Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 316 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: In Silent Hill: Revelation 3D, Heather Mason and her father have been on the run, always one step ahead of dangerous forces that she doesn't fully understand. On the eve of her 18th birthday, plagued by horrific nightmares and the disappearance of her father, Heather discovers she's not who she thinks she is. The revelation leads her deeper into a demonic world that threatens to trap her forever. (Open Road Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Nov 4, 2012
    40
    The first film was imperfect but solid as game-adaps go and fans revelled in its clammy shocks. No such luck this time out. Director Bassett oversees a vaporous horror sequel that rarely raises the pulse.
  2. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Oct 26, 2012
    38
    Silent Hill: Revelation fundamentally misunderstands the appeal its source material.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Oct 26, 2012
    33
    Some horror movies want to scare you witless, but Silent Hill: Revelation 3D just wants to beat you senseless.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 26, 2012
    25
    Stiff, episodic, and disjointed, Silent Hill: Revelation 3D replicates its source material all too faithfully.
  5. Reviewed by: George Bass
    Nov 4, 2012
    20
    The nurse-monsters look cool - think HR Giger in Ann Summers kit - but the plot and burning fairgrounds are so OTT they dispel any chill factor.
  6. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Oct 26, 2012
    20
    A cheaper, cheesier sequel that's worse than its predecessor on every level (save being a half-hour shorter) and takes no special advantage of the stereoscopic process.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Oct 26, 2012
    0
    With horror altogether absent and a plot drowning in insipid convolutions, it's a film whose early warning to Heather should be heeded: "Don't go to Silent Hill."

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 105
  2. Negative: 38 out of 105
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    I honestly enjoyed this film. Yes, call me "flavorless" in actual great films but in the end I bought Silent Hill: revelation 3D was actually pretty good. As a person who is oblivious to most of the actual Silent Hill game lore, understanding this film after watching the first wasn't really hard. Of course their are some plot holes that make you wonder if the writer was writing a script or a jumbled mess on paper but the major selling point for this film is obviously for the fan service and this film really delivers. The monster effects mixed in with the 3D effects will blow you away and certain scenes will leave you amazed and thirsting for more. Unfortunately, the real killing blow of the movie is it's length. After a few friends of mine left the theater for about 15 minutes, they missed almost 50% of the action. In the end, you will still be leaving satisfied and craving a sequel. Not really though. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    The BEST EVER possible trip to Silent Hill for real. People who have never played Silent Hill games may consider seeing this as a good horror movie but somebody must prevent them from writing ignorant reviews! I mean what is 15! Ooo I guess, you guys got too scared right? Or did not understand anything since you don't have any idea what Silent Hill is. Go see this and then you will want to see it again, with enough psycho stuff from the SH world and a good enough story to keep you interested, imagine this as a 5D or 7D movie with 5 minutes joy, well, this movie at least offers 5 times more than that. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    I can't believe these worthless fu**ing critics... People complain about the RE movies not staying true at least somewhat to the source materal... but holy fu**. Silent Hill is SUCH a NEAR PERFECT representation of the first and third game, its unbelievable. I applaude the director for doing a fantastic job with what he accompished with this movie and its continued connection to the first film. Please people, if you have played the games; DON'T LISTEN TO THE CRITICS. The movie is awesome. The only point I docked off, was yes the actors could have done a slightly better job. The girl who played as Heather was awesome though. Please see this movie and support it, and also respect the fact that "this" is what we always wanted from movies based off games. A "true" representation of it. Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    Silent Hill Revelation 3D will absolutely please the fans of Silent Hill but I doubt that it will please the common movie reviewers or critics. I am a big fan of Silent Hill and I am addicted to the first Silent Hill and the video games. As a movie it is not near perfect. First of all, the script is awful and senseless, it is far away from the script and the eerie talking of Silent Hill, as for the story, it is explained more than the first, it doesn't leave anything to the imagination of the viewer, and that's make Silent Hill Revelation forgettable, the direction is really bad, because there is no actual tension during the climax, which makes us miss Christopher Gans' direction. The visuals are good but you can see and notice that Pyramid head's costume is rushed, and a proof is the trivia on IMDB. As for a movie, it is not that scary, and it is definitely not that good, sometimes it is boring and dull, but mostly, entertaining and fun. The 3D is really good, and I give them the credit for that. Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2014
    4
    Se le echaron en ganas para hacer esta secuela algo decepecionante, nada que ver con la primera, para empezar senti que era una pelicula fans service, una protagonista sin carisma, unos personajes poco aprovechados, la trama de por si no es mala es que no supieron adaptarla, algunas escenas algo discolocadas, algunas escenas que destaco que tenia la escencia del videojuego pero aun asi, eso no significa que deba puntuarle con un 6 o a mas, la primera hora de la pelicula es aburrida no logro despertar mi interes por seguir viendola pero se que mejora un poco a partir de los 60 minutos, pero le falta mucho para que sea mejor que su predecesora. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    3
    too bad that this film has a low user score. I wanted to see this film but now I think, watching this film is a total waste of time. It continues with watching part one. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2013
    0
    Three words. What. The EFF!? (metacritic sensors *shakes head). I'm so glad I didn't spend money going to see this in theaters. I thought the trailers looked more like a parody of silent hill, but upon seeing the movie it's even WORSE than I thought it would be. Not only does it completely massacre the content it's supposed to be paying tribute to, the movie is one of the worst I've ever seen in my entire life. The acting is terrible, script is phoned in, special effects are mediocre at best. It's not even remotely scary or suspenseful. The characters' roles are all rearranged, some characters who were important in the game were killed off within 5 minutes of first seeing them, with no lasting impact on the viewer whatsoever. Fan service was shoehorned in all over the place and with the exception of one moment toward the end, it always felt out of place. I seriously felt like I was watching a really bad fan fiction come to life. Probably the most common defense I see of this movie is that a movie adaptation can't hit all the exact plot points of what it's based on, or it wouldn't be interesting to people who've played the game already. That's true in some cases but definitely not this one. The reason people complain about the plot changes is because they don't add any new dynamics to the story, they just water it down and strip any meaning they once had or any purpose they served. The result is a mess of a bunch of different things that don't make sense together, and whatever does make sense turned out pretty damn insipid. Evil clowns eating flesh burgers? OOOH so thought provoking, I wonder what it represents. GAD... DAMMAT. No movie in history has pissed me off this badly. An absolute shame. Expand

See all 105 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.