Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: George Bass
    Nov 4, 2012
    20
    The nurse-monsters look cool - think HR Giger in Ann Summers kit - but the plot and burning fairgrounds are so OTT they dispel any chill factor.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Oct 31, 2012
    0
    A knockoff in everything from style to story, it also suffers from 3-D effects that are dim and underwhelming, a maddeningly obtuse storyline, and performances that could have used some serious Herbert West-style reanimation.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Oct 27, 2012
    30
    There is a flamboyance to some of the imagery - Heather and her demonic doppelganger embrace on a flaming carousel - but no exuberance, no sense of wonder, fascination or enjoyment. Everything feels like a throwaway.
  4. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Oct 27, 2012
    0
    One step worse than most of these video game movies. It feels less like a game and more like what happens when you leave your PlayStation on and it becomes a kind of dim screensaver. If we had a controller in our hand, we would probably throw it at the screen.
  5. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Oct 26, 2012
    30
    The film is nothing if not liberal with its bloodletting, which integrates cleverly at times with the 3-D: lopped fingers, for example, fly toward the audience. But personalities and plot are thumbnail sketches at best.
  6. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Oct 26, 2012
    33
    Some horror movies want to scare you witless, but Silent Hill: Revelation 3D just wants to beat you senseless.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Oct 26, 2012
    0
    With horror altogether absent and a plot drowning in insipid convolutions, it's a film whose early warning to Heather should be heeded: "Don't go to Silent Hill."
  8. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Oct 26, 2012
    30
    Silent Hill is not a place you want to go, and that applies for moviegoers as well as this videogame adaptation's characters.
  9. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Oct 26, 2012
    10
    Silent Hill: Revelation 3D is the nadir of senseless seasonal cinema. But while Bassett's film struggles to say anything coherently, it gets the most important message across perfectly well: "Do not go to Silent Hill!"
  10. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 26, 2012
    25
    Stiff, episodic, and disjointed, Silent Hill: Revelation 3D replicates its source material all too faithfully.
  11. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Oct 26, 2012
    38
    Silent Hill: Revelation fundamentally misunderstands the appeal its source material.
  12. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Oct 26, 2012
    20
    A cheaper, cheesier sequel that's worse than its predecessor on every level (save being a half-hour shorter) and takes no special advantage of the stereoscopic process.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 315 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 104
  2. Negative: 38 out of 104
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    Not the scariest movie I've ever seen but this film is actually quite faithful both to the plot of the first movie and the third game in the series. I know I'm in the minority here, but I actually really enjoyed the first movie and felt like this sequel did a good job of establishing a strong link between that film and the game series. I will admit that there were a few instances of nonsensical plot and / or writing but I felt that overall, this was a worthy entry in the series with great atmosphere and great acting to boot. Don't believe all the garbage reviews in the press. I doubt most of those critics are even aware of the game series this movie is based on. Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    First off, I am a huge fan of the Silent Hill games and was NOT a fan of the first Silent Hill movie. This film was an outstanding homage to the game. Not ADAPTION. HOMAGE. The monsters were beautiful. The 3d was fantastic. And all the key points from the game came across very well. My favorite part was how they intertwined the First film perfectly and still kept the film true to silent hill 3. I.e. Happy Burger, the mall, theme park etc. The only negatives for me were the portrayals of Vincent and Douglas. Vincent was too Good as opposed to the game. And Douglas was simply cut down to a minor character. Also I understand alot of fans will be angry because of Pyramid Head being in the film, but they need to understand, PYRAMID HEAD WASNT A MANIFESTATION OF JAMES SUNDERLANDS FEARS, THE CREATOR SAID THAT HIMSELF. That all being said I give Silent Hill Revelation 3d a 9 out of 10 FOR TRUE FANS OF THE SERIES Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    I honestly enjoyed this film. Yes, call me "flavorless" in actual great films but in the end I bought Silent Hill: revelation 3D was actually pretty good. As a person who is oblivious to most of the actual Silent Hill game lore, understanding this film after watching the first wasn't really hard. Of course their are some plot holes that make you wonder if the writer was writing a script or a jumbled mess on paper but the major selling point for this film is obviously for the fan service and this film really delivers. The monster effects mixed in with the 3D effects will blow you away and certain scenes will leave you amazed and thirsting for more. Unfortunately, the real killing blow of the movie is it's length. After a few friends of mine left the theater for about 15 minutes, they missed almost 50% of the action. In the end, you will still be leaving satisfied and craving a sequel. Not really though. Full Review »