Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: November 16, 2012
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1070 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
973
Mixed:
69
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess withDisappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxJan 12, 2017
Deux heures d'un psychodrame à la petite semaine avec la psychanalyse de comptoir qui va avec, les clichés habituels sur les doux dingues (mais sans Rain man), la happy end éculée et tout le saint-frusquin qui l'accompagne : quelle chierie !Deux heures d'un psychodrame à la petite semaine avec la psychanalyse de comptoir qui va avec, les clichés habituels sur les doux dingues (mais sans Rain man), la happy end éculée et tout le saint-frusquin qui l'accompagne : quelle chierie ! le meilleur moment à dire vrai, c'est lorsqu'on voit (enfin !) le générique de fin défiler ! je crois que Christophe Colomb a dû éprouver la même sensation en 1492 lorsqu'il a touché (finalement) terre.

Mais ce n'est pas tout ! à cette indigente et consternante indigence, il faut surajouter les comédiens qui surjouent en permanence, y compris De Niro toujours bloqué dans son rôle de Mon beau-père et moi (où est Ben Stiller ? où sont les chiottes qui débordent sur la pelouse ?) et à cet égard supporter les deux taches Cooper et Lawrence, l'un renforçant la nullité de l'une et l'une faisant ressortir encore davantage la surnullité de l'autre, chacun cherchant à se surpasser dans cette course vers les tréfonds du néant audiovisuel.

La thérapie du bonheur, elle est simple en fait : d'abord éviter les deux taches, puis éviter les films d'un certain David O'Russell, pitoyable branquignol de bas étage.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DemonDan13Dec 27, 2016
I'll get right down to it. I've carried a diagnosis of Bipolar I for several years now, and this movie is an abomination to those of us who have the disease. One day, Hollywood will get it right, but cheapening those who have these diseasesI'll get right down to it. I've carried a diagnosis of Bipolar I for several years now, and this movie is an abomination to those of us who have the disease. One day, Hollywood will get it right, but cheapening those who have these diseases so Jennifer Lawrence can make a movie is garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
night4Oct 13, 2016
It's got 3 main problems:
1 - Too many big stars fighting for screen time and forced into scenes where they don't really belong
2 - Extremely predictable 3 - Insultingly "happy" ending to a movie that's all about how real life and people
It's got 3 main problems:
1 - Too many big stars fighting for screen time and forced into scenes where they don't really belong
2 - Extremely predictable
3 - Insultingly "happy" ending to a movie that's all about how real life and people are. It feels very disjointed.

That said, I still enjoyed the acting, humor, and heart enough to give it a 7.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
G1ockSep 30, 2016
This is the most heart-warming drama I have ever seen. It's all about love between families, friends and people. Yes, you can talk about the great performances or well-written script or amazing soundtrack, but no words are enough to describeThis is the most heart-warming drama I have ever seen. It's all about love between families, friends and people. Yes, you can talk about the great performances or well-written script or amazing soundtrack, but no words are enough to describe how heart-warming the film is. You must watch it. I'd guarantee that by the time the end credits start to roll, you'll find your heart filled with love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Thomas94Apr 30, 2016
This movie is just GREAT. One of David O. Russell's best movies and one of my favorite movies ever. I don't really know how to describe the feelings I have when I watch this movie and the chemistry between this incredible cast, so I will useThis movie is just GREAT. One of David O. Russell's best movies and one of my favorite movies ever. I don't really know how to describe the feelings I have when I watch this movie and the chemistry between this incredible cast, so I will use one word: MAGIC. Jennifer Lawrence especially gives an incredible, out of this world performance for its maturity and the great amount of emotions she is able to convey even in the same phrase, in the same breath. What makes it even more incredible is that she was only 21...she was just perfect and in my opinion she deserved to win two Oscars, one isn't quite enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeApr 15, 2016
Silver Linings Playbook takes the playbook and calls the movie, "Simple and a peace of cake to make a movie like this." Normally, watching it is where all the real fun begins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 3, 2015
Silver Linings Playbook, a hilarious movie , and tasty to see, I like two factore . One, the script, the plot and the positivist spirit makes clear the great work of O'Russell , and two , the character or the character I liked most and whoSilver Linings Playbook, a hilarious movie , and tasty to see, I like two factore . One, the script, the plot and the positivist spirit makes clear the great work of O'Russell , and two , the character or the character I liked most and who most admire is the role of Tiffany , and that if, with the best of the best Jennifer Lawrence , who managed to give that role the only Oscar for that film and initiating the great brand and the overwhelming passage of Jennifer Lawrence , so she would say Congratulations and keep following her break ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
A379Oct 28, 2015
I think silver linings playbook is one of the best films that I've seen in past 5 years.
I've seen this movie several times and each times when I've seen the acts, I've been impressed.
Bradly Cooper is incomparable on this movie and
I think silver linings playbook is one of the best films that I've seen in past 5 years.
I've seen this movie several times and each times when I've seen the acts, I've been impressed.
Bradly Cooper is incomparable on this movie and Jennifer Lawrence is unique.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 30, 2015
"Silver Linings Playbook", despite my fears of watching another boring rom-com movie, turns out to be a really funny and touching movie with excellent direction from David O Russell and the puzzling but interesting chemistry between Bradley"Silver Linings Playbook", despite my fears of watching another boring rom-com movie, turns out to be a really funny and touching movie with excellent direction from David O Russell and the puzzling but interesting chemistry between Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence playing a huge role in bringing the good vibes to the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
matt_2905Jul 17, 2015
Truly, Silver Linings is a beautiful, relatable and culturally vibrant film. Jennifer Lawrence, as usual, gives another powerful and merits her character with both a thematically and emotionally resonate depth. Bradley Cooper is also able toTruly, Silver Linings is a beautiful, relatable and culturally vibrant film. Jennifer Lawrence, as usual, gives another powerful and merits her character with both a thematically and emotionally resonate depth. Bradley Cooper is also able to convey the personality and hardships of a bi-polar individual. The acting is near faultless. The cinematography is smooth, subtle yet energetic at the right moments. The script is spicy and solid. Silver Linings Playbook is an offbeat romantic dramedy with fantastic acting, solid writing, great cinematography and a relatable and insightful look into the bi polar diagnosis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheKavehJJun 21, 2015
This movie is perfect. One of the best dramadies I have ever seen. The actors were amazing, the storyline was awesome, and overall this might be the best movie I have ever seen my whole life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GentM2015Jun 10, 2015
This movie is a master piece,everything in this movie is done perfectly,the acting,the direction,the things that the characters feel in the movie we get to seem them portrayed on screen better than ever.
It has the perfect running time the
This movie is a master piece,everything in this movie is done perfectly,the acting,the direction,the things that the characters feel in the movie we get to seem them portrayed on screen better than ever.
It has the perfect running time the perfect cast,God talk about supporting actors stealing the scenes,De Niro what an amazing job he does at this movie.Cooper and Lawrence has chemistry so much they are simply put perfect together.I love this film so much and I just want to thank David O. Russell for making such an master piece,this is great film making and one of the reasons why I love movies in general.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
borderlinefilmsFeb 5, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Dolly-Mop Playbook

Jennifer Lawrence is one magnificent slut. Her performance in Silver Linings is a tour de force. She nails it. Not since Jennifer Jason Lee in Last Exit to Brooklyn has a trashy trollop been played so convincingly. She easily deserves to win the Oscar for best actress and for any other category the film might win since she is the reason it's in the running at all. It's not easy being a slut. And harder still garnering sympathy for one. We can never be certain if her salacious wonts are biological or self-imposed. The grand old whore is a whole lot more desirable. She is typically forced into a her predicament for money or by male coercion. She's portrayed as a victim and tattooed with a heart of gold. But the nymphomaniac is a sadder sort. She's not as fetching or sentimental. Why should we care about her? It's clear that she either can't get enough carnal pleasure for herself or desperately seeks endless attention from men. Pathetic, is it not? But Lawrence absorbs the role and literally runs with it. Perhaps even re-writing the Dolly-Mop playbook. This movie will be required viewing for budding psychologists. And while Bradley Cooper does an impressive job bouncing the the bi-polar ball, we know he's acting. Fine work Mr. Cooper, no one else could have done it better, maybe. But down the street a few blocks, we entirely lose ourselves in Ms Lawrence. She deftly out-performs them all. Daniel Day Lincoln has to be relieved that there is a gender divide in the acting awards categories. Lawrence is so adept at playing the unapologetic slut that we suspect she's not acting. That she's spilling her guts. Revealing all the sores and warts of her true self. And this is what makes her so great in the movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
Silver Linings Playbook is a bit overrated. Robert De Niro is really the only actor that I enjoyed in the movie. Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were both annoying stubborn characters, they did develop as time went on but It was too lateSilver Linings Playbook is a bit overrated. Robert De Niro is really the only actor that I enjoyed in the movie. Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were both annoying stubborn characters, they did develop as time went on but It was too late for me to forgive them. It wasn't awful but I found it fairly boring at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
Silver Linings Playbook es una película llamativa con grandes actuaciones por parte de todo el reparto, en donde combinan muy bien Bradley Cooper y Jennifer Lawrence. En general es una gran comedia romántica.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BradySmithNov 22, 2014
Simply a great movie, full of first rate performances, sharp dialogue, endearing characters, and off kilter filmmaking. For once a romantic comedy actually works. You cannot label this movie as a chick flick. It's too well rounded on everySimply a great movie, full of first rate performances, sharp dialogue, endearing characters, and off kilter filmmaking. For once a romantic comedy actually works. You cannot label this movie as a chick flick. It's too well rounded on every level. It also defies clichés at almost every turn. It's almost never mushy, or artificial. The mental illness factor is very well integrated, and it truly captures the stress and pain that those people actually go through. If the ending is pretty conventional, it's also completely earned. It's funny when it wants to be, disturbing when it wants to be, and emotional when it wants to be. One of the best movies of 2012. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
rzzzzzOct 25, 2014
it is rubish film that a man who love spouse that married with person that sex with 11 person and her father the act is very bad. robert deniro think he play in the gang movie but in film he is a father that love sport and bet. he is leaderit is rubish film that a man who love spouse that married with person that sex with 11 person and her father the act is very bad. robert deniro think he play in the gang movie but in film he is a father that love sport and bet. he is leader not boss of the gang Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Not only do Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence give two of the best performances of the year, the film is a romantic masterpiece. Between first-rate writing and an ensemble-to-kill, The Weinstein Company has a gem on their hands.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WendyJayJul 9, 2014
This movie has to be my all time favorite romantic movie. First off its completely unique from all the romance movies that has been thrown at us over the years. Its funny its emotional its cute and its definitely one of a kind. I never getThis movie has to be my all time favorite romantic movie. First off its completely unique from all the romance movies that has been thrown at us over the years. Its funny its emotional its cute and its definitely one of a kind. I never get tired of watching this movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KMPRJun 4, 2014
This movie captures life as it is. It shows the dark sides and it shows the things everyone has do deal with in ones life. But it also encourages to look beyond that, to see that there are happy times following the bad. Silver LiningsThis movie captures life as it is. It shows the dark sides and it shows the things everyone has do deal with in ones life. But it also encourages to look beyond that, to see that there are happy times following the bad. Silver Linings Playbook is such a worthy title, it expresses the imperfections of life and the ways life has. Fantastic movie, absolutely worth checking out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DukeJonMay 29, 2014
An oddly uneven film full of lots of WTF moments. Billed as a romantic comedy that is neither romantic nor comedic, this film never seemed to figure out what it wanted to be. Starts off as "one flew over the cuckoos nest" and ends as "dirtyAn oddly uneven film full of lots of WTF moments. Billed as a romantic comedy that is neither romantic nor comedic, this film never seemed to figure out what it wanted to be. Starts off as "one flew over the cuckoos nest" and ends as "dirty dancing". The whole bet thing at the end is implausible, as is having a dancefloor built into your house, a cop always turning up within a second of you doing something wrong and trusting all your money on someone you hardly know on a competition you know nothing about. Great performances by Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence, which is why I suspect all the reviewers like it, however the rest of the cast is weak (particularly Robert De Niro who, yet again, phones in his part). Expected so much more from this but overall it's one of those films that you forget as soon as you finish watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
This movie is great and definitely one of the better love movies that iv'e watch in the past couple years. Tons of great actors like Robert De Niro, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper , Chris Tucker. The film follows Bradley Cooper (Pat) afterThis movie is great and definitely one of the better love movies that iv'e watch in the past couple years. Tons of great actors like Robert De Niro, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper , Chris Tucker. The film follows Bradley Cooper (Pat) after staying in a mental hospital for some time he finally get's to go back home to his family. During this time he tries to get his life back together so he can get back together with his ex-wife. While having dinner over at his friends house he meets Jennifer Lawrence (Tiffany) she is Bi-polor and her and Pat have plenty of great moments that end up with one of them freaking out on each other. Tiffany is cousins with Pats ex-wife and she tells him that she will give her letters from him if he helps her with a dancing contest. Basically they end of falling in love with each other by the end of the movie and they place 5th in the dancing contest that's the best she has ever done.

Overall i give it a 8.0 if this movie wasn't like it is with the dialog i doubt that i would like it as much also Jennifer Lawrence is just simply gorgeous!!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RamonGuerreroMay 2, 2014
An Academy Award deserving script, that manages to make us laugh, cry and even hate/love the characters in the movie, played by the best and most talented Hollywood stars today. Russell has created art and magic, by far the best movie of 2012.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscApr 7, 2014
Writer / Director David O. Russell as always give us heartwarming movies like example american hustle . this movie is a whole lot of heart warming and love . that is a classic David o russell film . Grade A
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
joao1198pedroMar 27, 2014
I dont know why people are over rating a romatic comedy film and i really dont know why it had eight oscars nominees, the movie have anything at all, i dont like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moonman1994Mar 13, 2014
A very good film. Both Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence did an outstanding job in their respective leading roles. It was entertaining and very original especially for a romantic comedy. It certainly is a movie that will be remembered asA very good film. Both Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence did an outstanding job in their respective leading roles. It was entertaining and very original especially for a romantic comedy. It certainly is a movie that will be remembered as being a the top of the genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheCritic1Mar 12, 2014
An interesting and different story. Terrific characters and even better characters who bring these characters to life- Silver Linings Playbook is amazing. Well, we best start with the story. Pat/Bradley Cooper has just left a mental hospitalAn interesting and different story. Terrific characters and even better characters who bring these characters to life- Silver Linings Playbook is amazing. Well, we best start with the story. Pat/Bradley Cooper has just left a mental hospital after he assaulted a man who was having an affair with this wife- and he also has bipolar... after reconnecting with his family and friends, he eventually meets Tiffany/Jennifer Lawrence who has also been experiencing mental illnesses of her own after her husband died. The two become friends after Tiffany agrees to help Pat communicate with his wife by becoming her dance partner for a competition she wants to take part in. While the story is very interesting and different from other movies of its genre, another thing that makes this movie so amazing is the performances. Robert de Niro is great as Pat's father, and Bradley Cooper also does a fantastic job playing Pat. But, for me personally, Jennifer Lawrence hands down offers the best performance of the film- definitely worthy of her Oscar. The way she portrays Tiffany, with her mental illness, severe mood swings, borderline depression and interesting personality is absolutely fantastic. While the performances are very praiseworthy, the film's dialogue is also very funny, with just the somewhat suttle humorous side- like Pat's persistent mentioning of Tiffany's husband's death or how Tiffany lost her job. Overall, a very heartwarming movie which definitely deserves all the praise it gets. And that is why Silver Linings Playbook is one of my favourite films of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spollardMar 7, 2014
The chemistry of the cast cannot be beat and the performances are top notch that make this a very enjoyable look into the lives of those with mental illness. I give this a solid 77.1 out of 100.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KayakMar 3, 2014
When I heard Jennifer Lawrence had won the Best Actress Oscar for this film, I had to see it was deserved, and to an extent it surprisingly was! As for the film itself, it's good with it's sharp and slick humour but after a rather intenseWhen I heard Jennifer Lawrence had won the Best Actress Oscar for this film, I had to see it was deserved, and to an extent it surprisingly was! As for the film itself, it's good with it's sharp and slick humour but after a rather intense start, it starts to fizzle out into more of a usual rom-com which is rather frustrating. The shift in tone is probably meant to represent them bettering their lives etc. but it does feel a tad forced. Ultimately a forgettable film, but it's still pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews