User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 711 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 711

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    6
    Silver linings Playbook follows a certain formula and plays by the rule a bit, but it does so ten times better than your average rom com; thanks to its added layer of manic and genuinely dramatic elements. By directing and writing this film, David O
  2. Jan 17, 2013
    8
    "Silver Linings Playbook" avoids all the rom-com pitfalls and clichés, a breath of fresh air to a stigmatized genre I typically evade. It is an unconventional, quirky, amusing comedy drama about troubled people looking for love, and one the best romantic comedies in recent memory.
    After a stint in a mental institution, former teacher Pat Solitano (Bradley Cooper) moves back in with
    his parents, and tries to reconcile with his ex-wife (Brea Bee), who has a restraining order against him. Pat is curiously confident and upbeat despite this because he's determined to repair the damage he's done to his life and surprise everyone by moving onward and upward. Things get more challenging when Pat meets Tiffany (Jennifer Lawrence), a mysterious girl with problems of her own. Tiffany offers to help Pat reconnect with his wife, but only if he'll do something very important for her in return. As their deal plays out, an unexpected bond begins to form between them, and silver linings appear in both of their lives.
    The phenomenal performances by Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, and Robert DeNiro is what makes this film work so well. In addition, terrific supporting roles by Chris Tucker who works his motor-mouth with some of the best lines in the film, while Jacki Weaver as Pat's mom brings a little touch as any mother character would toward the son.
    David O Russell's screenplay is fantastic in the way it requires both father and son to face and deal with their mental problems together, through the Philadelphia Eagles, and a dance contest none the less. Addressing serious life issues with grit and emotion, injected with a great dose of humor throughout. The writing is sharp, witty and insightful with great character development. "Silver Linings Playbook" is ultimately a beautiful film about being comfortable with oneself, and approaching life with a sense of optimism despite shortcomings and setbacks.
    Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    The film and its protagonist share a fine similarity. They are at once both imperfect but immediately likable. A masterpiece that doesn't swagger across the screen on a cloud of self importance rather meanders with grace and wit.
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Such great dialogue that it deserves an Oscar - and makes you realize how starved you are for intelligent dialogue in movies. Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence have surprisingly good chemistry and this helps you overcome the desire to (occasionally) slap them silly.
  5. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    Best movie of the winter season. well-balanced take on mental illness. it accelerates where other movies have stalled dealing with the same subject matter. its worth the time and money to see this pic and I dont say that lightly as i watch most movies online.
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    5
    Silver Linings Playbook has great acting, some wonderful scenes, and overall characters who you root for. The problem is that this doesn't all come together. It feels like by adding another few scenes might have brought everything together. But in the version I saw in the theater, something was simply missing.
  7. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Finally! a unique movie that combines elements of real life with the awesome and I mean Oscar winning performance of Bradley Cooper. Also the Led Zepp song was awesome. I give it a Perfect score, done movie of the year
  8. Jan 15, 2013
    1
    Was with it for first 2 acts. Completely fell apart and lost it's tone and believability in the third act. So much exposition just to get Deniro's friend to make a bet on them dancing (without ever having seen them dance)? Shoddy writing. Felt like a unique movie for the first 2/3 then a bad TV episode of Happy Days for the last third. Waste of a good start.
  9. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    The movie is excellent. I walked into it thinking it was a chick flick, and while it is in a way, it's got a nice refreshing twist to the basic formula and overall it's a great movie. Jennifer Lawrence was great but her performance was outshined by Bradley Cooper, whom was awesome. It sits in my 2012 top 5 comfortably, highly recommended. Great writing, and as long as you walk in thinking it'll be okay you'll walk out thinking it's amazing. I don't really understand the low review scores, maybe it's something to do with ignorance or dislike of great writing, but the movie itself is raw, real, and pretty down to earth. Stop comparing it to 'The Fighter', I don't understand the comparison, but it's not the same movie. It's a great movie in its own, so watch it, and enjoy the chemistry between the 37 year old Bradley Cooper and 21 year old Jennifer Lawrence. Expand
  10. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    An amazing romantic dramedy, this movie kept me smiling the entire 2 hours. So simply and well made, the movie sucks you in from the very beginning. These actors most definitely earned their oscar noms!
  11. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    This has got to be the best movie I have seen in 2012 ! I was so blown away from the Incredible preformnace by both lead actors: Bradly Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence. Jennifer is such a talented actress. She has proven herself big time in this movie. When she was casted for The Hunger Games I was skeptical and disappointed. But then i saw the movie and I found myself amazed and shocked by her preformance. She is so talented. She's got a great sense of humor and she was balancing the emotions so well. I can't wait to see her in future movies! Bradly Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence had such a great chemistry between them. The movie was not the normal Romantic comedy and that was the thing that made it so touching. I was so drawn to it. I loved every sec of it! The movie was balanced well and i found myself laughing so hard and then the next minute feeling sad it was a rollercoaster of so many mixed wmotions. I would totally be happy if they win the Oscars. I think they deserve it! Expand
  12. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    The Silver Linings Playbook has no flaws at all. Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper somehow manage to be the most entertaining characters of the year. The cast gives potent and wonderful performances and it has an excellent screenplay. This is a great film and should be a big hit at the Oscar's. I give this film 94%.
  13. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    I rode the story like an exciting roller coaster ride. The acting by all was superb. Robert DiNiro gives his best performance in years. Clever and spontaneous are the two words I would use to describe this film.
  14. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Great little "love" story but not a soppy like most. I say love story in its lightest term as it is more comedy orientated. Quirky and captivating with dark humour and a great cast! Don't miss out
  15. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    Every once in a blue moon a romantic comedy gets made that engages you with the characters and breaks away from the usual romantic comedy tropes. Silver Linings Playbook is that film. The story revolves around two people battling similar behavior issues. Each have lost their spouses, although in much different ways, and have coped with their losses in different, but equally destructive ways. The movie revolves around the building of their relationship and their friend and family dynamics. While this film is not formulaic it does fall into some bad habits towards the end, and the twist that is meant to impact the third act actually means very little in the grand scheme. Where this movie excels is in the characters interactions with each other. Everyone in this film looks at our two protagonists as if they are nuts, but what this movie does so well is show us that everyone is off their rocker, even if we don't all show the manifestation of it in the same way. A great, touching story with amazing performances down the line. This movie lives up to the hype it is receiving. Expand
  16. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Jennifer Lawrence has arrived. If the Hunger Games did not catapult her to the top Silver Linings Playbook does. All of us in America come from a dysfunctional family. So what? DeNiro is a scream as a die hard Philadelphia Eagle fan. This movie is totally worthy of all the accolades it has received. Definitely worth the price of admission. Go see and enjoy.
  17. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    Went to see this having NO idea what it was about. All I knew was that it was in Philadelphia. Couldn't have enjoyed this film more! It was wonderful. The first third of the movie leaves one curious as to where the story is going to go, and yes, it is somewhat uncomfortable. But it is supposed to be. Once the story gets going it is just a fun ride. The entire cast was amazing. The only negative I could give is that the cast didn't sound like they were in Philly. Philadelphians do have a certain accent after all. This is the movie of the year in my opinion. Expand
  18. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    I'm always pleased when a film flies under the radar and ends up being the top movie of the year for me. This film is raw, genuine, and simply romantic.
  19. MGO
    Jan 6, 2013
    8
    ' Silver Linings Playbook ' is a moving piece of success that is more than worth the watch. Is it groundbreaking enough to earn a 10/10 ? Well no, because the story does have some redundancy to it that could have been avoided or deleted. However, the chemistry between excellent casting, equivalently appreciated directing and an exceptional screenplay - proposes the right scenario for an acclaim ( as achieved ). Personal Charting of Films Seen ( current ) ; 1. Silver Linings Playbook : 8[.5]/10 ( positive )
    2. Django Unchained : 8/10 ( positive )
    3. Jack Reacher : 4/10 ( I hope the novel was better )
    Expand
  20. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    Touching movie about life twists, when human tracks reassemble and diverge, beyond control. Pat (Bradley Cooper) is discharged from a mental institution after eight months supervision for beating his wife lover. He accidentally meets Tiffany (Jennifer Lawrence) a widower who lost her job after being engaged in sexual relationships with her colleagues following her husband sudden death. Both are back to their parents home, starting all over, trying to rehabilitate and reconcile with their families and new life. Pat is obsessed by regaining his wife, seeks the help of Tiffany in exchange of participating with her in a dance contest. This line goes with Pat father (Roberto De Nero) trying to win a gamble to own a restaurant if his team Philadelphia Eagles wins along with Pat and Tiffany scoring 5 of 10 in the contest. Pat hardly sought love for his wife is diverted to Tiffany at the last ten minutes of this two hours movie. They got the 5 out of 10 in the dance contest, Philadelphia Eagles wins, Pat father gets the restaurant. Happy finale, for a well crafted scenario, acting, and directing, from the whole team, no one is exempted from the credit. Life is not what's expected or anticipated, human feelings are not stereotyped, a must see movie that won't let you bored. Expand
  21. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    A very different kind of love story that cashes in a little on the ballroom dancing craze while romanticizing mental illness through the genuinely perfect performances of Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence. Great acting helps this film overcome some cliche moments and a few peculiar writing devices. Chris Tucker, Robert De Niro and Jackie Weaver all work extremely hard to patch over some of the more predictable moments, making this film a must see. Expand
  22. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    An inspiring and uplifting movie, I loved every second of it. The whole cast was amazing showed a 100% believable working class family with many (seriously, many) quirks but was incredibly endearing. Even though there were few surprises throughout the movie and everything amounted to a foreseeable ending, the journey along the way is one that I would watch a thousand times. Every aspect of this movie equally brought a great story and it is one movie I think nobody should miss. Expand
  23. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    A truly adorable, engaging and uplifting romantic comedy that manages to steer away from the conventional and reminds us that in order to get it right in this genre it requires both a solid script, a good director, but most of all chemistry between the leads: Lawrence has proven her self before, but Cooper is just such a revelation in a very challenging role. Recommended feel good film of the year. Expand
  24. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    Bradley Cooper is not only People Magazine
  25. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    "Silver Linings Playbook" is a film of terrific comedy, drama, and a touch of affection; with two phenomenal performances from its leads, particularly that of the sensational Ms. Lawrence, this dramedy is enchanting and inviting to a contenting result.
  26. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    If you had a "Rom Com" written by John Cassevetes and Woody Allen with the football part of " Saturday Night Lights" - mixing in the dance Scene from " Saturday Night Fever" but with a few Double Vodkas thrown in; - quickly You might get a glimmer of how brilliant this very small film is. Loved the Dinner scene, the Diner Scene & Bradley Cooper nails it. Go ! The Acting on a scale of 1- 10 is a Fifty. Expand
  27. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    I really enjoyed this film. The comedy never gets in the way of the drama and vice versa. The performances are all solid. There are several actors you don't see in movies too often anymore and it is pleasant to see them again.
  28. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    Simply put, great. This movie achieves something special in blending heartbreaking drama with hilarious comedy while being able to be taken seriously. It's rare that a film can set out to explore both realms in a serious tone, but it does here. This is a must-see. It's truly a breakout role for Jennifer Lawrence and adds vast complexity to Bradley Cooper who before this was just the opposite of 'Limitless.' Also a noteworthy performance by Robert Deniro - he's finally accepting his age and taking on more appropriate roles that he can absolutely nail. Bravo! Expand
  29. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    I loved this film. A perfect balance between humor, drama, and quirkiness. I thought the chemistry between Pat and Tiffany was through the roof. The acting and writing are excellent throughout. David O. Russell seems to be one of those directors that gets superb performances by the entire cast. "I made crabbie snacks and homemades!". I laughed every time his mother said it. Pat and Tiffany's discussion about all the meds they've taken was hilarious. I laughed a lot during the film and was rooting for these two to get together right from the start. The best romantic comedy I've seen in years. This movie and "Life of Pi" are the best two films I've seen this year. Oh - I also really enjoyed the music selection for the film as well. Expand
  30. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    People are hopelessly flawed, but that doesn't mean that happiness is out of reach. This movie is a celebration of the human spirit, and I love it so much. Might be my favorite of 2012.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Nov 26, 2012
    50
    Pretty much a miscalculation from beginning to end. [26 Nov. 2012, p.87]
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Nov 25, 2012
    60
    Likable, watchable and has a nice supporting turn from Robert De Niro; I'm not sure I wouldn't rather watch this again than the macho acting in Russell's boxing drama "The Fighter."
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Nov 23, 2012
    91
    A funny, believable film about the ability of even the damaged and imperfect to earn a little happiness.