Simon Killer

Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Apr 15, 2013
    60
    Brady Corbet is excellent as thoroughly unlikable Simon.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    Apr 8, 2013
    60
    Black-veined and dark-hearted, this is another persuasive character study from Campos.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Feb 10, 2013
    60
    Considering how graphic Campos is willing to be, "restrained" may not the right word for his approach, and yet Simon Killer withholds so much that some amount of frustration is sure to follow.
  4. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jun 11, 2013
    50
    A relentless and largely unrewarding descent into an ostensibly personal hell.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Apr 2, 2013
    40
    Even at its most affecting, Simon Killer rarely seems like more than a cinema-du-Gaspar-Noé simulacrum. The languorous long-takes, dissociative sound design and strobe-light scene transitions meant to mirror this emotional con artist’s skewed view of the world are anxiety-of-influence hand-me-downs through and through—viscera without vision.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    3
    I share Mazeinly's thoughts on this. It was a dddddddddduuuuuuuuuudddddddddd. Not much of a film, or anything really. If I had 1 dollar forI share Mazeinly's thoughts on this. It was a dddddddddduuuuuuuuuudddddddddd. Not much of a film, or anything really. If I had 1 dollar for every rewrite this film should of had, I would have 1 dollar. Simply highlight the body of text, and then press backspace. Full Review »
  2. Jun 1, 2014
    6
    The movie's icky, seedy main character is it's greatest strength. Overall, somewhat entertaining and visually cool sometimes but for the mostThe movie's icky, seedy main character is it's greatest strength. Overall, somewhat entertaining and visually cool sometimes but for the most part feels like a hidden camera on someone who is a bad person and is getting away with it. Full Review »
  3. May 2, 2013
    9
    i dunno yall, i thought it was great. liked it way more than afterschool which didn't stimulate me. i think all men are capable of simon'si dunno yall, i thought it was great. liked it way more than afterschool which didn't stimulate me. i think all men are capable of simon's horrible tendencies and i walked away wanting to be a better human being by NOT being anything like simon. Full Review »