Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: August 2, 2002
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 324 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
230
Mixed:
50
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DalekNov 12, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not the best film ever, but it's entertaining and it's different. The actors did a good job, and the atmosphere is great too when the aliens arrive; the tension building up at some parts. I don't really see why it's gotten negative reviews, the only parts that were bad is that it may be a bit boring in some parts and the storyline may be a bit confusing too. Apart from that, it's not a bad film and it's worth watching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Apr 7, 2013
Signs is an intelligent thrilling movie with scenes that are scary in the non custom horror way. A chilling movie that will keep you at the edge of your seat while scaring you with the unknown.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheSandiMar 12, 2016
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaAug 8, 2011
The best M night Shyamalan movie ever made with so much style and fright that the build up of this movie will leave you breathtaken. this buildup all leads up to the end which will give you your breath back to rethink everything you haveThe best M night Shyamalan movie ever made with so much style and fright that the build up of this movie will leave you breathtaken. this buildup all leads up to the end which will give you your breath back to rethink everything you have seen from a new perspective. If one has faith to watch m night shyamalan's best feature you will be gladly surprised. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Sep 5, 2011
After my confrontation with solid foreshadowing "The Sixth Sense" and a not great, but very good "Unbreakable", M. Night Shyamalan did his job once again to give me his best to scare the living heck out of my soul with "Signs".

The
After my confrontation with solid foreshadowing "The Sixth Sense" and a not great, but very good "Unbreakable", M. Night Shyamalan did his job once again to give me his best to scare the living heck out of my soul with "Signs".

The story/premise about a preacher, his younger brother and his two children something very horrifying was spooky, yet very cool. The moral lesson about faith is really the right thing to teach your kids when you're in a church.

Before I continue, I just want to say that I only go to church once in a few years or so. Just to remind you.

Back to the review. The tone of this movie was absolutely dark and I think it was very good when it comes to other movies with darker overtones. Even the action was very impressive.

I also liked the actors for doing such a great job, especially Mel Gibson. Everywhere he goes, "Hamlet", "Braveheart", "Pocahontas", "Chicken Run", "The Patriot", you name it.

Signs is an entertaining movie and it's M. Night Shyamalan's strongest works in my opinion despite the fact that I didn't like the way his career later went downhill for such stinkers like "The Village", "The Lady In The Water", and "The Happening". "The Last Airbender", unlike his previous films, was a guilty pleasure in which you already know that.

The ending was weak and too cliched it ruined a fewer aspects of the story.

Bottomline: Great movie, worth checking out.

9/10
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
NickS.Aug 2, 2002
Signs was exactly what we needed this summer. A fun, entertaining film that makes you think. It was an enjoyable theatre-going experience with a lot of scares as well as humor. Mel Gibson has never been better and the rest of the cast was Signs was exactly what we needed this summer. A fun, entertaining film that makes you think. It was an enjoyable theatre-going experience with a lot of scares as well as humor. Mel Gibson has never been better and the rest of the cast was fantastic, especially the kids. Shyamalan is a natural at working with kids. I had no idea what this film was about going in, but I left extremely satisfied as well as feeling good about life. It's nice to watch a film about something that matters and also be entertained by it. Shyamalan is a definite talent and I can't wait to see what he brings us next. Blanco can kiss my ass!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MackJan 6, 2009
Yes the statement that the director is trying to make is silly and heavy handed. However, his ability to make the events seem like they could really happen and the reactions of the characters play out very realistically before they collapse Yes the statement that the director is trying to make is silly and heavy handed. However, his ability to make the events seem like they could really happen and the reactions of the characters play out very realistically before they collapse at the end. The build up is definitely worth putting up with some dissapointment at the end. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlexZ.May 15, 2009
This is a movie about hope. It's tagline for me is "Can it be there are no coincidents?". Some people think that it advocates religion and faith. I think the return of Graham at the end to religion is a plot device and a necessary This is a movie about hope. It's tagline for me is "Can it be there are no coincidents?". Some people think that it advocates religion and faith. I think the return of Graham at the end to religion is a plot device and a necessary parabol for everyone else, as we all have hopes and faith, each at different grounds. I felt deeply emotional by the end of this film. A miracle is the final ring of a chain which start from us. Among the most humanist film I've seen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BradySmithApr 5, 2016
An eerie, suspenseful, emotionally touching near masterpiece. With a great cast giving great performances, a witty, brilliant, and extremely detailed script, and some expertly sensitive direction, this may be Shyamalan's best movie. It's suchAn eerie, suspenseful, emotionally touching near masterpiece. With a great cast giving great performances, a witty, brilliant, and extremely detailed script, and some expertly sensitive direction, this may be Shyamalan's best movie. It's such a shame that he had to go into such a downward spiral. I truly hope he gets his mojo back because his first 3 films (this one especially) were just brilliant. Signs will scare you senseless because Shyamalan knew how to build the suspense slowly and effectively, with hints of menacing creatures, not guts and gore. The incredible score by Newton also adds layers of astonishing depth onto the already touching story and nuanced performances. A classic, plain and simple. Its reputation will only grow as time goes on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JustinJun 2, 2007
I'm surprised by the mediocre reviews! I love this movie. I think people get mad because it is not the horror movie they expected. Signs is clever; funny, scary, and just entertaining!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Jul 5, 2006
Signs is exactly what the horror genre needed-a jolt of originality to the seemingly repetitive horror settings. This movie drips with originality, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. M Night Shyamalan-I salute you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidSOct 27, 2008
A thoroughly under-rated masterpiece. After watching the trailers for this movie, I can see why some people were disapointed. The trailers seemed to have been geared to attract the 'War of the Worlds' fans. However, a lot of A thoroughly under-rated masterpiece. After watching the trailers for this movie, I can see why some people were disapointed. The trailers seemed to have been geared to attract the 'War of the Worlds' fans. However, a lot of peop-le seemed to have missed the raw craft and style with which 'Signs' is executed. To begin with, M.Night Shalamyn's movies scare me the most out of any other movies I have seen. His use of manipulative camera angles, building music, and slow development create some truly memorable moments. On top of this, the back-story is extremely believable, the acting is unique and top-notch, and the musical score is brilliant. It is a very subtle movie, however, so only people who actually like HORROR should watch it, and watch it alone. All you guys who just want to see blood and boobs should watch Hostel or some other piece of garbage with your friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndyMar 18, 2007
Entertaining but lacking orginiality and reasonability.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DamianAJul 13, 2008
These reviews are indeed surprising. This film is a work of genius from the mind of M. Night Shamylan, but it still dissapoints me that his newer works don't have the same gripping, terrifying and awe-inspiring feel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HasrionaJul 20, 2011
A properly scary film. It's by no means original, but it works well with what it has to create genuinely scary minutes with a good lead from Mel Gibson, and what works even better is it's underlying message of faith and hope in the face of aA properly scary film. It's by no means original, but it works well with what it has to create genuinely scary minutes with a good lead from Mel Gibson, and what works even better is it's underlying message of faith and hope in the face of a crisis, leading to a satisfying, complex film overall. It's not the best alien invasion film, but not many alien invasion films can turn the concept of invasion into a religious moral. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
I reckon most of the criticism lies with infamous third-act problems. Yes, you almost chuckle. Nevertheless, Signs is suspenseful on all accounts--a film that knows what its doing and does it really quite well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 7, 2016
Signs is an incredibly tense and atmospheric film from M. Night Shyamalan that does not provide many answers, but certainly provides thrills, chills, and spills, along the way. With a strong performance from Mel Gibson in the lead role, SignsSigns is an incredibly tense and atmospheric film from M. Night Shyamalan that does not provide many answers, but certainly provides thrills, chills, and spills, along the way. With a strong performance from Mel Gibson in the lead role, Signs is an incredibly well crafted science fiction thriller that does provide many answers, to the chagrin of many viewers, but I loved it. Plus, the emotional drama and personal trauma were both well handled and given the appropriate weight in the film. Together with the suspense, they combined to make a well told and truly engaging film. Additionally, the direction from Shyamalan is very good. Not only is it tense, but it is well paced and well told. He knows how to create suspense and thrills and does it here with incredible ease. Nowadays, it is sad to look back on a great film like Signs and think of what could have been with Shyamalan, but nonetheless, it is a very good science fiction film that proved thoroughly chilling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
It's better than Aliens, because it subtly captivates, rather than throwing green guts in our faces.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 13, 2012
I watch this every chance I get. As far as alien invasion fiction goes, this is not the most intricate or the most compelling. In fact, somehow, the alien's are a rather second-hand element in the film. It's more so about the family dynamicsI watch this every chance I get. As far as alien invasion fiction goes, this is not the most intricate or the most compelling. In fact, somehow, the alien's are a rather second-hand element in the film. It's more so about the family dynamics in a widowers household. The extra-terrestrial warfare is just the impetus that nudges them into situations where their personal stories can unfold and their deepest emotions can surface among one another. Directed with tact and steadfastness, acted with precision and beautifully paced to create an extremely hypnotizing atmosphere. Not to mention, infectiously hilarious on several occasions. This is a showcase in how to infuse subtle humor into a story. The jokes are super easy to miss and may very well go right over the heads of some which is unfortunate. But, by the same token, the quietness of all the funny along with the dimly lit environment in which it is placed really allows for it to illuminate like a firefly in the night sky and be a million times funnier than it would be in an in-your-face, no holds bar type of comedy. Highly enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Frightening, hopeful, and strangely majestic, "Signs" is one of the last best movies of M. Night Shyamalan playing with the audience's expectations every tense step of the proverbial way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Signs is nothing compared to Unbreakable and The Sixth Sense but Shyamalan still creates a creepy horror setting is this must see horror.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mds03Mar 17, 2013
Scary, funny, sad, unpredictable, horrifying, creepy, mystifying, and gripping is everything that describes how brilliant this movie is. From start to finish you don't see anything coming. This is one of the scariest movies I have ever seenScary, funny, sad, unpredictable, horrifying, creepy, mystifying, and gripping is everything that describes how brilliant this movie is. From start to finish you don't see anything coming. This is one of the scariest movies I have ever seen and one of the best movies I have ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!! Mel Gibson is fantastic for his role and so is everyone else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! M. Night Shyamalan has created a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJul 10, 2013
About equal to the first two Shyamalan films. A great story mixed with great performances by Mel Gibson and Joaquin Phoenix. A story about fate or choice and about regaining your faith.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Jan 12, 2016
One of the last intriguing and truly good films of M.Night Shyamalan, it was interesting from start to finish and some of Shyamalans strongest work of his career. The story is great and very fitting to what Shyamalan style is and theOne of the last intriguing and truly good films of M.Night Shyamalan, it was interesting from start to finish and some of Shyamalans strongest work of his career. The story is great and very fitting to what Shyamalan style is and the performances from Mel Gibson and Joaquin Phoenix are superb in a story about the supernatural, fate, and the choices that come with regarding to a man's faith in God. The ending on the otherhand, is a bit of a downer. Its almost too cliche for a story regarding aliens. As a whole, Signs is scary, hopeful, emotional, and weirdly majestic while M.Night Shyamalan plays to the audiences every tense step of the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KaprawiecDec 7, 2016
I love this kind of movies - smart, funny and interesting from start to the finish. If it would be a bit faster paced I'd rate it perfect, but I appreciate concept of slowly building tension.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
teddylukeApr 7, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. signs ok let's talk about the ending because that's what every one let's to talk about. I think the water kills alien then is find I found it to be ok. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoSep 28, 2015
It's a bit of a mess but it's also rather intriguing. The main problem is that it seems a bit too convinient at times. I know it's meant to be all about the question "are there no coincidences?" But even so, some of it gets a littleIt's a bit of a mess but it's also rather intriguing. The main problem is that it seems a bit too convinient at times. I know it's meant to be all about the question "are there no coincidences?" But even so, some of it gets a little ridiculous. But it's pretty interesting too. It has a very distinct Shyamalan style to it. I enjoyed it. It's one of the better Shyamalan films (and certainly better than "The Last Airbender"). It's better than a lot of the users on here are saying it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
reviewfrom19842Jan 8, 2017
Signs is not the best M. Night movie but is still a pretty good movie with good acting and decent writing .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews