TriStar Pictures | Release Date: April 21, 2006
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 877 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
699
Mixed:
82
Negative:
96
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
UlrichD.Apr 30, 2006
Slow-paces, non-scaring, but very disturbing and beautiful... the best video game movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EvyApr 24, 2006
Dont listen to the critics, if you are a fan of Silent Hill you will love this movie. It was extreamly well done! Specially when you have to tell in 2 hrs the extremely difficult story of Silent Hill. It goes deeper than most people Dont listen to the critics, if you are a fan of Silent Hill you will love this movie. It was extreamly well done! Specially when you have to tell in 2 hrs the extremely difficult story of Silent Hill. It goes deeper than most people realised, and fans of the game knows this. The people behind this movie are fans and they did the best they could to explain what happen. This is the best Video game to movie I have seen in a very long time. Dont miss it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoséS.Jul 30, 2006
best movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HamiltonR.Oct 29, 2007
Amazing movie. All the critics on here with the low scores are clearly morons who can't comprehend a real plot. Great plot, best video game movie out there, definately a must see if you can comprehend plots that aren't laid out in Amazing movie. All the critics on here with the low scores are clearly morons who can't comprehend a real plot. Great plot, best video game movie out there, definately a must see if you can comprehend plots that aren't laid out in front of you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DifferentTakeApr 21, 2006
Silent Hill is a video game adaptation and it deserves plenty of praise for its efforts in staying true to its roots. All the critics' that bashed the movie have obviously forgotton some of the terrrible video game adaptations of the Silent Hill is a video game adaptation and it deserves plenty of praise for its efforts in staying true to its roots. All the critics' that bashed the movie have obviously forgotton some of the terrrible video game adaptations of the past (e.g. Street Fighter, Resident Evil) The writers from these took a decent storyline and turned it into garbage. There's nothing wrong with staying true to game plot, that what some of us want. Almost all book adaptation regurgitate the whole novel and receive good reviews but vdieo games' movies that does the same get stepped on. Maybe the critics that wrote these terrible review should actually play the game FIRST before writing up a review about the movie. If they say the acting is bad, than maybe they should rewatch Harry Potter and look at the "OVERACTING' and reconsider the high ratings that they gave the film. Silent Hill was enjoyable, it is a good piece of entertainment for the weekend and for those of us that played the game you will appreciate the efforts that were put into this movie. The Critic's are obviously narrow minded and only believe films "inspired" by true events are worthy of good reviews........making money on a tragedy that happen in 2001 on flight 93 sure make the families of the victims very happy. Oh, and maybe Hollywood writters and directors should come up with original ideas and stop making bad movies from adaptations. Before they do that, they should take back their bias opinions and reconsidered bashing a game adaptation movie that is saving their butts in the box office. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewG.Apr 22, 2006
Another example of the type of movie that critics don't like and the general public love. The problem with all the people with their comments being "nonsensical storyline" is that they either know it's a video game adaption, and Another example of the type of movie that critics don't like and the general public love. The problem with all the people with their comments being "nonsensical storyline" is that they either know it's a video game adaption, and don't think deep into it, or just can't make sense of it because you have to actually *gasp* think! Some of the best cinematography is here, as well as the best atmosphere in any recent movie that I can remember. The story, by no means stupid or nonsensical, requires you to think about every character and pay attention to little details, and eventually it all falls into place. I found myself more than confused at some parts, but then it clicked and everything made sense. So, in conclusion, this is a movie that people who are actually normal will appreciate. It has breathtaking cinematography, a suspensful, deep, and frightening storyline that deal with religious fanatics, condemnation, judgement, retribution, and revenge. Oh, and to all the people who think the creatures are CGI and look fake, most of them are actors in latex suits and costumes, with little touches of CGI here and there. What, humans in latex don't look real? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StephanP.Apr 22, 2006
This is an intriguing film. The visuals are stunning and disturbing. The sound design is phenomenal. All of this you've heard before. So, I figured I might address some of the other critiques.The mixing of live actors as well as CGI for This is an intriguing film. The visuals are stunning and disturbing. The sound design is phenomenal. All of this you've heard before. So, I figured I might address some of the other critiques.The mixing of live actors as well as CGI for the monsters was brilliant-- Acting: I actually think the Rhada Mitchell, Laurie Holden and Alice Krige were really good. The rest were okay. Confusing Storyline: The movie has a story...and it isn't nearly as confusing as a David Lynch film. But the thing about horror is that over-explainations often ruin things. Generally, I think Silent Hill is working a certain type of Horror...it is a type that we don't see a lot--but I also think the film brilliantly misdirects what sort of horror it is. This is not a slasher flick, it is not a ironic take on the horror genre. It also isn't exactly a gore-fest. Like Lovecraft, this is a film about isolation, about helplessness, about madness, about obsessions, about religion...it is about disorientation. The horrors are there, but sometimes they are grainy and hard to see...and then sometimes they are right up in your face. The film also has a European style horror pacing (which tends to be a bit slower than American), and works Twilight-Zone/David Lynch style ambiguity. And the film is scary. I think it should be seen in the theatre with a great sound system. I know that the film has gotten lots of negative reviews...but I dont' think the reviewers are watching it in the right spirit. Silent Hill is not about realism, but about surrealism. And that is pretty cool. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
VinceK.Apr 22, 2006
Rating this movie a 27/100 is preposterous. This is by far the best videogame adaptation yet to the big screen, with some of the most detailed cinematography yet seen in any horror movie. Thats the problem with most of these reviews. Most of Rating this movie a 27/100 is preposterous. This is by far the best videogame adaptation yet to the big screen, with some of the most detailed cinematography yet seen in any horror movie. Thats the problem with most of these reviews. Most of these critics have probably never even touched a videogame in their life. Most of the gripes about the movie has been about the confusing ending, 'bad' acting, and the overall corniness of the dialogue. I'm not making excuses or alibis here, but personally I loved the script of the movie simply because it stayed amazingly true to the games. The acting in the games were 'bad', the dialogue was 'bad', but thats the point. This movie is extremely stylized, and stayed true to its roots. Fans may complain about some plot changes but damn't, its a good thing cause it means theres gonna be sequal with the way it ended. I personally can't wait. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
7dogguyMay 31, 2012
This is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie insteadThis is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie instead of things popping out at you every 5 seconds this movie delves deeper then that the beginning starts kinda slow but once you get to silent hill it starts to get interesting the psychological horror is is amazing with flashbacks and hallucinations and with few but huge scares this movie will keep you guessing and want more Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Patrick67Aug 12, 2012
This is perhaps the best movie based on a video game ever. The way it resembles the game (ex. visuals, music, story) make it truly a great film based on a video game series. If you played a Silent Hill game than this is all familiar to youThis is perhaps the best movie based on a video game ever. The way it resembles the game (ex. visuals, music, story) make it truly a great film based on a video game series. If you played a Silent Hill game than this is all familiar to you and you will appreciate the awesomeness of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BajanMasterApr 12, 2014
It was overall a good film, it explained the story well and showed pretty good effects. As a video game adaptation, i would recommend especially since its based off of Silent Hill
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueFeb 14, 2014
This film can be good and bad, depending on how It's viewed and who It's viewed by. Particularly serious fans of the series may be better of just playing the game instead. If that's not or IS you but still intend to watch it, Don't jump toThis film can be good and bad, depending on how It's viewed and who It's viewed by. Particularly serious fans of the series may be better of just playing the game instead. If that's not or IS you but still intend to watch it, Don't jump to any criticisms until you have seen and understand the film in full. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JamesT.Apr 24, 2006
This was the best movie that has come out since Resident Evil 2 ! It stuck so well with the games(even though iv beaten all but SH 1) the sounds,music,camera,monsters,and alot of the characters and plot are straight from the game.The people This was the best movie that has come out since Resident Evil 2 ! It stuck so well with the games(even though iv beaten all but SH 1) the sounds,music,camera,monsters,and alot of the characters and plot are straight from the game.The people who say it not a good movie are complete morons, same goes for the critics, idiots! If your a fan of Silent Hill (best game saga ever made )then you'll love this movie! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
GSApr 21, 2006
This is the best Video game adaption to Cinema that I ever seen. AMAZING MOVIE that stupid critics don´t undestand....To the critics : LEARN about Silent hill before write a non sense article.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
NutellaMar 10, 2008
I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina thing, explaining the rationale of the whole thing in a few sentences. nonetheless, if not for anything, should be appreciated for stating faith of any kind has no de facto morality guarantee, and closer to deviation and perversion even from faithlessness itself. Perfect for watching, but not consuming. Ignore critic rating. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
GonzaloP.Sep 25, 2006
Rate this movie is easy. The movie was made for ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD that played Silent Hill in the glorious Playstation. The first Silent Hill is just a master piece. If you played Silent hill 2, 3 or The Room, it's not the Rate this movie is easy. The movie was made for ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD that played Silent Hill in the glorious Playstation. The first Silent Hill is just a master piece. If you played Silent hill 2, 3 or The Room, it's not the same... if you never played any game of silent hill, even worst... I saw this movie with a smile and tears in my eyes because it was everything that I imagined when I finished Silent Hill several years ago... ALL is just perfect; I read that some Critics and User reviews said that the movie has no reality that it's too fantastic... Those who said that didn't understand the idea of the movie, that it's just the same of the game. The story has to be twisted, unreal, and for those who said that "It's a bad horror movie"... you're wrong from the beginning... The best of silent hill is that is not a horror movie, it may appeared but it isn't, it's not a suspense film, it' may have some points but... it isn't, the best of silent hill it's that to "mark" this film in some genre, we need to install a new genre, because silent hill is unique... play the first video game then watch the movie again, This movie doesn't care critics of those who don't played the game, It's just a tribute for the game and those who enjoy it!!! Resident Evil film doesn Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
8
AnthonyA.Apr 22, 2006
Never, ever, ever listen to critics when it comes to film. I can't say that enough. This especially applies to a film based on a videogame such as Silent HIll. Film critics are notorious for hating video games as a form of Never, ever, ever listen to critics when it comes to film. I can't say that enough. This especially applies to a film based on a videogame such as Silent HIll. Film critics are notorious for hating video games as a form of art/entertainment. Sorry Roger Ebert, but you're old and this is a whole new world. Yours and other critic's opinions on this film is irelevant in my opinion. Now for the movie: If you played the games religiously, as I have, then you will definatly appreciate what has been done in the transition to the big screen. It looks great, it sounds great and 99% of the time it just feels right. People who saw this movie with me who had never played the game left the movie really confused. Aside from the lame dialogue, and liberties taken with the story from the first SIlent Hill, this was my only gripe with the film. It is definatly for the fans of the franchise and everyone else is really left in the dark. That aside, everyone can agree that this movie does magicaly transport you into its foggy, gloomy world. And to be honest with you, I am glad that people who never played the games left the theater a bit confused because figuring out the truth about Silent Hill is what has made the games so great. I'm still trying to figure them all out, as I'm sure some of the hard core fans of the series are as well. As a Silent Hill fan: 9 As a film geek: 8 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
PW.Sep 16, 2007
Critics give it 30/100 and user comments give it 81/100. I know which I trust more. Most of those critics probably aren't videogame fans, let alone have ever played and understood the ideas behind Silent Hills. It's a Critics give it 30/100 and user comments give it 81/100. I know which I trust more. Most of those critics probably aren't videogame fans, let alone have ever played and understood the ideas behind Silent Hills. It's a psychological/mythological/horror hybrid. This film is the only one so far to be true to the videogame it is based on for, like the game, it lets you wallow in the atmosphere rather than bomarding you with action every few seconds and it doesn't cheat the viewer by having a totally upbeat ending. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
SilentINUNov 29, 2012
I love the games and i was curious about this movie, it was enjoyable some part were good designed and the story was also nice. It's was a movie that i enjoyed and the ending was one of the best parts but there is horror movies that i enjoyedI love the games and i was curious about this movie, it was enjoyable some part were good designed and the story was also nice. It's was a movie that i enjoyed and the ending was one of the best parts but there is horror movies that i enjoyed more. For a Silent Hill lover it is a decent movie but for someone that don't know the games is a little blank. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JovanPJan 13, 2013
I think that this movie is actually not that bad. I don't know why did it receive such low scores from critics. The theme and concept of the movie are great, its just overlong with too many unnecessary scenes.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
PaultergeistFeb 18, 2013
As both a horror and video game fan I was at first quite sceptical about this title. But unlike the, to me, quite close to disastrous, Resident Evil remakes (although I haven't seen RE: Afterlife yet) I was pretty much surprised about SilentAs both a horror and video game fan I was at first quite sceptical about this title. But unlike the, to me, quite close to disastrous, Resident Evil remakes (although I haven't seen RE: Afterlife yet) I was pretty much surprised about Silent Hill. The atmosphere in the games is amazing. And I think they managed to convert it into the movie pretty well. The acting isn't bad at all either. Jodelle Ferland who seems really talented to me (based on her roles in Kingdom Hospital Tideland) again is pretty steady in this movie although her role is quite small this time. Same as Radha Mitchell and Sean Bean act pretty decent. You can easily imagine the fear Mitchell (Playing the main character) is experiencing during her forced visit to lovely Silent Hill. Like most horror movies nowadays this one isn't outstanding either but it definitely will not waste your time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DreHJun 25, 2009
One of the best horror movies ever produced and definitely one of the better games-> movie. I was confused that one character was in both the past and present and looked exactly the same, but then researched the issue and saw, if you look, One of the best horror movies ever produced and definitely one of the better games-> movie. I was confused that one character was in both the past and present and looked exactly the same, but then researched the issue and saw, if you look, you can tell he does age. Coulda did a better job at that, otherwise, this movie hits the mark. Loved the resolution and Outcome Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
7
D.S.Aug 22, 2009
At first I was going to give this movie an 8 or maybe even a 9, but then I actually played the games (all 1-4 of them!) and realized that: 1.The games are far more engaging in story and character than most movies ive ever seen and most At first I was going to give this movie an 8 or maybe even a 9, but then I actually played the games (all 1-4 of them!) and realized that: 1.The games are far more engaging in story and character than most movies ive ever seen and most especially this movie. 2. It is much like watching someone play the video game. (watching someone actually play the video game is, in fact, quite entertaining in itself though, especially with commentary from an unexpecting gamer) Overall, the movie is great fun with truly sick scenery and atmosphere combined with a great soundtrack from Akira Yamaoka (who also created the soundtrack for the games). Its drawbacks are its somewhat incoherent story (suggest playing the game first for a much greater understanding of the movie),lackluster dialouge at times (though not as bad as critics say) and the aforementioned fact that the video game itself is more engaging than the movie. I must say that, though not that scary, it is superior to most of the recent horror titles out there at the moment due to atmosphere and a plot, though messy, will keep you entirely glued to the seat throughout the movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
EpichorrorDec 4, 2010
The movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don'tThe movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don't give you the feel of the movie. The monsters were probably the most realistic then any other movie I have ever seen. The atmosphere gives you an eerie feeling. The music was excellent and was played at the right moments. There were parts in the movie that made me think what the hell am I watching. In my personal opinion I thought the movie was perfect. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
pruneDec 19, 2012
this has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up insteadthis has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up instead of crap overused CGI, the acting was actually okay for this genre. it's only setback would be that the ending was slightly flawed as it contradicted itself and it didn't have enough pyramid head in it! but overall, this film is a small step forward in the ongoing war to actually make good video to game movies. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
LhorkanMay 9, 2006
This movie was great. It totally lived up to the game's name and most likely let the game's fans happy and satisfied. Those laughable critics are biased against video-game oriented movies - i can't blame them, since Uwe Boll This movie was great. It totally lived up to the game's name and most likely let the game's fans happy and satisfied. Those laughable critics are biased against video-game oriented movies - i can't blame them, since Uwe Boll had put his own "touch" on the genre - and do not realize that video-games, or, as people who are not shortsighted call it: interactive entertainment is a form of art! When they heard that it was a film adaptation of a "video-game", they immediately thought that the storyline was bad (which was not!) or that the film bases its strength on raw violence and gory effects (the film has its gory climaxes, but surely does not rely upon them to make fans!). Maybe people should play the game before seeing the film, to see that it's not about monsters and blood, but it's about a beautiful and intriguing nightmare drama, based upon emotions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RandellP.Jun 21, 2006
A case of bias amongst critics, it seems. It once again becomes rather painfully obvious that critics are sheep. This movie certainly isn't perfect, but it worth more then a 3.0. Let me start by stating that the acting and the dialogue A case of bias amongst critics, it seems. It once again becomes rather painfully obvious that critics are sheep. This movie certainly isn't perfect, but it worth more then a 3.0. Let me start by stating that the acting and the dialogue in this movie is bad. They really should have put some more work into that. For me, it was the visuals and the story that made Silent Hill a rather interesting movie. I haven't played the first Silent Hill game but I had no problem understanding the story, so either a lot of the critics are mentally challenged or I posses some supernatural story-understanding ability. I don't understand why some people would call the story 'dumb'. Sure, it's not really Oscar material but the story has a more depth then most horrormovies that I've seen in the pas few years. The movie itself looks great. I've seem some flashes of the SIlent Hill games and the movie really reminded me of them. It certainly has its moments of macabre and surrealistic beauty, although they were a bit few and far inbetween for my tastes. Overall an entertaining and interesting movie, that tries to be different from your average teenage slasher flick. Give it a chance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PaulO.Jun 23, 2006
I liked this movie. Maybe not one you should shell out $9.00 for at the theater, but maybe you have a discount theater? or go rent it when it comes out. The story was interesting enough. I tried not to think too much though. The best parts I liked this movie. Maybe not one you should shell out $9.00 for at the theater, but maybe you have a discount theater? or go rent it when it comes out. The story was interesting enough. I tried not to think too much though. The best parts of the movie was when darkness came over the town and all the demons appeared. Great visuals and CG. One woman's death was great to watch (i know it sounds sick but you'll know what i mean if you've seen it). I didn't like the ending but I can't really discuss that here. Oh yeah, also, I haven't played any of the games so I can't compare them. My review is unbiased. So go watch it if you like semi-horror dramas. There's nothing that scary, just really creepy and suspenseful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RandyM.Mar 19, 2007
While the atmosphere provides chills, nothing else does. However, this is the best video game to movie transition yet.....but we've still got a long way to go.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ApocalypseBrownMay 26, 2007
The best game-movie adaptation yet to hit the big screen. The acting, mood and lighting were mostly good. However, Sean Bean was terrible! It's defiantly a film for Silent Hill fans, as the casual viewer may get bored with the slow pacing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KamikunOct 1, 2009
What it lacks in greater-than-mediocre acting and coherence of story it makes up for in an atmosphere as thick as the fog in the Silent Hill games, monster design that raises the bar even by today's standards and an amazing soundtrack What it lacks in greater-than-mediocre acting and coherence of story it makes up for in an atmosphere as thick as the fog in the Silent Hill games, monster design that raises the bar even by today's standards and an amazing soundtrack consisting entirely of tracks composed by Akira Yamaoka for the original game series. A must see for any fan of the games! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BenjaminPJan 22, 2010
I dunno. Maybe it's because I used the play the original Playstation game back in the day, but I thought this movie was surprisingly good. It was maybe a little predictable, but whatever. You have to apply a willful suspension of I dunno. Maybe it's because I used the play the original Playstation game back in the day, but I thought this movie was surprisingly good. It was maybe a little predictable, but whatever. You have to apply a willful suspension of disbelief with horror stories like this. Ultimately, I thought the movie made a pretty convincing statement about society on a metaphorical level. Don't take too much stock in what the critics say about this one. Sometimes bad movies can be totally awesome. (Easily one of the best renditions of hell I've ever seen.) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesDFeb 16, 2010
Amazing movie, it gets confusing at the end, but in every other way its amazing!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SilentOneOct 11, 2006
Silent Hill can certainly defy Mortal Kombat as the best VG adaptation but it is far from being the great cinematographic masterpiece it could have been. A lot of horror and psychological movies are superior and it is sad to see that films Silent Hill can certainly defy Mortal Kombat as the best VG adaptation but it is far from being the great cinematographic masterpiece it could have been. A lot of horror and psychological movies are superior and it is sad to see that films like Jacob's Ladder and Twelve Monkeys are more "Silent hillish" than Gans's flick. The main problem is, instead on focusing on a solid story and putting references here and there, Gans does the opposite. He tries to put as many references as possible and links the whole in a more or less ambiguous manner. I cannot say however that he does not know what Silent Hill is. However, I liked (not loved) this movie even if it is not going to mark a lot of minds and it will eventually be forgotten with time. [***SPOILERS***] For me the main positive thing is the absence of a Mary Sue, something that pissed me off a lot in Resident Evil and Tomb Raider. Of course there is Cybil but at least she got beaten up and expressed negative emotions (ie she does not go fighting like if she was doing her shopping and she does show stressful behavior) Gans said he got older since Le pacte des loups (which I found to be more mature). IMO, he is still a kid. He seems to have focused more on the sentence " I'm putting this because fans will love it" than on the making of a movie. Running 3/4 of the movie and resolving clues might be interesting in a VG. In a movie, we need a story and character development. Most of the critics agree on a point. Silent Hill has beautiful images and camera angles. I wouldn't be surprised if Dan Laustsen or Carol Spier got nominated for an award. However, if most of the critics say they don't understand the story, it is because the dialogue and the editing do not offer that much to allow the moviegoer to care enough for the characters. And a Silent Hill with an average story hurts. And it hurts a lot. Despite it all, 7/10. I can discuss this movie negatively for hours but there is that je ne sais quoi that made this movie entertaining to my eyes. If there is a 2-disc DVD coming up in 2007, I'd probably buy it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinApr 21, 2006
Forget the critics on this one and see it for yourself. I love horror movies and this is one of the best, most original efforts in a long tme.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TonyB.Apr 23, 2006
Wow! i went in seeing this movie with low expectations seeing the majority of game to film movies havent been good, nor have movies in general as of late. i surprisingly enjoyed this movie greatly much better then the resident evil seriesWow! i went in seeing this movie with low expectations seeing the majority of game to film movies havent been good, nor have movies in general as of late. i surprisingly enjoyed this movie greatly much better then the resident evil series this is deffinatly worth a viewing go see it the critics were definitely wrong about this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JohnB.Sep 19, 2006
The visual FXs were very good to great. There was always a sense of dread and rot. It felt more like a 'Marilyn Manson' video meets a 'Hellraiser' movie. There wasn't so much of the gore and slasher stuff as it was The visual FXs were very good to great. There was always a sense of dread and rot. It felt more like a 'Marilyn Manson' video meets a 'Hellraiser' movie. There wasn't so much of the gore and slasher stuff as it was always more of a great sense of danger. I felt parts of the movie were weak and a little hard to follow at times, but overall the movie wasn't bad. I think they could have spend a little more time explaining the beginning and the ending. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GrantZAug 22, 2009
For the critics, i'm guessing they haven't played the games. To truly understand the plot, you need to have played the games. The film relies on them. It captures the atmosphere well.... but does miss out on the physchological For the critics, i'm guessing they haven't played the games. To truly understand the plot, you need to have played the games. The film relies on them. It captures the atmosphere well.... but does miss out on the physchological horror in favour for gore. Still.... it's very good. And Pyramid Head's appearance was justified too. He was there as an object of the guilt of the towns people. A good movie, so good in fact they're making a sequel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KenL.Nov 6, 2009
I found that the critics' low score in Silent Hill to totally unjustified. I seriously suspect their low scores were more to do with the fact that Silent Hill was adapted from a video game than anything else. I was intially "dragged" I found that the critics' low score in Silent Hill to totally unjustified. I seriously suspect their low scores were more to do with the fact that Silent Hill was adapted from a video game than anything else. I was intially "dragged" into seeing it, and I was under the perception that this would be another of those mindless popcorn movie. I came out of the cinema feeling rather intrigued by it. And let me put this into perspective: I'd never played the game (and I don't plan to) before I saw it nor I was a fan of the horror genre. While I could see why the critics would give low scores to a movie like "Transformers 2", the low scores they gave for Silent Hill showed us that critics could be equally fanboys when it comes to something that they have perceived snobbery upon like video game entertainments. The bottom line is, while Silent Hill may not be any Oscar materials, it definitely is a solid above average horror/suspense/thriller movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MattB.Oct 28, 2009
Silent Hill was an extraordinary horror film. That. *shock* actually focused on horror, rather then scaring you senseless or portraying as many grotesque maulings as it could. The movie was dramatic, though the acting wasn't perfect, Silent Hill was an extraordinary horror film. That. *shock* actually focused on horror, rather then scaring you senseless or portraying as many grotesque maulings as it could. The movie was dramatic, though the acting wasn't perfect, the scenes were amazing. They felt both real, AND terrifying. The plot is not dry at all, in fact, I've few times seen something done that Silent Hill did. While it can be somewhat confusing, that only adds to the mystery and suspense. Instead of having your movie spoon fed to you, it makes you think. I didn't even play the game and I liked it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
TheQuietGamerAug 29, 2014
Takes many aspects of the video game series, but sadly fails to capture the fear. That being said it's not bad and is definitely worth a look for any fan of the video games. They'll be the ones who will grin at all the references to the gamesTakes many aspects of the video game series, but sadly fails to capture the fear. That being said it's not bad and is definitely worth a look for any fan of the video games. They'll be the ones who will grin at all the references to the games like familiar locations, enemies, and characters. By far the best thing that was taken from the video game and applied to this movie is the soundtrack. Just like in the games it adds to the atmosphere and definitely takes the movie one step further to make it feel like it is Silent Hill.

As you might expect of a video game adaption many liberties were taken with the plot, which is loosely based on the first game. Despite an overall feeling of vagueness, which does clear up as it nears it's end, the plot is much more comprehensible than that of the first game, even if I didn't quite get the ending. Still fans will appreciate the many nods to the source material.

What ultimately hurts the movie is that it's just not scary. Meaning that while fans like myself will be eating up every little thing related to the game series, those unfamiliar with the source material will be left unimpressed and possibly bored. It tries hard to pull outsiders in, but this is a video game movie for the video game fans. Others might want to look elsewhere.

As it stands it's not a good horror movie, but it's good video game movie. One that will delight fans of the series. It's a great display of fan service for anyone familiar with the games, and they're the audience that should check this out. At the end of the day that's what a video game movie should do. Too often games are translated into movies that make mockeries of the games they're based on. Yeah, it might not be scary enough for most horror-movie buffs, but this is the first video game movie I've seen that actually comes pretty darn close to capturing the magic of the game and putting it on a DVD. IT's just a shame the scares aren't there. Still, as a huge fan of the game series I really enjoyed it, and I give it a 7.9/10.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
luffyyJan 13, 2011
This movie is really, really good. That's a best movie based on game that I've ever seen. The director is succeed in bringing the horror atmosphere from game to film. But looks like he just do that movie for fans so it can't take a highThis movie is really, really good. That's a best movie based on game that I've ever seen. The director is succeed in bringing the horror atmosphere from game to film. But looks like he just do that movie for fans so it can't take a high score. That's so sad.... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ALFApr 3, 2011
I am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD andI am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD and watch it several times, it may sink in then. This film is an adapted video game and shows great creativity with more creature creations from Patrick Tatapoulos who with Stan Winston have probably created some of the best creatures seen in film. In essence it is a film about revenge on religious zealots who "kill" a child. The young actress who plays three parts I last saw playing a ghost in Kingdom Hospital and clearly has no problem playing highly variable roles from a sweet child to the manifestation of evil.. This film is hauntingl beautiful with great incidentatl music and the ending, well try it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
maestraretiradaApr 15, 2011
This movie is downright scary, it made me crawl within my seat, i played some games and there also really scary thought the games are better than the movie but it was a cool movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
diego9901Feb 10, 2013
silent hill es un deleite visual pero el guion no es tan fuerte como esperábamos sin embargo tiene actuaciones fuertes y una dirección increíble silent hill va a hacer el éxito del verano
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
StefanD.Apr 30, 2006
Awesome... PH is the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AApr 30, 2006
I went into the movie with low expectations after having been told of its stupidity, but I am also a fan of the games quite a bit. The movie started out great, with psychological unease permeating throughout much of it. The visuals and I went into the movie with low expectations after having been told of its stupidity, but I am also a fan of the games quite a bit. The movie started out great, with psychological unease permeating throughout much of it. The visuals and atmosphere were spot on. Eventually the film descended into heavy-handed gore fest though, which was unfortunate. The end scenes were disgusting. Not subtle and disturbing but just blatantly disgusting. Not even the games were this vile. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AfdzalA.May 20, 2006
it isnt the best movie ever made,but in terms of video game adaptations go,i love this the best of all. im not a big fan of the series,and neither have i finished any of the games,but i still have deep respect for Konami,and their team,and it isnt the best movie ever made,but in terms of video game adaptations go,i love this the best of all. im not a big fan of the series,and neither have i finished any of the games,but i still have deep respect for Konami,and their team,and this movie far outshines most(if not all) crap video game movie games out there today. most complain that non silent hill gamers wont understand the story,but i thought it was clear enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CodyK.Sep 4, 2006
I really liked this movie. However, I felt like I was playing a videogame
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AmandaHAug 4, 2008
I believe the main reason that this movie got bad reviews from the critics is because it remains very faithful to the story line of the video game series. Because of how intricate the series is, many people who have never played the game may I believe the main reason that this movie got bad reviews from the critics is because it remains very faithful to the story line of the video game series. Because of how intricate the series is, many people who have never played the game may think the plot of the movie was way too confusing and hard to follow. In actuality, this movie tied much of the series together and helped tie together any loose ends one may have had from playing the game. As an avid gamer, I was extremely pleased with story and atmosphere of the movie, and again how it remained so faithful to the original series (even the process of finding key items, such as a gun and flashlight, as one would in the video game). The critics apparently can't appreciate anything that's not the same action-packed crap as other horror movies (I hated the Resident Evil movies, by the way, BECAUSE of how much I loved the game series). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyG.Apr 22, 2006
I really don't understand all the negative reviews, Silent Hill is a very impressive movie. It's definately not perfect, but it's definitely worthwhile to fans of the games and those who aren't familiar with them, I really don't understand all the negative reviews, Silent Hill is a very impressive movie. It's definately not perfect, but it's definitely worthwhile to fans of the games and those who aren't familiar with them, although it certainly helps if you are familiar with the story of the games. I can GUARANTEE that if Silent Hill was a book and not a game, it would be getting much better reviews. Critics are nothing more than elitists with a pen who are too in love with themselves to be credible when reviewing a movie. Please don't let the negative reviews sway you from seeing this movie, because it's a damn fine movie, whether it's a "game movie" or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillW.Apr 22, 2006
Not quite perfect in select dialogue-heavy scenes, but it was a very effective horror film that respected it's source material. It's truly the best of its kind. Film critics are unfairly biased towards anything remotely to do with Not quite perfect in select dialogue-heavy scenes, but it was a very effective horror film that respected it's source material. It's truly the best of its kind. Film critics are unfairly biased towards anything remotely to do with video games, so the low rating is not much of a surprise. Do yourself a favor and see it for yourself! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankH.Apr 22, 2006
I rated this a 9, my having no idea about the game itself, and first time seeing the movie. It was a very good job. Acting could of been a bit better? little confusing at somepoints, and at the end it just throws you off like no other. I I rated this a 9, my having no idea about the game itself, and first time seeing the movie. It was a very good job. Acting could of been a bit better? little confusing at somepoints, and at the end it just throws you off like no other. I think i just got really confused at the end, if someone can please email me how it was supposed to be represented/explain the end to me again maybe?. If i had a choice to re-see the movie with friends, i would say yes just because its a decent movie :-) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomyJ.Apr 22, 2006
This is the greatest Game Movie that I ever See! And it is complete like Silent Hill, the Monsters, the Story, and and and. The Actors are great, i dont know what the most critics dont like on the movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewF.Apr 24, 2006
I'm surprised by how much i enjoyed this movie. Yes, i'm a fan of the videogame series upon which the flick is based, but still i must admit that i went in with very low expectations. The first 3/4 of the movie more then shatter I'm surprised by how much i enjoyed this movie. Yes, i'm a fan of the videogame series upon which the flick is based, but still i must admit that i went in with very low expectations. The first 3/4 of the movie more then shatter them. I do agree with the comments that the final quarter leaves a bit to be desired (More Pyramid Head in climax, please!) but the WTF? ending and setup for potential sequel more then make up for it. Solid horror entry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffC.Apr 25, 2006
A very well set horror movie. certainly one of the best video game to movie transitions done ever. an interesting story and really, how much character development or drama do you expect in a horror movie anyway?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherA.Jun 8, 2006
The big advantage the games have over this movie is their interactivity - which is exactly the element heightening the suspense. The movie feels like a very extended cut scene but a pretty one at it. The photography is awesome and very much The big advantage the games have over this movie is their interactivity - which is exactly the element heightening the suspense. The movie feels like a very extended cut scene but a pretty one at it. The photography is awesome and very much remniscant of how all games look - eerie. The movie would probably have been better in its original state - without any male leads - focusing on the mindstate that is Silent Hill instead of switching back and forth between "real" and "unreal". Very decent videogame adaption though that doesn't deserve as much negative criticism as it has been receiving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MrS.Sep 5, 2006
just look at the user reviews, for every 15 positive reviews there is 1 negative. and it looks like in my opinion that the critics got this one wrong as they do from time to time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
sydneyoAug 5, 2008
Nicely done on the special effects. the movie is well scripted to make it have a dark feeling to it. silent hill is a great horror/suspense film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlistairD.Apr 21, 2006
Speaking as a massive fan of the games. Awsome. Some people might not like this as there isn't much in the way of definitive plot and it is uncomprimisingly loud.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Apr 22, 2006
I wish Pyramid Head had showed up again at the end. I loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeeganB.Apr 22, 2006
For a movie based of a game I though that this was very well done. The presentation of the movie was damn awesome. The acting kinda sucked but what can you expect it was about more then that, I think this movie lived up to the game in almost For a movie based of a game I though that this was very well done. The presentation of the movie was damn awesome. The acting kinda sucked but what can you expect it was about more then that, I think this movie lived up to the game in almost every way and also is an entertaining movie to people that know nothing about the game love horror genre. The only downside of this movie is that the very very end didn't make much sence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasperP.Apr 23, 2006
Although the movie started out great, the film began to worsen towards the end of the movie. The first few sequences with the monsters were amazing, but there were too many points in the movie where people had to explain backstory. I think Although the movie started out great, the film began to worsen towards the end of the movie. The first few sequences with the monsters were amazing, but there were too many points in the movie where people had to explain backstory. I think they should have left the plot more ambiguous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamM.Apr 23, 2006
This movie is the best movie i have ever seen in a loooong time. If the critics knew anything about the game, the director & the fact it originated in japan, i beleive they might turn their toffee-noses towards it. Roger Avary, Nicolas This movie is the best movie i have ever seen in a loooong time. If the critics knew anything about the game, the director & the fact it originated in japan, i beleive they might turn their toffee-noses towards it. Roger Avary, Nicolas Boukhrief & Christophe Gans. on the slight chance you come on this website and read this review. well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlH.Apr 24, 2006
I must say this is the best game to movie adaptation to be released yet. I am a fan of the series since the 1st entry and, though I went in with sky high expectations I don't regret paying the minimal entrance fee.I thought it I must say this is the best game to movie adaptation to be released yet. I am a fan of the series since the 1st entry and, though I went in with sky high expectations I don't regret paying the minimal entrance fee.I thought it could've been longer, and a great deal more of pyramid head but, it stays true to the series. The guy who said it shows it's videogames roots throughout, is jaded and has never played the game and experienced what the movie can almost convey...A since of dread, and evill all around you.If these critics were less biased to the gaming world maybe they would take into account the atmosphere and style of the movie.This wasn't made to establish a new genre of movie but, to please fans of the game..I'm sure it has pleased the majority of us. Oh and the acting is a little B-movie-ish but, that is a part of silent hills atmosphere too. (film grain, etc) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeR.Apr 24, 2006
This one easily one of the best video game-to-movie adaptations created, far besting any of the Uwe Boll-like garbage we've seen over the past few years. As a fan of the games, I felt the story held very true to the franchise which is This one easily one of the best video game-to-movie adaptations created, far besting any of the Uwe Boll-like garbage we've seen over the past few years. As a fan of the games, I felt the story held very true to the franchise which is very reliant on atmosphere and a somewhat convoluted story. As fans, we generally like and appreciate this, but this is also why I think most of the movie critics don't like it. Bottom line, the first half was fantastic and spooky as hell (literally), the second half was a bit convoluted and heavy on the somewhat confusing dialogue, but still very good. If you're a fan of horror movies and especially if you're a fan of the game franchise, you will not be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamB.Apr 25, 2006
It isn't perfect but it does a pretty good job of representing what you love about the game series and moving to a less interactive version. The story somewhat goes astray but the visual representation is spot on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonydannieApr 26, 2006
First Off I would like to start by saying that i have never played any of the Silent Hill Games. Having Said That. I did however Have an idea of what the games were about. what they look like and what they are. I was looking forward to see First Off I would like to start by saying that i have never played any of the Silent Hill Games. Having Said That. I did however Have an idea of what the games were about. what they look like and what they are. I was looking forward to see this adaptation because of the little that i knew And i was not that dissapointed. The mood of the movie was done right. with the white - grayinsh ashy atmosphere of the town to the dark-orange and squirmish atmosphere after the sun sets. This things of course taken from what i have seen from screen shots of the games. Now, I am asucker for scores. and for a while this movie delivered on the tone of the score at the beginning of the film . but then the score felt a tad over used. i felt like i was listening to the same track over and over. Until the films climax. as everything in the screen turned gory and yet a bit gothic. so did the score. and i loved every moment of it. The story was good. But at the end of the flick I felt It did not give me enough closure. but i can let go of such a small thing. The acting on the other hand could have used a bit of work. Radha Mitchell was good in this. I have been a fan of hers since i saw Pitch Black(even though I hate that movie) And Sean "006" Bean was good but a little wasted in this part. They should have given him more to do in this flick. And the girl was just not that great of a child actor. Was she the best one out of hundreads? And Laurie Holden. Did she have to play the female cop male like? However this are small but liveable complaints And I do recomend the movie for anyone looking for something different. Atmosphere wise. And a small note... We need to see more of Piramid Head. He can take on Pin Head anyday and mop the floor with him. Go see it for the look and sound of it. But dont expect oscar quality when it comes to the acting. Now I got to go and see if i can find a copy of Silent Hill for the Playstation ONE!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonP.Apr 30, 2006
A very pleasent surprise i was sure this would be no good im so used to being let down by these things (cash in on fans of games movie's) would recomend this fine film to one and all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustinM.Apr 30, 2006
You see, the thing about this movie is that it had all the visual look and groutesque images as in the game, but not a lot of horror. and thats where the movie kinda went downhill. the first half of the movie was great and prabably the best You see, the thing about this movie is that it had all the visual look and groutesque images as in the game, but not a lot of horror. and thats where the movie kinda went downhill. the first half of the movie was great and prabably the best scene was the bathroom transition to the living darkness and where rose encounters pyramid head. speaking of him i was hoping he had a more bigger role in the film as his role was a short one. I have all the silent hill games and beat them all 13 or more times. the movie needed more horror where after the school she encounters the living darkness again in the hotel then again in the hospital, and i was hoping that rose weilded weapons like the pipe and bashed the monsters around with it. the speacial effects in the movie matched that of the game and was right on the money yet i noticed a lot of things that needed lots of improvement. Overall i enjoyed it still and do hope for a next one just more horror(screww the plot)( most of the SH games were a bit confusing to understand, the horror kept us entertained) non stop living darkness and horrible monstors. And definitely more Pyramid head popping out of every corner as in SH2!!! Its just the movie failed to define itself as a true horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DannyJ.Apr 30, 2006
Me and some friends spent the day playing the Silent Hill games before we went to watch the movie, and this increased our movie watching experience greatly. The movie felt like an extension of the games, and in my case that was what made it Me and some friends spent the day playing the Silent Hill games before we went to watch the movie, and this increased our movie watching experience greatly. The movie felt like an extension of the games, and in my case that was what made it so good. For someone who is not into the games I can imagine how they would not appreciate the story and how it is told. I mostly enjoyed it but felf that some of the violence was too extreme at the end. The movie also could have followed the games more and left Silent Hill as a mystery rather than explaining it explicitly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DarrenH.May 1, 2006
Having always been a fan of the Silent Hill series of games, the news of a film remake was pleasantly received. Seeing as most movie critics have likely never played through any of the games (Perhaps 10 minutes or so, to prevent people Having always been a fan of the Silent Hill series of games, the news of a film remake was pleasantly received. Seeing as most movie critics have likely never played through any of the games (Perhaps 10 minutes or so, to prevent people saying they've never played the games) I didn't go into the cinema with any preconceptions or hopes, as most videogame remakes have been either spectacularly poor or ridiculously stupid. Nevertheless, the Silent Hill franchise has always seemed like promising subject matter for a film in my opinion. I wasn't wrong. [***SPOILERS***] The film starts off very quickly, but I feel that more work could have been done to establish the characters for those who haven't played the games. Regardless, the introduction is always going to be the part of the movie which is going to be disregarded, as we all know where the meaty part is going to be: Silent Hill. On reaching the damned town, the atmosphere is very faithful to the games; including the thick, constricting fog which makes the viewer feel incredibly claustrophobic. The 'scary parts' where the darkness ensues, and the monsters come out to play, is very well done. Although there is no shock factor in particular, the segments are genuinely disturbing in keeping with the games. The special effects are professionally done, and don't look fake like some have done in previous game remakes. However, I feel that much more could have been done with Silent Hill. Of the whole time period of the film, only around 30% of the film was scary. The vast majority of the film was rather misguided in my opinion, and it tries to draw the storyline along with the audience kicking and screaming. The ending segment in the church and hospital was very drawn out, and I feel that it nullified the good work that the film does in creating a disturbing and paranoid atmosphere. The large majority of viewers are likely to have played the games, so I think that the huge amount of time devoted to conveying the storyline is slightly unwise. I would go as far to say that this isn't so much a horror film as it is a thriller with elements of horror thrown in. Nevertheless, the areas where the creatures of Silent Hill threaten Rose (Radha Mitchell) are very impressive, albeit extremely disturbing at times. However, towards the end of the film, I feel that too much effort is made to shock the viewer (My mind flashes to the segment outside the church with Pyramid Head), and that the director was trying to make up for lost time by cramming as much senseless gore into the last 20 minutes or so as possible. The acting was passable, although nothing special. Laurie Holden (The cop) was overused, and I feel that the film would have benefitted from isolating Rose much more; which would increase the feeling of loneliness and paranoia ten-fold. So essentially, Silent Hill is definitely recommended for fans of the film; but if you haven't played a substantial portion of one of the games, you will go away feeling either incredibly confused or very angry. Thankfully, the ending leaves the path open for a sequel; with Sean Bean likely to walk the hellish road to Silent Hill. Having seen his performance in this film, I think he could put in a better performance than his female counterpart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigP.May 28, 2006
Excellent film adaption of a fab game..far better than other game ports in tha past. The film is like watching someone play the game but isnt that the idea, it is a game port at the end of the day. Cant wait for part 2. Seen it seven times Excellent film adaption of a fab game..far better than other game ports in tha past. The film is like watching someone play the game but isnt that the idea, it is a game port at the end of the day. Cant wait for part 2. Seen it seven times now. Top film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JGMay 6, 2006
It was ok, i do agree with some reviewers saying that the preview made it look really scary,and the movie wasn't that scary. Overall good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesR.May 6, 2006
Silent Hill is a film that relies on experiencing the video game before viewing the movie. Fans of the game will be taken through a visually stunning movie and see some of their favorite moments of the game play out. The acting is mediocre Silent Hill is a film that relies on experiencing the video game before viewing the movie. Fans of the game will be taken through a visually stunning movie and see some of their favorite moments of the game play out. The acting is mediocre but despite the long dialogs the movie builds tension very well and provides a gripping and intriguing conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LydiaMay 7, 2006
How much do you want to bet NONE of these professional critics have played...or even seen the video game? You can't judge it till then, sorry. Just because you critics are too stupid to understand a plot that was not that confusing How much do you want to bet NONE of these professional critics have played...or even seen the video game? You can't judge it till then, sorry. Just because you critics are too stupid to understand a plot that was not that confusing doesn't mean you have to give the movie a bad review. You just need to get smarter. Oh, and a note to the reviewer who complained that the mother didn't use her cell phone to call for help...she tried, it didn't work. The whole movie was worth it just to see that super Christian leader woman get ripped apart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayD.May 8, 2006
I rarely play video games and have never played or even seen this game. With that aside, this movie -a horror movie- gave me the creeps. Isn't that what a horror movie is supposed to do? And, not only did it give me the creeps, but I I rarely play video games and have never played or even seen this game. With that aside, this movie -a horror movie- gave me the creeps. Isn't that what a horror movie is supposed to do? And, not only did it give me the creeps, but I thought it was well done and that the story was much more in depth than the vast majority of horror movies out there. Once the movie made me aware of what had happened and what is truly happening, I was very impressed. Moreover, I agree with Lydia on many of her points. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DmitriyP.Jun 27, 2006
best one horror game movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexeyP.Jun 6, 2006
Silent Hill was been my first game on PlayStation one. Seven years ago it become my personal portal from small town of Izhevsk (Ural region, Russia) to the alternative reality - world of computer and console games. And "Silent Hill the Silent Hill was been my first game on PlayStation one. Seven years ago it become my personal portal from small town of Izhevsk (Ural region, Russia) to the alternative reality - world of computer and console games. And "Silent Hill the movie" is a best film adaptation of computer game I ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnshulJ.Aug 18, 2006
excellent atmosphere / set design.. deserves a 10 for that alone.. some great imagery.. an ending which leaves the movie open to interpretations which is not a bad thing at all.. head over to imdb for some discussion on the ending.. if you excellent atmosphere / set design.. deserves a 10 for that alone.. some great imagery.. an ending which leaves the movie open to interpretations which is not a bad thing at all.. head over to imdb for some discussion on the ending.. if you like the game you will most likely end up liking this movie.. best videogame to movie adaptation to date.. no question. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleV.Aug 23, 2006
I played Silent Hill 2-4 and loved the game. The previews didn't look all that spectacular, so i nwaied until video. After watching it, the movie exceeded my expewctations and I was very pleased with the way they turned the game into a I played Silent Hill 2-4 and loved the game. The previews didn't look all that spectacular, so i nwaied until video. After watching it, the movie exceeded my expewctations and I was very pleased with the way they turned the game into a movie. I don't know how some who claim to have played the game didn't think it was true to the story; they must have skipped through the cut scenes. It wasn't *exactly* like the story-line, but then there were 4 different storylines- a different one for each game. However, the game is a game, with just a bit of story-line to keep the game interesting. In a movie, story-lines *should* become the forefront, and that is what the creators did, so they added a bit more background to make more of a story. If you actually listened to what was being said and took in the visuals, you would understand the story-line. I had no problem. Some people might have missed that janitor in the bathroom... Its kind of important. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SephyXAug 23, 2006
First off I've only played one of the Silent Hill games, that being #2 which has no relavence to the main Silent Hill storyline what so ever. I watched Silent Hill for the first time yesterday on DVD and I perfectly understood the First off I've only played one of the Silent Hill games, that being #2 which has no relavence to the main Silent Hill storyline what so ever. I watched Silent Hill for the first time yesterday on DVD and I perfectly understood the storyline (I mean c'mon they take 10 minutes out of the movie to literally tell you what happened!), so anybody who tells you that the story makes no sense probably think that 'Bio Dome' or 'Resident Evil' have true depth to it. This movie sets a nice atomosphere and uses suprisingly little CGI in its monster and set designs, only using CGI for visual touch ups (like it should be used for). The storyline and acting was good, a few parts being the exception. [***SPOILERS***] The very ending of the movie is debateable though, it seems kind of like a cop-out ending. Overall though Silent Hill is the best game-to-movie adaptation that has come out yet. It was a good condensed version of the Silent Hill storyline and kept very true to the games with is look, music, and general feel. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MobiusSep 5, 2006
just goes to show you how much critics know about movies. I have played the game and found this a very good adaptation of the game, considering that the movie is not following any of the previous game plots i feel that this story is a good just goes to show you how much critics know about movies. I have played the game and found this a very good adaptation of the game, considering that the movie is not following any of the previous game plots i feel that this story is a good addition to the Silent hill franchise. If you have played the game and enjoyed it then your gonna like the movie. I was expecting some tacky crap when i brought the DVD but ended up plesanlty surprised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RirenJan 10, 2007
Very possibly the best videogame movie of all time, not that this is much of an accolade. A truly great soundtrack and use of sound design is coupled with stellar art direction to create an amazingly tense, curious and dangerous atmosphere. Very possibly the best videogame movie of all time, not that this is much of an accolade. A truly great soundtrack and use of sound design is coupled with stellar art direction to create an amazingly tense, curious and dangerous atmosphere. The creature designs are horrifying and elaborate. Unfortunately the plot is so confusing that only fans of the game series will truly understand this film. It's great for its own fans, but is sure to leave newcomers with questions they will be unable to answer. The deeply symbolic nature of the film, embedded in setting and creature designs, always relevant to the plot progression, will likely be overlooked by those who can't get over a few vague details. If you give into it, though, you are in for a darkly entertaining journey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleAug 21, 2008
Chris, I don't care what you say; this movie is b-e-a-utiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NotTellingJun 21, 2009
The only people detached from reality seem to be the professional film critics. If you liked the games, you'll like the movie. It appears film critics have become so complacent with slapping bad scores on game-to-movie adaptations that The only people detached from reality seem to be the professional film critics. If you liked the games, you'll like the movie. It appears film critics have become so complacent with slapping bad scores on game-to-movie adaptations that they didn't even care to look at what they were reviewing before choosing a score. After all, when the plot (while it was still a game) is critically acclaimed by a majority of game reviewers, it doesn't make sense for it to only achieve a 30 from movie reviewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdwardW.Nov 10, 2006
Never even knew it was a game . . . blown away by the imagery, tone and numerous dark themes ringing true. The criticisms of the exposition in the storyline were understandable, but the rest of the movie more than makes up for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeM.Nov 30, 2006
Obviously the storyline and acting aren't going to be that great. It's a multi-million dollar production based on a video game. This is to be completely expected. What I didn't expect, however, was for the director to be TOO Obviously the storyline and acting aren't going to be that great. It's a multi-million dollar production based on a video game. This is to be completely expected. What I didn't expect, however, was for the director to be TOO GOOD for this particular production. The sound design is absolutely flawless, and easily deserves Oscar recognition (though it would never get any), and the cinematography and atmospheric techniques are fantastic. Easily the best video game adaptation film next to Mortal Kombat, Silent Hill is surprisingly not bad at all. At least it doesn't cop out for cheap surprise thrills that any amateur filmmaker could place in any "scary" movie. Silent Hill has a genuinely frightening atmosphere and spooky sound design that are worth admission alone. Don't go in thinking it's going to be well-written or deep or any of that. Appreciate the style, and that's all that is necessary to enjoy the film and get a good scare. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IanG.Dec 28, 2006
Once again the critics prove why I don't buy film magazines. This was an excellent film and thoroughly enjoyable. Excellent use of imagery and atmosphere, and while it could have been better, not by much. Pulled me in and kept me until the end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanC.Apr 21, 2006
Pretty much all the other people said what needs to be said about this movie. The acting in the movie isn't great, but it is one of the best game to movie adapations made. It's worth the ticket cost if you are a fan of the games. Pretty much all the other people said what needs to be said about this movie. The acting in the movie isn't great, but it is one of the best game to movie adapations made. It's worth the ticket cost if you are a fan of the games. It's even worth it if you aren't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CurtisC.Apr 21, 2006
Pretty twisted and creepy. There are some boring and slow parts, but for the most part, it's all pretty strange and just what you'd expect going into it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoséS.Apr 21, 2006
best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnnonZ.Apr 21, 2006
Silent Hill wasn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeS.Apr 21, 2006
Don't believe the bad reviews. These critics haven't a clue what they are on about. This film is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnthonyV.Apr 22, 2006
Okay, the critics' average is 27 and the public average is 91. Something is very wrong here, perhaps? Not really. Movies like this and the Saw series are just doomed from the onset. The issue isn't whether or not film critics "get" Okay, the critics' average is 27 and the public average is 91. Something is very wrong here, perhaps? Not really. Movies like this and the Saw series are just doomed from the onset. The issue isn't whether or not film critics "get" Silent Hill or Saw. THEY DON'T WANT TO. Was there anything wrong with Silent Hill? Yes. The dialogue was embarassing. The handholding explanation near the end between Rose and ****** was overkill. But everything else was unbelievable. Sick. Amazing. It's just not a film critic's movie, especially a film critic who is too interested in faux-wit and elitism to write an objective film review just because it was based on a videogame (COUGH RAY BENNETT COUGH). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexG.Apr 22, 2006
I loved this film. The way music played into the onscreen plight was art. Im a gamer so the way the movie stuck to the true plot was perfect. I looked so good. They spent time on this piece. All of the CGI is phenominal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaunM.Apr 22, 2006
PROS - The fact that critics gave Brokeback Mountain such high ratings and this not is reason enough to stop listening to them. This movie is ten times deeper than the afforementioned without even trying, and the only reason I'm PROS - The fact that critics gave Brokeback Mountain such high ratings and this not is reason enough to stop listening to them. This movie is ten times deeper than the afforementioned without even trying, and the only reason I'm comparing the two is to show how much money talks when talking about critics reviews. All the critics got pissed off when Sony wouldn't allow any pre-screenings, and that made them think that is was going to be bad from the get-go. Their preconceived notions ruined the movie for them. This is an atmospherically terrifying movie. CONS - Spotty acting (in some of the minor characters). Most people need to do further research in order to understand the plot fully, but I do not think it's incomprehensible by any means to anyone who hasn't played the game, because, I have not. Oh, and the end is very gory. That could be a pro or a con depending on who you're talking to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GabrielM.Apr 22, 2006
I thought the movie was amazing. I am not too picky on storyline, so it that part of the film did not bother me. The acting or dialogue seemed forced in some parts, but in my case not enough to cause a dislike of the film. The visuals alone I thought the movie was amazing. I am not too picky on storyline, so it that part of the film did not bother me. The acting or dialogue seemed forced in some parts, but in my case not enough to cause a dislike of the film. The visuals alone made it worth attending, and that is what I wanted to experience. The atmosphere was incredible. You can really just sit back and immerse yourself in the visuals. Even better, was that it looked very much like the games. The gore was nauseating in some parts which was very satisfying for this type of film. A horror movie that can gross me out or give me chills down my spine, I love it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomR.Apr 22, 2006
GREAT! Finally a REAL videogame adaption. I'm a so big fan of the videogame. Thank you Christophe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradfordL.Apr 22, 2006
Fantastic
0 of 0 users found this helpful