User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 730 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 730

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    I loved this film. It has a unique sense of style. It's amazing. Jennifer Lawrence's character was great. And Bradley Cooper was great, the same goes with Jacki Weaver and Robert De-Niro.
  2. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    One of the best movies i have seen! It totally worth the 2 oscars. The movie was fantastic, the actors where great and the overal story was really good! Oh and one more thing, Jennifer Lawrence was gorgeous!
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    A surprisingly enjoyable movie. Why is the fact that it's good a surprise? Well because of its genre. Romantic comedies, and romantic movies in general are usually bland, mushy, poorly directed, and boring. Usually it's only possible for girls to enjoy them, hence the nickname, chick-flick. (Girl's, don't take that as an insult.) But Silver Linings playbook is extremely well acted by all of its cast, funny, offbeat, and a lot of the time even successfully dramatic. It's screenplay does fall victim to a couple of cleches, such as the dreadful "I love you" moment very close to the end, but for the most part it's smart, perceptive, and very good at avoiding dangerous pitfalls. The direction for the most part is very good, except for too many zoom ins, and the characters are likeable. The fact that almost all of them suffer from a mental disorder makes them even more interesting. Silver Linings Playbook pulls off the most impossible feat a romantic movie can. Being a good movie. It's also another movie which should have beat Argo for best picture. I'm sorry Argo. I liked you, but you didn't deserve it. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    The Slant reviewer is so happy with himself! He didn't fall for the "contrived" screenplay, the "lazy writing" or the simplistic characters. By golly, no one is going to pull the wool over _his_ eyes. Good for him... except he missed a tremendously entertaining film. Apparently, this reviewer is unable to see the touching humor in family relationships. Sit back and let this surprising film have its way with you. A delight from beginning to end. Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Silver Linings Playbook. Where do i even begin? This is one my favorite movies of all time!!! its a hilarious, moving, dramatic piece of cinematography. All of this plus the amazing performances by Lawrence, Cooper, and all of the rest! this movie never ceases to entertain!!
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Silver Linings Playbook was a big surprise to me. It was an interesting romantic comedy and drama at the same time. The plot was really good and it kept you the interest throughout the whole movie. It has its funny moments that will make you laugh out loud and some moments that will make you feel a little sad. Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence made a great couple and they were brilliant actors in that film. They deserved an Oscar. Robert de Niro was good. On of the top ten movies of that kind. You will love that film and you will not regret watching it though at the begining you don't really understand what's going on. Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    I am thankful for the rare but ever so gratifying romantic comedies that are exceptionally well acted. Cooper and Lawrence were a delight to watch as they rocketed into the upper echelon of talented actors and actresses in Hollywood. The story had an insightful take on tragedy and loss that was quite refreshing. A great date night movie that will make you laugh and feel like you watched a movie with substance. Expand
  8. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    This movie, represents everything an audience dreams of seeing in a movie. First, the acting is superb. Though, this movie is predictable, the story line and great dialogue makes up for it. Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper, have amazing chemistry together, making it all the more believable. Robert DeNiro and Jackie Weaver, also stole the show, playing the role of Pat Jr. parents. This movie, is hilarious, dramatic, romantic, and has a beautiful message. 'Silver Linings Playbook', is nothing short of fantastic Expand
  9. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    One of the best films of the year. Silver Linings isn't just one of the best feel good movies of recent times but it's also enormously entertaining and a crowd pleaser at that. The film focuses upon Pat Solitano (Bradley Cooper), a man suffering from bipolar disorder recently released from a psychiatric hospital returns home to live with his parents, Pat Sr. (Robert De Niro) & Deloris (Jacki Weaver). Determined to win back his estranged wife, he meets Tiffany (Jennifer Lawrence) who recently widowed agrees to help him if he enters dance competition with her. As they become closer they both must deal with their relationships with each other whilst coping with their disorders. The performances of the leads were lauded and it's easy to see why. They give some phenomenal performances. Cooper and Lawrence in the lead roles are incredible! The pair's edgy raport and mesmerizing chemistry sees them both deliver a pitch perfect performance. It's relationship that is a sheer delight to watch! Lawrence won the Academy Award and rightfully so, she is superb, especially when you consider she was just 21 at the time. Cooper also proves to an instant hit His stock continues to rise and he is outstanding in his role. They ren't alone and whilst they steal the show the legendary De Niro comes up trumps once again working with Cooper as his doting, unconventional father. But in such as small role it's Chris Tucker who proves to be irresistible. His presence lights up this film, everyone has witnessed his antics in the Rush Hour franchise but in a more subtle role he excels! Great credit also goes to David O. Russell. His smart screenplay is almost ingenious! The way he tackles mental illness and succeeds delivering such immensely satisfying results is excellent. It's such a charming and sharp film! All in all, this is such a marvellous movie. David O. Russell succeeds were many would have failed. With some career high and possibly defining performances this is a meaningful must see film. Crazy good!! Expand
  10. Jun 26, 2013
    8
    A sweet, simple film that has the power to captivate you through the performances of it's cast. The narrative follows the basic format of any boy/girl love story but what makes this picture so pleasantly unique from the rest is the fact that it doesn't try too hard to remind you of the genre that it conforms to. The use of music in Silver Linings is remarkably enthralling, in particular the use of Led Zeppelin's "What Is and What Should Never Be" when we first get a glimpse of Pat's mental fragility. Having only recently been a David O. Russell fan since his boxing biopic "The Fighter", I was anxious as to what Silver Linings would bring to 2012 and whether or not my anticipation would end in disappointment but thankfully it most certainly didn't and if anything, left me admiring O. Russell's directional ability even more. In short, Silver Linings is a splendid movie, worthy of a watch and one that will not disappoint. Expand
  11. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    Magnificent chemistry between Cooper and Jennifer define this heartwarming romantic drama. Solid writing and pacing make it an absolute joy to watch plus one of Robert Di NIro's finest performance acts as icing on the cake! Totally worthy of all the praise and accolades
  12. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Outstanding film.Jennifer Lawrence was outstanding in this film.Jennifer Lawrence won well-deserved award.Robert DeNiro and Bradley Cooper were outstanding too.Jacki Weaver was good but she didn't deserve the nomination.David O. Russell wrote amazing screenplay.
  13. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Heard this was a good movie from some friends whose judgement I trust, not to mention the critics loved it, so I had to see it. It did not disappoint. I found it to be strange at first, but that's done on purpose because this does follow some mentally... different people. Superb acting all around, particularly Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence who do a fantastic job of playing their characters. Funny, plenty of "oh no he/she didn't" moments, lots of conflict, heartwarming, and a feel-good movie by the end. Recommended! Expand
  14. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    My second favorite film of 2012. A movie that deals with the issue of bipolar disorder in a way that shows the way it can change someone's life, but also shows a funny and romantic side.
  15. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Silver Linings Playbook is cute, sweet and really good, with an amazing acting, and a fitting cast, the story is original somehow, and some scenes are really intense, the movie is more of a talky, but overall it is one of the best movies of 2012.
  16. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    This is a tough one for me to review, as I'm not much of a rom-com guy. The only three that I really like, when I think about it, are When 'Harry Met Sally,' 'While You Were Sleeping,' and 'He Said, She Said.' To be honest, only the first of those three is a classic (a 10). Silver Linings Playbook is in the company of the other two, what I would call near-classics, so I have to give it an 8.

    Jennifer Lawrence deserves all the accolades she is accumulating. She shines even in sub-par movies, like 'House at the End of the Street.' Actually, the 'star' actors are all great, which isn't always the case, is it? The comedy is dark in tone but not as harsh as you might expect, given the situation. Overall, the tone is light, and the mood is feel-good. In that sense, even if the premise is original and 'edgy,' the film delivers what most people want from a rom-com.

    So, why not a 10? My suspension of disbelief was jarred on a couple of occasions. I don't want to give any spoilers, so I'll only say that the set-up for the climax the scene that sets up the stakes of the climax is particularly wince-inducing for a number of reasons. Hopefully you won't feel the same way. Also, some actions, or the presence of certain characters, seem awfully convenient. Lastly, several supporting characters, particularly a recurring policeman, are rather one-dimensional. I can take that last issue with a grain of salt, however, as I consider that acceptable for the genre. Still, more depth and soul to the secondary characters would have increased my engrossment in (and rating of) the movie.
    Expand
  17. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    I really liked this movie, it’s not the usual romantic comedy. The plot is really entertaining but what I enjoyed the most is the acting, Cooper is great but who really surprised me is Lawrence, totally amazing.
  18. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    "A truly terrific and humorous movie all across the board. Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence shine in there best performances to date. Its a movie we all can feel good about and walk away with a great message. David O Russel is truly a genius" A-
  19. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    I am not a person of many words, however watching this film stirred something inside of me. Few days ago my "big" reveal was Jennifer Lawrence so I was drawn to this movie because of her, however what I found was something that left me astonished. It was really heartwarming story of love. The great performance was put in by almost everyone but I have to say that the two leads in this movie did a terrific job. They showed what seemed to be an unstable character played by Bradley Cooper, and than they introduced Tiffany who was so out of the blue for me. She is unpredictable one moment she seems normal and the next she is telling her most intimate confessions which is one of the best things for me in this movie. No, the story does not reinvent the genre it is predictable but in this case the story falls into background thanks to masterful characters who all manage to find a place for themselves so they can shine. Robert De Niro did great as a father who only now manages to see that perhaps he wasn't the best father in the world.

    All in all it is a great story, It's not your a type of romantic comedy that is seen all the time, the emphasis here is much more on the romance part than it is on the slightly present comedy in the character of Danny or Pat's reaction to reading the Ernest Hemingway book.

    All in all I was positively surprised by how much I liked the movie considering I haven't been into the overdone "Romantic Comedy"-Genre for a while now but like I said while it doesn't reinvent the genre it's still a great movie that isn't generic in any way or form except for the concept of the story.

    A must watch in my opinion for fans and non-fans of this genre.
    Expand
  20. May 31, 2013
    10
    It is funny, intense and a different Romantic comedy than others, it is creative and smart, with amazing plot and great acting coming from Cooper and Lawrence, I enjoyed it as a stand out, and positively different than other Rom-Com
  21. May 30, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. The main actors selected were perfect. I thought it was fun and light-hearted. It had some real-life issues that a lot of people deal with, like death and split-up marriages, so I think many people can relate. There is always a silver lining to any situation, and this movie explains this exactly.
  22. May 30, 2013
    10
    As a fan of hearty movies, I had to rate this film 10 out of 10. The movie is witty, emotional, funny, satisfying, well acted, well directed, well written and just plain awesome. The two lovable main characters Pat and Tiffany played by Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence are just amazing, and they made me think that maybe there's a little crazy in all of us. So I loved the movie, and I recommend it to all movie goers out there because Silver Linings Playbook is flawless. Expand
  23. May 27, 2013
    10
    By far the sweetest, funniest, and critically well-rounded movie of the year, Silver Linings Playbook reinvents the long suffering romantic comedy genre due to its sensitive direction, phenomenal screenplay, and best ensemble cast of the year. Featuring a breakthrough performance from a once ridiculed Bradley Cooper, David O. Russell had distinguished himself with this film as one of the best directors working. Robert DeNiro's impressive performance has shown us that he can find a balance between meeting the Fockers and Ray LaMotta, and Jennifer Lawrence has made herself a gem of American cinema. There is no doubt in my mind that any future work from either O. Russell or any members of the ensemble cast will be nothing short of extraordinary. Expand
  24. May 22, 2013
    9
    A great film that isn't afraid to have a main character who is a little off his rocker.
    Bipolar disorder, OCD and other mental illnesses are far too common in life, and rarely seen in the cinema.
    To take characters, give them real life problems, and throw them into a romantic genre film and let them scream, fight, dance, and love is to bring those characters to life. Bravo.
  25. May 22, 2013
    6
    the first 30 minutes of the movie start off fantastic great performances solid story the dialog is great and the screenplay is the best.
    but then the movie does not make sense after that.
    the scene after the restaurant is confusing she kept screaming at the street "he's harassing me" and then she said it was a joke and tried to calm him down ,
    i kept scratching my head during the scene
    but you know whatever.
    so the second bomb is Robert De Niro offering the bet and that was the worst 14 minutes in the movie.
    and the deceivingly happy ending is awkward it was like watching a home made movie.
    and that's just sad because the movie start off very well but i don't know what happened ,
    it's like David O. Russell was trying to film the movie entirely in one week start off good but then decided to rush it.
    Expand
  26. May 21, 2013
    10
    It is too rare that a movie manages to achieve more than double as much of all feelings by the first half than another one of its genre. "Silver Linings Playbook" is not only a fantastic movie with wel-shot scenes and amazing casting, but in also makes you feel with the characters for whom you actually start to feel some sort of sympathy. 10+ for sure.
  27. May 21, 2013
    9
    It's Oscar nominee for best picture of the year that fact alone matters great deal, outstanding acting(Bradley Cooper delivers his best), interesting and very realistic story makes you care about it's characters! This is must own
  28. May 19, 2013
    7
    Jennifer Lawrence is one of the best actresses of her age.
    In this movie she acted awesome as always!
    Just sometimes the movie is a little slow-moving but in conclusion its a movie with great actors and many funny moments!
  29. May 18, 2013
    7
    This movie is really good.Even though it is kinda predictable,it has a great story,interesting characters and shows how people can change from crazy to normal.
  30. May 10, 2013
    8
    The film tackles a thematic adult and complicated, difficult to approach, but in the hands of The Russell emocinantemente it is comical and vulgar because several expletives, but performances by Cooper and Lawnrence make everything very sensitive and funny.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Nov 26, 2012
    50
    Pretty much a miscalculation from beginning to end. [26 Nov. 2012, p.87]
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Nov 25, 2012
    60
    Likable, watchable and has a nice supporting turn from Robert De Niro; I'm not sure I wouldn't rather watch this again than the macho acting in Russell's boxing drama "The Fighter."
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Nov 23, 2012
    91
    A funny, believable film about the ability of even the damaged and imperfect to earn a little happiness.