Open Road Films (II) | Release Date: October 26, 2012
4.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 373 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
132
Mixed:
90
Negative:
151
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
ilovegames32Feb 16, 2013
Welcome to silent hill...a doomed town full of lost and tormented souls never to enjoy another moment of happiness all because of a little girl(demon) denies them of this simple pleasure....oh I'm sorry I'm not talking about the people in theWelcome to silent hill...a doomed town full of lost and tormented souls never to enjoy another moment of happiness all because of a little girl(demon) denies them of this simple pleasure....oh I'm sorry I'm not talking about the people in the movie...I meant the people(like me) who wasted their money to see this vomit inducing....cheaply rushed train wreck that isn't worth the attention of a squirrel fart!! Good God this movie is bad althought the first movie wasn't perfect(my score 7/10) its far beyond this crapfest!!...so as usual the good: ENDING CREDIT'S(IF YOU LAST THAT LONG BEFORE TURNING OFF THE DVD PLAYER) Now the gut ripping...soul sucking....CASH STEALING BAD PARTS.....EVERYTHING BEFORE THE ENDING CREDITS....I MEAN WHY WASTE MY TIME TELLING YOU HOW BAD THE ACTING WAS BESIDES SEAN BEAN(GREAT GUY..LOVED HIM IN THE MANIC KILLER...THE HITCHER)Why waste my time telling you that you only see Alessa in THREE SHORT SCENES....Why waste my time telling you how they basicly killed almost all the characters in about 7mins(the dectective...girl in the mall)why waste my time telling you there virtually NO CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT...why waste my time saying how they just RUSHED THE MOVIE JUST TO GET TO THE ENDING...pyramid head is only in about three scenes(if you count the dream when he's at the amusement park)then he struggles to beat a monster with claws in the final scene? Why the hell did lenard pick up heather? I mean where was he taking her? I thought he wanted to kill her but he knocks her out then carries her until she regains consciousness then kills him while he tries to RUN AWAY? My God...how stupid was that scene!? The great carrie-anne moss....aka Trinity...was also under used....as well as daliha as she's been reduced to ONE SCENE?!....TOTAL RUSH JOB....SMH....I will say(reluctantly) that certain aspects of the game was retained but why mention it....the director somehow destroys any(IF NOT ALL)the good that silent hill has to offer...I hate to say this but....I'D RATHER SUFFER THROUGH THE GLITCH-FEST THAT IS SILENT HILL DOWNPOUR THAN THIS ATROCIOUSLY BAD ADAPTAION OF A ONCE GREAT VIDEO GAME SERIES THAN THIS MESS EVER AGAIN(SILENT HILL 3 WAS THE LAST GREAT GAME IN THE SERIES...HOMECOMING WAS JUST ABOVE GOOD) Stick with the first silent hill movie let this stay where it belongs.....OUT OF PEOPLES HOMES MINDS!!!! This is how the girl in the mall ends up in silent hill.......Heather:how did you get here? Unknown girl:I took a wrong turn....mannequin drags her off screaming....GOOD GOD.....Two guys taking Vincent to a surgery room....two guys pushes Vincent(who's strapped to the chair)in the room....nurses looks around to locate noise....two guys obviously to stupid to realize that there making too much noise.....nurses attacks(AND I QUOTE) KILLS one of the two guys.....the other guy is too stupid to realize his friend is being hacked to pieces even though he lays motionless on the floor(& is still being hacked to pieces) stupidly walks over say(& I QUOTE) stop it....move.....get away as if he is getting small bugs off his OBVIOUSLY DEAD FRIEND THEN HE HIMSELF GETS KILLED FOR BEING A COMPLETE MORON.....ITS SCENES LIKE THIS THAT WASTES THE ESSENCE OF SILENT HILL....How can you put one of the best enemy's in a video game(I'm talking about the nurses) in such a HORRIBLE SCENE? EVEN THE MANNEQUIN IS WASTED.....JUST LIKE THIS MOVIES POTENTIAL.......2/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TravisFinnOct 27, 2012
I honestly enjoyed this film. Yes, call me "flavorless" in actual great films but in the end I bought Silent Hill: revelation 3D was actually pretty good. As a person who is oblivious to most of the actual Silent Hill game lore, understandingI honestly enjoyed this film. Yes, call me "flavorless" in actual great films but in the end I bought Silent Hill: revelation 3D was actually pretty good. As a person who is oblivious to most of the actual Silent Hill game lore, understanding this film after watching the first wasn't really hard. Of course their are some plot holes that make you wonder if the writer was writing a script or a jumbled mess on paper but the major selling point for this film is obviously for the fan service and this film really delivers. The monster effects mixed in with the 3D effects will blow you away and certain scenes will leave you amazed and thirsting for more. Unfortunately, the real killing blow of the movie is it's length. After a few friends of mine left the theater for about 15 minutes, they missed almost 50% of the action. In the end, you will still be leaving satisfied and craving a sequel. Not really though. Expand
16 of 27 users found this helpful1611
All this user's reviews
10
mickeyboyOct 27, 2012
a great film, they used 3d so mind-bogglingly well that i felt like i was in silent hill with heather, the plot is strong, at least for fans of the third game, and the cast does a mostly brilliant job, i highly recommend this to people whoa great film, they used 3d so mind-bogglingly well that i felt like i was in silent hill with heather, the plot is strong, at least for fans of the third game, and the cast does a mostly brilliant job, i highly recommend this to people who liked the first film, and people who liked the games. Expand
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
4
carloswalnutsFeb 4, 2014
Se le echaron en ganas para hacer esta secuela algo decepecionante, nada que ver con la primera, para empezar senti que era una pelicula fans service, una protagonista sin carisma, unos personajes poco aprovechados, la trama de por si no esSe le echaron en ganas para hacer esta secuela algo decepecionante, nada que ver con la primera, para empezar senti que era una pelicula fans service, una protagonista sin carisma, unos personajes poco aprovechados, la trama de por si no es mala es que no supieron adaptarla, algunas escenas algo discolocadas, algunas escenas que destaco que tenia la escencia del videojuego pero aun asi, eso no significa que deba puntuarle con un 6 o a mas, la primera hora de la pelicula es aburrida no logro despertar mi interes por seguir viendola pero se que mejora un poco a partir de los 60 minutos, pero le falta mucho para que sea mejor que su predecesora. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lelefoxx00Sep 25, 2013
I have no clue what crawled up these critic's butts and died but I thought this movie was great. I loved Silent Hill 3 so I was excited when I found out this movie was based on it. Yes there were a few differences between the game and theI have no clue what crawled up these critic's butts and died but I thought this movie was great. I loved Silent Hill 3 so I was excited when I found out this movie was based on it. Yes there were a few differences between the game and the movie but it still stayed true in a lot of ways and turned out being really good. Plus it had really nice effects as did the first Silent Hill movie. Even for a non-Silent Hill fan, it was still a really good horror movie. The world of Silent Hill is strange and crazy. Some critics need to be more understanding to the creativity of its genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
walker14Apr 20, 2014
I'm disappointed (again). At least the users made the reviews positive.. but the critics? God. This it too bad. The movie is awesome! It will never be like the first but it's very good too. The storyline is very good and the cast too. AndI'm disappointed (again). At least the users made the reviews positive.. but the critics? God. This it too bad. The movie is awesome! It will never be like the first but it's very good too. The storyline is very good and the cast too. And wow, it's getting more and more epic! Do you remember the pyramid head? He's back! And many others.. it's a very good movie.. very intense.. I just, cant understand why people dislike it. It's really sad that most of critics hate movies like this, which are so good, and love movies that have a weak storyline and are senseless.. people don't have good taste anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Voice0fReasonJun 10, 2013
Awful. All I have to say is awful. "What do you expect Voice, a good video game to movie adaptation?" No, I expect a rather decent one or one that is at least watchable. I am glad that I brought my girlfriend at the time or else I would beAwful. All I have to say is awful. "What do you expect Voice, a good video game to movie adaptation?" No, I expect a rather decent one or one that is at least watchable. I am glad that I brought my girlfriend at the time or else I would be clawing my eyes out hoping that Pyramid Head would rip me in half. I enjoyed the first silent hill movie because it was unique in the sense that it looked like someone was playing a video game. This piece of trash totally took that out and went their own path. The first one is probably the best video game to movie I have ever seen. This one was garbage. It deserves nothing higher than a 0. There were no scary parts nor were there any parts that made the movie redeemable. All the things that it was going to do, it didn't do. I was wanting a god boss battle. What do I get instead? Pyramid Head being a protagonist and killing the things that worship him. 0/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
CalvinCrackNov 13, 2012
Bravo. SH:R:3D is now the best argument for Digital over Film -- it has such a modern look to it! This movie is so modern that it would be right at home on Netflix Instant or a Blu-ray or any modern technology (i'm surprised it didn't goBravo. SH:R:3D is now the best argument for Digital over Film -- it has such a modern look to it! This movie is so modern that it would be right at home on Netflix Instant or a Blu-ray or any modern technology (i'm surprised it didn't go straight there!). it looks like it was shot on an iPhone! Really cutting edge stuff. And the acting. Oh. my, god. Every time a familiar face showed up I thought to myself, "I CAN'T BELIEVE THEY'RE IN THIS MOVIE!". The art direction was great. it reminded me of one of those haunted houses you go to on halloween where a bunch of employees wearing rubber run up and try to scare you, and then go back and wait to pop out again. Very professional. And as for the writer/ director, WELL, he certainly made a lot of choices! i really think that the person who deserves the most credit though is Samuel Hadida, after all, his is the first credit you see! On a scale from 1 to 10, i will rate it a perfect score of 1 Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
RinoFuryAug 4, 2013
I'm still asking to myself "Why did you watch it Well, I try to be not so angry, but the film at the beginning is quite good, but than becomes really boring and has a weak screenplay From Michael J. Bassett I was expecting more, because II'm still asking to myself "Why did you watch it Well, I try to be not so angry, but the film at the beginning is quite good, but than becomes really boring and has a weak screenplay From Michael J. Bassett I was expecting more, because I really enjoyed his other works, but this one is really awful to his image.I'll give this movie not more than 5 and as a gamer I'm glad about the meticolousity of the characters and the cinematography is perfect, but Silent Hill makes all of us scared as hell, not bored. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
lightningbarerDec 11, 2012
I have had only 3 experiences in a cinema like I had with Silent Hill: Rev and I wouldn't want to experience them again.
I liked the original Silent Hill Movie for what it was, but this was so terribly done, for a movie that was supposed to
I have had only 3 experiences in a cinema like I had with Silent Hill: Rev and I wouldn't want to experience them again.
I liked the original Silent Hill Movie for what it was, but this was so terribly done, for a movie that was supposed to be scary, it wasn't even laughably entertaining, it was a horrible boring mess from start to finish.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Gamer4life1985Nov 1, 2012
I can't believe these worthless fu**ing critics... People complain about the RE movies not staying true at least somewhat to the source materal... but holy fu**. Silent Hill is SUCH a NEAR PERFECT representation of the first and third game,I can't believe these worthless fu**ing critics... People complain about the RE movies not staying true at least somewhat to the source materal... but holy fu**. Silent Hill is SUCH a NEAR PERFECT representation of the first and third game, its unbelievable. I applaude the director for doing a fantastic job with what he accompished with this movie and its continued connection to the first film. Please people, if you have played the games; DON'T LISTEN TO THE CRITICS. The movie is awesome. The only point I docked off, was yes the actors could have done a slightly better job. The girl who played as Heather was awesome though. Please see this movie and support it, and also respect the fact that "this" is what we always wanted from movies based off games. A "true" representation of it. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
mookidJul 16, 2013
I'm honestly surprised and saddened at how many users gave this a positive review. The movie was riddled with awful plot twists, some of the worst effects I've ever seen, and moments that seemed entirely pointless. The worst part is probablyI'm honestly surprised and saddened at how many users gave this a positive review. The movie was riddled with awful plot twists, some of the worst effects I've ever seen, and moments that seemed entirely pointless. The worst part is probably the ending where they spot light the horrible effects and at the climax of it all they throw away everything you watched by acting as if it were no big deal. The only thing I can imagine being worse than this is the sequel. *shivers* Hopefully that day never comes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Rehmedies97Oct 7, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A massive amount of fans of both the first film and the games strongly dislike this sequel. Not to mention it being absolutely torn apart by critics. I honestly don't think it deserve to amount of hatred it's endured. Sure it's disappointing but there are far worse sequels. ( Remember Mortal Kombat: Annihilation?) The film still manages to maintain the look of the first film despite it's lower budget. And still has some atmosphere present within it. The monsters still looked very much it's predecessor's. The acting was still decent aside from some mediocre accents.The main drawback of the film was forced reliance on jumpscares. Personally I could've done without them. And it's rapid pacing which made the film feel rushed. ( The first film was 125 minutes, this film was only 94 minutes. The hugging scene was cheesy and kinda weak. The final battle between pyramid Head and the missionary was entertaining albeit brief and not fitting for horror film. Overall an average horror sequel and a servicable adaptation despite it's numerous changes and retcons. But I'm still hungry for at least one more film. Overall 62/100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ghostface97Mar 10, 2013
Sequel del film del 2006, Silent Hill revelation si pone come seguito che cerca di semplificare di molto, e anche troppo, la trama difficile del primo capitolo. Sharon cresciuta si ritrova a dover cambiare insieme al padre, molte città perSequel del film del 2006, Silent Hill revelation si pone come seguito che cerca di semplificare di molto, e anche troppo, la trama difficile del primo capitolo. Sharon cresciuta si ritrova a dover cambiare insieme al padre, molte città per scappare dalla polizia per una storia di quando lei aveva 11 anni. La madre Rose rimasta bloccata nella dimensione della nebbia ed riuscita a riportare Sharon nella realtà. Dopo il rapimento del padre, Sharon aiutata da un suo coetaneo immischiato a sua volta nella cittadina maledetta, dovrà ritornare a Silent Hill per la seconda volta. Purtroppo la l'ambientazione della città maledetta arriverà troppo tardi a circa 40 minuti del film, considerando la sua breve durata di circa 85 minuti! Inoltre se si prova a immaginare la durata del tempo che Sharon passa a silent hill può essere vicina a appena 3 ore! La fotografia che si era tanto distinta nel primo film, qua abbandonata per una alla "blockbuster" cioè molto carica di colori, satura, totalmente inadeguata al tipico paesaggio scuro e avvolto nella nebbia a cui si era abituati fin dall'inizio della saga, rendendo i mostri quasi bianchi, definiti, poco minacciosi, e a volte ridicoli. riguardo ai mostri, questa volta sono pochi e si posso ridurre a poco più che 5 esemplari. L'inizio del film che presenta visioni "terrificanti2 della realtà della città dove vive Sharon sono ridicole e senza senso, che tentano solo di suscitare disgusto e orrore senza riuscirci. Cosa inspiegabile il fatto che se Rose alla fine del primo film rimane intrappolata nella silent hill della nebbia, perché Sharon non la incontra dato che ritorna in quella dimensione? Pessimi i momenti in cui compare il tanto amato mostro dalla testa di piramide che riesce solo a provocare disgusto e ci si chiede perché finito a fare un lavoro così "ridicolo"?
Ultima nota negativa il combattimento finale, che finisce nel più ridicolo che così non si poteva, e risulta il tipico Boss finale che presente nei videogiochi.. Nonostante tutto S.H. Revelation riesce a rimanere in piedi, forse per via degli attori tutti molto bravi, forse per il fatto che ripropone ambientazioni tipiche della serie come il Luna Park infestato da Coniglietti malefici. L'incontro da Sharon e Alessa presenta una frase da storia del cinema! Infine S.H.R. si presenta come un film "ponte" che risolve i dubbi che erano rimasti in sospeso dal primo capitolo, quasi come una seconda parte o più che altro "atto Finale".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Nostalgic9tailsJun 16, 2013
Any true fan of the Silent Hill games will be greatly disappointed by this. It breaks the canon not only from the games but from the first film. The only character done nearly right is Heather, and even then she's still wrong. Don't even getAny true fan of the Silent Hill games will be greatly disappointed by this. It breaks the canon not only from the games but from the first film. The only character done nearly right is Heather, and even then she's still wrong. Don't even get me started on the fact Pyramid Head doesn't belong and how they portrayed Vincent...it wasn't scary, it wasn't faithful to the games, it was just a pure mess all around. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
darthstattoMar 14, 2013
Awful. Looks cheap, terrible script, naff effects, abysmal acting and hap-hazard direction all make for a steaming pile. Gets 1 point for having Sean Bean in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PinBBMay 11, 2013
I really enjoyed the film.Because i liked the game.All people say this is no.The plot is fine,the acting is great.This is the best based on video game film.I can't understand why you guys give this negative reception? Many jumped scare don'tI really enjoyed the film.Because i liked the game.All people say this is no.The plot is fine,the acting is great.This is the best based on video game film.I can't understand why you guys give this negative reception? Many jumped scare don't make you scare?.That's a reason to hate this film. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
Batman97Jun 24, 2013
This Movie is so bad I could barely finish Hollywood has to stop with making these awful video game adaptions stop butchering game franchises hollywood
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
arislafJul 8, 2015
Matter of fact this is better than 1. It has the essence of the game (silent hill 3) that makes it awesome. Surely underrated film. I still don't get why people hated this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
melchaiosNov 5, 2012
So, I could start this review by telling you the reasons this is a bad movie. Paper thin storyline, bad acting, subpar special effects, among others. All this would give this movie a 2.............. but then I realize I didn't come for theSo, I could start this review by telling you the reasons this is a bad movie. Paper thin storyline, bad acting, subpar special effects, among others. All this would give this movie a 2.............. but then I realize I didn't come for the storyline, the acting or the special effects, I just came here to see how they portrayed the silent hill world and monsters into the big screen, and at that it does a fair enough job. So, 5 it is. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
MakorovOct 31, 2012
This movie is crap at best, not scary never any tension and absolutely awful dialogue. Don't touch the movie it is really that bad. I believe I could have made a better movie myself!
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
7
CadmieltOct 29, 2012
A great choice for lovers of video game Silent Hill. I think that is not what was expected. visual effects but is well made. I take the pleasure of saying it's the best movie that is to be created from silent hill is the sequel to the firstA great choice for lovers of video game Silent Hill. I think that is not what was expected. visual effects but is well made. I take the pleasure of saying it's the best movie that is to be created from silent hill is the sequel to the first movie. is very good to have a good time watching it. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
6
HedilioMar 11, 2013
It looks almost exactly like the third game for starters. It's a pretty entertaining movie, but the ending boss battle was so anticlimactic that I had to knock it down a bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
discodirk46Jan 21, 2013
Zzzzz! So Boring! The only way you will like this movie is if you are under 14, haven't seen many other movies and... can't think of another reason! The story doesn't matter, we just want scares!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
OhTheDerpJan 28, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow. This one was hard to enjoy. Terrible in every way and a disgrace to the previous movie. It's even hard to try and describe what went wrong since everything went wrong.

**SPOILER**
And the ending battle between Pyramid Head and that other creature? Come one, that was terrible.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
MisssZNov 25, 2012
too bad that this film has a low user score. I wanted to see this film but now I think, watching this film is a total waste of time. It continues with watching part one.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
LDianeMar 3, 2013
If you have played the game, the movie is true to the game. If you haven't played the game (most professional movie critics), you won't like this movie. I really enjoyed watching it, and will probably watch it again to see if I missedIf you have played the game, the movie is true to the game. If you haven't played the game (most professional movie critics), you won't like this movie. I really enjoyed watching it, and will probably watch it again to see if I missed anything. It's not as good as the first, but it's almost as good....Yes, there are some holes in the story, but I think it would have been difficult to progress the story from SH1 to SH2 without some holes. Just watch the movie, you won't regret it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KillaRikuMay 30, 2013
This movie is not bad at all. I think it is not as good as the first one, but it's right behind the first one. I actually enjoyed both movies. I also played every single game and I do not understand, why everyone is hating this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
EvillivEOct 27, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay, I'm going to be up front here and tell anyone who is reading this that I am a Silent Hill fan. I love the games and Silent Hill 2 is among my favorite games of all time. I will not be comparing this to the games because we all know that the games are better. So when I unleash all holy hell upon this movie, I want to make it clear that I am not being (or at least not attempting to be) a but hurt fanboy.

For those of you who walked the first movie, you probably remember the artsy ending and how it left no room for a sequel. Watching the writer's solution to that problem is unbearably bad and made even worse by both Sean Bean's and Mitchell Radha's lack of giving a **** (not that I can blame them). using the seal of Metatron as a means of getting out of Silent Hill is what we call Deus Ex Machina. It is the most half-assed explanation they could have ever wrote. Not to mention the damn thing has no logic behind it. It allows the user to see the true nature of things, but that doesn't explain how they get out of what is essentially Hell. Was this whole thing just a delusion? We don't know because the movie never explains to us, nor does it attempt to create a consistent logic within the world they've created.

There are so many pointless characters in this movie. From the girl that Heather randomly meets in the mannequin room, give a brief back story and then get taken away and killed off camera. If you're going to have a pointless character in a horror movie then at least kill them off in a creative way. All she did was scream with Heather and then died. Why was she in this movie in the first place? And how did she end up in the same dimension as the cultists when she just made a wrong turn? Shouldn't she be in the actual town of Silent Hill and not the the crazy evil version of Silent Hill? And Douglas has the same effect, except he's given a name and a reason for being in the movie, except he has no reason to be there because they have Vincent doing the exact same thing. Then there is Dahlia's brief exposition dump because the movie is too busy showing us the "creepy" sets to care about telling the story.

Then there is the plot, which is all over the map. First off, why would the police be looking for Heather and Harry/Christopher the cult member was killed in self defense. Couldn't they just as easily tell the police, there are some crazy cultists trying to kill me and my daughter? Why does Heather run from the cops when she sees a message in blood, instead of tell them the truth? Why is the plot point of the cops looking for Heather suddenly dropped? Why is Vincent suddenly in love with Heather after knowing her for less than a day? Why does Harry/Christopher care more about his wife than his daughter (seriously he gets a little obsessive)? How is Pyramid Head in the Asylum, when he is later established to be chained up in the amusement park? Why does the amusement park look more like a carnival? Why are the cult members who take Vincent to the Asylum killed by the nurses? Shouldn't they know that sound attracts them? How did Leonard turn into that monster by just fusing the Seal of Metatron, and how does removing it instantly kill him? How is Claudia turned into a monster? Was she always a monster? If so, then what does that make Vincent? How did Pyramid Head break free from his chains, and why didn't he do that before? And if he did that to help Heather in the Asylum, then why did he come back and chain himself back up? Those are just off the top of my head, and I assure you, there are plenty more.

The characters have no character to them. Claudia is a one note villain who is hardly in the movie. The movie seems to think that the town itself and the monsters in them are a substantial enough villain to hold the entire movie. Vincent has no purpose except as a romantic interest, but he and Heather have no chemistry. Heather flat out rejects him up to the point where she saves is life. But after he kisses her, I guess they're together now (gag). Leonard and Dahlia are there solely for exposition spouting. Oh, wait. Leonard is also there to remove the gun from the equation for the final act (because then she could just shoot the nurses, or Claudia if she conserved her ammo). Harry/Christopher was generic and Sean Bean's performance was terrible (in fact, terrible acting is something I could say about the entire cast). And Heather was wasted potential. Here we have a seventeen year old girl, constantly moving around from town to town in order to avoid something she doesn't understand. Then one day all of that gets brought to her attention and she begins to uncover the truth, eventually confronting her former self. But the writer doesn't do anything with it. It's like being handed the Mona Lisa, then putting it in your closet.

And the movie isn't scary to boot (shocker).

Thank you for reading this rant.
Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
4
MovieJerkOct 30, 2012
I saw this in 3D-- which is a blurrier, dimmer, more migraine inducing version of this crap film. I'm a gamer, and thus a fan of the Silent Hill video game. Though the first film wasn't great it was definitely a film, made by a filmmaker.I saw this in 3D-- which is a blurrier, dimmer, more migraine inducing version of this crap film. I'm a gamer, and thus a fan of the Silent Hill video game. Though the first film wasn't great it was definitely a film, made by a filmmaker. Revelation felt like fan fiction--which if you're a big fan of SH3, you'll probably love it.

I tend to use The Godfather as a basis of comparison for films--cinematography, music, writing, directing, acting--all supreme. But Silent Hill: Revelation needs to be compared to the Spiderman Ride in Orlando--which it barely just falls short of in terms of entertainment.

The dialog was awful but Sean Bean gave a good attempt at making it seem emotionally inspired. But a film this plot-driven and reliant on surprises for scares really has no time for emotion and I was more annoyed by "character moments" than desperately seeking them. Honestly, if it was just an hour and half of Heather running from the Manikin-Spider, I would have been more satisfied!
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews