Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 22, 2004
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 707 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
430
Mixed:
118
Negative:
159
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
BrianG.Jan 30, 2005
With the exception of Giamatti's performance, I was disappointed. I felt no empathy towards any of the characters and definitely no sympathy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidR.Jan 30, 2005
Not to say that this is a bad movie by any means, but it's basically a middle-aged, more down n out version of "Swingers". The plot is very formulaic. There were some good moments but all and all it's definitely over-hyped. Maybe Not to say that this is a bad movie by any means, but it's basically a middle-aged, more down n out version of "Swingers". The plot is very formulaic. There were some good moments but all and all it's definitely over-hyped. Maybe all the critcs are divorced 40-somethings who can relate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LanieJ.Feb 14, 2005
Unevenly spiteful then compassionate, which often makes a moving film. However, the 3 of the 4 main characters are unredeemable which, for me, made the movie the same.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlanDFeb 5, 2005
A slightly amusing movie at the time that has grown less substantial each time I think of it. I just love the breathless accusations here and elsewhere that if you don't think this was a brilliant movie, you must be a phillistine. A slightly amusing movie at the time that has grown less substantial each time I think of it. I just love the breathless accusations here and elsewhere that if you don't think this was a brilliant movie, you must be a phillistine. "Look, it's about wine--it must be the antidote to Shark Tale!" Fact is, there aren't enough bad "wine is like life" cliches in the world to keep this movie afloat. And how about the "unpublished yet brilliant first novel" cliche? Anyway, if you're in the "NPR wine tasting benefit for the homeless" set, or aspire to it, this is the movie for you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GraemeH.Mar 19, 2005
I'm surprised that the critics rated it so highly. I did enjoy the movie but it's certainly not worth the ratings it has been given.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DevymanMay 18, 2005
I truley didnt see what all the hype was about. I was a kind of dull storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NickMMay 9, 2005
Not bad, but largely overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
christianb.Jun 30, 2005
What a let down. The characters were so totally lacking in appeal I didn't care what happened to them. The "wine as metephor for life" was laid on so thick that not a single laugh escaped.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RodG.Feb 21, 2007
I'm not too retarded that I didn't get the humor. It just wasn't a great movie. It was okay but not one to own. I'm sure people who are uptight and think they are upper class citizens found this movie delightful. Good for you.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
6
SusanL.Mar 1, 2008
Rated above "Apocalypse Now"? Come on!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MackJan 6, 2009
Don't critics give points for movies being enjoyable to watch? This one is not particularly funny or interesting. Seems like a real bandwagon movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChristopherC.Nov 17, 2004
This movie is the kind of sophmoric humor found in harold and kumar go to white castle, except substitue wine and drunkeness instead of weed and burgers. the only saving grace is that we are spared the happily ever after moment, leaving at This movie is the kind of sophmoric humor found in harold and kumar go to white castle, except substitue wine and drunkeness instead of weed and burgers. the only saving grace is that we are spared the happily ever after moment, leaving at least one thing to the imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VictoriaS.Jan 24, 2005
The rating is virtually purely for the acting, particularly by Paul Giamatti, who can basically do no wrong. Aside from that, I have absolutely no idea what all the fuss is about. This is a very "little" movie about fairly unpleasant people The rating is virtually purely for the acting, particularly by Paul Giamatti, who can basically do no wrong. Aside from that, I have absolutely no idea what all the fuss is about. This is a very "little" movie about fairly unpleasant people making the unsurprising -- and pat -- midlife discovery that they are the authors of their own misery. Gee! Gosh! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RPJan 27, 2005
Crirics overrate this movie. 2 main characters are louts. Story line didn't engage me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JBradleyFeb 1, 2005
Overrated. Overrated. Overrated. When M-critic gives a score greater than 90, I think that this must be a film that must not be missed. It was interesting and funny at times, but I would put it at the bottom of the Netflix quene. The critics Overrated. Overrated. Overrated. When M-critic gives a score greater than 90, I think that this must be a film that must not be missed. It was interesting and funny at times, but I would put it at the bottom of the Netflix quene. The critics should put down the wine and switch to coffee. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeffS.Feb 3, 2005
To me it was like Seinfeld without more awkward humor. More embarrassing than fun. I liked none of the characters. The two main characters were self absorbed See,ed to feel that life had short changed them. To me it seemed they got what they To me it was like Seinfeld without more awkward humor. More embarrassing than fun. I liked none of the characters. The two main characters were self absorbed See,ed to feel that life had short changed them. To me it seemed they got what they deserved. They seemed to understand everyihing so much better than the rest of us. But they did not. Well acted but I have seen these people in real life and I stay away from them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
mikeFeb 4, 2005
I found this movie enjoyable at times, but highly overrated judging by the ratings on this site. The wine talk just had the movie lagging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BeauW.Mar 28, 2005
I am convinced that this movie is getting great reviews because it's the movie people want to be heard saying they loved. This movie was mildly entertaining and I laughed in parts but I also found myself as equally bored in just as many scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MiraKMar 4, 2005
One of the most important elements in a film is likable characters, or at least someone you would know in real life. I think the filmakers tried to do the later, as neither Miles nor Jack seemed like the kind of person one would enjoy to One of the most important elements in a film is likable characters, or at least someone you would know in real life. I think the filmakers tried to do the later, as neither Miles nor Jack seemed like the kind of person one would enjoy to spend their company with. Let's face it: Miles was annoying, drunk, and arrogent while Jack spent the entire film trying to get laid. While, I may admit, these are not completely unrealistic characters, they were exaggerated throughout the film to make it 'more interesting'. The result was a waste of time and money. At times it was amusing, but most of the film was down right tedious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeApr 16, 2005
Its not a bad movie, But its been over hyped by the critics. I did enjoy watching the movie, But would I watch it again? No.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlHApr 9, 2005
While this was an amusing movie that held my attention, it is also easily the most overrated movie of the year and one of the most overrated movies ever. The many implausibilities in the script, slapstick diversions, and predictibility of While this was an amusing movie that held my attention, it is also easily the most overrated movie of the year and one of the most overrated movies ever. The many implausibilities in the script, slapstick diversions, and predictibility of the story, makes this an ordinary film. The real question is how so many good critics wildly overpraised this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CKMay 19, 2005
A comedy? I don't think I laughed once. Somewhat pleasant to watch but no more than that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SSloanMay 28, 2005
A great movie for misunderstood pseudo-intellectuals with little or no personality. Critics love it for this reason. Also, if you stopped drinking Merlot becuase of this movie - you should be sterilized.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BruiNationMay 9, 2005
Way overrated by the critics, and underappreciated here, Sideways is both brilliant and vulgar at the same time. Thomas Haden Church epitomizes everything I hate about straight guys and well deserves his Oscar nomination. Paul Way overrated by the critics, and underappreciated here, Sideways is both brilliant and vulgar at the same time. Thomas Haden Church epitomizes everything I hate about straight guys and well deserves his Oscar nomination. Paul Giamatti's "Miles", however, really began to bore me...what an annoying character. A whining, self-important lonely depressed alcoholic snob. I appreciated the complexity of the characters, but overall, Sideways is tastelessness defined. The critics and the Academy should be ashamed. The Best Picture of the Year was Ray...hands down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DamienA.Jun 17, 2005
It's a reasonable film that stands out because so many films fail to even reach this level of acceptability. I like to save 10 out of 10s for the day I might actually need them. (it's been a while)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelM.Jun 28, 2005
Quality movie? Yes. Well acted movie? Yes, except that Church's role of "jerk" could have been played to a "T" by many actors, so I was surprised at his Oscar nomination. Funny movie? Hardly! In all, Sideways is a movie put together Quality movie? Yes. Well acted movie? Yes, except that Church's role of "jerk" could have been played to a "T" by many actors, so I was surprised at his Oscar nomination. Funny movie? Hardly! In all, Sideways is a movie put together well but ultimately depressing and lacking in connectivity to this viewer. I cannot recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GeraldN.Jun 4, 2005
How on earth did THIS movie get all these high reviews? The reviewers themselves were obviously high. This movie is average at best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ShawnO.Aug 3, 2005
This movie is one of the most pretentious and possibly the most overrated film I've ever seen in my life. As good of a job as Giamatti and Haden Church do acting in this film (they are both brilliant talents and I am particularly This movie is one of the most pretentious and possibly the most overrated film I've ever seen in my life. As good of a job as Giamatti and Haden Church do acting in this film (they are both brilliant talents and I am particularly pleased that Haden-Church is finally getting some recognition), the characters they portray aren't particularly likeable and this movie isn't particularly funny. I don't what everyone finds so clever and humorous about this film, personally. The 2 times I laughed involved Giamatti's character throwing a wine all over himself and going crazy and the end when they wreck the car. This movie and its characters are not profound, they are depressing and a little offensive. Call me an old fuddy-duddy (I'm 29), but I don't think there's anything cool or admirable about a guy looking to get tail during his last week of 'freedom' before he gets married! This movie is OK, it ain't great and it's certainly not as good as the critics have made it out to be. The only way this film could have been improved is if we actually got to see Sandr Oh naked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnAJan 6, 2006
This film reminded me of classic literature that critics claim is not to be missed. Sure, if you are looking to study character development and then talk about it in your film club later. I was simply looking to be entertained. SidewaysThis film reminded me of classic literature that critics claim is not to be missed. Sure, if you are looking to study character development and then talk about it in your film club later. I was simply looking to be entertained. Sideways provided some very funny moments but was far more work and not enough entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlecE.Mar 14, 2008
A clear case of hype elevating a movie to a status it doesnt deserve. Nothing special.
0 of 1 users found this helpful