Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: November 16, 2012
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1068 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
970
Mixed:
70
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
NazguleroMar 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Please why does a movie that sucks so bad get an 8.2 score here From the very first scene you can tell that even Bradley Cooper doesn't know if this is a comedy or a drama. Bipolar my butt. He looks like an NFL quarterback, that is the shape he is in. The script is just beyond awful. And why did they throw Robert DeNiro into the mix Anyone who has ever seen a father and a son together know that they don't act like that...unless...it is a comedy, which it isn't. The ADD style of this movie and the constant babbling of everybody involved really go on your nerves after 7.5 minutes. I seriously start to doubt the ratings on here. I am pretty sure that Hollywood has an entire army of people who do nothing but rate up movies on sites like this one.
And yes, why exactly WAS he wearing that modified garbage bag while running It was not even funny...
Expand
3 of 22 users found this helpful319
All this user's reviews
3
EssenceOfSugarOct 23, 2013
David O. Russell hasn't quite grasped a more careful idea of portraying mental illness within a dramedy. The transparent depiction inside a Hollywood, Oscar-baited film becomes clearer towards the end, and if he knew that this script wouldDavid O. Russell hasn't quite grasped a more careful idea of portraying mental illness within a dramedy. The transparent depiction inside a Hollywood, Oscar-baited film becomes clearer towards the end, and if he knew that this script would win awards then he possibly didn't try it convincingly enough. The ending was purely cringeworthy, it lost its likeability pretty quickly and the sentimental drama that is said to be cleverly executed and believable is actually riddled with cliches. The bipolar illness itself is treated as more of a side-issue it kills any chance of an even tone by switching it on and off when needed. The comedy fails to distract from these problems, making light of the real issues (with its subject and the plot itself) and acting as if this is what it truly means to have bipolar. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
miki00Nov 23, 2012
DeNiro & Cooper save a bit what is simply a real bad comedy, full of cliché and a Jennifer Lawrence way over the top and using a ridiculous voice. Russel always go for the easy joke, the movie never really try to explore the disease orDeNiro & Cooper save a bit what is simply a real bad comedy, full of cliché and a Jennifer Lawrence way over the top and using a ridiculous voice. Russel always go for the easy joke, the movie never really try to explore the disease or disability. At the end it's just a nice story about a guy and a girl. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
BananafishNov 30, 2012
Let me start by saying I am from Philly, and I like Robert DeNiro a lot. That being said, this has to have been the worst movie I've seen in years. This is a shallow, predictable and uninteresting tale about highly unbelievable andLet me start by saying I am from Philly, and I like Robert DeNiro a lot. That being said, this has to have been the worst movie I've seen in years. This is a shallow, predictable and uninteresting tale about highly unbelievable and implausible characters. The dialogue is contrived, the plot unrealistic and ridiculous, and the acting over-the-top. The creators of this movie tried to do too much. It could have been a serious story about a man recovering from mental illness and family strife, much like the excellent movie "The Fighter", or an excellent comedy about a dysfunctional and extreme family, much like "Meet the Parents." By attempting to combine both, the creators assured neither plot line was adequately developed, plausible or interesting. It was intellectually nauseating for me to watch this movie. Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
1
dmh3515Dec 10, 2012
This movie troubled me at a level 10 on a scale of 1 to 10. In my opinion, this movie's script was badly flawed and presented a dangerous and very serious mental disease in a completely unrealistic light. Yes, the movie has a predictableThis movie troubled me at a level 10 on a scale of 1 to 10. In my opinion, this movie's script was badly flawed and presented a dangerous and very serious mental disease in a completely unrealistic light. Yes, the movie has a predictable and idealistic end but the end is just not conceivable given the events and the time frame depicted in the movie. I have tried to figure how this movie got such a high rating from others, but have not come up with any plausible reason except that most people know absolutely nothing about the seriousness and difficulty persons with the mental disease depicted in this movies have in their lives dealing with the disease. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
1
PeanutMalloryJan 15, 2013
Was with it for first 2 acts. Completely fell apart and lost it's tone and believability in the third act. So much exposition just to get Deniro's friend to make a bet on them dancing (without ever having seen them dance)? Shoddy writing.Was with it for first 2 acts. Completely fell apart and lost it's tone and believability in the third act. So much exposition just to get Deniro's friend to make a bet on them dancing (without ever having seen them dance)? Shoddy writing. Felt like a unique movie for the first 2/3 then a bad TV episode of Happy Days for the last third. Waste of a good start. Expand
9 of 22 users found this helpful913
All this user's reviews
3
MateoSanDiegoJan 20, 2013
This movie is smegma. Totally calculated and cynical, nonetheless managing to also be super vapid. Basically, it's a Sleepless In Seattle-style romantic comedy with a vaguely original "mental health" wrapping. You can call out all the mostThis movie is smegma. Totally calculated and cynical, nonetheless managing to also be super vapid. Basically, it's a Sleepless In Seattle-style romantic comedy with a vaguely original "mental health" wrapping. You can call out all the most conventional and tired plot devices before they happen; and the ones you can't (like the dance-off) are unpredictable only because they are just so damn stupid and belong in another movie. Bradley Cooper is cute, but basically a WB-caliber actor. Hunger Games girl has a weird inauthenticity about her and she's just not believable as this character. I dunno what Robert Deniro is doing in this movie, but he makes the best of a bad situation, at least. I would fear for us as a society if I truly believed this stinker would pass the test of time. Fortunately, I am old enough to know it won't. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
dollarsignFeb 8, 2013
Annoying camera work, annoying characters, annoying actors, and annoying plot. I wouldn't be surprised if these actors actually act like their characters in real life. There's no point to this film.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
rzzzzzOct 25, 2014
it is rubish film that a man who love spouse that married with person that sex with 11 person and her father the act is very bad. robert deniro think he play in the gang movie but in film he is a father that love sport and bet. he is leaderit is rubish film that a man who love spouse that married with person that sex with 11 person and her father the act is very bad. robert deniro think he play in the gang movie but in film he is a father that love sport and bet. he is leader not boss of the gang Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxJan 12, 2017
Deux heures d'un psychodrame à la petite semaine avec la psychanalyse de comptoir qui va avec, les clichés habituels sur les doux dingues (mais sans Rain man), la happy end éculée et tout le saint-frusquin qui l'accompagne : quelle chierie !Deux heures d'un psychodrame à la petite semaine avec la psychanalyse de comptoir qui va avec, les clichés habituels sur les doux dingues (mais sans Rain man), la happy end éculée et tout le saint-frusquin qui l'accompagne : quelle chierie ! le meilleur moment à dire vrai, c'est lorsqu'on voit (enfin !) le générique de fin défiler ! je crois que Christophe Colomb a dû éprouver la même sensation en 1492 lorsqu'il a touché (finalement) terre.

Mais ce n'est pas tout ! à cette indigente et consternante indigence, il faut surajouter les comédiens qui surjouent en permanence, y compris De Niro toujours bloqué dans son rôle de Mon beau-père et moi (où est Ben Stiller ? où sont les chiottes qui débordent sur la pelouse ?) et à cet égard supporter les deux taches Cooper et Lawrence, l'un renforçant la nullité de l'une et l'une faisant ressortir encore davantage la surnullité de l'autre, chacun cherchant à se surpasser dans cette course vers les tréfonds du néant audiovisuel.

La thérapie du bonheur, elle est simple en fait : d'abord éviter les deux taches, puis éviter les films d'un certain David O'Russell, pitoyable branquignol de bas étage.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess withDisappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews