Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Feb 10, 2013
    91
    With a dense, often impermeable style and a mentally unstable protagonist, Simon Killer is like watching the disturbed anti-hero of "Afterschool" all grown up.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Apr 4, 2013
    90
    Though the film’s ice-cold blend of the cerebral and the atavistic can be off-putting, it enables a queasy portrait of moral disengagement that lingers long after Simon has slipped from the screen.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Klimek
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    If Simon Killer's tragic drift is predictable, the seedy particulars still engross. And the storytelling is first-rate.
  4. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    May 16, 2013
    88
    The movie fares less well when the plot and Simon’s neuroses come to the surface, but there is some tremendous suspense in the movie’s final scene.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 5, 2013
    75
    Writer-director Antonio Campos, making excellent use of the queasy rhythms of a percussive musical score, keeps piling up the dread as we wonder just how dangerous Simon can be to the women who keep taking pity on him.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Apr 3, 2013
    75
    Simon Killer is a sensual experience that asks the audience to question what it sees and hears. In that way, Campos takes all-too-common feelings of loneliness and disorientation, and shows how they can shade into madness.
  7. Reviewed by: Tomas Hachard
    Mar 31, 2013
    75
    The film has many elements of a thriller, but ultimately Antonio Campos's interest lies much more in profiling, yet never over-determining, his moody protagonist.
  8. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 10, 2013
    75
    A noir-tinged, noose-tightening ordeal [that] confirms Antonio Campos, if not the entire Borderline Films outfit, as a filmmaker/team to be reckoned with.
  9. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 2, 2013
    70
    Simon Killer is a beautifully made look at ugliness and brutality, the kind of oxymoronic exercise that fascinates some and repels others.
  10. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 11, 2013
    70
    Simon Killer...is Campos' bleakest project, which honestly makes me fearful for the future. Still, he is a provocative one to watch — willing to push the aesthetic boundaries as well as the story to extremes even when the risks don't always pay off.
  11. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Apr 5, 2013
    65
    The film is frequently masterful, suggesting the turbulent inner state of an American sociopath who believes himself to be a good guy.
  12. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Apr 15, 2013
    60
    Brady Corbet is excellent as thoroughly unlikable Simon.
  13. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Apr 8, 2013
    60
    Black-veined and dark-hearted, this is another persuasive character study from Campos.
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Feb 10, 2013
    60
    Considering how graphic Campos is willing to be, "restrained" may not the right word for his approach, and yet Simon Killer withholds so much that some amount of frustration is sure to follow.
  15. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jun 11, 2013
    50
    A relentless and largely unrewarding descent into an ostensibly personal hell.
  16. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 2, 2013
    40
    Even at its most affecting, Simon Killer rarely seems like more than a cinema-du-Gaspar-Noé simulacrum. The languorous long-takes, dissociative sound design and strobe-light scene transitions meant to mirror this emotional con artist’s skewed view of the world are anxiety-of-influence hand-me-downs through and through—viscera without vision.
  17. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 4, 2013
    20
    Sort of “An American Psycho’s European Vacation,” this indie dramatic thriller mixes sex and violence and still winds up dull.
  18. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Feb 10, 2013
    10
    This lushly and pretentiously made drama about a young American whose worst instincts are unleashed during a stay in Paris endeavors to entice with details of the seedy underworld of La Pigalle but is a turn-off in almost every respect.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    3
    I share Mazeinly's thoughts on this. It was a dddddddddduuuuuuuuuudddddddddd. Not much of a film, or anything really. If I had 1 dollar for every rewrite this film should of had, I would have 1 dollar. Simply highlight the body of text, and then press backspace. Full Review »
  2. May 2, 2013
    9
    i dunno yall, i thought it was great. liked it way more than afterschool which didn't stimulate me. i think all men are capable of simon's horrible tendencies and i walked away wanting to be a better human being by NOT being anything like simon. Full Review »
  3. Apr 14, 2013
    3
    It's funny that Simon Killer isn't good. And the Cannes should not have picked this film. It's boring and the acting is very redundant in its long runtime, we talk about great films by IFC but not this time! It's topic is very very boring- it's something we read in a book but some scenes were well acted and the story is not that good but kind of good. I think Nimord Amtal's Predators is even better. Full Review »