Sideways

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 693 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. LauraM
    Feb 3, 2005
    8
    The characters were both stereotypes, which is ok for a comedy, less so for a serious movie. The former soap opera star was more over the top, and I have to say that I liked his character better than the writer's, whose story was far too formulaic. Still, a solid comedy.
  2. EricL.
    Jan 10, 2005
    7
    A little better than average, but it can be slow at times. I don't understand why the critics loved it so much.
  3. JohnL.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Great movie! I did not know what to expect, so the entire movie was a surprise. Very funny, I laughed out so many times. Story is orignal, not your typical movie. I think this is the movie of the year.
  4. brianB
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Brilliant script. Excellent acting. Simply stated, the best movie I have seen in several years. Don't miss it!
  5. AnthonyS
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Brilliant.
  6. Derkins
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    Brilliant, and the best film I have seen all year. Excellent characters, beautiful visuals, and in the screening I saw I have never heard a theater erupt in laughter so loudly and sit in sadness so quietly before.
  7. liz
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    A perfect 10--a great movie.
  8. ZsoltG.
    Jan 31, 2005
    8
    A simple, moderate, beautiful movie. Paul Giamatti is wonderful, because he succeeds in being always natural and authentic.
  9. JonathanS.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Fresh, honest. An inspired and funny look at men's searches for sex and love.
  10. RayM.
    Feb 9, 2005
    8
    Those disliking the film have perfect lives or perceive themselves as flawless. The movie is about screwing up. You either relate, because you're human, or you don't because you're George Bush.
  11. JeffM
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    A very realistic movie. In a time of Hollywood acting and Hollywood endings, this movie is a breath of fresh air. It is not a feel good movie, but at times extremely funny and entertaining. Too many people see this movie expecting a laugh riot...It's not!!! What it is is a look at real people doing real things and it is very fun to watch. At times it is very depressing, but A very realistic movie. In a time of Hollywood acting and Hollywood endings, this movie is a breath of fresh air. It is not a feel good movie, but at times extremely funny and entertaining. Too many people see this movie expecting a laugh riot...It's not!!! What it is is a look at real people doing real things and it is very fun to watch. At times it is very depressing, but that's real life. I feel sorry for everybody who doesn't like this movie...I say watch it again, now that you know what to expect, and maybe you'll see how truely great it is. Expand
  12. AndyG.
    Apr 9, 2005
    7
    Skllful acting, clever script, polished direction, yet for some reason it remains flat and uninvolving;- to me, at least. It's Holywood, all the way.
  13. OrlandoC.
    Jun 1, 2005
    7
    While this pleasant, sometimes sweet movie is well engineered, it stretches a thin story. Only after 45min does Miles add substance. It goes by like novels written by the new wave of French authors: you can find magic and tragedy in every day, but looking back, there really isn't much material to the plot.
  14. OrlandoCuculiza
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    Ok, the movie is highly enjoyable and entertaining but it ain't as great as all the critics picture it!. Of course you enjoy the plot and all, but there aren't many hilarious movies and the humor is not even ironic or such to laugh out loud of the circumstances.
    It's just an over-the-average dromedy, which you could watch just to watch when you're bored.
  15. Jimmy
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Outstanding film, an instant classic. How you could give this movie a negative review is beyond me. The acting is superb. This is an honest film and real as a movie can be-- it wasn't made just to make you laugh. If you missed the point, I guess that's your loss. Go watch American Pie or something.
  16. KatieM
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    This movie was moving and beautiful, but I actually preferred the book, where Miles's character is just as real but a little bit less of a downer.
  17. AS
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    So far, this is the best film of 2004. It's just simply one perfect film. Sad, wise and VERY funny. Very highly recommended.
  18. [Anonymous]
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    The smartest funny movie I have seen in years.
  19. Aaron
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Sideways deserves all of the positive reviews it is receiving. It is such a breath of fresh air in a movie world where beautiful, perfect looking actors with no talent take in $20 million a movie. I loved Sideways for its brutally honest depiction of how life really is if you make bad decisions in life, but I also admire the writer
  20. NealA.
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Pure cinematic magic!
  21. Rod
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    A refreshingly good film!
  22. AndreasC
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    Fantastic film. Paul Giamatti is amazing and so is everything from story to soundtrack.
  23. AdamS.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never exciting or wildly dramatic. If you're the kind of person who gets excited about convincing characters and plots then you shouldn't pass this The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never exciting or wildly dramatic. If you're the kind of person who gets excited about convincing characters and plots then you shouldn't pass this one up. Otherwise, you've been warned. Expand
  24. ZachL
    Jan 30, 2005
    8
    The beginning dragged on for me (i'm 16 by the way), the middle was freaking hiliarious, adn the ending depressed me a little bit, but i have to say i enjoyed it... let male nudity would have been better, but at least it was funny when they showed it.
  25. TimF.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    The best non-action American movie of this pre-pubescent 21st century.
  26. WinnieS.
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    I don't think any other movie has portrayed male friendship as boldly or touching a manner. We see the good, the bad, and the ugly -- from their unfailing support and affection for each other, to their codependent enabling of each other's destructive habits. The movie also contrasts the slow dance of a new, real -- yet tentative -- love (between Giamatti and Madsen) with the I don't think any other movie has portrayed male friendship as boldly or touching a manner. We see the good, the bad, and the ugly -- from their unfailing support and affection for each other, to their codependent enabling of each other's destructive habits. The movie also contrasts the slow dance of a new, real -- yet tentative -- love (between Giamatti and Madsen) with the intoxication of overwhelming physical attraction (between Hayden Church and Oh) in an unusually clear -- and very entertaining -- manner. Each of the actors brings incredible truth to the characters. You see yourself in them and many others you have known. This movie belongs in every collection. Each viewing will reveal more layers of the uniquely human experience -- our complicated, messy lives, our desire for that perfect moment (or wine), and the pure bliss we experience when we achieve them, however fleetingly. Expand
  27. NikB.
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    Fantastic movie - some of the deepest, and most real, characters of a film in recent times.
  28. Chang
    Feb 2, 2005
    10
    Very very very great movie!!!!
  29. EJ
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    The movie was very poignant in its representation of the day to day agonies and painful joys present in contemporary life. By using wine as a conceit, the writers were able to express the complexities of modern day friendships, separation, depression and love. Subtle, devoid of hollywood gimik and rich with the flavor of human experience, Sideways could very well be the best film of the year.
  30. danielg.
    Feb 8, 2005
    9
    Boring characters, yes, but this is real life, excelllent movie.
  31. RobF.
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    This isn't the first time that one of my favorite movies of the year was loathed by some people. The same thing happened with "Punch Drunk Love", so I've tried to be more careful before recommending films to friends and family. But the reaction to this caught me off guard. This movie, like all my favorite movies, inspired my wife and I to talk about the characters later. No, not This isn't the first time that one of my favorite movies of the year was loathed by some people. The same thing happened with "Punch Drunk Love", so I've tried to be more careful before recommending films to friends and family. But the reaction to this caught me off guard. This movie, like all my favorite movies, inspired my wife and I to talk about the characters later. No, not just comments like "I loved the part when so-and-so...", but actually talk about why we thought the people did the things they did. And I'm not just some film snob; my wife and I like the reality show "Survivior" for the same reason. Some movies just have a great way of revealing the subteties of human nature, both good and bad. I feel sorry for people who feel unsatisfied if the characters are flawed or if there isn't a clear-cut happing ending. It's like being trapped in the mind-set of a high school student who hates a book because "it doesn't have an ending". That's life, people. Expand
  32. CoryR
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Hilarious and heartfelt. I would have applauded if this movie won the Oscar. A great human comedy.
  33. johnp.
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    An absolutely incredible film with great characters and amazing acting.
  34. PaulW.
    Mar 6, 2005
    8
    I think the reason a few people have given this film very low scores is because once in awhile Hollywood actually make a FILM and not some mindless blockbuster with big stars...and lots of special effects and no story line. This film for once has come from Hollywood and has a great story line...good acting and has no real major stars in it. I have given up on Hollywood for producing new I think the reason a few people have given this film very low scores is because once in awhile Hollywood actually make a FILM and not some mindless blockbuster with big stars...and lots of special effects and no story line. This film for once has come from Hollywood and has a great story line...good acting and has no real major stars in it. I have given up on Hollywood for producing new films and usually look to foreign films now but this was a very pleasant surprise. For all the people who gave this a low score go watch the usally rubbish like Con Air or Dude where's my car. Expand
  35. TimD.
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    Very well written and directed, superbly acted across the board (with special mention going to Paul Giamatti for deceptively fine work), and emotionally, not easy. I can see why there are those who hated it, but I don't agree with them. I think this film is most definitely a contender for the year's best.
  36. GrannyGrapes
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    Definitely deserved the best picture nomination and probably should have won. The best movie I've ever seen in my life. Paul Giamatti's performance was amazing, particularly when he had to react in close-up with no lines when his ex tells him that's she's pregnant. That was an inspirational moment in acting history and I would defy anyone to try an pull off that scene Definitely deserved the best picture nomination and probably should have won. The best movie I've ever seen in my life. Paul Giamatti's performance was amazing, particularly when he had to react in close-up with no lines when his ex tells him that's she's pregnant. That was an inspirational moment in acting history and I would defy anyone to try an pull off that scene in 100 takes or less. Expand
  37. Gnarles
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    People seem mystified as how this movie could pull in such great reviews and receive such praise. Actually, folks, it's very simple: Sidways is a really, really good movie all the way through, which is rare. Rarer still is that it's one that rewards patience, intelligence, and humanism. And rarest of all, it's a movie that, in this day and age, doesn't have any "hip" People seem mystified as how this movie could pull in such great reviews and receive such praise. Actually, folks, it's very simple: Sidways is a really, really good movie all the way through, which is rare. Rarer still is that it's one that rewards patience, intelligence, and humanism. And rarest of all, it's a movie that, in this day and age, doesn't have any "hip" teenagers, mindless violence, or is a remake or a sequel of some kind. Put it together, and it's no wonder critics ate this up. I was suspect of this movie's rave reviews, and it's always fun to go against a critically praised movie (which is clearly what some people are doing here, just for the hell of it) but the fact of the matter is that Sideways delivers, and repeat viewings only reinforce it, not dilute it. Get over it and move on to you next disappointing summer blockbuster, people. The more of those you see, the more movies like Sideways I get, as the descerning audiences lie in wait for something that cleanses the palette like, well, a fine wine. Drink up and enjoy. Expand
  38. DickB.
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Extremely heartfelt and original.
  39. RobertH
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Great Movie... I loved it... so funny and soo much more entertaining than The Aviator or Million Dollar Baby.
  40. JimG.
    Apr 9, 2005
    9
    Good character development.
  41. JohnF.
    May 21, 2005
    9
    Im from the UK. What interests me about the negative comments is their truly conservative nature. Is this a reflection of US attitudes in general - insular and narrow - I hope not. This film is a true american classic - be proud and shout it! It was reviewed well over here too.The detractors i'm sure would prefer yet more comfortable glossy mass appeal films using routine formulas. Im from the UK. What interests me about the negative comments is their truly conservative nature. Is this a reflection of US attitudes in general - insular and narrow - I hope not. This film is a true american classic - be proud and shout it! It was reviewed well over here too.The detractors i'm sure would prefer yet more comfortable glossy mass appeal films using routine formulas. So what if you dont fall in love with the lead roles - this is a slice of real life mid life crisis. Outstanding!! Expand
  42. KevinB.
    May 29, 2005
    9
    I'm also from the UK and cannot understand why this film has been dissed by American viewers. It may not be Citizen Kane but it hits the spot so many times that, in its own terms, it is a perfect movie. Perhaps the Critics' Movie tag is inviting disappointment (Don't Believe the Hype) but you must have a sense of humour bypass if you don't laugh even a few times: I'm also from the UK and cannot understand why this film has been dissed by American viewers. It may not be Citizen Kane but it hits the spot so many times that, in its own terms, it is a perfect movie. Perhaps the Critics' Movie tag is inviting disappointment (Don't Believe the Hype) but you must have a sense of humour bypass if you don't laugh even a few times: remember Paul G. recovering his buddy's wallet from the bedroom, where the waitress is being shagged by her trucker husband, who is then chased by the naked trucker back to the car and jiggle - WHAM!? Just as a sight gag it's a masterpiece. Perhaps jiggling penises don't go down too well in the Mid-West (Ooh-er)? The other thing that makes this film perfect is the warmth and insight into male foibles. It's not a 10 'cos it ain't an ambitious film (eg Kane) but if only Britain could make a film like this now (we can't). Expand
  43. SusanM.
    May 30, 2005
    8
    I thought this movie would be boring and pretentious, but it was neither! It was really funny and good.
  44. WilliamL.
    May 3, 2005
    10
    I saw this film with a friend of mine named g-unit... and as he raved for the film my ferver grew. Then out of nowhere Thomas Hayden (cry-baby) Church comes in and forticates with everyone on the screen, then has the audacity to cry to the audience... i was not convince g-unit.... not at all.... don't come over ever again after that piece of crap of a film... don't try to hold I saw this film with a friend of mine named g-unit... and as he raved for the film my ferver grew. Then out of nowhere Thomas Hayden (cry-baby) Church comes in and forticates with everyone on the screen, then has the audacity to cry to the audience... i was not convince g-unit.... not at all.... don't come over ever again after that piece of crap of a film... don't try to hold my hand go away ag money just like paul giamatti and get crunked off of pino!!! Expand
  45. bubblel
    May 3, 2005
    8
    Realistic and funny. very witty.
  46. ChrisR.
    May 7, 2005
    9
    Sideways: Two men, one the groom (Jack), the other the best man (Miles), embark on a trip through California wine country a week before the wedding; the trip is intended to let the guys "pal around together" and "get away from it all". Jack is an uninhabited "carefree happy-go-lucky" type of guy while Miles is definitely anal retentive. Both are entering middle age and, on this trip, each Sideways: Two men, one the groom (Jack), the other the best man (Miles), embark on a trip through California wine country a week before the wedding; the trip is intended to let the guys "pal around together" and "get away from it all". Jack is an uninhabited "carefree happy-go-lucky" type of guy while Miles is definitely anal retentive. Both are entering middle age and, on this trip, each in his own way reflects on the rather disappointing accomplishments of his life. The movie focus is on Miles, who is having a hard time adjusting to his divorce and who seems to be traveling down the road of life at the wrong angle to the things around him -- sideways, so to speak. Can he get his life back on track? A thoroughly enjoyable movie whose comedy is reality based rather than writer creation --- well, except for maybe the part where Miles grabs the wallet out of the room where the two people are fornicating. I give this one a 9.20. Expand
  47. ronpayne
    Jun 4, 2005
    9
    Amazing film--for 40-ish men whose lives haven't turned out the way they planned, this film nails it. Almost a companion piece to "Lost in Translation"--I watched them back to back (and took a Xanax). Superb on every level; painfully real. Giamatti was robbed by the Academy (so what's new--they hardly have a stellar track record for rewarding great performances). Didn't Amazing film--for 40-ish men whose lives haven't turned out the way they planned, this film nails it. Almost a companion piece to "Lost in Translation"--I watched them back to back (and took a Xanax). Superb on every level; painfully real. Giamatti was robbed by the Academy (so what's new--they hardly have a stellar track record for rewarding great performances). Didn't think he could top his performance in "American Splendor," yet he did. Almost a perfect 10; an all-time favorite I watch over and over. Expand
  48. TomC.
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Best movie I've seen in a long time. Well written, acted, cast and filmed. Cheers!
  49. PatH
    Jul 29, 2005
    9
    Excellent movie!!! Many laughs!!!
  50. GeorgeL.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    I can only deduce that the majority of low scores given to this awesome film is the result of years of mindless, processed, stupid fake Hollywood crap brainwashing.
  51. Chris
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    One of the best comedies i have seen in a long time.
  52. FRANKJ
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    YEARS AGO IN THE 70S THERE MIGHT BE 45 GREAT MOVIES IN A YEAR WELL IN THE 200S THERES ONLY ABOUT 1 A YEAR AND THIS FIM SIDEWAYS WHICH I CAN SEE DAILY TILL I DIE ,HAS EVERYTHING FROM WEDDINGS TO WINE IN IT .......IF U DONT LIKE THIS MOVIE PLEASE DONT GO TO THE MOVIES YOUR NOT A FAN
  53. NickR
    Jan 4, 2006
    7
    Ok. Some intelligent dialogue and emotion, good performances but really not that special. To rate in top 10 alltime is ridiculous, top 10 of year fine. Realistic in some ways, very unrealistic in others is normal in movies but keeps it from rating higher. The sadness is done pretty well, the laughs didnt make me laugh that much.
  54. FrankieA.
    Feb 9, 2006
    9
    Easily one of my favorite movies. It's the only movie nominated for best picture (Oscars 2004) that I would watch again and again. For some, it may seem boring or uninteresting. I'll admit, it's not a movie for everyone, but for me, it was great. Acting, storyline, film techniques, all great. Whatever the movie is, it is not a waste of your time. See this movie.
  55. RonaldH.
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    The 94 score on here says it all. If you didn't like it then you didn't get it.
  56. DanielC.
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    I think a little life experience is needed to fully appreciate this film. Don't expect any explosions or epiphanies just a beautiful and thoughtful trip through life's ups and downs. Very funny too. People giving this film very low scores are Silly.
  57. FelixQ.
    Jul 25, 2006
    8
    It was alright. Brilliantly cast, with fleshed out characters and unique settings- but somehow lacking the final shove that would have made it great for me. I think this one, more than others, will come down greatly to taste. For me, although this is set apart from others in the genre, just doesn't grab the niche and own it. If a movie is going to go for the quirk, then it must do so It was alright. Brilliantly cast, with fleshed out characters and unique settings- but somehow lacking the final shove that would have made it great for me. I think this one, more than others, will come down greatly to taste. For me, although this is set apart from others in the genre, just doesn't grab the niche and own it. If a movie is going to go for the quirk, then it must do so all-in, no apologies and jump. This felt like someone, somewhere was holding back in the production of this film, be it writer, director, actor or producer. But over-all, better than many, if not most, in it's category. Expand
  58. KennyM.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    One of the greatest movies of all time. Alexander Payne is a master of his craft. I don't understand why so many people here didn't find it funny...I thought it was hilarious. Anyway, this film kicks ass. Great script, great shooting, great acting, great directing...everything is perfection. Only American Beauty and a select other few films rate above Sideways in my book.
  59. RagnarJ.
    Mar 3, 2008
    9
    very clever comedy. You see the hopeless lives of two men, succumbing slowly to their own extinction and aspiring to find a new way to lead their lives. May seem sardonic and obnoxious, at times, but they are portraying realistic emotions and case-studies. Fabulous wit and clever as f*ck.
  60. SImonM
    Jan 11, 2009
    8
    Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice some terrible spelling, and inarticulate submissions. I think that says it all. For those who didn't enjoy the movie, perhapsMr Bean is more Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice some terrible spelling, and inarticulate submissions. I think that says it all. For those who didn't enjoy the movie, perhapsMr Bean is more your style?? Expand
  61. BrianW
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who didn't get it ought to consider staying home to watch something really stimulating, like American Idol.
  62. DaveJ
    Sep 11, 2009
    7
    A good film especially due to the fact that there are not any really big name actors. I wouldn't say that its a comedy though nor should it be in the top 100 films of all time list! Still worth a seeing though!
  63. hector
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    My true rating would probably be 9.5, but this was a fantastic film (and the best Payne work to date). Giamatti was perfectly cast, and the only critiques I could offer would be relatively minor. The two hours will seem long to some, but they flew by for me. I can't wait to see it again.
  64. RaymondS.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    An extraordinary movie that mesmerically blends outrageous comedy with a deep emotionalism. Easily the best film about men and how they interact. I think the dissenters below are young men who haven't experienced enough of life to know just how true and honest this film really is.
  65. EricM.
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    Paul Giamatti -- how does he get to star in the best movie of the year, two years in a row?
  66. LauraP.
    Oct 19, 2004
    9
    At times crude...but nearly a love story about wine and friendship and love itself. I loved Paul Giamatti in this...he seemed so genuine as a man. The other actors were excellent as well. Every scene was either captivating, funny or melancholy. I totally enjoyed this film.
  67. CarolineE.
    Dec 2, 2004
    8
    This movie is very funny at times, but leaves a harsh aftertaste with its unsparing observations about age & disappointment. Interesting that viewers rate it lower than critics -- I can see why some people found it plodding & contrived, but the film deserves points for ambition & a very individual point of view.
  68. BrianS
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Loved it. It's Alexander Payne's best film. Paul Giamatti and Virginia Madsen should win Oscars for their performances.
  69. CharlieB.
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    Fantastic!
  70. [Anonymous]
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    Marvellous!
  71. EdK.
    Dec 9, 2004
    10
    A GREAT SERIOUS COMEDY.
  72. burtonm
    Jan 12, 2005
    9
    Good all the way around. Funny, original, remarkable writing, fantastic acting, great direction and editing.
  73. GregoryW
    Jan 21, 2005
    9
    Simply enjoyable, so much so that I went to Santa Barbara wine country soon after seeing this film. The characters are real (which means not always likeable, and very, very fallible). Yes, it's basically a teen road comedy, but played by middle aged men who should know better, but there are many time I've done things that I know I shouldn't, but still do. Real, quirky, very funny.
  74. Jesse
    Jan 29, 2005
    8
    Movie was very well done. All those awards and the one guy that carried it Paul Giamatti got robbed. How can he not be nominated for Best Actor? Leonardo is okay, Clint too, but to overlook this piece of work is just terrible.
  75. Jason
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Absolutely loved it....two guys who should know better living life like they were 22.
  76. TrishS
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen. Everything from the acting and cinematography to the writnig and directing worked beautifully. Movie is full of human touch!
  77. ChrisS.
    Feb 14, 2005
    9
    While in the eyes of the NY Times the most overrated film of the year (not like that's a bad thing...), "Sideways" is a very, very fine film with a strong ensemble cast from a director with a proven track record. Paul Giamatti, overlooked by the Academy once more, puts in another great performance as yet another underdog with a lot to prove.
  78. PaulF.
    Feb 16, 2005
    9
    A near perfect Ten. If it had one flaw it was a slow beginning where the characters were settling in. By the end of the move you realize by misfitted Giamatti and Church's characters were a match. They each possesed something the other didn't. Overall my heart went to Giamatti's character which I was 100 percent convinced of by the end. This like so many moves I like is not A near perfect Ten. If it had one flaw it was a slow beginning where the characters were settling in. By the end of the move you realize by misfitted Giamatti and Church's characters were a match. They each possesed something the other didn't. Overall my heart went to Giamatti's character which I was 100 percent convinced of by the end. This like so many moves I like is not crammed full of action but instead is intelligent with sublime emotion undercurrents. Expand
  79. MikeS.
    Feb 21, 2005
    9
    I think that the negative reviews on this wonderful film are ridiculous! This is the kind of movie that comes out very rarely and i'm glad for that. You can sink your teeth into this film and cherish it well after. Paul Giamatti- kudos for your performance. I thought "American Splendor" was his best work, but this comes close. The so-called "boring wine talk" gave the scenes such I think that the negative reviews on this wonderful film are ridiculous! This is the kind of movie that comes out very rarely and i'm glad for that. You can sink your teeth into this film and cherish it well after. Paul Giamatti- kudos for your performance. I thought "American Splendor" was his best work, but this comes close. The so-called "boring wine talk" gave the scenes such depth and meaning. I usually read the comments on films and let them slide but I can't on this one. Any lower score than a 7 and your cheating yourselves and being pessimistic about a movie that WILL kick rear end at the Oscars. Movies for some are all about the thrill- this film is all about life and REALITY. Expand
  80. Robert
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    Excellent movie. I'm with Bob B., get over your ultra-conservative values for just a minute and enjoy a great movie. Contrary to what some people here apparently thought, I found the characters extremely believable and sympathetic. I would say there was probably slightly more drama than comedy in this movie, but both parts were done extremely well.
  81. AndyW.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    Funny, emotional and genuine. Could only be "offensive" to those who are scared of opening their eyes to the people and relationships of our time. Genius at work.
  82. LindsayG.
    Feb 20, 2005
    7
    As a comedy, it's just not that funny. I laughed at the merlot scene...that's it. So I blame the advertisers for trying to bill this as a comedy when it comes across more as a drama. I'll let Blockbuster decide exactly what category it belongs in. The "critics" eat up movies like this. I don't know why. Maybe this one reflects on the things they'd like to As a comedy, it's just not that funny. I laughed at the merlot scene...that's it. So I blame the advertisers for trying to bill this as a comedy when it comes across more as a drama. I'll let Blockbuster decide exactly what category it belongs in. The "critics" eat up movies like this. I don't know why. Maybe this one reflects on the things they'd like to experience or have experienced before and reminds them of their own midlife crisis and trip through Napa....they identify with it somehow so they love it....Go see Clint's new movie....Very Good. Expand
  83. ThanasisP.
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    Wow! People either loved it or hated it, 0 or 10. Not much in between. Well, I just saw it and I loved it!. I also understood why many hate it. This is one of those movies that you either get it or you don
  84. Jeff
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    Perfect, a real movie, nothing compares!!! And to thonse who said it wasn't good, maybe you need to look up the definition of a true cinematic experience, you'd get a picture of Giamatti and Church!
  85. TimM
    Feb 3, 2005
    10
    Flawless and hilarious. if you have a low intelligence and are only entertained with explosions and slapstick (not to dis either of the two) then this is not for you.
  86. StaciL.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Beautiful for wine lovers and budding wine lovers alike!
  87. RandyR
    Mar 16, 2005
    8
    I love that area and have actually stayed at that motel in Buellton when visiting there. Funny and offbeat humor about the human condition. The discussion about pinot grapes will forever go down as one of the best dialogues in a movie. Really enjoyed it.
  88. OlivierP.
    Mar 16, 2005
    10
    Amazing, funny and poetic road-movie.
  89. JoeF
    Mar 17, 2005
    10
    The low ratings portrayed are classic examples of an underground film for those intelligent few, and then the "average" movie audience gets wind of it, sees it, doesn't understand it, and doesn't like it, I guess ignorance isn't always bliss huh? Quit freaking out, it's a movie, go home and rent Independence Day, and don't forget to stop at Mickey D's on the way.
  90. JonathanShalfi
    Mar 26, 2005
    7
    This is very typical of slow, adult oriented "sophisticated " films which get huge reviews from the papers.. There are very few scenes that'll actually make you smile, and everything seems to follow an "Oscar-formula". Other than that, its a fairly interesting movie, as long as you have some patience.
  91. ReidM.
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    A fabulous movie. The story is unique, the charachters are twisted and it made me laugh.
  92. JoeR
    Apr 19, 2005
    9
    This scenic little travelog through wine country is relaxed, insightful and frequently hilarious. You probably need to have been through a few serious relationships and disappointments to fully appreciate the subtle warmth, angst, bizarre acting out and needyness of the characters which probably explains why most users loved it but a few just didn't get it.
  93. Brian
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    A critically acclaimed movie that lives up to its hype. Realistic, believable characters warts and all, beautiful scenery, moments of hilarity and I don't even care for wine. Strong, natural performaces, a script that reflects the way people talk rather than how screenwriters think they talk.
  94. PhilT
    Apr 24, 2005
    8
    This movie is more than a comedy. It's a comment on friendship, love, and the human condition. What I liked most about Jack and Miles was that their friendship could take the turbulence generated by their foibles. They stuck with one another, like true friends. It is also about love, courage, and healing. Looking for a yuk-yuk comedy? Look elsewhere. This film is more than that.
  95. ClintM.
    Apr 26, 2005
    8
    I would have to agree with reviewer "Joe R." when he said the reason a lot of users didn't care for this movie or "get" it was b/c you need to have been through a serious relationship or two and a few disappointments to really get the vibe of the movie. I thought it was really genuinely funny; not at all forced. The performances were all wonderful and natural. I would recommend this I would have to agree with reviewer "Joe R." when he said the reason a lot of users didn't care for this movie or "get" it was b/c you need to have been through a serious relationship or two and a few disappointments to really get the vibe of the movie. I thought it was really genuinely funny; not at all forced. The performances were all wonderful and natural. I would recommend this movie to anyone who can find laughter even when life seems to be at its lowest. Expand
  96. marcoc.
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    A hugely enjoyable film with a great performance from Giamatti. The writing is first class. Overall it is an insightful, funny and moving picture.
  97. RickK
    Apr 30, 2005
    7
    Not everyone will enjoy this movie as much as I did - it's a bit of a guy-college-bud, what-has-become-of-my-life movie. It certainly made me feel happier and entertained.
  98. JamesL
    Apr 3, 2005
    9
    I think many of the people who reviewed this movie came out with a kneejerk reaction, without realy reflecting on the nature of the film and the emotional elements that played throughout. For someone on the same side of divorce as the movie portrayed, it was poignent and filled with the little pieces of life. The pieces that really matter. If you wanted humor there are several other mind I think many of the people who reviewed this movie came out with a kneejerk reaction, without realy reflecting on the nature of the film and the emotional elements that played throughout. For someone on the same side of divorce as the movie portrayed, it was poignent and filled with the little pieces of life. The pieces that really matter. If you wanted humor there are several other mind numbing options, just go see The Son of the Mask and pretend like the humor amuzes you, but think more deeply on the real meaning of this film and less on how much you laughed. Collapse
  99. JohnS
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    This was as perfect as movies get. It is very deserving of the 94 rating by the critics. I am not sure who these people (ie., users) are who did not get the movie. Why did they go, wasn't there a monster truck rally they could have watched?
  100. DavidK
    Apr 7, 2005
    7
    Very interesting and original are the highs. Also, great to see a low budget movie make big money. Maybe Hollywood will take notice and quit following a canned model of junk (for the most part). However, the movie is not worthy of a "94" or Academy Award Nomination - be serious.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    A beautifully observed, small-scale study of personal foibles, romantic uncertainty and two sides of the sadly predictable male animal.
  2. Hysterically funny yet melancholy comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    In Sideways, Payne has created four of the most lived-in, indelible characters in recent American movies. This deliciously bittersweet movie makes magic out of the quotidian.