Silent Hill: Revelation 3D

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 357 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    Silent Hill Revelation 3D will absolutely please the fans of Silent Hill but I doubt that it will please the common movie reviewers or critics. I am a big fan of Silent Hill and I am addicted to the first Silent Hill and the video games. As a movie it is not near perfect. First of all, the script is awful and senseless, it is far away from the script and the eerie talking of Silent Hill,Silent Hill Revelation 3D will absolutely please the fans of Silent Hill but I doubt that it will please the common movie reviewers or critics. I am a big fan of Silent Hill and I am addicted to the first Silent Hill and the video games. As a movie it is not near perfect. First of all, the script is awful and senseless, it is far away from the script and the eerie talking of Silent Hill, as for the story, it is explained more than the first, it doesn't leave anything to the imagination of the viewer, and that's make Silent Hill Revelation forgettable, the direction is really bad, because there is no actual tension during the climax, which makes us miss Christopher Gans' direction. The visuals are good but you can see and notice that Pyramid head's costume is rushed, and a proof is the trivia on IMDB. As for a movie, it is not that scary, and it is definitely not that good, sometimes it is boring and dull, but mostly, entertaining and fun. The 3D is really good, and I give them the credit for that. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    5
    So, I could start this review by telling you the reasons this is a bad movie. Paper thin storyline, bad acting, subpar special effects, among others. All this would give this movie a 2.............. but then I realize I didn't come for the storyline, the acting or the special effects, I just came here to see how they portrayed the silent hill world and monsters into the big screen, and atSo, I could start this review by telling you the reasons this is a bad movie. Paper thin storyline, bad acting, subpar special effects, among others. All this would give this movie a 2.............. but then I realize I didn't come for the storyline, the acting or the special effects, I just came here to see how they portrayed the silent hill world and monsters into the big screen, and at that it does a fair enough job. So, 5 it is. Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    i like silent hill: revelation, it is a narrative mess, but it is visually stunning, the monsters are stylish and inventive, and it benefits from a decent, devoted cast (sean bean, adelaide clemens, carrie-ann moss, malcom mcdowell, kit harrington), though it suffers from a distinct shortage of scares, it is consistently creepy, and that trademark sense of mystery is evoked in the asylum,i like silent hill: revelation, it is a narrative mess, but it is visually stunning, the monsters are stylish and inventive, and it benefits from a decent, devoted cast (sean bean, adelaide clemens, carrie-ann moss, malcom mcdowell, kit harrington), though it suffers from a distinct shortage of scares, it is consistently creepy, and that trademark sense of mystery is evoked in the asylum, though nowhere near as good as the original by any stretch, it is still a sufficient, conclusive ending to alessa's story, and i can't wait for downpour. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2013
    6
    Well! I can't say it was like the first one or so bad, but it is bad, the first one is much better, this one, the scenes, the story is just a **** MESS! But I still enjoyed it, but don't know why!
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    5
    Only for the absolute most die hard Silent Hill fans. I am intimately familiar with the Halo of the Sun, the Seal of Metatron, the Order, Valtiel, "God," the layers of reality, Leonard, Claudia, Heather Mason, Harry Mason, Pyramid Head, Alessa, Dhalia, Robbie the Rabbit, the fog, Brookhaven, Vincent, and Lakeside Amusement Park, all from the games. If you don't recognize every single oneOnly for the absolute most die hard Silent Hill fans. I am intimately familiar with the Halo of the Sun, the Seal of Metatron, the Order, Valtiel, "God," the layers of reality, Leonard, Claudia, Heather Mason, Harry Mason, Pyramid Head, Alessa, Dhalia, Robbie the Rabbit, the fog, Brookhaven, Vincent, and Lakeside Amusement Park, all from the games. If you don't recognize every single one of those from memory, then you will likely be lost throughout much of the movie. The film loosely follows the plot of the third game, and even then, you need to be very familiar with the story from that game to get what's happening most of the time. The acting is subpar in most of the characters, and there is way too much exposition. The set pieces are excellent, and some of the creatures are inspired, but the climax was rushed and the general pacing of the movie was poor. If you are indeed a super hardcore Silent Hill fan, then this movie will address many canonical issues that are largely unexplored in the games and deal with various fan-based theories. There are also so many references to each game in the franchise, including Downpour, that hardly a shot goes by without one coming in somewhere. Almost every set in the film was pulled from one of the games. Excellent fan candy, but not much else, I'm afraid. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    now, i am a very hard person to disappoint... BUT F**K YOU MICHAEL J. BASSETT, F**K YOU, F**K YOU, F**K YOU, WITH A RUSTY IRON SPIKE!!! needless to say, it was very disappointing, for starters, pyramid head is on all but TWO posters for the movie, he is in only TWO F**KING SCENES IN THE ENTIRE MOVIE, these scenes are both extremely underwhelming, when you hype up a monster with all of yournow, i am a very hard person to disappoint... BUT F**K YOU MICHAEL J. BASSETT, F**K YOU, F**K YOU, F**K YOU, WITH A RUSTY IRON SPIKE!!! needless to say, it was very disappointing, for starters, pyramid head is on all but TWO posters for the movie, he is in only TWO F**KING SCENES IN THE ENTIRE MOVIE, these scenes are both extremely underwhelming, when you hype up a monster with all of your promotional material, YOU HAVE TO DO MORE WITH HIM!!! the characters, only three are developed with any effectiveness (heather, harry and vincent), and adelaide clemens is so flat, she barely has any of the heart her character did, kit harington was good, and sean bean was, as always, great, carrie-anne moss, was great as claudia, malcom mcdowell was great as leonard, and deborah kara unger was great as dahlia, who is BARELY IN THE MOVIE, despite the fact that she deserves a greater role as she is, by proxy, heather's mother!!! martin donovan was good but also pushed almost out of the movie altogether, and what happens to him, CHEAP!!! oh, and don't blink, you might completely miss rahda mitchell... who inexplicably provides a quiet mediocre performance... and to the shear lack of scares... there were only two scenes that scared me, one involves a birthday party, those who have seen it know what i mean, the other involves the mannequin spider... which strangely enough only lasts 40 seconds... like i said, CHEAP... the plot also seems flat sometimes, but the worst part? the fact that open road cut near FIFTEEN MINUTES out of the film, which they have voiced no intention of putting back in... what a shear f**king disappointment, this is barely silent hill, PLEASE MICHAEL J. BASSETT, NEVER MAKE ANOTHER SILENT HILL MOVIE EVER AGAIN! Expand
  7. Feb 10, 2013
    6
    silent hill no es la mejor secuela ya que se enreda mucho y no sigue la misma historia de la primera pero para mi los efectos especiales y una que otra actuacion valida compensa todo eso
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    4
    I saw this in 3D-- which is a blurrier, dimmer, more migraine inducing version of this crap film. I'm a gamer, and thus a fan of the Silent Hill video game. Though the first film wasn't great it was definitely a film, made by a filmmaker. Revelation felt like fan fiction--which if you're a big fan of SH3, you'll probably love it.

    I tend to use The Godfather as a basis of comparison
    I saw this in 3D-- which is a blurrier, dimmer, more migraine inducing version of this crap film. I'm a gamer, and thus a fan of the Silent Hill video game. Though the first film wasn't great it was definitely a film, made by a filmmaker. Revelation felt like fan fiction--which if you're a big fan of SH3, you'll probably love it.

    I tend to use The Godfather as a basis of comparison for films--cinematography, music, writing, directing, acting--all supreme. But Silent Hill: Revelation needs to be compared to the Spiderman Ride in Orlando--which it barely just falls short of in terms of entertainment.

    The dialog was awful but Sean Bean gave a good attempt at making it seem emotionally inspired. But a film this plot-driven and reliant on surprises for scares really has no time for emotion and I was more annoyed by "character moments" than desperately seeking them. Honestly, if it was just an hour and half of Heather running from the Manikin-Spider, I would have been more satisfied!
    Expand
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    5
    All the monsters and creepy hallways in silent hill make it enjoyably entertaining all the way through. The plot lacked in build up and actually going somewhere with the climax.. I expected a lot more as the movie went on but it did come off strong right from the start. A lot of reused horror ideas, (waking up from dreams) and predictable moments but main actress Adelaide Clemens savesAll the monsters and creepy hallways in silent hill make it enjoyably entertaining all the way through. The plot lacked in build up and actually going somewhere with the climax.. I expected a lot more as the movie went on but it did come off strong right from the start. A lot of reused horror ideas, (waking up from dreams) and predictable moments but main actress Adelaide Clemens saves any flaws the movie may have with an amazingly likable performance. Overall I would would watch it again if it was on TV but wouldn't buy it. Expand
  10. Nov 25, 2012
    5
    I'm not saying that Silent Hill: Revelation is a bad movie, but it's a disappointment in the Silent Hill movie series. Matter of fact, it's one of the worst video game movie sequels since 97's "Mortal Kombat: Annihilation." Sure, the first Silent Hill is kinda decent, but is 3-D really necessary in this sequel? Sometimes, unfortunately, it can't outmatch Resident Evil: Retribution'sI'm not saying that Silent Hill: Revelation is a bad movie, but it's a disappointment in the Silent Hill movie series. Matter of fact, it's one of the worst video game movie sequels since 97's "Mortal Kombat: Annihilation." Sure, the first Silent Hill is kinda decent, but is 3-D really necessary in this sequel? Sometimes, unfortunately, it can't outmatch Resident Evil: Retribution's success in IMAX 3-D (Still the lowest grossing movie in the franchise, but manages to overcome the odds overseas). I'd prefer a cult classic horror video game turned into a movie soon like Dino Crisis or D or Haunting Ground and Clock Tower. Probably, I'll wait for a rental of SH: Revelation. Expand
  11. Aug 31, 2014
    6
    A watchable but all together dumber feeling sequel. The first Silent Hill movie felt like watching one of the games, minus the scares. Because of that it was enjoyed by many SH fans, myself included. This one feels less like SH, and more like some torture-porn horror movie along the lines of one of the later "Saw" movies due to it's grotesque imagery and excessive gore.

    The plot, which
    A watchable but all together dumber feeling sequel. The first Silent Hill movie felt like watching one of the games, minus the scares. Because of that it was enjoyed by many SH fans, myself included. This one feels less like SH, and more like some torture-porn horror movie along the lines of one of the later "Saw" movies due to it's grotesque imagery and excessive gore.

    The plot, which is based of off the 3rd game, dives deeper into the SH lore from the games, does a good job of adapting and tying the plot of the 3rd game into the plot of the first movie, and is all together much less confusing than many found the first movie to be. Because of this there are plenty of great moments that are throwbacks to the game and some interesting twists on the game's characters. Where the movie stumbles is that it makes the whole thing just feel dumber, cheeper, and cheesier.

    There's no fear to be found here and through ways I won't spoil they take Pyramid Head and make him feel like a joke, which is basically a sin in the eyes of any SH fan. Myself included. It also doesn't help that there are tons of lines of awful dialog and our lead actress (Adelaide Clemens) can feel weak at times. Shockingly though the worst performance (possibly the only bad one) comes from Game of Thrones star Taylor Kitsch. He honestly doesn't seem to be trying here. There are also plenty of scenes that just feel dumb and/or unintentionally goofy. It relies too much on dumb theatrics in order to bring scares that have already proven time and time again to not work.

    All of these issues drag down "Revelation" from being a great homage to the SH series, and turn it into yet another cheesy video game movie. That's not to say it's not worth watching. What saved the movie for me was my HUGE Silent Hill fandom. It made overall experience watchable and often entertaining for me, even when I was cringing at some stupid thing that happened on-screen that insulted my inner SH fan.

    It's the constant references, scenes, and twists on the source material that kept me entertained. It's those same things that will make it at least worth watching for any Silent Hill fan. It's the strength of the games that keep it from being terrible. So anyone not familiar with them should strongly consider passing on this movie. I'll be the first to say that I thought the 3rd game took on a less-scary tone. I saw humor and felt a more self-aware and tongue-in-cheeck tone with that game. That being said this movie's goofy moments don't feel like that, and instead just feel like bad direction.

    So my overall opinions on the movie are kind of mixed. I still think any SH fan should check it out, because as I've said before my love of the source material kept me enjoying the movie overall. It does feel like another bad video game movie at times, but it clings close enough to the material of the game it's based on to keep things at the very least watchable for fans. I enjoyed it even though I'm also very disappointed with it. It doesn't live up to the first movie, which IMO might be the best video game movie ever. My overall score is a 6.4/10.
    Expand
  12. Jan 26, 2013
    6
    I wasn't really a fan of the first film with It's Witch Movie type feel BUT I can safely say I liked my second stay in the Movie version of Silent Hill a hell of a lot better than the first. While the movie is by no means perfect It has some truly brilliant set-pieces and some imaginatively designed Sets. The only problems I had with this movie where, the acting and the final battle sceneI wasn't really a fan of the first film with It's Witch Movie type feel BUT I can safely say I liked my second stay in the Movie version of Silent Hill a hell of a lot better than the first. While the movie is by no means perfect It has some truly brilliant set-pieces and some imaginatively designed Sets. The only problems I had with this movie where, the acting and the final battle scene (WHY? MICHEAL. WHY?). Expand
  13. Mar 27, 2013
    4
    They had the chance to make a very good sequel. Instead we got this... Huge, huge disappointment, i expected a whole lot more from this film. Even the exquisite atmosphere from the first film is missing.
  14. Mar 8, 2016
    5
    As a movie, Silent Hill: Revelation is bad; it has shoddy acting, video game-esque dialogue and cheap CGI. But as a Silent Hill movie, Silent Hill: Revelation is kind of watchable, but not on the par of its predecessor. Revelation will surely gain most of its fans by being true to the popular video game series. But if you are not a fan of the series, you will not be pleased, this isAs a movie, Silent Hill: Revelation is bad; it has shoddy acting, video game-esque dialogue and cheap CGI. But as a Silent Hill movie, Silent Hill: Revelation is kind of watchable, but not on the par of its predecessor. Revelation will surely gain most of its fans by being true to the popular video game series. But if you are not a fan of the series, you will not be pleased, this is strictly for fans only Expand
  15. Feb 17, 2013
    5
    It's never been a good idea to make a film based on a video game. SH: Revelations is one of those films that felt like you are watching a video game; settings felt like levels that the main protagonist has to go through. Cue some really atrocious dialogue from dependable actors such as Sean Bean and Carrie Ann Moss. Nevertheless, I was a fan of the game and I found it entertaining to someIt's never been a good idea to make a film based on a video game. SH: Revelations is one of those films that felt like you are watching a video game; settings felt like levels that the main protagonist has to go through. Cue some really atrocious dialogue from dependable actors such as Sean Bean and Carrie Ann Moss. Nevertheless, I was a fan of the game and I found it entertaining to some degree. For the most part though it is quite faithful to the original game (in case you are wondering, it is based on the 3rd installment of SH). If you are not a fan, well...watch this with much apprehension. Expand
  16. Jan 22, 2013
    5
    As bad as the critics say? Absolutely not. At least this movie is watchable (the first film was not). Acting is solid, Nothing to really complain about. No real scares or suspense though. Ending isn't all that satisfying. Story could have been better but it was decent enough to make me stick around and see what happens. One thing good I can say about it is that they actually use 3D, TheyAs bad as the critics say? Absolutely not. At least this movie is watchable (the first film was not). Acting is solid, Nothing to really complain about. No real scares or suspense though. Ending isn't all that satisfying. Story could have been better but it was decent enough to make me stick around and see what happens. One thing good I can say about it is that they actually use 3D, They may not use it much but it's a heck of a lot more then any other "3D" movie. Overall, It wasn't that bad and I wouldn't mind seeing a sequel. Expand
  17. Jan 26, 2013
    5
    The second part of Silent Hill fail to convince as much as the first part. The film has good sound and special effects, but a typical argument of a sequel.
  18. Feb 28, 2013
    6
    This is my first (of many I hope) review here. I apologize beforehand for any mistakes, as english is not my native language.

    I wanted to write a review because, having read a bunch of them out there, I couldn't relate to any of them and I hope, when somebody reads mine, it'll go different. I went to the movies expecting not a great movie, so I wasn't disappointed in the end. I think
    This is my first (of many I hope) review here. I apologize beforehand for any mistakes, as english is not my native language.

    I wanted to write a review because, having read a bunch of them out there, I couldn't relate to any of them and I hope, when somebody reads mine, it'll go different. I went to the movies expecting not a great movie, so I wasn't disappointed in the end. I think this movie, exceeds (greatly) the first Silent Hill in staying faithful to the game. It has one or two things that bugged me, but all along it keeps up. Heather is well portrayed, finally Sean Bean is called HARRY as it should be in the first place (so is the case of Sharon, who the hell is Sharon), Douglas is okay, even though I would like an older guy to play the role. It's cool that the movie goes all the way with the original characters from SH3, as it brings the bad guys on board too. Don't really mind the plot twist about Vincent, personally I wouldn't have done that (but, what the hell, it has to be appealing to the non-fans, the thing is, I think the writing was kinda weak there). All the "famous places" from the game are here.
    Monsters and CGI effects are way good; the nurses are really cool and so is Pyramid-head. Music is okay, thanks to Akira. But in this case I liked the score from the previous SH better. Although, listening to some of the original tunes is great.
    Scenarios hit it off. It felt like Silent Hill, but somehow the movie fails to deliver. I dunno, it just wasn't a scary movie as were the games. Hey they tried, but they couldn't, I didn't feel the need to cover my eyes once (but it's still better than the first). They try to sneak up on you but it's just too predictable and all in all, it just doesn't get the eerie appeal of the game that makes you crouch under your seat. I felt the beginning of the movie was awesome, just like the game. But then it falls apart. It spends some time trying to fill some plot-holes, linking both movies, but staying true to the game. The first part of the movie, script-related, it goes way too fast. If you're a fan, you're gonna like the portrayal of Silent Hill and the characters. You have to let some stuff go obviously. Douglas part is too little, and Vincent's story is a bit different this time. You'll love to see Happy Burguer or some other places from the game. If you're not a fan then, you won't get as excited by those things, you'll like the effects, the music and the scenarios, but won't get scared or anything and it'd round up to be just another movie, you'd have better checked out at your place and not the theatre.

    All beeing said, I give the movie a 6 out of 10. Hope this works!
    Expand
  19. Mar 11, 2013
    6
    It looks almost exactly like the third game for starters. It's a pretty entertaining movie, but the ending boss battle was so anticlimactic that I had to knock it down a bit.
  20. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    It didn't feel like a movie nor a sequel, I don't know what was it, but I know that it didn't impress me, it is absolutely rushed and underdeveloped, but on the bright side, it is still a good adaption of the video game which is a masterpiece, but not as good as the first one, the 3D is mediocre and the storytelling is bad, overall, it will please the fans, but not the moviegoers, I amIt didn't feel like a movie nor a sequel, I don't know what was it, but I know that it didn't impress me, it is absolutely rushed and underdeveloped, but on the bright side, it is still a good adaption of the video game which is a masterpiece, but not as good as the first one, the 3D is mediocre and the storytelling is bad, overall, it will please the fans, but not the moviegoers, I am both, it is like good and bad, but entertaining. Expand
  21. Aug 4, 2013
    5
    I'm still asking to myself "Why did you watch it Well, I try to be not so angry, but the film at the beginning is quite good, but than becomes really boring and has a weak screenplay From Michael J. Bassett I was expecting more, because I really enjoyed his other works, but this one is really awful to his image.I'll give this movie not more than 5 and as a gamer I'm glad about theI'm still asking to myself "Why did you watch it Well, I try to be not so angry, but the film at the beginning is quite good, but than becomes really boring and has a weak screenplay From Michael J. Bassett I was expecting more, because I really enjoyed his other works, but this one is really awful to his image.I'll give this movie not more than 5 and as a gamer I'm glad about the meticolousity of the characters and the cinematography is perfect, but Silent Hill makes all of us scared as hell, not bored. Expand
  22. Feb 4, 2014
    4
    Se le echaron en ganas para hacer esta secuela algo decepecionante, nada que ver con la primera, para empezar senti que era una pelicula fans service, una protagonista sin carisma, unos personajes poco aprovechados, la trama de por si no es mala es que no supieron adaptarla, algunas escenas algo discolocadas, algunas escenas que destaco que tenia la escencia del videojuego pero aun asi,Se le echaron en ganas para hacer esta secuela algo decepecionante, nada que ver con la primera, para empezar senti que era una pelicula fans service, una protagonista sin carisma, unos personajes poco aprovechados, la trama de por si no es mala es que no supieron adaptarla, algunas escenas algo discolocadas, algunas escenas que destaco que tenia la escencia del videojuego pero aun asi, eso no significa que deba puntuarle con un 6 o a mas, la primera hora de la pelicula es aburrida no logro despertar mi interes por seguir viendola pero se que mejora un poco a partir de los 60 minutos, pero le falta mucho para que sea mejor que su predecesora. Expand
  23. Feb 6, 2014
    5
    It isn't an appalling film by any means, but this film lacks the psychological horror of the games, relying on jump-scares which fail miserably. It also seems like the film is just moving from jump-scare to jump-scare with no buildup or character development, maybe because of the shorter length compared to the previous entry in the franchise, they felt they rushed it a little. On the plusIt isn't an appalling film by any means, but this film lacks the psychological horror of the games, relying on jump-scares which fail miserably. It also seems like the film is just moving from jump-scare to jump-scare with no buildup or character development, maybe because of the shorter length compared to the previous entry in the franchise, they felt they rushed it a little. On the plus side, the special effects are quite impressive. in fact, the only reason this review score isn't lower, is because of my love for the franchise. Expand
  24. Jun 23, 2014
    4
    Hideous film and I saw it in 2D. Can't imagine how horrible it would be i 3D but it must be truly disgusting. Plenty of the gory bizarre special effects from the original have been routinely reintroduced in this hack driven abomination if there ever was one to predictable effect. The plot is dead basic and I think even the most diehard horror fan would find themselves debating whether toHideous film and I saw it in 2D. Can't imagine how horrible it would be i 3D but it must be truly disgusting. Plenty of the gory bizarre special effects from the original have been routinely reintroduced in this hack driven abomination if there ever was one to predictable effect. The plot is dead basic and I think even the most diehard horror fan would find themselves debating whether to leave or not after the first ten goofy minutes of this hilarious nonevent of a movie. Its a shame that Sean Bean who can be one of the scariest actors out there is relegated to a small support role and isn't onscreen for very long. Very disappointing not even worthy of a Saturday marine escape movie status at the local mall. Staying in the food court and staring at nothing in particular with a coffee in front of you is a better bet than this truly awful film. Expand
  25. Jun 23, 2015
    5
    It's a damn shame that this movie had to be such a letdown. After the greatness that was the original Silent Hill movie I half expected this one to be okay. But my excitement died when I found out that Tri-Star wasn't doing this one. I honestly shouldn't be too upset about this movie because it's not exactly a sequel but at the same time it is. Don't get me wrong, this movie like mostIt's a damn shame that this movie had to be such a letdown. After the greatness that was the original Silent Hill movie I half expected this one to be okay. But my excitement died when I found out that Tri-Star wasn't doing this one. I honestly shouldn't be too upset about this movie because it's not exactly a sequel but at the same time it is. Don't get me wrong, this movie like most others did have its moments that were entertaining and scary but the majority was slow and boring. don't pick this movie up unless you can stand no plot progression and stupid writing. Expand
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: George Bass
    Nov 4, 2012
    20
    The nurse-monsters look cool - think HR Giger in Ann Summers kit - but the plot and burning fairgrounds are so OTT they dispel any chill factor.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Nov 4, 2012
    40
    The first film was imperfect but solid as game-adaps go and fans revelled in its clammy shocks. No such luck this time out. Director Bassett oversees a vaporous horror sequel that rarely raises the pulse.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Oct 31, 2012
    0
    A knockoff in everything from style to story, it also suffers from 3-D effects that are dim and underwhelming, a maddeningly obtuse storyline, and performances that could have used some serious Herbert West-style reanimation.