Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Feb 10, 2013
    91
    With a dense, often impermeable style and a mentally unstable protagonist, Simon Killer is like watching the disturbed anti-hero of "Afterschool" all grown up.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Klimek
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    If Simon Killer's tragic drift is predictable, the seedy particulars still engross. And the storytelling is first-rate.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 5, 2013
    75
    Writer-director Antonio Campos, making excellent use of the queasy rhythms of a percussive musical score, keeps piling up the dread as we wonder just how dangerous Simon can be to the women who keep taking pity on him.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 11, 2013
    70
    Simon Killer...is Campos' bleakest project, which honestly makes me fearful for the future. Still, he is a provocative one to watch — willing to push the aesthetic boundaries as well as the story to extremes even when the risks don't always pay off.
  5. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Apr 15, 2013
    60
    Brady Corbet is excellent as thoroughly unlikable Simon.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Feb 10, 2013
    60
    Considering how graphic Campos is willing to be, "restrained" may not the right word for his approach, and yet Simon Killer withholds so much that some amount of frustration is sure to follow.
  7. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Feb 10, 2013
    10
    This lushly and pretentiously made drama about a young American whose worst instincts are unleashed during a stay in Paris endeavors to entice with details of the seedy underworld of La Pigalle but is a turn-off in almost every respect.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. May 2, 2013
    9
    i dunno yall, i thought it was great. liked it way more than afterschool which didn't stimulate me. i think all men are capable of simon's horrible tendencies and i walked away wanting to be a better human being by NOT being anything like simon. Collapse
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    3
    It's funny that Simon Killer isn't good. And the Cannes should not have picked this film. It's boring and the acting is very redundant in its long runtime, we talk about great films by IFC but not this time! It's topic is very very boring- it's something we read in a book but some scenes were well acted and the story is not that good but kind of good. I think Nimord Amtal's Predators is even better. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    3
    I share Mazeinly's thoughts on this. It was a dddddddddduuuuuuuuuudddddddddd. Not much of a film, or anything really. If I had 1 dollar for every rewrite this film should of had, I would have 1 dollar. Simply highlight the body of text, and then press backspace. Expand

Trailers