Silent Hill: Revelation 3D

Silent Hill: Revelation 3D Image
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 359 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: In Silent Hill: Revelation 3D, Heather Mason and her father have been on the run, always one step ahead of dangerous forces that she doesn't fully understand. On the eve of her 18th birthday, plagued by horrific nightmares and the disappearance of her father, Heather discovers she's not whoIn Silent Hill: Revelation 3D, Heather Mason and her father have been on the run, always one step ahead of dangerous forces that she doesn't fully understand. On the eve of her 18th birthday, plagued by horrific nightmares and the disappearance of her father, Heather discovers she's not who she thinks she is. The revelation leads her deeper into a demonic world that threatens to trap her forever. (Open Road Films) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Nov 4, 2012
    40
    The first film was imperfect but solid as game-adaps go and fans revelled in its clammy shocks. No such luck this time out. Director Bassett oversees a vaporous horror sequel that rarely raises the pulse.
  2. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Oct 26, 2012
    38
    Silent Hill: Revelation fundamentally misunderstands the appeal its source material.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Oct 26, 2012
    33
    Some horror movies want to scare you witless, but Silent Hill: Revelation 3D just wants to beat you senseless.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 26, 2012
    25
    Stiff, episodic, and disjointed, Silent Hill: Revelation 3D replicates its source material all too faithfully.
  5. Reviewed by: George Bass
    Nov 4, 2012
    20
    The nurse-monsters look cool - think HR Giger in Ann Summers kit - but the plot and burning fairgrounds are so OTT they dispel any chill factor.
  6. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Oct 26, 2012
    20
    A cheaper, cheesier sequel that's worse than its predecessor on every level (save being a half-hour shorter) and takes no special advantage of the stereoscopic process.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Oct 26, 2012
    0
    With horror altogether absent and a plot drowning in insipid convolutions, it's a film whose early warning to Heather should be heeded: "Don't go to Silent Hill."

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 110
  2. Negative: 41 out of 110
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    I honestly enjoyed this film. Yes, call me "flavorless" in actual great films but in the end I bought Silent Hill: revelation 3D was actuallyI honestly enjoyed this film. Yes, call me "flavorless" in actual great films but in the end I bought Silent Hill: revelation 3D was actually pretty good. As a person who is oblivious to most of the actual Silent Hill game lore, understanding this film after watching the first wasn't really hard. Of course their are some plot holes that make you wonder if the writer was writing a script or a jumbled mess on paper but the major selling point for this film is obviously for the fan service and this film really delivers. The monster effects mixed in with the 3D effects will blow you away and certain scenes will leave you amazed and thirsting for more. Unfortunately, the real killing blow of the movie is it's length. After a few friends of mine left the theater for about 15 minutes, they missed almost 50% of the action. In the end, you will still be leaving satisfied and craving a sequel. Not really though. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    I made an account here just to review this movie. The reviews are the most absurd things I've ever seen. I left the theater with a smile on myI made an account here just to review this movie. The reviews are the most absurd things I've ever seen. I left the theater with a smile on my face, and kept saying how great the movie was. This was definitely the Best Video game Movie I've ever seen! If you played Silent Hill 3, you will absolutely love and adore this game! Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    I guess if i never played the game's i would give it a bad rating myself. Cause i loved this movie. Perhaps the critics need to at least readI guess if i never played the game's i would give it a bad rating myself. Cause i loved this movie. Perhaps the critics need to at least read up on it before viewing to know what is really going on. Just an idea anyways. Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2012
    5
    All the monsters and creepy hallways in silent hill make it enjoyably entertaining all the way through. The plot lacked in build up andAll the monsters and creepy hallways in silent hill make it enjoyably entertaining all the way through. The plot lacked in build up and actually going somewhere with the climax.. I expected a lot more as the movie went on but it did come off strong right from the start. A lot of reused horror ideas, (waking up from dreams) and predictable moments but main actress Adelaide Clemens saves any flaws the movie may have with an amazingly likable performance. Overall I would would watch it again if it was on TV but wouldn't buy it. Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2012
    3
    The only scary or gruesome thing about this movie is that it might be the end of Silent Hill. Yes, it's that bad, coupled that with an awfulThe only scary or gruesome thing about this movie is that it might be the end of Silent Hill. Yes, it's that bad, coupled that with an awful game earlier this year, Silent Hill is in all new low. Mercilessly butchering the memory of one of the best games in last gen, Silent Hill: Revelations 3D is a poor reinterpretation which fails almost in its entirety and they make sure to stomp the franchise while it's on the ground with truly horrible 3D implementation.

    Any resemblance to the game is merely cosmetic. The look of protagonist, misty town, gridiron underworld, they are all practically miming the game. This may work as a screenshot, but put them in motion, it's a travesty to the title. Heather Mason (Adelaide Clemens) has the hair and clothes, yet she fumbles in times, bordering on teen angst rather than the sorrowful persona of the game. It's amazing how the game digital character could exhibit more appropriate sadness, meanwhile the real life version somewhat struggles with the delivery. It's like she's in constant lousy mood and relies too heavily on screams, which practically everyone does here.

    There's also an variation of the cast, Vincent (Kit Harington), who is Jon Snow in Game of Thrones, but so Twilight here. He substitutes the private investigator part, who barely has any screen time and while I welcome changes, this one is needless and a blatant bait for teen drama. The private eye had odd relationship with Heather as they were both lost in Silent Hill, Vincent doesn't add to that, he's plain, very predictable, and can be mistaken from 90's slasher movie cast.

    It's strange that there are actually some quality names here; Sean Bean, Malcolm McDowell, Carrie Anne-Moss, but they only have brief screen time and not much to go with, considering how mediocre the script and screenplay are. Sean Bean does his best for the father figure, it's not a great performance, although he is believable as the parental role. And he offers a puzzle whether he continues his tradition of dying in the movie or not as Harry Mason actually died in the game.

    It'd be bearable if they only mess up that far, but the brilliant minds that made this had an epiphany: 3D. Oh god, the utter failure of it.

    Effect of 3D, as we all know, can also be accompanied by the blurry and blindingly dark effect. Now, add that to a movie where the bulk of it is in darkness, you have a horrifyingly bad visual. Then there are the cheap scares, so prevalently, from monsters that scream at the screen. Everything in the movie throws, stabs, yells at the screen. I've had enough of this persistent crap in my face. And when I said everything, that includes Heather. She shines the flashlight at the audience every few minutes.

    Imagine a putrid dark room, you can barely see anything, and then she flashes at your fragile eyes, repeatedly. Why the bloody hell someone would think that's a good idea is beyond common sense. All of these atrocious concepts make a visual nightmare, not in its intended goal.

    To be fair, it sometimes looks and sounds like the game, albeit only seldom, and a couple of scenes are almost okay. But that's buried in piles of questionable concepts and horrific execution of them, it's more of a laughable annoyance than adaptation of once a great game. What made the game so popular was the use of details to make an atmosphere. Flashlight, radio static, camera angle and the audio made an excellent terrifying world, the movie is anything but. This might be last tour in Silent Hill.
    Expand
  6. Apr 21, 2013
    2
    This was terrible. Really terrible. I have no idea what the director/screenwriters did the the cast to make them act so terribly, but whateverThis was terrible. Really terrible. I have no idea what the director/screenwriters did the the cast to make them act so terribly, but whatever it was it must have been worse than any of the horrors in the film. The acting was just so, so utterly terrible especially from a pretty decent cast (Sean Bean for instance!) that I just can't wrap my head around it. That combined with a terrible script (although, it does stay pretty true to the game...) really destroys any dramatic element to the film.

    Although it stays moderately true to the game as far as monsters and shocks go, it somehow seems to reduce them to a Buffy the vampire slayer regurgitation. Admittedly the first film wasn't amazing, but it did manage some genuine shocks (like the janitor) and managed to keep the intensely creepy vibe, whereas the monsters just looked ridiculous and not even moderately scary. So, although it may stay true the game in a lot of ways, it completely doesn't understand the 'vibe' of the silent hill series and the director would probably have had The Rock machine gunning down aliens in the middle of the hospital if he got the chance.

    As a huge fan of the games this was an huge disappointment, especially after the very solid first movie.
    Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2015
    0
    I haven't seen a movie with absolutely no redeeming qualities in a while. This movie was bad.... hilariously bad. This had enough talent toI haven't seen a movie with absolutely no redeeming qualities in a while. This movie was bad.... hilariously bad. This had enough talent to even make Malcolm McDowell look like a terrible actor. The plot of Silent Hill Revelation is completely incomprehensible because not a single scene had anything to do with the previous scene, and there would be new plot devices and characters introduced every 10 minutes, while our two dull protagonists just run around and scream out exposition. Not to mention the acting and writing, which in itself almost made me turn off the movie 20 minutes in.

    Last note: when a movie tries to scare you with poptarts within the first 5 minutes, just turn off the movie.
    Expand

See all 110 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 22 Truly Terrible Video Game Movies, Ranked

    22 Truly Terrible Video Game Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: April 26, 2016
    We rank 22 movies based on videogames from bad to slightly less bad.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.