Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 663 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Two old friends set off on a wine-tasting road trip...only to veer dizzily sideways into a wry, comedic exploration of the crazy vicissitudes of love and friendship, the damnable persistence of loneliness and dreams and the enduring war between Pinot and Cabernet. [Fox Searchlight Pictures]
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Hysterically funny yet melancholy comedy.
  2. 100
    A sublime variation on the buddy road movie, infusing the midlife crises of the two main protagonists with hope and poetry.
  3. 100
    What makes it the best movie of the year -- is its insight into human behavior.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    100
    Every performance here is wonderful, and the movie abounds in moments so true as to be cringe-worthy.
  5. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    90
    A warm, ingratiating, and fitfully hilarious epicurean road movie with a steady ache-an ache like a red-wine hangover.
  6. 90
    In this role Giamatti gives his bravest, most generously humane performance yet. Women may be repelled, but men will know this man, because, at one time or another, many of us have been this man.
  7. 60
    Alexander Payne's new movie, Sideways, makes you feel like you're trapped at dinner with a wiseass who's trying to convince you what a sensitive guy he is.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. PhilipJ.
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    Original and entertaining, i can't see why people give this film below 6.
  2. BrianW
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who didn't get it ought to consider staying home to watch something really stimulating, like American Idol. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. WhenGiamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it. What I liked though is that looks at love were highly imperfect but still had real consequences. Jennifer Aniston is not in this film. The actors are believable. I was able to want to believe them, right or wrong, for better or worse. Collapse
  4. Damir
    Apr 25, 2008
    6
    ha ha the critics gave this a 94? tieing it with lord of the rings the return of the king? yeah right.. this is a good movie, well put ha ha the critics gave this a 94? tieing it with lord of the rings the return of the king? yeah right.. this is a good movie, well put together, kinda funny, but its not my style.. and i don't agree with giving it a perfect score. id say its more of a 3/4 film just missing a couple of strong marks to be accountable as a masterpiece. sideways is seriously not that great.. i wouldnt recommend it, but i'm glad i saw it. Expand
  5. MikeH.
    Feb 27, 2007
    3
    Not to react to other reviewers but: just because you don't like the movie doesn't make you retarded. Thinking your opinion is Not to react to other reviewers but: just because you don't like the movie doesn't make you retarded. Thinking your opinion is somehow superior to others is quite retarded. This movie had some interesting humor and WAS clever. It also had interesting characters. The problem is: I disliked the characters. It was like watching a comedy about annoying people. They may be occasionally funny and deep, but they are STILL ANNOYING. Sorry, but this was a terrible movie to live through for me and the three others that watched it with me. Expand
  6. DaveS.
    Mar 1, 2007
    2
    Boring! Smug, middle class nonsense, no laughs at all. you'd be hard pushed to stay awake during this. I can't for the life of me Boring! Smug, middle class nonsense, no laughs at all. you'd be hard pushed to stay awake during this. I can't for the life of me work out why the critics are fawning over it. Expand
  7. jasonpotts
    Nov 18, 2004
    0
    I could only wish to have had bowel cramps during the scence in which Maya and Miles talk about wine. That would have given me an excuse toI could only wish to have had bowel cramps during the scence in which Maya and Miles talk about wine. That would have given me an excuse to escape to the bathroom and not listen to two contrived, altogther obvious, and decidedly unerotic rambles in which an extended metaphor is run into exhaustion. For the record, I thought _Election_ was terrific, but none of the sharpness of that movie is apparent here. And I'll spare you what I think of those of you who continue to try to review the reviewers on this site rather than the movie itself Expand

See all 385 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far)

    The Best Movies of the 21st Century (So Far) Image
    Published: March 26, 2015
    Check out our lists of the best (and worst) movies of the century so far, ranked by Metascore overall and in a variety of genres.
  2. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.
  3. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.
  4. Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: 30 Best Road Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: November 3, 2010
    Friday's new comedy "Due Date" is only the latest example of one of Hollywood's favorite genres. Join us as we journey through three decades of road movies, from "Vacation" to "Sideways."
  5. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  6. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.
  7. Metacritic's Best and Worst Movies Based on Novels

    Metacritic's Best and Worst Movies Based on Novels Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    While The Lovely Bones is receiving a cool reception from critics, some novels have made a more successful transition from page to screen. Metacritic's film editor selects ten of the best-reviewed adaptations in our database ... and ten of the worst.