Silent Hill

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 865 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 865

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 22, 2013
    6
    Not a great movie by far, but to be fair a decent adaptation that stay surprisingly true to the source material. Plenty of better horrors out there, but as far as video game adaptations are concerned, this one isn't half bad. A decent attempt and worthy as a budget purchase. Mandatory if you are a fan of the games.
  2. May 30, 2012
    5
    It's just okay. I'm a huge fan of the silent hill series, and there are a lot of things this movie does right such as the art direction and the settings always look great through the whole movie. However there were many changes to the plot that I found unnecessary and caused it to lose the unique touch that the older games had. Also the script writing is very hit and miss, sometimes theIt's just okay. I'm a huge fan of the silent hill series, and there are a lot of things this movie does right such as the art direction and the settings always look great through the whole movie. However there were many changes to the plot that I found unnecessary and caused it to lose the unique touch that the older games had. Also the script writing is very hit and miss, sometimes the dialogue is good, other times it falls flat on it's face. I know SH1 wasn't exactly a shining example of good script writing and voiceovers but that was a game made in the 90s. I will say that it's miles above many of the other game-to-movie adaptations and doesn't just feel like a cheap cash in. It just could have used a lot of improvements and I really wanted to see the actual story of silent hill 1 play out in a movie... I mean how can you make a movie based on the first game and not include Harry Mason? Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2012
    6
    Though not as emotional or deep provoking as the game series, it packed some good scares, and music to my ears soundtrack but the things that made silent hill fans cry because of the game never appeared in the film but don't be disappointed.
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    6
    Silent Hill is a decent but average video game-adapted movie. I'm not a fan of the Silent Hill game series, feels too much the same as Resident Evil did. But the movie was good although the story seems a bit awkward and the monsters look creepy to me. I wonder if there are more zombies in the sequel which is coming out on Oct. 26, 2012. I think it's near halfway through the best video gameSilent Hill is a decent but average video game-adapted movie. I'm not a fan of the Silent Hill game series, feels too much the same as Resident Evil did. But the movie was good although the story seems a bit awkward and the monsters look creepy to me. I wonder if there are more zombies in the sequel which is coming out on Oct. 26, 2012. I think it's near halfway through the best video game movie ever. Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2011
    6
    It's funny that I don't know how to place this movie. I've now watched it a handful of times, which should lead me to say that I liked this movie, but I don't know if that's the case. The bad guys, like the nurses and the huge man with the long metal pieces are fantastic and the setting is creepy as hell. However, the ending gets bogged down in religion and back stories that no one gives aIt's funny that I don't know how to place this movie. I've now watched it a handful of times, which should lead me to say that I liked this movie, but I don't know if that's the case. The bad guys, like the nurses and the huge man with the long metal pieces are fantastic and the setting is creepy as hell. However, the ending gets bogged down in religion and back stories that no one gives a crap about. Expand
  6. MartmanT.
    May 2, 2006
    4
    OK. this is coming from a non fanboy. This movie had me wanting to see it so bad. The previews made it seem scary, and the gave it a suspense that was awesome. After the first 20 minutes all of that went away. I was revealed to a story that was so over the place that i could barely understand what was happening. After later pondering and thought, i could decipher it more, but the entire OK. this is coming from a non fanboy. This movie had me wanting to see it so bad. The previews made it seem scary, and the gave it a suspense that was awesome. After the first 20 minutes all of that went away. I was revealed to a story that was so over the place that i could barely understand what was happening. After later pondering and thought, i could decipher it more, but the entire movie experience was cut short because of the confusion of the story. Now, i know some people will be like OMFG wtf is this person talking about he should have played the game....but the movie director and makers should have filled in this hole for the people that didn't play the 1st games. Also in many parts, it had the potential to be much scarier than it is, but it doesn't seem to take the chance. For example towards the end, it had random things with sharp barb things. THEY WEREN"T SCARY. they were retarded looking. This movie would be decent if it weren't for the non scariness and the confusing story. Expand
  7. ND
    Apr 1, 2007
    4
    Dull and never even remotely scary. Bored long before the end.
  8. Mike
    Oct 1, 2006
    4
    The first 15 minutes of the movie is great! But then it goes down hill.
  9. HengF.
    Sep 10, 2006
    5
    The ending makes NO sense at all.
  10. AaronW.
    Mar 30, 2007
    6
    The film adaptation of Silent Hill shouldn't receive awards in all categories equally - far from it. However, it does enough with what it has to warrant a look if you like "creepy", though perhaps not if you want to see a 4 star movie Pros: Visuals - The Darkness is very "off"... in a good way (Filmed in HD) TERRIFIC ambiance and atmosphere - Silent Hill's one "true" strength. The film adaptation of Silent Hill shouldn't receive awards in all categories equally - far from it. However, it does enough with what it has to warrant a look if you like "creepy", though perhaps not if you want to see a 4 star movie Pros: Visuals - The Darkness is very "off"... in a good way (Filmed in HD) TERRIFIC ambiance and atmosphere - Silent Hill's one "true" strength. The Otherworld/Darkness setting is very well done. Silent Hill itself also gives you the feeling of isolation. The... "unique" soundtrack, taken from the games themselves, feels very well placed. Great monster costumes - Pyramid Head especially. Cons: Acting - Cheesy at times ("They used to say this town was haunted" LOL) Development - Character personalities seem underdeveloped, and the plot seems to run around like a headless chicken for the 1st half of the movie. Expand
  11. Mar 25, 2011
    5
    And... waht can i say? That movie rocks and sucks at the same time. The plot is kinda confusing because they wanted to put the most significant things of SH in the movie (Alessa and Pyramid Head). Fails as a remake of the experience of Harry Mason, but is kinda good. I guess.
  12. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    Jill.K
    I have a story to tell. It is identical to silent hill. I was born in a town somewhere east. My family watched Porn at my present. I applied it on my pillow. From that day onwards, I was masterbating. I hid under the bed. Sometimes doing it while reading books. I did it for a hour or so. I did it to my mother. And my mother was **** by my grandfather. He scolded my mother often for
    Jill.K
    I have a story to tell. It is identical to silent hill. I was born in a town somewhere east. My family watched Porn at my present. I applied it on my pillow. From that day onwards, I was masterbating. I hid under the bed. Sometimes doing it while reading books. I did it for a hour or so. I did it to my mother. And my mother was **** by my grandfather. He scolded my mother often for stupid. I susposed it was because she don't know how to **** From that days onwards, my family sex with one another. I had a family of 8. At my teen. I felt myself impotent. I was very frustrated. I went mad. While I was mad, I learned a Malay Martial Art. I hit a woman's nose. Her nose was broken and her blood spill violently. She lived for 2 years. She was someone who love to live but she lived painfully. She dug her nose ultil dead. Before she died, she put a curse on me. My family helped. They performed a ritual while I was not around. IT was very dirty. She was **** by my family and her nose was eaten alive. She died very painfully. I think it was a Malay Ritual. She was buried at rubbish bin near my house. they swore to take revenge. From that day onwards I saw ghosts. I suffered a lot of mental torture. I died and alive a lot of times. I did not know she was dead until one day. I saw her vision in my body crying very pitifully. She said she was dead. It was very strange. Nobody mentioned a words but my house had changed when I returned back one day. The Mayor must have allowed it. I saw the house is very dark, nobody live and the pathway changed. I think that was the place they performed the Ritual. My door sign was changed to the woman door sign. Until now I still under mental torture.
    Expand
  13. The_Elusive_Possom
    Apr 27, 2006
    4
    Tonydannie seems to have, if a little incoherently, nailed the good points about this survival horror game adaptation. The main music theme (while overused) is very pleasant, and the gore levels are pretty fantastic (people getting ripped apart, and climactically, muffs being mutilated). The creatures are pretty imaginative too: mangled contortions of the human form, and pretty unnerving Tonydannie seems to have, if a little incoherently, nailed the good points about this survival horror game adaptation. The main music theme (while overused) is very pleasant, and the gore levels are pretty fantastic (people getting ripped apart, and climactically, muffs being mutilated). The creatures are pretty imaginative too: mangled contortions of the human form, and pretty unnerving to view (especially the gang of "hospital patients"). The special effects, particularly the walls melthing and transforming, are also top-notch. Unfortunately, these attributes culminate the 4 points I have awarded to this movie, which is otherwise severly lacking. For starters, Silent Hill is not particularly scary. And for a horror film, this can be considered a big deal. It's frustrating though, because all the components are there: the horrific abominations that patrol the streets as well as the desolate atmosphere show so much potential, but this is never exploited. The story is pretty weak and pretty ridiculous, culminating in an ambiguous (are they dead or just trapped in Silent Hill dimension?) and deeply unsatisfying ending. Also, the lesbian sex cop sideline didn't seem to lead anywhere, which made for an unnecessary loose end. The acting is pretty offensive too: Sean Bean's laboured American accent is difficult to listen to given my previous respect for the established thesbian, and it baffles me why they would give Sharon (the little girl) would be given so many lines when other films of a similar setup have proven time and time again that children CAN'T act and are unbearable to watch. So ultimately, we're left with a dull, fruitless shell of a film, with so many non-sensical aspects to the plot: why are there creatures roaming about in the first place? Why would you try and escape from a police officer when you've done nothing wrong? These are just some of the questions pulling the sloppy mix of dialogue and action apart. But it was this or Scary Movie 4. I made my choice.....make yours. Expand
  14. JamesH.
    May 7, 2006
    6
    Having never played the game I can successfully say I didn't find any "plot-holes" that some of the critics have mentioned. In general, an interesting movie that truely is a nightmare. Overall it feels longer than 3 hours (even though its just 2), just like a bad dream. Some really creepy stuff is done at the beginning of the movie but it gets tiring and someone boring after a while Having never played the game I can successfully say I didn't find any "plot-holes" that some of the critics have mentioned. In general, an interesting movie that truely is a nightmare. Overall it feels longer than 3 hours (even though its just 2), just like a bad dream. Some really creepy stuff is done at the beginning of the movie but it gets tiring and someone boring after a while once you get the feel that the main character cant be harmed (maybe she can?) The plot is pretty thick and flows like syrup, and the ending is going to piss some people off. Like I said I never played the game, but I could definately spot "boss scenes" that are probably in it, being re-enacted in the movie. Overall: great beginning, middle gets boring after you get used to the scares, ending will be liked by some, probably disliked by most. Expand
  15. VictorB.
    Apr 26, 2006
    6
    The bad about this movie is that it makes you think so much you are too boggled to be afraid or feel suspense or anything you want to be feeling at a movie like this. It makes a supreme effort, which I did appreciate, but the execution was flawed. It wa so flawed you feel confused more than anything. The GOOD: The set design, the art direction, the effects!! All excellent!!! Endless The bad about this movie is that it makes you think so much you are too boggled to be afraid or feel suspense or anything you want to be feeling at a movie like this. It makes a supreme effort, which I did appreciate, but the execution was flawed. It wa so flawed you feel confused more than anything. The GOOD: The set design, the art direction, the effects!! All excellent!!! Endless Hellish Beauty!! Expand
  16. Destardi
    Apr 26, 2006
    6
    Wasn't a bad movie; definitely better than most other video game ripoffs.
  17. SeanM.
    Apr 23, 2006
    6
    Meh. There were nice, gory moments and the atmosphere was pleasantly creepy, but everything else fell flat. They should've forgone the side story (sorry, Sean Bean) and the overlong bouts of exposition and just thrown more twisted scenes into the fray. Oh, and if your brain isn't hard-wired to understand 'Nintendo' logic (I found a hotel room key, so she must be at the Meh. There were nice, gory moments and the atmosphere was pleasantly creepy, but everything else fell flat. They should've forgone the side story (sorry, Sean Bean) and the overlong bouts of exposition and just thrown more twisted scenes into the fray. Oh, and if your brain isn't hard-wired to understand 'Nintendo' logic (I found a hotel room key, so she must be at the hotel!) some of the movie conventions will probably seem quite silly. Also, when will directors learn that CGI monsters are never really scary? The guy that crawls out of the bathroom stall? Freaky. The walking CGI blob thing? Not so much. The handful of good scenes were pretty priceless, though. Overall, if you liked the games and have money burning a hole through your pocket, you could do much worse. Expand
  18. TonyA.
    Apr 25, 2006
    4
    The plot wanders in about 4 different directions toward the end, and the film just can't pull everything together in a cohesive way. great job of setting the mood, but poor job of executing the plotlines.
  19. DylanS.
    Apr 25, 2006
    5
    Terrible script, awesome director of photography. The set design was erie as hell and the camera shots was interesting and complex. Everything else sucked, took a good cast of actors and had them reverberate crap. Horrible turn of events.
  20. JeremyW.
    Apr 25, 2006
    4
    I am a huge fan of the video game series and couldn't wait for this movie to come out. Although the adaption seemed to adhere closely to the video game storyline(s), this may be exactly where they got off point. They seemed to focus more on the story and less on horror. The only time I even came close to jumping is when some birds flew out of a hole--scary stuff, I know. So even I am a huge fan of the video game series and couldn't wait for this movie to come out. Although the adaption seemed to adhere closely to the video game storyline(s), this may be exactly where they got off point. They seemed to focus more on the story and less on horror. The only time I even came close to jumping is when some birds flew out of a hole--scary stuff, I know. So even though they stayed close to the story, there was no suspense, no ambience, no HORROR! Silent Hill 1is by far the scariest video game I have ever played, but the movie was about as scary as the Pokemon movie--wait, that was actually scarier. Expand
  21. Gus
    Apr 25, 2006
    4
    Here is some advice (if fancy yourself a reasonably intelligent human being). DO BELIEVE THE CRITICS (for once). I was SO excited about this movie (being a huge fan of the games) and I read all the IMDB reviews and all the fans saying "don't listen to the critics, this is the best movie-game adaptation ever! 10 stars!" Well. While it may be the best movie/game adaptation... that isnt Here is some advice (if fancy yourself a reasonably intelligent human being). DO BELIEVE THE CRITICS (for once). I was SO excited about this movie (being a huge fan of the games) and I read all the IMDB reviews and all the fans saying "don't listen to the critics, this is the best movie-game adaptation ever! 10 stars!" Well. While it may be the best movie/game adaptation... that isnt saying much. This movie is BAD. HORRIBLE script. These actors have all been good in past roles... so its hard to see how they could suck so bad in this movie. Its true that is it does LOOK GOOD (visual effects)... but... god. What a horrible let down. RENT THIS ... to satisfy your curiosity... but ITS NOT worth seeing in the theater. My 2 cents. Expand
  22. KevinE.
    Apr 27, 2006
    6
    The critics are way too harsh on this one. It seemed most were either ready to praise it or just downright hate it. Yet its based on the video-game, but thats still no reason to dismiss it as mindless teen fodder. The atmosphere and cinematography by itself alone nearly makes a 10/10. The acting was also great and there was a decent attempt at the story. The movie managed to pull me into The critics are way too harsh on this one. It seemed most were either ready to praise it or just downright hate it. Yet its based on the video-game, but thats still no reason to dismiss it as mindless teen fodder. The atmosphere and cinematography by itself alone nearly makes a 10/10. The acting was also great and there was a decent attempt at the story. The movie managed to pull me into its world which is something rare for me these stills. It dragged at times and had its problems yes, but the 30/100 average is downright insulting. Don't except a horrid movie, but don't expect a classic one either. I reccomend it though Expand
  23. Matt
    Apr 27, 2006
    5
    As a video-game conversion, it's commendably faithful to its source material (to the point of being recognisably incomprehensible) until the tacked-on OTT 'climax'. However, as a film, it suffers from being poorly acted, erratically paced, and, most unforgivably, it's just not even remotely scary. Pyramid Head is well realised, but aside from that the CGI is pretty As a video-game conversion, it's commendably faithful to its source material (to the point of being recognisably incomprehensible) until the tacked-on OTT 'climax'. However, as a film, it suffers from being poorly acted, erratically paced, and, most unforgivably, it's just not even remotely scary. Pyramid Head is well realised, but aside from that the CGI is pretty ropey, and then we get Sean Bean trotting in from another film with the worst American accent you'll ever wish for. Hey, I could watch Radha Mitchell all day but even I got bored well before the hour mark. Expand
  24. Sagrado
    Apr 29, 2006
    5
    5 points for visuals and direction. Christophe Gans is still the man. You can tell he really took an effort to retain the stunning visuals of the series. 1 point for sound. That may not seem like a lot but when it pushes the score up 10%....well that saying something. To be honest though, they only reused music from the third game anyway. I should know. I have that soudtrack. 0 points for 5 points for visuals and direction. Christophe Gans is still the man. You can tell he really took an effort to retain the stunning visuals of the series. 1 point for sound. That may not seem like a lot but when it pushes the score up 10%....well that saying something. To be honest though, they only reused music from the third game anyway. I should know. I have that soudtrack. 0 points for plot. I'm sorry, but if you didn't understand the plot after 2 hours of the characters literaly TELLING you what was going on then you might need to re-evaluate your critical thinking skills (or really, just your thinking skills). What happened to good old story progression, you know, where the characters act and react in thier own specific situations and then we as an audience get to infer what's going on. Then again, this might be a situation where ignorance is bliss. The writing was generic and devoid of any value, both artistic and entertainment that I feel actual pain at the thought of the storyline. If you haven't played the first game in the series then do yourself a favor and scroll to the top of this page. Click on the link to GameFAQs and search out Silent Hill (Playstation). Read President Evil's Plot Analysis and see what this movie really should have been. 0 Points for the acting. I'll be the first to give it up for Sean Bean and Radha Mitchell. You could tell that they were really giving it their all, considering the material they had to work with. But even thier effort gets draged down by the piss-poor performance of Jodelle Ferland (Shannon/Alessa) and Kim Coates (Officer Gucci). Where did the casting director find these actors? And in what parallel universe is it okay to hire them? Also, and this last part is personal opinion, Deborah Kara Unger (Dahlia Gillespie) is way too attractive to play her role. Now that I think about it....I'm tkaing off another point for the plot. Negative one. That seems fair. Expand
  25. RyanB.
    Apr 30, 2006
    4
    Unlike many of the user comments I have read, I do not, in fact, think that the movie stayed faithful to the games at all. The first two Silent Hill games are as close to art as video games have ever come - themes, motifs, beautiful visuals, and social commentary, all wrapped up in a profoundly disturbing and meloncholy package. The movie, on the other hand, is standard hollywood fare - a Unlike many of the user comments I have read, I do not, in fact, think that the movie stayed faithful to the games at all. The first two Silent Hill games are as close to art as video games have ever come - themes, motifs, beautiful visuals, and social commentary, all wrapped up in a profoundly disturbing and meloncholy package. The movie, on the other hand, is standard hollywood fare - a dumb incomprehensible plot wrapped up in a beautiful package. The art direction is absolutely incredible, but the plot betrays the games in the most horrible way. You know that you have a bad movie on your hands when A VIDEO GAME IS TEN THOUSAND TIMES MORE SUBTLE THAN YOUR BLOODY FILM. The first hour is promising, and then the last hour turns into a complete mess of a horror/action picture. It moves too fast to be scary, takes itself too seriously to be funny, and wraps everything up in a cathartic grand guignol scene that makes absolutely no sense for the kind of movie this is. I wasn't looking for redemption and catharsis, I was looking for meloncholy and abject terror. Not only that, but all of the thematic material and social commentary of the series was completely butchered in favor of a bunch of silly exposition and gore. That's not to say I didn't have tons of fun, but in no way do I believe this movie was any good, and I was completely disappointed. Expand
  26. WillieG.
    May 22, 2006
    5
    The points I awarded were for times when this movie actually looked frightening. There were times when the lighting, visual effects, and camera work were successful in invoking a sense of dread or isolation. Where the film really falls flat is in the script and story. The 2nd half really started to drag, especially that rushed, yet long winded explanation for everything near the end. The The points I awarded were for times when this movie actually looked frightening. There were times when the lighting, visual effects, and camera work were successful in invoking a sense of dread or isolation. Where the film really falls flat is in the script and story. The 2nd half really started to drag, especially that rushed, yet long winded explanation for everything near the end. The female ring leader of the baddies was really annoying too, she had way too much screen time. Expand
  27. CharlieN.
    May 17, 2006
    6
    Has a lot of style and good scenes of gore, but it has a bad script and it eventually makes no sense.
  28. Apr 23, 2014
    5
    Rose travels to the abandoned town of Silent Hill in search of answers to her daughter's mysterious sleepwalking and, following a traffic accident, the pair are separated resulting in a desperate search through the deserted streets of the town.

    The special effects and CGI are suitably creepy and really evoke the mood of the video games and overall everything is well directed making for
    Rose travels to the abandoned town of Silent Hill in search of answers to her daughter's mysterious sleepwalking and, following a traffic accident, the pair are separated resulting in a desperate search through the deserted streets of the town.

    The special effects and CGI are suitably creepy and really evoke the mood of the video games and overall everything is well directed making for some fairly interesting scenes.. Unfortunately however, despite far too much exposition and explaining of back stories, the plot doesn't make much sense and isn't particularly interesting anyway (something which is even more frustrating since the second video game in the series has a pretty decent storyline) meaning parts of Silent Hill can be a bit of a chore to sit through.

    Some horror fans may enjoy it but In the end this is yet another example of a video game license being mis-used.
    Expand
  29. Sep 8, 2014
    4
    Silent Hill is a very atmospheric movie that does not entirely live up to the epic video games. It is disturbing, it is frightening at times but it is dull and an overlong experience.
  30. Nov 25, 2014
    6
    This is a good horror movie, the tension of this movie is very impressive, i don't have any jump scare, but it have a scary and macabre parts that makes this a good horror movie
  31. Dec 24, 2015
    4
    "Silent Hill " was a very scary movie , but almost unexciting , but do not say anything to others, projects at least in script and chilling soundtrack was almost in the attempt.
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. Witless, soulless and joyless, it displays its video game origins throughout.
  2. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    60
    A step in the right direction for console-to-screen transitions and a twisted masterpiece of set design. Ultimately, though, it's a little too much like watching someone else play the game.
  3. 38
    Although I did not understand the story, I would have appreciated a great deal less explanation. All through the movie, characters are pausing in order to offer arcane back-stories and historical perspectives and metaphysical insights and occult orientations. They talk and talk and somehow their words do not light up any synapses in my brain.