TriStar Pictures | Release Date: April 21, 2006
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 902 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
717
Mixed:
86
Negative:
99
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
StefanD.Apr 30, 2006
Awesome... PH is the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AApr 30, 2006
I went into the movie with low expectations after having been told of its stupidity, but I am also a fan of the games quite a bit. The movie started out great, with psychological unease permeating throughout much of it. The visuals and I went into the movie with low expectations after having been told of its stupidity, but I am also a fan of the games quite a bit. The movie started out great, with psychological unease permeating throughout much of it. The visuals and atmosphere were spot on. Eventually the film descended into heavy-handed gore fest though, which was unfortunate. The end scenes were disgusting. Not subtle and disturbing but just blatantly disgusting. Not even the games were this vile. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AfdzalA.May 20, 2006
it isnt the best movie ever made,but in terms of video game adaptations go,i love this the best of all. im not a big fan of the series,and neither have i finished any of the games,but i still have deep respect for Konami,and their team,and it isnt the best movie ever made,but in terms of video game adaptations go,i love this the best of all. im not a big fan of the series,and neither have i finished any of the games,but i still have deep respect for Konami,and their team,and this movie far outshines most(if not all) crap video game movie games out there today. most complain that non silent hill gamers wont understand the story,but i thought it was clear enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarilynZ.May 30, 2006
We walked out on this one. So incredibly stupid and such a disappointment since I was looking forward to a good thriller. That's what happens when you don't consult Metacritic first. I was also mad that I wasted about an hour of my We walked out on this one. So incredibly stupid and such a disappointment since I was looking forward to a good thriller. That's what happens when you don't consult Metacritic first. I was also mad that I wasted about an hour of my life on this one. Let's not encourage the making of movies like this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
CodyK.Sep 4, 2006
I really liked this movie. However, I felt like I was playing a videogame
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AmandaHAug 4, 2008
I believe the main reason that this movie got bad reviews from the critics is because it remains very faithful to the story line of the video game series. Because of how intricate the series is, many people who have never played the game may I believe the main reason that this movie got bad reviews from the critics is because it remains very faithful to the story line of the video game series. Because of how intricate the series is, many people who have never played the game may think the plot of the movie was way too confusing and hard to follow. In actuality, this movie tied much of the series together and helped tie together any loose ends one may have had from playing the game. As an avid gamer, I was extremely pleased with story and atmosphere of the movie, and again how it remained so faithful to the original series (even the process of finding key items, such as a gun and flashlight, as one would in the video game). The critics apparently can't appreciate anything that's not the same action-packed crap as other horror movies (I hated the Resident Evil movies, by the way, BECAUSE of how much I loved the game series). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyG.Apr 22, 2006
I really don't understand all the negative reviews, Silent Hill is a very impressive movie. It's definately not perfect, but it's definitely worthwhile to fans of the games and those who aren't familiar with them, I really don't understand all the negative reviews, Silent Hill is a very impressive movie. It's definately not perfect, but it's definitely worthwhile to fans of the games and those who aren't familiar with them, although it certainly helps if you are familiar with the story of the games. I can GUARANTEE that if Silent Hill was a book and not a game, it would be getting much better reviews. Critics are nothing more than elitists with a pen who are too in love with themselves to be credible when reviewing a movie. Please don't let the negative reviews sway you from seeing this movie, because it's a damn fine movie, whether it's a "game movie" or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillW.Apr 22, 2006
Not quite perfect in select dialogue-heavy scenes, but it was a very effective horror film that respected it's source material. It's truly the best of its kind. Film critics are unfairly biased towards anything remotely to do with Not quite perfect in select dialogue-heavy scenes, but it was a very effective horror film that respected it's source material. It's truly the best of its kind. Film critics are unfairly biased towards anything remotely to do with video games, so the low rating is not much of a surprise. Do yourself a favor and see it for yourself! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankH.Apr 22, 2006
I rated this a 9, my having no idea about the game itself, and first time seeing the movie. It was a very good job. Acting could of been a bit better? little confusing at somepoints, and at the end it just throws you off like no other. I I rated this a 9, my having no idea about the game itself, and first time seeing the movie. It was a very good job. Acting could of been a bit better? little confusing at somepoints, and at the end it just throws you off like no other. I think i just got really confused at the end, if someone can please email me how it was supposed to be represented/explain the end to me again maybe?. If i had a choice to re-see the movie with friends, i would say yes just because its a decent movie :-) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomyJ.Apr 22, 2006
This is the greatest Game Movie that I ever See! And it is complete like Silent Hill, the Monsters, the Story, and and and. The Actors are great, i dont know what the most critics dont like on the movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrewF.Apr 24, 2006
I'm surprised by how much i enjoyed this movie. Yes, i'm a fan of the videogame series upon which the flick is based, but still i must admit that i went in with very low expectations. The first 3/4 of the movie more then shatter I'm surprised by how much i enjoyed this movie. Yes, i'm a fan of the videogame series upon which the flick is based, but still i must admit that i went in with very low expectations. The first 3/4 of the movie more then shatter them. I do agree with the comments that the final quarter leaves a bit to be desired (More Pyramid Head in climax, please!) but the WTF? ending and setup for potential sequel more then make up for it. Solid horror entry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffC.Apr 25, 2006
A very well set horror movie. certainly one of the best video game to movie transitions done ever. an interesting story and really, how much character development or drama do you expect in a horror movie anyway?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
The_Elusive_PossomApr 27, 2006
Tonydannie seems to have, if a little incoherently, nailed the good points about this survival horror game adaptation. The main music theme (while overused) is very pleasant, and the gore levels are pretty fantastic (people getting ripped Tonydannie seems to have, if a little incoherently, nailed the good points about this survival horror game adaptation. The main music theme (while overused) is very pleasant, and the gore levels are pretty fantastic (people getting ripped apart, and climactically, muffs being mutilated). The creatures are pretty imaginative too: mangled contortions of the human form, and pretty unnerving to view (especially the gang of "hospital patients"). The special effects, particularly the walls melthing and transforming, are also top-notch. Unfortunately, these attributes culminate the 4 points I have awarded to this movie, which is otherwise severly lacking. For starters, Silent Hill is not particularly scary. And for a horror film, this can be considered a big deal. It's frustrating though, because all the components are there: the horrific abominations that patrol the streets as well as the desolate atmosphere show so much potential, but this is never exploited. The story is pretty weak and pretty ridiculous, culminating in an ambiguous (are they dead or just trapped in Silent Hill dimension?) and deeply unsatisfying ending. Also, the lesbian sex cop sideline didn't seem to lead anywhere, which made for an unnecessary loose end. The acting is pretty offensive too: Sean Bean's laboured American accent is difficult to listen to given my previous respect for the established thesbian, and it baffles me why they would give Sharon (the little girl) would be given so many lines when other films of a similar setup have proven time and time again that children CAN'T act and are unbearable to watch. So ultimately, we're left with a dull, fruitless shell of a film, with so many non-sensical aspects to the plot: why are there creatures roaming about in the first place? Why would you try and escape from a police officer when you've done nothing wrong? These are just some of the questions pulling the sloppy mix of dialogue and action apart. But it was this or Scary Movie 4. I made my choice.....make yours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UlrichD.Apr 30, 2006
Slow-paces, non-scaring, but very disturbing and beautiful... the best video game movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JamesH.May 7, 2006
Having never played the game I can successfully say I didn't find any "plot-holes" that some of the critics have mentioned. In general, an interesting movie that truely is a nightmare. Overall it feels longer than 3 hours (even though Having never played the game I can successfully say I didn't find any "plot-holes" that some of the critics have mentioned. In general, an interesting movie that truely is a nightmare. Overall it feels longer than 3 hours (even though its just 2), just like a bad dream. Some really creepy stuff is done at the beginning of the movie but it gets tiring and someone boring after a while once you get the feel that the main character cant be harmed (maybe she can?) The plot is pretty thick and flows like syrup, and the ending is going to piss some people off. Like I said I never played the game, but I could definately spot "boss scenes" that are probably in it, being re-enacted in the movie. Overall: great beginning, middle gets boring after you get used to the scares, ending will be liked by some, probably disliked by most. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristopherA.Jun 8, 2006
The big advantage the games have over this movie is their interactivity - which is exactly the element heightening the suspense. The movie feels like a very extended cut scene but a pretty one at it. The photography is awesome and very much The big advantage the games have over this movie is their interactivity - which is exactly the element heightening the suspense. The movie feels like a very extended cut scene but a pretty one at it. The photography is awesome and very much remniscant of how all games look - eerie. The movie would probably have been better in its original state - without any male leads - focusing on the mindstate that is Silent Hill instead of switching back and forth between "real" and "unreal". Very decent videogame adaption though that doesn't deserve as much negative criticism as it has been receiving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
VolkerM.Jul 2, 2006
I don't know the game - I didn't even know that there was one. Hence, I just wanted to see a good movie nothing else. And what a disappointment it was. A lousy story in which nothing made any sense whatsoever. The acting I don't know the game - I didn't even know that there was one. Hence, I just wanted to see a good movie nothing else. And what a disappointment it was. A lousy story in which nothing made any sense whatsoever. The acting wasn't that bad after all but didn't help the fact that the whole thing was a total waste of time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MrS.Sep 5, 2006
just look at the user reviews, for every 15 positive reviews there is 1 negative. and it looks like in my opinion that the critics got this one wrong as they do from time to time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
kwyjibojSep 9, 2006
No, the critics haven't got it wrong. The Japan fetishist fan boys have got it wrong by ignoring the fact that the film is so bloody tedious just because it sticks to the videogame. Wow, woop ti do, Uwe Boll could have done better, and No, the critics haven't got it wrong. The Japan fetishist fan boys have got it wrong by ignoring the fact that the film is so bloody tedious just because it sticks to the videogame. Wow, woop ti do, Uwe Boll could have done better, and if he couldn't, he'd kick your ass in the ring. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MetaApr 6, 2008
I am usually pretty forgiving when it comes to movies, but it's hard to go easy on this one. Granted, the special effects weren't bad at all, and some of the scenes were very nicely put together. But that's really where the I am usually pretty forgiving when it comes to movies, but it's hard to go easy on this one. Granted, the special effects weren't bad at all, and some of the scenes were very nicely put together. But that's really where the honest praise must end, even for fans of the game. I hate to say it, but this was some of the worst acting I've seen in a long time, and again I'm really not that picky. Of course, the script didn't give the actors much to work with in the first place. Perhaps most disappointing was the lack of credibility of the characters. Sure, terribly stupid decisions are pretty much commonplace in horror flicks, but this one really stretched things. I really think a lot more could have been achieved with this cast, budget, and the basic premises of Silent Hill, the game. Too bad, really. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
sydneyoAug 5, 2008
Nicely done on the special effects. the movie is well scripted to make it have a dark feeling to it. silent hill is a great horror/suspense film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CharmaineH.Oct 5, 2006
I was led to believe this was one of the best movies of the year when; when I watched it I was very let down.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlistairD.Apr 21, 2006
Speaking as a massive fan of the games. Awsome. Some people might not like this as there isn't much in the way of definitive plot and it is uncomprimisingly loud.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Apr 22, 2006
I wish Pyramid Head had showed up again at the end. I loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeeganB.Apr 22, 2006
For a movie based of a game I though that this was very well done. The presentation of the movie was damn awesome. The acting kinda sucked but what can you expect it was about more then that, I think this movie lived up to the game in almost For a movie based of a game I though that this was very well done. The presentation of the movie was damn awesome. The acting kinda sucked but what can you expect it was about more then that, I think this movie lived up to the game in almost every way and also is an entertaining movie to people that know nothing about the game love horror genre. The only downside of this movie is that the very very end didn't make much sence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
OzyY.Apr 23, 2006
Wow, everyone in my theater thought it was horrible, and I did too. My friends and I were laughing at the "scary scenes". Only cool part was when it turned dark...but that happened like only 3 times in the whole movie. Then you add in the Wow, everyone in my theater thought it was horrible, and I did too. My friends and I were laughing at the "scary scenes". Only cool part was when it turned dark...but that happened like only 3 times in the whole movie. Then you add in the ending of the movie and it made worst movie of the year for me, including Benchwarmers. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JasperP.Apr 23, 2006
Although the movie started out great, the film began to worsen towards the end of the movie. The first few sequences with the monsters were amazing, but there were too many points in the movie where people had to explain backstory. I think Although the movie started out great, the film began to worsen towards the end of the movie. The first few sequences with the monsters were amazing, but there were too many points in the movie where people had to explain backstory. I think they should have left the plot more ambiguous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamM.Apr 23, 2006
This movie is the best movie i have ever seen in a loooong time. If the critics knew anything about the game, the director & the fact it originated in japan, i beleive they might turn their toffee-noses towards it. Roger Avary, Nicolas This movie is the best movie i have ever seen in a loooong time. If the critics knew anything about the game, the director & the fact it originated in japan, i beleive they might turn their toffee-noses towards it. Roger Avary, Nicolas Boukhrief & Christophe Gans. on the slight chance you come on this website and read this review. well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlH.Apr 24, 2006
I must say this is the best game to movie adaptation to be released yet. I am a fan of the series since the 1st entry and, though I went in with sky high expectations I don't regret paying the minimal entrance fee.I thought it I must say this is the best game to movie adaptation to be released yet. I am a fan of the series since the 1st entry and, though I went in with sky high expectations I don't regret paying the minimal entrance fee.I thought it could've been longer, and a great deal more of pyramid head but, it stays true to the series. The guy who said it shows it's videogames roots throughout, is jaded and has never played the game and experienced what the movie can almost convey...A since of dread, and evill all around you.If these critics were less biased to the gaming world maybe they would take into account the atmosphere and style of the movie.This wasn't made to establish a new genre of movie but, to please fans of the game..I'm sure it has pleased the majority of us. Oh and the acting is a little B-movie-ish but, that is a part of silent hills atmosphere too. (film grain, etc) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesT.Apr 24, 2006
This was the best movie that has come out since Resident Evil 2 ! It stuck so well with the games(even though iv beaten all but SH 1) the sounds,music,camera,monsters,and alot of the characters and plot are straight from the game.The people This was the best movie that has come out since Resident Evil 2 ! It stuck so well with the games(even though iv beaten all but SH 1) the sounds,music,camera,monsters,and alot of the characters and plot are straight from the game.The people who say it not a good movie are complete morons, same goes for the critics, idiots! If your a fan of Silent Hill (best game saga ever made )then you'll love this movie! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
8
MikeR.Apr 24, 2006
This one easily one of the best video game-to-movie adaptations created, far besting any of the Uwe Boll-like garbage we've seen over the past few years. As a fan of the games, I felt the story held very true to the franchise which is This one easily one of the best video game-to-movie adaptations created, far besting any of the Uwe Boll-like garbage we've seen over the past few years. As a fan of the games, I felt the story held very true to the franchise which is very reliant on atmosphere and a somewhat convoluted story. As fans, we generally like and appreciate this, but this is also why I think most of the movie critics don't like it. Bottom line, the first half was fantastic and spooky as hell (literally), the second half was a bit convoluted and heavy on the somewhat confusing dialogue, but still very good. If you're a fan of horror movies and especially if you're a fan of the game franchise, you will not be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvyApr 24, 2006
Dont listen to the critics, if you are a fan of Silent Hill you will love this movie. It was extreamly well done! Specially when you have to tell in 2 hrs the extremely difficult story of Silent Hill. It goes deeper than most people Dont listen to the critics, if you are a fan of Silent Hill you will love this movie. It was extreamly well done! Specially when you have to tell in 2 hrs the extremely difficult story of Silent Hill. It goes deeper than most people realised, and fans of the game knows this. The people behind this movie are fans and they did the best they could to explain what happen. This is the best Video game to movie I have seen in a very long time. Dont miss it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RishiApr 24, 2006
I play video games. Hell, I love video games. I even played Silent Hill for two hours before going to this movie, just to ensure that I was in the proper frame of mind in which to enjoy the film. This was an abysmal movie. It was definitely I play video games. Hell, I love video games. I even played Silent Hill for two hours before going to this movie, just to ensure that I was in the proper frame of mind in which to enjoy the film. This was an abysmal movie. It was definitely the single worst film I have seen in 2006, and probably one of the worst films I have ever seen. It is Uwe Boll bad. It is poisonously bad. It was worse than Batman and Robin. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
8
AdamB.Apr 25, 2006
It isn't perfect but it does a pretty good job of representing what you love about the game series and moving to a less interactive version. The story somewhat goes astray but the visual representation is spot on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
VictorB.Apr 26, 2006
The bad about this movie is that it makes you think so much you are too boggled to be afraid or feel suspense or anything you want to be feeling at a movie like this. It makes a supreme effort, which I did appreciate, but the execution was The bad about this movie is that it makes you think so much you are too boggled to be afraid or feel suspense or anything you want to be feeling at a movie like this. It makes a supreme effort, which I did appreciate, but the execution was flawed. It wa so flawed you feel confused more than anything. The GOOD: The set design, the art direction, the effects!! All excellent!!! Endless Hellish Beauty!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonydannieApr 26, 2006
First Off I would like to start by saying that i have never played any of the Silent Hill Games. Having Said That. I did however Have an idea of what the games were about. what they look like and what they are. I was looking forward to see First Off I would like to start by saying that i have never played any of the Silent Hill Games. Having Said That. I did however Have an idea of what the games were about. what they look like and what they are. I was looking forward to see this adaptation because of the little that i knew And i was not that dissapointed. The mood of the movie was done right. with the white - grayinsh ashy atmosphere of the town to the dark-orange and squirmish atmosphere after the sun sets. This things of course taken from what i have seen from screen shots of the games. Now, I am asucker for scores. and for a while this movie delivered on the tone of the score at the beginning of the film . but then the score felt a tad over used. i felt like i was listening to the same track over and over. Until the films climax. as everything in the screen turned gory and yet a bit gothic. so did the score. and i loved every moment of it. The story was good. But at the end of the flick I felt It did not give me enough closure. but i can let go of such a small thing. The acting on the other hand could have used a bit of work. Radha Mitchell was good in this. I have been a fan of hers since i saw Pitch Black(even though I hate that movie) And Sean "006" Bean was good but a little wasted in this part. They should have given him more to do in this flick. And the girl was just not that great of a child actor. Was she the best one out of hundreads? And Laurie Holden. Did she have to play the female cop male like? However this are small but liveable complaints And I do recomend the movie for anyone looking for something different. Atmosphere wise. And a small note... We need to see more of Piramid Head. He can take on Pin Head anyday and mop the floor with him. Go see it for the look and sound of it. But dont expect oscar quality when it comes to the acting. Now I got to go and see if i can find a copy of Silent Hill for the Playstation ONE!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DestardiApr 26, 2006
Wasn't a bad movie; definitely better than most other video game ripoffs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonP.Apr 30, 2006
A very pleasent surprise i was sure this would be no good im so used to being let down by these things (cash in on fans of games movie's) would recomend this fine film to one and all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JustinM.Apr 30, 2006
You see, the thing about this movie is that it had all the visual look and groutesque images as in the game, but not a lot of horror. and thats where the movie kinda went downhill. the first half of the movie was great and prabably the best You see, the thing about this movie is that it had all the visual look and groutesque images as in the game, but not a lot of horror. and thats where the movie kinda went downhill. the first half of the movie was great and prabably the best scene was the bathroom transition to the living darkness and where rose encounters pyramid head. speaking of him i was hoping he had a more bigger role in the film as his role was a short one. I have all the silent hill games and beat them all 13 or more times. the movie needed more horror where after the school she encounters the living darkness again in the hotel then again in the hospital, and i was hoping that rose weilded weapons like the pipe and bashed the monsters around with it. the speacial effects in the movie matched that of the game and was right on the money yet i noticed a lot of things that needed lots of improvement. Overall i enjoyed it still and do hope for a next one just more horror(screww the plot)( most of the SH games were a bit confusing to understand, the horror kept us entertained) non stop living darkness and horrible monstors. And definitely more Pyramid head popping out of every corner as in SH2!!! Its just the movie failed to define itself as a true horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DannyJ.Apr 30, 2006
Me and some friends spent the day playing the Silent Hill games before we went to watch the movie, and this increased our movie watching experience greatly. The movie felt like an extension of the games, and in my case that was what made it Me and some friends spent the day playing the Silent Hill games before we went to watch the movie, and this increased our movie watching experience greatly. The movie felt like an extension of the games, and in my case that was what made it so good. For someone who is not into the games I can imagine how they would not appreciate the story and how it is told. I mostly enjoyed it but felf that some of the violence was too extreme at the end. The movie also could have followed the games more and left Silent Hill as a mystery rather than explaining it explicitly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DarrenH.May 1, 2006
Having always been a fan of the Silent Hill series of games, the news of a film remake was pleasantly received. Seeing as most movie critics have likely never played through any of the games (Perhaps 10 minutes or so, to prevent people Having always been a fan of the Silent Hill series of games, the news of a film remake was pleasantly received. Seeing as most movie critics have likely never played through any of the games (Perhaps 10 minutes or so, to prevent people saying they've never played the games) I didn't go into the cinema with any preconceptions or hopes, as most videogame remakes have been either spectacularly poor or ridiculously stupid. Nevertheless, the Silent Hill franchise has always seemed like promising subject matter for a film in my opinion. I wasn't wrong. [***SPOILERS***] The film starts off very quickly, but I feel that more work could have been done to establish the characters for those who haven't played the games. Regardless, the introduction is always going to be the part of the movie which is going to be disregarded, as we all know where the meaty part is going to be: Silent Hill. On reaching the damned town, the atmosphere is very faithful to the games; including the thick, constricting fog which makes the viewer feel incredibly claustrophobic. The 'scary parts' where the darkness ensues, and the monsters come out to play, is very well done. Although there is no shock factor in particular, the segments are genuinely disturbing in keeping with the games. The special effects are professionally done, and don't look fake like some have done in previous game remakes. However, I feel that much more could have been done with Silent Hill. Of the whole time period of the film, only around 30% of the film was scary. The vast majority of the film was rather misguided in my opinion, and it tries to draw the storyline along with the audience kicking and screaming. The ending segment in the church and hospital was very drawn out, and I feel that it nullified the good work that the film does in creating a disturbing and paranoid atmosphere. The large majority of viewers are likely to have played the games, so I think that the huge amount of time devoted to conveying the storyline is slightly unwise. I would go as far to say that this isn't so much a horror film as it is a thriller with elements of horror thrown in. Nevertheless, the areas where the creatures of Silent Hill threaten Rose (Radha Mitchell) are very impressive, albeit extremely disturbing at times. However, towards the end of the film, I feel that too much effort is made to shock the viewer (My mind flashes to the segment outside the church with Pyramid Head), and that the director was trying to make up for lost time by cramming as much senseless gore into the last 20 minutes or so as possible. The acting was passable, although nothing special. Laurie Holden (The cop) was overused, and I feel that the film would have benefitted from isolating Rose much more; which would increase the feeling of loneliness and paranoia ten-fold. So essentially, Silent Hill is definitely recommended for fans of the film; but if you haven't played a substantial portion of one of the games, you will go away feeling either incredibly confused or very angry. Thankfully, the ending leaves the path open for a sequel; with Sean Bean likely to walk the hellish road to Silent Hill. Having seen his performance in this film, I think he could put in a better performance than his female counterpart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigP.May 28, 2006
Excellent film adaption of a fab game..far better than other game ports in tha past. The film is like watching someone play the game but isnt that the idea, it is a game port at the end of the day. Cant wait for part 2. Seen it seven times Excellent film adaption of a fab game..far better than other game ports in tha past. The film is like watching someone play the game but isnt that the idea, it is a game port at the end of the day. Cant wait for part 2. Seen it seven times now. Top film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MartmanT.May 2, 2006
OK. this is coming from a non fanboy. This movie had me wanting to see it so bad. The previews made it seem scary, and the gave it a suspense that was awesome. After the first 20 minutes all of that went away. I was revealed to a story OK. this is coming from a non fanboy. This movie had me wanting to see it so bad. The previews made it seem scary, and the gave it a suspense that was awesome. After the first 20 minutes all of that went away. I was revealed to a story that was so over the place that i could barely understand what was happening. After later pondering and thought, i could decipher it more, but the entire movie experience was cut short because of the confusion of the story. Now, i know some people will be like OMFG wtf is this person talking about he should have played the game....but the movie director and makers should have filled in this hole for the people that didn't play the 1st games. Also in many parts, it had the potential to be much scarier than it is, but it doesn't seem to take the chance. For example towards the end, it had random things with sharp barb things. THEY WEREN"T SCARY. they were retarded looking. This movie would be decent if it weren't for the non scariness and the confusing story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JGMay 6, 2006
It was ok, i do agree with some reviewers saying that the preview made it look really scary,and the movie wasn't that scary. Overall good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesR.May 6, 2006
Silent Hill is a film that relies on experiencing the video game before viewing the movie. Fans of the game will be taken through a visually stunning movie and see some of their favorite moments of the game play out. The acting is mediocre Silent Hill is a film that relies on experiencing the video game before viewing the movie. Fans of the game will be taken through a visually stunning movie and see some of their favorite moments of the game play out. The acting is mediocre but despite the long dialogs the movie builds tension very well and provides a gripping and intriguing conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LydiaMay 7, 2006
How much do you want to bet NONE of these professional critics have played...or even seen the video game? You can't judge it till then, sorry. Just because you critics are too stupid to understand a plot that was not that confusing How much do you want to bet NONE of these professional critics have played...or even seen the video game? You can't judge it till then, sorry. Just because you critics are too stupid to understand a plot that was not that confusing doesn't mean you have to give the movie a bad review. You just need to get smarter. Oh, and a note to the reviewer who complained that the mother didn't use her cell phone to call for help...she tried, it didn't work. The whole movie was worth it just to see that super Christian leader woman get ripped apart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayD.May 8, 2006
I rarely play video games and have never played or even seen this game. With that aside, this movie -a horror movie- gave me the creeps. Isn't that what a horror movie is supposed to do? And, not only did it give me the creeps, but I I rarely play video games and have never played or even seen this game. With that aside, this movie -a horror movie- gave me the creeps. Isn't that what a horror movie is supposed to do? And, not only did it give me the creeps, but I thought it was well done and that the story was much more in depth than the vast majority of horror movies out there. Once the movie made me aware of what had happened and what is truly happening, I was very impressed. Moreover, I agree with Lydia on many of her points. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LhorkanMay 9, 2006
This movie was great. It totally lived up to the game's name and most likely let the game's fans happy and satisfied. Those laughable critics are biased against video-game oriented movies - i can't blame them, since Uwe Boll This movie was great. It totally lived up to the game's name and most likely let the game's fans happy and satisfied. Those laughable critics are biased against video-game oriented movies - i can't blame them, since Uwe Boll had put his own "touch" on the genre - and do not realize that video-games, or, as people who are not shortsighted call it: interactive entertainment is a form of art! When they heard that it was a film adaptation of a "video-game", they immediately thought that the storyline was bad (which was not!) or that the film bases its strength on raw violence and gory effects (the film has its gory climaxes, but surely does not rely upon them to make fans!). Maybe people should play the game before seeing the film, to see that it's not about monsters and blood, but it's about a beautiful and intriguing nightmare drama, based upon emotions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RandellP.Jun 21, 2006
A case of bias amongst critics, it seems. It once again becomes rather painfully obvious that critics are sheep. This movie certainly isn't perfect, but it worth more then a 3.0. Let me start by stating that the acting and the dialogue A case of bias amongst critics, it seems. It once again becomes rather painfully obvious that critics are sheep. This movie certainly isn't perfect, but it worth more then a 3.0. Let me start by stating that the acting and the dialogue in this movie is bad. They really should have put some more work into that. For me, it was the visuals and the story that made Silent Hill a rather interesting movie. I haven't played the first Silent Hill game but I had no problem understanding the story, so either a lot of the critics are mentally challenged or I posses some supernatural story-understanding ability. I don't understand why some people would call the story 'dumb'. Sure, it's not really Oscar material but the story has a more depth then most horrormovies that I've seen in the pas few years. The movie itself looks great. I've seem some flashes of the SIlent Hill games and the movie really reminded me of them. It certainly has its moments of macabre and surrealistic beauty, although they were a bit few and far inbetween for my tastes. Overall an entertaining and interesting movie, that tries to be different from your average teenage slasher flick. Give it a chance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PaulO.Jun 23, 2006
I liked this movie. Maybe not one you should shell out $9.00 for at the theater, but maybe you have a discount theater? or go rent it when it comes out. The story was interesting enough. I tried not to think too much though. The best parts I liked this movie. Maybe not one you should shell out $9.00 for at the theater, but maybe you have a discount theater? or go rent it when it comes out. The story was interesting enough. I tried not to think too much though. The best parts of the movie was when darkness came over the town and all the demons appeared. Great visuals and CG. One woman's death was great to watch (i know it sounds sick but you'll know what i mean if you've seen it). I didn't like the ending but I can't really discuss that here. Oh yeah, also, I haven't played any of the games so I can't compare them. My review is unbiased. So go watch it if you like semi-horror dramas. There's nothing that scary, just really creepy and suspenseful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DmitriyP.Jun 27, 2006
best one horror game movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexeyP.Jun 6, 2006
Silent Hill was been my first game on PlayStation one. Seven years ago it become my personal portal from small town of Izhevsk (Ural region, Russia) to the alternative reality - world of computer and console games. And "Silent Hill the Silent Hill was been my first game on PlayStation one. Seven years ago it become my personal portal from small town of Izhevsk (Ural region, Russia) to the alternative reality - world of computer and console games. And "Silent Hill the movie" is a best film adaptation of computer game I ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoséS.Jul 30, 2006
best movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnshulJ.Aug 18, 2006
excellent atmosphere / set design.. deserves a 10 for that alone.. some great imagery.. an ending which leaves the movie open to interpretations which is not a bad thing at all.. head over to imdb for some discussion on the ending.. if you excellent atmosphere / set design.. deserves a 10 for that alone.. some great imagery.. an ending which leaves the movie open to interpretations which is not a bad thing at all.. head over to imdb for some discussion on the ending.. if you like the game you will most likely end up liking this movie.. best videogame to movie adaptation to date.. no question. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleV.Aug 23, 2006
I played Silent Hill 2-4 and loved the game. The previews didn't look all that spectacular, so i nwaied until video. After watching it, the movie exceeded my expewctations and I was very pleased with the way they turned the game into a I played Silent Hill 2-4 and loved the game. The previews didn't look all that spectacular, so i nwaied until video. After watching it, the movie exceeded my expewctations and I was very pleased with the way they turned the game into a movie. I don't know how some who claim to have played the game didn't think it was true to the story; they must have skipped through the cut scenes. It wasn't *exactly* like the story-line, but then there were 4 different storylines- a different one for each game. However, the game is a game, with just a bit of story-line to keep the game interesting. In a movie, story-lines *should* become the forefront, and that is what the creators did, so they added a bit more background to make more of a story. If you actually listened to what was being said and took in the visuals, you would understand the story-line. I had no problem. Some people might have missed that janitor in the bathroom... Its kind of important. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SephyXAug 23, 2006
First off I've only played one of the Silent Hill games, that being #2 which has no relavence to the main Silent Hill storyline what so ever. I watched Silent Hill for the first time yesterday on DVD and I perfectly understood the First off I've only played one of the Silent Hill games, that being #2 which has no relavence to the main Silent Hill storyline what so ever. I watched Silent Hill for the first time yesterday on DVD and I perfectly understood the storyline (I mean c'mon they take 10 minutes out of the movie to literally tell you what happened!), so anybody who tells you that the story makes no sense probably think that 'Bio Dome' or 'Resident Evil' have true depth to it. This movie sets a nice atomosphere and uses suprisingly little CGI in its monster and set designs, only using CGI for visual touch ups (like it should be used for). The storyline and acting was good, a few parts being the exception. [***SPOILERS***] The very ending of the movie is debateable though, it seems kind of like a cop-out ending. Overall though Silent Hill is the best game-to-movie adaptation that has come out yet. It was a good condensed version of the Silent Hill storyline and kept very true to the games with is look, music, and general feel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GonzaloP.Sep 25, 2006
Rate this movie is easy. The movie was made for ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD that played Silent Hill in the glorious Playstation. The first Silent Hill is just a master piece. If you played Silent hill 2, 3 or The Room, it's not the Rate this movie is easy. The movie was made for ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD that played Silent Hill in the glorious Playstation. The first Silent Hill is just a master piece. If you played Silent hill 2, 3 or The Room, it's not the same... if you never played any game of silent hill, even worst... I saw this movie with a smile and tears in my eyes because it was everything that I imagined when I finished Silent Hill several years ago... ALL is just perfect; I read that some Critics and User reviews said that the movie has no reality that it's too fantastic... Those who said that didn't understand the idea of the movie, that it's just the same of the game. The story has to be twisted, unreal, and for those who said that "It's a bad horror movie"... you're wrong from the beginning... The best of silent hill is that is not a horror movie, it may appeared but it isn't, it's not a suspense film, it' may have some points but... it isn't, the best of silent hill it's that to "mark" this film in some genre, we need to install a new genre, because silent hill is unique... play the first video game then watch the movie again, This movie doesn't care critics of those who don't played the game, It's just a tribute for the game and those who enjoy it!!! Resident Evil film doesn Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
1
GarodW.Sep 3, 2006
Horrible mess of a movie. It might have been a great video game, but it was one of the worst movies I've seen this year.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
MobiusSep 5, 2006
just goes to show you how much critics know about movies. I have played the game and found this a very good adaptation of the game, considering that the movie is not following any of the previous game plots i feel that this story is a good just goes to show you how much critics know about movies. I have played the game and found this a very good adaptation of the game, considering that the movie is not following any of the previous game plots i feel that this story is a good addition to the Silent hill franchise. If you have played the game and enjoyed it then your gonna like the movie. I was expecting some tacky crap when i brought the DVD but ended up plesanlty surprised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RirenJan 10, 2007
Very possibly the best videogame movie of all time, not that this is much of an accolade. A truly great soundtrack and use of sound design is coupled with stellar art direction to create an amazingly tense, curious and dangerous atmosphere. Very possibly the best videogame movie of all time, not that this is much of an accolade. A truly great soundtrack and use of sound design is coupled with stellar art direction to create an amazingly tense, curious and dangerous atmosphere. The creature designs are horrifying and elaborate. Unfortunately the plot is so confusing that only fans of the game series will truly understand this film. It's great for its own fans, but is sure to leave newcomers with questions they will be unable to answer. The deeply symbolic nature of the film, embedded in setting and creature designs, always relevant to the plot progression, will likely be overlooked by those who can't get over a few vague details. If you give into it, though, you are in for a darkly entertaining journey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HansB.Jan 16, 2007
I don't like video games. This was a film with a good story that was elaborated on lousily. The characters did not develop, nor was there any insight in there motives. And the end was just misty, made for part 2, I guess.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
DeanSDec 31, 2007
Long, boring, confusing, with bad acting and dialogue. Yet it was a least visually interesting, though I think I would have been better off playing the game.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
9
HamiltonR.Oct 29, 2007
Amazing movie. All the critics on here with the low scores are clearly morons who can't comprehend a real plot. Great plot, best video game movie out there, definately a must see if you can comprehend plots that aren't laid out in Amazing movie. All the critics on here with the low scores are clearly morons who can't comprehend a real plot. Great plot, best video game movie out there, definately a must see if you can comprehend plots that aren't laid out in front of you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RandyM.Mar 19, 2007
While the atmosphere provides chills, nothing else does. However, this is the best video game to movie transition yet.....but we've still got a long way to go.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
NDApr 1, 2007
Dull and never even remotely scary. Bored long before the end.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ApocalypseBrownMay 26, 2007
The best game-movie adaptation yet to hit the big screen. The acting, mood and lighting were mostly good. However, Sean Bean was terrible! It's defiantly a film for Silent Hill fans, as the casual viewer may get bored with the slow pacing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NutellaMar 10, 2008
I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina thing, explaining the rationale of the whole thing in a few sentences. nonetheless, if not for anything, should be appreciated for stating faith of any kind has no de facto morality guarantee, and closer to deviation and perversion even from faithlessness itself. Perfect for watching, but not consuming. Ignore critic rating. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
MichelleAug 21, 2008
Chris, I don't care what you say; this movie is b-e-a-utiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KamikunOct 1, 2009
What it lacks in greater-than-mediocre acting and coherence of story it makes up for in an atmosphere as thick as the fog in the Silent Hill games, monster design that raises the bar even by today's standards and an amazing soundtrack What it lacks in greater-than-mediocre acting and coherence of story it makes up for in an atmosphere as thick as the fog in the Silent Hill games, monster design that raises the bar even by today's standards and an amazing soundtrack consisting entirely of tracks composed by Akira Yamaoka for the original game series. A must see for any fan of the games! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JayHMay 13, 2009
A promising starts gives way to something completely unrelated to the series I love. To say it's a disappointing film would imply some kind of expectation from a video game to film cash in, so let's just say it sucked.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
NotTellingJun 21, 2009
The only people detached from reality seem to be the professional film critics. If you liked the games, you'll like the movie. It appears film critics have become so complacent with slapping bad scores on game-to-movie adaptations that The only people detached from reality seem to be the professional film critics. If you liked the games, you'll like the movie. It appears film critics have become so complacent with slapping bad scores on game-to-movie adaptations that they didn't even care to look at what they were reviewing before choosing a score. After all, when the plot (while it was still a game) is critically acclaimed by a majority of game reviewers, it doesn't make sense for it to only achieve a 30 from movie reviewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenjaminPJan 22, 2010
I dunno. Maybe it's because I used the play the original Playstation game back in the day, but I thought this movie was surprisingly good. It was maybe a little predictable, but whatever. You have to apply a willful suspension of I dunno. Maybe it's because I used the play the original Playstation game back in the day, but I thought this movie was surprisingly good. It was maybe a little predictable, but whatever. You have to apply a willful suspension of disbelief with horror stories like this. Ultimately, I thought the movie made a pretty convincing statement about society on a metaphorical level. Don't take too much stock in what the critics say about this one. Sometimes bad movies can be totally awesome. (Easily one of the best renditions of hell I've ever seen.) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesDFeb 16, 2010
Amazing movie, it gets confusing at the end, but in every other way its amazing!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EdwardW.Nov 10, 2006
Never even knew it was a game . . . blown away by the imagery, tone and numerous dark themes ringing true. The criticisms of the exposition in the storyline were understandable, but the rest of the movie more than makes up for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SilentOneOct 11, 2006
Silent Hill can certainly defy Mortal Kombat as the best VG adaptation but it is far from being the great cinematographic masterpiece it could have been. A lot of horror and psychological movies are superior and it is sad to see that films Silent Hill can certainly defy Mortal Kombat as the best VG adaptation but it is far from being the great cinematographic masterpiece it could have been. A lot of horror and psychological movies are superior and it is sad to see that films like Jacob's Ladder and Twelve Monkeys are more "Silent hillish" than Gans's flick. The main problem is, instead on focusing on a solid story and putting references here and there, Gans does the opposite. He tries to put as many references as possible and links the whole in a more or less ambiguous manner. I cannot say however that he does not know what Silent Hill is. However, I liked (not loved) this movie even if it is not going to mark a lot of minds and it will eventually be forgotten with time. [***SPOILERS***] For me the main positive thing is the absence of a Mary Sue, something that pissed me off a lot in Resident Evil and Tomb Raider. Of course there is Cybil but at least she got beaten up and expressed negative emotions (ie she does not go fighting like if she was doing her shopping and she does show stressful behavior) Gans said he got older since Le pacte des loups (which I found to be more mature). IMO, he is still a kid. He seems to have focused more on the sentence " I'm putting this because fans will love it" than on the making of a movie. Running 3/4 of the movie and resolving clues might be interesting in a VG. In a movie, we need a story and character development. Most of the critics agree on a point. Silent Hill has beautiful images and camera angles. I wouldn't be surprised if Dan Laustsen or Carol Spier got nominated for an award. However, if most of the critics say they don't understand the story, it is because the dialogue and the editing do not offer that much to allow the moviegoer to care enough for the characters. And a Silent Hill with an average story hurts. And it hurts a lot. Despite it all, 7/10. I can discuss this movie negatively for hours but there is that je ne sais quoi that made this movie entertaining to my eyes. If there is a 2-disc DVD coming up in 2007, I'd probably buy it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MikeOct 1, 2006
The first 15 minutes of the movie is great! But then it goes down hill.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
MikeM.Nov 30, 2006
Obviously the storyline and acting aren't going to be that great. It's a multi-million dollar production based on a video game. This is to be completely expected. What I didn't expect, however, was for the director to be TOO Obviously the storyline and acting aren't going to be that great. It's a multi-million dollar production based on a video game. This is to be completely expected. What I didn't expect, however, was for the director to be TOO GOOD for this particular production. The sound design is absolutely flawless, and easily deserves Oscar recognition (though it would never get any), and the cinematography and atmospheric techniques are fantastic. Easily the best video game adaptation film next to Mortal Kombat, Silent Hill is surprisingly not bad at all. At least it doesn't cop out for cheap surprise thrills that any amateur filmmaker could place in any "scary" movie. Silent Hill has a genuinely frightening atmosphere and spooky sound design that are worth admission alone. Don't go in thinking it's going to be well-written or deep or any of that. Appreciate the style, and that's all that is necessary to enjoy the film and get a good scare. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IanG.Dec 28, 2006
Once again the critics prove why I don't buy film magazines. This was an excellent film and thoroughly enjoyable. Excellent use of imagery and atmosphere, and while it could have been better, not by much. Pulled me in and kept me until the end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GSApr 21, 2006
This is the best Video game adaption to Cinema that I ever seen. AMAZING MOVIE that stupid critics don´t undestand....To the critics : LEARN about Silent hill before write a non sense article.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
DifferentTakeApr 21, 2006
Silent Hill is a video game adaptation and it deserves plenty of praise for its efforts in staying true to its roots. All the critics' that bashed the movie have obviously forgotton some of the terrrible video game adaptations of the Silent Hill is a video game adaptation and it deserves plenty of praise for its efforts in staying true to its roots. All the critics' that bashed the movie have obviously forgotton some of the terrrible video game adaptations of the past (e.g. Street Fighter, Resident Evil) The writers from these took a decent storyline and turned it into garbage. There's nothing wrong with staying true to game plot, that what some of us want. Almost all book adaptation regurgitate the whole novel and receive good reviews but vdieo games' movies that does the same get stepped on. Maybe the critics that wrote these terrible review should actually play the game FIRST before writing up a review about the movie. If they say the acting is bad, than maybe they should rewatch Harry Potter and look at the "OVERACTING' and reconsider the high ratings that they gave the film. Silent Hill was enjoyable, it is a good piece of entertainment for the weekend and for those of us that played the game you will appreciate the efforts that were put into this movie. The Critic's are obviously narrow minded and only believe films "inspired" by true events are worthy of good reviews........making money on a tragedy that happen in 2001 on flight 93 sure make the families of the victims very happy. Oh, and maybe Hollywood writters and directors should come up with original ideas and stop making bad movies from adaptations. Before they do that, they should take back their bias opinions and reconsidered bashing a game adaptation movie that is saving their butts in the box office. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanC.Apr 21, 2006
Pretty much all the other people said what needs to be said about this movie. The acting in the movie isn't great, but it is one of the best game to movie adapations made. It's worth the ticket cost if you are a fan of the games. Pretty much all the other people said what needs to be said about this movie. The acting in the movie isn't great, but it is one of the best game to movie adapations made. It's worth the ticket cost if you are a fan of the games. It's even worth it if you aren't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CurtisC.Apr 21, 2006
Pretty twisted and creepy. There are some boring and slow parts, but for the most part, it's all pretty strange and just what you'd expect going into it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinApr 21, 2006
Forget the critics on this one and see it for yourself. I love horror movies and this is one of the best, most original efforts in a long tme.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoséS.Apr 21, 2006
best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnnonZ.Apr 21, 2006
Silent Hill wasn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeS.Apr 21, 2006
Don't believe the bad reviews. These critics haven't a clue what they are on about. This film is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ModestusQ.Apr 22, 2006
This film was a terrible waste of money. It made little sense, was boring, and seemed to last forever. The performances certainly didn't help. The audience in attendance kept laughing despite themselves because of the ineptitude and This film was a terrible waste of money. It made little sense, was boring, and seemed to last forever. The performances certainly didn't help. The audience in attendance kept laughing despite themselves because of the ineptitude and Z-grade quality of 'Silent Hill.' Do NOT waste your money...please! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
AnthonyV.Apr 22, 2006
Okay, the critics' average is 27 and the public average is 91. Something is very wrong here, perhaps? Not really. Movies like this and the Saw series are just doomed from the onset. The issue isn't whether or not film critics "get" Okay, the critics' average is 27 and the public average is 91. Something is very wrong here, perhaps? Not really. Movies like this and the Saw series are just doomed from the onset. The issue isn't whether or not film critics "get" Silent Hill or Saw. THEY DON'T WANT TO. Was there anything wrong with Silent Hill? Yes. The dialogue was embarassing. The handholding explanation near the end between Rose and ****** was overkill. But everything else was unbelievable. Sick. Amazing. It's just not a film critic's movie, especially a film critic who is too interested in faux-wit and elitism to write an objective film review just because it was based on a videogame (COUGH RAY BENNETT COUGH). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexG.Apr 22, 2006
I loved this film. The way music played into the onscreen plight was art. Im a gamer so the way the movie stuck to the true plot was perfect. I looked so good. They spent time on this piece. All of the CGI is phenominal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewG.Apr 22, 2006
Another example of the type of movie that critics don't like and the general public love. The problem with all the people with their comments being "nonsensical storyline" is that they either know it's a video game adaption, and Another example of the type of movie that critics don't like and the general public love. The problem with all the people with their comments being "nonsensical storyline" is that they either know it's a video game adaption, and don't think deep into it, or just can't make sense of it because you have to actually *gasp* think! Some of the best cinematography is here, as well as the best atmosphere in any recent movie that I can remember. The story, by no means stupid or nonsensical, requires you to think about every character and pay attention to little details, and eventually it all falls into place. I found myself more than confused at some parts, but then it clicked and everything made sense. So, in conclusion, this is a movie that people who are actually normal will appreciate. It has breathtaking cinematography, a suspensful, deep, and frightening storyline that deal with religious fanatics, condemnation, judgement, retribution, and revenge. Oh, and to all the people who think the creatures are CGI and look fake, most of them are actors in latex suits and costumes, with little touches of CGI here and there. What, humans in latex don't look real? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ShaunM.Apr 22, 2006
PROS - The fact that critics gave Brokeback Mountain such high ratings and this not is reason enough to stop listening to them. This movie is ten times deeper than the afforementioned without even trying, and the only reason I'm PROS - The fact that critics gave Brokeback Mountain such high ratings and this not is reason enough to stop listening to them. This movie is ten times deeper than the afforementioned without even trying, and the only reason I'm comparing the two is to show how much money talks when talking about critics reviews. All the critics got pissed off when Sony wouldn't allow any pre-screenings, and that made them think that is was going to be bad from the get-go. Their preconceived notions ruined the movie for them. This is an atmospherically terrifying movie. CONS - Spotty acting (in some of the minor characters). Most people need to do further research in order to understand the plot fully, but I do not think it's incomprehensible by any means to anyone who hasn't played the game, because, I have not. Oh, and the end is very gory. That could be a pro or a con depending on who you're talking to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GabrielM.Apr 22, 2006
I thought the movie was amazing. I am not too picky on storyline, so it that part of the film did not bother me. The acting or dialogue seemed forced in some parts, but in my case not enough to cause a dislike of the film. The visuals alone I thought the movie was amazing. I am not too picky on storyline, so it that part of the film did not bother me. The acting or dialogue seemed forced in some parts, but in my case not enough to cause a dislike of the film. The visuals alone made it worth attending, and that is what I wanted to experience. The atmosphere was incredible. You can really just sit back and immerse yourself in the visuals. Even better, was that it looked very much like the games. The gore was nauseating in some parts which was very satisfying for this type of film. A horror movie that can gross me out or give me chills down my spine, I love it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomR.Apr 22, 2006
GREAT! Finally a REAL videogame adaption. I'm a so big fan of the videogame. Thank you Christophe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradfordL.Apr 22, 2006
Fantastic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexD.D.Apr 22, 2006
STAY CLEAR FROM THIS S***! This has to be the worst horror moie i've ever seen! visually stunning, it is just plain bad! Bad story, bad acting, bad overwhelming music! If you are looking for real horror fun, go see Slither! Or replay STAY CLEAR FROM THIS S***! This has to be the worst horror moie i've ever seen! visually stunning, it is just plain bad! Bad story, bad acting, bad overwhelming music! If you are looking for real horror fun, go see Slither! Or replay SH2 or 3... This movie really does not deserve any more box office grossing! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
JohnLApr 22, 2006
First, do not see this movie. Unless you like video games and don't care how bad a film is that is based upon one. The cinematography is decent but thats all. All other aspects of this film are reprehensible. Also, it is not scary at all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StephanP.Apr 22, 2006
This is an intriguing film. The visuals are stunning and disturbing. The sound design is phenomenal. All of this you've heard before. So, I figured I might address some of the other critiques.The mixing of live actors as well as CGI for This is an intriguing film. The visuals are stunning and disturbing. The sound design is phenomenal. All of this you've heard before. So, I figured I might address some of the other critiques.The mixing of live actors as well as CGI for the monsters was brilliant-- Acting: I actually think the Rhada Mitchell, Laurie Holden and Alice Krige were really good. The rest were okay. Confusing Storyline: The movie has a story...and it isn't nearly as confusing as a David Lynch film. But the thing about horror is that over-explainations often ruin things. Generally, I think Silent Hill is working a certain type of Horror...it is a type that we don't see a lot--but I also think the film brilliantly misdirects what sort of horror it is. This is not a slasher flick, it is not a ironic take on the horror genre. It also isn't exactly a gore-fest. Like Lovecraft, this is a film about isolation, about helplessness, about madness, about obsessions, about religion...it is about disorientation. The horrors are there, but sometimes they are grainy and hard to see...and then sometimes they are right up in your face. The film also has a European style horror pacing (which tends to be a bit slower than American), and works Twilight-Zone/David Lynch style ambiguity. And the film is scary. I think it should be seen in the theatre with a great sound system. I know that the film has gotten lots of negative reviews...but I dont' think the reviewers are watching it in the right spirit. Silent Hill is not about realism, but about surrealism. And that is pretty cool. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JessG.Apr 22, 2006
Nonsensical storyline, lack of atmosphere, terrible acting, un-scary and unsubtle CGI monsters, and it really felt like sitting there and watching somebody else playing a video game for 2 hours (although it felt much longer). And filmmakers Nonsensical storyline, lack of atmosphere, terrible acting, un-scary and unsubtle CGI monsters, and it really felt like sitting there and watching somebody else playing a video game for 2 hours (although it felt much longer). And filmmakers really need to realise that little girls with long black hair hanging in their faces do not make a film scary. The only reason I've given it a 2 is because I did like some of the production design. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Clank182Apr 22, 2006
Played the games loved the movie if you have not played the games you might not like it but if you like the game you will like the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VinceK.Apr 22, 2006
Rating this movie a 27/100 is preposterous. This is by far the best videogame adaptation yet to the big screen, with some of the most detailed cinematography yet seen in any horror movie. Thats the problem with most of these reviews. Most of Rating this movie a 27/100 is preposterous. This is by far the best videogame adaptation yet to the big screen, with some of the most detailed cinematography yet seen in any horror movie. Thats the problem with most of these reviews. Most of these critics have probably never even touched a videogame in their life. Most of the gripes about the movie has been about the confusing ending, 'bad' acting, and the overall corniness of the dialogue. I'm not making excuses or alibis here, but personally I loved the script of the movie simply because it stayed amazingly true to the games. The acting in the games were 'bad', the dialogue was 'bad', but thats the point. This movie is extremely stylized, and stayed true to its roots. Fans may complain about some plot changes but damn't, its a good thing cause it means theres gonna be sequal with the way it ended. I personally can't wait. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful