giamatti was robbed by the Academy (so what's new--they hardly have a stellar track record for rewarding great performances). Didn't think he could top his performance in "American Splendor," yet he did. Almost a perfect 10; an all-time favorite I watch over and over. Expand
  54. chrissys
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    Amazing, justsimply amazing.
  55. OrlandoCuculiza
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    Ok, the movie is highly enjoyable and entertaining but it ain't as great as all the critics picture it!. Of course you enjoy the plot and all, but there aren't many hilarious movies and the humor is not even ironic or such to laugh out loud of the circumstances.
    It's just an over-the-average dromedy, which you could watch just to watch when you're bored.
  56. KevinB.
    May 29, 2005
    9
    I'm also from the UK and cannot understand why this film has been dissed by American viewers. It may not be Citizen Kane but it hits the spot so many times that, in its own terms, it is a perfect movie. Perhaps the Critics' Movie tag is inviting disappointment (Don't Believe the Hype) but you must have a sense of humour bypass if you don't laugh even a few times: I'm also from the UK and cannot understand why this film has been dissed by American viewers. It may not be Citizen Kane but it hits the spot so many times that, in its own terms, it is a perfect movie. Perhaps the Critics' Movie tag is inviting disappointment (Don't Believe the Hype) but you must have a sense of humour bypass if you don't laugh even a few times: remember Paul G. recovering his buddy's wallet from the bedroom, where the waitress is being shagged by her trucker husband, who is then chased by the naked trucker back to the car and jiggle - WHAM!? Just as a sight gag it's a masterpiece. Perhaps jiggling penises don't go down too well in the Mid-West (Ooh-er)? The other thing that makes this film perfect is the warmth and insight into male foibles. It's not a 10 'cos it ain't an ambitious film (eg Kane) but if only Britain could make a film like this now (we can't). Expand
  57. larrys.
    May 24, 2005
    10
    SUPERB! Unforunately not a movie for the avearge JOE who cannot appreciate a film that has 90 minutes of non stop action and violence. If you like Arnold movies, thought Titanic was a good movie or think Adam Sandler rocks don't bother seeing the movie, If you've seen Garden State, Crash and/or Assasination of Richard Nixon and loved them go see Sideways.
  58. J.RyanG.
    May 23, 2005
    9
    A perfect little movie. It is about a critic, which is what draws the critical type into its gentle, simple narrative. And what makes us love the movie is that the critic character--who is a tight bundle of failures, weaknesses, and pain--is ultimately deserving of love. Paul Giamatti plays the greatest alcoholic in the history of the cinema. He is a drunk in each and every scene, though A perfect little movie. It is about a critic, which is what draws the critical type into its gentle, simple narrative. And what makes us love the movie is that the critic character--who is a tight bundle of failures, weaknesses, and pain--is ultimately deserving of love. Paul Giamatti plays the greatest alcoholic in the history of the cinema. He is a drunk in each and every scene, though he is not always drunk. His dependency can be concealed until he bursts, and then it shows itself as a big red devil during moments when, to the sufferer of the malady, there is no such thing as self-control. Alexander Payne writes (with Jim Taylor) and directs the best film of his career. His 1999 film "Election" is one of the most underrated films of the last twenty years, but 2002's "About Schmidt" is one of the most overrated. This is a swift, graceful, uncomplicated movie, and one that hurtles like a brilliant meteor in the right direction. Expand
  59. JohnF.
    May 21, 2005
    9
    Im from the UK. What interests me about the negative comments is their truly conservative nature. Is this a reflection of US attitudes in general - insular and narrow - I hope not. This film is a true american classic - be proud and shout it! It was reviewed well over here too.The detractors i'm sure would prefer yet more comfortable glossy mass appeal films using routine formulas. Im from the UK. What interests me about the negative comments is their truly conservative nature. Is this a reflection of US attitudes in general - insular and narrow - I hope not. This film is a true american classic - be proud and shout it! It was reviewed well over here too.The detractors i'm sure would prefer yet more comfortable glossy mass appeal films using routine formulas. So what if you dont fall in love with the lead roles - this is a slice of real life mid life crisis. Outstanding!! Collapse
  60. JohnM
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Simply enjoyable. Make sure you watch with a bottle of wine. I notice those who marked it poorly all seem to have trouble with spelling. So perhaps if you're an uneducated yak who doesn't understand story driven dialogue and prefers SFX to be the main character then this ain't for you.
  61. DaveF
    May 14, 2005
    10
    Dangerously, intoxicatingly perfect. I'm afraid we have a classic on our hands.
  62. ChrisR.
    May 7, 2005
    9
    Sideways: Two men, one the groom (Jack), the other the best man (Miles), embark on a trip through California wine country a week before the wedding; the trip is intended to let the guys "pal around together" and "get away from it all". Jack is an uninhabited "carefree happy-go-lucky" type of guy while Miles is definitely anal retentive. Both are entering middle age and, on this trip, each Sideways: Two men, one the groom (Jack), the other the best man (Miles), embark on a trip through California wine country a week before the wedding; the trip is intended to let the guys "pal around together" and "get away from it all". Jack is an uninhabited "carefree happy-go-lucky" type of guy while Miles is definitely anal retentive. Both are entering middle age and, on this trip, each in his own way reflects on the rather disappointing accomplishments of his life. The movie focus is on Miles, who is having a hard time adjusting to his divorce and who seems to be traveling down the road of life at the wrong angle to the things around him -- sideways, so to speak. Can he get his life back on track? A thoroughly enjoyable movie whose comedy is reality based rather than writer creation --- well, except for maybe the part where Miles grabs the wallet out of the room where the two people are fornicating. I give this one a 9.20. Expand
  63. WilliamL.
    May 3, 2005
    10
    I saw this film with a friend of mine named g-unit... and as he raved for the film my ferver grew. Then out of nowhere Thomas Hayden (cry-baby) Church comes in and forticates with everyone on the screen, then has the audacity to cry to the audience... i was not convince g-unit.... not at all.... don't come over ever again after that piece of crap of a film... don't try to hold I saw this film with a friend of mine named g-unit... and as he raved for the film my ferver grew. Then out of nowhere Thomas Hayden (cry-baby) Church comes in and forticates with everyone on the screen, then has the audacity to cry to the audience... i was not convince g-unit.... not at all.... don't come over ever again after that piece of crap of a film... don't try to hold my hand go away ag money just like paul giamatti and get crunked off of pino!!! Expand
  64. marcoc.
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    A hugely enjoyable film with a great performance from Giamatti. The writing is first class. Overall it is an insightful, funny and moving picture.
  65. Brian
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    A critically acclaimed movie that lives up to its hype. Realistic, believable characters warts and all, beautiful scenery, moments of hilarity and I don't even care for wine. Strong, natural performaces, a script that reflects the way people talk rather than how screenwriters think they talk.
  66. JoeR
    Apr 19, 2005
    9
    This scenic little travelog through wine country is relaxed, insightful and frequently hilarious. You probably need to have been through a few serious relationships and disappointments to fully appreciate the subtle warmth, angst, bizarre acting out and needyness of the characters which probably explains why most users loved it but a few just didn't get it.
  67. ReidM.
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    A fabulous movie. The story is unique, the charachters are twisted and it made me laugh.
  68. evert
    Apr 14, 2005
    9
    It seems like theres a lot of morons here that went the wrong way and ended up watching sideways instead of Alexander.
  69. Sonja
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    One of those movies that's so good, you wish you could keep on seeing it for the first time!
  70. KateC.
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    Just a great movie!
  71. JeffM
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    A very realistic movie. In a time of Hollywood acting and Hollywood endings, this movie is a breath of fresh air. It is not a feel good movie, but at times extremely funny and entertaining. Too many people see this movie expecting a laugh riot...It's not!!! What it is is a look at real people doing real things and it is very fun to watch. At times it is very depressing, but A very realistic movie. In a time of Hollywood acting and Hollywood endings, this movie is a breath of fresh air. It is not a feel good movie, but at times extremely funny and entertaining. Too many people see this movie expecting a laugh riot...It's not!!! What it is is a look at real people doing real things and it is very fun to watch. At times it is very depressing, but that's real life. I feel sorry for everybody who doesn't like this movie...I say watch it again, now that you know what to expect, and maybe you'll see how truely great it is. Expand
  72. JimG.
    Apr 9, 2005
    9
    Good character development.
  73. RobertH
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Great Movie... I loved it... so funny and soo much more entertaining than The Aviator or Million Dollar Baby.
  74. DickB.
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Extremely heartfelt and original.
  75. Gnarles
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    People seem mystified as how this movie could pull in such great reviews and receive such praise. Actually, folks, it's very simple: Sidways is a really, really good movie all the way through, which is rare. Rarer still is that it's one that rewards patience, intelligence, and humanism. And rarest of all, it's a movie that, in this day and age, doesn't have any "hip" People seem mystified as how this movie could pull in such great reviews and receive such praise. Actually, folks, it's very simple: Sidways is a really, really good movie all the way through, which is rare. Rarer still is that it's one that rewards patience, intelligence, and humanism. And rarest of all, it's a movie that, in this day and age, doesn't have any "hip" teenagers, mindless violence, or is a remake or a sequel of some kind. Put it together, and it's no wonder critics ate this up. I was suspect of this movie's rave reviews, and it's always fun to go against a critically praised movie (which is clearly what some people are doing here, just for the hell of it) but the fact of the matter is that Sideways delivers, and repeat viewings only reinforce it, not dilute it. Get over it and move on to you next disappointing summer blockbuster, people. The more of those you see, the more movies like Sideways I get, as the descerning audiences lie in wait for something that cleanses the palette like, well, a fine wine. Drink up and enjoy. Expand
  76. JohnS
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    This was as perfect as movies get. It is very deserving of the 94 rating by the critics. I am not sure who these people (ie., users) are who did not get the movie. Why did they go, wasn't there a monster truck rally they could have watched?
  77. JamesL
    Apr 3, 2005
    9
    I think many of the people who reviewed this movie came out with a kneejerk reaction, without realy reflecting on the nature of the film and the emotional elements that played throughout. For someone on the same side of divorce as the movie portrayed, it was poignent and filled with the little pieces of life. The pieces that really matter. If you wanted humor there are several other mind I think many of the people who reviewed this movie came out with a kneejerk reaction, without realy reflecting on the nature of the film and the emotional elements that played throughout. For someone on the same side of divorce as the movie portrayed, it was poignent and filled with the little pieces of life. The pieces that really matter. If you wanted humor there are several other mind numbing options, just go see The Son of the Mask and pretend like the humor amuzes you, but think more deeply on the real meaning of this film and less on how much you laughed. Expand
  78. Nick
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    An excellent movie, on occassion the vino speak was a little over-saturating, but as a whole this is one of the better movies you could see, although its speed is slightly slow for some viewers it kept my interest, and if you dont like watching characters that would actually exist in real life then you wont enjoy this, there is no candy coated image - it is what it is, and its great.
  79. CoryR
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Hilarious and heartfelt. I would have applauded if this movie won the Oscar. A great human comedy.
  80. JoeF
    Mar 17, 2005
    10
    The low ratings portrayed are classic examples of an underground film for those intelligent few, and then the "average" movie audience gets wind of it, sees it, doesn't understand it, and doesn't like it, I guess ignorance isn't always bliss huh? Quit freaking out, it's a movie, go home and rent Independence Day, and don't forget to stop at Mickey D's on the way.
  81. OlivierP.
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    Amazing, funny and poetic road-movie.
  82. DaniellaD.
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    The best movie of the year for me...When is it out on DVD as I will be first to buy. Great acting and in my opinion deserved to win all the Oscars! See it now if you have not.
  83. RobF.
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    This isn't the first time that one of my favorite movies of the year was loathed by some people. The same thing happened with "Punch Drunk Love", so I've tried to be more careful before recommending films to friends and family. But the reaction to this caught me off guard. This movie, like all my favorite movies, inspired my wife and I to talk about the characters later. No, not This isn't the first time that one of my favorite movies of the year was loathed by some people. The same thing happened with "Punch Drunk Love", so I've tried to be more careful before recommending films to friends and family. But the reaction to this caught me off guard. This movie, like all my favorite movies, inspired my wife and I to talk about the characters later. No, not just comments like "I loved the part when so-and-so...", but actually talk about why we thought the people did the things they did. And I'm not just some film snob; my wife and I like the reality show "Survivior" for the same reason. Some movies just have a great way of revealing the subteties of human nature, both good and bad. I feel sorry for people who feel unsatisfied if the characters are flawed or if there isn't a clear-cut happing ending. It's like being trapped in the mind-set of a high school student who hates a book because "it doesn't have an ending". That's life, people. Expand
  84. GrannyGrapes
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    Definitely deserved the best picture nomination and probably should have won. The best movie I've ever seen in my life. Paul Giamatti's performance was amazing, particularly when he had to react in close-up with no lines when his ex tells him that's she's pregnant. That was an inspirational moment in acting history and I would defy anyone to try an pull off that scene Definitely deserved the best picture nomination and probably should have won. The best movie I've ever seen in my life. Paul Giamatti's performance was amazing, particularly when he had to react in close-up with no lines when his ex tells him that's she's pregnant. That was an inspirational moment in acting history and I would defy anyone to try an pull off that scene in 100 takes or less. Expand
  85. TimD.
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    Very well written and directed, superbly acted across the board (with special mention going to Paul Giamatti for deceptively fine work), and emotionally, not easy. I can see why there are those who hated it, but I don't agree with them. I think this film is most definitely a contender for the year's best.
  86. johnp.
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    An absolutely incredible film with great characters and amazing acting.
  87. EJ
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    The movie was very poignant in its representation of the day to day agonies and painful joys present in contemporary life. By using wine as a conceit, the writers were able to express the complexities of modern day friendships, separation, depression and love. Subtle, devoid of hollywood gimik and rich with the flavor of human experience, Sideways could very well be the best film of the year.
  88. Jeff
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    Perfect, a real movie, nothing compares!!! And to thonse who said it wasn't good, maybe you need to look up the definition of a true cinematic experience, you'd get a picture of Giamatti and Church!
  89. NikB.
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    Fantastic movie - some of the deepest, and most real, characters of a film in recent times.
  90. MarkB.
    Feb 24, 2005
    9
    How would you like to be the manager of a major league baseball team and have Alexander Payne in YOUR lineup? With writing partner Jim Taylor, Payne has slammed it out of the park every time he's been at bat, and if you think it's not that difficult to maintain a solid .1000 with only four efforts, just ask Wes Anderson and David O. Russell, who both stumbled badly this past How would you like to be the manager of a major league baseball team and have Alexander Payne in YOUR lineup? With writing partner Jim Taylor, Payne has slammed it out of the park every time he's been at bat, and if you think it's not that difficult to maintain a solid .1000 with only four efforts, just ask Wes Anderson and David O. Russell, who both stumbled badly this past year with THEIR films, just how difficult maintaining 4 out of 4 can be. Much has already been said about Payne's deeply poignant, hilarious and insightful road movie about two very unlikely buddies on the loose in search of wine, women and a final series of pre-nuptial oat-sowings, so just to summarize: Paul Giamatti wuz robbed AGAIN (note to Academy: yes, he once played a character nicknamed 'Pig Vomit' in a Howard Stern movie. Get over it!) Sandra Oh, as a feisty pickup the boys encounter en route, was equally deserving of a nomination if only for her hugely satisfying response to having been lied to. Thomas Haden Church, as said liar and groom-to-be, is so goofily likable that his brazen infidelities before marrying what seems to be a perfectly nice woman inspire a certain amount of empathy if definitely not forgiveness. And the tremendous, career-rejuvenating response given Virginia Madsen's thoroughly lovely, lived-in turn as a world-weary waitress and possible new lease on life for alcoholic would-be published writer Giamatti, just narrowly aces Fahrenheit 9/11's #1 box office debut as 2004's most gratifying piece of movie-related news. Working for the first time with a setting outside his beloved Midwest, Payne displays his remarkably specific gift of minute observation and detail as powerfully as ever--if any American filmmaker's work deserves to go into a time capsule so that generations in future centuries can learn as specifically as possible just how we lived our lives and did everything we did, it's Payne. (As with Citizen Ruth, Election and About Schmidt, Sideways is crammed with literally hundreds of wonderful idiomatic touches in set design, background and dialogue; obviously too many to list, but my favorite here was the little wave that serves as a trademark logo for the low-rent apartment complex we see Giamatti living in during the early scenes.) I don't see why a small contingent of moviegoers continue to believe that Payne patronizes his characters and their milieu: all four of his films are certainly critical of his characters' flaws but elso extremely affectionate toward them as well. I don't think Payne and Taylor have ever created an all-out villain yet; even the biker couple that terrorizes Church and Giamatti near the end obviously enjoys their bizarre sex life so much that the most negative emotion I felt toward them was utter bemusement. The filmmakers know that Giamatti's overfondness for and dependence on the grape and Church's needless womanizing are deserving of sympathy because both are the actions of scared men who are terrified that certain doors are closing for them forever. (One of 2004's most-discussed TV phenomena was Desperate Housewives; you could retitle Sideways Desperate Middle-Aged Single Guys.) The futility of their attempts to deal with this are revealed in 2004's single funniest sight gag: both Giamatti and Church staggering through the traumatic consequences of their actions covered in different kinds of red stuff. And as in About Schmidt (which also deals with a trip of self-discovery taken by a deluded character headed to a wedding that probably shouldn't occur), Sideways ends with a crystallizing moment of clarity for the main character that's so simultaneously sharp, tender and hopeful it just breaks your heart. Again, Payne proves himself that rarest of birds and most precious of jewels: a truly compassionate satirist. Expand
  91. JoseM.
    Feb 23, 2005
    9
    Real acting... Real script... NO TRICKS.
  92. ThanasisP.
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    Wow! People either loved it or hated it, 0 or 10. Not much in between. Well, I just saw it and I loved it!. I also understood why many hate it. This is one of those movies that you either get it or you don
  93. Robert
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    Excellent movie. I'm with Bob B., get over your ultra-conservative values for just a minute and enjoy a great movie. Contrary to what some people here apparently thought, I found the characters extremely believable and sympathetic. I would say there was probably slightly more drama than comedy in this movie, but both parts were done extremely well.
  94. MikeS.
    Feb 21, 2005
    9
    I think that the negative reviews on this wonderful film are ridiculous! This is the kind of movie that comes out very rarely and i'm glad for that. You can sink your teeth into this film and cherish it well after. Paul Giamatti- kudos for your performance. I thought "American Splendor" was his best work, but this comes close. The so-called "boring wine talk" gave the scenes such I think that the negative reviews on this wonderful film are ridiculous! This is the kind of movie that comes out very rarely and i'm glad for that. You can sink your teeth into this film and cherish it well after. Paul Giamatti- kudos for your performance. I thought "American Splendor" was his best work, but this comes close. The so-called "boring wine talk" gave the scenes such depth and meaning. I usually read the comments on films and let them slide but I can't on this one. Any lower score than a 7 and your cheating yourselves and being pessimistic about a movie that WILL kick rear end at the Oscars. Movies for some are all about the thrill- this film is all about life and REALITY. Expand
  95. AndyW.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    Funny, emotional and genuine. Could only be "offensive" to those who are scared of opening their eyes to the people and relationships of our time. Genius at work.
  96. BobB.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    "This film was offensive"... "should have been an NC17" ... "totally inappropriate" .... You people make me sick! This was a GREAT movie and deserves a much higher score than most of you conservative wackos gave it. In the future, please do us all a favor and abstain from tarnishing the image of wonderful movies because of your own personal insecurities. I highly recommend this movie. Two "This film was offensive"... "should have been an NC17" ... "totally inappropriate" .... You people make me sick! This was a GREAT movie and deserves a much higher score than most of you conservative wackos gave it. In the future, please do us all a favor and abstain from tarnishing the image of wonderful movies because of your own personal insecurities. I highly recommend this movie. Two thumbs up! Expand
  97. PaulF.
    Feb 16, 2005
    9
    A near perfect Ten. If it had one flaw it was a slow beginning where the characters were settling in. By the end of the move you realize by misfitted Giamatti and Church's characters were a match. They each possesed something the other didn't. Overall my heart went to Giamatti's character which I was 100 percent convinced of by the end. This like so many moves I like is not A near perfect Ten. If it had one flaw it was a slow beginning where the characters were settling in. By the end of the move you realize by misfitted Giamatti and Church's characters were a match. They each possesed something the other didn't. Overall my heart went to Giamatti's character which I was 100 percent convinced of by the end. This like so many moves I like is not crammed full of action but instead is intelligent with sublime emotion undercurrents. Expand
  98. ChrisS.
    Feb 14, 2005
    9
    While in the eyes of the NY Times the most overrated film of the year (not like that's a bad thing...), "Sideways" is a very, very fine film with a strong ensemble cast from a director with a proven track record. Paul Giamatti, overlooked by the Academy once more, puts in another great performance as yet another underdog with a lot to prove.
  99. danielg.
    Feb 8, 2005
    9
    Boring characters, yes, but this is real life, excelllent movie.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    A beautifully observed, small-scale study of personal foibles, romantic uncertainty and two sides of the sadly predictable male animal.
  2. Hysterically funny yet melancholy comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    In Sideways, Payne has created four of the most lived-in, indelible characters in recent American movies. This deliciously bittersweet movie makes magic out of the quotidian.