User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 743 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 743

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 19, 2010
    2
    A process of illustrating this movie is quite flawless, soulless, and joyless. Of course, the set design of scree translations is too much anomalous from that of the original game.
  2. May 30, 2012
    5
    It's just okay. I'm a huge fan of the silent hill series, and there are a lot of things this movie does right such as the art direction and the settings always look great through the whole movie. However there were many changes to the plot that I found unnecessary and caused it to lose the unique touch that the older games had. Also the script writing is very hit and miss, sometimes the dialogue is good, other times it falls flat on it's face. I know SH1 wasn't exactly a shining example of good script writing and voiceovers but that was a game made in the 90s. I will say that it's miles above many of the other game-to-movie adaptations and doesn't just feel like a cheap cash in. It just could have used a lot of improvements and I really wanted to see the actual story of silent hill 1 play out in a movie... I mean how can you make a movie based on the first game and not include Harry Mason? Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    The movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don't give you the feel of the movie. The monsters were probably the most realistic then any other movie I have ever seen. The atmosphere gives you an eerie feeling. The music was excellent and was played at the right moments. There were parts in the movie that made me think what the hell am I watching. In my personal opinion I thought the movie was perfect. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    this has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up instead of crap overused CGI, the acting was actually okay for this genre. it's only setback would be that the ending was slightly flawed as it contradicted itself and it didn't have enough pyramid head in it! but overall, this film is a small step forward in the ongoing war to actually make good video to game movies. Expand
  5. May 31, 2012
    10
    This is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie instead of things popping out at you every 5 seconds this movie delves deeper then that the beginning starts kinda slow but once you get to silent hill it starts to get interesting the psychological horror is is amazing with flashbacks and hallucinations and with few but huge scares this movie will keep you guessing and want more Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This is perhaps the best movie based on a video game ever. The way it resembles the game (ex. visuals, music, story) make it truly a great film based on a video game series. If you played a Silent Hill game than this is all familiar to you and you will appreciate the awesomeness of the film.
  7. Jan 22, 2013
    6
    Not a great movie by far, but to be fair a decent adaptation that stay surprisingly true to the source material. Plenty of better horrors out there, but as far as video game adaptations are concerned, this one isn't half bad. A decent attempt and worthy as a budget purchase. Mandatory if you are a fan of the games.
  8. Mar 25, 2011
    5
    And... waht can i say? That movie rocks and sucks at the same time. The plot is kinda confusing because they wanted to put the most significant things of SH in the movie (Alessa and Pyramid Head). Fails as a remake of the experience of Harry Mason, but is kinda good. I guess.
  9. Jan 13, 2011
    8
    This movie is really, really good. That's a best movie based on game that I've ever seen. The director is succeed in bringing the horror atmosphere from game to film. But looks like he just do that movie for fans so it can't take a high score. That's so sad....
  10. ALF
    Apr 3, 2011
    10
    I am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD and watch it several times, it may sink in then. This film is an adapted video game and shows great creativity with more creature creations from Patrick Tatapoulos who with Stan Winston have probably created some of the best creatures seen in film. In essence it is a film about revenge on religious zealots who "kill" a child. The young actress who plays three parts I last saw playing a ghost in Kingdom Hospital and clearly has no problem playing highly variable roles from a sweet child to the manifestation of evil.. This film is hauntingl beautiful with great incidentatl music and the ending, well try it. Expand
  11. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This movie is downright scary, it made me crawl within my seat, i played some games and there also really scary thought the games are better than the movie but it was a cool movie
  12. Apr 23, 2014
    5
    Rose travels to the abandoned town of Silent Hill in search of answers to her daughter's mysterious sleepwalking and, following a traffic accident, the pair are separated resulting in a desperate search through the deserted streets of the town.

    The special effects and CGI are suitably creepy and really evoke the mood of the video games and overall everything is well directed making for
    some fairly interesting scenes.. Unfortunately however, despite far too much exposition and explaining of back stories, the plot doesn't make much sense and isn't particularly interesting anyway (something which is even more frustrating since the second video game in the series has a pretty decent storyline) meaning parts of Silent Hill can be a bit of a chore to sit through.

    Some horror fans may enjoy it but In the end this is yet another example of a video game license being mis-used.
    Expand
  13. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For all the guys who played Silent Hill, this is a masterpiece. For all the guys who didn't It's still a masterpiece. The thing is, the guys who didn't will never get the plot. It's as deep as the game goes. Expand
  14. Oct 2, 2012
    6
    Silent Hill is a decent but average video game-adapted movie. I'm not a fan of the Silent Hill game series, feels too much the same as Resident Evil did. But the movie was good although the story seems a bit awkward and the monsters look creepy to me. I wonder if there are more zombies in the sequel which is coming out on Oct. 26, 2012. I think it's near halfway through the best video game movie ever. Expand
  15. Aug 12, 2011
    6
    It's funny that I don't know how to place this movie. I've now watched it a handful of times, which should lead me to say that I liked this movie, but I don't know if that's the case. The bad guys, like the nurses and the huge man with the long metal pieces are fantastic and the setting is creepy as hell. However, the ending gets bogged down in religion and back stories that no one gives a crap about. Expand
  16. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    Wow I'm seven years late for this review but after watching silent hill revelation I must defend this classic by showing(or more accurately)writing this review of the one that started the movies version of this once great video game series. First the good: if you love..wait let me re-write this so I'm clear....IF YOU LOVE SILENT HILL(game)YOU.WILL.LOVE.THIS.MOVIE.PERIOD!! Silent hill almost perfectly resembles the first game with the exception of the lead characters gender.While I don't have a problem with this change,some hardcore fans of the series will be disappointed but Rachel(aka rose)does great job as she ventures into purgatory(hell?)to save her daughter the adopted sherry.What this movie does correctly(& better)then silent hill revelation is really helping the audience understand the nature of silent hill,characters and what there willing to go through to save their daughter! Rose(rahda) is commanding as she searches relentlessly for sharin will being relentlessly tormented by the evil that lurks around every corner while her husband(played by sean bean) searches for rose.silent hill makes anyone who ventures there suffer until they are killed or worse..become trapped in the eternal nightmare that is silent hill..this is evident when rose reaches the school and when it changes she runs toward the camera pulling on a gate while screaming her lungs out while looking for an exit or when she see's pyramid head any his legion of killer bugs....an exhausted rose gives in waits for her impending fate only to be saved by cebil! This is silent hill in its entirety....to torment you to the point of submission which revelation had neither. Pyramid head in silent hill is much more menacing in the first movie because he's powerful meant to be feared as he rips the skin off a poor soul throws her still warm flesh into the church but is reduced to a mere body guard in revelation...oh god...silent hill also has good pacing. It took its time with each character even if they were expendable which keep the spirit of the games has a MUCH better version of the occult that lived in silent hill vs revelation as the occult seemed like an unimportant afterthought used as filler to extend the movie.The bad:since i played the first games almost everyday the movie was kinda predictable but thats as bad as it was for me. The ending of silent hill,unlike revelation,was a nightmare come true for the damned soul in silent hill as alessa her evil half gruesomely kills the occult zealots inside the church!!The story,pacing,camera angles,sound most importantly...THE ESSENCE OF THE SILENT HILL GAMES ARE DONE PERFECTLY IN THIS DEFINITIVE VERSION OF SILENT HILL FOR THE BIG SCREEN! Skip revelation not only because this one is better but for the fact that at the end of silent hill the good part of alessa was no longer needed was either returned to alessa or killed by the evil that gave alessa the power to create hell that kept the occult rose in silent hill. End of story 8/10 Expand
  17. Jan 4, 2012
    6
    Though not as emotional or deep provoking as the game series, it packed some good scares, and music to my ears soundtrack but the things that made silent hill fans cry because of the game never appeared in the film but don't be disappointed.
  18. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By far the best movie based on a video game. Silent Hill is a 2006 horror film directed by Christophe Gens. The plot is about Rose De Silve scared that the attacks of sleepwalking daughter decides to take her to the city that this city always in his dreams. While you are heading to the city, have a car accident and wake up Rose can no longer find his daughter in the car and goes to look for her in Silent Hill. The film shows the typical atmosphere of Silent Hill thanks to a very accurate picture, the scenery breathtaking and the famous monsters that I can put the viewer concern and represent Alessa's nightmares. Also good plot and actors. Expand
  19. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I saw this movie again recently. This is a great horror movie: the acting, direction and storyline are all very convincing, and the flawless blend of make-up effects and CGI helps drag you right into the hell that is Silent Hill. The ending is ambiguous; after watching this movie several times since it was released, I still am not sure whether the main characters are dead and in Hell, or alive, and trapped in an alternate dimension somewhere between here and the Devil's realm. I like that it is not explained, so it makes you think, and wonder.... A dark, beautiful, horrifying vision of what can happen when hatred and true Evil meet. Expand
  20. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    Silent Hill is the film adaptation of the hit Japanese psychological horror games that spawned the survival horror game phenomena back in the late 90's. Sharon Da Silva sleepwalks and dreams of a place named Silent Hill, her mother Rose is determined to find out why this is so decides to take her daughter to the abandoned mining town which was destroyed by a fire many years before. On arrival to the town Rose and a female police officer have a road collision and are now stranded in Silent Hill after the roads that lead to the towns exit are now mysteriously gone. With Sharon gone and the two women trapped in the remains of the most haunted town in America they must uncover the past to both the town and Sharon as well as expose an ancient evil that is slowly regaining power over the town. The film is by no means a great adaptation but it does live up to the Silent Hill name and worthy of a look if you enjoy the games. Expand
  21. Apr 26, 2013
    2
    This movie was a very generic horror picture. The acting, the plot, the set, the music was average at best. Lacked the tension, and true horror the video game Silent Hill had back in the days.
  22. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    Great game to movie adaptation.
  23. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    Trasposizione cinematografica della celebre saga di survival horror inventata da Konami nel 1999, Silent Hill un film dai moltissimi lati positivi e pochi negativi. Iniziando da questi ultimi si può evidenziare la storia, lunga, articolata, ricca di false piste, e troppo ingarbugliata che verrà risolta da un lungo monologo finale. Per quanto riguarda gli aspetti positivi se ne possono elencare molti, prima di tutto la fotografia molto bella e adattissima a questo tipo di film, i personaggi: la mamma Rose che fa di tutto per salvare la figlia Sharon legata in modo sinistro alla cittadina della collina silente, Il padre interpretato da un bravo Sean Bean. intento a riportare a casa la moglie e la figlia dalla città maledetta nella quale però lui non riuscirà mai ad accedere dato che rimarrà bloccato nella Silent Hill reale quella dove il sole splende e dove i mostri non esistono. Infine un complimento alla poliziotta che finisce per aiutare pure lei Rose nel suo intento.
    La fine poco risolutiva a portato naturalmente a un seguito "Silent hill revelation".
    Expand
  24. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    Jill.K
    I have a story to tell. It is identical to silent hill. I was born in a town somewhere east. My family watched Porn at my present. I applied it on my pillow. From that day onwards, I was masterbating. I hid under the bed. Sometimes doing it while reading books. I did it for a hour or so. I did it to my mother. And my mother was **** by my grandfather. He scolded my mother often for
    stupid. I susposed it was because she don't know how to **** From that days onwards, my family sex with one another. I had a family of 8. At my teen. I felt myself impotent. I was very frustrated. I went mad. While I was mad, I learned a Malay Martial Art. I hit a woman's nose. Her nose was broken and her blood spill violently. She lived for 2 years. She was someone who love to live but she lived painfully. She dug her nose ultil dead. Before she died, she put a curse on me. My family helped. They performed a ritual while I was not around. IT was very dirty. She was **** by my family and her nose was eaten alive. She died very painfully. I think it was a Malay Ritual. She was buried at rubbish bin near my house. they swore to take revenge. From that day onwards I saw ghosts. I suffered a lot of mental torture. I died and alive a lot of times. I did not know she was dead until one day. I saw her vision in my body crying very pitifully. She said she was dead. It was very strange. Nobody mentioned a words but my house had changed when I returned back one day. The Mayor must have allowed it. I saw the house is very dark, nobody live and the pathway changed. I think that was the place they performed the Ritual. My door sign was changed to the woman door sign. Until now I still under mental torture. Expand
  25. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    I love the games and i was curious about this movie, it was enjoyable some part were good designed and the story was also nice. It's was a movie that i enjoyed and the ending was one of the best parts but there is horror movies that i enjoyed more. For a Silent Hill lover it is a decent movie but for someone that don't know the games is a little blank.
  26. Jan 13, 2013
    7
    I think that this movie is actually not that bad. I don't know why did it receive such low scores from critics. The theme and concept of the movie are great, its just overlong with too many unnecessary scenes.
  27. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    silent hill es un deleite visual pero el guion no es tan fuerte como esperábamos sin embargo tiene actuaciones fuertes y una dirección increíble silent hill va a hacer el éxito del verano
  28. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    As both a horror and video game fan I was at first quite sceptical about this title. But unlike the, to me, quite close to disastrous, Resident Evil remakes (although I haven't seen RE: Afterlife yet) I was pretty much surprised about Silent Hill. The atmosphere in the games is amazing. And I think they managed to convert it into the movie pretty well. The acting isn't bad at all either. Jodelle Ferland who seems really talented to me (based on her roles in Kingdom Hospital Tideland) again is pretty steady in this movie although her role is quite small this time. Same as Radha Mitchell and Sean Bean act pretty decent. You can easily imagine the fear Mitchell (Playing the main character) is experiencing during her forced visit to lovely Silent Hill. Like most horror movies nowadays this one isn't outstanding either but it definitely will not waste your time. Expand
  29. Apr 15, 2013
    0
    Completely contradicts the game. Takes Silent Hill a game about ghost and demons and turns it into a generic witch movie. Based off the first game but uses monsters from the second(all the monsters in Silent Hill have symbolic meaning so using them in a different story contradicts that). This movie is untrue and an insult to the game and is just a unscary boring movie. If anyone's seen the Indiana Jones episode of South Park what happens in that episode is the best way to describe this movie. Expand
  30. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    Silent Hill is really shocking and disturbing, with lots of scary scenes and cool ideas, the visual effects are astonishing, and the acting is great. Where on earth can this go bad? The plot, the story is original and great but unexplained, it leaves you with a lot of questions that you can't find answers for them anywhere, but does this weak point destroys the movie? No, of coarse not!
  31. Apr 12, 2014
    7
    It was overall a good film, it explained the story well and showed pretty good effects. As a video game adaptation, i would recommend especially since its based off of Silent Hill
  32. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    The only reason I do not give this film a perfect 10 is for things they changed which didn't make any sense to. (Why change the little girl's name from Cheryl to Sharon? Why not have Sean Bean just be Harry Mason? LoL just minor things though.)

    Overall this is truly a great film. I watched it in the theater, bought it on DVD when it came out and now have it on bluray. As a long term fan
    of the games, I felt the film captured the atmosphere of the games perfectly, and truly had some terrifying moments. The cast is unbelievable, the sets are gorgeous, and, as always, Akira Yamaoka's music drives and supports the terror beautifully. MUST SEE. Expand
  33. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Loved this movie, You could tell that the director was a fan of the original game because it stays true to the story as much as possible. Was vague but that is a good thing, it doesn't treat you like you're retarded. The only bad remark I can give to the movie is the writing is comparable to modern pop music. Very unoriginal and grammatically wrong. Overall a very good movie that deserved better praise from the press. Expand
  34. Feb 12, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 1. Of course, its always a good idea to take your child to a place she has nightmares about. 2. Of course, you should always make a beeline for it wen a cop stops you from going to said nightmary place (she could've saved you a hell of a lot of trouble than u cud imagine, but nooo, you have to save your child by taking her to spooktown....which you have read about in detail in websites!!) 3. Of course, its a marvelous idea to have a chat with one of the three witches from Macbeth who looks beyond dead and rotting. 4. Of course, Macwitch has a penchant for quoting inane biblical phrases. 5. Of course, bust out the chesty lady cop to appeal to the male demographic. 6. Of course, you should put your hand inside an impossibly twisted rotting corpse. Ooh, nothing can go wrong there. NOT! (Gosh, leave the dead and their belongings alone. Its bad enough that they are dead) 7. Of course, the husband gets help from the most unhelpful cop in town (from the way the cop talks, it looks like he loves puzzles and must moonlight as a puzzle maker.. And a lousy one at that! Or maybe he's constipated. Yep, that's it...that's why he talks like that.) 8. At this point, its safe to assume that the mother and daughter are dead what with the father sniffing out mommy's dang perfume and not seeing her. Fun fact= Ideas that the producers thought would make this movie screwy...er..scary- disabled zombies, paint peeling, mutated bugs 9. Of course, the grim reaper (or whoever that guy who has a short self esteem and carries a ridiculously big sword to compensate)...yeah, of course, he has a Toblerone for a head. 10. Of course, by all means let the basket case of a lady accompany you. She won't be irritating at all, its especially endearing to be preached at (Hey, newsflash ms.nutty, Moses called, he wanted his lingo back!) 11. Of course, I fell asleep. (sigh...rewind) 12. Of course, being holed up with a bunch of Bible thumping freaks who looks as if they haven't bathed in over a 100 years is always a great idea (I'd go with Mr.Tobleronehead. At least, that death will b quick) 13. Of course, undertake a quest as proposed by Lady Creeptastic. She must mean well and care about you. 14. Whoa... McBusty cop dead? (Right at this point, the male demographic must've left the theater) 15. Of course, more dreary and boring rusty decor (What is this style called? Urban evil chic?) 16. They've busted out chesty nurse zombies. Of course, the male demographic are back. 17. Of course, unoriginal flashback bla bla bla shown on old film reels (You'd think that the dark forces, with all the power they've got going, would have better quality film reels for flashbacks) 18. Of course, I fell asleep.....again. (Gee, i wonder why?) 19. Of course, the movie's going downhill, so why not add a bucket more of gruesome to it. Burning a small girl sounds just about right. 20. Whoa! Busty cop's alive? Of course, she is. I mean who wouldn't be, after being whacked on the head with iron pipes. 21. Of course, she's alive only to be burned in the next shot. (Note to producer- stop yo-yoing, **** and make a decision) 22. God, this movie's laaaaame. Kill me now. 23. Dayyum... Mother got sucker punched. Niiice. Of course, she needed that, what with all the bloody useless running around and putting hands in dead ppl and **** 24. Of course, trying to talk sense into a group of fanatics is always a good idea. Sure, they'll listen to u and change their beliefs. 25. This evil entity likes to peel paint. 26. Of course, kill Lady Creeptastic with an unoriginal rectal cleaving and the others with fence wires. 27. Of course, the mother and daughter were dead. U gave that away in the first part itself, moron. Expand
  35. Feb 14, 2014
    7
    This film can be good and bad, depending on how It's viewed and who It's viewed by. Particularly serious fans of the series may be better of just playing the game instead. If that's not or IS you but still intend to watch it, Don't jump to any criticisms until you have seen and understand the film in full.
  36. Apr 22, 2014
    2
    The director doesn't know **** about horror, I am afraid. The movie was a disaster & shamed the SH franchise. True horror is not about scaring you but masterfully messing with you - something you can appreciate than being throw waves of monsters and expecting to have a good time. Said very simply: true horror deals with human nature, not the monsters.
  37. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Seriously! the critics reviews are negative? camon, seriously? - the movie has a good message (ignorance of the people and their blindness to the unknown and all that is different) - the plot is good - the CGI are not bad to 2006 - this movie is one of the few who has that touch of horror - this movie is one of the few who make me cry! - and camon! the crew are good too! Sean Bean doesn't die! Expand
  38. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    All right, I'm getting really surprised around here, and disappointed - very disappointed - how can the critics don't like the movie? I mean, are they blind? Or they just like to act stupid? Silent Hill is THE movie, one of the movies that is pure horror. And they show the reason everything started. The movie also criticizes the society, how people are so horrible. This movie is something more than awesome! The storyline makes sense, the cast is too good, the effects are really good. There are some really intense scenes that are totally worth it! And the creatures? It's just the best movie ever! And it is really emotional too, at least for me. It made me cry.. not only because of Cybil, but because the world we live in is too sad... Thank God the users see this movie with the potential that it really has. But the critics? sad. Expand
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. Witless, soulless and joyless, it displays its video game origins throughout.
  2. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    60
    A step in the right direction for console-to-screen transitions and a twisted masterpiece of set design. Ultimately, though, it's a little too much like watching someone else play the game.
  3. 38
    Although I did not understand the story, I would have appreciated a great deal less explanation. All through the movie, characters are pausing in order to offer arcane back-stories and historical perspectives and metaphysical insights and occult orientations. They talk and talk and somehow their words do not light up any synapses in my brain.