Open Road Films (II) | Release Date: March 9, 2012
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 110 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
82
Mixed:
17
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
SektoMar 9, 2012
In today's world of movies, it's hard to find a decent film. Although the trailer looked thrilling, I came onto Metacritic, saw the critic reviews and said "Well, it can't be that awful". Take my advice, this was quite possibly one of theIn today's world of movies, it's hard to find a decent film. Although the trailer looked thrilling, I came onto Metacritic, saw the critic reviews and said "Well, it can't be that awful". Take my advice, this was quite possibly one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The story was dreadful, the scares were nothing, and the acting was top notch horrible. Save the money, and get it on video if you're that desperate. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
matt530Mar 13, 2012
Billiantly done movie. Very smart and almost overly engaging as a horror movie. For 88 minutes this movie puts your whole body and edge and after it's over you can't help but disect all the details you must have missed. Rare movie that isBilliantly done movie. Very smart and almost overly engaging as a horror movie. For 88 minutes this movie puts your whole body and edge and after it's over you can't help but disect all the details you must have missed. Rare movie that is meant to be seen more than once. The pioneering of the single take movie really speaks to the director's and actor's talent level. Great movie, go see. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
kwkMar 21, 2012
This is well done smart little film. The acting is terrific as it takes you into a world of sheer terror. You cannot get away from the any scene as the single shot concept creates an atmosphere that make it impossible to look away or catchThis is well done smart little film. The acting is terrific as it takes you into a world of sheer terror. You cannot get away from the any scene as the single shot concept creates an atmosphere that make it impossible to look away or catch your breath. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DanielOnFilmMar 9, 2012
Silent House is a stylish nightmare of a movie, and one of the most terrifying experiences I've had at the cinema. This is the kind of film that will haunt you after you leave the theater. It's a tour de force directorial effort from ChrisSilent House is a stylish nightmare of a movie, and one of the most terrifying experiences I've had at the cinema. This is the kind of film that will haunt you after you leave the theater. It's a tour de force directorial effort from Chris Kentis and Laura Lau, who previously collaborated on the 2003 thriller Open Water. Elizabeth Olsen as Sarah proves herself in a demanding role to be the next great Scream Queen since Jamie Lee Curtis in Halloween. Olsen carries the film on her shoulders, and there is not a moment we do not share her terror. Full review on my blog. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
ILHMJan 31, 2013
Sarah attempts to elude her would-be assailants after being trapped in her parents' remote lake house in the edge-of-your-seat thriller SILENT HOUSE. Chris Kentis and Laura Lau of OPEN WATER fame stage the action in real time, using cleverSarah attempts to elude her would-be assailants after being trapped in her parents' remote lake house in the edge-of-your-seat thriller SILENT HOUSE. Chris Kentis and Laura Lau of OPEN WATER fame stage the action in real time, using clever editing techniques to disguise their cuts while creating the illusion that the entire film has been performed in a single shot. Kentis and Lau experiment with as many different angles and framing methods as they can realistically achieve given these stylistic constraints, and although this frequently removes the viewer from the false sense of reality, any film maker can appreciate the effort and creativity that is being employed on screen. What this hand-held technique does provide is a level of uncomfortability and voyeuristic intrusion in to the events, forcing the audience inside the room as we creep down the dark and dangerous hallways right alongside Sarah. Elizabeth Olson gives another excellent performance as Sarah, whose sheer terror and vulnerability rattle us to the bone. SILENT HOUSE comes out a big winner in the scare department while greatly impressing with its unique approach to film making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 1, 2016
A skillful thriller with something unexpectedly insidious on its mind.

Watch this movie here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29b16a-Silent-House-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrandonBonaseraJan 4, 2013
Besides lacking the creepiness and scares that were present in the original, this remake still manages to pull off a couple frights. Silent House may be confusing to some, but this remake seems to be less confusing than the original thanks toBesides lacking the creepiness and scares that were present in the original, this remake still manages to pull off a couple frights. Silent House may be confusing to some, but this remake seems to be less confusing than the original thanks to the film's graphic imagery and symbolism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
diesel2003Mar 9, 2012
I'll be honest I was pretty surprised with how much I liked this movie. I wasn't even going to see it because I thought it was the usual home invasion movie with the main character killing the intruder at the end of the film. I usually go seeI'll be honest I was pretty surprised with how much I liked this movie. I wasn't even going to see it because I thought it was the usual home invasion movie with the main character killing the intruder at the end of the film. I usually go see a movie on Tuesday and one on Friday when there are multiple movies coming out that I want to see. Well I thought The Raven came out today and that it what I was originally going to see today and come to find out it doesn't come out until next month. So anyways it was down to this and John Carter. I picked Silent House and wasn't let down. I think the darkness of the house kept the suspense up all movie. Elizabeth Olsen did a great job and it doesn't hurt that she is nice to look at. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
MegWhiteleyMar 9, 2012
Interesting case in Silent House, after appear in Martha Marcy May Marlene, Elizabeth Olsen have a good performance, and the story in Silent House is incredible, this is a fresh sorprise, is not excellent, but is fresh.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Captain_KirkAug 16, 2012
An interesting little horror film with impressive camerawork and plot twists that you probably won't see coming unless you've seen the original film that this film is based off of. It may not be great, but it's worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KivaJun 21, 2013
This is one of the greatest horror films of the decade. It is really interesting and Elizabeth olsen gave a great performance. It has a great atmoshpere and sense of a horror movie and I liked the way it was directed. Made it evenThis is one of the greatest horror films of the decade. It is really interesting and Elizabeth olsen gave a great performance. It has a great atmoshpere and sense of a horror movie and I liked the way it was directed. Made it even scarier.Another thing I'd like to say is about the ending of that movie. The ending was a great twist. I didn't see that coming. I liked this film and i think it should be more popular and have better reviews. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews